skip to main content skip to main navigation

  • Tents

    N.J.A.C. 5:23-2.14(b)4

    A construction permit is not required for tents, tensioned membrane structures, and canopies that meet all of the following criteria:
    1. The tent, tensioned membrane structure, or canopy is 140 feet or less in any dimension and 16,800 square feet or less in area whether it is one unit or is composed of multiple units;

    2. The tent, tensioned membrane structure, or canopy remains in place or will remain in place for fewer than 180 days;

    3. The tent, tensioned membrane structure, or canopy is used or occupied only between April 1 and November 30;

    4. The tent, tensioned membrane structure, or canopy does not have a permanent anchoring system or foundation; and

    5. The tent, tensioned membrane structure, or canopy does not contain platforms or bleachers greater than 11 feet in height.

    Regardless of whether the tent, tensioned membrane structure, or canopy requires a permit, a permit shall be required for any electrical equipment, electrical wiring or mechanical equipment that would otherwise require a permit.

    Tents, tensioned membrane structures, and canopies exempt from construction permits based on the criteria above shall be subject to the permitting requirements of the Uniform Fire Code (N.J.A.C. 5:70-2.7)

    top of page

  • Inflatable Bouncers

    The Carnival and Amusement Ride Safety Act establishes an annual ride safety inspection program.  In order to implement the act, the New Jersey Department of Community Affairs' (DCA) Bureau of Code Services enforces the Carnival and Amusement Ride Safety Program.

    A manufacturer is required to have their ride type certified prior to its sale for operation in New Jersey. Inflatable rides are designed to allow riders to bounce, slide or be supported on them and are inflated by a mechanical device. Inflatable rides require type certification. The owner of an amusement ride or device is required to register their ride by applying for an annual permit.  The annual permit assures that the ride is inspected annually and the owner has met all outstanding violations and has proper insurance for the duration of operation under the annual permit. 

    Purchase of an Inflatable

    If you want to purchase an inflatable ride, first check the Type Certified Ride List posted on DCA’s web site www.nj.gov/dca/codes/ridesafetyunit/pdf/rtc_ride_list.pdf. If the ride you wish to purchase is on the list, go back to the web site and under Forms and Related Information, select Permit Application. Complete the permit application and submit it to DCA along with the appropriate permit fee. Permits usually take up to 30 days to issue.

    If you want to purchase an inflatable that is not on the Type Certified Ride List, the manufacturer will have to apply for a Certificate of Type, which could take up to eight months to secure. After the manufacturer secures the Certificate of Type, then you will have to apply for a DCA permit as outlined above.

    Rent/Lease of an Inflatable

    DCA’s web site lists rental firms and those inflatables that already have a DCA permit. Be sure the inflatable you want to rent is on the list. www.nj.gov/dca/codes/ridesafetyunit/pdf/permitted_rides.pdf. 
     
    A ride inspection must take place prior to using the inflatable.

    For additional information, e-mail the ride program at rides@dca.state.nj.us or call 609-292-2097

    top of page