Below is a list of the most common questions received by the Commission. If you have questions not shown below, please email us or call 609-441-3799.

En Español >>

CASINO GAMING AND INTERNET GAMING OPERATIONS

______________________________________________________________________________________________________

> How do I know the games are fair?

The division evaluates every table game to determine if the odds are fair and it requires strict internal controls that are designed to protect the integrity of the game and make certain that it is fair.

> How do I know slots aren’t rigged?

All slot machines are tested by the division’s Technical Services Bureau to make sure they payout at least 83 percent, that the games do what they are supposed to do and, perhaps more importantly, they don’t do things they are not supposed to do.

> Where can I find information about Internet gambling in New Jersey?

For New Jersey's Internet Gaming regulations, visit the Division of Gaming Enforcement Internet Gaming Regulations web page.

For a list of approved Internet Gaming Sites in New Jersey, visit the Internet Gaming Sites web page. For other information related to Internet Gaming in New Jersey, visit the Internet Gaming web page.

> How can I submit a Patron Complaint or Internet Gaming Dispute to the State?

The New Jersey Division of Gaming Enforcement is responsible for accepting patron complaints regarding Atlantic City casino facilities as well as disputes regarding Internet casino permit holders in New Jersey. Visit the Division's Disputes & Inquiries page.


 

CASINO LICENSING

______________________________________________________________________________________________________

> What are the fees for obtaining a casino license?

The Division of Gaming Enforcement established, by regulation, fees for the issuance of casino licenses. By law, the issuance fee is based upon the cost of investigation and consideration of the license application and is not less than $200,000.00.

The Attorney General certifies actual and prospective costs of the investigative and enforcement functions of the Division of Gaming Enforcement, which costs are the basis, together with the operating expenses of the Casino Control Commission, for the establishment of annual license issuance and renewal fees.

A nonrefundable deposit of at least $100,000.00 is required to be posted with each application for a casino license and is applied to the initial license fee if the application is approved.

N.J.S.A. 5:12-139.

> What forms are required to be filed by casino officers, directors and other persons designated by the Division of Gaming Enforcement to be qualified, and where can these forms be located?

You must complete and file either the Personal History Disclosure Form 1 – Casino Qualifiers, or the Multi-Jurisdictional Personal History Disclosure Form AND the New Jersey Supplement. Visit the Division of Gaming Enforcement’s Forms web page.

> What is the annual license fee on slot machines?

In addition to any other tax or fee there is also an annual license fee of $500.00 upon every slot machine maintained for use or in use in any licensed casino establishment in this State, which is collected by the Division of Gaming Enforcement.

The fee is imposed as of the first day of July of each year with regard to all slot machines maintained for use or in use on that date, and on a pro rata basis thereafter during the year with regard to all slot machines maintained for use or placed in use after July 1.

By law, this fee is appropriated exclusively for the operating expenses of the Division and Commission.

N.J.S.A. 5:12-140 and 143.

> What is the Pilot Program for Small-Scale and Staged Casino Licenses?

The Casino Control Act (“Act”) was amended on January 5, 2011 to establish a pilot program under which the Casino Control Commission (“Commission”) shall issue two additional types of casino licenses: a small- scale casino facility license and a staged casino facility license. Each facility must contain a minimum of 200, but no more than 499, qualified sleeping units.


The Act provides that no more than two (2) licenses under the pilot program shall be outstanding at the same time, at least one of which shall be a staged casino facility license.


The Act further provides that if at any time the Commission is in receipt of more than two (2) applications for licensure, the Commission shall rank the applications according to criteria developed by the Commission, including without limitation, job preservation, job creation, immediacy of project development and neighborhood benefit, but shall give preference to applicants seeking licensure to operate a staged casino facility.

For additional information and an application form, see the Pilot Program materials.

> Where do I get a license to run a raffle for my church or non-profit agency?

Bingos and raffles are regulated by the Legalized Games of Chance Control Commission. Visit the Legalized Games of Chance Control Commission website for more information.

You also can contact that agency by phone at 973-272-8000 or by writing P.O. Box 46000, Newark, New Jersey 07101.


 

EMPLOYEE REGISTRATION AND LICENSING

______________________________________________________________________________________________________

> Do people who work in casinos need a license or registration?

People who work in casinos may require a license or registration depending on the kind of job they perform.

  • Non-management jobs that have nothing to do with gaming activity, even if the employee is required to go into the casino, typically do not require a license.

  • Non-management gaming-related employees, including dealers, security guards, cage cashiers and others, must register with the Division of Gaming Enforcement. For more information and an application form, go to the Division of Gaming Enforcement website or call 609-441-3846 with any questions.

  • Employees involved in the operation of a casino in a supervisory capacity or empowered to make discretionary decisions on casino operations must obtain a Casino Key Employee License from the Commission. This includes pit bosses, shift bosses, credit executives, casino cashier supervisors, casino or simulcasting facility managers and managers and supervisors of information technology employees, junket supervisors, marketing directors, and managers or supervisors of casino security employees. Other employees must obtain a Casino Key Employee License if they are empowered to make discretionary decisions on the management of an approved hotel, including hotel managers, entertainment directors, and food and beverage directors. For more information and an application form, visit the Licensing Information, Reports & Forms >> Employees web page.

> Can I work in a position that requires a casino key employee license before my application for a casino key employee license is approved?

A casino or a holding or intermediary company of a casino cannot employ a person in a position that requires a Casino Key Employee License unless the person holds a Casino Key Employee License or a Temporary Casino Key Employee License.  For information about key licenses go to: Licensing Information, Reports & Forms >>Employees.

> How can I change my name or address on my casino key employee license?

Go to the Forms web page and complete the Change of Address/Name Form. There is a fee of $6.00 to replace a key license credential.

> How can I replace my lost casino key employee license credential?

Go to the Forms web page and complete the Request for a Duplicate Key License Credential form. There is a fee of $6.00 to replace a key license credential.


 

ENTERPRISE / VENDOR REGISTRATION AND LICENSING

______________________________________________________________________________________________________


EXCLUSION LIST

__________________________________________________________________________________________________

> What is the Exclusion List and where can I obtain a copy?

The Casino Control Act provides for the establishment of a list of persons who are to be excluded or ejected from any licensed casino in New Jersey, such as career or professional offenders, cheats or criminal offenders.  N.J.S.A. 5:12-71.  To view the list go to the Division of Gaming Enforcement's Exclusion List web page.

GAMING LEGISLATION AND REGULATIONS

______________________________________________________________________________________________________

> What is the Casino Control Commission?

The commission is the state agency responsible for licensing Atlantic City's casinos and its casino key employees. It also hears appeals of decisions by the Director of the Division of Gaming Enforcement. The commission is made up of three members - a chairman and two commissioners. They are appointed by the governor with the advice and consent of the State Senate. The commission has a staff of approximately 50 people.

For more information, go to: About the Commission

> What is the Division of Gaming Enforcement?

The Division of Gaming Enforcement is a unit of the Attorney General’s Office which investigates applicants for casino licenses and key employee licenses and makes recommendations to the commission. It also has responsibility for regulating the operation of Atlantic City’s casinos, registering casino employees and vendors and enforcing the state’s casino gaming laws and regulations.

For more information, visit the Division of Gaming Enforcement website.


 

HEARINGS AND APPEALS

______________________________________________________________________________________________________

> How can I obtain a hearing request form?

A Hearing Request Form may be obtained by contacting the Commission’s Hearings and Appeals Unit at 609-441-3758 or by downloading it from the Hearings web page.

> If I cannot attend a scheduled contested case hearing or pre-hearing conference, what should I do?

If you cannot attend a scheduled contested case hearing or pre-hearing conference, you should immediately contact the Commission’s Hearings and Appeals Unit at 609-441-3758 to see if your matter can be rescheduled. A written request to reschedule may also be required.

> What decisions or actions can be appealed to the Commission?

Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 5:12-63 and N.J.A.C. 19:42A-4.1(a), a party may file an appeal with the Commission in the following types of cases: (1) a notice of violation and penalty assessment upon any applicant, qualifier, licensee or registrant by the Director of the Division of Gaming Enforcement, (2) a ruling on an application for a casino service industry enterprise license pursuant to N.J.S.A. 5:12-92, (3) a ruling on an application for any other license or qualification under the Casino Control Act, (4) revocation of a license or registration other than a casino key employee license, (5) a ruling by the Director of the Division of Gaming Enforcement regarding a request for a statement of compliance pursuant to N.J.S.A. 5:12-81(a), and (6) placement on an exclusion list.  

> Can I appeal a decision or action if I already entered into a settlement?

No.  A decision by a party to enter into a stipulation of settlement with the Division of Gaming Enforcement requires the party to waive their right to appeal.

> Is there a time limit for filing an appeal?

Yes. Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 19:42A-4.2, a party eligible to appeal their final decision has twenty (20) days from the date they are provided notice of their right to appeal by the Commission to file an Appeal Request Form.

> Can I register an appeal by telephone?

No. Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 19:42A-4.2, a party must file their appeal in writing by submitting an Appeal Request Form.

> How can I obtain an appeal request form?

An Appeal Request Form may be obtained by contacting the Commission’s Hearings and Appeals Unit at 609-441-3758 or by downloading it from the Appeals web page.


 

PETITIONS

______________________________________________________________________________________________________

> What is the filing location for petitions to the Commission?

All petitions, regardless of the subject matter, should be directed to:

Division of Gaming Enforcement
Intake Unit
1300 Atlantic Ave, 2nd Floor
Atlantic City, NJ 08401

Unless otherwise indicated, two copies and an electronic version are required in order to be properly accepted and processed.  Each filing will be carefully reviewed and directed to appropriate staff within the Casino Control Commission and the Division of Gaming Enforcement.

Inquiries regarding petitions should be directed to the Division at info@njdge.org or (609) 984-0909.


 

PROBLEM GAMBLING

______________________________________________________________________________________________________

> How can I register for the New Jersey Gambling Self-Exclusion Program?

To sign up for the New Jersey Casino Gambling Self-Exclusion Program, go to the office of the New Jersey Division of Gaming Enforcement at either of the following locations:

Arcade Building - Entrance B
Tennessee Ave. and Boardwalk
Atlantic City, N.J. 08401
609-441-3015
140 E. Front Street
Trenton, NJ


For additional information, please visit the Division of Gaming Enforcement's Self Exclusion Program page.

> How can I tell if I have a gambling problem?

Information is available on the Commission’s Problem Gambling / Self-Exclusion web page.

If you or anyone you know has a gambling problem, call 1-800-GAMBLER.


 

TAXES AND FEES

______________________________________________________________________________________________________

> Where do casinos' gross revenue tax dollars go?

By law, moneys in the Casino Revenue Fund are appropriated exclusively for reductions in property taxes, rentals, telephone, gas, electric, and municipal utilities charges of eligible senior citizens and disabled residents of the State, and for additional or expanded health services or benefits or transportation services or benefits to eligible senior citizens and disabled residents. On or about March 15 and September 15 of each year, the State Treasurer publishes in at least 10 newspapers circulating generally in the State a report accounting for the total revenues received in the Casino Revenue Fund and the specific amounts of money appropriated therefrom for specific expenditures during the preceding six months ending December 31 and June 30. N.J.S.A. 5:12-145c.

Any income realized by the investment of moneys in the Casino Revenue Fund are credited to the fund. N.J.S.A. 5:12-145.1.

For additional information, visit the Division of Gaming Enforcement website and The Casino Revenue Fund Advisory Commission website.

> Where do the casino parking fees go?

By law, casinos remit a fee of $3.00 per day for each parking space used by patrons in their facility. $0.50 of the parking fee is deposited into the Casino Revenue Fund, with the remaining $2.50 forwarded to the Casino Reinvestment Development Authority for public projects in Atlantic City. The commission audits and certifies the amounts payable by each casino under the law. Approximately $27 million in fees are collected each year.

For additional information, visit the Parking Fees web page.