Employees must obtain a Casino Key Employee License from the Commission if they are involved in the operation of a casino in a supervisory capacity or empowered to make discretionary decisions on casino operations. This includes pit bosses, shift bosses, credit executives, casino cashier supervisors, casino or simulcasting facility managers and managers and supervisors of information technology employees, junket supervisors, marketing directors, and managers or supervisors of casino security employees. Other employees must obtain a Casino Key Employee License if they are empowered to make discretionary decisions on the management of an approved hotel, including hotel managers, entertainment directors, and food and beverage directors. The Commission may designate other employees who must obtain a Casino Key Employee License for reasons consistent with the policies of the Casino Control Act. N.J.S.A. 5:12-9.
Each applicant for a Casino Key Employee License must produce information, documentation and assurances concerning their qualification to hold the license. An applicant must establish their financial stability and responsibility as well as their good character, honesty and integrity. A detailed description of all requirements can be found in the Casino Control Act, N.J.S.A. 5:12-89a through d. A casino employee who holds a Casino Key Employee License must be a resident of New Jersey, unless the casino receives a waiver from the Commission because the employee is required to be employed outside of New Jersey. An employee of a holding or intermediary company of a casino is not required to establish New Jersey residency. N.J.S.A. 5:12-89b(4).
A casino or a holding or intermediary company of a casino cannot employ a person in a position that requires a Casino Key Employee License unless the person holds a Casino Key Employee License or a Temporary Casino Key Employee License. To request a temporary license, a casino must file a petition with the Commission certifying that a vacancy exists or will exist within 60 days, the issuance of a temporary key employee license is necessary to fill the vacancy on an emergency basis to continue the efficient operation of the casino, and that the circumstances are extraordinary and not designed to circumvent normal licensing procedures. The Commission may issue a temporary license provided a complete application for a Casino Key Employee License is filed and the Division of Gaming Enforcement concurs. A temporary license is valid for nine (9) months unless otherwise terminated. N.J.S.A. 5:12-89e.
No later than five years after obtaining a Casino Key Employee License, and every five years thereafter, the licensee shall submit information and documentation to the Commission to demonstrate to the satisfaction of the Commission that the licensee continues to meet the qualification requirements. N.J.S.A. 5:12-94h(1). The informational filing due date appears on the license credential. At that time, the licensee must file a Casino Key Employee License Review Application and the required application fee if they are still working in a position that requires a casino key employee license or if they otherwise wish to maintain the license. The licensee will be re-photographed if the prior photograph is more than 10 years old.
A licensee who is no longer working in a position that requires a license may, instead of filing a resubmission, request to be placed on an inactive list of casino key employee licensees for up to five years. Persons on the inactive list must file a resubmission with the Commission before they can be employed in a position that requires a Casino Key Employee License.
The fee for the issuance of a Casino Key Employee License includes an application fee of $750, plus payment for the efforts of the Commission and the Division on matters directly related to the applicant and expenses. The total issuance fee shall not exceed $4,000. A fee of $750 is also required for the five year resubmission of information and documentation.
Licensing forms are available on the Forms page in the menu to the right. If you wish to apply for a Casino Key Employee License, you must complete and file either the Personal History Disclosure Form 1B, or the Multi-Jurisdictional Personal History Disclosure Form AND the New Jersey Supplement. You will be photographed when you file your application. All forms must be accompanied by the required application fee.
All applicants must be fingerprinted by the New Jersey Division of Gaming Enforcement unless digital fingerprints were previously taken by the Division. An appointment is required. To be fingerprinted, call the Division directly at 609-441-3050. The address for Fingerprinting appointments is:
Arcade Building - Entrance B
Tennessee Ave. and Boardwalk
Atlantic City, N.J. 08401
Your application can be filed from Monday to Friday during the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m. at the above address. Other hours are available by appointment only. You may schedule an appointment if you wish by calling the Licensing Unit at 609-441-3441 from Monday to Friday during the hours of 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
If you have any questions regarding the Casino Key Employee License forms or the licensing process, please email or call the Licensing Unit at 609-441-3441 from Monday to Friday during the hours of 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
For information on employee registration requirements for positions other than those requiring a Casino Key Employee License, please go to the Division of Gaming Enforcement web site.