text only siteskip to main contentskip to main navigation
 
State of New Jersey, Civil Service Commission
Governor Chris Christie • Lt.Governor Kim Guadagno
 
 

SUBCHAPTER 4. TERMINATION AT END OF WORKING TEST PERIOD


4A:2-4.1 Notice of termination
(a) An employee terminated from service or returned to his or her former permanent title at the conclusion of a working test period due to unsatisfactory performance shall be given written notice in person or by certified mail by the appointing authority.

(b) The notice shall inform the employee of the right to request a hearing before the Board within 20 days of receipt of the notice.

(c) The notice shall be served not more than five working days prior to or five working days following the last day of the working test period. A notice served after this period shall create a presumption that the employee has attained permanent status.

  top of page


(a) An appeal shall be made in writing to the Board no later than 20 days from the employee's receipt of written notification from the appointing authority of the termination from service or return to a former permanent title.

(b) If the appointing authority fails to provide the notice as specified in N.J.A.C. 4A:2-4.1, an appeal must be filed within a reasonable time.

  top of page


(a) An appeal to the Board shall be processed in accordance with N.J.A.C. 4A:2-2.9 et seq.

(b) The employee has the burden of proof to establish that the action was in bad faith.

(c) If bad faith is found by the Board, the employee shall be entitled to a new full or shortened working test period and other appropriate remedies. See N.J.A.C. 4A:2-1.5.

  top of page


OPRA - Open Public Records Act NJ Home Logo
Department: CSC Home  |  Job Seekers  |  Current Employees  |  Appointing Authorities and Employers  |  About Us
Statewide: NJHome  |  Services A to Z  |  Departments/Agencies  |  FAQs
 
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 1996 - 2011