background shadows

 

Sexual violence is any form of unwanted, unwelcome or coercive sexual behavior.

Sexual violence can be anything from sexual harassment to rape. It can include anything from stalking and sexual stalking on the Internet to inappropriate touching to penetration without the victim’s consent or with a victim unable to consent to sexual behavior or activity. Individuals unable to consent to such sexual behavior or activity:

  • Are under 13 years of age, 
  • Are under 16 and the assailant is at least four years older, or 
  • Have diminished mental capacity, which may be due to the individual being drugged, drunk, high, or unconscious or having a developmental disability

 

Help is Available If You Were Victimized Minutes Ago or Years Ago

 

New Jersey Coalition Against Sexual Assault (NJCASA)

Hotline: 1 (800) 601-7200

Phone: (609) 631-4450

Web: www.njcasa.org

 

NJCASA is the collective voice for victims of sexual violence, their loved ones and sexual violence programs across New Jersey. Its member agencies and sexual violence programs (SVP) represent each of New Jersey’s 21 counties. This 24-hour hotline connects callers to assistance and referrals.

 

New Jersey Sexual Violence Programs

New Jersey's sexual violence programs have trained confidential sexual violence advocates that provide crisis and support services to victims of sexual violence and their significant others. Survivors can access services at any time, regardless of when the sexual violence occurred or whether the survivor reported the sexual assault to law enforcement. Services available in each county include:

  • 24-hour hotline and crisis intervention
  • 24-hour accompaniment to hospitals, police stations and court proceedings
  • Crisis counseling for survivors, their families and partners
  • Information and referrals for additional services
  • Community awareness and educational programs
  • Training for professionals
  • Prevention planning and related efforts to reduce the incidence of sexual violence
  • Presentations to school aged children and college students

Top ^
Additional Sexual Violence Program Services
  • A confidential sexual violence advocate (CSVA) from a county sexual violence program is available 24 hours a day to accompany you through all medical, legal and court procedures. These advocates recieve specialized training in sexual violence dynamics and assisting victims. They provide emotional support and information to you and your significant others and explain your options.
  • Crisis counseling services are also available at each county sexual violence program. Services are free and confidential, and are available regardless of when the assault occurred or whether a victim reports the crime.
  • If a sexual assault happened within the past five days and you are over the age of 13, the county Sexual Assault Response Team (SART) can be activated 24 hours a day via their 24-hour hotline. SART provides three trained professionals to help if you are sexually assaulted:
    • A confidential sexual violence advocate
    • A specially trained law enforcement officer
    • A sexual assault nurse examiner

Contact your county sexual violence program for more information or for SART assistance. (click here)

Top ^
If You Have Been Sexually Victimized
  • Get to a safe place.
  • Don't bathe, shower, douche, change your clothes, eat, drink, smoke, urinate, brush your teeth, gargle or do anything else that might destroy or wash away evidence, including evidence of a drug facilitated assault.
  • Contact your county sexual violence program via their 24-hour hotline for emotional support, information and information about your options.
  • Seek medical attention for injuries, sexually transmitted infections, HIV and possible pregnancy. Hospitals and satellite emergency departments are required to provide care and information to sexual assault victims about emergency contraception and dispense the contraceptives upon request.
  • Have your county Sexual Assault Response Team (SART) activated if you wish to have forensic evidence collected.
  • Contact the police department where the assault occurred if you wish to make a police report.
  • If you are unsure about making a police report at this time, evidence may still be collected up to five days following the assault. It is important to note that although evidence may only be held for a minimum of 90 days, there is no statute of limitation on reporting sexual assault crimes. Reports can be made at any time, even after evidence has been destroyed.
Top ^