Governor Chris Christie • Lt.Governor Kim Guadagno
NJ Home | Services A to Z | Departments/Agencies | FAQs  
State of New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection
State of New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection
DEP Home | About DEP | Index by Topic | Programs/Units | DEP Online 
BBLitz Logo


Barnegat Bay Blitz And Rain Barrel Challenge

Barnegat Bay Blitz

Barnegat Bay Blitz
Wednesday, June 3, 2015

Pledge HERE to volunteer! Don't hesitate to participate!

* * * * * * * * * * *

April 25, 2014 Barnegat Bay Blitz
Adds to Our Tradition of Success

DEP Commissioner Bob Martin, staff and the Barnegat Bay Blitz sponsors extend their sincerest thanks to all of the individuals, schools, municipalities, groups and businesses that participated in this spring's Barnegat Bay Blitz on April 25. Since Governor Christie's action plan for Barnegat Bay was announced in 2010, five successful Blitz cleanups have been conducted, resulting in the collection of thousands of pounds of litter.

This spring's Barnegat Bay Blitz occurred on a warm, sunny Friday during Earth Week and attracted almost 3,000 volunteers who participated in clean-ups at 100 locations throughout the Barnegat Bay Watershed. Blitz highlights include:
  • The collection of 855 bags of trash and 360 bags of recyclables;
  • The filling of seven 30-yard dumpsters and seventeen 3-yard bagsters;
  • Commissioner Martin's announcements and report describing DEP's recent accomplishments for the Governor's Action Plan for Barnegat Bay;
  • The ceremonial planting at the new living shoreline site that is part of Cattus Island County Park;
  • Recognition of the 2014 Rain Barrel Challenge Winner - North Dover Elementary School; and
  • Appreciation extended to the NJ Beach Buggy Association for their Superstorm Sandy recovery efforts at Island Beach State Park.
  • Check out the Barnegat Bay Partnership Blitz Vlog: BBP at the Blitz May 13, 2014
In addition, over 3,000 students and youth in the watershed participated in the 2014 Barnegat Bay Blitz Rain Barrel Challenge and participated in hands-on education about this year's theme, the bay's "harvestable food sources and recreational resources." To find our more information about the 2014/15 Rain Barrel challenge click HERE.

Barnegat Bay Blitz Contacts:
Lynette Lurig      (609) 633-1314
Katie Barnett      (609) 633-0764

Barnegat Bay Blitz Team Captains

Barnegat Twp
Barnegat Light
Bass River SF
Bay Head Boro
Beach Haven
Brendan T Byrne SP
Cedar Creek Kayaking
Double Trouble SP
Harrvey Cedars
IBSP/Sedge Island
Island Heights
Little Egg Harbor
Long Beach
Ocean Gate
Ortley Beach
Pine Beach Boro
Point Pleasant
Point Pleasant Beach
Seaside Heights
Seaside Park
Ship Bottom
South Toms River
Surf City
Toms River
Lauren Keltos & Eric Bailey
Lynda Fischer (NJEIT)
George Nicholas
Nancy Kempel
See * Below
Erin Husta & Mike Chudzik
Jay Springer
Robert Marcolina
Dawn Perry-Dunnam
Gregg Rapp
Maria VandeZilver
Arthur Zanfini
Toni Heater
Ruby Corman (WMA 12)
Jim Merrit (Sedge Island) & Karen Byrne (IBSP)
Karen Hershey
Athena Sarafides
Kristen Kwasik & Andrea Zasoski
Tony Jordan
GraceAnn Taylor
Bill Hanrahan & Christina Page
Arianne Giudicelli
Frank McLaughlin
John Ritchey
Allison McLeod
Lewis Couttes
Jenny Tomko and Eric Tengi
See * Below
Christina Page
See * Below
Jeff Mason
Jen Feltis
Nina Luchanski & Anthony Washington
Lynette Lurig
Victoria Vella & Christine Blaney
Kathleen Vandegrift
See * Below
Megan Brunetti
Bill Carp
See * Below
Jessica Blanchard (WMA 14)
Kyra Hoffmann

* Amanda Lotto/Crystal Pirozek/Heather Genievich/Kristen Tedesco

Department: NJDEP Home | About DEP | Index by Topic | Programs/Units | DEP Online
Statewide: NJ Home | Services A to Z | Departments/Agencies | FAQs

Copyright © State of New Jersey, 1996-2015

Last Updated: May 7, 2015