navigation bar
new jersey department of environmental protection  


Living with the Future in Mind
Goals and Indicators for New Jersey's Quality of Life
First Annual Update to the Sustainable State Project Report 2000

New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection (NJDEP) Commissioner Robert C. Shinn, Jr. would like to acknowledge the coordination of this report’s preparation by DEP’s Sustainability Team - Matt Polsky (Team Lead), Leslie McGeorge, John Hazen, Stacy Ho, Len Colner, and Joe Carpenter. The Interagency Sustainable State Working Group would like to extend a special thanks to the following NJDEP staff who were instrumental in getting this project completed: Michael Aucott, Alena Baldwin-Brown, Sarah Barrett, Debora Litvinczuk, Peter Page, and Terri Tucker. Additionally, thanks go to NJDEP staff Gina Cason, Robert Connell, Steve Doughty, Catherine Drake, Robert Goodwin, Ernie Hahn, Dave Jenkins, Marjorie Kaplan, Sandy Kreitzman, Virginia Lofton, Marcia Maguire, Charlie Pietarinen, Dave Rosenblatt, Karen Schaffer, Mike Winka, and Mary Zaren. The members would also like to thank those individuals from other agencies who supported this project, including David Crane, Bob Vaden, Indira Ramaswamy, Frank Ferdetta, Sen-Yuan Wu, and David Joye from the Department of Labor. Finally, the Working Group would like to acknowledge Randy Solomon, our key partner at New Jersey Future, for his continuing contributions as the leading citizen advocate for the Sustainable State Project.

The Interagency Group would also like to extend special recognition to the hundreds of New Jerseyans who participated in the original Sustainable State public process to create the goals and indicators. The Group and New Jersey Future have been diligent about staying true to the original direction and guidelines laid out by these pioneering citizens. In particular we would like to thank David F. Moore, who started New Jersey on this quest for goals. Also, we extend our appreciation to Dorothy Bowers, Sally Dudley, Pamela G. Frank, Robert D. Graff, Randolph T. Haviland, Paul Hofhius, Jane Kenny, Donald Linky, Joseph J. Maraziti Jr., Eileen McGinnis, Carleton K. Montgomery, Ingrid Reed, Martin Robbins, Robert C. Shinn, Jr., James Shissias, the Rev. Franklin "Skip" Vilas, and John Weingart.

We are also grateful for the work of the Project’s Academic Advisory Committee, outstanding experts in the many fields represented in this report, who provided us with access to the best research, data, and thinking. Special thanks to Committee members Candace Ashmun, president of the Association of New Jersey Environmental Commissions; Dr. Clinton Andrews, assistant professor in the Department of Urban Planning and Policy Development at Rutgers University; Dr. Henry Coleman, director of the Rutgers University Center for Government Services; Carl Henn, chairman of the Environmental Commission of New Brunswick; Dr. Peter Jaffe, professor in the Department of Civil Engineering at Princeton University; Dr. Robert Lake, professor and associate director of the Center for Urban Policy Research; David F. Moore, former executive director of the New Jersey Conservation Foundation; Dr. Mark Robson, executive director of the Environmental and Occupational Health Sciences Institute; and Dr. Robert Tucker, former professor in the Department of Ecology, Evolution and Natural Resources at Rutgers University.

bottom footer


department: njdep home | about dep | index by topic | programs/units | dep online
statewide: njhome | citizen | business | government | services A to Z | departments | search

Copyright © State of New Jersey, 1996-2006
Department of Environmental Protection
P. O. Box 402
Trenton, NJ 08625-0402

Last Modified: May 1, 2007

nj home citizen business government services a to z departments dep home njdep homeabout depindex by topicprograms and unitsdep online contact dep privacy notice legal statement accessibility statement nj home