The Striped Bass Bonus Program
New Jersey is allocated a commercial harvest quota of striped bass under the Striped Bass Interstate Fisheries Management Plan as administered by the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission (ASMFC). Since New Jersey does not allow netting or sale of striped bass, this quota was transferred to the recreational fishing sector resulting in the origin of the SBBP.
The current allocation from ASMFC is 321,750 pounds to be distributed between individual anglers and party/charter boats. Should NJ overshoot this quota in 2014, any overage would be subtracted from the 2015 quota. Although this program does allow for the harvest of an additional striped bass for New Jersey anglers, the Division encourages catch and release whenever possible so this species can prosper for future generations.
REGULATIONS/CHANGES TO PROGRAM
Under current striped bass recreational size limits set by the New Jersey Legislature, anglers can harvest two fish at 28 inches or greater per day. With a bonus permit, anglers can keep a third striper at 28 inches or greater. Visit the Marine section of the Regulations page to check current Federal and State possession and season regulations for striped bass fishing in your area.
Participants in the Bonus Program can receive immediate notification of regulation updates, emergency closures, special notices, etc., by subscribing to the free NJ Marine Fishing E-mail List. For details, visit the E-mail List Subscription page.
Striped Bass Bonus Permits are available ONLY on the Division's license Web site, www.nj.wildlifelicense.com/.
For a $2.00 application fee, individuals can immediately print one bonus permit. The permit is non-transferable and valid for the 2014 calendar year. Only one permit can be used per day.
All applicants must complete the Child Support Certification each year. See www.njfishandwildlife.com/child_support_info.htm for details.
All harvest must be reported online. Updated information will be posted on this page when available.
All information on the permit must be completed immediately after harvest and prior to transportation. Report harvest information at www.nj.wildlifelicense.com/. Harvest information must be reported online. A $2.00 processing fee will be charged for each additional permit.
The most valuable asset of the SBBP since 1990 has been the data acquired through volunteer logs. All participants receive a log sheet with their Bonus Permit and are encouraged to report all striped bass fishing activity for the 2014 calendar year, but are encouraged to use the online logbook in place of the paper logbooks.
If completing a paper log, there are some important things to remember while entering information:
Individuals who returned 2012 logs will NOT automatically receive a 2014 Striped Bass Bonus Permit.