|    New Jersey Division of Fish and Wildlife|
A: If you never had a hunting or trapping license, you must take a hunter education course in order to purchase a license. If you lose your hunting or trapping license and never took a hunter education course, you must also take one of these courses. THERE IS NO CHARGE FOR THE COURSE. Application forms are available from license agents and Division offices, or call 1-877-2-HUNT-NJ.
Hunter education became mandatory for all first-time firearms hunters regardless of age in 1972. Bow and arrow hunter education became mandatory for all first-time bow hunters in 1958. Trapper education for all first-time trappers became mandatory in 1978.
Apply early. Do not wait until the fall hunting season to send in your application. Courses are taught in each county throughout the year. If you want to hunt in the following seasons, send us your applications by the date shown:
|Season||Mail Application By:|
|Shotgun (small game)||July 1|
|Shotgun (deer)||July 1|
|Bow and Arrow||July 1|
Late applicants will be scheduled for a course but may miss the opening days of some seasons.
The Division will schedule you for a course in your county and notify you by mail of the time, date and location of your course. Plan to arrive on time.
The courses are taught by volunteers selected and trained by professional staff from the Division of Fish and Wildlife. The instructors must attend additional training workshops and seminars on an annual basis. They serve without pay and have taken the job as a service to the community.
The courses are conducted in various locations in every county in the state. The classrooms may be schools, sportsman's clubs, firehalls or other public facilities. Many are accessible to people with disabling conditions. The field sessions are conducted on Wildlife Management Area training areas, gun club ranges, bow and arrow club ranges, and police ranges.
SHOTGUN--This course is required before purchasing your first firearms hunting license. You must be at least 10 years of age.
BOW AND ARROW--This course is required before purchasing your first bow and arrow hunting license. You must be at least 10 years of age. You must be able to shoot 3 out of 5 arrows into a 12-inch target (the size of the vital zone of a deer) between 10 and 20 yards to pass this course, so practice is important before coming to this course.
RIFLE/MUZZLELOADER--You must first pass the shotgun course or have a firearms hunting license before you can take this course. You must be at least 10 years of age.
TRAPPER TRAINING--This course is required before you purchase your first trapping license. You must be at least 12 years of age.
Hunter education courses are offered FREE by the New Jersey Division of Fish and Wildlife. The training, classroom and range rental fees, books, equipment, and ammunition are financed by funds collected through the Federal Aid to Wildlife Restoration Act, commonly called the Pittman-Robertson Act. This law imposes an 11% excise tax on all sporting arms, ammunition, hand-guns, and archery equipment purchased in the United States. The funds are distributed to the states by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service.
Equal opportunity to participate in and benefit from hunter education training programs is available to all individuals without regard to their race, color, national origin, sex, age, or handicap. Complaints of discrimination should be sent to the Office of Equal Opportunity, U.S. Department of Interior, Office of the Secretary, Washington, DC 20240.