New Jersey Division of Fish and Wildlife Back to State of NJ Homepage Back to Fish and Wildlife Homepage Back to DEP Homepage 


April 5, 2000

For more information contact:
Permit Hotline at (609) 292-9192

The New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection's Division of Fish and Wildlife will offer unclaimed turkey permits at selected Division offices throughout the state beginning Saturday, April 15. This special over-the-counter sale will enable hunters who did not apply for a permit, were not selected in the lottery, or who wish to obtain an extra permit an opportunity to do so.

Unclaimed permits will go on sale April 15, from 9 a.m. to 12 noon and will also be sold as long as the supply lasts between 9 a.m. and 4 p.m. weekdays starting April 17. Offices except the Pequest Trout Hatchery and the Trenton office will be closed during lunch hour (12 noon to 1 p.m.). Persons interested in purchasing an unclaimed permit must bring their 2000 hunting license and cash or a check for $21 for each permit.

It is not necessary for the hunter to appear in person, but the individual buying the permit must have the hunter's 2000 hunting license and the necessary fee. However, an individual standing in line is limited to purchasing permits for a total of three people. Photocopies of licenses will NOT be accepted.

Additional permits can be purchased for any hunting area with permits still available. Hunters may buy as many permits as they wish, however, in the interest of fairness, hunters may only purchase one permit per license as long as there is a line.

Children 15 years of age and under, who have not received a permit in the first lottery will be guaranteed a permit for any zone and week. If the child applied for a permit in the lottery, they will not be guaranteed a second permit. Youth permits are $12.

Permits will be sold on a first come first serve basis at the following Division offices on Saturday, April 15 and Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays, thereafter:

Pequest Trout Hatchery and Natural Resource Education Center, nine miles west of Hackettstown on Rt. 46, Oxford, in Warren County.

Northern Region Law Enforcement Office, westbound Rt. 78 take exit 13 to Rt.173; eastbound Rt.78 take exit 12 to Rt.173, Hampton, in Hunterdon County.

Southern Region Law Enforcement Office, one mile south of Rt. 73 on Blue Anchor Rd., in Sicklerville, Camden County.

Assunpink Wildlife Management Area Office, exit 11 off Rt. 195, head north, at second intersection turn right, follow road until it forms a T. The office is a white house directly ahead. Located in Robbinsville, in Monmouth County.

Nacote Creek Research Center, two miles north of Smithville on Rt.9, in Atlantic County.

In addition, permits will be sold weekdays from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. at the Trenton office, 501 East State St. (3rd floor), beginning Monday, April 17. There are no Saturday sales at the Trenton office.

Turkey permits are available for the following areas and weeks:

1C, D**
2C, D**
3B**, C, D**, E**
4C, D**
5B, C, D
6A*, B, C, D
7A**, B, C, D, E**
8C, D*
10C, D**
12B**, C, D
14C, D**
16B*, C, D
22C, D**

(**) Designates that there are less than 30 permits available in that area and week.
(*) Designates that there are less than 10 permits available for that area and week and will be sold at the office(s) closest to that zone. 6A will be sold only at the Pequest Trout Hatchery. 8D will be sold only at the Northern Region Office. 16B will be sold only at the Nacote Creek Research Station.

For more information on over-the-counter turkey permit sales, please call the 24-hour computerized permit hotline at (609) 292-9192.

The fall turkey permit lottery will be conducted in late May. Permits and non-selection notices will be mailed in late June. Due to the limited number of permits available, over-the-counter sales are not expected.