License Information

2013 REGULATIONS

This is not the full law. Consult the Division of Fish and Wildlife for further details. All persons are reminded that the statutes, code and regulations are the legal authorities. Regulations in red are new this year. Purple text indicates an important note.

Licenses

- A valid New Jersey fishing license is required for residents at least 16 years and less than 70 years of age (plus all non-residents 16 years and older) to fish the fresh waters of New Jersey, including privately owned waters.
- Resident anglers age 70 and over do not require a fishing license. A driver's license or other acceptable proof of age containing date of birth and physical description will serve as the actual fishing license.
- License must be visibly displayed on outer clothing.
- License and trout stamp are both valid from date of purchase through Dec. 31.
- A person must reside in New Jersey for at least six months to obtain a resident fishing license.
- Farmers and immediate family members who live on the farm do not need a license to fish on their own farm, but must obey all fishing regulations.
- Anyone convicted of a second fish or wildlife violation in this or another state within a period of five years will have his or her New

mum of two years.

Trout Stamps

A valid fishing license and trout stamp are both required to fish for or possess trout and salmon for all anglers (residents and non-residents) 16 and over, and residents under the age of 70. No trout stamp is required for residents age 70 years and over.

Purchasing a License

Licenses may be purchased by phone at (888) 773-8450, online at www.NJ.WildlifeLicense.com or at license agents such as sporting goods stores plus bait and tackle shops. Visit our website at NJFishandWildlife.com for details, or call (609) 292-2965. The Trenton Fish and Wildlife office is no longer open to the public for license or permit sales.

Replacement – Lost License or Stamp

A license, permit or stamp can be replaced at any license agent or online at Fish and Wildlife's Internet license sales site, www.NJ.WildlifeLicense.comalsolinkedthrough our regular website at NJFishandWildlife.com or by phone at (888) 773-8450.

Special Licenses

Servicemen and Servicewomen

A person who is on active duty in the armed services of the United States is entitled to fish with a resident license.

National Guard Members

Eligible National Guard personnel are entitled to free licenses, permits, and stamps. Further information can be obtained by writing to: NJ Department of Military/Veteran Affairs, 101 Eggerts Crossing Rd., Lawrenceville, NJ 08648. Or call (609) 530-6866 for 1st Sgt. Turrian.

Disabled Veterans Licenses, Stamps and Permits

Free hunting and fishing licenses, stamps and permits are available for resident disabled veterans.

For the purposes of this program, legislation defines disabled veterans as "...any resident of New Jersey who has been honorably discharged or released under honorable circumstances from active service from any branch of the Armed Forces of the United States and who has been declared by the United States Department of Veteran Affairs, or its successor, to have a serviceconnected disability of any degree..."

New applicant disabled veterans may obtain

Jersey sporting licenses revoked for a minitheir hunting and fishing licenses and stamps at the following Fish and Wildlife field offices:

- Pequest Trout Hatchery/Natural Resource Ed. Ctr, Oxford, Warren Co., (908) 637-4125
- Central Region Office, Upper Freehold Twp., Monmouth Co., (609) 259-2132
- Southern Region Office, Sicklerville, Camden Co., (856) 629-0090

Applications for disabled veteran certification and your first disabled veteran license may be made via the mail by sending the application and all required documentation to NJ Division of Fish and Wildlife, Attn: Disabled Veteran Licensing, MC 501-03, PO Box 420 Trenton, NJ 08625-0420.

All licenses, stamps and permits for which the veteran is eligible will be free of charge. This does not give preferential treatment in any lottery. For questions call (609) 984-6213.

Disabled Veteran Applicants:

- 1. Documentation of current benefits for a service-connected disability and proof of honorable discharge (such as a copy of your DD-214, VA card or monthly check stub) must be presented to obtain a free disabled veteran license.
- 2. Applicant must provide a hunter education (archery, shotgun or rifle) course certificate applicable to the license for which he or she is applying or a previously issued resident archery or firearm license or rifle permit. Resident licenses from other states issued to hunters prior to establishing residency in New Jersey will be accepted if the license indicates the sporting arm for which it was valid. Non-resident licenses from other states are not acceptable.
- 3. To obtain the free disabled veteran deer/ turkey permits one must first have a free disabled veteran hunting license.

For the Blind

Residents afflicted with total blindness may obtain a free license from Fish and Wildlife's Trenton office. Call (609) 292-9530 for an application.

Summary of General Fishing Regulations

The season, size and creel limits for freshwater species apply to all waters of the state, including tidal waters.

- Fish may be taken only in the manner known as angling with handline or with rod and line, or as otherwise allowed by law.
- When fishing from the shoreline, no more than three fishing rods, handlines or combination

2013 License Fees and Information

Licenses and fishing-related permits are valid from date of purchase to Dec. 31 of each year.

Licenses

Resident Fishing
Ages 16-64 yrs\$22.50
Senior Resident Fishing
Ages 65-69 yrs\$12.50
70 & overFree
Resident Trout Stamp
Ages 16-69 yrs\$10.50
Non-resident Fishing
Age 16 yrs. and older\$34
Non-resident Trout Stamp\$20
Non-resident 2-Day Vacation Fishing \$9
Non-resident 7-Day Vacation Fishing \$19.50
All-Around Sportsman (includes resident
fishing, firearm hunting and bow/arrow
hunting licenses)\$72.25

Permits

Available online or through license agents: Boat Ramp Permit\$15 Available through the Lebanon Field Office (908) 236-2118:

Water Lowering, Fish Stocking,	
Baitfish Collecting, Fish Tagging	\$2
Turtle & Frog Collecting	\$2
Scientific Collecting	\$22

Summary of Fishing Regulations

2013 REGULATIONS

thereof may be used (except on the Delaware River, see page 28). For the Delaware River the three rod limit applies both to boat and shoreline anglers (see page 28).

- Only one daily creel of any fish species may be in possession. Additional fish may be caught once the creel is reached if immediately returned to the water unharmed.
- Separate stringers or buckets must be used for each angler's catch.
- Boats may contain only the combined daily creel limit for each legal angler on board.
- A fishing license does not authorize trespass on private property. Permission first must be obtained from the landowner.

It Is Unlawful To:

- Fish within 100 feet (or as posted) of any fish ladder entrance or exit from March 1 through June 30.
- Spear fish in fresh waters. See exception for Delaware River, page 28.
- Possess a fishing device with more than nine hooks in total, or more than three treble hooks, except for the Delaware River; see page 28.
- Use set lines.
- Use cast nets in freshwater lakes or trout stocked waters. See Baitfish Regulations, page 31 for other exclusions.
- Foul hook or snag any species of fish. This does not apply to fish taken through the ice.

Bow and Arrow Fishing

Carp, including bighead, common, grass and silver-as well as, eels, flathead catfish, both American and gizzard shad, snakeheads and suckers-may be taken at any time by use of a bow and arrow (with a line attached to the arrow) when in possession of a valid fishing license. See regulations for the Delaware River and Greenwood Lake, pages 28-30. Crossbows are NOT permitted for fishing.

Emergency Closures

It is illegal to fish or attempt to catch or kill fish by any manner or means in any waters for which the Director of the Division of Fish and Wildlife, upon approval by the Fish and Game Council, issues an emergency closure notice. Such notification is effective and/or rescinded immediately upon public notification. Emergency closures shall be based upon imminent threat to the wellbeing of the fishery resources, and/or its users, and may include any exceptions to the total ban of fishing that the Director deems practical.

Ice Fishing

No more than five devices may be used for tak-

Water Supply Reservoirs Open To Fishing By Permit Only

Permits must be obtained from the specific reservoir owner listed below. A valid fishing license is also required.

Waterbody		County	Type of Fishing	Fee	Permit Source			
ock	Echo Lake	Di-			Permits available in person only at these locations:			
Newark-Pequannock Watershed Reservoirs	Clinton Reservoir	Passaic	Boat &		Boat &		.,	Newark Watershed Conserv. & Dev. Corp
ark-Pe	Oak Ridge Reservoir	Morris	Shoreline	Yes	223 Echo Lake Road, Newfoundland, NJ 07435 (973) 697-2850			
Newa Water	Canistear Reservoir	Sussex			40 Clinton Street, 4th Floor, Newark, NJ 07102 (973) 622-4521			
Point View Reservoir		Passaic	Shoreline only Sat. & Sun 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.	No	Passaic Valley Water Commission 1525 Main Avenue, Clifton, NJ 07015 (973) 340-4309 Send stamped, self-addressed envelope. A daily permit will be mailed. Permit allows two people to fish.			
(Oradell Reservoir				1 l- t- d \ \			
	Woodcliff Lake	Bergen	Shoreline only	Yes	United Water Company 200 Old Hook Road, Harrington Park, NJ 07640			
Lake Tappan Reservoir Lake Deforest		_ 2.9011	Chorenie Only	.00	(201) 767-9300 x3208			

may be used are:

- 1. Ice supported tip-ups or lines with one single pointed hook attached, or one burr of three hooks that measure not more than ½-inch from point to shaft;
- 2. An artificial jigging lure with not more than one burr of three hooks that measure not more than ½-inch from point to point;
- 3. An artificial jigging lure with not more than three single hooks measuring not more than 1/2-inch from point to shaft;
- 4. An artificial jigging lure with a combination of the hook limitations described in 2 and 3 above.

Natural bait may be used on the hooks of the artificial jigging lures. All devices that are not hand-held must bear the name and address of the user and cannot be left unattended.

See separate regulations for trout-stocked waters and Greenwood Lake.

Potentially Dangerous Fish

The possession or release of live, potentially dangerous fish is prohibited. These species include Asian swamp eel, bighead, grass (diploid) and silver carp, brook stickleback, green sunfish, flathead catfish, oriental weatherfish, snakehead and warmouth. Anglers MUST destroy these species if encountered while fishing and are directed to submit specimen(s) or photos to a Fish and Wildlife Bureau of Freshwater Fisheries biologist for verification. To reach a biologist, call (908) 236-2118 for north Jersey or (856) 629-4950

ing fish when ice is present. The devices that for south Jersey. These non-native species are likely to cause environmental harm to the state's fisheries resources by outcompeting preferred game fish species.

Sale of Fish

It is illegal to sell any freshwater fish species except under commercial permits as prescribed in the Fish and Game Code. Artificiallypropagated trout, if properly tagged, may be sold for food purposes.

Stocking Fish

A permit is required to stock fish or fish eggs into any waters of the state, public or private, at any time. An application may be obtained by contacting the Lebanon Field Office at (908) 236-2118. It is ILLEGAL to stock carp or koi into any such waters.

Tagging Fish

No person may tag or mark and then release a fish without first obtaining a fish stocking permit or by special permit issued by Fish and Wildlife. Contact the Lebanon Field Office at (908) 236-2118 for application information.

Waste of Fish

Fish of any species which are purposely killed become part of the angler's daily limit and must be removed from the waters from which they were taken, then either used or otherwise disposed of properly.

Fishing Regulations

SIZE, SEASON AND CREEL LIMITS

Certain waters are closed to fishing for all species from March 18 to April 6, 2013 at 8 a.m. because of trout stocking.

Refer to pages 18–20 for complete lists and exceptions. For Delaware River and Greenwood Lake, see regulations on pages 28–30.

	SEASON	MINIMUM SIZE	DAILY LIMIT			
LARGEMOUTH & SMALLMOUTH BASS				Elwin		
Control Science (Column)	Jan.1– April 14	Statewide (exceptions below)	12 inches	5 combined		
Largemouth Bass	April 15-June 15 Catch & Release only (all waters)	Lunker Bass Lakes: Alloway, Assunpink, Parvin, Delaware lakes, Splitrock Reservoir	15 inches	3 combined		
THE REAL PROPERTY OF THE PARTY	June 16-Dec.31	Conservation Regulations: Ryker Lake	15 inches	2 combined		
Smallmouth Bass	Year-Round	Lake Audrey	Catch & Release only	0		
NORTHERN PIKE, TIGER MUSKY, MUSI	KELLUNGE					
	Open year round	Statewide	Northern Pike: 24 inches	2		
Northern Pike	March 20 – May 20 are Catch & Release only for Echo Lake Reservoir,	Statewide (exceptions below)	Tiger Musky & Muskellunge: 36 inches	4		
Muskellunge	Mercer Lake, Mountain Lake, Monksville Reservoir	Trophy Musky Waters: Mountain & Echo Lake reservoirs	Tiger Musky & Muskellunge: 40 inches	1 combined		
CHAIN PICKEREL AND REDFIN PICKEREL						
Chain Pickerel	Open year round	Statewide	15 inches	5 combined		
WALLEYE						
Walleye	Jan. 1–Feb. 28 March 1 – April 30 Catch & Release only May 1–Dec. 31	Statewide	18 inches	3		
STRIPED BASS (freshwater only) Striped bass regulations are subject to char	nge. Consult our website N	JFishandWildlife.com and the news	media for updates.			
Striped Bass	March 1–Dec.31	Statewide	28 inches	2		
HYBRID STRIPED BASS (freshwater only) Striped bass regulations are subject to char	nge. Consult our website N	JFishandWildlife.com and the news	media for updates.			
	Open year round	Statewide (exceptions below)	16 inches	2		
Hybrid Striped Bass	March 1-Dec.31	Raritan River (downstream of Duke Island Park dam)	28 inches	2		

Fishing Regulations

SIZE, SEASON AND CREEL LIMITS

Regulations in red are new this year. Purple text indicates an important note.

	SEASON	LOCATION	MINIMUM SIZE	DAILY LIMIT		
AMERICAN SHAD						
American Shad	Open year round**	Statewide	No minimum size	3		
CHANNEL CATFISH						
Channel Catfish	Open year round	Statewide	12 inches	5		
CRAPPIE (BLACK AND WHITE)						
Crappie	Open year round	Statewide	8 inches	10 combined		
SUNFISH and ALL OTHER SPECIES WIT	H NO SPECIFIED CREEL	LIMITS				
		Statewide (exceptions below)	No minimum size	25 combined		
700		Conservation Regulation	Sunfish: 7 inches	10 combined		
Rock Bass, White Perch, Yellow Perch, Sunfish (see below for sunfish exceptions), Bullheads, White Catfish, Suckers, Carp, Bowfin, Pumpkinseed and all other species with no specified creel limit.	Open year round	Bukar Laka		10		
man marin		Conservation Regulation Rainbow Lake (Salem Co.)	Sunfish: 7 inches	10 combined		
BANDED, BLACKBANDED, BLUESPOTTED AND MUD SUNFISH						
Banded Sunfish* Blackbanded Sunfish* Bluespotted Sunfish* Mud Sunfish	Closed	Statewide	Protected	0		
* Illustrations by Ted Walke, PA Fish and Boat Commission						
FRESHWATER BAITFISH (See page 31 for complete description of gear types and restrictions)						
Golden Shiner, Banded Killifish, Mummichog, Spotfin Killifish, Rainwater Killifish, American Brook Lamprey, Fathead Minnow, Bluntnose Minnow, Tadpole Madtom, Margined Madtom, All Shiners, Daces, Minnows, Gizzard Shad and American Eel. For Herring, Alewife and Blueback—see River Herring Closure (page 6) and Baitfish Regulations (page 31).	Open year round Exceptions Baitfish may not be taken in trout stocked waters from March 18 to June 15	Statewide	No minimum Exception American Eel: 6 inches	35 combined		

^{**} Due to serious declines in American Shad numbers, the taking of American Shad, except for the Delaware River, is anticipated to be prohibited beginning January 1, 2013. Be sure to check for updates on Fish and Wildlife's website, NJFishandWildlife.com.



Delaware River

Species	Open Seasons	Minimum Length	Daily Limit	
	Jan. 1-April 12	12 inches	Egombinad	
Bass, Largemouth & Smallmouth	June 16-Dec.31	12 Inches	5 combined	
	April 13–June 15	Catch and release only	Catch and release only	
Eel, American**	Open year round	Pennsylvania: 8 inches (but 6–8 inches for baitfish)	50	
		New Jersey: 6 inches		
Herring, Alewife and Blueback (see pg. 6)	Closed	_	_	
Muskellunge & Hybrids	Open year round	40 inches	1	
Pickerel, Chain	Open year round	12 inches	5	
Pike, Northern	Open year round	24 inches	2	
Shad, American*	Open year round	No minimum	3	
Shad, Hickory	Closed	_	_	
Striped Bass & Hybrids (upstream of Calhoun St. Bridge)	March 1-Dec. 31	28 inches	2	
Striped Bass & Hybrids***	Bass & Hybrids*** March 1–30		2	
(downstream of Calhoun St. Bridge)	June 1-Dec.31	28 inches	2	
Sturgeon, Atlantic and Shortnose	Closed	_	_	
Trout	April 13 at 8 a.m Oct. 15	No minimum	5	
Walleye	Open year round	18 inches	3	
All Other Freshwater Species	Open year round	No minimum	No limit	
Baitfish	Open year round	No minimum	50	

Due to serious declines in American Shad numbers, the taking of American Shad, except for the Delaware River, is anticipated to be prohibited beginning January 1, 2013. Be sure to check Fish and Wildlife's website, NJFishandWildlife.com, for updates.

^{**} Pennsylvania also enforces an 8-inch minimum on American Eel. Eel used as bait must be at least 6 inches and no greater than 8 inches in length.

^{***} Pennsylvania allows anglers to harvest a daily limit of two striped bass measuring 20 to 26 inches for a two month period from April 1, 2013 through May 31, 2013, from the Calhoun St. Bridge in Trenton downstream to the Pennsylvania state line. New Jersey still has a closed season. Anglers fishing the Delaware River from the New Jersey shoreline, or returning to New Jersey by boat and/or car in April and May must abide by New Jersey's striped bass regulations. Possession of striped bass in New Jersey is illegal during this time period.

Fishing The Delaware River: Regulation Notices

The Delaware River is a boundary water shared by Pennsylvania and New Jersey with each state's border generally following the centerline of the river. Although the majority of the fishing regulations enacted by both states are identical, there are some distinct differences. Anglers fishing this river must be aware of each state's fishing regulations.

Regardless of an angler's residency or point of boat launching, all are required to comply with the regulations **of the state in which they are fishing.**An angler fishing—or in possession of fish—between the centerline of the river and the New Jersey shoreline must comply with the New Jersey fishing regulations. An angler fishing—or in possession of fish—between the centerline of the river and the Pennsylvania shoreline must comply with the Pennsylvania fishing regulations.

The reciprocal agreement regarding fishing *licenses* remains in effect and anglers may continue to fish from shoreline to shoreline in the Delaware River between Pennsylvania and New Jersey using *either* state's fishing license. Information on each state's fishing regulations can be found at www.fishandboat.com and www.NJFishandWildlife.com. It is incumbent upon anglers to determine in which state they are currently fishing, taking into account that in areas where the river splits, such as around islands, the boundary is clearly and legally defined to one side of the island or another.

All anglers are reminded to comply with each state's marine registry requirements when angling for or catching anadromous species such as striped bass, river herring or shad in the tidal portions of the Delaware River.

- New Jersey and Pennsylvania fishing licenses are both recognized when fishing the Delaware River from a boat or either shoreline. This applies to the main stem of the river only.
- Anglers may launch a boat from either shore and on return, may have in possession any fish which may be legally taken according to the regulations of the state where the landing is made.
- No more than three rods, each with one line, or two hand lines—or one of each—may be used. No more than three single hooks or three treble hooks per line.
- To protect spawning striped bass, from the Calhoun Street bridge near Trenton downstream to the Commodore Barry Bridge at Bridgeport, non-offset circle hooks must be used when using bait with a #2 sized hook or larger, from April 1 to May 30.
- Spears (not mechanically propelled) and bow and arrows may be used to take carp, catfish, shad and suckers except within 825 feet of an eel weir. A valid fishing license is required.

- Baitfish may be taken and possessed for personal use and are not to be bartered or sold.
- A Delaware fishing license is now required for anglers aged 16 and over fishing the Delaware Bay and Delaware River between the upstream tip of Artificial Island and the Delaware-Pennsylvania state line. In that section of the river, the Delaware state boundary extends to the New Jersey shoreline. However, when fishing from shore in New Jersey along that section of the river, a Delaware fishing license is not required. Delaware fishing license information can be found at www.fw.delaware.gov/Fisheries/Pages/NewFishingLicense.aspx.
- A listing of fishing access locations along the Delaware River is available at Fish and Wildlife's website, NJFishandWildlife.com, under Freshwater Fishing.
- Delaware River Basin Commission recreation maps are available for \$25.
 An order form is available online at www.state.nj.us/drbc/recreation.htm.
- Information for the Delaware Water Gap National Recreation Area is available online at www.nps.gov/dewa.

Thompson Management, LLC



+/- 6,000 Acres of Hunting Land

Available for Bid in Central New Jersey Annual bids begin July 1st

For more information, or to submit a bid visit our website...

ThompsonManagementLLC.com or call 609.921.7655

It's never too late...
Submit your bid today!



- Don Meissner, nationally-recognized angler and TV host



More than 200 Lakes, Ponds and Streams... the St. Lawrence River...and Waddington, a National Ultimate Fishing Town Winner.

St. Lawrence County. Fishing Like It Used To Be.

Plan your trip at **FISHCAP.net** or contact the St. Lawrence Chamber of Commerce at **877-228-7810**.





Greenwood Lake

- New York and New Jersey fishing licenses are both recognized anywhere on the lake or along the shoreline.
- Fishing is permitted 24 hours a day.
- In compliance with New York regulations, only certified virus-free baitfish may be transported to, or used on, the portion of Greenwood Lake owned by the State of New York. Anglers are urged to use only certified virus-free baitfish when fishing any portion of Greenwood Lake.
- · Bow and arrow fishing for all carp, sucker, herring, catfish and eel is permitted. A valid fishing license is required.
- No more than five tip-ups and two hand-held devices may be used when ice fishing. All devices that are not hand held must be plainly marked with the name and address of the angler.

Species	Open Seasons	Minimum Length	Daily Limit
	Jan. 1-June 15	Catch and release only	
Bass, Largemouth & Smallmouth	June 16-Dec. 1	12 inches	5 combined
	Dec. 1-Dec. 31	Catch and relea	ise only
Catfish, Channel	Open year round	12 inches	5
Crappie, Black & White	Open year round	8 inches	10 combined
Muskellunge & Hybrids	Open year round	36 inches	1
Perch, Yellow	Open year round	No minimum	50
Pickerel, Chain	Open year round	15 inches	5
Sunfish	Open year round	No minimum	50 combined
	Jan. 1-Feb. 28	18 inches	3
Walleye	March 1-April 30	Catch and release only	
	May 1-Dec. 31	18 inches	3
Herring, Alewife, (landlocked) and blueback	Open year round	6 inches	Any unused herring must be returned to Greenwood Lake upon conclusion of the angler's fishing trip. Herring may not be transported away from the lake's shoreline by any mechanism and may not be sold.
All Other Species	Open year round	No minimum	No limit



You don't want to miss the annual Musky School on Lake Hopatcong offered by Muskies Inc! Learn how to catch these elusive fish. This course offers informative tips and techniques to help any musky angler—beginner to experienced angler—catch more muskies.

Learn from our seasoned veteran anglers. In the morning, classroom-style sessions will orient anglers on locations to fish, forage base, lure presentations, fishing tactics and more. Later in the day, participants will be on the water in a fully-equipped boat to pursue muskies with a personal instructor. This 6-hour course includes a shore lunch. This is a catch and release event.

Muskies Inc. is a non-profit organization. This is a fundraising event. All proceeds benefit the New Jersey musky fishery.



See separate regulations for Delaware River (page 28). For marine waters, see the New Jersey Marine Digest.

Baitfish Regulations*

BAITFISH SPECIES

Baitfish species: golden shiner, banded killifish, mummichog, spotfin killifish, rainwater killifish, American brook lamprey, fathead minnow, bluntnose minnow, tadpole madtom, margined madtom, all shiners, daces, minnows, chubs and the American eel.

Season	Location	Minimum Size	Daily Limit
Open year round Exception Season closed March 18–June 15 on trout stocked waters and special regulation trout areas	Statewide (freshwaters)	No minimum size Exception American eel: 6 inches	35 per day, species combined
	All freshwater streams, rivers and marine waters	CLOSED	Possession, take or attempt to take herring PROHIBITED
Herring,* Alewife and Blueback * See page 6 for more information regarding the taking or possession of herring.	Freshwater lakes in Morris, Passaic, Sussex, and Warren Counties; and Spruce Run Reservoir (Hunterdon)	6 inches	Any unused herring must be returned to the water upon conclusion of the angler's fishing trip. Herring may not be transported away from the shoreline of these lakes by any mechanism. They may not be sold.
	All other freshwater lakes (regardless of ownership)	CLOSED	Only purchased herring, no greater than 6 inches, may be possessed. Receipt of purchase, dated within 7 days, must be in possession.

Notes: Any person with a valid fishing license (or those under 16 and residents 70 years or older) may take baitfish in fresh waters. Possession limit is one day's limit, regardless of the intent to use these fish. Baitfish may be taken from the fresh waters of the state in numbers greater than 35 per day, in lakes over 250 acres, under a special permit issued by Fish and Wildlife at its discretion. Contact (908) 236-2118 for application information.

Gear	Gear Description
Seine	Not over 50 feet long in ponds and lakes over 100 acres; in all other waters not over 30 feet in length. Exception: In trout-stocked waters and special regulation trout areas a seine may not be more than 10 feet in length and 4 feet in depth.
Minnow Trap	Not larger than 24 inches in length with a funnel mouth no greater than 2 inches in diameter.
Umbrella Net	No greater than 3.5 feet square.
Dip Net	Not more than 24 inches in diameter; may be used only for alewife or blueback herring.
Cast Net	No greater than 8 feet in diameter; may be used only in streams that are not trout- stocked or special regulation trout areas (may not be used in lakes).
Hook and Line	Maximum of nine single hooks or three hooks with three burrs per contrivance on all waters except the Delaware River where only three single hooks are permitted.

Turtle and Frog Regulations

Species	Season	Location	Minimum Size	Daily Limit
Snapping Turtle	January 1 – April 30 June 16 – December 31	Statewide	No minimum	3 per day
Bull Frog and Green Frog	January 1–March 31 July 1–December 31	Statewide	No minimum	15 per day, combined

MEANS OF TAKE

Snapping turtles may only be taken in fresh waters of the state. See page 32 for established fishing license lines that designate between fresh and marine waters. Any person with a valid fishing license or those entitled to fish without a license may take snapping turtles, bull frogs, and green frogs by means of spears, hooks, dip nets (not more than 24 inches in diameter), traps or by hand. Snapping turtles may not be taken with a gun or bow and arrow. Snapping turtles, bull frogs, and green frogs may be taken in numbers greater than the daily limit under a commercial harvest permit issued by Fish and Wildlife at its discretion. Contact (908) 236-2118 for application information.

REQUIREMENTS **Motor Boat Registration** and Title Requirements NJ Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) Registration

Most boats must be registered to operate on New Jersey waterways.

- · All titled boats must be registered also.
- Any boat (including jet skis and non-titled watercraft), mechanically propelled (incl. electric motors), regardless of length, must be registered.
- Boats greater than 12 feet in length, regardless of propulsion means, must be titled and registered at an MVC office.

Boats and marine equipment which need not be registered:

- Those not based in New Jersey or operating here less than 180 consecutive days that are operating under a federally-approved numbering system from another state
- Ship's lifeboats

REGISTRATION

BOAT

MOTOR

- Non-motorized vessels used exclusively on small lakes and ponds on private property
- Racing vessels with New Jersey State Marine Police permit
- Non-motorized inflatable device, surfboard, racing shell, dinghy, canoe or kayak
- Non-motorized vessel less than 12 feet in length

For use on New Jersey waterways, all boats more than 12 feet in length must be titled, with the exception of ship's lifeboat, canoe, kayak, inflatable, surfboard, rowing scull, racing shell, tender/dinghy used for direct transportation between a vessel and shore for no other purposes.

Boat Operator License (MVC)

An operator license is required to operate power vessels on fresh, non-tidal waters such as lakes, creeks and rivers. (Minimum age 16 years; with certain exceptions.)

For More Information: **New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission**

(888) 486-3339 toll free in NJ or (609) 292-6500 from out-of-state www.nj.gov/mvc/

Boat Safety Certificate (NJSP)

A boat safety certificate (from an approved boat safety course; see NJSP website, below) is required to operate a personal watercraft or power vessel, including electric motors, in NJ waters (tidal and non-tidal).

New Jersey State Police (NJSP)

(609) 882-2000 www.njsp.org/maritime

Fishing License Lines

2013 REGULATIONS

A fishing license is required to fish the fresh waters of the state. Locations listed below mark the change from salt water (license not required) to fresh water. A fishing license is required at—and upstream of—these locations. Snapping turtles may only be taken from fresh waters of the state.

ATLANTIC COUNTY

Absecon Creek-Dam at Lower Atlantic City Reservoir

Great Egg Harbor River—Power lines at confluence of Gravelly Run

Middle River—None—all saline water
Mullica River—Line between Seventh Ave.,

Sweetwater, and ramp at Crowleys Landing

Nacote Creek—Port Republic dam Patcong Creek—Bargaintown Lake dam

South River—Power lines immediately below Rt. 50

Tuckahoe River-First northerly tributary downstream of Rt. 49 bridge (McNeals Branch)

BERGEN COUNTY

Hackensack River—Cedar Lane Bridge between Hackensack and Teaneck

Hudson River—None—all saline water Passaic River—Required whole length

BURLINGTON COUNTY

Assiscunk Creek-Required whole length Bass River State—Fir Bridge on Stage Rd. in Bass River State Forest

Batsto River-Required whole length Blacks Creek—Required whole length Crosswicks Creek—Required whole length Delaware River—Required whole length

Mullica River-Line between Seventh Ave...

Sweetwater, and ramp at Crowleys Landing Pennsauken Creek—Required whole length Pompeston Creek—Required whole length Rancocas Creek—Required whole length

Swedes Run—Required whole length Wading River—Charcoal Landing, Chips Folly Campground

CAMDEN COUNTY

License required on Delaware River and all other waters

CAPE MAY COUNTY

Bidwells Creek-None-all saline water Cedar Swamp Creek—None-all saline water Dennis Creek-None-all saline water East Creek—100 ft. below East Creek Lake dam, Eldora

Tuckahoe River-First northerly tributary downstream of lower Rt. 49 bridge (McNeals Br.) West Creek—100 feet below West Creek Lake dam (Pickle Factory Pond)

CUMBERLAND COUNTY

saline water

Andrews Creek-None-all saline water Back Creek-None-all saline water Cedar Creek—100 ft. downstream of Cedar Lake dam

Cohansey River-Rt. 49 bridge at Bridgeton Dividing Creek—Rt. 555 bridge Fishing Creek—None-all saline water Fortescue Cr./Branch of Oranoken Cr.—None-all

Manumuskin Creek-Required whole length Maurice River-Mouth of Manumuskin Creek near Port Elizabeth

Menantico Creek-Required whole length Mill Creek—Tributary of Cohansey-Rt. 553 bridge, Fairton Muskee Creek—S. side of bridge on Weathersby Rd. Nantuxent Creek (Pages Run)—Rt. 553 north of Frames Corner

Oranoken Creek-Whitecar Mill, North of Beaver dam

Oyster Creek—None-all saline water Riggins Ditch—Rt. 47 bridge Sow and Pigs Branch Nantuxent—None-all saline

water Stow Creek-Buckhorn Rd. bridge, Jericho

Straight Creek-None-all saline water West Creek—100 ft. below West Creek Lake dam (Pickle Factory Pond)

ESSEX COUNTY

Passaic River—Erie Railroad bridge between Newark (at Verona Ave.) and Kearny Peddie Ditch-None-all saline water

GLOUCESTER COUNTY

Big Timber Creek—Required whole length Delaware River—Commodore Barry bridge at Bridgeport

Mantua Creek-Required whole length Oldmans Creek—Rt. 295 bridge Raccoon Creek—Required whole length Woodbury Creek—Required whole length

HUDSON COUNTY

Hackensack River—None-all saline water Hudson River-None-all saline water Passaic River—Railroad bridge between Newark (at Verona Ave.) and Kearny

HUNTERDON COUNTY

License required on Delaware River and all other waters

MERCER COUNTY

License required on Delaware River and all other waters

MIDDLESEX COUNTY

Cheesequake Creek—Dam at Cheesequake Lake, Cheesequake State Park

Lawrence Brook—N.J. Turnpike bridge, East Brunswick

Raritan River-Landing Lane bridge, New Brunswick South River—Rt. 527 bridge (New Brunswick Old Bridge Tpk.)

Woodbridge River—N.J. Turnpike bridge

MONMOUTH COUNTY

Black Creek-Spillway at Ocean Rd. Branchport Creek—Mouth of Turtle Mill Brook Deal Lake-Top of dam

Hockhockson (Pine) Brook-Garden State Parkway northbound bridge

Little Silver Creek Brook Manasquan River—Bennetts bridge, Manasquan

Wildlife Management Area Matawan Creek-Lefferts Lake dam Oceanport Creek-Mouth of Husky Brook Parkers Creek—Mouth of Parkers Creek Brook Shark River-Remsen Mills Rd.

Swimming River—Swimming River Rd. bridge Wreck Pond Creek-Rt. 71 bridge

MORRIS COUNTY

License required on all waters

OCEAN COUNTY

Beaver Dam Creek-Rt. 88 bridge Cedar Creek-Rt. 9 bridge Cedar Run—Rt. 9 bridge Dinner Point Creek-None-all saline water Double Creek—None-all saline water Forked River-All branches Rt. 9

Gunning River—None-all saline water Jakes Branch—Above Atlantic City Blvd. Jeffreys Creek—Ocean Gate Rd. to Ocean Gate Kettle Creek-Rt. 549 bridge Lake of the Lilies—Entire lake
Long Swamp Creek—Washington St. bridge, Toms River
Manahawkin Creek—Dams for Manahawkin WMA impoundments bayside

Metedeconk River—Rt. 70 bridge, Laurelton
Mill Creek—Mouth of Creek at lagoons in Beach Haven West

Mill Creek-Pine Beach-Ocean Gate Road Oyster Creek-Rt. 9 bridge Parkers Run—None–all saline water Potters Creek-None-all saline water Stouts Creek-None-all saline water Stouts Creek S. Br.—Bayside East Parkway Toms River-Garden State Parkway, northbound

Tuckerton Creek—Dam at Rt. 9 bridge Waretown Creek—Rt. 9 bridge West Creek—Rt. 9 bridge

PASSAIC COUNTY

License required on all waters

SALEM COUNTY

Alloway Creek-Rt. 540 bridge at Alloway Black Ditch-None-all saline water Delaware River—None–all saline water Fishing Creek—None–all saline water Hope Creek—None-all saline water Mad Horse Creek-None-all saline water Mill Creek-None-all saline water Oldmans Creek-Rt. 295 southbound bridge Salem River-Dupont dam near Cedar Crest Manor Salem Canal—Dam at Deepwater Stow Creek—Buckhorn Rd. bridge, Jericho Straight Ditch—None–all saline water

SOMERSET COUNTY

License required on all waters

SUSSEX COUNTY

License required on Delaware River and all other waters

UNION COUNTY

Elizabeth River-West Grand St., Elizabeth Great Ditch-None-all saline water Morses Creek-Old Morses Mill Rd. Oyster Creek—None-all saline water Peddie Ditch-None-all saline water Piles Creek—None–all saline water Rahway River-Lawrence St. (Rt. 514), Rahway

WARREN COUNTY

License required on Delaware River and all other waters

IMPORTANT FOOTNOTES:

- 1. Absence of a river, creek, brook or other waterway from this list does not make it exempt from requiring a license to fish the fresh waters.
- 2. Names of waters conform to those given on the United States Geological Survey 7.5 Minute Topographic Series Maps.