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Indoor Shooting Ranges, Firearms and Archery

www.shootersnj.com

1535 Route 539, Little Egg Harbor, NJ  08087

FIREARMS - OVER 1,000 ON DISPLAY!
HANDGUNS - RIFLES - SHOTGUNS - MUZZLELOADERS

609-296-4080
Open 7 Days a Week!

25,000-square-foot state-of-the-art 
indoor sportsman’s facility

Archery Pro Shop - over 250 bows and crossbows in stock
Clothing • Footwear • Hunting Supplies • Gun Safes

OPEN TO THE PUBLIC!
     >> Firearm and Archery Rentals
      >> Hunting and Fishing Licensing

Indoor Shooting Ranges
Firearms and Archery

A valid NJ Firearms ID card is required for all gun purchases. 



New Jersey Division of Fish and Wildlife receives federal assistance 
from the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service and thus prohibits discrimina-
tion on the basis of race, color, national origin, disability, age and sex 
pursuant to Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, Section 504 of the 
Rehabilitation Act of 1973, Title II of the Americans with Disabilities 
Act of 1990, the Age Discrimination Act of 1975 and Title IX of the 
Educational Amendments of 1972. If you believe that you have been 
discriminated against in any program, activity or service, contact 
New Jersey Division of Fish and Wildlife, MC501-03, P.O. Box 420, 
Trenton, NJ 08625-0420. The telephone number is (609) 292-9410. 
You may also write to the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, Civil Rights 
Coordinator for Public Access, 4401 N. Fairfax Drive, Mail Stop: 
WSFR-4020, Arlington, VA, 22203.

Fire! Prescribed Burning as a Management Tool76

78 Blue Ribbon Panel Supports Wildlife Management

New Jersey's Aging Forests48

FIREARM LICENSES
Resident Firearm Hunting (16–64 years) .............$27.50
Senior Resident Firearm Hunting  

(65 years & older).................................................$15.50
Non-Resident Firearm Hunting ........................... $135.50
Non-Resident Two-Day  

Small Game & Waterfowl Firearm Hunting ...$36.50
Special One-Day Hunting ....................................... $12.50
 (On commercial preserves only.)
Youth Firearm (ages 10–15, see page 10) ................FREE

BOW AND ARROW LICENSES
Resident Bow & Arrow Hunting (16–64 years) ..$31.50
Senior Resident Bow & Arrow Hunting  

(65 years & older).................................................$16.50
Non-Resident Bow & Arrow Hunting ................ $135.50
Youth Bow (ages 10–15, see page 10) .......................FREE 

TRAPPING LICENSES
Resident Trapping ..................................................... $32.50
Non-Resident Trapping .........................................$200.50
Youth Trapping (ages 12–15, see page 10) ..............FREE 

PERMITS
Deer Permits for Bow, Shotgun,  

Muzzleloader or Bucks ...........................................$28
Youth Deer and Turkey Permit (ages 10–15) ............ $12
Turkey Season Permit..................................................... $21
Black Bear Permit ...............................................................$2
Rifle Permit (Valid from July 1–June 30,  

16 years old and older) ........................................$10.50
Rifle Permit, Youth  

(Valid from July 1–June 30, under 16 only) .......... $6
Beaver Trapping Permit.................................................. $17
Coyote/Fox Permit .............................................................$2
Otter Trapping Permit ......................................................$2

STAMPS
Pheasant & Quail Stamp ...............................................$40
Resident Waterfowl Stamp (Valid July 1–June 30) .....$5
Non-Resident Waterfowl Stamp  

(Valid July 1–June 30) ............................................. $10

MISCELLANEOUS LICENSES
All-Around Sportsman ............................................ $72.25
 (Includes Resident Firearm Hunting, Bow and 

Arrow Hunting and Fishing Licenses, Buddy 
Fishing (page 6) within All-Around Sportsman 
License, $62.50)

Duplicate License, Permit or Stamp ...............................$2

• New licenses become available on Dec. 15 annually.  
See page 8 for additional license information.

• Do NOT heat laminate a durable license or permit. 
High temperature will destroy these waterproof, 
heat-sensitive documents.

License Information 
& Fees 2016–17
Licenses are valid from date of purchase to Dec. 31 of 
each year. For license sales by phone or Internet, call 
(888) 773-8450 or go to www.NJ.WildlifeLicense.com. 
See also pages 20–21 for license agent listings.
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New Jersey Division of Fish and Wildlife

Our Mission
To protect and manage the state’s fish and wildlife to maximize their long-term  biological, 

recreational and economic value for all New Jerseyans.

Our Goals
•  To maintain New Jersey’s rich variety of fish and wildlife species at stable, healthy levels 

and to protect and enhance the many habitats on which they depend.

•  To educate New Jerseyans on the values and needs of our fish and wildlife and to foster 

a positive human/wildlife co-existence. 

•  To maximize the recreational and commercial use of New Jersey’s fish and wildlife for both 

present and future generations.
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ALL CUTS 100% BONELESS
VACUUM PACKED

HUNTERS HELPING THE HUNGRY BUTCHER

ITALIAN SWEET SAUSAGE, ITALIAN 
HOT SAUSAGE, BREAKFAST SAUSAGE, HOT 
STICKS, KIELBASA, PORK ROLL, HOT DOGS, 

JALAPENO & SAUERKRAUT CHEDDAR DOGS.
NEW ITEM

JALAPENO CHEDDAR BOLOGNA
OPEN 7 DAYS A WEEK

SEPT – OCT, MON – SAT 8am – 9pm  SUN 8am– 8pm
NOV – FEB, MON – SAT 9am – 8pm  SUN 9am – 7pm
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Novice to expert firearms classes, including tactical, with NRA certified instructors
Clean, state-of-the-art indoor ranges (29 lanes total), including rifle range & tactical range
Wide selection of rental firearms available including machine guns

20-yard indoor archery range, full service archery pro shop, and training

Bachelor/bachelorette parties, fundraisers, special events

Over 1,750 handguns and long guns in stock

Multi State Pistol Permit Class, Practical Defense 101 and Live Fire Handgun 101 offered

Full service gunsmithing

THE AREA’S BEST EQUIPPED FIREARMS & ARCHERY STORE IN  
A COMFORTABLE, MODERN AND SAFE DESTINATION

WWW.HERITAGEGUILD.COM/NJ

THE NORTHEAST’S FINEST SELECTION OF GUNS, KNIVES, OPTICS, 
SAFES, AND AMMUNITION 

EXPERTISE. QUALITY. SERVICE.

TAKE $10 OFF
YOUR NEXT PURCHASE OF $50 OR MORE

Valid from now until 12/31/16. Cashier use coupon code NJHD16

Limit one coupon per customer. Minimum purchase of $50 before sales tax. Total amount 
of coupon must be redeemed at one time. Cannot be combined with any other sales 
promotion, coupon or discount. Coupon valid on in-store purchases only at any Heritage 
Guild location. Excludes firearms and ammunition. Some additional exclusions may apply.

A DESTINATION FOR THE BEGINNER, THE ENTHUSIAST, AND THE COLLECTOR

RAHWAY, NJ CALL: 732.382.4066

EASTON, PA CALL: 610.258.5500 WE BUY USED FIREARMS

Indoor test archery range & 40 yard outdoor archery range

Full service archery pro shop with bow techs on site

Multi State Pistol Permit Class, Cartridge Reloading and Archery Courses offered

Large firearms and accessories selection

Featuring Hoyt Archery, Ruger Firearms and many others...

NEW JERSEY’S PREMIER ARCHERY, TRAINING AND FIREARMS CENTER

BRANCHBURG, NJ CALL: 908.429.9500 WE BUY USED FIREARMS

WE BUY USED FIREARMS



Director’s Message
DAVE CHANDA

Next month hunters can participate in the first modern archery hunt for black bears in the State of New 
Jersey in more than 40 years. The black bear archery season comes on the heels of a very successful 2015 
bear season, and is necessitated by New Jersey’s very robust and growing black bear population. The 
New Jersey Division of Fish and Wildlife’s (Division) Comprehensive Black Bear Management Policy 
includes an integrated approach which includes public education, lethal and non-lethal control, research 
and monitoring, law enforcement to reduce human-bear conflicts and a controlled hunt. 

The previous black bear hunting seasons established by the New Jersey Fish and Game Council (Coun-
cil) were very conservative. The Council established a December hunting season knowing that—based 
upon Division research—many female black bear would already be in their winter den and would not be 
available for harvest. This early format was important to demonstrate to the public that bears could be 
harvested safely and that by using hunting as a management tool, nuisance complaints could be mitigated, 
and bear population growth could be slowed. However, these conservative black bear hunting seasons 
have not allowed the Division to reach population management objectives, prompting the establishment 
of the 2016 archery season.

 Due to the anticipated high interest in the archery bear season, the Division expects permits will sell 
out early and urge hunters to purchase your permits as soon as they are available in September. As a 
reminder, bear hunting permits are not specific to archery or firearm, so even shotgun-only bear hunters 
need to get their permits before they sell out. See pages 12 and 51 for more details.

Although last year’s white-tailed deer harvest was disappointing, the Division fully expects the 2016-
17 deer hunting season to be one of the best for hunters. The extended periods of unseasonably warm 
weather last year, combined with super-abundant acorn production meant many deer were excluded 
from the harvest and will therefore be available for harvest this year. 

It has also been my privilege to work closely with the Blue Ribbon Panel on Sustaining America’s 
Diverse Fish and Wildlife Resources (Panel). The Panel—co-chaired by John L. Morris, noted con-
servationist and founder of Bass Pro Shops, and former Wyoming governor David Freudenthal—was 
established to create a 21st century system of funding to manage wildlife species of greatest conservation 
need. Panel members include representatives from the outdoor recreation retail and manufacturing sec-
tor, the energy and automotive industries, private landowners, educational institutions, conservation 
organizations, sportsmen’s groups and state fish and wildlife agencies. 

Conservation efforts can no longer rely solely on the financial contribution of hunters and anglers 
through their license fees and the Pittman-Robertson and Dingell-Johnson acts to sustain fish and wildlife 
management. The Panel is striving to dedicate up to $1.3 billion in new funding every year from existing 
energy and mineral resource development revenues to fund state fish and wildlife agencies. Bringing 
the Panel’s plan to fruition is still most likely several years in the offing but could result in substantial 
funding to the Division to support managing fish and wildlife within our borders.

Stay tuned for further updates, see page 78 for our feature on the Blue Ribbon Panel on Sustaining America’s 
Diverse Fish and Wildlife Resources or visit http://www.fishwildlife.org/index.php?section=blueribbonpanel 
for more information. 

Dave Chanda is the Director   of New Jersey Division of Fish & Wildlife.



• Handguns
• Muzzleloaders
• Long Guns
• Ammo
• Sports Optics & Electronics
• Reloading Supplies
• Bows and Crossbows

• Game Calls
• Tree Stands
• Scents, Attractants & Lures
• Targets
• Hunting Apparel & Footwear
• Hunting & Fishing Licenses

Serving Outdoor Enthusiasts since 1950

Ramsey carries all of your outdoor needs:

Succasunna, NJ
(973) 584-7798

Ramsey, NJ

Visit our super-store in Succasunna!

IN-STORE COUPON

$5OFF 
Any Purchase of $25

Coupon good now through 

February 28, 2017

Offer not valid on sale items, UGG Australia, Boy Scouts of America, fi rearms, Federal Top Gun 

Ammunition, Minn Kota, Van Staal, ZeeBaas, Sage, canoes and kayaks, hunting and fi shing 

licenses, or towards the purchase of Gift Cards. Cannot be combined with any other offers. 

One coupon per customer per visit. Original coupon must be present at time of purchase, no 

reproductions. Limited to stock on hand. Not valid for internet or phone purchases. 

$10OFF 
Any Purchase of $50

$25OFF 
Any Purchase of $100



Highlights of Regulation Changes
2016 –17 HUNTING AND TRAPPING

Changes to the 2016 hunting regulations are limited 
to the black bear season plus a shift of several deer 
management zones into a different regulation 
set. In addition, updates have been made to New 
Jersey's hunting regulations publications by incor-
porating both the supplemental turkey hunting 
season information booklet (formerly available in 
January) and the migratory bird regulation pam-
phlet (formerly available in September) into this 
2016 Hunting & Trapping Digest. To make space, 
all detailed zone boundary descriptions for hunt-
ing deer, black bear, turkey and for migratory 
birds are now available by scanning a QR code 
with your mobile device or by visiting our website 
as noted by each game species with hunting or 
trapping zones.

This October is the first modern archery hunting 
season for bears in over 40 years.
• The black bear season is now broken into two 

segments: Segment A in October and Segment 
B in December. In Segment A, bear hunters may 
use archery for the first three days and either 
archery or muzzleloader for the last three days. 
Segment B remains unchanged from previous 
years and sportsmen and women have the choice 

This high-quality regulation guide is offered to you 
by the New Jersey Division of Fish and Wildlife 
through its unique partnership with J.F. Griffin 
Publishing, LLC.

J.F. Griffin is an award-winning publishing house 
that specializes in producing state fish and wildlife 
regulation books. J.F. Griffin supports the New 
Jersey Division of Fish and Wildlife's staff in the 
design, layout and editing of the guides. We also 
manage the marketing and sales of advertising to 
appropriate businesses within the Digest.

The revenue generated through ad sales 
significantly lowers production costs and 
generates savings. These savings translate into 
additional funds for other important wildlife 
programs!

If you have any feedback or are interested in 
advertising, please contact us at 413.884.1001 or 
online at www.JFGriffin.com

Graphic Design: 

Jon Gulley, Dane Fay,  
Evelyn Haddad, Chris Sobolowski

About this Guide

        available online  
in a new Digital Edition!
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of using shotgun or muzzleloader.
• The bag limit is one bear per permit, but only one 

bear may be taken per segment, regardless of the 
number of permits the hunter holds. In total, a 
hunter may harvest up to two bears, one in each 
segment, with valid permits.

• Permits are not segment- or sporting arm-spe-
cific. In other words, if you do not fill your tag 
in Segment A, that permit is good for use in the 
specified Bear Management Zone for Segment B.

• Hunters are limited to possessing no more than 
two permits at a time, each for a different zone.

• Permit sales will close at the end of bear hunting 
Segment A, and reopen for sale on November 1.

Buy your permits early even if you don’t plan to 
hunt Segment A. We expect that participation 
may be high and certain Bear Management Zone 
permits may sell out. Permits are sold on a first-
come, first-served basis. See page 12 for details.

Five deer management zones (DMZs 22, 26, 34, 
46 and 63) have performed below antlered harvest 
goals. These zones are now placed into regulation 
sets with more conservative season dates and bag 
limits. See Regulation Sets, page 36.

This Digest 
is available 
photocopied in 
a large format.

Write to:

New Jersey Division of Fish and Wildlife  
Large Format Hunting Digest 
MC 501-03, P.O. Box 420 
Trenton, NJ 08625-0420

Large Format for the Visually Impaired

New Buddy Fishing License 
Available for 2016!

New Jersey Division of Fish and Wildlife is 
rewarding anglers for introducing a “buddy” 
to freshwater fishing by offering a nearly 
half-price license to both qualifying anglers! 

Eligibility requires at least one new angler: 
 A new angler, together with an existing 
angler, each purchase a discounted 
fishing license.

 Two new anglers each purchase a 
discounted fishing license together.

(A new angler is a resident or non-resident 

who has not purchased a fishing license 

since 2010.)

$ave Close to 50%
• Discount price is offered to both license 

buyers in the buddy team.

• The buddy fishing license is available 
ONLY at license agents; cannot be 
purchased online.

• BOTH anglers must be present at the 
time of purchase.

• Disabled veterans, National Guard 
personnel, senior license buyers (age 65 
and over) and residents over 70 (licensed 
not required) are not eligible for the 
“Fishing Buddy” license as they already 
receive special discount pricing.

For more information, visit 
NJFishandWildlife.com/
fishbuddy.htm or scan 
this QR code:

License 
Regular 

Price 

Fishing Buddy 

Price 

Resident 

Fishing 
$22.50 $ 11.75 

Non-Resident 

Fishing 
$34.00 $ 17.50 

All-Around 

Sportsman 
$72.25 $62.50 

| New Jersey Hunting & Trapping Digest NJFishandWildlife.com 2016 Issue6
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Licenses, Permits & Stamps
LICENSE INFORMATION

DEER PERMITS ARE VALID for the 2016–17 
hunting season. New Jersey sporting licenses are 
valid for the calendar year and expire on Dec. 31. 
Beaver and river otter trapping permits are valid 
for the 2016–17 trapping season. For permit and 
license fees, see page 1.

Licenses
The electronic license system will create a cus-
tomer profile identified by an assigned lifetime 
Conservation Identification Number (CID#) for 
all first-time purchasers of any hunting, trapping 
or fishing license or permit. This unique number 
appears on every license, permit and stamp issued 
by New Jersey Division of Fish and Wildlife. Your 
customer profile and CID# can be established on 
the license website (www.NJ.WildlifeLicense.com) 
from your home computer or with valid identifica-
tion at a license agent (see agent list, page 20), 
during—or preferably prior to—your first license or 
permit purchase. A first-time hunting license must 
be purchased at an agent by showing a appropriate 

Hunter Education course completion card or with a 
prior resident hunting license (firearm or bow and 
arrow) from any state.

All persons hunting or trapping must be prop-
erly licensed. It is unlawful for any person age 10 
or older to hunt without a hunting license. (See 
Farmer License Exemption, this page.) It is unlaw-
ful for any person age 12 or older to trap without a 
trapping license. Hunting licenses are valid for the 
calendar year and expire on Dec. 31 regardless the 
purchase date. See page 1 for license and permit 
fees. See page 10 for youth license information. 
To acquire your first New Jersey hunting license 
(firearm, bow and arrow), present to a license agent 
(see list, page 20) either an appropriate hunter 
education course completion card or a resident 
(firearm or bow and arrow) license from this or 
any other state. The automated license system will 
allow subsequent hunting license purchases for that 
sporting arm to be purchased by phone or online 
or at any license agent. 

All hunters and trappers must openly display 
their license in the middle of the back on their outer 
clothing and must show their license to any law 

enforcement officer or any person requesting to 
see it. Farmers hunting their own land must also 
display any deer season permit.

Licenses, permits and stamps may be pur-
chased using Fish and Wildlife’s Internet sales site 
(www.NJ.WildlifeLicense.com), via your smartphone 
or other mobile device, from approved license agents 
listed on page 20, or by calling (888) 773-8450. Per-
mits with a designated zone or hunting season must 
be purchased at a license agent. See also Non-resident 
and Resident Licenses, page 10.

Do NOT heat laminate the durable license or 
permit. High temperature will destroy these 
waterproof, heat-sensitive documents.

Child Support Certifications 
The “Child Support Program Improvement Act” 
requires Fish and Wildlife to collect and maintain 
Social Security numbers and a child support obli-
gation certification from license applicants and to 
make the collection of this information part of the 
license application. To comply, Fish and Wildlife, 
working with the Division of Law in the Office 
of the Attorney General, created the Supplemen-
tal License Application available on the Fish and 
Wildlife website at NJFishandWildlife.com/child_
support_info.htm or at license agents. 

The online child support application allows an 
individual to be certified from the privacy of their 
home. Once completed—either over the Internet 
or at a license agent—the certification remains valid 
for the calendar year in which the certification was 
completed.

Farmer License Exemption 
A farmer and members of the immediate family (see 
definition under Farmer Regulations, page 28) 
who also reside on the farm may hunt, trap and fish 
on the farm without being licensed or possessing a 
valid rifle permit. For details, see Farmer Hunting 
and Permit Information, page 28.

All farmers must have a Conservation Identifi-
cation number (CID#). Register online now for a 
free CID# at www.NJ.WildlifeLicense.com. No 
purchase is required. 

Hunter and Trapper  
Education Requirements
New Jersey requires that everyone, age 10 and above, 
applying to hunt with a firearm or bow must show a 
previous resident license  of the appropriate type from 
this or any state, or a course completion card from the 
appropriate hunter education course. Anyone, age 12 
and above, applying to trap furbearing animals must 
show a previous resident trapping license from this or 
any state, or a trapper education course completion 
card. See also Youth Licenses, page 10.

The New Jersey Hunter Education Program 
is offered as a home study, video-based course. 
Students may obtain course materials at most 
license agents and Fish and Wildlife field offices 
or download from our website. After completing an 
extensive homework assignment, the student will 
choose from a list of testing facilities and dates to 
complete their hunter education course. For more 
Hunter Education Program details, including 

(continued on page 10)

Regulations in red are new this year.

Free hunting and fishing licenses, stamps and 
permits are available for resident disabled veterans.
For the purposes of this program, legislation defines disabled veterans as “…any resident of 
New Jersey who has been honorably discharged or released under honorable circumstances from 
active service from any branch of the Armed Forces of the United States and who has been declared 
by the United States Department of Veteran Affairs, or its successor, to have a service-connected  
disability of any degree…”

New applicant disabled veterans may obtain their hunting and fishing licenses and 
stamps by FIRST CALLING before going to one of the following Fish and Wildlife field 
offices to ensure that staff will be available to assist you:: 

• Pequest Trout Hatchery/Natural Resource Ed. Ctr, Oxford, Warren Co., (908) 637-4125; 

• Southern Region Office, Sicklerville, Camden Co., (856) 629-0090.

Call before going to one of these offices to ensure that staff will be available to assist you. 
Applications for disabled veteran certification and your first disabled veteran license may be made 
via the mail by sending the application and all required documentation to: 

NJ Division of Fish and Wildlife  
Attn: Disabled Veteran Licensing 
MC 501-03, PO Box 420, Trenton, NJ 08625-0420

All licenses, stamps and permits for which the veteran is eligible will be free of charge. Disabled Vet 
status does not give preferential treatment in any lottery. For questions call (609) 984-6213. 

Disabled Veteran Applicants:
1. Documentation of current benefits for a service-connected disability and proof of honorable 

discharge (such as a copy of your DD-214, VA card or monthly check stub) must be presented to 
obtain a free disabled veteran license. 

2. Applicant must provide a hunter education (archery, shotgun or rifle) course certificate applicable 
to the license for which he or she is applying or a previously issued resident archery or firearm 
license or rifle permit. Resident licenses from other states issued to hunters prior to establishing 
residency in New Jersey will be accepted if the license indicates the sporting arm for which it 
was valid. Non-resident licenses from other states are not acceptable.

3. To obtain the free disabled veteran deer/turkey permits one must first have a free disabled 
veteran hunting license.

Disabled Veteran Licenses, Stamps & Permits
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Maybe your dream is to have a 
200 SCI point buck hanging on your wall...

or is your dream to watch your child take a trophy 
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course material availability, facility locations, dates 
and course registration, go to Fish and Wildlife’s 
website at NJFishandWildlife.com/hunted.htm or 
call (877) 2-HUNT-NJ or (877) 248-6865.

Trapper education courses are offered four times 
throughout the state in the months of Septem-
ber and October. To enroll in a trapper education 
course, go to the Fish and Wildlife website or call 
(877) 2-HUNT-NJ to register. 

Note: Devices accessing the mobile version of 
our website must click on "full site" to register 
for a Hunter Education course.

Lost Licenses 
A license, permit or stamp can be replaced at 
any license agent, at Fish and Wildlife’s Internet 
license sales site, www.NJ.WildlifeLicense.com, via 
your mobile device or by calling (888) 773-8450. 
Licenses and permits which contain the Harvest 
Report can be duplicated at license agents or on 
the Internet sales site only twice. All subsequent 
duplicates of these license and permit types must 
be handled in person at Fish and Wildlife regional 
offices or the Pequest Natural Resource Education 
Center. The Trenton office is not open to the public 
for license and permit sales. A $2 fee is charged for 
each duplicate license/permit.

National Guard Licenses 
Eligible National Guard personnel are entitled to 
free sporting licenses, permits and stamps. These 
privileges are not available using Fish and Wildlife’s 
website. However, the NJ Dept. of Military and 
Veterans Affairs can issue fishing licenses through 
their DMAVA website at www.nj.gov/military/
fishing_application.html. For all other free sport-
ing licenses, call (609) 530-6866, e-mail or write 
to: MSG (Ret.) Robert Greco, NJ DMAVA, 101 
Eggert Crossing Rd., Lawrenceville, NJ 08648. 

Non-resident Licenses 
Non-residents must show either a resident license 
from their state or proof of successfully completing 
an appropriate hunter education course in order 
to obtain a license to hunt or trap in New Jersey. 
(See License Information and Fees, page 1 for 
license types and also Youth Licenses, Resident and 
Non-resident, this page.) Non-immigrant aliens who 
temporarily import firearms to the United States 
must first obtain an application for the permit 
from the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Fire-
arms (ATF). For importation of firearms, use both 
forms ATF F 5330.3A and .3B. The approval may 
take up to 12 weeks. Contact ATF’s New Jersey 
field office at (609) 989-2142 or download forms 
from their website at atf.gov/content/firearms/
firearms-industry/guides/conditional-importation.

Non-resident hunters:  For more information on 
non-resident hunting, go to NJFishandWildlife.com/
nonrshnt.htm.

Military Licenses, Active Duty
Any person on active duty in the armed services, 
regardless of their current residency, may buy a New 
Jersey resident hunting license. Present a previous 
resident license (from this or any other state) of the 
appropriate type or show proof to the license agent 
of successful completion of the appropriate hunter 
education course along with proof of your current 
active duty status in the armed services.

One-day License 
A one-day license may be issued for hunting on a 
licensed commercial shooting preserve. This license 
may be obtained at the shooting preserve and is 
valid only on the day issued for the species covered 
by the preserve’s license. Hunter education require-
ments still apply.

Resident Licenses 
A resident license may be purchased if one currently 
resides in—and has resided in—the state for at 
least six months immediately prior to application.

Revocation of Licenses 
Anyone convicted of a second fish and game viola-
tion within a period of five years will have their New 
Jersey hunting and fishing privileges revoked for 
two years. Certain violations carry greater periods 
of revocation, ranging from three years to lifetime 
revocation. Two convictions of any wildlife manage-
ment area regulation will result in a five-year revoca-
tion of all sporting privileges. Two convictions of the 
following will result in lifetime revocation: safety 
zone violation, causing damage to real or personal 
property and negligent use of a firearm or bow. 
Fish and Wildlife may revoke any permit or other 
authorization issued for violation or due cause.

Youth Licenses, Resident 
and Non-Resident 
A Youth Firearm or Youth Bow and Arrow License 
is valid from 10 years of age (or the time of issuance) 
until the end of the year when the youth turns 16. 
Note that properly licensed youth hunters age 10–13 
may hunt only when under the direct supervision of 
a properly licensed adult hunter age 21 or older. See 
also Youth Hunting, page 27. Youth licenses are 
available free to youths who have completed the 
hunter (ages 10–16) or trapper (ages 12–16) edu-
cation course; see page 8 for course informa-
tion. See also Take a Kid Hunting pages 22–23.

Permits for Hunters 
and Trappers
Lottery Permit Application Process
For permit and license fees, see page 1.

A lottery is conducted to allocate spring turkey, 
beaver and otter hunting or trapping permits. There 
is no lottery for deer, bear or fall turkey permits. 
To receive certain permits you must first apply for 
the lottery. The application period is listed below 
with each permit type. Apply at license agents or 
via the Internet. Be sure to have your Conservation 
ID number (CID#) on hand. A non-refundable $2 
application fee is charged for each lottery application. 

Hunters or trappers will have three choices in 
each lottery. If you will accept a permit only for 
one particular zone (and/or period), complete only 
a first choice selection. There is no obligation to 
select a second or third choice; these are optional. 
When an applicant’s first choice cannot be filled, 
the computer will check for the second choice listed. 
If this selection is also sold out, the computer will 
check for your third choice. Each lottery is com-
pletely random and awards only ONE permit — 
not three. Your chance of winning a permit in the 
lottery depends on the number of applicants and 
the number of permits allocated (permit quota.) 

Application via the Internet—
Before You Start
• Know your Conservation ID number (CID#) or 

Social Security Number and date of birth (DOB). 
• Know your desired permit zone and, if appli-

cable, time period or season. Note: After a 
period of inactivity, the Internet transaction 
will time out, requiring you to start over from 
the beginning.

Regulations in red are new this year.

(continued from page 8)

Changing Your Lottery Application
Regardless of where or how you applied for a lottery, applicants may review their information at any 
time from any computer, smartphone or tablet with Internet access. All hunters should check their 
application status and can edit the application if a correction is necessary. With your CID# and DOB, 
visit www.NJ.WildlifeLicense.com to access your profile and follow the prompts. Applications 
may be edited only during the actual application period. Once the application period is closed, it is 
impossible to change your application. License agents and Fish and Wildlife offices DO NOT have the 
ability to change your application once submitted. Only you can make changes, so take care during 
the application process then go back into your profile to verify that the information is correct.

Application Status Check
Hunters and trappers may check their application status at any time from a computer, smartphone 
or tablet. Go to the licensing website (www.NJ.WildlifeLicense.com) to access your profile using 
your CID# and DOB, then follow the prompts. The license system indicates if the lottery has been 
run and if you won a permit. When the system shows "pending," the lottery has not been completed. 
During the application period the system displays your application as "pending."

Hunters—Check Your Lottery Application Online!
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this notification. IMPORTANT: the notification 
may fail to arrive due to email account provider 
issues (email filters, data storage capacity) or post-
card delivery delays. 

Claiming Your Permit
Lottery permit winners may claim their permit(s) 
at any license agent or via the Internet. See the cor-
responding lottery permit claim dates listed in this 
Digest for beaver/otter and spring turkey permits. 
At the time of application, the hunter paid only 
the non-refundable $2 application fee; the actual 
permit fee must still be paid. Bring your CID# to 
the license agent to claim your Fish and Wildlife-
awarded lottery permit. Internet-claimed permits 

The applicant is responsible to know the 
lottery results notification date and per-
mit claim period deadline. If you did not 
receive your permit award notification, 
you can check the permit award status 
in your customer profile. You MUST 
claim your permit BEFORE the claim 
period has ended! (See Application Status 
Check, in the box on page 10.)

Permit Claim 
Deadline!

• Have your payment ready. Internet transactions 
may be paid either by electronic check (e-check) 
or major credit card. For e-check transactions, 
have your bank routing number and your check 
book ready before you begin.

• During every transaction, there are several oppor-
tunities to review your information for accuracy. A 
complete review at each step will allow you to make 
corrections, if necessary. Once a purchase trans-
action is complete there will be NO refunds or 
exchanges. Permit applicants will have the oppor-
tunity to edit their application at any time during 
the permit application period; see Changing Your 
Lottery Application, left. Applicants are responsible 
to make application carefully. When the process is 
complete, print the confirmation page or note the 
transaction number for your records.

Application at License Agent 
Locations—Know Before You Go
• Know your Conservation ID number (CID#) or 

Social Security Number and date of birth (DOB.) 
• Know your desired permit zone and, if applicable 

time period or season. The store proprietor or clerk 
is not responsible to know the zone/area of your 
hunting/trapping property. Be sure to review the 
map and zone descriptions at home before you 
arrive at the license agent. Not sure of your area? 
Use a county map, then follow the zone or area 
description shown either on Fish and Wildlife’s 
website, NJFishandWildlife.com/ahrs.htm, in 

this hunting Digest or in the turkey permit supple-
ment to drive around the zone boundary.

• To speed your transaction, write down your infor-
mation (CID#, DOB, lottery type, first, second 
and third choices) and hand it to the license agent.

• NOTE for applying at license agents: Agents 
using a VeriFone® machine (a special keypad) 
can print a transaction receipt, but might do so 
only at your request. Therefore, you should ask for 
a receipt of the transaction. This receipt will list 
your choices and the transaction number. Agents 
using Web-based (computer) systems may or may 
not be able to print a receipt. ASK FIRST! When 
an agent cannot print a receipt, it’s important 
to have the clerk orally verify your application 
choices and to provide your transaction number. 
Keep this transaction number; it can be helpful 
should a problem occur with your application.

• Each agent decides what types of payment to 
accept. Learn this in advance, then have the cor-
rect payment ready when you arrive.

Notification of Lottery Results 
(Did you win a permit?)
Once the lottery is complete, applicants will be 
notified of their results. When applying at a license 
agent, applicants may or may not be asked to choose 
a notification mode. Some license issuing machines 
must use the default method of mailing a postcard 
notification. Those who select email notification 
are reminded to set your junk/spam folder to accept 
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are subject to an additional convenience fee and will 
arrive via mail in 7–10 business days.

Purchasing Non-lottery and 
Unclaimed Lottery Permits
Leftover (unclaimed) lottery permits and non-
lottery permits are available at license agents and 
online. Internet permit purchases CANNOT be 
printed at home. Plan ahead, as it may take 7–10 
business days for your permit(s) to arrive. During 
every transaction there are several opportunities 
to review your information for accuracy. A com-
plete review at each step will allow you to make 
corrections, if necessary. Note: Once a purchase 
transaction is complete there will be NO refunds 
or exchanges. When purchasing permits at a license 
agent, speed your transaction by presenting to the 
agent a written note with your CID# and DOB, 
plus the season and zone of your permit choices.

Beaver and Otter Permits
• Beaver and otter trapping are allowed by special 

permit only. 
• Additional information—including the 

zone map and descriptions—becomes avail-
able Sept. 16 on Fish and Wildlife’s website, 
NJFishandWildlife.com.

• Lottery application period: Oct. 1–31.
• Leftover permits, if available, will be sold at all 

license agents and at Fish and Wildlife’s Internet 
license sales site. Award notifications will go out 
during the week of Nov. 7. Successful applicants 
may begin to claim permits on Nov. 7. Beaver and 
Otter Permits awarded in the lottery must be 
claimed prior to 11:59 p.m. on Monday, Nov. 28. 
Awarded permits that are not claimed prior to 
11:59 p.m. on Monday, Nov. 28 will be returned 
to the quota and become available for sale over 
the counter. Leftover and unclaimed permits will 
become available for sale beginning at 10 a.m. 
on MONDAY, December 5. However, trappers 
may possess only one Special River Otter Trap-
ping Permit. For leftover and unclaimed permit 
availability, see our website late in the afternoon 
of Friday, December 2.

• For trapping season information including regu-
lations, season dates and bag limits see Trapping 
Regulations, page 62. 

Black Bear Hunting Permits 
A total of 11,000 black bear hunting permits, allo-
cated by black bear hunting areas, will be available 
to properly licensed hunters and farmer hunters. 

(continued on page 14)

Regulations in red are new this year.

The Hunting & Trapping 
e-mail list, that is. 
This FREE service provides 
the latest information about 
Fish and Wildlife events, public 
hearings and other wildlife-
related news. And there are eight 
other lists to help you get the 
most out of New Jersey’s fish 
and wildlife resources. 

Sign up today. 

Visit Fish and Wildlife’s website: 
NJFishandWildlife.com/ 
lstsub.htm 

Be The First To Know! 
Get on the List

s. 

These permits are valid for the entire black bear 
hunting season, which now consists of two seg-
ments, Segment A in October and Segment B in 
December (see page 51). As in previous seasons, 
each hunter is limited to purchasing up to two black 
bear hunting permits, each of which must be for a 
different zone. The season bag limit is one bear 
per permit, but only one bear may be taken per 
segment, regardless of the number of permits 
the hunter holds. In total, a hunter can harvest 
up to two bears, one in each segment, with valid 
permits. Once a harvest is made, that permit is 
no longer valid. However, if a hunter harvests a 
bear during Segment A in October, the hunter 
may purchase an additional permit for the zone 
in which the harvest was made, if available when 
permit sales reopen in November to hunt that zone 
again during Segment B in December. 

The lottery for bear permits has been elimi-
nated. All hunters (especially hunters who only wish 
to hunt in Segment B) are strongly encouraged to 
purchase their permit(s) during the September 12 
through October 15 sales period rather than wait 
until permit sales re-open on November 1 since per-
mits may sell out early in some zones. Permit fee: $2.  

After Segment A closes, any leftover permits will 
be sold on a first-come, first-served basis beginning 
at 10 a.m. on TUESDAY, November 1, 2016. Per-
mits will be available for sale at all license agents 
and on our Internet sales site. 

2016 Black Bear Hunting Permit Quota

Black Bear  
Management Zone

# of Permits

1 2,000

2 3,000

3 3,000

4 2,000

5 1,000

Special Coyote, Red and  
Gray Fox Hunting Permits
• A $2 permit is required to hunt coyote, red or 

gray fox during the special permit season from 
Jan. 1–March. 15. 

• Permits will be available at any license agent or 
via Fish and Wildlife’s Internet license sales site 
beginning on or about Dec. 15, 2016. A 2017 
hunting license must be purchased prior to, or in 
conjunction with, the purchase of a 2017 Coyote/
Fox Permit.

• For season details, see coyote and fox hunting 
regulations, page 54.

Deer Hunting Permits
Permits are required to hunt during the Permit 
Bow, Permit Muzzleloader and Permit Shotgun 
deer seasons. There is no lottery for deer permits. 
See Special Areas, page 42, for specific deer per-
mit requirements on those properties.

Permits may be purchased either at a license agent 
or at Fish and Wildlife’s Internet license sales site 
www.NJ.WildlifeLicense.com. For details, see Deer 
Season Permits, page 16. See page 1 for fees.

Farmer Permits
See Farmer Hunting and Permit Information, page 28. 

Falconry Permits
Hunting with raptors (birds of prey) is allowed only 
with both a falconry permit and a hunting license. 
For hunting regulations see Falconry, page 24.

Rifle Permits
All persons in possession of a rifle (modern or 
muzzleloading rifle including a smoothbore muz-
zleloader firing a single projectile) while hunting 
or trapping must have a valid rifle permit. See the 
specific regulations for each game or furbearing 
animal for the specific rifles allowed. A rifle permit 
is not required for hunting with an air gun. Initial 
rifle permit applicants must be at least 10 years old 
and have successfully completed a rifle Hunter Edu-
cation Course. New hunters taking the Firearms 
Hunter Education courses will also be certified for 
rifle hunting. See page 1 for rifle permit fees.
• Rifle permits may be purchased at license agents 

or at Fish and Wildlife’s Internet license sales site. 
Rifle permits are valid for all ages of permit holders.

• Rifle permits are valid from July 1–June 30.

Turkey Hunting Permits, General
Fish and Wildlife has discontinued printing 
the Wild Turkey Hunting Season Information 
booklet (Turkey Supplement). All information is 
contained in this hunting Digest for the fall 2016 
and spring 2017 turkey hunting seasons. Turkey 
hunting is by permit only. For turkey hunting sea-
son details, see page 58. See page 1 for fees.

Turkey Permits, 2016 Fall Season
The fall turkey permit lottery has been elimi-
nated. A turkey hunting permit is still required 
and may be purchased at license agents or online 
at Fish and Wildlife’s Internet license sales site 
www.NJ.WildlifeLicense.com.

Fall Turkey Permits will be available on a first-
come, first-served basis beginning at 10 a.m. on Mon-
day, September 12, 2016. Permits will be available 
until the permit quota is reached or the season ends.

Successful lottery applicants will  have only a 
short window in which to claim the awarded 
permit(s). Pay close attention to the claim 
period dates listed! Unclaimed permits will 
be redistributed and become available for 
over-the-counter sales. NO EXCEPTIONS!

Claim Your Permit!
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Regulations in red are new this year.

Turkey Permits, 2017 Spring Season
• Application Period January 25–February 22
• Award Notifications and Permit Pickup Begins 

March 6. Permits must be claimed by 11:59 pm 
on March 27.

• All Permits awarded in the lottery will be avail-
able to claim until 11:59 on March 27. Unclaimed 
awarded permits will be redistributed in the 
over-the-counter sale. Application fee(s) will not 
be refunded for unclaimed permits.

• Over-the-county sale of leftover permits: 10 a.m. 
MONDAY, APRIL 3, 2017 until permits sell out 
or the season ends, whichever occurs first.

Spring 2017 Gobbler 
Season Permits
Hunters are limited to filing only one application 
which allows for up to two permits, one in the first 
lottery and one in the second lottery. For each per-
mit, there will be the option to insert three different 
choices in order of your preference. 

First Lottery
• Selects applicants from the Spring Season First 

Lottery. 
• See page 58 for dates of the five turkey hunting 

period segments. 
• The Youth Turkey Hunting Program guaran-

tees that all applicants aged 10 to 16 (those still 
eligible to hunt using their Youth License) will 
receive their first choice permit request in the 
first lottery for the spring season designated as 
Period Y. Youth permits are not counted in the 
permit season quotas. Period Y Permits are also 
available during the over-the-counter sales period.

• Hunters possessing a Permit to Shoot From a 
Standing Vehicle are guaranteed one first lottery 
permit only for the Spring Season. Any additional 
permit purchased is taken from the available per-
mit quota and is not guaranteed. Individuals pos-
sessing a Permit to Shoot from a Standing Vehicle 
must apply and/or purchase their permits via their 
home computer or go to a web-based license agent. 
Verifone© agents cannot handle these requests.

Second Lottery
• Gives each applicant an opportunity to receive a 

second permit for the spring season.
• Selects applicants independent from the first 

lottery.
• Assigns unissued first lottery permits (leftover) to 

applicants who applied for a permit in the second 
lottery. 

• Youth permit requests for the second lottery 
are not guaranteed. A youth’s second permit (or 
more) is valid only for the one designated hunting 
period A, B, C, D or E. 

If you request the same turkey hunting area and 
peri od in both the first and second spring lotter-
ies you could receive two permits for the identical 
area and peri od combination. Permits will not be 
exchanged if you receive the permits requested on 
your application. Consider your requests carefully!

Permits for Hunters with 
Disabling Conditions
A permit to use alternative methods/equipment for 
taking game during the prescribed seasons for certain 
physically challenged persons may be issued. The 
application period is Jan. 1 to Aug. 31 of each year. 

Permits to Shoot from a Standing Vehicle
A permit to hunt or shoot from a standing vehicle 
that is parked off the road may be issued to licensed 
hunters who:

1. have a permanent or irreversible physical dis-
ability that limits their ambulatory ability, 

2. suffer from cardiovascular disease and are clas-
sified as Class 3 or 4 heart patients according 
to American Heart Association standards, or 

There are over 4,000 DU events held across the country each year. By 
attending a local event, you can have a great time while helping us fill 
the skies with waterfowl. To find one near you, visit ducks.org/events.
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“Your Hunting Headquarters!”

Come on down to L&H Woods and Water and 
experience the difference customer service makes!

OPEN
Mon-Sat 9-7

Sun 9-5 

2045 Hwy. 35
Wall, NJ 07719
732-282-1812 

LHWoodsAndWater.com

3. suffer from chronic lung disease. This permit 
will be issued if the need is certified by a licensed 
physician or chiropractor.

Individuals hunting with a permit to hunt or shoot 
from a motor vehicle must mark the vehicle from 
which they are hunting either with handicapped 
license plates issued by the Motor Vehicle Com-
mission or by displaying a sign provided by Fish 
and Wildlife in the rear window of this vehicle. 

For more information on these permits, call 
(609) 292-1473 or write: NJ Division of Fish 
and Wildlife, Handicapped Permits, MC501-
03, P.O. Box 420, Trenton, NJ 08625-0420 
or downloaded directly from our website: 
NJFishandWildlife.com/disinfo.htm.

Permits, Other
Captive Wildlife Permits
The possession, ownership and release of wildlife 
is strictly regulated and allowed only for limited 
purposes. Information and permit applications may 
be obtained online or by calling: 
• Nongame and exotics permits at (908) 735-5450, 

NJFishandWildlife.com/exotic_apps.htm; 
• Game birds and mammals: (908) 735-7040, 

NJFishandWildlife.com/captpermits.htm.

Deer Road-kill Permits
Deer accidentally killed by motor vehicles may be 
possessed only for private consumption by obtain-
ing a free permit from the local police department 
or from a Fish and Wildlife regional law enforce-
ment office. The permit authorizes only possession 
of the meat for consumption and is valid only for 
90 days. The possession of all other parts such as 
antlers, under terms of this permit, are expressly 
prohibited. Wrapped venison packages must be 
labeled with the permit number.

Stamps
Stamps (such as federal migratory bird stamps) 
are not transferable to another person and are not 
valid unless signed across the face in ink. Stamps 
need not be affixed to the license. State waterfowl 
“stamps” and Pheasant and Quail stamps now 
print either directly on your hunting license or as 
a separate stub, replacing the former paper stamp 
for these privileges. Waterfowl stamps may be pur-
chased ONLY for a specific individual; hunters can 
no longer purchase multiple stamps on behalf of a 
fellow hunter.

Pheasant and Quail Stamp
Anyone aged 16 and over (except 16 year olds whose 
youth license remains valid through the end of the 
year in which they turn 16 and which includes a 

free youth pheasant and quail stamp) hunting or 
possessing pheasant (or quail only on Greenwood 
Forest or Peaslee WMAs) on the following des-
ignated wildlife management areas must have in 
possession a current Pheasant and Quail Stamp: 
• Assunpink, Berkshire Valley, Black River, Clin-

ton, Colliers Mills, Dix, Flatbrook, Glassboro, 
Greenwood Forest, Howardsville, Heislerville, 
Mad Horse, Manahawkin, Manasquan River, 
Medford, Millville (Bevan), Nantuxent, Peaslee, 
Pequest, Port Republic, Rockport, Stafford Forge, 
Tuckahoe (MacNamara), Walpack, Whittingham 
and Winslow. The Delaware Water Gap National 
Recreation Area is also a designated pheasant and 
quail stamp area. Pheasant and quail stamps are 
valid for the calendar year, January–December. 
Quail may be hunted or possessed ONLY on 
Peaslee or Greenwood WMAs.

New Jersey Waterfowl Stamp
Anyone 16 or older who hunts waterfowl must pos-
sess a New Jersey Waterfowl Stamp (now printed 
directly on your license at the time of purchase) 
in addition to the Federal Migratory Bird Stamp. 
Both stamps are valid for the fiscal year, July 1–
June 30. A Harvest Information Program (HIP) 
certification is also required. For HIP details, 
see Migratory Bird Regulations, page 65. 

Licenses, Permits & Stamps
LICENSES AND PERMITS

15



The 2017 Six-day Firearm  
Deer Season is Dec. 4–9, 2017. 

Planning Ahead?

Regulations in red are new this year.

Deer Season Permits
PERMIT INFORMATION

Bow, Permit Muzzleloader and Permit Shotgun 
deer seasons.

• The zone-specific deer permit is valid only for 
hunting antlerless deer. To take an antlered buck 
during any permit season, hunters must pur-
chase one Antlered Buck Permit. An Antlered 
Buck Permit is not zone-specific but is valid 
only when used in conjunction with a zone-
specific deer permit.

• Hunters are still limited to purchasing one Ant-
lered Buck Permit per permit season (i.e., one 
Antlered Buck Bow Permit, one Antlered Buck 
Shotgun Permit and one Antlered Buck Muzzle-
loader Permit). Buck permits are valid in any 
zone for which the hunter has a valid antlerless 
zone-specific permit.

• Note: Only one deer at a time may be taken 
during any permit season even if you possess 
both an antlered and antlerless permit, except 

PERMIT HUNTING SEASONS play a major role 
in Fish and Wildlife’s deer management program. 
The three permit seasons provide a means to control 
hunting pressure, and thereby the harvest, in each 
deer management zone to meet specific deer man-
agement objectives. With the additional harvest 
and recreational opportunity these seasons provide, 
an additional fee is charged for each permit. 

Farmer deer permit information is detailed 
in the Farmer Hunting Information section 
beginning on page 28. Farmers purchasing non-
farmer permits should also read this deer season 
permit section, below.

For application and purchasing procedures, see 
Permits for Hunters and Trappers, page 10. 
• A permit is required to hunt during the Permit 

Antlered Buck Permits may be 
purchased only after, or in conjunction 
with, purchasing a zone-specific 
antlerless permit. Purchase a Buck 
Permit in one of the following ways:

1.  Purchase by the opening day of each 
permit season OR,

2.  Purchase at the same time as your first 
zone-specific antlerless permit for each 
season

Permit sales begin MONDAY, Sept. 12, 
2016 at 10:00 a.m. and must be pur-
chased either by 11:59 p.m. on the 
first day of each permit season as 
follows: 

• Antlered Buck Permits for the Permit 
Bow Season must be purchased by 
Oct. 29 at 11:59 p.m. 

• Antlered Buck Permits for the Permit 
Muzzleloader Season must be pur-
chased by Nov. 28 at 11:59 p.m.

• Antlered Buck Permits for the Permit 
Shotgun Season must be purchased 
by Dec. 14 at 11:59 p.m.

• Or, for hunters who do not purchase a 
deer permit until after the season opens, 
an Antlered Buck Permit may be pur-
chased only with the initial antlerless 
zone-specific permit. There will be no 
other chance to purchase an Antlered 
Buck Permit.

• There are NO EXCEPTIONS. 

Antlered Buck 
Permit Deadlines!

ALL Meat 

Vacuum 

Sealed!

Just a sampling of 
what we offer:

• Maple-flavored Bacon •

• Sweet ‘n Spicy Cheese Links •

• BBQ Snack Sticks • 

• Venison BBQ •

• Burger (with pork or bacon) • 

• Sausage (hot or sweet) • 

• Deer Roll • 

• Kielbasa • Bologna • 

• Honey Bologna • 

• Bologna with Cheese • 

• Snack Sticks (Orig., BBQ, Cheese, Hot Rods)• 

• Reconstructed Jerky • 

• Hot Dogs (Orig., Cheese, Jalapeño cheese) • 

• Seasoned Patties • 

• Smoked Tennessee Sausage • 

• Minute Steaks • 

• Dried Beef • Jerky • 

• Cape out service •

ElyDeerProcessing.com

(215) 860-0669
401 Woodhill Road, Newtown, PA 18940

Computer check-in is greatly 
improved to be more 

user-friendly!
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in those zones in Regulation Sets 6, 7 and 8 
where two deer at a time may be harvested dur-
ing the Permit Bow, Permit Shotgun and Permit 
Muzzleloader seasons.

• Antlerless deer permits are zone-specific and are 
valid for the duration of the specified zone’s per-
mit season, including when that season extends 
into the 2016 calendar year. Hunters are still 
limited to purchasing one zone-specific permit 
per zone per permit season. Example: If you hunt 
only Zone 19, you may purchase only one muzzle-
loader, one bow and one shotgun antlerless permit 
for Zone 19. If you hunt in more than one zone 
you may purchase one muzzleloader, one bow and 
one shotgun permit for each zone.

• Regardless of the number of zone-specific ant-
lerless permits in possession, hunters are lim-
ited to taking one buck during each of the 
permit seasons ONLY after first purchasing 

a Buck Permit for that season. (See Deer Hunt-
ing Regulations, Licenses and Permits for details, 
page 31.)

• A resident, non-resident or youth hunting license is 
a prerequisite to purchase a deer permit. See pages 
1 and 10 for hunting license information.

• Muzzleloader season permits are not valid unless 
accompanied by both a valid rifle permit and a 
Firearm or All-around Sportsman License while 
hunting. 

• Permits are valid only for the season and zone indi-
cated, are non-transferable and non-refundable.

• It is illegal to use a permit for a zone, season or 
hunter other than those named on the permit. 
Deer permit violations are subject to a fine of 
$100–$1,000 for each offense. 

• The cost per permit [both the Antlerless (zone-
specific) Deer Permit or Antlered Buck Permit] is 
$28 for each adult and $12 for each youth permit.

HUNTING PROPERTIES FOR SALE
Sika Deer, Duck, Goose, Turkey

Owner financing available
www.sikastag.com

  percy.res@gmail.com  609.257.3706

MARYLAND EASTERN SHORE
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Deer Season Permits
PERMIT INFORMATION

Regulations in red are new this year.

Permits Available at Participating License 
Agents (Except Special Areas Zones)
• The following deer management zones have per-

mit quotas that far exceed hunter demand: Zones 
1–19, 21–31, 34–36, 41–43, 45–51, 55, 63, 65, 
67 and 68. These permits are available on a first 
come, first served basis. In the unlikely event that 
sales reach the permit quota for a specific zone and 
season combination, those permit sales will end.

• Permits sales are available at license agents listed 
on page 20 and on Fish and Wildlife’s Internet 
sales site www.NJ.WildlifeLicense.com. 

• Hours of operation and types of payment accepted 
vary according to license agent. Be prepared.

Bow, muzzleloader, shotgun and antlered buck 
permits will be available for sale beginning at 
10:00 a.m. on MONDAY, Sept. 12, 2016 and 
continue until each season ends. Some sea-
sons run through Feb. 11, 2017. See Regula-
tion Sets, page 36.

Bow, Muzzleloader, 
Shotgun and Antlered 
Buck Permits

• To purchase a permit at a license agent a hunter 
must present his or her valid, current year’s hunt-
ing license.

• A person may purchase a permit for an absent 
hunter only when the following conditions are met: 
1. The absent hunter has already completed a 

Child Support Certification (see page 8) 
through the Integrated Electronic Licensing 
System via the Internet or at a license agent and 

2. The buyer shows the absent hunter’s valid 
hunting license and identifying information 
(date of birth and Conservation ID Number or 
Social Security Number). License photocopies 
not accepted.

• The hunter is responsible to know in what zone 
and season he or she wants to hunt.

• Hunters are urged to review their permit before 
leaving the license agent. 

• Once a permit fee is paid and the buyer leaves 
the store, there will be no returns, exchanges 
or refunds. No exceptions.

• Permits purchased online via the Internet will 
take 7–10 days for delivery. Hunters have the 
option to pay extra for express delivery.

Special Area Deer Management Zones
• Special Areas include federal military installa-

tions, certain state and county parks and national 
wildlife refuges. Special Area zones include: 37, 
38, 39, 53, 54, 56, 57, 58, 61, 64, 66, 67, 68 and 
70. Some of these zones have specific qualifying 

criteria which hunters must meet before obtain-
ing a permit. Certain zones are not open to the 
public. It is the hunters’ responsibility to arrange 
for property access prior to purchasing a permit.

• There is no lottery for Special Area Permits. 
Permits will be available for a limited time on 
a first-come, first-served basis. Note: Most of 
these Special Areas permits will be available 
for sale only for a limited time. It is the hunters 
responsibility to pay attention to all deadlines. 
Exceptions cannot be made. 

• Refer to a specific Special Area (see Special Areas 
Hunting Seasons, page 42) for complete details 
including when each permit sale will occur.

Military Zones
Military base deer management zones include 
the following: Picatinny Arsenal (Zone 54), Earle 
NWS (Zone 39), Lakehurst Section of Joint Base 
McGuire-Dix-Lakehurst, U.S. Air Force, (Formerly 
Lakehurst NAES (Zone 53), FAA Tech Center 
(Zone 66) and Dix-McGuire section of Joint Base 
McGuire-Dix-Lakehurst, U.S. Air Force, (For-
merly Fort Dix) (Zone 37). All have lower quotas 
with a limited number of available permits. Due to 
heightened security, hunters must be sure to have 
proper security clearance and access prior to apply-
ing for or purchasing permits for military base zones. 

 Refer to a specific Special Area (see Special Areas 
Hunting Seasons, page 42) for complete details 
including when each permit sale will occur. 

Mountain Trail Whitetails
Bowhunting Preserve

Tim Matthews 
(908) 310-0369
Mountaintrailwhitetails@gmail.com

www.MTWhitetails.com
Deer shot on a preserve are not eligible for Boone & Crockett, Pope & Young or New Jersey’s Outstanding Deer Program.

Hunt On 100 Wooded Acres In Warren County, 
Home To Th e Biggest Bucks In New Jersey!

Management Hunts
(Eight (8) points or less, 
scoring less than 140")

$1450 
trophy fee

Gold Hunt —Any Buck 
in the Preserve Over 200", 
Fully-Guided, Sept. – Jan.

$6400
trophy fee

Guided Turkey Hunts $300 
per day

Any Buck in the Preserve 
Under 200", Semi-Guided

September $4400 trophy fee

October $3900 trophy fee

November $3400 trophy fee

December $2900 trophy fee

January $2400 trophy fee

Hunts are $250 per day  (2 day minimum). 
If successful, a trophy fee will be charged 
based on the type of hunt selected in 
addition to the daily fee.
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Competitive Firearm Pricing • Used Guns Bought & Sold • Trap & Skeet Supplies
Crossbows & Compound Bows • Firearms Transfers • NJ & PA Hunting & Fishing Licenses

State & Federal Duck Stamps

Serving New Jersey for over 100 years!
HUNTING • FISHING • CAMPING • ATHLETIC EQUIPMENT • ARCHERY • KAYAKS • BICYCLES • OUTDOOR & ATHLETIC CLOTHING

FOOTWEAR • TEAM, SCHOOL & CORPORATE SALES • BOY SCOUT UNIFORMS

513 West Union Ave. Bound Brook, NJ •  (732) 356-0604
OPEN 7 DAYS A WEEK

2 blocks east of I-287, exit 13A from I-287N, exit 13 from  I-287S. 3 blocks south of Rt. 22 at the Thompson Ave. exit.
1/4 Mile east of the Bridgewater Promenade on Rt. 28.
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FRED BEAR • CRKT • BUCK • SW

ISS ARM
Y • STACK-ON SAFES • M

ACE
MARLIN • MAGPUL • KIMBER • RUGER • S & W • WALTHER • COLT • BERETTA • SPRINGFIELD ARMORY • H&K • HENRY

BROWNING • REMINGTON • MOSSBERG • NIKON • KERSHAW • CZ-USA • WINCHESTER • GLOCK • VELOCITY • FEDERAL

www.efi ngersports.com

in New York State for Sportsmen
DEER CAMPS LOW prices! LOW payments! LOW taxes!

This cabin on 5 acres 
$69,900

47 acres on Adirondack 
lake for $89,995

This cabin on 10 acres 
with state land - $29,995

And More Sportsmen’s Bargains!
• 7.2 Acres Borders State – $17,900
• 76.5 Acres Deer Woods – $39,900
• Adirondacks - Moose Creek Mountain, 336.5 Acres - $179,900
• Hunter’s/Trappers Paradise, 203 Acres - $139,900

All in-house financing, low payments, taxes included.

Call 800-229-7843 
See videos of these properties online at www.landandcamps.com
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Permit and License Agents
ELECTRONIC PERMIT AND LICENSE SYSTEM

ATLANTIC

Bass Pro Outdoor World, 30 N. Christopher Columbus Blvd, Atlantic City . . . . . (609) 449-4500
s Outfitters, 6390 Harding Highway, Mays Landing . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (609) 829-2229
Butterhof’s Farm & Home Supply, 5715 White Horse Pk, Egg Harbor City . . . . . (609) 965-1198
DC Sportsman, 366 E. Wheat Rd, Unit C, Buena  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (856) 457-5433
Dick’s Sporting Goods, 210 Consumer Square, Mays Landing . . . . . . . . . . . . . (609) 407-1711
Galloway Ace / Smith Bros., 322 South Pitney Rd., Absecon  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (609) 567-7400
Lynkris Hometown Hardware, 127 Bellevue Ave, Hammonton . . . . . . . . . . . . . (609) 561-1592
Lynkris Hometown Hardware, 208 Philadelphia Ave., Egg Harbor City . . . . . . . (609) 965-0815
Wal-Mart #2108, 4620 Blackhorse Pike, Mays Landing . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (609) 625-8200
Wal-Mart #2254, 55 S. White Horse Pike, Hammonton  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (609) 567-2700
Zeus Products Co. Inc, 6679 Black Horse Pike, Egg Harbor Twp  . . . . . . . . . . . (609) 646-1668

BERGEN

Dick’s Sporting Goods, 240 Rt. 17 North, Paramus  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (201) 216-2926
Jigging World, 174 Rt. 17 North, Rochelle Park . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (201) 587-0011
Ramsey Outdoor Store, 835 Rt. 17 South, Ramsey  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (201) 327-8141
Targeteers Sporting Goods, LLC, 101 Rt. 46, Saddlebrook . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (201) 843-7788
Wal-Mart #3159, 1 Teterboro Landing Dr., Teterboro . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (201) 375-4002
Wal-Mart #3562, 189 Rt. 46 W., Saddlebrook . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (201) 226-0575
Wal-Mart #5752, 174 Passaic St., Garfield  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (973) 330-3550

BURLINGTON

Cheyenne Mountain Outfitters, 244 Route 130, Bordentown  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (609) 570-8430
Dick’s Sporting Goods, 1300 Nixon Dr., Mt. Laurel . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (856) 802-1225
Dick’s Sporting Goods, 2703 Rt. 541 Towne Crossing , Burlington Twp. . . . . . . (609) 747-0400
Fresh Farm Market, 201 E. Broad St., Palmyra  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (856) 786-0200
Mighty Joe’s Grill & Deli, 1231 Rt. 206, Shamong . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (609) 268-0303
Schneider’s F&W License Ctr, 390 Lakehurst Rd, Browns Mills . . . . . . . . . . . . (609) 735-0040
Sportsmen’s Center, Rt. 130, Bordentown . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (609) 298-5300
Wal-Mart #2841, 1740 Rt. 38, Lumberton . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (609) 702-9200
Wal-Mart #1869, 150 Rt. 70 East, Marlton  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (856) 983-2100
Wal-Mart #2040, 2106 Burlington-Mt. Holly, Burlington . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (609) 386-8400
Wal-Mart #2871, 2501 Rt. 130 So., Cinnaminson . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (856) 303-2119

CAMDEN

Atco Sports, 2209 Atco Ave., Atco . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (856) 767-9446
Banger’s Sport Shop, 840 Piney Hollow Rd, Winslow . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (609) 561-1717
Creek Keepers Fin & Fur, 1130 S. Blackhorse Pike, Blackwood . . . . . . . . . . . . (856) 227-1923
Dambly’s Garden Center, 51 West Factory Rd., Berlin  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (856) 767-6883
Dick’s Sporting Goods, 2130 Rt. 70 West, Cherry Hill . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (856) 317-8394
Kmart #3027, 1468 Clementon Rd., Clementon. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (856) 627-1800
Wal-Mart #1807, 265 Rt. 73 North, West Berlin . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (856) 753-8787
Wal-Mart #4456, 315 White Horse Pike So, Somerdale  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (856) 545-9052
Wal-Mart #5047, 130 Blackhorse Pike, Audubon . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (856) 310-1470
Wal-Mart #5340, 500 Rt. 38, Cherry Hill . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (856) 665-5430

CAPE MAY

Avalon Hodge Podge, 2389 Ocean Dr., Avalon . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (609) 967-3274
Budd’s Bait & Tackle, 109 Fulling Mill Rd., Villas . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (609) 886-6935
Belleplain Supply Co. Inc., 346 Handsmill Rd., Belleplain . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (609) 861-2345
City Of Ocean City, 861 Asbury Ave., Ocean City  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (609) 525-9324
Sea Isle Bait & Tackle, 4200 Park Rd., Sea Isle City . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (609) 263-6540
Smugglers Cove, 370 83rd St., Stone Harbor  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (609) 368-1700
Sterling Harbor B&T, 1020 W. Rio Grande Ave., Wildwood  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (609) 729-1425
Two Chums Bait & Tackle, 375 43rd St., Sea Isle City  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (609) 263-2486
Upper Township, 2100 Tuckahoe Rd., Tuckahoe  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (609) 628-2805
Wal-Mart #3337, 3159 Rt. 9 South, Rio Grande . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (609) 465-2204

CUMBERLAND

Blackwater Sports Center, 2228 North Delsea Dr., Vineland . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (856) 691-1571
Butch’s Gun World, 1025 W. Landis Ave., Vineland . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (856) 692-1010
Commercial Township, 1768 Main St., Port Norris . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (609) 785-3100
Dick’s Sporting Goods , 2126 N. Second St., Millville . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (856) 293-8520
Franzwa Trailer Sales Inc., 2134 So. Second St., Millville . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (856) 825-0111
J.S. Firearms, 35 Station Rd, Leesburg . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (609) 579-5941
Modern Bait & Tackle, 851 N. Pearl St., Bridgeton . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (856) 451-1811
Randy’s Inc., 84 E. Commerce St., Bridgeton . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (856) 455-8309
Tep’s Power Equipment, 1007 N. High St., Millville  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (856) 825-8294

The Girls Place Bait & Tackle, 3574 S. Delsea Dr., Port Elizabeth . . . . . . . . . . . (856) 825-4565
The Gun Rack, 1726 North West Blvd., Vineland  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (856) 692-4773
uR Hardware & General Store, 389 S. Lincoln Ave, Vineland  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (856) 692-3646
Wal-Mart #2109, 2291 N. Second St., Millville  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (856) 825-4200
Wal-Mart #3339, 1070 West Landis Ave, Vineland . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (856) 205-0040
Wal-Mart #5384, 1130 Hwy. 77, Bridgeton . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (856) 453-0418
Zeke’s Bait, Tackle & Seafood, 138 South Pearl St., Bridgeton . . . . . . . . . . . . . (856) 451-1800

ESSEX

Bullet Hole Inc, 78 Rutgers St., Belleville . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (973) 759-3968
City of Newark, 920 Broad St., Newark . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (973) 733-3706
Kmart #7177, 371-411 Main St., Belleville . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (973) 751-3331

GLOUCESTER

Bob’s Little Sport Shop, 318 N. Delsea Dr., Glassboro . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (856) 553-8497
Borough of Swedesboro, 1500 Kings Hwy, Swedesboro  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (856) 467-0202
Dick’s Sporting Goods, 1450 Almonesson Rd., Deptford  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (856) 384-8533
Kmart #3060, 222 Bridgeton Pike, Mantua . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (856) 468-7575
Sportsman’s Outpost, 2517 Fries Mill Road, Williamstown . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (856) 881-3244
Twp. Of Greenwich, 420 Washington St., Gibbstown . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (856) 423-1038
Wal-Mart #1742, 3501 Rt. 42, Turnersville  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (856) 629-3888
Wal-Mart #3422, 2000 Clements Bridge Rd., Deptford . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (856) 384-3211
Wal-Mart #3774, 1840 S. Whitehorse Pk, Williamstown  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (856) 629-2054
Wal-Mart #5476, 1350 Delsea Dr., W. Deptford . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (856) 686-0133

HUDSON

Caso’s Gun-A-Rama, 176 Danforth Ave., Jersey City . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (201) 435-5099
Kmart #3459, Rt. 440 Kellogg St., Jersey City . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (201) 435-2101
Wal-Mart #3520, 400 Park Pl., Secaucus  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (201) 325-9280
Wal-Mart #3795, 2100-88th St., No. Bergen . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (201) 758-2810
Wal-Mart #5447, 1215 Harrison Ave, Kearny . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (201) 955-0280

HUNTERDON

Boan’s Marine, 1296 Rt. 179, Lambertville  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (609) 397-3311
Kathee’s General Store, 4 Kingwood Ave., Frenchtown  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (908) 996-6886
Shannon’s Fly & Tackle, 74 B Main St., Califon  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (908) 832-5736
Sportsman’s Rendezvous, 174 Hwy. 31, Flemington . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (908) 788-5828
Wal-Mart #2294, 50 Rt. 31, Flemington  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (908) 788-6769
Wal-Mart #2582, Rt. 513 & I-78, Clinton . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (908) 730-8665
Wal-Mart #5069, 3576 Rt. 22 West, Branchburg . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (908) 534-7377

MERCER

Dick’s Sporting Goods, 530 Nassau Park Blvd., Princeton . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (609) 419-1661
NJ Dept Military/Vet Affair, 101 Eggert Crossing Rd., Lawrenceville . . . . . . . . . (609) 530-6866
Rosedale Mills, 101 Rt. 31 No., Pennington  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (609) 737-2008
Wal-Mart #2171, 101 Nassau Park Blvd., Princeton  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (609) 987-0202
Wal-Mart #2518, 100 Marketplace Blvd., Hamilton . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (609) 585-1463
Wal-Mart #3266, 839 Rt. 130 North, E. Windsor  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (609) 443-6159

MIDDLESEX

Auto Parts Of Woodbridge, 108 Main St., Woodbridge . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (732) 634-6264
Dick’s Sporting Goods, 325 State Rt. 18, E. Brunswick  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (732) 651-3284
Dick’s Sporting Goods, 366 Woodbridge Center Dr., Woodbridge . . . . . . . . . . . (732) 621-8400
Dick’s Sporting Goods, 4999 Stelton Rd., So. Plainfield . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (908) 226-4912
Sayreville Sportsman, 52 Washington Rd., Sayreville . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (732) 238-2060
Wal-Mart #2003, 979 Rt. 1 South, North Brunswick  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (732) 545-4499
Wal-Mart #2633, 1303 Centennial Ave, Piscataway  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (732) 300-1859
Wal-Mart #2825, 1126 Rt. 9, Old Bridge . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (732) 525-8030
Wal-Mart #3078, 290 State Route 18, East Brunswick  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (732) 955-0871
Wal-Mart #5201, 2220 Rt. 27, Edison . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (732) 650-1297
Wal-Mart #5281, 306 Hwy. 9 North, Woodbridge . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (732) 826-4652
Wal-Mart #4153, 2825 Route 18, Old Bridge . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (732) 955-0139

MONMOUTH

Brielle Bait & Tackle, 800 Ashley Ave., Brielle  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (732) 528-5720
Dick’s Sporting Goods, 650 Trotters Way, Freehold  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (732) 358-1400
Howell Gun Works, 2446 Route 9 South, Howell . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (848) 444-9400
Kmart #4361, 3010 Hwy. 35, Hazlet . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (732) 739-2800
L & H Woods & Water, 2045 Hwy. 35, Wall . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (732) 282-1812
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For a sporting adventure close to home, try black bear hunting in  
New Jersey. See page 51 for information and regulations.

Hunt New Jersey Black Bears!

For a sporting adventure close to home, try black bear hunting in 
New Jersey See page 51 for information and regulations
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New Jersey. See page 51 for information and regulations.
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Wal-Mart #2195, 4900 Rt. 9, Howell . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (732) 886-9100
Wal-Mart #3236, 326 W. Main St., Freehold  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (732) 780-3048
Wal-Mart #5142, 3575 Rt. 66 West, Neptune  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (732) 922-1413

MORRIS

Dick’s Sporting Goods, 240 Rt. 10 West, E. Hanover  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (973) 428-0889
Dick’s Sporting Goods , 387 Mount Hope Ave., Rockaway . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (973) 659-1950
Dorsi’s Deli & Pharmacy, 184 Central Ave, Stirling . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (908) 647-7878
Dover Sport Center, 242 Rt. 46, Dover . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (973) 366-3133
Dows Boat Rental, 145 Nolans Point Rd., Lake Hopatcong  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (973) 663-3826
Lakes End Marina, 91 Mt. Arlington Blvd., Landing  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (973) 398-5707
Ramsey Outdoor Store, 281 Rt. 10 E., Succasunna . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (973) 584-7798
Rich’s Refrigeration, 4 King St, Morristown . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (973) 234-5868
Wal-Mart #2569, 461 Rt. 10, Ledgewood . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (973) 252-7666
Wal-Mart #3291, 40 International Dr. South, Flanders . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (973) 347-7400
Wal-Mart #3443, 48 Rt. 23 North, Riverdale . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (973) 835-5812
Wal-Mart #3598, 235 Ridgedale Ave., Cedar Knolls . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (973) 889-8646
Wal-Mart #5077, 300 Wooton St., Boonton . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (973) 299-3943
Wal-Mart #5178, 220 Enterprise Dr., Rockaway  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (973) 361-6089

OCEAN

American Sportsman, Llc, 857 Mill Creek Rd., Manahawkin  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (609) 597-4104
Cream Ridge Sptg.Goods, 465 Rt. 539, Cream Ridge. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (609) 758-0699
Creekside Outfitters, 403 Route 9, Waretown  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (609) 242-1812
Dick’s Sporting Goods, 223 Stafford Park Blvd., Manahawkin . . . . . . . . . . . . . (609) 597-5396
Dick’s Sporting Goods, 487 Rt. 70, Brick . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (732) 477-4844
Downe’s Bait & Tackle, 287 Brennan Concourse, Bayville . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (732) 269-0137
Garden State Yacht & Sales, 101 Rt. 35 South, Pt. Pleasant  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (732) 892-4222
Grizz’s Forked River B & T, 103 Lacey Rd., Forked River  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (609) 693-9298
Kmart #3050, 1930 Rt. 88, Brick . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (732) 840-0800
Lacey Marine, 308 Route 9 south, Forked River . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (609) 693-9052
Pells Fish and Sport, 335 Mantoloking Rd., Brick . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (732) 477-2121
Pineland Sporting Goods, 959 W. Veterans Hwy., Jackson . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (732) 598-6676
Shenandoah Boating, B & T, 700 Rt. 88, Lakewood . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (732) 363-9678
Shooters Sporting Center, 1535 Route 539, Little Egg Harbor  . . . . . . . . . . . . . (609) 296-4080
Surf City Bait & Tackle, 317 Long Beach Blvd., Surf City  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (609) 494-2333
Tip’s Hardware, 218 Main St., West Creek . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (609) 296-3192
Wal-Mart #1844, 950 Rt. 37 West, Toms River  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (732) 349-6000
Wal-Mart #1921, 525 Rt. 72 West, Manahawkin . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (609) 978-8300
Wal-Mart #1977, 1872 Rt. 88, Brick . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (732) 840-7772
Wal-Mart #3830, 631 Rt. 9 So., Little Egg Harbor  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (609) 296-2430
Wal-Mart #5414, 580 Rt. 9 North, Lanoka Harbor . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (609) 242-8311
West Creek Bait & Tackle, 387 Route 9, West Creek  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (609) 857-3516

PASSAIC

City of Newark (Watershed), 223 Echo Lake Rd., Newfoundland . . . . . . . . . . . (973) 697-1724
Dick’s Sporting Goods, 76 Willowbrook Blvd., Wayne . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (973) 200-8077
Fins & Furs Bait Shop, 2727 Route 23, Newfoundland  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (201) 321-0153
Tackle and Field, 81 Ringwood Ave, Wanaque . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (973) 835-2966
Kmart #3056, 1020 Hamburg Tpke., Wayne  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (973) 696-8312
No. Haledon General Store, 20 Manchester Ave, No. Haledon  . . . . . . . . . . . . . (973) 427-1653
Totowa Bait & Tackle Shop, 10 Albion Ave., Paterson . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (973) 956-0825

SALEM

SJ Gas and Shine, 290 Rt. 40, Elmer . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (856) 358-3488
Shag’s Bait & Tackle, 1045 South Broad Way, Pennsville . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (856) 935-2826
Wal-Mart #2041, 709 S. Broadway, Pennsville  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (856) 935-8200

SOMERSET

Efinger Sporting Goods, 513 W. Union Ave., Bound Brook  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (732) 356-0604
Wal-Mart #2651, 100 N. Main St., Manville . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (908) 575-8997
Wal-Mart #5111, 1501 Rt. 22 West, Watchung . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (908) 756-1925

SUSSEX

Bait & Boat, 13 Rt. 183, Stanhope . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (973) 345-5797
Garden State Bow & Reel, 2760A Rt. 23N,. Stockholm  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (973) 697-3727
Griffin & Howe, 270 Sparta-Stanhope Rd., Andover . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (973) 398-2670
Johnny’s Marina, 453 Riverstyx Rd., Hopatcong  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (973) 398-8500
Mastodon Ammo & Camo, 195 Highland Lakes Rd., Highland Lakes . . . . . . . . (973) 764-9550

Mountain Mike’s Sport Shop, 7 Old Rudetown Rd., Mc Afee. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (973) 827-6527
Simon Peter Sport Co., 660 Rt. 206 South, Newton . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (973) 786-5313
Skylands Sport Shop, 33 Rt. 206 So., Augusta  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (973) 300-5883
Stokes Forest Sport Shop, Rd. 2 Rt. 206, Branchville . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (973) 948-5448
Wal-Mart #2090, 230 Rt. 23, Franklin . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (973) 209-4242
Wal-Mart #2604, 26 Hampton House Rd., Newton  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (973) 300-1859
YOJ Sports, 196 Main St, Andover . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (973) 786-7382

UNION

Dick’s Sporting Goods, 2700 Route 22 E., Union . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (908) 964-2580
Wal-Mart # 3292, 900 Springfield Road, Union . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (908) 624-0644

WARREN

Chrusz’s General Store, 235 Main St., Johnsonburg  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (908) 852-0181
Hi-Way Sport Shop, 253 Rt. 31 North, Washington. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (908) 689-6208
Knot Just Flies, 61 State Route 94, Blairstown  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (908) 362-3474
Smitty’s Liquors & Deli, 89 Rt. 46, Delaware . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (908) 475-5933
The Owl’s Nest, 97 Rt. 519, Phillipsburg . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (908) 995-7903
Wal-Mart #2497, 1236 Rt. 22, Phillipsburg . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (908) 454-3622
Wal-Mart #2503, 1885 Rt. 57 Suite 100, Hackettstown . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (908) 979-9342
Pequest Trout Hatchery, 605 Pequest Rd., Oxford  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (908) 637-4125
Washington One Stop, 288 Rt. 31 South, Washington  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (908) 689-1353

PENNSYLVANIA

Cabela’s Retail, Inc., 100 Cabela Dr., Hamburg  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (610) 929-7000

For license sales by phone or Internet, call (888) 773-8450 or go to 
www.NJ.WildlifeLicense.com. See also License Information and Fees, page 1.

It is best to contact the agent in advance to ensure the licenses and/or permits are 
available and that the licensing system is active.

License agents may change frequently throughout the year.  
Consult our website at NJFishandWildlife.com /agentlst.htm for the most current list.

Permit and License Agents
ELECTRONIC PERMIT AND LICENSE SYSTEM
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YOUTH DEER 
HUNTING DAYS

 » Youth Bow Hunt 
Saturday, September 24, 2016

 » Youth Firearm Hunt 
Saturday, November 19, 2016

WHO CAN HUNT

Hunters with a valid youth hunting license. See 
Youth Licenses, page 10.
• The youth hunter MUST be under the direct 

supervision of a person who is at least 21 years 
old and who has a valid firearm or bow and arrow 
license corresponding to the season hunted. 
Direct supervision is defined as both the youth 
hunter and parent/guardian set up together at 
the same location, hunting as a unit, not hunting 
independently. The adult CANNOT hunt on 
this day. The adult may grunt, call or rattle for 
the youth. In addition to the youth, the adult 
accompanying the youth should wear the required 
hunter orange during the youth firearm deer hunt. 

BAG LIMITS

Youth may hunt statewide for one deer of either 
sex on each of the above dates. 

• During the Youth Firearm Deer Hunt, youths 
may hunt either with a shotgun or muzzleloader. 
No bows.

•   If the youth is hunting with a muzzleloader, both 
the youth and the adult must possess a valid rifle 
permit.

•  Antler Point Restrictions and Earn-A-Buck 
requirements do NOT apply on these days for 
the youth hunter. 

•  These hunts are extensions of the Fall Bow and 
Six-day Firearm seasons; no special season deer 
permit is required. Youth hunters may still use 
a bow to harvest one antlered deer during the 
Fall Bow Season, and use an appropriate firearm 
to harvest two antlered deer during the Six-day 
Firearm Season.

REPORT YOUR HARVEST

The youth hunter should complete all information 
requested on the Harvest Report Card provided 
on page 29. 
• The card, or hand-made version, should include 

the youth hunting license number or Conserva-
tion ID number, sex of deer, number of antler 
points, date, zone, deer management unit, county 
and township from which the deer was taken, in 
order to have your information ready for when 
you report your harvest through the Automated 

Harvest Report System. Youth hunters do not 
need a harvest number during youth hunts or 
non-permit deer seasons.

For additional harvest reporting requirements, 
see page 34. 

deer Take this great opportunity to introduce youth hunters to deer hunting!

YOUTH WATERFOWL 
HUNTING DAYS

Youth hunters must possess a valid Youth Firearms 
to hunt the Youth Waterfowl Hunting Days. See 
also Youth Licenses, page 10. 

All youth hunters must be under the direct super-
vision of a licensed, non-hunting adult 21 years of 
age or older. Hunting hours on these special youth 
days are from ½ hour before sunrise to sunset on 
the following dates by zone:

 » North Zone—Oct. 1 and Feb. 4

 » South Zone—Oct. 15 and Feb. 4

 » Coastal Zone—Nov. 5 and Feb. 11

An HIP number is required. See page 65 for all 
waterfowl hunting requirements. Daily bag limits 
for ducks, Canada geese, brant, snow geese, coots, 
moorhens and gallinules will be the same as those 
allowed during the regular season. Adults may not 
hunt on this day.

NORTH ZONE

SOUTH ZONE

COASTAL  
ZONE

waterfowl

Ryan Hearon and a close four-legged friend 
enjoy the 2015 Youth Waterfowl Hunting Day.
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In Sussex County's DMZ 2, Shaelyn Summers, 11, 
was accompanied by her grandfather Thomas 
Williamson, as she harvested this doe with a 
20-gauge semi-automatic shotgun using 3-inch 00 
buck shells.
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Selected Wildlife Management Areas for the Youth Pheasant Hunt

WMA
Guided 

Morning
Open After  

1 p.m.
Open All 

Day

Whittingham • •

Black River • •

Flatbrook •

Clinton • • 

Assunpink • •

Colliers Mills • •

Glassboro •

Millville • •

Peaslee • •

Winslow • •

Guided Morning—pre-registration required.

Open—afternoon: Any youth hunter with a valid 

youth hunting license under the direct supervision of 

a licensed, non-shooting adult (aged 21 or older), will 

be permitted to hunt on the listed wildlife manage-

ment areas on November 5, 2016 from 1 p.m. until 

sunset. No registration required.

Open—all day: Any youth hunter with a valid youth 

hunting license under the direct supervision of a 

New Jersey-licensed, non-shooting adult (aged 21 or 

older), will be permitted to hunt on the listed wildlife 

management areas on November 5, 2016 from 8 a.m. 

until sunset. No registration required.

YOUTH PHEASANT HUNT

 » November 5, 2016

The 2016 Take a Kid Hunting Pheasant Hunt 
will allow properly licensed hunters with a valid 
youth license (see Youth Licenses, page 10) to 
hunt on one of 10 stocked Wildlife Management 
Areas (WMA) on Saturday, November 5, 2016. In 
a cooperative effort between the Division of Fish 
and Wildlife and the New Jersey State Federation 
of Sportsmen’s Clubs, volunteer hunting mentors 
with trained bird dogs will guide youth hunters 
on a morning pheasant hunt. This experience will 
increase the young hunters’ opportunity for har-
vesting a pheasant in a setting which encourages 
responsible and safe hunting practices.

All guided morning hunt participants must pre-reg-
ister and be accompanied to the check-in by a parent 
or guardian. Parents or guardians are welcomed and 
encouraged to follow the hunters through the fields. 
All pre-registered hunters will receive an information 
packet. One session will be offered, starting at 7 a.m.

Only 50 youth hunters will be allowed on each 
WMA during the guided morning hunts. To register 
for a guided morning hunt, go to www.NJFishand-
Wildlife.com/ythpheas_register.htm and select the 
wildlife management area where you wish to hunt. 
When registration for each site reaches capacity, 
that particular site will be removed from the online 
registration options. Select one of the remaining 
locations.  Register early; spaces fill quickly!

Registrations are accepted from Tuesday Sept. 
6, 2016 thru Monday Oct. 17, 2016.  Information 
pertaining to the pheasant hunt will be mailed on 
or around Oct. 18, 2016.  

pheasant

YOUTH TURKEY HUNT DAY

 » April 22, 2017

Youth hunters with a valid youth hunting license who have obtained a turkey permit may begin their spring 
turkey season on the special youth turkey hunting day, April 23, 2016. See Youth Licenses, page 10. Youth 
must be under the direct supervision of an adult 21 years or older who possesses a valid New Jersey hunting 
license. Adults may not hunt on this day.

turkey

Around 7 a.m., Trevor Farinaccio's 20-gauge pump-
action shotgun rang out, harvesting his first turkey, 
a 22-pound gobbler sporting a 10-inch beard. 
Proud father, Jim, shared the hunt with his son.

YOUTH UPLAND BIRD HUNT DAY

 » Saturday, November 5, 2016

Youth hunters with a valid youth hunting license (see Youth Licenses, page 10), under the direct 
supervision of a New Jersey-licensed, non-hunting adult 21 years or older, will be permitted to hunt on 
licensed semi-wild hunting preserves. Youths may hunt for pheasant, quail and/or partridge on Saturday, 
November 5, 2016 from 8 a.m. to sunset. Take advantage of this great opportunity for hunters belonging 
to semi-wild preserves to  introduce youth hunters to upland bird hunting without competition from 
adult hunters who may not hunt on this day.

upland bird

During a spur-of-the-moment hunt at the 
Pequest WMA, Cody Griglak, 11, limited out 
on pheasants using his Remington 870 Mini 
20 gauge shotgun. Brother Dylan, 8, looks 
on, planning to hunt when he's older. 
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Come volunteer with us as a dog handler or youth hunting mentor to help support the tradition of safe, 
responsible hunting! To participate, visit our website at NJFishandWildlife.com/ythpheas_register.
htm and select Youth Hunt Volunteer. When registering, be sure to accurately complete all fields. You 
will be contacted by a Fish and Wildlife Take-a-Kid Youth Hunt Coordinator during the week of Oct. 17 
with details about the Nov. 5 hunt. 

Jim Cox, the current Take-a-Kid Youth Pheasant Hunt Coordinator at Peaslee WMA said this about 
being a volunteer during this youth pheasant hunt, "There's no better reward than sharing in the 
joy and excitement of a young hunter's first experience afield! The Youth Pheasant Hunt is more 
than just harvesting a bird. It is about forming friendships, hunter safety, and watching trained 
bird dogs work a field, all while pursuing premiere upland gamebirds."

Volunteer Dog Handlers and Youth 
Hunting Mentors Needed
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carried in the woods and fields during the small 
game season or other seasons which overlap with 
the bow and arrow deer season except that for tak-
ing game birds in flight, arrows equipped with an 
edged head are prohibited. Also, flu flu arrows are 
required for taking game birds in flight because 
the arrow is designed to fly only a short distance. 
For the purpose of discharging a crossbow, hunt-
ers may carry judo points, target points or blunts. 
Canada geese and turkeys which are not in flight 
may be taken with standard fletched arrows and 
an edged head as described above.

Sunday bowhunting for deer is legal only on 
private land and state wildlife management areas.

See Safety Zones, page 27.
It is unlawful to:

• use or possess a poison arrow or one with an 
explosive tip

• use an edged head for taking game birds in flight
• use a bow one-half hour after sunset until one-half 

hour before sunrise during any hunting season
• use a bow and arrow from any vehicle, moving 

or stationary
• have both a firearm and bow in possession or 

under control while hunting
• transport in a vehicle a crossbow in the cocked 

position

Closed Seasons
There is no hunting or trapping season for bobcat, 
fisher, mourning dove, sandhill crane and king rail 
in New Jersey. See Protected Wildlife, page 26.

Dogs, Hunting and Training
Allowing dogs to run at large is prohibited.

Persons may train dogs without firearms in day-
light at any time except during any open firearm 
deer season.

No person shall train a raccoon or opossum hunt-
ing dog on WMAs other than during the periods 
of Sept. 1 to Oct. 1 and from Mar. 1 to May 1 each 
year. Training hours shall be one hour after sunset 
to one hour before sunrise.

It is illegal to use dogs to pursue or run deer or 
black bear or to track wounded deer or bear.

Note: Regulations for dog training on wildlife 
management areas are on page 70.

Delaware River, Hunting
Hunting on the Delaware River is restricted by state 
boundaries. A valid hunting license and any appro-
priate permit/stamp is required for your location.

Falconry
No person shall use a raptor for hunting without 
a falconry permit and a valid hunting license. No 
person under 14 years of age may hunt by means 
of a raptor. Hunting migratory birds with raptors 
on Sunday is prohibited.

Falconry permits will be issued only to persons 
who pass a comprehensive examination and who 
can provide proper facilities for housing a raptor.

Beginning falconers must be sponsored by an 
experienced falconer.

No person shall possess a firearm while hunting 
with raptors.

For additional information, write to New Jersey 
Division of Fish and Wildlife, MC 501-03, P.O. Box 
420, Trenton, NJ 08625-0420 or call (908) 735-8793.

Farmer Regulations
See Farmer Hunting and Permit Information, page 28.

Firearms and Missiles
For the purpose of hunting in New Jersey, firearms 
refer to shotguns, muzzleloaders (rifled or smooth-
bore), air guns and modern rifles.
• Possession and use of silencers are illegal on 

any firearm. Title 2C:39-1 g. classifies a firearm 
silencer as “any instrument, attachment, weapon 
or appliance for causing the firing of any gun, 
revolver, pistol, or other firearm to be silent, or 
intended to lessen or muffle the noise of the firing 
of any gun, revolver, pistol or other firearm.” Pur-
suant to Title 2C:39-3 c. “Any person who know-
ingly has in his possession any firearm silencer is 
guilty of a crime of the fourth degree."

• A person may not go into the woods or fields with 
a firearm except during prescribed seasons.

• It is unlawful to possess in the woods and fields 
shot larger than #4 fine shot except for hunting deer, 
bear, waterfowl, woodchuck (farmers only) and 
coyote/fox during the Special Permit Coyote and 
Fox Season. This shall not apply to the lawful use of 
ammunition for air guns; see Air Guns, page 25.

• Rimfire and centerfire rifles are not legal to hunt deer.
• See sections on specific game animals for per-

mitted firearms and ammunition. See table on 
page 32 for sporting arms legal for deer hunting.

• No person shall use a shotgun capable of holding 
more than three shells at one time or that may be 
fired more than three times without reloading 
except for the September Canada goose season 
(see page 67) and during a light goose conserva-
tion order season, if any.

• See Safety Zones, page 27.

THIS IS NOT THE FULL LAW. The information in this 
Digest is based on N.J.S.A. Title 23, Title 13:1B-34 and 
N.J.A.C. 7:25-5. The amended regulations are known 
as the Game Code and implement the statute laws. 
Consult the Division of Fish and Wildlife’s Bureau of 
Law Enforcement for further details. See the Telephone 
Directory, page 88, for regional Law Enforcement 
offices. All persons are reminded that the statutes, code 
and regulations are the legal documents.  

No person shall hunt except as prescribed by law. 
See section Permits for Hunters with Disabling Con-
ditions, page 14, for special rules.

Persons required by law to wear corrective lenses 
to operate a motor vehicle (as noted on a valid 
driver’s license) must wear corrective lenses when 
hunting with any kind of bow or firearm. 

Bow and Arrow
“Bow” means any long bow, recurve bow, compound 
bow or crossbow. Hand held release devices are 
permitted.

See additional regulations under Specifically Pro-
hibited, page 27 and page  32 for a table on 
sporting arms legal for deer hunting.

All bows must have a minimum draw weight of 
35 pounds at the archer’s draw length, except com-
pounds, which must have a minimum peak draw 
weight of 35 pounds and crossbows which must have 
a minimum draw weight of 75 pounds. Crossbows 
must have a minimum stock length of 25 inches. 

See crossbow safety tips, below. Crossbows 
are now legal for bowfishing except for Green-
wood Lake. Crossbows are permitted for hunting 
migratory birds. See below for restrictions when 
taking game birds in flight.

All arrows used for hunting deer, turkey, coyote, 
fox or woodchuck must be fitted with an edged head 
of well-sharpened metal and a minimum width 
of ¾ inches.

Arrows fitted with heads other than specified 
for deer, turkey, coyote, fox or woodchuck may be 

Regulations in red are new this year.

General Hunting
REGUL ATIONS

1. Always read the manufacturers directions 
and use the recommended arrow (bolt) 
weight and length.

2. Always visually inspect crossbow and acces-
sories before shooting to ensure all are in 
good condition. 

3. Keep fingers and thumb low on the crossbow 
forearm, below the rail; the flight path of string 
and cable can cause serious personal injury.

4. Never walk with a crossbow cocked and 
arrow loaded.

5. Never cock a crossbow while in a treestand, 
except for crank-type models.

6. Always raise and lower unloaded crossbows 
from a treestand using a haul line. 

7. Before shooting, check that bow limbs will 
hit nothing when they flex forward during the 
release. Crossbow limbs store enough energy 
to knock a hunter to the ground should the 
bow contact the tree or your stand. 

8. Carry in your quiver an arrow with either a 
field point, judo or blunt. Uncock the cross-
bow at day’s end by shooting that arrow into 
a target or soft ground. 

9. Never dry-fire a crossbow; releasing the trig-
ger without an arrow in place can damage to 
the bow limbs or cause serious personal injury. 

10. Never store or transport a crossbow in the 
cocked position.

10 Safety Tips for Crossbow Shooting Success
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Air Guns
“Air gun” means any shoulder-mounted firearm 
which by the force of a spring, air or other non-
ignited compressed gas expels a missile or projectile 
and has a rifled or smooth barrel, using ammunition 
no smaller than .177 caliber and no larger than .22 
caliber producing projectile velocities of not less 
than 600 feet per second measured at the muzzle. 
Pursuant to Title 2C:39-1 f., air guns are classified 
as a firearm. Air gun BBs are not legal for hunting. 
Air guns are now legal for taking cottontail rabbit, 
hare and gray squirrel. A rifle permit is not required. 
Modern air guns have sufficient power to take small 
game plus are quieter and lighter than some shot-
guns, making them an ideal tool for smaller-framed 
hunters. Air guns hunting information is now part 
of the basic shotgun hunter education course.

IMPORTANT: See Firearms and Missiles, 
page 24, for the law regarding silencing mecha-
nisms that also apply to air guns.

Muzzleloaders
It is unlawful to use smokeless powder in a muzzle-
loader while hunting in New Jersey. Only black 
powder or black powder equivalents, such as Pyro-
dex and Triple Se7en, may be used with a muzzle-
loading firearm when engaged in hunting.

Properly licensed and permitted hunters 10 years 
and older may hunt with a muzzleloading rifle. A 
valid rifle permit must be possessed while hunting 
with a muzzleloading rifle. Permitted action types 
include percussion, flintlock and inline. Electronic 
ignitions are not legal. For muzzleloader barrel 
types and legal hunting ammunition, see regula-
tions for each game species.

It is unlawful to hunt with a muzzleloading rifle 
on WMAs, except for deer, bear and during the spe-
cial seasons for coyote/fox and squirrel hunting. For 
muzzleloader rifle squirrel hunting, see page 56. 
For muzzleloader deer hunting, see page 32. For 
rifle permit information, see page 12. For muz-
zleloader coyote/fox hunting, see page 54.

Rifles, Modern
A valid rifle permit must be in possession while 
hunting with a modern rifle.

Rifles for small game hunting are allowed using 
limited types of .22 caliber rimfire ammo and are 
legal only for taking woodchuck (ammo restrictions, 
page 56), raccoon and opossum with hounds (.22 
shorts only) plus coyote and fox (ammo restric-
tions, page 54). NO rifle woodchuck hunting on 
wildlife management areas or state parks, forests 
and recreation areas. Small game hunting with 
centerfire rifles is limited to not larger than .25 
caliber for coyote and fox (see page 54) and .25 
caliber or larger for woodchuck (see page 56). 
See also Firearms and Missiles, page 24.

A modern rifle magazine need not be pinned 
(plugged), but may be loaded with no more than three 
cartridges. Rife permit holders of all ages may hunt 
with all rifle types as allowed by New Jersey laws.

See chart on page 56 for details on small caliber 
rifle ammunition legal for hunting woodchucks and 
page 54 for the special permit coyote/fox season.

Shotguns
Shotguns larger than 10-gauge are prohibited for 
hunting. Shotguns may not be capable of hold-
ing more than three shells except for September 
Canada goose hunting and during the Spring Light 
Goose Conservation Order; see page 67. For 
information on legal shot sizes, see regulations for 
each game species to be hunted.

Hunter Harassment
It is illegal to obstruct or attempt to obstruct or annoy 
a person lawfully taking wildlife as per N.J.S.A. 
23:7A-1 through N.J.S.A. 23:7A-3. This includes 
making loud noises or gestures designed to disturb, 
alarm, drive, attract or affect the behavior of wildlife.

Hunter Orange
Firearm hunters must wear a cap made of solid 
daylight fluorescent orange or an outer garment 
containing at least 200 square inches of fluorescent 
orange material visible from all sides at all times while 
engaged in hunting. A camo-orange hat alone is not 
adequate. This applies to all persons while hunting 
with a firearm for deer, bear, rabbit, hare, squirrel, coy-
ote, fox, railbirds, and game birds including while in a 
tree stand. See exceptions below along with ground 
blind hunting fluorescent orange requirements.

It is mandatory to wear a hunter orange hat when 
firearm hunting for small game on wildlife manage-
ment areas stocked with pheasant or quail. See list of 
WMAs at Pheasant and Quail Stamp Areas, page 15.

All firearm and bow and arrow deer and black 
bear hunters utilizing a ground blind when a 
firearm deer season is open concurrently must 
display 200 square inches of hunter orange atop 
the blind and visible from all sides or within five 
feet outside the blind and higher than the blind 
or at least three feet off the ground, whichever is 
higher. During these concurrent seasons, bow-
hunters in treestands also should consider wear-
ing hunter orange.

Exceptions: the hunter orange law does not apply 
to waterfowl, crow, wild turkey, coyote/fox (during 
the special permit season, page 54), woodchuck 
nor bowhunters except that a bowhunter using a 
deer decoy must wear hunter orange, as described 
above, while transporting the decoy into and out of 
the woods and fields. During the Six-day Firearm 
Season, it is recommended that bowhunters wear 
hunter orange. 

Injured or Orphaned Wildlife
If you encounter injured or orphaned wildlife, 
contact a wildlife rehabilitator. For more informa-
tion visit our website at NJFishandWildlife.com/
bornwild.htm.

Landowner Liability Act
(Excerpted from N.J.S.A. 2A:42A-2 et seq.) a. An 
owner…of a premises, whether or not posted and 
whether or not improved or maintained in a natural 
condition, or used as part of a commercial enter-
prise, owes no duty to keep the premises safe for 
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General Hunting
REGUL ATIONS

entry or use by others for sport and recreational 
activities, or to give warning of any hazardous con-
dition of the land or in connection with the use of 
any structure or by reason of any activity on such 
premises to persons entering for such purposes; b. 
An owner of a premises who gives permission to 
another to enter upon such premises for a sport or 
recreational activity or purpose does not thereby (1) 
extend any assurance that the premises are safe for 
such purpose, or (2) constitute the person to whom 
permission is granted an invitee to whom a duty of 
care is owed, or (3) assume responsibility for or incur 
liability for any injury to person or property caused 
by any act of persons to whom the permission is 
granted. Note: A landowner’s liability changes 
if a fee is charged (or other consideration) or if 
there is a “willful or malicious failure” to warn of 
a dangerous condition on the property.

Possession of Certain 
Wildlife by Persons, 
Taxidermists & Butchers
No person shall have in possession a deer, bear, 
migratory game birds or turkey that they did not 
kill unless it has a label bearing the name, address, 
telephone number, license and permit numbers of 
the person who killed the deer, bear, migratory game 
bird or turkey. Those in the business of processing 
deer, bear or turkey (that is butchers, taxidermists, 
etc.) shall keep a ledger of all of their customers. 

Each customer’s name, current address, day and 
evening telephone numbers, Conservation ID Num-
ber and possession seal number of any black bear 
or turkey, or Confirmation Numbers, gender and 
age (fawn or adult) for deer being processed shall 
be included in the ledger. The ledger shall be made 
available for inspection upon request during the 
hours of 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. by any law enforcement offi-
cer or employee of the Division of Fish and Wildlife.

Possession of naturally shed deer antlers is legal. 
Parts of deer possessed, other than shed antlers, 
must be from lawfully harvested deer. Proof of law-
ful harvest (Confirmation Number or seal) should 
be retained for verification. Road killed deer with a 
permit are intended only for consumption; antler 
possession from these deer is not legal. 

Protected Wildlife
It is illegal to capture, kill, injure or have in posses-
sion any wild bird other than a game bird. The sale 
of wild birds or game animals or parts thereof is 
prohibited except as described in N.J.S.A. 23:4-27. 
For more specific information, refer to our website, 
NJFishandWildlife.com. See also Sale of Wildlife, 
this page.

No one may rob a bird’s nest.
All nongame mammals, reptiles, birds and 

amphibians are protected. Penalties for taking 
these species range from $250–$5,000.

There is no open season on bobcat or fisher. It is 
illegal to kill or attempt to kill a bobcat or fisher 
in New Jersey. For more information about bob-
cat (including incidentally trapped) and fisher, see 

page 63. Bobcat pelts from animals legally har-
vested in other states may be possessed or sold 
provided a CITES tag from the state of harvest 
is attached. Fishers legally harvested in other 
states may be possessed or sold.

See also Possession of Certain Wildlife, above.

Property Damage
Hunters must not hunt in unharvested crops unless 
first obtaining permission from the owner. Any-
one causing damage to cultivated crops, orchards, 
fences, buildings or livestock may be arrested with-
out warrant by the owner, occupant, lessee, or any 
officer of the law. Violators are liable for a fine of 
up to $2,000 and restitution to the property owner 
in addition to the loss of hunting privileges for a 
period of five years.

Public Land Hunting
For public land hunting, refer to pages 70, 82 
and 83.

Sale of Wildlife
The sale of wild birds and game animals, or parts 
thereof, is prohibited in New Jersey with the fol-
lowing exceptions: legally trapped furbearers may 
be sold plus the sale of white-tailed deer hides, tails 
and the lower portion of the legs is legal. See also 
Closed Seasons, page 24. Questions should be 
directed to a regional Fish and Wildlife law enforce-
ment office; see page 39.

Regulations in red are new this year.

Edible portions do not include meat from the head or neck; meat that has been damaged by the method of taking; bones, sinew, and meat reasonably lost 
as a result of butchering, boning, or close trimming of bones, or viscera. Edible portions do not include meat from diseased or scavenged carcasses. See 
Wanton Waste of Game, page 27.

For white-tailed deer  
and black bear:
• Front quarters as far as the distal joint of the 

radius-ulna (knee)

• Hind quarters as far as the distal joint of the 
tibia-fibula (hock) 

• Backstrap/tenderloin — the meat along the 
backbone, between the front and hind 
quarters

For rabbit and squirrel:
• Front shoulders 

• Thighs 

• Backstrap

For game birds such  
as turkey:
• breast, legs and thighs 

For game birds other 
than turkey:
• breast

breast, legs and thighs

than turkey:
• breast

Edible Portions Guide
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• Carrying a loaded firearm within 450 feet, 
or a nocked arrow within 150 feet of a 
building or within 450 feet of any school 
playground (whether or not occupied) is 
prohibited, except the owner or lessee of a 
building and persons specifically authorized 
by him in writing may hunt with a firearm 
within 450 feet or a bow within 150 feet of 
the building. Note: persons authorized to 
hunt with a firearm within 450 feet or with a 
bow and arrow within 150 feet of a building 
must be in possession of that written per-
mission while hunting. (See page 83 for 
diagram with complete safety zone explana-
tion. See also Safety Zone, this page.)

• Discharging a firearm or a bow and arrow 
on or across highways or roads. 

•  Discharging a firearm or a bow and arrow 
from a motor vehicle, including ATVs.

• Sights which project a spot or light onto 
the game animal.

• Hunting for or shooting any wildlife by aid of 
a light, except when hunting raccoon, opos-
sum while on foot or when hunting coyote/
fox during the special coyote/fox season.

• Hunting or shooting with the aid of a light 
attached to or carried in a vehicle.

• On national wildlife refuges, the distribu-
tion of bait and/or hunting over bait. Also, 
no Sunday hunting on these lands.

•  Hunting with arrows, darts or any other 
device propelled by any means that is used 
for the purpose of injecting or delivering 
any type of drug into an animal.

• Possessing a loaded firearm in or on a 
motor vehicle, including all-terrain vehicles 
(ATVs). Possession of a loaded firearm in 
or upon a vehicle is considered proof of 
pursuing or taking of wildlife.

•  Transporting an uncased firearm in or on a 
motor vehicle or ATV or transporting a cocked 
crossbow in or on a motor vehicle or ATV.

•  Shooting into a squirrel’s nest.

• The removal of the skin or feathers or 
mutilation of any wild bird or mammal in 
the woods or fields for the purpose of con-
cealing sex or identity is illegal.

In the Delaware Water Gap National  
Recreation Area, the following apply:

•  Baiting is prohibited.

• No permanent tree stands or screw-in 
steps are permitted.

•  You cannot possess a loaded firearm while 
on any publicly traveled roadway within 
the area.

• Trapping is prohibited.

• No Sunday bowhunting.

Specifically Prohibited

General Hunting
REGUL ATIONS

Safety Zones
No firearm hunter may carry a loaded firearm or 
hunt within 450 feet of a building or any school 
playground, even if unoccupied, except the owner or 
lessee of a building, and persons specifically autho-
rized by him in writing. No bowhunter may carry a 
nocked arrow or hunt within 150 feet of a building 
or within 450 feet of any school playground, even if 
unoccupied, except the owner or lessee of a building, 
and persons specifically authorized by him in writ-
ing. Persons authorized to bowhunt within 150 feet 
of a building must hunt from an elevated position 
to shoot down toward the ground. Note: persons 
authorized to hunt with a firearm within 450 feet, 
or with bow and arrow within 150 feet of a building 
must be in possession of that written permission 
while hunting. Shooting into a safety zone is pro-
hibited. (See Safety Zone Awareness, page 83, for 
diagram and safety zone explanation.)

Stealing Traps or 
Trapped Animals
(Excerpted from N.J.S.A. 23:4-40) No person shall 
take or unlawfully appropriate, with intent to 
steal, a trap or the property of another, set along, 
by or in any of the public or private ditches, 
streams, ponds or waters in this state for the pur-
pose of catching furbearing animals, or remove 
an animal from the trap of another person. 

Sunday Hunting
No person may hunt with firearms or any other 
weapon or carry a gun in the woods or fields or on 
the waters on Sunday except on semi-wild and com-
mercial shooting preserve lands for the purpose of 
shooting stocked game; and when using a .22 rifle 
for dispatching trapped animals.

NOTE: Sunday bowhunting for deer is legal 
only on state wildlife management areas and 
private property. 

Persons are allowed to hunt raccoon or opossum 
between midnight on Saturday (the day's begin-
ning) and one hour before sunrise on Sunday during 
the prescribed season.

Trespass Law
Hunters and trappers must have permission (oral 
or written) from the landowner or lessee prior to 
entering either posted lands or agricultural lands 
(which are not required to be posted.) Hunters 
also must obtain permission to enter posted land 
and agricultural land to recover deer. Hunters and 
trappers may not enter unposted land after having 
been forbidden to trespass by the owner, lessee or 
occupant either by verbal notice or when the land 
has been conspicuously posted with intervisible 
signs displayed not fewer than ten to a mile along 
the exterior boundaries and at all roads, trails and 
rights-of-way entering such land.

If a hunter or trapper is charged with trespass, 
they must provide documentation of written per-
mission in court for their defense. See page 71 
for the Hunt SMART Courtesy Card.

Wanton Waste of Game
It is unlawful for any person who kills or wounds 
any white-tailed deer, black bear, wild turkey, rabbit, 
squirrel, pheasant, quail, partridge, ruffed grouse or 
waterfowl while engaged in any hunting to refuse 
or neglect to make a reasonable effort to retrieve, 
retain or lawfully take into possession such game 
animal or bird. 

It is unlawful for any person to take, kill, or cap-
ture any game mammal or game bird and remove 
from the carcass the head, hide or antlers and leave 
the edible portions of the carcass and meat to waste 
except for a furbearer, crow or woodchuck. See 
Edible Portions Guide on page 26.

It is unlawful for any person to place, leave, dump or 
abandon a game mammal, game bird or wildlife car-
cass or parts of it along or upon a public right-of-way 
or highway, or on public or private property, including 
a waterway or stream, without the permission of the 
owner or tenant, or on any wildlife management area 
or state park. Make every effort to retrieve your game, 
remove the animal from the field—except entrails 
may be left discretely in the field—consume the 
edible portions and properly dispose of the remains 
such as bagged in your household trash.

Wildlife Damage Control
Property owners and occupants of dwellings, or 
their agents designated in writing, suffering dam-
age from squirrel, raccoon, opossum, skunk, weasel, 
woodchuck, gray fox, red fox and coyote may con-
trol these animals by lawful procedures at any time 
subject to state law and local ordinances. Farmers 
or their agents may also control the above species by 
lawful procedures when found destroying livestock, 
crops or poultry at any time subject to state and 
local ordinances. 

Note: Persons who kill a coyote must notify a 
Fish and Wildlife Regional Law Enforcement 
Office within 24 hours.

Youth Hunting
A youth hunter means the possessor of a youth 
hunting license—or the immediate family member 
of a qualified occupant farmer—who is at least 10 
years of age. Youth hunter status continues until 
Dec. 31 of the year in which the youth turns 16. For 
youth hunters from 10 through 13 years of age, they 
MUST hunt under the direct supervision of a per-
son who is at least 21 years old and who has a valid 
firearm or bow and arrow license corresponding to 
the season hunted. Direct supervision is defined 
as both the youth hunter and parent/guardian set 
up together at the same location, hunting as a unit, 
not hunting independently. See also Youth Licenses, 
page 10. Youth licenses are issued free to youths 
ages 10–15 upon completion of a hunter or trapper 
education course. Youth hunters who pre-registered 
for and successfully complete a hunter education 
course will receive their youth hunting license at the 
course. See Hunter and Trapper Education Require-
ments, page  8 and Youth Licenses, page 10. 
Be sure to visit the Take a Kid Hunting section 
and special youth hunt days, pages 22–23. 
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Farmer Hunting and Permit Information
FARMER REGUL ATIONS

Farmer License Exemption 
All farmers hunting deer must have a Conserva-
tion Identification number (CID#). Farmers who 
already receive free farmer deer or turkey per-
mits, and farmers who have purchased a hunting 
license/permit and/or freshwater fishing license 
since 2006 already have an assigned, permanent 
CID#. A CID# is required to utilize Fish and 
Wildlife’s Automated Harvest Report System. 
Farmers who are exempt from the license require-
ment and hunt only during non-permit seasons 
still must obtain a CID# in order to report their 
harvested deer. Register for a free CID# online 
at www.NJ.WildlifeLicense.com. No purchase 
is required but you must create a profile in the 
online license sales site. From our homepage at 
NJFishandWildlife.com, click ‘Buy your licenses 
and permits’ and follow the instructions to cre-
ate a profile. There will be options to purchase a 
license, apply for permits or print an identification 
card. Choose ‘Print an Identification Card.’ A 
card will print with your 9-digit CID#. 

All Farmer Deer Hunters: Before going hunt-
ing, be sure to go to Fish and Wildlife’s website 
(NJFishandWildlife.com/ahrs.htm) and write 
down the DMZ, county, township and Deer Man-
agement Unit of your hunt location prior to har-
vesting a deer! Record this info on your license, per-
mit or the Deer Harvest Report Card (page 29) 
to have accessible for when you report your deer 
and to record your assigned Confirmation Num-
ber. When reporting a deer harvest on your farm 
property, farmers do not need a Harvest Number 
during the non-permit deer seasons. To report a 
deer call (855) I HUNT NJ or (855) 448-6865 
or online at www.NJ.WildlifeLicense.com. See 
page 34 for additional reporting information.

A farmer and members of the immediate family (see 
definition below) who also reside on the farm may 
hunt, trap and fish on the farm without being licensed 
or possessing a valid rifle permit. (See page 29 for 
a cut-out Harvest Report Card.) All hunting, fishing 
and trapping must be conducted in the manner pro-
vided by law during the prescribed seasons. A farm 
is defined as an area of at least five acres and having 
gross income of at least $500, and tax assessed as 
farmland. This exemption does not apply to a tenant 
or employee who is not an immediate family member.

Immediate Family: For the purpose of farmers 
hunting and trapping, “immediate family” includes 
the spouse, mother, father, child, grandchild, step-
child, stepparent, legal guardian, mother-in-law, 
father-in-law, son-in-law, daughter-in-law, grand-
parent, great grandparent, brother, sister, stepsis-
ter, stepbrother, brother-in-law and sister-in-law 
of the farm owner or lessee who resides thereon. 

Farmer Regulations
The occupant of a farm may allow his or her dog 
to run at large on land he or she occupies, except 
during the firearm deer seasons.

Farmers and their lessees occupying or farming 
their land, members of their immediate family (see 

definition above), or their farming employees may 
kill crows, woodchuck and fox on farm property at 
any time when found destroying livestock or crops. 
However, they must use legal firearms, ammunition 
and other lawful procedures. See also Wildlife Dam-
age Control, page 27. See also General Regulations, 
page 24.

Farmers must possess the appropriate permit to 
legally hunt the farm during any hunting or trap-
ping season which requires a permit. Permits are 
provided free to all qualified farmers for the follow-
ing seasons: Permit Bow, Permit Muzzleloader and 
Permit Shotgun deer seasons plus the spring and fall 
Turkey Permit seasons and the Black Bear Season.

Sunday bowhunting for deer is legal only on state 
wildlife management areas and private property. 

Farmers may trap fox destroying poultry, crops or 
property at any time, subject to state law and local 
ordinances. Farmers or their agents may shoot or 
trap coyotes by lawful procedures at any time when 
found destroying livestock or crops. A regional 
Fish and Wildlife Law Enforcement office must 
be notified within 24 hours of killing a coyote. 
See Telephone Directory page 88.

Permits for Farmers 
Fish and Wildlife reviews the Farmer Permit data-
base periodically to ensure compliance. Our Bureau 
of Law Enforcement will contact you if additional 
information is required during the re-evaluation pro-
cess. Farmer status will be inactivated and farmers 
notified if the information on file is no longer accurate. 

New farmers must submit an application to 
obtain free turkey, deer and/or bear permits. 
Applications are available on our website at 
NJFishandWildlife.com/farmer.htm under Farmer 
Certification Application for Deer and Turkey Permits. 
Print out both pages and use the instruction sheet 
to fill out the application. 

Applications are also available at your local county 
agricultural extension office.

The preferred application period for farmers is 
June 1–August 1.

Once approved, farmers may claim their farmer 
permits by going to any license agent. The dates 
when permits will become available are listed below.

Farmer Deer Permits
• Farmers may claim deer permits beginning 

MONDAY, Sept. 12, 2016 at 10 a.m. at any 
license agent.

• Approved farmers are eligible for one free bow, 
shotgun and muzzleloader permit and one free 
Antlered Buck Permit for each of the three permit 
seasons. See Farmer License Exemption, above. See 
also Farmer Regulations, above.

• Two types of farmer permits—occupant and non-
occupant farmer—allow the applicant to decide 
for which permit it is easiest to qualify; see below. 
Farmers who must change the occupancy status 
for their deer permit should call (609) 292-1473. 

• Only a qualified farmer and members of the 
immediate family (see definition on this page) 
who reside on the farm, are eligible to apply for 
occupant and non-occupant farmer deer permits. 

• Farmers may also apply for (or purchase at any 

license agent) regular deer permits in addition to 
the free farmer permits. See Deer Season Permits, 
page 16.

• Farmers are eligible for a Farmer Buck Permit 
which are limited to only one per person per 
season. If a farmer claims their FARMER Buck 
Permit they cannot purchase an Antlered Buck 
Permit. Likewise, if a farmer first purchases an 
Antlered Buck Permit, the farmer cannot claim a 
Farmer Buck Permit. The Antlered Buck Permit 
is valid for any zone in which the farmer has an 
antlerless permit for the season.

Occupant Farmer Deer Permits
• Applicants must be the owner, lessee or members 

of the immediate family (see definition on this 
page) who actually reside on the farm property.

• Land must be at least five acres, tax-assessed as 
farmland.

• Occupant permits are valid only on the farm 
property where the applicant resides.

Non-Occupant Farmer Deer Permits
• Applicants are not required to live on the farm 

property.
• Farmer(s) and members of their immediate family 

(see definition on this page) may qualify, up to a 
total of five people.

• Must actively till at least 30 acres of land which 
is tax-assessed as farmland.

• Woodlots do not qualify.
• To apply for hunting leased farmland, a copy of 

all leases authorizing the agricultural and hunting 
uses of the land must be attached to the application.

• Non-occupant permits are valid only on private 
land within the deer management zone designated 
on the permit and are not valid on public lands 
within that zone. 

• An applicant who lives on a farm and actively tills 
at least 30 acres may apply either as an occupant 
or a non-occupant.

Farmer Turkey Permits
Farmers may claim fall season turkey permits 
beginning MONDAY, September 12, 2016 at 
10 a.m. at any license agent. Farmer Turkey Per-
mits are only for Occupant Farmers. Fall Turkey 
Season is now open in all Turkey Hunting Areas. 
Farmers may claim spring season turkey permits 
beginning MONDAY, April 3, 2017 at 10:00 a.m. 
If you experience a problem obtaining the fall per-
mit at a license agent, call (609) 292-1473.

Farmer turkey permits are available only to the 
farmer and immediate family who reside on the farm. 
See definition of “immediate family” on this page.

Farmers may also apply for (or purchase at any 
license agent) regular turkey permits in addition 
to the free farmer permits. See the turkey permit 
supplement, distributed each January or on our 
website for details.

Farmer Bear Permits
Only the owner or lessee of a farm, who resides 
thereon, or members of his immediate family 10 
years of age or older who also reside thereon, may 
apply on forms provided for a special farmer black 
bear permit. See definition of “immediate family” 

Regulations in red are new this year.
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Deer Harvest Report Cards
REGUL ATIONS

on page 28. Under this section a farm is an area 
of five acres or more, producing a gross income in 
excess of $500 and is tax assessed as farmland. 
Special farmer black bear permits will be issued 
only in those Black Bear Management Zones where 
a season is prescribed.

Farmers who applied for a farmer black bear 
permit in the past, do not need to re-apply this 
year provided that their information and farm 
situation has not changed. New farmers and those 
who did not apply in the past must submit an 
application. These will be reviewed and approved 
by Law Enforcement.

Application forms may be obtained from Fish 
and Wildlife’s website or at county agricultural 
extension offices.

Include on the application your Conservation ID 
Number; fill in the entire form. Properly completed 
applications will be accepted in the Trenton office 
no later than September 1. There is no fee; all 
qualified applicants will receive a Special Farmer 
Black Bear Permit via mail for the 2016 black bear 
season which will be valid for both segments. How-
ever, the bag limit remains at one bear.

Submit only one farmer application per individual 
during the initial application period. Application 
for a farmer black bear permit shall not preclude 
a farmer (as a holder of a valid hunting license) 
from applying for—and Fish and Wildlife issu-
ing—regular black bear season permit(s). 

Special Farmer Black Bear Permits will NOT 
be issued via the electronic license system for the 
2016 Black Bear Season. Permits will be mailed to 
qualified farmers only after receiving valid applica-
tions approved by Fish and Wildlife’s Bureau of 
Law Enforcement. 

Deer Harvest Report Card
All hunters may use this card to fulfill tagging requirements upon 
recovering their deer. Confirmation # required if continuing to hunt where bag limit 
has not been reached, except those DMZs where two deer at a time may be taken. 

Youth & Farmers: Record your deer harvest information here prior to using the 
Automated Harvest Report System via phone or the Internet for deer taken during 
the Fall Bow, Six-day Firearm, Winter Bow or Youth Hunt Day seasons when there 
is no license tag on which to record youth or farmer harvest data. To report your 
deer, call (855) I HUNT NJ or (855) 448-6865 or NJFishandWildlife.com/ahrs.htm.

Name CID#

Hunting Season Date Deer Killed

County Deer Mgt Zone

Township Deer Mgt Unit*

* Find this number through DFW’s website link shown above prior to hunting.

Check only one white box:

Antlerless Antlered Antler Points

Female Male > 3 in Left

Male <3 in Shed Right

Button Buck Broken

Confirmation Number:

Deer Harvest Report Card
All hunters may use this card to fulfill tagging requirements upon 
recovering their deer. Confirmation # required if continuing to hunt where bag limit 
has not been reached, except those DMZs where two deer at a time may be taken. 

Youth & Farmers: Record your deer harvest information here prior to using the 
Automated Harvest Report System via phone or the Internet for deer taken during 
the Fall Bow, Six-day Firearm, Winter Bow or Youth Hunt Day seasons when there 
is no license tag on which to record youth or farmer harvest data. To report your 
deer, call (855) I HUNT NJ or (855) 448-6865 or NJFishandWildlife.com/ahrs.htm.

Name CID#

Hunting Season Date Deer Killed

County Deer Mgt Zone

Township Deer Mgt Unit*

* Find this number through DFW’s website link shown above prior to hunting.

Check only one white box:

Antlerless Antlered Antler Points

Female Male > 3 in Left

Male <3 in Shed Right

Button Buck Broken

Confirmation Number:

Deer Harvest Report Card
All hunters may use this card to fulfill tagging requirements upon 
recovering their deer. Confirmation # required if continuing to hunt where bag limit 
has not been reached, except those DMZs where two deer at a time may be taken. 

Youth & Farmers: Record your deer harvest information here prior to using the 
Automated Harvest Report System via phone or the Internet for deer taken during 
the Fall Bow, Six-day Firearm, Winter Bow or Youth Hunt Day seasons when there 
is no license tag on which to record youth or farmer harvest data. To report your 
deer, call (855) I HUNT NJ or (855) 448-6865 or NJFishandWildlife.com/ahrs.htm.

Name CID#

Hunting Season Date Deer Killed

County Deer Mgt Zone

Township Deer Mgt Unit*

* Find this number through DFW’s website link shown above prior to hunting.

Check only one white box:

Antlerless Antlered Antler Points

Female Male > 3 in Left

Male <3 in Shed Right

Button Buck Broken

Confirmation Number:

Deer Harvest Report Card
All hunters may use this card to fulfill tagging requirements upon 
recovering their deer. Confirmation # required if continuing to hunt where bag limit 
has not been reached, except those DMZs where two deer at a time may be taken. 

Youth & Farmers: Record your deer harvest information here prior to using the 
Automated Harvest Report System via phone or the Internet for deer taken during 
the Fall Bow, Six-day Firearm, Winter Bow or Youth Hunt Day seasons when there 
is no license tag on which to record youth or farmer harvest data. To report your 
deer, call (855) I HUNT NJ or (855) 448-6865 or NJFishandWildlife.com/ahrs.htm.

Name CID#

Hunting Season Date Deer Killed

County Deer Mgt Zone

Township Deer Mgt Unit*

* Find this number through DFW’s website link shown above prior to hunting.

Check only one white box:

Antlerless Antlered Antler Points

Female Male > 3 in Left

Male <3 in Shed Right

Button Buck Broken

Confirmation Number:
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and keep it accessible while in the field for when you 
must report your deer harvest.

Key Concepts and Definitions
• Antlered deer is defined as any deer with at 

least one antler measuring at least three inches 
in length as defined below.

• Antler length is defined as the maximum length 
of a deer antler measured from the lowest outside 
edge of the antler burr along the outer curve to 
the most distant point of what is or appears to be 
the main antler beam. For the purposes of this 
definition, the antler length does not include the 
pedicel or portion of skull between the skull plate 
and base of the antler point.

• Antler point is defined as any point at least one 
inch long from its tip to its base line, and the 
length must exceed the width at some location 
at least one inch down from the tip.

• Antlerless deer is defined as any deer that does 
not have an antler length measuring at least three 
inches. For the purposes of this definition, adult 
male deer that have shed their antlers, button 
bucks and adult males with antlers less than three 
inches are considered antlerless deer.

• Antlered Buck Muzzleloader Permit, Antlered 
Buck Shotgun Permit or Antlered Buck Bow 
Permit refers to the antlered buck permits avail-
able for purchase which are valid only when used in 
conjunction with the antlerless, zone-specific deer 
season permit. The antlered buck permits contain 
an antlered deer Harvest Report (formerly called 
a transportation tag) and allows for the pursuit 
and harvest of an antlered deer only.

• Antler Point Restriction zones include Zones 
3, 9, 13, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 34, 35, 47, 63 and 67. 
The harvest of antlered deer from these zones 
during any open season is restricted to deer with 
at least one antler having a minimum of three 
antler points as defined above. The goal of the 
antler point restriction strategy, as part of Quality 

Confirmation Number, like the metal seal, must be 
kept with the deer and its parts. 

Note: Only one deer at a time may be taken dur-
ing any permit season even if you possess both an 
antlered and antlerless permit, except in those 
zones in Regulation Sets 6, 7 and 8 where two deer 
at a time may be harvested during the Fall Bow, 
Permit Bow, Permit Shotgun, Permit Muzzle-
loader and Winter Bow seasons.

NOTE: Sunday bowhunting for deer is legal 
only on state wildlife management areas and 
private property. 

Feral Hogs
With the ongoing presence of feral hogs in the 
Gloucester County area, New Jersey Division 
of Fish and Wildlife will allow deer hunters in 
Deer Management Zones 25 and 65 to hunt feral 
hogs during the regular deer seasons. Feral hogs 
must be checked. Hunters who harvest a feral hog 
must call (609) 748-2044 to schedule a time to 
check in the hog. 

Deer Management  
Zone Boundaries
Deer management zone (DMZ) 
boundary descriptions are now 
available by scanning this QR 
code with your mobile device 
or by visiting our website at 
NJFishandWildlife.com/pdf/
deerzones.pdf. Review the map on page 40 for 
general DMZ borders and the Regulation Set color-
coding scheme. 

For quicker results, use the Deer Hunting Loca-
tion Viewer at NJFishandWildlife.com/ahrs.htm 
with simple instructions above the viewer’s map 
to determine the deer management zone (zone), 
county, township and deer management unit (unit) 
where you hunt. Write down all of this information 

Deer Hunting
REGUL ATIONS

Regulations in red are new this year.

Legal Deer Hunting Hours: half hour before 
sunrise to half hour after sunset

ONLY ONE ANTLERED DEER may be taken per 
season statewide regardless of the number of ant-
lered buck permits in possession, except two deer 
may be taken at a time during the Six-Day Fire-
arm Season. To be legal, all deer harvested must 
be reported using Fish and Wildlife’s Automated 
Harvest Report System (see page 34), either 
online or by telephone. Hunters will be assigned a 
Confirmation Number in place of the metal posses-
sion seal formerly provided at check stations. This 

Report sightings, 
rooting evidence or 
other damage caused 
by feral hogs!
USDA APHIS Wildlife Services at 
(908) 735-5654 x 2

Deer hunters must report the harvest of 
feral hogs to New Jersey Division of Fish 
and Wildlife at (609) 748-2044.

For more information on  
Feral Hogs in New Jersey, 
visit our website by scanning 
this code or go to NJFishand-
Wildlife.com/qr/hogs.htm.

Feral Hogs

Dec. 5–10, 2016 and Dec. 4–9, 2017 
(Season always opens the second  

Monday after Thanksgiving.)

Six-day Firearm 
Deer Season
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Deer Management, is to reduce harvest pressure 
on the 1½ year-old antlered deer in the expecta-
tion that they will survive to produce larger antlers 
as older animals.

• Special Areas Deer Management zones include 
Zones 37, 38, 39, 53, 54, 56, 57, 58, 61, 64, 66, 
67, 68 and 70. They are generally small, publicly-
owned properties administered by county, federal 
or state agencies (other than Fish and Wildlife) 
where deer season dates, bag limits or regulations 
differ from those of the surrounding deer manage-
ment zone. See page 42 for details.

• Youth Hunter status applies to the possessor of 
a valid Youth Hunting License (or the immediate 
member of a qualified occupant farmer who is at 
least 10 years of age) and continues until Dec. 31 
of the year in which he or she turns 16 years of age. 
The Youth Bow Deer Hunt Day is Saturday, 
Sept. 24, 2016. The Youth Firearm Deer Hunt 
Day is Saturday, Nov. 19, 2016. The bag limit 
for youth hunters on this day is one deer of either 
sex. Antler Point Restrictions and Earn-A-Buck 
requirements do not apply for deer taken on this 
day by youth hunters. See page 22 for details. 
See page 29 for a cut-out Harvest Report Card.

Licenses and Permits 
• See License, Permits and Stamps, page 8, for 

details and for Hunter Education requirements.

• Additional hunting licenses may not be purchased 
in order to harvest additional deer.

• Although hunters may purchase multiple deer 
permits, they are limited to only one zone-
specific ANTLERLESS permit per zone dur-
ing each of the permit seasons. For example, a 
hunter may buy an ANTLERLESS muzzleloader 
permit for each of Zones 18, 21 and 24. A hunter 
may purchase a bow permit, a muzzleloader per-
mit and a shotgun permit for Zone 24; however, 
they may not purchase two ANTLERLESS 
bow permits (nor two shotgun permits nor two 
muzzleloader permits) for Zone 24. 

• It is unlawful to use a bow and arrow for hunting 
deer while using a firearm license (except during 
the Six-day Firearm Season) and unlawful while 
using a shotgun or muzzleloader deer permit. A 
bow and arrow license and permit (when required) 
must be in possession using this hunting equip-
ment. In addition, during the overlapping Six-day 
Firearm Season, bowhunters with a valid Permit 
Bow Season zone permit in those zones governed 
by Regulation Sets 4–8 may continue to hunt 
using their bow and arrow license and must reg-
ister their harvest with their zone permit Harvest 
Report Number. Hunters without a Permit Bow 
Season zone permit who want to use a bow during 
the Six-day Firearm Season MUST also possess 
a valid Firearms Hunting License and register 
their harvest using Harvest Report Number on 
their firearm license.

• The zone-specific Bow, Muzzleloader and Shot-
gun Permits are valid ONLY for the pursuit and 
harvest of ANTLERLESS deer. Hunters who 
want to pursue and take an antlered deer during 
any of these seasons must purchase an Antlered 
Buck Bow, Antlered Buck Muzzleloader or Ant-
lered Buck Shotgun Permit. Hunters may purchase 
only one Antlered Buck Permit per season. An 
Antlered Buck Permit must be used in conjunction 
with zone-specific antlerless permit. The Antlered 
Buck Permit is not zone-specific; it is valid for use 
in any zone for which the hunter already holds a 
zone-specific antlerless season permit, but only one 
buck may be harvested per season. Adult deer per-
mits are $28; youth deer permits are $12. 

Antlered Buck Permits must be pur-
chased by 11:59 p.m. on the following 
dates: Oct. 29 for Permit Bow; Nov. 28 
for Permit Muzzleloader and Dec. 14 for 
Permit Shotgun seasons, UNLESS you are 
buying your first zone-specific antlerless per-
mit AND an Antlered Buck Permit at the same 
time after these dates. See Antlered Buck 
Permit Deadline! page 16.

Antlered Buck 
Permit Deadline!

Deer Hunting
REGUL ATIONS

CARTON LAW FIRM

Manasquan, NJ • 732-223-1800
SERVING CENTRAL NEW JERSEY

Auto Accidents
Personal Injury
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Deer Hunting
REGUL ATIONS

Firearms, Ammunition 
and Sights
• See chart below and page 24 for general hunt-

ing regulations which also apply to deer hunting.
• All firearms must be cased and unloaded while 

being transported in vehicles, including on all-
terrain vehicles. A muzzleloader is considered 
unloaded when, in the case of a percussion cap rifle 
or shotgun, the percussion cap has been removed 
from the nipple; in the case of a flintlock, when 
the powder is removed from the pan and a boot 
or cover made of nonmetallic material is placed 
over the frizzen.

• Hunters using or possessing any shotgun slug 
in the field during the deer seasons must have a 

shotgun with adjustable open iron or peep sights 
or a scope affixed to the shotgun.

• Telescopic sights of any magnification (scope 
power) are permitted for deer hunting on all fire-
arms, including muzzleloader rifles and smooth-
bore muzzleloader shotguns. No permits are 
required for telescopic sights.

• Any sight or device that casts a beam of light upon 
the deer is prohibited.

• Shotgun shells containing single spherical projec-
tiles referred to as pumpkin balls are prohibited.

• While deer hunting with a shotgun, it is illegal 
to have in possession any ammunition not autho-
rized for deer hunting.

• When hunting during the overlapping firearms 
seasons for deer and when in possession of the 
proper permits for the current seasons, hunt-
ers may carry the firearms legal for the current 

seasons. For example, when Six-day Firearm and 
Permit Muzzleloader seasons run concurrently, a 
hunter may be in possession of a shotgun and either 
a muzzleloading rifle or smoothbore muzzleloader. 

• Double-barreled muzzleloading rifles are not 
permitted during the Six-day Firearm or Permit 
Muzzleloader seasons. 

• Only one muzzleloading rifle or smoothbore 
muzzleloader may be in possession while deer 
hunting, but not both simultaneously. 

• Only black powder or black powder equivalents, 
such as Pyrodex and Triple Se7en, may be used 
with a muzzleloading firearm when engaged in 
hunting. Modern smokeless powder is strictly 
prohibited while hunting game with a muzzle-
loading firearm. 

• Special Areas Deer Management Zones may 
have regulations that differ from the statewide 
regulations. See page 42 for details. 

Ground Blinds
All firearm and bow and arrow deer hunters utiliz-
ing a ground blind when a firearm deer season is 
concurrently open must display 200 square inches 
of hunter orange atop the blind and visible from 
all sides or within five feet outside the blind and 
higher than the blind or at least three feet off the 
ground, whichever is higher. During these concur-
rent seasons, bowhunters in treestands also should 
consider wearing hunter orange. 

A “ground blind” is defined as a temporary, man-
made structure used for the purpose of concealing 
from sight a person who is hunting. A ground blind 
is not a naturally occurring feature that a hunter 
merely uses for concealment.

Baiting
Baiting is allowed for deer hunting. Hunters may 
hunt for deer while in a tree, on the ground or in 
a structure and from any height and any distance 
from the bait pile. Hunters should check with the 
landowner or administrative agency before placing 
bait on their hunting area as baiting is not allowed 
on properties such as national wildlife refuges.

Decoys and  
Electronic Devices
• Persons may hunt with the aid of deer decoys 

statewide in those zones open for deer hunting 
only during the Fall Bow, Permit Bow and Win-
ter Bow seasons. When carrying or moving deer 
decoys for the purpose of hunting, persons must 
wear a fluorescent orange hat or outer garment 
consisting of at least 200 square inches of fluores-
cent orange material, which shall be visible from all 
sides as currently required for firearm deer hunting.

• It is unlawful to hunt for deer with the aid of an 
electronic calling device or any device that casts 
a beam of light upon the deer.

Bag Limits
• For all seasons except Six-day Firearm, properly 

licensed and permitted hunters are limited to 

Regulations in red are new this year.

Firearms, Bows and Ammunition Legal for Deer Hunting

Season(s) Weapon Type
Gauge, Caliber or 

Draw Weight
Projectile(s)

Firearm sights; 
Bow releases
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Bow: long, recurve, 

 compound or crossbow.

35 pounds pull at archer’s 

draw length (long and 

recurve bows) or peak 

weight (compound bow) or 

75 pounds minimum draw 

weight (crossbow)

Arrows must be  fitted with 

a well-sharpened metal 

broadhead with a mini-

mum width of ¾"

Handheld release 

devices are  permitted

P
e
rm

it
 

M
u

zz
le

lo
a

d
e
r

Muzzleloader: rifle or 

smoothbore,  single-barrel, 

 single-shot. Flintlock, 

 percussion and in-line 

 ignitions permitted. 

Electronic ignitions are 

not legal. Double-barrel 

firearms  prohibited.

Rifle: not less than .44 

 caliber

Smoothbore: not smaller 

than 20 gauge and not 

larger than 10 gauge

Must be loaded with a 

 single projectile only

Telescopic sights  

 permitted
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Bow: long, recurve, 

 compound or crossbow.

35 pounds pull at archer’s 

draw length (long and 

recurve bows) or peak 

weight (compound bow) or 

75 pounds minimum draw 

weight (crossbow)

Arrows must be  fitted with 

a well-sharpened metal 

broadhead with a mini-

mum width of ¾"

NOTE: bowhunters 

must possess both a 

firearm and a bow and 

arrow license during 

this season.

Shotgun: single or double 

barrel, rifled bore or 

smoothbore

Not smaller than 20 gauge 

and not larger than 10 

gauge, capable of holding 

no more than three shells

Slugs: lead, lead alloy 

or copper rifled slug or 

 sabotted slug

Buck shot: sizes not 

 smaller than #4 (0.24") nor 

larger than #000 (0.36")

Shotgun must have 

an adjustable open 

iron or peep sight or a 

scope affixed if hunter 

is hunting with or in 

 possession of slugs

Muzzleloader: 
 single-shot, single barrel 

rifle OR  single or double-

barrel smoothbore shot-

gun. Flintlock,  percussion 

and   in-line  ignitions per-

mitted. Electronic ignitions 

are not legal.

Muzzleloading rifle: 

single shot not less than 

.44  caliber

Smoothbore: single or 

 double-barrel not smaller 

than 20 gauge and not 

 larger than 10 gauge

Muzzleloading rifle: 

single  projectile

Smoothbore: buck shot 

not smaller than #4 

(0.24") nor larger than 

#000 (0.36") or a single 

projectile

Telescopic sights  

permitted
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Shotgun: single or double 

barrel, rifled bore or 

smoothbor  e

Not smaller than 20 gauge 

and not  larger than 10 

gauge, capable of holding 

no more than three shells

Slugs: lead, lead alloy 

or copper rifled slug or 

sabot slug

Buck shot: sizes not 

 smaller than #4 (0.24") nor 

larger than #000 (0.36")

Shotgun must have 

an adjustable open 

iron or peep sight or a 

scope affixed if hunter 

is hunting with or in 

 possession of slugs

Muzzleloader:  single or 

double-barrel smooth-

bores only (no rifles.) 

Flintlock, percussion and 

  in-line  ignitions permitted

Not smaller than 20 gauge 

and not  larger than 10 

gauge

Buck shot: sizes not 

 smaller than #4 (0.24") 

nor larger than #000 

(0.36") or a single 

projectile

—
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taking one antlered buck per season, regardless 
of the number of antlerless, zone-specific permits 
purchased, when applicable. 

• During fall bow in early season zones, the hunter 
need only harvest one antlerless deer to satisfy the 
antlerless-first requirement and may then harvest 
a buck in any zone where the early season is open.

• Bag limits for the fall bow and winter bow seasons 
are as prescribed for each zone (see Regulation Sets, 
page 36) except that once a hunter has met 
the bag limit in a given regulation set, he or she 
may not harvest additional deer from any zone in 
that regulation set or in one of identical or more 
restrictive bag limits. However, the hunter may 
subsequently hunt in a zone with a more liberal 
(greater) antlerless bag limit as described in the 
regulation sets.

• Bowhunters may take two antlered deer legally 
on a Bow or All-around Sportsman License, 
one antlered deer each during the Fall Bow 
and Winter Bow seasons. Hunters who want 
to pursue and harvest an antlered deer during 
the Permit Bow Season must purchase a buck 
permit valid only when used in conjunction with 
the zone-specific antlerless Bow Permit. For 
permit purchasing deadline, see Deer Season 
Permits, page 16.

• Bowhunters may take antlered deer with their 
bow during the Six-day Firearm season, pro-
vided that they have a current and valid fire-
arm license in addition to an archery license, 
or have an All-around Sportsman License. Bow 
hunters who bag an antlered deer during the 
Six-day Firearm Season with their bow must 
use the Harvest Report for the Six-day season 
from their firearm or All-around Sportsman 
License only. However, during the overlapping 
Six-day Firearm Season, bowhunters with a valid 

Permit Bow Season zone permit in those areas 
governed by Regulation Sets 4–8 may continue 
to hunt using their bow and arrow license and 
must register their harvest with their Permit Bow 
Season zone permit Harvest Report Number.

• Firearm hunters legally may take two antlered deer 
during the Six-day Firearm Season on a firearm or 
All-around Sportsman License. Hunters will be 
assigned a Confirmation Number upon reporting 
their first Six-day Firearm Season buck using the 
new Automated Harvest Report System, allow-
ing the immediate pursuit and harvest of a second 
buck. Hunters who want to harvest an antlered 
deer during the Permit Shotgun or Permit Muz-
zleloader seasons must purchase a buck permit for 
the corresponding season, valid only when used 
in conjunction with the zone-specific antlerless 
Shotgun or Muzzleloader permit. If hunters take 
a second antlered deer during the Six-day Firearm 
Season, their Shotgun Permit Season bag limit is 
then restricted to antlerless deer only. For purchas-
ing deadlines, see Deer Season Permits, page 16.

• Remember, although two antlered bucks may be 
taken during the Six-day Firearm Season, when 
that occurs, the antlered buck bag limit for the 
Permit Shotgun Season is then zero. Hunters 
may choose: take either two antlered bucks dur-
ing Six-day Firearm Season, or one antlered buck 
during Six-day Firearm Season and one antlered 
buck during Permit Shotgun Season (while pos-
sessing an Antlered Buck Permit.) The antlerless 
bag limit for these permit seasons will be one, two 
or unlimited depending on the zone and season. 
See Regulation Sets, page 36.

• Note: Only one deer at a time may be taken 
during any permit season even if you possess 
both an antlered and antlerless permit, except 
in those zones in Regulation Sets 6, 7 and 8 

Deer Love  
New Jersey Apples!

Apples are a favorite feed  
source among New Jersey deer.

Buy direct from the farmer!
For information of local sources of  
New Jersey apple farmers offering  
deer feed, contact: The New Jersey 
Apple Industry Advisory Council at 
(609) 292-8854 (ask for Bill Walker)

www.thehuntersbutcher.com
We’re open 24/7 for self drop off.
Cold storage 24/7.
Standard cutting packages $50 to $120 
You get your deer your way, expert 
care for your trophy deer!  
Skill, experience, and
knowledge of the food 
industry is at your service. 
Packaged the way you want, 
portioned for 1 or more people. 
OPEN FOR THE ENTIRE DEER SEASON 
732-414-1446
967 Adelphia Farmingdale Rd. Adelphia, NJ

Also: 
Sausage Jerky 

Slim Jims

New Jersey has six distinct deer hunting sea-
sons, all of which require a hunting license and 
three that also require a deer permit. 

General Deer Seasons
Three general seasons include the Fall Bow, 
Winter Bow and Six-day Firearm (buck) state-
wide seasons open to any hunter bearing a 
valid license corresponding to the season. Dur-
ing these statewide seasons, hunters are not 
restricted to hunting particular deer manage-
ment zones but still must abide by the specific 
season dates and bag limits regulated on a 
zone-basis. Consult the Regulation Sets begin-
ning on page 36.

For these general seasons, a deer Harvest 
Report is an integral part of every hunting 
license valid for taking deer.

Permit Deer Seasons
Three permit seasons include the Permit Bow, 
Permit Shotgun and Permit Muzzleloader zone-
specific seasons open to any hunter bearing a 

valid license corresponding to the season plus 
an appropriate deer permit (bow, shotgun or 
muzzleloader) for the deer management zone in 
which you are hunting. These deer permits are 
valid only for taking antlerless deer. To harvest 
an antlered buck during any permit season, the 
hunter must purchase a buck permit (one per 
person per season) which is not zone-specific 
but must be used only in a zone for which the 
hunter possesses the antlerless zone permit. 
(See page 31.)

During the Permit Bow Season hunters must 
possess a valid Bow and Arrow or All-around 
Sportsmen license plus a Bow Permit for the 
specific zone being hunted. 

During the Permit Shotgun and Permit 
Muzzleloader seasons  
hunters must possess a valid Firearm or All-
around Sportsmen license plus either a Shotgun 
or Muzzleloader Permit for the specific zone 
being hunted. For the Permit Muzzleloader sea-
son, the hunter must also possess a valid Rifle 
Permit. (See Muzzleloaders page 25.)

Expiration Dates
All licenses (Firearm, Bow and Arrow and 
All-around Sportsmen licenses) are valid for 
the calendar year from January 1 through 
December 31. 

All deer permits (Shotgun, Muzzleloader, Bow 
permits and their respective Buck permits) are 
valid for the duration of the season—even when 
the season crosses into the new year. Numer-
ous deer management zones have seasons 
that begin in November/December and end in 
January/February. 

All Rifle Permits (not the deer season permit) 
are valid for the fiscal year from July 1–June 30.

Find Regulations by Season 
Know the deer management zone where you 
will hunt. Go to the Regulation Sets table on 
page 36. Zones numbers are listed below each 
regulation set column heading. Confirm season 
dates and bag limits according to the chosen 
sporting arm and the corresponding dates. Sev-
eral deer seasons may be open concurrently.

Deer Hunting—General Seasons vs. Permit Seasons
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Cook up a new venison recipe. 
Scan this code or go to  
NJFishandWildlife.com/qr/ 
venison.htm.

Delicious  
Venison Recipes

where two deer at a time may be harvested dur-
ing the Permit Bow, Permit Shotgun and Permit 
Muzzleloader seasons.

• Two deer may be taken at a time in Zones 5, 7, 8, 9, 
10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 17, 19, 25, 36, 39, 41, 42, 48, 49, 
50, 51, 54, 56, 57, 58, 64, and 66 and 68 during the 
Permit Bow, Permit Shotgun and Permit Muzzle-
loader seasons plus Fall and Winter Bow Seasons 
(in those zones open for each of those seasons) until 
the season concludes. See Regulation Sets, page 36.

Mandatory Harvest Report 
and Tag Requirements 
All hunters are required to report harvested deer on 
the day killed using the Automated Harvest Report 
System and now must immediately tag your deer.

Before you go hunting:
1. Before your hunt, verify that you have the 

correct year’s license and proper, valid zone 
permit. This is essential—both to report your 
harvest and to comply with the law!

2. Use the Deer Hunting Location Viewer at 
NJFishandWildlife.com/ahrs.htm with easy 
instructions above the viewer’s map. Use this 
app to determine the deer management zone 
(zone), county, township, and deer manage-
ment unit (unit) where you hunt. Write down 
all this information and keep it accessible while 
in the field for when you need to report a deer.

In the field:
Upon retrieval, the deer is considered to be in 
your possession. The hunter must:
1. Immediately fill out the Harvest Report that 

is part of your license or permit (or a Har-
vest Report card found on page 29) with 
the exception of the Confirmation Number (a 
number automatically assigned by the system 
which replaces the metal possession seal). Leave 
the Harvest Report attached to the license. 
The Harvest Report is not used as a tag. See 
item 2 below for tagging details.

2. Each deer must have a tag affixed to the carcass 
bearing the hunter's CID, both the date and 
zone of harvest, antler points and confirmation 
number, if applicable. Make your own tag or use 
the Deer Harvest Report Card on page 29.

3. Report your harvest via the Automated Har-
vest Reporting System (by phone or Internet 
as printed on every hunting license and permit) 
by 8 p.m. during the Fall Bow Season or by 
7 p.m. for all other seasons. If unable to access 
the Automated Harvest Reporting System by 
the designated time, the deer shall be reported 
immediately by telephone to the nearest Fish 
and Wildlife Law Enforcement office (see page 
39 for Law Enforcement listings). The hunter 
must continue to attempt accessing the Auto-
mated Harvest Report System until they receive 
a Confirmation Number for that deer. 

4. Record your assigned Confirmation Number on 
your Harvest Report or card. Keep this report  
in your license holder – Do not attach to the deer. 
Retain your Confirmation Number as long as the 
deer or its parts are in possession. To report the 
harvest of additional antlerless deer during the 
same season (and zone, if applicable) reuse the 
same Harvest Report Number from that season’s 
antlerless Harvest Report for all other antlerless 
deer taken in this season. Since the license or per-
mit report only has space for two Confirmation 
Numbers, use the Harvest Report Card in this 
Digest (page 29) and on our website, or make 
your own card on which to record your harvest 
data and Confirmation Number for each deer.

NOTE: A hunter may be required to produce the 
head of the deer—or produce records relating 
to the location of the head such as the butcher 
or taxidermist who has possession of the deer’s 
head—upon request by a conservation officer 
within 48 hours after a deer harvest is reported.

Harvest Reports from 2016 permits are valid for 
the entire length of the Permit Bow, Permit Muzzle-
loader and Permit Shotgun seasons, including Janu-
ary and February 2017, if the zone specified on the 
original permit is open for hunting during these dates. 

When regulations allow taking multiple deer, 
hunting may resume after each deer is reported 
and a Confirmation Number assigned.

The online license system, including the Harvest 
Reporting section, is optimized for smartphones 
and other mobile devices. Mobile device users must 
provide a valid email address and phone number.

After Harvesting a Deer
Even when in possession of deer that have been 
reported already, each deer must be tagged with 
their assigned Confirmation Number, when appli-
cable, and other information. See Mandatory Har-
vest Report and Tag Requirements on this page for 
tagging details. See page 29 for a Harvest Report 
Card for use when each of your license or permit 
Harvest Reports have been filled or for use as a tag. Be 
discreet when transporting your deer to the butcher, 
taxidermist or home; rinse away excess blood, turn 
the field-dressed side to face in toward your vehicle 
and push the tongue back into the deer’s mouth.

After Reporting Your Deer—
Possession or Sale 
• The Confirmation Number assigned by the Auto-

mated Harvest Report System must be retained 
until all venison is consumed and as long as you 
keep any deer parts, including antlers. Persons with 
deer mounts should write their name, assigned 
Confirmation Number, date of kill and season of 
harvest on back of the mount for future reference.

• It is illegal to sell deer meat, deer antlers or any 
part of a deer except deer hides, tails and the 
lower portion of the legs. However, nonprofit 
organizations conducting wild game dinners for 
social and fundraising events may offer game or 
furbearer meat (the sale of which is otherwise 
prohibited) provided that the meat has been 
harvested, stored and processed in accordance 
with applicable laws and regulations.

Spotlighting 
Spotlighting deer during hours of darkness from 
a vehicle is illegal while in possession of a weapon 
capable of killing deer, whether the weapon is cased, 
uncased or in a locked compartment. This does not 
apply to the regular use of headlights when traveling 
in a normal manner on public or private roads.

Deer Hunting
REGUL ATIONS

Be advised: two violations 
of wildlife management area 
regulations will result in loss of 
all sporting licenses and privi-
leges for a period of five years.

Warning to Violators

Pack out what 
you pack in!

NO LITTERING!

Respect our natural resources and all 
landowners, whether public or private.
The hunter image depends on you; a 
little litter can make a huge difference.
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2015–16 Deer Harvest
SUMMARIES

2015–16 Total Deer Harvest by Season and Zone
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1 87 63 117 89 8 21 3 388

2 536 212 189 223 175 64 16 1415

3 90 77 47 86 6 23 9 338

4 93 62 114 98 19 11 6 403

5 850 392 387 247 442 72 20 2410

6 310 133 76 78 24 41 5 667

7 473 218 183 147 352 64 6 1443

8 1058 402 277 223 536 203 16 2715

9 261 105 33 14 48 51 3 515

10 756 343 205 218 528 118 14 2182

11 466 201 136 163 323 70 10 1369

12 1027 512 223 282 709 239 15 3007

13 509 208 30 61 196 115 2 1121

14 790 304 160 97 459 204 15 2029

15 347 199 81 72 334 83 6 1122

16 300 180 90 66 138 87 5 866

17 316 169 153 132 636 53 18 1477

18 95 84 66 38 4 37 11 335

19 441 291 186 127 579 79 7 1710

21 76 46 196 28 10 27 8 391

22 34 26 25 14 3 24 3 129

23 88 60 215 52 10 30 11 466

24 45 29 85 21 0 18 4 202

25 359 176 137 101 413 65 6 1257

26 149 117 182 146 21 86 12 713

27 204 166 48 113 122 31 20 704

28 285 163 67 151 173 53 9 901

29 215 138 78 169 155 37 15 807

30 67 57 42 87 32 32 13 330

31 90 49 19 28 45 25 3 259

34 69 89 39 80 10 68 12 367

35 349 256 71 193 183 59 23 1134

36 349 197 39 37 181 147 5 955

37 58 54 11 34 1 27 3 188

38 1 0 0 4 13 0 0 18

39 24 26 9 33 17 11 0 120

41 272 109 67 55 210 44 5 762

42 64 40 36 31 59 23 2 255

43 28 19 76 11 4 6 3 147

45 31 24 75 21 11 21 7 190

46 29 28 72 37 1 21 1 189

47 65 39 15 30 58 37 1 245

48 276 188 139 149 480 38 11 1281

49 190 143 36 18 91 104 2 584

50 734 414 94 88 387 237 3 1957

51 217 126 36 19 136 74 0 608

53 14 3 3 5 5 4 0 34

54 2 4 4 2 2 2 0 16

55 19 13 17 12 2 13 0 76

56 0 0 0 0 9 0 0 9

57 0 2 1 0 11 0 0 14

58 0 11 0 0 19 1 0 31

61 0 5 2 5 7 4 1 24

63 48 37 12 31 22 17 3 170

64 0 0 11 0 21 4 0 36

65 36 27 72 24 4 8 3 174

66 1 1 0 0 7 2 0 11

67 0 0 0 98 0 3 0 101

68 19 8 7 10 19 5 0 68

70 0 4 0 0 0 0 0 4

Totals 13,312 7,049 4,791 4,398 8,470 3,043 376 41,439

NEW JERSEY DEER HUNTERS harvested 41,439 
deer during the 2015–2016 seasons between 
September 12, 2015 and February 20, 2016. The 
harvest for this year’s deer season is 21.4 percent 
lower than the 52,704 deer taken in 2014–15. Har-
vest numbers were lower throughout the state, 
with the exception of a few zones with increases. 
The antlerless portion of the 2015–16 harvest was 
26,149 deer, down 25.9 percent from 2014–15. 
The antlered portion of the 2015–16 harvest was 
15,290 deer, down 12.2 percent from 2014–15. 

Scan this code for additional deer harvest 
information from the 2015–16 hunting 
seasons or go to NJFishandWildlife.com/qr/
trends.htm.

Deer Harvest Trends 
in New Jersey

AMB DEER 
PROCESSING 

INC.

$90.00
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Deer Season
REGUL ATION SETS

Regulation 
Set Regulation Set #0 Regulation Set #1 Regulation Set #2

Zones 21, 23, 24, 34*, 43, 45, 46 NO ZONES ASSIGNED 1, 3*, 4, 18, 22, 26

Info

*  Any antlered deer taken in Zone 34 must have at 

least three antler points on one side of the rack.

•  Legal hunting hours: 1⁄2 hour before sunrise to 

1⁄2 hour after sunset. No firearm deer hunting on 

Sunday. Limited Sunday bowhunting allowed.

•  Note: Only one antlerless permit, per zone, may 

be purchased in each permit season. If a hunter 

purchases an antlerless permit for more than one 

zone in a season, the Antlered Buck Permit is valid 

for a ONE TIME USE in only ONE of the zones for 

which the hunter holds a permit. Properly licensed 

hunters are still limited to ONE antlered buck per 

season, regardless of the number of antlerless 

permits purchased.

   ———

*  Any antlered deer taken in Zone 3 must have at least 

three antler points on one side of the rack.

•  Legal hunting hours: 1⁄2 hour before sunrise to 

1⁄2 hour after sunset. No firearm deer hunting on 

Sunday. Limited Sunday bowhunting allowed.

•  Note: Only one antlerless permit, per zone, may 

be purchased in each permit season. If a hunter 

purchases an antlerless permit for more than one 

zone in a season, the Antlered Buck Permit is valid 

for a ONE TIME USE in only ONE of the zones for 

which the hunter holds a permit. Properly licensed 

hunters are still limited to ONE antlered buck per 

season, regardless of the number of antlerless 

permits purchased.

Fall Bow

Oct. 1–28, 2016

Season bag limit is one deer of either sex.    ———

Oct. 1–28, 2016

Season bag limit is two deer—only ONE may be 

antlered.

Youth Deer 
Hunt Days

Sept. 24, 2016—Bow Only

Nov. 19, 2016—Firearm Only

Season bag limit for either youth day is one deer of 

either sex for qualified youth hunters only. Any deer 

harvested by a qualified youth hunter accompanied by 

a similarly licensed, non-shooting adult mentor is NOT 

included as part of the bag limit for the Fall Bow or  

Six-day Firearm Season.

   ———

Sept. 24, 2016—Bow Only

Nov. 19, 2016—Firearm Only

Season bag limit for either youth day is one deer of 

either sex for qualified youth hunters only. Any deer 

harvested by a qualified youth hunter accompanied by 

a similarly licensed, non-shooting adult mentor is NOT 

included as part of the bag limit for the Fall Bow or  

Six-day Firearm Season.

Permit Bow

Oct. 29–Nov. 19, 2016

Season bag limit is one deer of either sex if the 

Antlered Buck Bow Permit is purchased. However,  

if the hunter chooses not to purchase the Antlered 

Buck Bow Permit then the bag limit is one antlerless 

deer only.  

(See Note above.)

   ———

Oct. 29–Nov. 27, 2016

Season bag limit is two deer. ONE may be antlered if 

the Antlered Buck Bow Permit is purchased. However, 

if the hunter chooses not to purchase the Antlered 

Buck Bow Permit then the bag limit is two antlerless 

deer only.  

(See Note above.)

Permit  

Muzzleloader

Nov. 28–29, Dec. 17–24, 26–29, 2016

Season bag limit is one deer of either sex if the 

Antlered Buck Muzzleloader Permit is purchased. 

However, if the hunter chooses not to purchase the 

Antlered Buck Muzzleloader Permit then the bag limit is 

one antlerless deer only.  

(See Note above.)

   ———

Nov. 28–29, Dec. 12, 13, 17–24, 26–31, 2016

Season bag limit is two deer. ONE may be antlered if 

the Antlered Buck Muzzleloader Permit is purchased. 

However, if the hunter chooses not to purchase the 

Antlered Buck Muzzleloader Permit, then the bag limit 

is two antlerless deer only. (See Note above.)

Six-day 
Firearm

Dec. 5–10, 2016

Season bag limit is two antlered deer. However, if a 

hunter harvests two antlered deer, he/she forfeits the 

opportunity to harvest an antlered deer during the 

Permit Shotgun Season. Only one buck may be taken 

at a time.

   ———

Dec. 5–10, 2016

Season bag limit is two antlered deer. However, if a 

hunter harvests two antlered deer, he/she forfeits the 

opportunity to harvest an antlered deer during the 

Permit Shotgun Season. Only one buck may be taken 

at a time.

Permit 

Shotgun 

Season

Dec. 14, 2016

Season bag limit is one deer. This deer may be antlered 

if the Antlered Buck Shotgun Permit is purchased. 

However, if the hunter chooses not to purchase the 

Antlered Buck Shotgun Permit, or harvested two 

antlered deer during the Six-day Firearm Season, then 

the bag limit is one antlerless deer only.  

(See Note above.)

   ———

Dec. 14–16, 2016

Season bag limit is one deer. This deer may be antlered 

if the Antlered Buck Shotgun Permit is purchased. 

However, if the hunter chooses not to purchase the 

Antlered Buck Shotgun Permit or harvested two 

antlered deer during the Six-day firearm season, then 

the bag limit is one antlerless deer only.  

(See Note above.)

Winter Bow

Jan. 1–31, 2017

Season bag limit is one deer of either sex.    ———

Jan. 1–31, 2017

Season bag limit is two deer—only ONE may be 

antlered. 

Color-coded to Regulation Set Reference Chart and Zone Map (page 40)
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Deer Season
REGUL ATION SETS

Regulation 
Set Regulation Set #3 Regulation Set #4 Regulation Set #5

Zones 30*, 55, 63*,65 6 2, 16, 27*, 28*, 29*, 31*, 35*, 47*

Info

*  Any antlered deer taken in Zone 30 or 63 must have 

at least three antler points on one side of the rack.

•  Legal hunting hours: 1⁄2 hour before sunrise to 

1⁄2 hour after sunset. No firearm deer hunting on

Sunday. Limited Sunday bowhunting allowed.

•  Note: Only one antlerless permit, per zone, may 

be purchased in each permit season. If a hunter 

purchases an antlerless permit for more than one 

zone in a season, the Antlered Buck Permit is valid 

for a ONE TIME USE in only ONE of the zones for 

which the hunter holds a permit. Properly licensed 

hunters are still limited to ONE antlered buck per 

season, regardless of the number of antlerless 

permits purchased.

•  Legal hunting hours: 1⁄2 hour before sunrise to 

1⁄2 hour after sunset. No firearm deer hunting on

Sunday. Limited Sunday bowhunting allowed.

•  Note: Only one antlerless permit, per zone, may 

be purchased in each permit season. If a hunter 

purchases an antlerless permit for more than one 

zone in a season, the Antlered Buck Permit is valid 

for a ONE TIME USE in only ONE of the zones for 

which the hunter holds a permit. Properly licensed 

hunters are still limited to ONE antlered buck per 

season, regardless of the number of antlerless 

permits purchased.

*  Any antlered deer taken in Zone 27, 28, 29, 31, 35 or

47 must have at least three antler points on one side 

of the rack.

•  Legal hunting hours: 1⁄2 hour before sunrise to 

1⁄2 hour after sunset. No firearm deer hunting on

Sunday. Limited Sunday bowhunting allowed.

•  Note: Only one antlerless permit, per zone, may 

be purchased in each permit season. If a hunter 

purchases an antlerless permit for more than one 

zone in a season, the Antlered Buck Permit is valid 

for a ONE TIME USE in only ONE of the zones for 

which the hunter holds a permit. Properly licensed 

hunters are still limited to ONE antlered buck per 

season, regardless of the number of antlerless permits 

purchased. 

Fall Bow

Oct. 1–28, 2016

Season bag limit is two deer—only ONE may be 

antlered.

First deer must be antlerless (not required for 
youth hunters): Sept. 10–30, 2016

Antlered or antlerless: Oct. 1–28, 2016

Season bag limit is unlimited antlerless deer and ONE 

antlered deer.

First deer must be antlerless (not required for 
youth hunters): Sept. 10–30, 2016

Antlered or antlerless: Oct. 1–28, 2016

Season bag limit is unlimited antlerless deer and ONE 

antlered deer.

Youth Deer 
Hunt Days

Sept. 24, 2016—Bow Only

Nov. 19, 2016—Firearm Only

Season bag limit for either youth day is one deer of 

either sex for qualified youth hunters only. Any deer 

harvested by a qualified youth hunter accompanied by 

a similarly licensed, non-shooting adult mentor is NOT 

included as part of the bag limit for the Fall Bow or  

Six-day Firearm Season.

Sept. 24, 2016—Bow Only

Nov. 19, 2016—Firearm Only

Season bag limit is one deer of either sex for qualified 

youth hunters only. Any deer harvested by a qualified 

youth hunter accompanied by a similarly licensed, non-

shooting adult mentor is NOT included as part of the 

bag limit for the Fall Bow or Six-day Firearm Season.

Sept. 24, 2016—Bow Only

Nov. 19, 2016—Firearm Only

Season bag limit for either youth day is one deer of 

either sex for any qualified youth hunter only. Any deer 

harvested by a qualified youth hunter accompanied by 

a similarly licensed, non-shooting adult mentor is NOT 

included as part of the bag limit for the Fall Bow or  

Six-day Firearm seasons.

Permit Bow

Oct. 29–Nov. 27, 2016

Season bag limit is two deer. ONE may be antlered if 

the Antlered Buck Bow Permit is purchased. However, 

if the hunter chooses not to purchase the Antlered 

Buck Bow Permit then the bag limit is two antlerless 

deer only. (See Note above.)

Oct. 29–Dec. 24, 26–31, 2016

Season bag limit is unlimited antlerless deer. ONE 

may be antlered if the Antlered Buck Bow Permit is 

purchased. However, if the hunter chooses not to 

purchase the Antlered Buck Bow Permit then the bag 

limit is unlimited antlerless deer only. (See Note above.)

Oct. 29–Dec. 24, 26–31, 2016 

Season bag limit is unlimited antlerless deer. ONE 

antlered deer may be harvested if the Antlered Buck 

Bow Permit is purchased. (See Note above.)

Permit  

Muzzleloader

Nov. 28–29, Dec. 12, 13, 17–24, 26–31, 2016 and 
Jan. 2–6, 2017

Season bag limit is two deer. ONE may be antlered if 

the Antlered Buck Muzzleloader Permit is purchased. 

However, if the hunter chooses not to purchase the 

Antlered Buck Muzzleloader Permit, then the bag limit 

is two antlerless deer only. (See Note above.)

Nov. 28–29, Dec. 12, 13, 17–24, 26–31, 2016 and 
Jan. 2–6, 2017

Season bag limit is two deer. ONE may be antlered if 

the Antlered Buck Muzzleloader Permit is purchased. 

However, if the hunter chooses not to purchase the 

Antlered Buck Muzzleloader Permit, then the bag limit 

is two antlerless deer only. (See Note above.)

Nov. 28–29, Dec. 12, 13, 17–24, 26–31, 2016 and 
Jan. 2–6, 2017

Season bag limit is unlimited antlerless deer. ONE 

antlered deer may be harvested if the Antlered Buck 

Muzzleloader Permit is purchased. However, if the 

hunter chooses not to purchase the Antlered Buck 

Muzzleloader Permit, then the bag limit is unlimited 

antlerless deer only. (See Note above.)

Six-day 
Firearm

Dec. 5–10, 2016

Season bag limit is two antlered deer. However, if a 

hunter harvests two antlered deer, he/she forfeits the 

opportunity to harvest an antlered deer during the 

Permit Shotgun Season. Only one buck may be taken 

at a time.

Dec. 5–10, 2016

Season bag limit is two antlered deer. However, if a 

hunter harvests two antlered deer, he/she forfeits the 

opportunity to harvest an antlered deer during the 

Permit Shotgun Season. Only one buck may be taken 

at a time.

Dec. 5–10, 2016

Season bag limit is two antlered deer. However, if a 

hunter harvests two antlered deer, he/she forfeits the 

opportunity to harvest an antlered deer during the 

Permit Shotgun Season. Only one buck may be taken 

at a time.

Permit 

Shotgun 

Season

Dec. 14–16, 2016

Season bag limit is two deer. ONE may be antlered if the 

Antlered Buck Shotgun Permit is purchased. However, 

if the hunter chooses not to purchase the Antlered Buck 

Shotgun Permit or harvested two antlered deer during 

the Six-day firearm season, then the bag limit is two 

antlerless deer only. (See Note above.)

Dec. 14–16, 2016

Season bag limit is two deer. ONE may be antlered if the 

Antlered Buck Shotgun Permit is purchased. However, 

if the hunter chooses not to purchase the Antlered Buck 

Shotgun Permit or harvested two antlered deer during 

the Six-day firearm season, then the bag limit is two 

antlerless deer only. (See Note above.)

Dec. 14–16, 2016; and Jan. 14–21, 2017 

Season bag limit is unlimited antlerless deer. ONE 

antlered deer may be harvested if the Antlered Buck 

Shotgun Permit is purchased. However, if the hunter 

harvests two antlered deer during the Six-day Firearm 

Season, then the bag limit is unlimited antlerless deer 

only. (See Note above.)

Winter Bow

Jan. 1–31, 2017

Season bag limit is two deer—only ONE may be 

antlered. 

Jan. 1–31, 2017

Season bag limit is unlimited antlerless deer—only 

ONE may be antlered. 

Jan. 1–31, 2017

Season bag limit is unlimited antlerless deer and ONE 

antlered deer.

Color-coded to Regulation Set Reference Chart and Zone Map (page 40)
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Deer Season
REGUL ATION SETS

Color-coded to Regulation Set Reference Chart and Zone Map (page 40)

Regulation 
Set Regulation Set #6 Regulation Set #7 Regulation Set #8

Zones 5, 19, 25, 42, 48 7, 8, 9*, 12, 17, 41 10, 11, 13*, 14, 15, 36, 49, 50, 51

Info

•  Legal hunting hours: 1⁄2 hour before sunrise to 

1⁄2 hour after sunset. No firearm deer hunting on

Sundays. Limited Sunday bowhunting allowed.

•  Note: Only one antlerless permit, per zone, may 

be purchased in each permit season. If a hunter 

purchases an antlerless permit for more than one 

zone in a season, the Antlered Buck Permit is valid 

for a ONE TIME USE in only ONE of the zones for 

which the hunter holds a permit. Properly licensed 

hunters are still limited to ONE antlered buck per 

season, regardless of the number of antlerless 

permits purchased.

*  Any antlered deer taken in Zone 9 must have at least 

three antler points on one side of the rack. 

•  Legal hunting hours: 1⁄2 hour before sunrise to 

1⁄2 hour after sunset. No firearm deer hunting on

Sundays. Limited Sunday bowhunting allowed.

•  Note: Only one antlerless permit, per zone, may

be purchased in each permit season. If a hunter 

purchases an antlerless permit for more than one zone 

in a season, the An  tlered Buck Permit is valid for a ONE 

TIME USE in only ONE of the zones for which the hunter 

holds a permit. Properly licensed hunters are still 

limited to ONE antlered buck per season, regardless of 

the number of antlerless permits purchased. 

*  Any antlered deer taken in Zone 13 must have at least 

three antler points on one side of the rack. 

•  Legal hunting hours: 1⁄2 hour before sunrise to 

1⁄2 hour after sunset. No firearm deer hunting on

Sundays. Limited Sunday bowhunting allowed.

•  Note: Only one antlerless permit, per zone, may

be purchased in each permit season. If a hunter 

purchases an antlerless permit for more than one zone 

in a season, the An  tlered Buck Permit is valid for a ONE 

TIME USE in only ONE of the zones for which the hunter 

holds a permit. Properly licensed hunters are still 

limited to ONE antlered buck per season, regardless of 

the number of antlerless permits purchased. 

Fall Bow

First deer must be antlerless (not required for 
youth hunters): Sept. 10–30, 2016
Antlered or antlerless: Oct. 1–28, 2016

Season bag limit is unlimited antlerless deer and ONE 

antlered deer. Two deer may be taken at a time.

First deer must be antlerless (not required for 
youth hunters): Sept. 10–30, 2016
Antlered or antlerless: Oct. 1–28, 2016

Season bag limit is unlimited antlerless deer and ONE 

antlered deer. Two deer may be taken at a time.

First deer must be antlerless (not required for 
youth hunters): Sept. 10–30, 2016
Antlered or antlerless: Oct. 1–28, 2016

Season bag limit is unlimited antlerless deer and ONE 

antlered deer. Two deer may be taken at a time.

Youth Deer 
Hunt Days

Sept. 24, 2016—Bow Only
Nov. 19, 2016—Firearm Only

Season bag limit for either youth day is one deer of either 

sex for any qualified youth hunter only. Any deer harvested 

by a qualified youth hunter accompanied by a similarly 

licensed, non-shooting adult mentor is NOT included as part 

of the bag limit for the Fall Bow or Six-day Firearm Season.

Sept. 24, 2016—Bow Only
Nov. 19, 2016—Firearm Only

Season bag limit for either youth day is one deer of either 

sex for any qualified youth hunter only. Any deer harvested 

by a qualified youth hunter accompanied by a similarly 

licensed, non-shooting adult mentor is NOT included as part 

of the bag limit for the Fall Bow or Six-day Firearm Season.

Sept. 24, 2016—Bow Only
Nov. 19, 2016—Firearm Only

Season bag limit for either youth day is one deer of either 

sex for any qualified youth hunter only. Any deer harvested 

by a qualified youth hunter accompanied by a similarly 

licensed, non-shooting adult mentor is NOT included as part 

of the bag limit for the Fall Bow or Six-day Firearm Season.

Permit Bow

Oct. 29–Dec. 24, 26–31, 2016 

Season bag limit is unlimited antlerless deer. ONE 

antlered deer may be harvested if the Antlered Buck Bow 

Permit is purchased. Two deer may be taken at a time. 

(See Note above.)

Oct. 29–Dec. 24, 26–31, 2016 

Season bag limit is unlimited antlerless deer. ONE 

antlered deer may be harvested if the Antlered Buck Bow 

Permit is purchased. Two deer may be taken at a time. 

(See Note above.)

Oct. 29–Dec. 24, 26–31, 2016 

Season bag limit is unlimited antlerless deer. ONE 

antlered deer may be harvested if the Antlered Buck Bow 

Permit is purchased. Two deer may be taken at a time. 

(See Note above.)

Permit  

Muzzleloader

Antlered or Antlerless:  Nov. 28–29, Dec. 12, 13, 
17–24, 26–31, 2016 and 
Jan. 2–31, 2017

Antlerless deer only: Dec. 5–10, 2016

Season bag limit is unlimited antlerless deer. ONE 

antlered deer may be harvested if the Antlered Buck 

Muzzleloader Permit is purchased. However, if the hunter 

chooses not to purchase the Antlered Buck Muzzleloader 

Permit, then the bag limit is unlimited antlerless deer 

only. Two deer may be taken at a time. (See Note above.)

Antlered or Antlerless:  Nov. 28–29, Dec. 12, 13, 
17–24, 26–31, 2016 and 
Jan. 2–Feb. 11, 2017

Antlerless deer only: Nov. 30–Dec. 2, 5–10, 2016

Season bag limit is unlimited antlerless deer. ONE 

antlered deer may be harvested if the Antlered Buck 

Muzzleloader Permit is purchased. However, if the hunter 

chooses not to purchase the Antlered Buck Muzzleloader 

Permit, then the bag limit is unlimited antlerless deer 

only. Two deer may be taken at a time. (See Note above.)

Antlered or Antlerless:  Nov. 28–29, Dec. 12, 13, 
17–24, 26–31, 2016 and 
Jan. 2–Feb. 11, 2017

Antlerless deer only:  Nov. 21–23, 25 and Nov. 30–
Dec. 2, 5–10, 2016

Season bag limit is unlimited antlerless deer. ONE 

antlered deer may be harvested if the Antlered Buck 

Muzzleloader Permit is purchased. However, if the hunter 

chooses not to purchase the Antlered Buck Muzzleloader 

Permit, then the bag limit is unlimited antlerless deer 

only. Two deer may be taken at a time. (See Note above.)

Six-day 
Firearm

Dec. 5–10, 2016

Season bag limit is two antlered deer. However, if a 

hunter harvests two antlered deer, he/she forfeits the 

opportunity to harvest an antlered deer during the Permit 

Shotgun Season. Only one buck may be taken at a time.

Dec. 5–10, 2016

Season bag limit is two antlered deer. However, if a 

hunter harvests two antlered deer, he/she forfeits the 

opportunity to harvest an antlered deer during the Permit 

Shotgun Season. Only one buck may be taken at a time.

Dec. 5–10, 2016

Season bag limit is two antlered deer. However, if a 

hunter harvests two antlered deer, he/she forfeits the 

opportunity to harvest an antlered deer during the Permit 

Shotgun Season. Only one buck may be taken at a time.

Permit 

Shotgun 

Season

Antlerless deer only: Dec. 5–10, 2016
Antlered or Antlerless:  Dec. 14–16, 2016;  

Jan. 7–31, 2017

Season bag limit is unlimited antlerless deer. ONE 

antlered deer may be harvested if the Antlered Buck 

Shotgun Permit is purchased. However, if the hunter 

harvests two antlered deer during the Six-day firearm 

Season, then the bag limit is unlimited antlerless deer 

only. Two deer may be taken at a time. (See Note above.)

Antlerless deer only: Nov. 30–Dec. 2, 5–10, 2016
Antlered or Antlerless:  Dec. 14–16, 2016; and  Jan.              
7–Feb. 11, 2017
Season bag limit is unlimited antlerless deer. ONE 

antlered deer may be harvested if the Antlered Buck 

Shotgun Permit is purchased. However, if the hunter 

harvests two antlered deer during the Six-day Firearm 

Season, then the bag limit is unlimited antlerless deer 

only. Two deer may be taken at a time. (See Note above.)

Antlerless deer only:  Nov. 21–23, 25; and  
Nov. 30–Dec. 2, 5–10, 2016

Antlered or Antlerless:  Dec. 14–16, 2016; and    
Jan. 7–Feb. 11, 2017
Season bag limit is unlimited antlerless deer. ONE 

antlered deer may be harvested if the Antlered Buck 

Shotgun Permit is purchased. However, if the hunter 

harvests two antlered deer during the Six-day Firearm 

Season, then the bag limit is unlimited antlerless deer 

only. Two deer may be taken at a time. (See Note above.)

Winter Bow

Jan. 1–31, 2017

Season bag limit is unlimited antlerless deer and ONE 

antlered deer. Two deer may be taken at a time.

Jan. 1–Feb. 18, 2017 

Season bag limit is unlimited antlerless deer and ONE 

antlered deer. Two deer may be taken at a time.

Jan. 1–Feb. 18, 2017 

Season bag limit is unlimited antlerless deer and ONE 

antlered deer. Two deer may be taken at a time.
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Law Enforcement
REGIONAL OFFICES

Report Abuse of our Outdoor Heritage! 

1-855-OGT-TIPS
24 Hours a Day, Seven Days a Week
The person who poaches, pollutes habitat and abuses public land  
tarnishes the image of sportsmen and robs us of our fish and wildlife 
as well as tax and license dollars. You can make a difference.

Call OGT to report:
• Negligent use of firearms

• Over the limits for game and fish

• Commercial exploitation of fish and wildlife

• Pollution of habitat, dumping on state land

• Destruction of signs and state property

• Illegal killing, taking or possession of any wildlife

It's Free. It's Confidential.  
You May Be Eligible for a Reward. 
Funded by the New Jersey State Federation of Sportsmen's Clubs. 

Designed to encourage sportsmen to report poaching and wildlife crimes.

Operation Game Thief

Contact a New Jersey 
Division of Fish & Wildlife 
Law Enforcement office 
that serves the county 
where you hunt or fish.
•  Northern Region — (908) 735-8240 

( Bergen, Essex, Hudson, Hunterdon, Morris, 
Passaic, Somerset, Sussex, Union and War-
ren counties)

•  Central Region — (609) 259-2120 
(Burlington, Mercer, Middlesex, Monmouth 
and Ocean counties)

•  Southern Region — (856) 629-0555 
(Atlantic, Camden, Cape May, Cumberland, 
Gloucester and Salem counties)

•  Marine Region — (609) 748-2050 
(coastal and bay areas)

•  To report violations anonymously call 
Operation Game Thief — (855) OGT-TIPS

Law Enforcement 
and Regulation 
Information 

ey 

Be Sure of Your Target and Beyond
Be aware of all SAFETY ZONES.

Violation First Offense Repeat Offenses

Deer Permit Violations 

Hunting without permit, wrong season, 

wrong zone, permit transfer

$100 to $500 fine

$300 to $1,000 fine 

Two convictions within five years 

and two-year loss of license 

Firearm hunting within 450 ft. of a school 

playground or building; bowhunting within 

450 ft. of a school playground or within 

150 ft. of a building

$100 to $300 fine
$300 to $1,500 fine and perma-

nent loss of license

Negligent use of a weapon 

Did cause injury or death of another person

$500 to $2,000 fine and five year 

loss of license

$1000 to $4,000 fine and perma-

nent loss of license

Damage or injury to real or personal 
property of another

Up to $2,000 fine and five-year 

loss of license plus restitution for 

damages

Up to $2,000 fine and permanent 

loss of license plus restitution for 

damages

Careless use of a weapon 

Shooting into safety zone, handling weapon 

in unsafe manner

$100 to $500 fine and two-year loss 

of license

$100 to $500 fine and two-year 

loss of license

Trespass $100 to $200 fine 
$200 to $500 fine and five-year 

loss of license 
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2016–17 NJ Deer Season Regulation Sets Reference Chart

Zone
For seasons and bag limits, see 

details in Regulation Sets  
beginning on page 36.

Zone
For seasons and bag limits, see 

details in Regulation Sets  
beginning on page 36.

1 Regulation Set # 2 36 Regulation Set # 8

2 Regulation Set # 5 37 Special Area Hunting Season

3 Regulation Set # 2 38 Special Area Hunting Season

4 Regulation Set # 2 39 Special Area Hunting Season

5 Regulation Set # 6 40 Zone is not designated

6 Regulation Set # 4 41 Regulation Set # 7

7 Regulation Set # 7 42 Regulation Set # 6

8 Regulation Set # 7 43 Regulation Set # 0

9 Regulation Set # 7 44 Zone is not designated

10 Regulation Set # 8 45 Regulation Set # 0

11 Regulation Set # 8 46 Regulation Set # 0

12 Regulation Set # 7 47 Regulation Set # 5

13 Regulation Set # 8 48 Regulation Set # 6

14 Regulation Set # 8 49 Regulation Set # 8

15 Regulation Set # 8 50 Regulation Set # 8

16 Regulation Set # 5 51 Regulation Set # 8

17 Regulation Set # 7 52 Zone is not designated

18 Regulation Set # 2 53 Special Area Hunting Season

19 Regulation Set # 6 54 Special Area Hunting Season

20 Zone is not designated 55 Regulation Set # 3

21 Regulation Set # 0 56 Special Area Hunting Season

22 Regulation Set # 2 57 Special Area Hunting Season

23 Regulation Set # 0 58 Special Area Hunting Season

24 Regulation Set # 0 59 Zone is not designated

25 Regulation Set # 6 60 Zone is not designated

26 Regulation Set # 2 61 Special Area Hunting Season

27 Regulation Set # 5 62 Zone is not designated

28 Regulation Set # 5 63 Regulation Set # 3

29 Regulation Set # 5 64 Special Area Hunting Season

30 Regulation Set # 3 65 Regulation Set # 3

31 Regulation Set # 5 66 Special Area Hunting Season

32 Zone is not designated 67 Special Area Hunting Season

33 Zone is not designated 68 Special Area Hunting Season

34 Regulation Set # 0 70 Special Area Hunting Season

35 Regulation Set # 5
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*  Map is for reference only. Use a county
map or see NJFishandWildlife.com/ahrs
while following zone boundary descriptions
referenced by the QR code at left.

DEER ZONE MAP

New Jersey Deer 
Management Zones*
Scan this QR code with your 
mobile device for the detailed 
deer management zone boundary 
descriptions or go to our website 
at www.NJFishandWildlife.com/
pdf/deerzones.pdf
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Before heading to your hunting location, 
use the online Deer Hunting Location 
View

er to m
ake use of the Autom

ated 
Deer Harvest Report System

. 

It's easy, fast and accurate!  
See page 34 for details.

Deer Hunting  
Location View

er
Scan this code or visit 
N

JFishandW
ildlife.com

/
ahrs_deer_view

er.htm
.
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DEER ZONE MAP

ZONE SPECIAL AREA
37 Dix-McGuire section of Joint Base McGuire-Dix-Lakehurst,  

U.S. Air Force, that formerly consisted of Fort Dix Reservation
38 Great Swamp National Wildlife Refuge
39 Earle Naval Weapons Station
53 Lakehurst section of Joint Base McGuire-Dix-Lakehurst, U.S. Air Force, 

that formerly consisted of Lakehurst Naval Air Engineering Station
54 Picatinny Arsenal (Dept of the Army)
56† Edwin B. Forsythe National Wildlife Refuge (Southern portion)
57† Edwin B. Forsythe National Wildlife Refuge (Central portion)
58† Edwin B. Forsythe National Wildlife Refuge (Northern portion)
61† Atlantic County Parks System
64† Monmouth Battlefield State Park
66† Federal Aviation Administration Technical Center
67 High Point State Park
68 Franklin Parker Preserve and Four Mile Spring Preserve
70† Edwin B. Forsythe National Wildlife Refuge 

(northern portion, southern section)
† Not shown on map
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Deer Hunting Season
SPECIAL AREAS INFORMATION

Regulations in red are new this year.

• Special areas include federal military instal-
lations, certain state and county parks and
national wildlife refuges where hunter access
is controlled. 

• All state game laws and regulations apply to
Special Areas.

• Only ONE antlered deer may be taken per per-
mit season, statewide, regardless of the number
of permits possessed.

• Due to homeland security measures and mili-
tary actions, NJ Division of Fish and Wildlife 
cannot guarantee all military installations will 
be available or open to hunting throughout each 
deer season. Hunters are reminded that Fish
and Wildlife has a “no refund – no exchange” 
policy for deer permits.

Special Areas— 
County and State Parks
Atlantic County Park System (Zone 61)
Permits for Zone 61 will be available for sale until 
11:59 p.m. on SATURDAY, October 1, 2016. Per-
mits will be available for sale at all license agents and 
online over the Internet. The permit quotas for Zone 
61 are as follows: 60 permits will be available for the 
Permit Bow Season, 60 permits will be available for 
the Permit Muzzleloader Season and 100 permits 
will be available for the Permit Shotgun Season.

Permit Bow Season: Oct. 29–Dec. 24, 26–31, 
2016; Bag limit: unlimited antlerless deer. In addi-
tion, hunters who purchase an Antlered Buck Bow 
Permit may harvest ONE antlered deer. A total of 
60 permits are available.

Permit Muzzleloader Season: Nov. 28–29, 
Dec. 12, 13, 17–24, 26–31, 2016; Jan. 2–6, 2017; 
Bag limit: unlimited antlerless deer. In addition, 
hunters who purchase an Antlered Buck Muzzle-
loader Permit may harvest ONE antlered deer. A 
total of 60 permits are available.

Six-day Firearm Season: Dec. 5–10, 2016; Bag 
limit: two antlered deer. However, if a hunter har-
vests two antlered deer, they forfeit the opportunity 
to harvest an antlered deer during the Permit Shot-
gun Season. Only one buck may be taken at a time. 

Permit Shotgun Season: Dec. 5–10 and 14–16, 
2016; Bag limit: unlimited antlerless deer. In addi-
tion, hunters who purchase an Antlered Buck 
Shotgun Permit may harvest ONE antlered deer. 
However, for hunters who harvest two antlered 
deer during the Six-day Firearm Season, the bag 
limit in the Permit Shotgun Season is restricted 
to unlimited antlerless deer only. A total of 100 
permits are available.

All Special Area Permits go on sale on a 
first-come, first-served basis at 10 am on 
TUESDAY, September 12, 2016. Refer to 
specific areas for the closing deadline since 
permit sales for certain special areas are 
available only for a limited time.

All Special Areas

Winter Bow Season: Jan. 2–31, 2017; Bag limit: 
Unlimited antlerless deer and ONE antlered deer. 
Please note: Hunting during the Winter Bow Sea-
son on Atlantic County Park property (Zone 61) 
is NOT open to all hunters. ONLY hunters with 
a valid 2016 Zone 61 Permit Bow Season permit 
are allowed to hunt the property during Winter 
Bow Season.

Deer hunting is prohibited here all other times. 
The Atlantic County Park office is located at 6303 
Old Harding Highway, Mays Landing, NJ 08330. 
All applicants must call (609) 625-8219 prior to the 
lottery for specific rules, restrictions and hunter 
orientation dates. Hunter orientation attendance is 
required for Zone 61. The use of bait is prohibited 
in Zone 61.

Cheesequake State Park (Zone 50)
Designated areas of the park are open to deer hunt-
ing. Deer Management Zone 50 regulations apply. 
A free park access permit is required. A limited 
supply of permits will be available. Contact the park 
office at (732) 566-2161 or check the park website 
for details. Hunters must supply both their current 
hunting and driver’s licenses.

Delaware and Raritan Canal 
State Park (Zone 11)
A portion of the Division of Parks and Forestry’s 
My Ben tract and Trap Rock-Knipe tract of the 
Delaware and Raritan Canal State Park in Dela-
ware Township in Hunterdon County are open 
for deer hunting. Zone 11 regulations apply. Call 
(609) 397-2949 for more information.

High Point State Park (Zone 67)
To hunt High Point State Park, hunters must pur-
chase a Zone 67 permit from a license agent or 
via Fish and Wildlife’s Internet license sales site. 
Permits will be available until the quota is met or 
the season ends, whichever occurs first. See Deer 
Season Permits, page 16.

Permit Muzzleloader Season: Permit Muzzle-
loader Season: Nov. 7–10 and 14–17, 2016; Bag 
limit: unlimited antlerless deer and ONE antlered 
deer. The hunter’s first deer must be antlerless. Suc-
cessful hunters may then harvest an antlered deer 
if in possession of an Antlered Buck Muzzleloader 
Permit. Any antlered deer taken in Zone 67 must 
have at least one antler with three antler points. A 
total of 350 permits are available.

Winter Bow Season: Jan. 2–31, 2017; Bag limit: 
unlimited antlerless deer and ONE antlered deer. 
Any antlered deer taken in Zone 67 must have at 
least one antler with three antler points. Two deer 
may be taken at one time. Only those portions of 
Zone 67 that are south and west of Rt. 23 will 
be open for the winter bow season.

Deer hunting is prohibited in High Point at all 
other times. Hunters are not permitted in the park 
before 6 a.m. or after 6 p.m. Hunters must visit the 
park’s website for details on the hunt, hunting maps 
and regulations at nj.gov/dep/parksandforests/
parks/highpoint.html. The High Point State Park 
office is located at 1480 Rt. 23 South in Sussex. 
Call (973) 875-4800 for more information on park 
regulations before applying for a Zone 67 permit.

Hunterdon County Park System
Parks within the Hunterdon County Park System 
that are open to deer hunting require a park access 
permit. Applications are available at the Hunterdon 
County Arboretum, Rt. 31, Lebanon, NJ. Before 
hunting, call (908) 782-1158 for more information, 
or log onto co.hunterdon.nj.us and click on Parks 
and Recreation.

Mercer County Parks
The Mercer County Park Commission operates a 
deer management program at Baldpate Mountain 
(DMZ 41) in Hopewell Township. Hunters must 
apply for a county-issued permit. Hunting at Bald-
pate Mountain is allowed only on select days during 
the Permit Shotgun, Six-day Firearm and Permit 
Muzzleloader seasons. 

The Pole Farm section of Mercer Meadows 
(DMZ 12) is open for the bow seasons. 

To hunt Baldpate or the Pole Farm, call 
(609) 303-0706, email jrogers@mercercounty.org 
or check the website at www.mercercountyparks.org 
for season dates and permit requirements.

Howell Living History Farm in Hopewell Town-
ship (DMZ 41) allows limited permit muzzleloader 
and winter bow hunting. A non-refundable $5 fee 
is required. Deer hunting here is prohibited at all 
other times. Call (609) 737-3299 for more informa-
tion, season dates, maps and access permits before 
purchasing a Zone 41 permit.

Middlesex County Park System
Portions of specified parks within the Middlesex 
County Park System are open to deer hunting. A 
park system permit is required. Call (732) 745-8278
for maps and more information.

Monmouth Battlefield 
State Park (Zone 64)
To hunt Monmouth Battlefield State Park, hunters 
must apply for a Zone 64 Permit. Permits will be 
available for sale until 11:59 p.m. on Sunday, 
Oct. 30. Permits will be available for sale at all 
license agents and online over the Internet. A total 
of 100 permits will be available for the Permit Shot-
gun Season. All hunters are required to complete 
and return a registration packet to Monmouth 
Battlefield State Park office prior to Dec. 1, 2016.

Permit Shotgun Season: Dec. 5–10, 2016; Bag 
limit: unlimited antlerless deer. Two deer may be 
taken at one time. A total of 100 permits are available.

Six-day Firearm Season: Dec. 5–10, 2016; Bag 
limit: two antlered deer. Only one buck may be 
taken at a time.

Winter Bow Season: Jan. 2–Feb. 18, 2017; Bag 
limit: unlimited antlerless deer and ONE antlered 
deer. Two deer may be taken at one time.

Deer hunting is prohibited at all other times. 
Hunters must comply with all state park regula-
tions. Call (732) 462-9616 for more information 
on additional park regulations before applying for 
a Zone 64 permit.

Monmouth County Park System
Portions of specified parks within the Monmouth 
County Park System are open to deer hunting. A 
park system permit is required. Call (732) 842-4000 
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or visit monmouthcountyparks.com for maps and 
more information.

Morris County Park System
In accordance with the Park Commission’s deer 
management program, designated areas of select 
parks are open for deer hunting on select dates dur-
ing the Fall Bow, Permit Bow, Winter Bow, Permit 
Shotgun and Permit Muzzleloader seasons. A Park 
Commission access permit is required. Hunting is 
prohibited at all other times. All applicable zone 
regulations apply.

The Morris County Park Commission will supply 
additional information about hunting regulations 
and procedures to those hunters that are issued 
an access permit. Call (973) 326-7622 or visit 
www.morrisparks.net/deer/index.asp for infor-
mation about permit applications.

Ocean County Parks Department 
The Ocean County Department of Parks and Rec-
reation oversees the stewardship of the county’s 
Natural Lands Trust properties. Currently under 
the Natural Lands Trust Program over 13,000 acres 
of land are open to hunting. A full list of properties 
that are open to hunting can be obtained via the 
interactive map at http://www.planning.co.ocean.
nj.us/natlands.htm or by calling the Parks Depart-
ment (732) 506-9090. A complete list of rules and 
regulations may be viewed or downloaded from 
the website.  At this time, there is no registration 
process or permit necessary to hunt on any Ocean 
County Natural Lands Trust properties. Hunters 
are encouraged but not required to call or email to 
inform us what properties you are hunting. This 
information is valuable for numerous safety related 
reasons, including notification if prescribed burn 
is scheduled to take place. For more information 
regarding hunting please contact Geoffrey Lohm-
eyer at glohmeyer@co.ocean.nj.us or 732-506-9090 
x 5941; or Mark Villinger at mvillinger@co.ocean.
nj.us or 732-929-2054 x3055.

Rancocas State Park (Zone 48)
Designated areas of the park are open to deer hunt-
ing during the Fall Bow, Permit Bow and Winter 
Bow seasons. Deer Management Zone 48 regula-
tions apply. The park is closed to deer hunting at 
all other times. Before hunting in Rancocas State 
Park, call (609) 726-1190 for more information.

Round Valley Recreation Area (Zone 12)
Designated portions of the area are open to deer 
hunting during all or portions of the Fall Bow, Per-
mit Bow, Six-day Firearm and Winter Bow seasons. 
Deer Management Zone 12 regulations apply. The 
area is closed to deer hunting at all other times. Any 
area administered by Round Valley, not located 
within Round Valley Recreation Area, is also avail-
able for hunting. Contact the Round Valley office 
for hunting information at (908) 236-6355.

Six-Mile Run Reservoir site, administered 
by D & R Canal State Park (Zone 14)
Designated areas of the park are open to deer hunting 
during the Fall Bow, Permit Bow and Winter Bow 
seasons. Deer Management Zone 14 regulations 

apply. The park is closed to deer hunting at all other 
times. Call the Delaware-Raritan Canal State Park 
(609) 924-5705 for more information and a detailed 
map before hunting in Six-Mile Run Reservoir site.

Spruce Run Recreation Area (Zone 7)
Designated portions of the area are open to bow-
hunting for deer hunting during the Fall Bow, 
Permit Bow and Winter Bow Seasons. Hunting 
is not permitted on Sundays. Deer Management 
Zone 7 regulations apply. The area is closed to deer 
hunting at all other times. Hunters must use the 
boat launch parking lot. Call (908) 638-8572 for 
more information. 

Washington Crossing State Park (Zone 41)
Designated areas of the park are open to deer hunting 
during the Fall Bow, Permit Bow and Winter Bow 
seasons. Deer Management Zone 41 regulations 
apply. The park is closed to deer hunting at all other 
times. Call (609) 737-0623 for more information.

Special Areas— 
Federal Installations  
(other than National 
Wildlife Refuges)
Earle Naval Weapons Station 
Depot (Zone 39) 
(Zone 40 has been incorporated into Zone 39.)
Not open to the general public. The following 
information is provided for civilian employees or 
military personnel assigned to the base. Hunters 
must purchase a Zone 39 permit from license agents 
or via Fish and Wildlife’s Internet license sales site. 
Permits will be available until the quota is met or 
the season ends, whichever comes first. See Deer 
Season Permits, page 16. The hunter is respon-
sible to confirm they have current authorization 
for access to Earle prior to purchasing a permit. 
Purchasing a deer permit for Zone 39 does NOT 
guarantee access to Earle Naval Weapons Station. 
Only those individuals who have authorization for 
hunting privileges and corresponding gate access 
on the installation are allowed to hunt. There are 
no refunds or exchanges for permits that cannot be 
used. Please contact Eric Helms at (732) 866-2337 
for more information. Deer hunting is allowed on 
Christmas Day and New Year’s Day in Zone 39. 

Fall Bow Season (Zone 39): Sept. 10–Oct. 28, 
2016; Bag limit: unlimited antlerless deer and 
ONE antlered deer. First deer must be antlerless 
from Sept. 10–30, 2016. Two deer may be taken 
at one time.

Permit Bow Season (Zone 39): Oct. 29–
Dec. 31, 2016; Bag limit: unlimited antlerless deer. 
In addition, hunters who purchase an Antlered 
Buck Bow Permit may harvest ONE antlered deer. 
A total of 190 permits are available. Two deer may 
be taken at one time.

Six-day Firearm Season (Zone 39): Dec. 5–10, 
2016; Bag limit: two antlered deer. However, if a 
hunter harvests two antlered deer, they forfeit the 
opportunity to harvest an antlered deer during 
the Permit Shotgun Season. Only one buck may 
be taken at a time. 

Permit Muzzleloader (Zone 39): Nov. 28–30 
and Dec. 1–3 and 12–31, 2016 and Jan. 2–Feb.  11, 
2017; Bag limit: unlimited antlerless deer. In addi-
tion, hunters who purchase an Antlered Buck 
Muzzleloader Permit may harvest ONE antlered 
deer. Two deer may be taken at one time. A total 
of 100 permits are available.

Permit Shotgun Season (Zone 39): Dec. 3, 
5–10, 17, 24 and 31, 2016 and Jan. 7, 14, 21, 28 
and Feb. 4, 11, 2017; Bag limit: unlimited ant-
lerless deer. In addition, hunters who purchase 
an Antlered Buck Shotgun Permit may harvest 
ONE antlered deer. However, for hunters who 
harvest two deer during the Six-day Firearm Sea-
son, the bag limit in the Permit Shotgun Season 
is restricted to unlimited antlerless deer only. Two 
deer may be taken at one time. A total of 160 per-
mits are available.

Winter Bow Season (Zone 39): Jan. 2–Feb. 18, 
2017; Bag limit: unlimited antlerless deer and ONE 
antlered deer. Two deer may be taken at one time.

Federal Aviation Administration William 
J. Hughes Technical Center (Zone 66)
The Technical Center is open to deer hunt-
ing through a cooperative agreement between 
the FAATC, New Jersey Division of Fish and 
Wildlife, and the New Jersey State Federation 
of Sportsmen’s Clubs (NJSFSC). Membership in 
the NJSFSC is required to obtain access to the 
Technical Center for deer hunting. Hunters wish-
ing to hunt Zone 66 must have approval from the 
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administrative authority of FAA Technical Center 
(Zone 66) before purchasing a Zone 66 Permit. 
Call (609) 485-6938 for more information.

Not open to the general public. Hunters must 
purchase their Zone 66 permits from license 
agents or via Fish and Wildlife’s Internet license 
sales site. Permits will be available for sale until 
the season ends or the permit quota is reached, 
whichever comes first. The hunter is responsible 
to confirm they have current authorization for 
access to FAATC prior to purchasing a permit. 
Purchasing a deer permit for Zone 66 does NOT 
guarantee access to the Federal Aviation Adminis-
tration Technical Center. Only those individuals 
who have authorization for hunting privileges 
and corresponding gate access on the installa-
tion are allowed to hunt. There are no refunds 
or exchanges for permits that cannot be used.

The use of bait is prohibited in Zone 66.
Fall Bow Season: Sept. 10–Sept. 30, 2016; First 

deer must be antlerless. Oct. 1–Oct. 28, 2016; 
antlered or antlerless deer. Bag limit: unlimited 
antlerless deer and ONE antlered deer. 

Permit Bow Season: Oct. 29–Dec. 24 and 
Dec. 26–31, 2016; Bag limit: unlimited antler-
less deer. In addition, hunters who purchase an 
Antlered Buck Bow Permit may harvest ONE 
antlered deer. A total of 80 permits are available.

Permit Muzzleloader Season: Nov. 26–Dec. 3 
and Dec. 9, 10, 2016 and Jan. 7, 14, 2017; Bag limit: 
unlimited antlerless deer. In addition, hunters who 
purchase an Antlered Buck Muzzleloader Permit 
may harvest ONE antlered deer. Two deer may be 
taken at one time. A total of 15 permits are available.

Permit Shotgun Season: Nov. 26–Dec. 3 and 
Dec. 9, 10, 2016 and Jan. 7, 14, 2017; Bag limit: 
unlimited antlerless deer. In addition, hunters who 
purchase an Antlered Buck Shotgun Permit may 
harvest ONE antlered deer. However, for hunters 
who harvest two antlered deer during the Six-day 
Firearm Season, the Bag limit in the Permit Shot-
gun Season is restricted to unlimited antlerless 
deer only. Two deer may be taken at one time. A 
total of 65 permits are available.

Winter Bow Season: Jan. 2–31, 2017; Bag limit: 
unlimited antlerless deer and ONE antlered deer.

Dix-McGuire section of Joint Base 
McGuire-Dix-Lakehurst, U.S. Air 
Force, that formerly consisted of Fort 
Dix Military Reservation (Zone 37)
Hunters must purchase a Zone 37 permit. Permits 
will be available for sale until the season ends or the 
permit quota is reached, whichever comes first. Per-
mits may be purchased at license agents or via Fish 
and Wildlife’s Internet license sales site. The hunter 
is responsible to confirm they have current authori-
zation for access to Dix-McGuire prior to purchas-
ing a permit. Purchasing a deer permit for Zone 37 
does NOT guarantee access. Only those individuals 
who have authorization for hunting privileges and 
corresponding gate access on the installation are 
allowed to hunt. There are no refunds or exchanges 
for permits that cannot be used. 

Hunters must comply with all Dix-McGuire 

regulations. Persons hunting on this post must sign 
in and out at Range 14 each day when hunting. Mili-
tary training will take precedence over hunting. Call 
Range 14 at (609) 562-4676 on Wednesday/Friday 
2 p.m.–8 p.m. or Saturday/Sunday 9 a.m.–4 p.m. 
for more information and fee schedules. Deer hunt-
ing is not permitted on Christmas Day or New 
Year’s Day in Zone 37.

Fall Bow Season: Oct. 1–28, 2016; Bag limit: 
unlimited antlerless deer and ONE antlered deer. 
Two deer may be taken at one time. 

Permit Bow Season: Oct. 29–Dec. 24 and 
26–31, 2016; Bag limit: unlimited antlerless deer. 
In addition, hunters who purchase an Antlered 
Buck Bow Permit may harvest ONE antlered deer. 
A total of 330 permits are available for Zone 37. 
Two deer may be taken at one time.

Six-day Firearm Season: Dec. 5–10, 2016; Bag 
limit: two antlered deer. However, if a hunter har-
vests two antlered deer, they forfeit the opportunity 
to harvest an antlered deer during the Permit Shot-
gun Season. Only one buck may be taken at a time. 

Permit Muzzleloader Season: Nov. 28–30 and 
Dec. 1–3, 12–14 and 26–31, 2016 and Jan. 2–7, 
2017; Bag limit: two deer; one may be antlered 
only for hunters who purchase an Antlered Buck 
Muzzleloader Permit. A total of 480 permits are 
available for Zone 37.

Permit Shotgun Season: Dec. 24, 26 and 27, 2016; 
Bag limit: two deer, one may be antlered only for 
hunters who purchase an Antlered Buck Shot-gun 
Permit. However, for hunters who harvest two 
antlered deer during the Six-day Firearm Season, 
the bag limit in the Permit Shotgun Season is 
restricted to two antlerless deer only. A total of 
100 permits are available for Zone 37.

Winter Bow Season: Jan. 2–Feb. 18, 2017; Bag 
limit: unlimited antlerless deer and ONE antlered 
deer. Two deer may be taken at one time.

Lakehurst section of Joint Base 
McGuire-Dix-Lakehurst, U.S. Air Force, 
that formerly consisted of Lakehurst 
Naval Air Engineering Station (Zone 53)
Hunters must purchase Zone 53 permits from 
license agents or via Fish and Wildlife’s Internet 
license sales site. Permits will be available until the 
quota is met or the season ends, whichever comes 
first. See Deer Season Permits, page 16. The 
hunter is responsible to confirm they have current 
authorization for access to the Lakehurst section 
prior to purchasing a permit. Purchasing a deer 
permit for Zone 53 does NOT guarantee access 
to the Lakehurst section. Only those individuals 
who have authorization for hunting privileges and 
corresponding gate access on the installation are 
allowed to hunt. There are no refunds or exchanges 
for permits that cannot be used. 

There is limited public hunting for hunters 
who are sponsored by current members of the 
Navy Lakehurst Rod and Gun Club. Military 
training will take precedence over hunting. Call 
(732) 323-2911 for more information. Deer hunt-
ing is not permitted on Christmas Day in Zone 53.

Fall Bow Season: Sept. 10–Oct. 28, 2016; 
Bag limit: unlimited antlerless deer and ONE 
antlered deer. First deer must be antlerless from 
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Sept. 10–30, 2016. Two deer may be taken at one time.
Permit Bow Season: Oct. 29–Dec. 24 and 

26–31, 2016; Bag limit: unlimited antlerless deer. 
In addition, hunters who purchase an Antlered 
Buck Bow Permit may harvest ONE antlered deer. 
A total of 100 permits are available. Two deer may 
be taken at one time.

Six-day Firearm Season: Dec. 5–10, 2016; Bag 
limit: two antlered deer. However, if a hunter har-
vests two antlered deer, they forfeit the opportunity 
to harvest an antlered deer during the Permit Shot-
gun Season. Only one buck may be taken at a time. 

Permit Muzzleloader Season: Nov. 26 and 
28–30 and Dec. 1–3, 12–24 and 26–31, 2016 and 
Jan. 1–14, 2017; Bag limit: unlimited antlerless 
deer. In addition, hunters who purchase an Ant-
lered Buck Muzzleloader Permit may harvest ONE 
antlered deer. A total of 100 permits are available.

Permit Shotgun Season: Dec. 5–10 and 14–16, 
2016 and Jan. 7–14, 2017; Bag limit: unlimited 
antlerless deer. In addition, hunters who purchase 
an Antlered Buck Shotgun Permit may harvest 
ONE antlered deer. However, for hunters who har-
vest two antlered deer during the Six-day Firearm 
Season, the bag limit in the Permit Shotgun Sea-
son is restricted to unlimited antlerless deer only.  
A total of 100 permits are available.

Winter Bow Season: Jan. 2–31, 2017; Bag limit: 
two deer—only one may be antlered.

Picatinny Arsenal (Zone 54)
Not open to the general public. The following 
information is provided for active duty or retired 
military personnel and Picatinny Arsenal federal 
civilian employees or retirees only. Contact Jon Van 
De Ventor at 973-724-4691 for more information. 
Deer hunting is not permitted on Christmas Day in 
Zone 54. There is no Sunday bow hunting allowed 
in Deer Management Zone 54.

Hunters must purchase a Zone 54 permit from 
license agents or via Fish and Wildlife’s Internet 
license sales site. Permits will be for sale until the 
season ends or the permit quota is reached. See Deer 
Season Permits, page 16. The hunter is responsible 
to confirm they have current authorization for access 
to Picatinny Arsenal prior to purchasing a permit. 
Purchasing a Zone 54 permit does NOT guarantee 
access to Picatinny Arsenal. Only those individuals 
who have authorization for hunting privileges and 
corresponding gate access on the installation are 
allowed to hunt. There are no refunds or exchanges 
for permits that can not be used.

Fall Bow Season: Oct. 1–28, 2016; Bag limit: 
unlimited antlerless deer and one antlered deer. 
Two deer may be taken at one time.

Permit Bow Season: Oct. 29–Dec. 24, 26–31, 
2016; Bag limit: unlimited antlerless deer. In addi-
tion, hunters who purchase an Antlered Buck Bow 
Permit may harvest ONE antlered deer A total of 
60 permits are available. Two deer may be taken 
at one time.

Six-day Firearm Season: Dec. 5–10, 2016; Bag 
limit: two antlered deer. However, if a hunter har-
vests two antlered deer, they forfeit the opportunity 
to harvest an antlered deer during the Permit Shot-
gun Season. Only one buck may be taken at a time. 

Permit Muzzleloader Season: Nov. 28, 29 and 

Regulations in red are new this year.
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Dec. 12–24, 26–31, 2016 and Jan. 2–7, 2017; Bag 
limit: unlimited antlerless deer. In addition, hunt-
ers who purchase an Antlered Buck Muzzleloader 
Permit may harvest ONE antlered deer. Two deer 
may be taken at one time. A total of 50 permits 
are available.

Permit Shotgun Season: Dec. 5–10 and 17, 2016 
and Jan. 7 and 9–13, 2017; Bag limit: unlimited 
antlerless deer. In addition, hunters who purchase 
an Antlered Buck Shotgun Permit may harvest 
ONE antlered deer. However, for hunters who 
harvest two antlered deer during the Six-day Fire-
arm Season, the bag limit in the Permit Shotgun 
Season is restricted to unlimited antlerless deer 
only. Two deer may be taken at one time. A total 
of 50 permits are available.

Winter Bow Season: Jan. 2–31, 2017; Bag limit: 
unlimited antlerless deer and ONE antlered deer. 
Two deer may be taken at one time.

Special Areas— 
U.S. Fish and Wildlife 
Service, National Wildlife 
Refuge System
Special regulations for U.S. Fish and Wildlife 
Service (USFWS) lands are in effect throughout 
all authorized deer hunting seasons, in addition to 
state game laws and regulations. NOTE: No Sun-
day bowhunting on national wildlife refuges. The 

following federal regulations apply to all national 
wildlife refuges (NWRs) in New Jersey:
1. Hunting over bait or distributing bait is pro-

hibited on all refuges.
2. The use of a spotlight or other artificial light—

including automotive headlights—for the pur-
pose of spotting, locating or taking any wild-
life is prohibited on all refuges, regardless of 
whether one is in possession of a weapon.

3. All firearm hunters (muzzleloader and shot-
gun) must wear an outer garment consisting 
of at least 400 square inches of solid fluores-
cent orange while deer hunting on any refuge 
(double the state law requirement).

4.  Entry is prohibited on all refuge lands posted 
Area Closed and on refuge roadways posted with 
Inholders Only signs.

5. The use of nails, wire, screws or bolts to attach 
a stand to a tree, or hunting from a tree into 
which a metal object has been driven to support 
a hunter, is prohibited on all refuges. 

Most refuges can accommodate individuals who 
have obtained a permit for handicapped hunters 
from New Jersey Division of Fish and Wildlife, 
including permits to hunt from vehicles. Interested 
persons should contact the appropriate refuge in 
advance of the deer hunting seasons.

Cape May NWR
Cape May NWR is open for all six deer seasons. 
Season dates and bag limits for Deer Management 
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Zone 34 will apply. Contact the refuge office for 
more information at (609) 463-0994.

Edwin B. Forsythe NWR  
(Zones 56, 57, 58 and 70)
To hunt Edwin B. Forsythe NWR, hunters must 
possess the proper permits. Permits will be avail-
able for sale until 11:59 p.m. on SATURDAY, 
Oct. 1. There are NO exceptions. Permits will be 
available for sale at all License Agents and online. 

Only designated sections of the Edwin B. For-
sythe NWR are open for deer hunting. All other 
areas are closed. The refuge only allows deer hunt-
ing by permit. While the Permit Bow, Permit Shot-
gun and Permit Muzzleloader seasons may overlap 
the Six-Day Firearm season dates, refuge hunting is 
only conducted under applicable permit regulations, 
not Six-day Firearm Season regulations. 

Refuge parking permits and hunt maps will be 
mailed to hunters after the refuge receives notifica-
tion of permit holders from New Jersey Division of 
Fish and Wildlife. Hunt maps are also available on 
the refuge website at http://www.fws.gov/refuge/
edwin_b_forsythe/. Not all refuge deer hunting 
zones are posted with National Wildlife Refuge 
property and boundary signs. It is the hunter’s 
responsibility to know the zone boundaries.

The refuge encourages hunter feedback on your 
refuge hunting experience. For any questions, infor-
mation or comments regarding refuge-specific hunt-
ing regulations or activities, call the refuge manager 
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at (609) 652-1665. Additional information about 
the refuge may also be found at the refuge's Facebook 
page: www.Facebook.com/ForsytheNWR.

Edwin B. Forsythe NWR (Zone 56) is open 
for deer hunting to properly licensed hunters 
as follows:
• Permit Shotgun Season (Zone 56): Dec. 12–16, 

2016; Bag limit: unlimited antlerless deer. In 
addition, hunters who purchase an Antlered Buck 
Shotgun Permit may harvest ONE antlered deer. 
However, for hunters who harvest two antlered 
deer—not on the refuge—during the Six-day 
Firearm Season, the bag limit in the Permit Shot-
gun Season is restricted to unlimited antlerless 
deer only. Two deer may be taken at one time. 
A total of 25 permits are available for Zone 56.

Edwin B. Forsythe NWR (Zone 57) is open 
for deer hunting to properly licensed hunters 
as follows: 
• Permit Bow Season (Zone 57): Oct. 29–Dec. 24, 

26–31, 2016; Bag limit: unlimited antlerless deer. 
In addition, hunters who purchase an Antlered 
Buck Bow Permit may harvest ONE antlered deer. 
A total of 40 permits are available for Zone 57. 

• Permit Muzzleloader (Zone 57): Nov. 28–29, 
Dec. 12, 13, 17–24, 26–31, 2016 and Jan. 2–6, 
2017; Bag limit: unlimited antlerless deer. In 
addition, hunters who purchase an Antlered Buck 
Muzzleloader Permit may harvest ONE antlered 
deer. Two deer may be taken at a time. A total of 
40 permits are available for Zone 57.

• Permit Shotgun Season (Zone 57): Dec. 5–10, 
2016 are antlerless deer only. Antlered or ant-
lerless: Dec. 14–16, 2016 and Jan. 7–31, 2017; 
Bag limit: unlimited antlerless deer. In addition, 
hunters who purchase an Antlered Buck Shotgun 
Permit may harvest ONE antlered deer. However, 
for hunters who harvest two antlered deer—not 
on the refuge—during the Six-day Firearm Sea-
son, the bag limit in the Permit Shotgun Season 
is restricted to unlimited antlerless deer only. Two 
deer may be taken at a time. A total of 40 permits 
are available for Zone 57.

Edwin B. Forsythe NWR (Zone 58) is open 
for deer hunting to properly licensed hunters 
as follows:
• Permit Bow Season (Zone 58): Oct. 29–Dec. 24, 

26–31, 2016; Bag limit: unlimited antlerless deer. 
In addition, hunters who purchase an Antlered 
Buck Bow Permit may harvest ONE antlered deer. 
A total of 35 permits are available for Zone 58.

• Permit Muzzleloader (Zone 58): Nov. 28–29, 
Dec. 12, 13, 17–24, 26–31, 2016 and Jan. 2–6, 
2017; Bag limit: unlimited antlerless deer. In 
addition, hunters who purchase an Antlered Buck 
Muzzleloader Permit may harvest ONE antlered 
deer. Two deer may be taken at a time. A total of 
35 permits are available for Zone 58.

• Permit Shotgun Season (Zone 58): Nov. 30–
Dec. 2 and 5–10 are antlerless deer only. Antlered 
or antlerless: Dec. 14–16, 2016 and Jan. 7–14, 
2017; Bag limit: unlimited antlerless deer. In 
addition, hunters who purchase an Antlered Buck 
Shotgun Permit may harvest ONE antlered deer. 
However, for hunters who harvest two antlered 
deer—not on the refuge—during the Six-day 
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Firearm Season, the bag limit in the Permit Shot-
gun Season is restricted to unlimited antlerless 
deer only. Two deer may be taken at a time. A total 
of 50 permits are available for Zone 58. 

Edwin B. Forsythe NWR (Zone 70) is open 
for deer hunting to properly licensed hunters 
as follows:
• Permit Bow Season (Zone 70): Oct. 29–Dec. 24, 

26–31, 2016; Bag limit: unlimited antlerless deer. 
In addition, hunters who purchase an Antlered 
Buck Bow Permit may harvest ONE antlered deer. 
A total of 15 permits are available for Zone 70. 

• Permit Muzzleloader (Zone 70): Nov. 28–29, 
Dec. 12, 13, 17–24, 26–31, 2016 and Jan. 2–6, 
2017; Bag limit: unlimited antlerless deer. In 
addition, hunters who purchase an Antlered Buck 
Muzzleloader Permit may harvest ONE antlered 
deer. A total of 15 permits are available for Zone 70.

• Permit Shotgun Season (Zone 70): Dec. 14–16, 
2016 and Jan. 14–21, 2017; Bag limit: unlimited 
antlerless deer. In addition, hunters who purchase 
an Antlered Buck Shotgun Permit may harvest 
ONE antlered deer. However, for hunters who 
harvest two antlered deer—not on the refuge—
during the Six-day Firearm Season, the bag limit 
in the Permit Shotgun Season is restricted to 
unlimited antlerless deer only. A total of 25 per-
mits are available for Zone 70.

Zones 56, 57, 58 and 70 are closed to deer hunt-
ing at all other times.

Great Swamp NWR (Zone 38)
To hunt Great Swamp NWR, hunters must possess 
a Zone 38 permit. Permits will be available for sale 
until 11:59 p.m. on SATURDAY, Oct. 1. There 
are NO exceptions. Permits will be available for sale 
at all license agents and online over the Internet.

The refuge is open only for Permit Muzzleloader 
and Permit Shotgun season hunting and closed to 
deer hunting at all other times. Hunters may apply 
only for either a Permit Muzzleloader or a Permit 
Shotgun permit, not both. In addition to the state 
permit, the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service will 
charge a $26 fee ($13 for holders of a Senior, Golden 
Age, or Golden Access Passport and youths with 
a valid 2016 New Jersey Youth hunting license) 
to issue a federal hunting permit. The refuge will 
supply additional information on hunt procedures 
and regulations to those hunters who obtain their 
Zone 38 permit from NJ Fish and Wildlife via the 
lottery. For more information, contact the refuge 
wildlife biologist at (973) 425-1222 ext. 158.

Great Swamp NWR (Zone 38) is open for deer 
hunting to properly licensed hunters as follows:
• Permit Muzzleloader and Permit Shotgun Sea-

son (concurrent): Nov. 5 and 9–12, 2016. On 
Nov. 5 (Saturday), hunting is only for youths who 
possess a valid 2016 New Jersey Youth hunting 
license and a Zone 38 permit. Youths must be 
accompanied by a licensed but non-hunting adult 
that is at least 21 years of age. Bag limit: one 
deer—either antlerless or antlered. Hunters must 
be in possession of the appropriate Antlered Buck 
Permit before attempting to take an antlered deer. 
A total of 200 muzzleloader and 200 shotgun 

Regulations in red are new this year.

Wildlife Services Technician Amy DeCheser darted and anesthetized this deer as a button buck in 
Rockaway in November 2013 to remove the stuck plastic pumpkin pail. A metal ear tag was affixed to 
the young buck before release. In October of 2015, a hunter notified Fish and Wildlife of the ear-tagged 
deer when he harvested the buck within one mile of where it was first captured.
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permits are available. The eastern side of the ref-
uge (approximately 4,000 acres) will be open to 
muzzleloader hunting only and the western side 
of the refuge (approximately 3,700 acres) will be 
open to muzzleloader and shotgun hunting.

Supawna Meadows NWR (Zone 63)
Supawna Meadows NWR is open for Fall Bow, 
Youth Bow Day, Permit Bow and Winter Bow sea-
sons ONLY! The use of firearms is prohibited on 
Supawna Meadows NWR. No refuge permit fee 
is required to hunt Supawna Meadows NWR. For 
more information, call (609) 463-0994.

Any antlered deer taken on Supawna Meadows 
NWR must have at least one antler with three or 
more antler points.

Supawna Meadows NWR is open for deer hunt-
ing to properly licensed hunters as follows:
• Fall Bow Season: Sept. 10–Oct. 28, 2016; Bag 

limit: unlimited antlerless deer and ONE ant-
lered deer. First deer must be antlerless from 
Sept. 10–30, 2016. First deer may be antlered or 
antlerless from Oct. 1–28, 2016.

• Youth Day (Bow): Sept. 24, 2016; Bag limit: one 
deer of either sex.

• Permit Bow Season: Oct. 29–Dec. 24, 26–31, 
2016; Bag limit: unlimited antlerless deer. In 
addition, hunters who purchase an Antlered 
Buck Bow Permit may harvest ONE antlered 
deer. NOTE: Hunters MUST have a Zone 63 
Permit Bow Season permit to hunt the Supawna 
Meadows NWR during the Permit Bow Season.

• Winter Bow Season: Jan. 2–31, 2017; Bag limit: 
unlimited antlerless deer and ONE antlered deer.

• Supawna Meadows NWR is closed to deer hunt-
ing at all other times.

Wallkill River NWR (Zone 2)
Designated areas of the refuge are open during all six 
deer seasons. Season dates and bag limits for Zone 
2 apply. An annual hunting map, additional regula-
tions and a signed access permit from the refuge must 
be obtained prior to scouting or hunting. The access 
permit is $30 (permit is free for youth; discounts 
available for those with Federal Senior or Access 
Passes) and must be signed and carried at all times 
when hunting on refuge property. Permits can be 
purchased online at www.WallkillRiverPermits.com; 
for more information, visit our website at www.fws.
gov/refuge/Wallkill_River/visit/hunting.html, or 
call (973) 702-7266.

Special Areas— 
Other Public Lands
Bayside PSEG Tract (Zone 29)
Hunters interested in hunting this 4,500-acre PSEG 
property located in Greenwich Township, Cumber-
land County may visit www.pseg.com/environment/
estuary or call (888) MARSHES for more infor-
mation. Driving of deer is prohibited on all PSEG 
lands. Season dates and bag limits for Zone 29 apply. 

Horseshoe Bend Park (Zone 11)
Horseshoe Bend Park and adjacent state lands in 
Kingwood Township are open for limited deer 

hunting through a lottery system. Hunting in 
this park is prohibited at all other times. There 
is a non-refundable $5 fee for each season lottery 
application. Contact the Kingwood Township 
Park Commission at (908) 996-4276 or go to 
www.kingwoodtownship.com/parks for more infor-
mation, season dates, maps and hunter access details.

Kingwood Township— 
Ukarish Property (Zone 11)
The Ukarish Property is open for limited deer hunt-
ing through a first-come, first-served process (limit 10 
hunters) for bow hunting only. Hunting in this park is 
prohibited at all other times. Contact the Kingwood 
Township Park Commission at (908) 996-4276 
or go to www.kingwoodtownship.com/parks for 
more information, season dates, maps and hunter 
access details.

Lizard Tail Swamp (Zone 34)
This 400-acre property, jointly owned by New Jer-
sey Division of Fish and Wildlife and The Nature 
Conservancy (TNC), is located in Middle Town-
ship, Cape May County. A TNC access permit is 
required. Call (609) 861-0600 for permit applica-
tions, maps and site-specific regulations. Season 
dates and bag limits for Zone 34 apply. 

Deer Hunting Seasons
SPECIAL AREAS INFORMATION

Hunters Helping the Hungry, an organization 
that has enabled hunters to provide over one 
million servings of tasty and nutritious venison 
to feed New Jersey families since 1997, needs 
some help from the public to cover the costs of 
professional meat processing. 

The program, which donated more than 15,549 
pounds of venison (from 433 hunter-provided 
deer) to food banks and charitable organizations 
last year alone, operates with limited funding. 
Butchers who participate in the Hunters Helping 
the Hungry program receive $65 to process the 
donated deer. Currently, hunters who donate deer 
to feed the hungry must contribute either $10 (for 
field-dressed deer weighing 50 lbs. or more) or 
$25 (for deer under 50 lbs.) toward that process-
ing fee. However, starting on Dec. 12 after the 
Six-day Firearm Season ends, the hunter fee will 
be waived except for small deer (dressed weight 
under 50 pounds) where the hunter fee will 
remain at $25. If the program’s funding runs out, 
hunters who donate deer will have to cover the 
entire cost for meat-processing. 

Hunters should check on funding availability 
before harvesting a deer intended for donation 
by visiting the website below. 

Anyone interested in making a charitable 
contribution to offset the program’s meat-
processing costs can visit our website at 
HuntersHelpingTheHungry.org to donate 
securely through PayPal or send a check pay-
able to: Hunters Helping the Hungry, P.O. Box 
587, Lebanon, NJ 08833.

Participating Butchers Include:

Newton High School, Newton 
(973) 383-7573 x243 (Call first for instructions.)

Game Butchers  
The Person Family, Lebanon (908) 735-4646

57 West Deer Processing 
Phillipsburg (908) 619-0195

Hunterdon Deer Butcher (908) 797-2315 
51 Old Franklin School Rd., Pittstown 

Bishop’s Market 
Whitehouse Station (908) 534-9666

V. Roche & Son, LLC Meat Processing 
9 High St., Whitehouse Station (908) 534-2006

The Hunter’s Butcher (732) 414-1446 
967 Route 524 (Adelphia near Howell)

The Buck Stop, Stanley Mihalecz (856) 794-1281 
989 Alvine Rd., Pittsgrove, Salem Co.

Bringhurst Fine Meats/Catering 
Berlin (856) 767-0110

Butchers might not accept donated deer 
during the Six-day Firearm Buck Season,  
decided by individual butchers on a 
day-to-day basis, from Dec. 5–10, 2016, 
so they can accommodate their regular 
customers. Hunters should contact the 
butcher in advance. 

For upcoming fundraising events such 
as sporting clay shoots, a striper fish-
ing trip and a 3-D archery shoot, visit 
HuntersHelpingtheHungry.org.

Hunters Helping the Hungry Needs 
Help with Meat-processing Costs

Newark Watershed (Zones 3 and 6)
The Newark Watershed, located in Morris, Pas-
saic and Sussex counties, is open to deer hunt-
ing from September to December. A watershed 
access permit is required. Call (973) 697-1724 or 
(973) 697-1758 for access permit applications, maps 
and site-specific regulations. Season dates and bag 
limits for Zone 3 and Zone 6 apply.

Franklin Parker Preserve and  
Four Mile Spring Preserve (Zone 68)
Hunters must purchase Zone 68 permits from 
license agents or via Fish and Wildlife’s Internet 
license sales site. See Deer Season Permits, page 16. 
The hunter is responsible to confirm they have 
current authorization for access prior to purchas-
ing a permit. The purchase of a deer permit for 
Zone 68 does NOT guarantee access to Zone 68. 
There are no refunds or exchanges for permits that 
cannot be used. 

Franklin Parker Preserve and Four Mile Spring 
Preserve are managed by the New Jersey Conserva-
tion Foundation. Designated areas of these preserves 
are open to deer hunting. Contact the Foundation 
directly at (908) 234-1225 for more information.

Season dates and bag limits for Regulation Set 
#6 apply. 
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New Jersey's  
Aging Forests 
By Andrew Burnett, Principal Biologist

Characterized by few or no mature trees,
young forest habitat (10–20 years of age) includes 
a diverse mix of shrubs and/or tree seedlings and 
saplings, along with openings where grasses and 
wildflowers grow. This important habitat type is 
dwindling throughout the northeastern United 
States, representing only 10 percent of the Mid-
Atlantic’s land area. Forests cover 42 percent of 
New Jersey, but only about 5 percent of our forest 
is considered young.

Populations of at least 89 bird, mammal 
and reptile species have fallen significantly 
over the past century due to the ongoing decline in 

young forest acreage. Current conservation plans 
call for the creation of 600,000 acres of young for-
est in New Jersey annually to restore populations 
of American woodcock and ruffed grouse and to 
safeguard populations of songbirds such as the 
golden-winged warbler, eastern towhee, brown 
thrasher and prairie warbler.

Species often considered forest dwellers
also depend on young forests. The abundant insects 
and berries produced in young forest habitat help 
newly fledged birds grow and to fuel up for a 
successful autumn migration. Black bears gorge 
themselves on berries to build up fat reserves before 

winter hibernation. Snakes hunt for quarry that are 
themselves drawn to patches of young forest to find 
meals of their own.

Support young-forest projects on public 
and private lands–projects that often provide 
revenue, jobs and sustainable, locally produced tim-
ber products as well as more and better opportu-
nities for outdoor recreation such as birding and 
wildlife viewing. 

Learn more about young forests at http://
www.youngforest.org and more about New Jer-
sey’s forests at http://www.nrs.fs.fed.us/pubs/rb/
rb_nrs59.pdf.

Forests cover 42 percent of New Jersey, but only about 5 percent of our forest is 
considered young. Populations of at least 89 bird, mammal and reptile species have fallen 
significantly over the past century due to the ongoing decline in young forest acreage.

Area of forest land (percentage) by stand-age class in New Jersey, 1999 and 2008.
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For More Information Call: 609-971-3085
Web: www.OceanCountyParks.org
Email: GGeorgieff@co.ocean.nj.us

Mail: Wells Mills County Park
905 Wells Mills Rd

Waretown, NJ 08758
Fax: 609-971-9540

34th Annual 
Ocean County 
Decoy & Gunning 
Show

September 
24 & 25, 2016

Saturday: 7:00 AM – 5:00 PM
Sunday: 7:00 Am–4:00 PM

TUCKERTON, NJ
ADMISSION: FREE

Rain or Shine
VISIT BOTH TUCKERTON LOCATIONS:

Tip Seaman County Park, 
Lakeside Drive & Route 9

Tuckerton Seaport, Route 9

FEATURING
New & Antique Decoys

Hunting & Fishing Gear • Collectables 
Duck Boats • Hunting Guide Services 

Demonstrations • Music & Food 

SPONSORED BY: 
              Ocean County Board of Chosen Freeholders   

John C. Bartlett, Jr., Chairman of Parks & Recreation     
John P. Kelly, Gerry P. Little, 

Joseph H. Vicari, Virginia E. Haines
Ocean County Department of Parks & Recreation

CONTESTS
Decoy Carving • Decorative Carving
Boat Building •Duck & Goose Calling

Dock Dogs • Hunting Retriever
Art & Photo • Youth Contests
Skeetshoot from a Sneakbox 

Above: For a baseline reference image, this field at the Edwin B. Forsythe 
National Wildlife Refuge was photographed in June of 2013.

Large photo: Success! By comparison, this image was taken in the same 
general area as the photo above, showing a later successional stage, or 
progression, of vegetation types and diversity. The U.S. Fish and Wildlife 
Service conducts this work to improve scrub-shrub habitat for early succes-
sional-associated wildlife species such as bobwhite, cottontail rabbit, field 
sparrow and prairie warbler.
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Wildlife Violator  
Acknowledges Responsibility  
for His Actions
My name is Martin Kaszycki and in October 2012, I illegally killed a male, American black bear adjacent to my hunting and fishing shop in New Jersey to 
display as a trophy. This bear was an older, non-nuisance, bear and weighed more than 450 pounds. I shot the bear from an elevated tree stand, with a bow 
and arrow, out of hunting season, in an area closed to hunting, after setting out bear bait within 300 feet of my stand, knowing this was all in violation of 
New Jersey state laws. I then drove the bear across state lines multiple times and provided false information on official state forms by stating that the bear 
had been killed in New York. When New Jersey Division of Fish and Wildlife (NJDFW) Conservation Officers confronted me about the bear, I told them 
I had killed the bear in New York. Realizing I was under investigation, I staged a fake kill site in New York to support my story. NJDFW collected evidence 
and started a joint investigation with the United States Fish and Wildlife Service.

In November 2014, I entered a plea in federal court to two counts of violating the Lacey Act. The Lacey Act prohibits the interstate transport of wildlife 
taken or possessed in violation of any state law or regulation, as well as the making or submitting of a false record for wildlife that has been or is intended to 
be transported in interstate commerce. I also agreed to an obstruction enhancement at sentencing for engaging in acts to cover up the fact that I had illegally 
killed this bear in New Jersey.

I faced a maximum penalty of up to one year in federal prison and a $100,000 fine. As part of my plea agreement, I will pay a fine of $5,000 to the U.S. Fish 
and Wildlife Service Lacey Act Reward Fund, forfeit the skull and hide of the bear, submit this letter to the NJDFW Hunting and Trapping Digest for 
public outreach, pay $1,250 to the Woodlands Wildlife Refuge for the care of American black bears in New Jersey, and undergo a three year period of federal 
probation, during which time, I will lose my hunting, fishing, and trapping privileges in all 50 states.

I apologize for my conduct and accept responsibility for it. When we as hunters violate state and federal wildlife laws, we dishonor our code of hunting ethics, 
gain an unfair advantage over wildlife, and threaten the sustainability of important species and the ecosystems that support them.

I would encourage anyone who has information about illegal hunting, trapping, or fishing in New Jersey, to notify NJDFW at 1-877-WARN-DEP 
(877-927-6337).

Sincerely,

Martin KaszyckiaMaMaMaMMaaMM rtrttrtini KKKassaszzyzyyzyzyyccckkckckkkckc iii
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Bear Hunting
REGUL ATIONS

Black Bear Hunting Season 
Hunting Hours: Legal hunting hours for black 

bears shall be ½ hour before sunrise to ½ hour after 
sunset.

2016 Black Bear Season 
Hunting Dates

Hunting 
Segment

Legal Sporting Arms Dates

A Archery
Mon., Oct. 10– 

Sat., Oct. 15, 2016

A
Archery / 

Muzzleloader

Thurs., Oct. 13– 

Sat., Oct. 15, 2016

B
Shotgun / 

Muzzleloader

Mon., Dec. 5– 

Sat., Dec. 10, 2016

B Extension  

(if authorized)

Shotgun / 

Muzzleloader

Wed., Dec. 14– 

Sat., Dec. 17, 2016

Bag Limit: One bear of either sex and any age 
may be harvested per permit, but only one bear 
may be harvested per segment, regardless of the 
number of permits the hunter holds. A total of two 
bears may be harvested per hunter—one bear in 
segment A and one bear in segment B, with valid 
permits. It is unlawful to take or attempt to take 
or continue to hunt for more than the number of 
black bear permitted. 

Special permit requirement: All black bear 
hunters must have a current and valid archery or 
firearm or all-around sportsman hunting license 
and a special Black Bear Hunting Permit issued 
by Fish and Wildlife. See Black Bear Management 
Zones page 52; see also Black Bear Hunting Per-
mits, page 12. Hunters are limited to purchasing 
two black bear hunting permits, one each for two 
different zones. If no bear is taken during Segment 
A, the permit(s) is still valid for hunting in Seg-
ment B. If a hunter harvests a bear during Segment 
A, that permit is no longer valid. However, the 
hunter may purchase an additional permit for that 
zone where the harvest was made, if available when 
permit sales reopen in November to hunt during 
Segment B in December.

Youth Bear Hunters: Youth hunters with a valid 
hunting license must also possess a black bear 
hunting permit. Youth hunters aged 10 through 
13 on or before October 9, 2016 must be under the 
direct supervision of a properly licensed adult (21 
years of age or older) while bear hunting. The adult 
must also possess a black bear hunting permit. 
Direct supervision means the youth hunter and the 
supervising adult are together at the same location. 
The youth hunter may not hunt independently of 
the adult. 

The lottery for bear permits has been elimi-
nated. All hunters (especially hunters who 
plan to hunt only in Segment B) are strongly 
encouraged to purchase their permit(s) 
during the September—October sales 
period rather than wait until permit sales re-
open on November 1 since bear permits may 
sell out in some zones before the Segment A 
hunting period ends.

Don't Wait to Buy 
Bear Permits!

Regulations in red are new this year.

NEW FOR 2016: The black bear hunting season 
now consists of two separate segments, A and B. 
Segment A is October 10–15, 2016. Segment B is 
December 5–10, 2016. The bag limit is one bear 
per hunter during Segment A, and each hunter is 
allowed to purchase two permits, each for a differ-
ent zone. If no bear is taken during Segment A, the 
permit(s) is still valid for hunting in Segment B. If 
a hunter harvests a bear during Segment A, that 
permit is no longer valid, though the hunter may 
purchase a replacement permit for that zone where 
the harvest was made to use during Segment B, if 
available when permit sales re-open on November 1.

Following commencement of the black bear sea-
son, the Fish and Wildlife Director may announce 
closure of the entire season or extension of Seg-
ment B of the season based upon data obtained and 
reviewed by Fish and Wildlife. A season closure, 
if announced, will become effective 24 hours from 
the daily legal closing time of the day on which 
the decision is made. The dates of a Segment B 
season extension, if announced, will be Wednes-
day, December 14 through Saturday, December 17, 
2016. Hunting regulations for the Segment B sea-
son extension will be the same as those during the 
regular part of Segment B. Only those permit hold-
ers with a valid permit(s) for Segment B who did not 
harvest a bear during the regular part of Segment 
B may hunt during the Segment B extension. The 
notification number for season closure or exten-
sion is the permit hotline number, (609) 292-9192. 
Season closure or extension notification will also 
be announced by news release, radio and Fish and 
Wildlife’s website NJFishandWildlife.com. 

Improve your black bear hunting success while showing respect 
for the wild game you pursue. Be prepared to make a quick, 
clean harvest.

• All hunters must take only high percentage shots.

• Keep all shots within 20 yards.

• Bear must either be standing broadside or slightly quar-
tering away for a good shot.  

• The front leg must be extended in order to open up 
access to the vital zone.

• The length of hair and thickness of fat on a bear’s belly make 
it more difficult to determine the vital zone location than on 
a deer.

See Black Bear Hunting Tips — Including NEW Bowhunter 
Info! on page 53. Other important black bear hunting FAQs are 
answered on our website at http://www.NJFishandWildlife.com/
bearseason_faq.htm.

Essential Black Bear 
Bowhunting Strategies
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• Only one muzzleloader rifle may be in possession 
while bear hunting.

• All firearms must be cased and unloaded while 
being transported in vehicles.

• It is illegal to take or attempt to take a bear in a 
den structure.

Black Bear Hunting 
on State Lands
• Baiting is prohibited within 450 feet of campsites 

and picnic areas in all state parks and forests to 
coincide with the bear management policy for these 
areas. Learn these locations BEFORE you hunt.

• Hunting is prohibited in the Cedar Swamp Natu-
ral Area at High Point State Park due to sensitive 
wetland habitat that could be impacted by going 
off trail in this area.

• ATV use is prohibited in state parks. forests and 
wildlife management areas. However, hunters 
might be permitted to use ATVs to retrieve a bear 
but only with approval from, and on a pathway 
approved by, the park superintendent or desig-
nee (for state parks and forests) or from Fish and 
Wildlife’s regional Law Enforcement office (for 
assistance on wildlife management areas). 

Firearms, Bows and 
Ammunition Legal 
for Bear Hunting 

Shotgun (Segment B only): not smaller than 
20 gauge nor larger than 10 gauge with rifled slugs 
and capable of holding not more than three rounds. 
Lead, lead alloy or copper rifled slug or sabot slug. 
Buckshot is prohibited. 

Muzzleloader Rifle (last three days of Segment 
A and Segment B only): must be single-barrel, 
single shot rifles not less than .44 caliber. Flint-
lock, percussion and in-line ignitions are allowed. 
Double barrel muzzleloaders prohibited. Persons 
hunting with a muzzleloader rifle must also possess 
a current and valid rifle hunting permit. 

Archery Equipment: (Segment A only) Bows 
used for bear hunting (long, recurve, compound or 
crossbow) must have a minimum draw pull weight 
of 35 pounds at the archers draw length (long and 
recurve bow) or peak weight (compound bow), or 
75 pounds minimum draw weight for a crossbow.  
Arrows must be fitted with a well-sharpened metal 
broadhead with a minimum width of 3/4 inch.

Additional Black Bear 
Hunting Regulations 
• Firearm black bear hunters must wear a hat of solid 

fluorescent hunter orange or an outer garment con-
taining at least 200 square inches of fluorescent 
orange material visible from all sides at all times 
while bear hunting and all bear hunters must fol-
low the fluorescent orange requirements pertain-
ing to hunting from a ground blind as specified 
under Hunter Orange, page 25. During the last 
three days of Segment A, bowhunters in treestands 
should consider wearing hunter orange.

• It shall be illegal to use dogs to pursue or run 
black bears .

• No person shall attempt to take or kill a black 
bear or have in their possession or control any 
firearm, bow or other weapon of any kind, while 
elevated in a standing tree or in a structure of any 
kind within 300 feet of a baited area. On national 
wildlife refuges and at the Delaware Water Gap 
National Recreation Area, the distribution 
of bait and/or hunting over bait is prohibited. 
Hunters should also check with the landowner 
or administrative agency before placing bait on 
any hunting area.

• Allowable hunting methods: stand hunting, still-
hunting or drive hunting. 

• Hunters using or possessing any shotgun slug 
in the field during the bear seasons must have a 
shotgun with adjustable open iron or peep sights 
or a scope affixed to the shotgun.

• Telescopic sights of any magnification (scope 
power) are permitted for bear hunting on all fire-
arms (including muzzleloading rifles) and also 
on crossbows.

• Shotgun shells containing single spherical projec-
tiles referred to as pumpkin balls are prohibited.

• While bear hunting with a shotgun, it is illegal 
to have in possession any ammunition not autho-
rized for bear hunting.

Black Bear  
Management Zones

After Harvesting a Bear— 
Mandatory Bear Check 
Requirement
Properly licensed hunters who harvest a black bear 
shall immediately complete and affix to the bear 
hide the “Black Bear Transportation Tag” from their 
Black Bear Hunting Permit. Information included 
on the black bear transportation tag shall include: 
the hunter’s name, address, Conservation ID num-
ber; date and time of kill; nearest road, county and 
municipality of kill; and the sex of the black bear. 
When field dressing a black bear, leave the sex organs 
intact and attached to the body. A harvested black 
bear may be quartered and brought out of the field 
in sections, provided all parts are brought to the 
check station at the same time. 

Successful hunters must take the black bear to 
a designated check station on the day of the kill 
by 9 p.m. during Segment A or by 7 p.m. during 
Segment B. Hunters shall surrender the black bear 
transportation tag and will be issued a legal pos-
session seal. 

Any legally killed black bear recovered too late to 
be brought to a designated black bear check station 
by the check station closing time on the date of the 

2015 Black Bear Harvest  
by Zone and County

BMZ 2015 Harvest

1 166

2 155

3 131

4 56

5 2

Total 510

County 2015 Harvest

Sussex 312

Warren 94

Morris 58

Passaic 35

Hunterdon 9

Bergen 2

Total 510

No bears were harvested in the portions of Mercer and 

Somerset counties open to bear hunting in 2015.

Map for general reference only. 

For a complete description of the Black Bear 
Management Zones, scan this QR code or see Fish 
and Wildlife’s bear management zone webpage at 
www.NJFishandWildlife.com//bearzonemap.htm.

Bear Hunting
REGUL ATIONS
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kill must be reported immediately by telephone to 
the Northern Region Office, Bureau of Law Enforce-
ment (908) 735-8240. On the telephone message 
recording device, hunters must leave their name, 
address and a telephone number where they can be 
reached. The harvested black bear must be brought 
to a designated black bear check station on the next 
weekday to be registered and to receive a legal pos-
session seal. To protect the meat from spoilage, the 
hunter may bring only the head and hide to the check 
station the next day. Note: within 48 hours after a 
bear is checked, a hunter may be required to produce 
the meat of the bear or produce records relating to 
the location of the meat, such as a butcher shop, upon 
request of a conservation officer. After check stations 
have closed on Saturday during the regular season 
segments or Saturday during a season extension (if 
announced), hunters reporting a bear harvest via 
the Law Enforcement recorder will be contacted by 
a Fish and Wildlife biologist on Sunday to legally 
check the bear and to collect biological data.

Mandatory Black Bear 
Check Stations 
In the event of a season extension, check station 
information will be announced via the permit hot-
line (609) 292-9192, news release, and on Fish and 
Wildlife's website NJFishandWildlife.com.

Hours 
Segment A: 9 a.m. to 9 p.m. 
Segment B: noon to 7 p.m.

Hunterdon County
• Clinton Wildlife Management Area* (Seg-

ment A only) 141 Van Syckels Rd, Hampton

Warren County
• Pequest Wildlife Management Area 

605 Pequest Road, Oxford

Morris County
• Black River Wildlife Management Area*  

275 North Road, Chester 
• Green Pond Golf Course 

765 Green Pond Rd, Rt. 513, Rockaway

Sussex County
• Flatbrook Roy WMA 

Rt. 615 (Walpack Rd.), Sandyston 
• Whittingham WMA 

148 Fredon-Springdale Rd., Newton

* Operating Opening Day and Saturday only

It is critical to remove the hide and cool the 
bear immediately after checking the bear. 
Cooling a bear with ice from inside the body 
cavity is inadequate to prevent the meat from 
spoiling. If the hide remains on overnight, the 
meat may be unsuitable for consumption.

Proper Meat Handling

Black Bear Game Care
As when cooking any raw meat, care must be taken 
to prevent exposure to disease when consuming 
wild game. Black bear are known to carry Trichi-
nella, a parasite commonly associated with pork. 
States nationwide report incidents of bears infected 
with Trichinella and New Jersey is no different. A 
Trichinella infection (Trichinellosis) is a risk only 
if the meat is cooked improperly. To ensure bear 
meat is safe to eat, be sure it’s cooked to an internal 
temperature of 170 degrees for at least 15 seconds. 

Toxoplasmosis, most commonly associated with 
cats, is another parasitic disease that may be trans-
mitted to humans if meat is not handled properly. To 
eliminate any health risks associated with Toxoplas-
mosis make sure no one who may be pregnant handle 
raw bear meat and always cook the meat thoroughly 
as you would for Trichinella. If you follow these simple 
guidelines you can enjoy your bear meat without any 
concern for exposure to Trichinella or Toxoplasmosis.
Note: Black bear management zones are dif-
ferent than deer management zones. Choose 
carefully when purchasing a black bear permit. 
For the 2016 season, only zones 1–5 are open 
for hunting. 

Do you hunt, fish, hike, bird, trap, boat, 
ride or shoot on a WMA? Tell us more!

Wildlife Management Area User Survey—
Users of New Jersey's 121 wildlife management areas may be asked to participate in a 
brief on-site survey by Division of Fish and Wildlife volunteers and Stockton University 
students. This year-long effort is to determine the public's visitation frequency, varied 
recreational activities, attitudes and perception about our WMAs.

Black Bear Hunting 
Tips — Including  
NEW Bowhunting Info!

Scan this code for tips on hunting 
New Jersey's black bear or visit 

NJFishandWildlife.com/qr/beartips.htm.

Bear Hunting
REGUL ATIONS
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Small Game Hunting
REGUL ATIONS

Regulations in red are new this year.

A CURRENT AND valid hunting license (Bow and 
Arrow, Firearm or All-Around Sportsman) is required 
to pursue any small game species. See page 24 for 
General Hunting Regulations. The use of dogs, unless 
specifically stated otherwise, is permitted to pursue 
any small game species, except wild turkey. Hunting 
for those species shown on page 57 is prohibited 
during the statewide Six-day Firearm (deer) Season 
and on the Wednesday of the Permit Shotgun (deer) 
Season that immediately follows the Six-day Fire-
arm Season. For exceptions, see Coyote and Fox and 
Semi-wild and Commercial Preserve Hunting sections 
below. Sunday hunting is prohibited; see Raccoon 
and Opossum, page 55 plus Semi-wild and Com-
mercial Shooting Preserves for exceptions.

Season Dates and Bag Limits: The Small Game 
Hunting Seasons table on page 57 lists dates, 
hunting hours and daily bag limits for all small 
game species open for hunting. 

General Small Game Hunting Methods: Properly 
licensed hunters may hunt small game with shotguns 
or bow and arrow and limited hunting with small 
caliber rifles; see air gun and coyote/fox regulations. 
See also General Hunting Regulations, page 24.

Shotgun: Unless specifically stated otherwise, 
shotguns for small game hunting may be single or 
double barrel, rifled or smoothbore and not larger 
than 10-gauge or smaller than .410 caliber and 
capable of holding no more than three shells. 

Shot: Unless specifically stated otherwise, shot 
size for small game hunting may be no larger than 
#4 fine shot. 

Bow and Arrow: All bows must meet the require-
ments specified in General Hunting Regulations, 
page 24. For taking game birds in flight, arrows 
equipped with an edged head are prohibited. Flu flu 
arrows are required for taking game birds in flight.

Air gun: Air guns may be used for taking cotton-
tail rabbit, hare and gray squirrel using ammunition 
not smaller than .177 caliber or larger than .22 cali-
ber. Air gun BBs are not legal for hunting. See also 
Air Guns under Firearms and Missiles, page 25. 

Muzzleloading Rifles: For limited small game 
rifle hunting, see below for Coyote and Fox—Special 
Permit Season, Squirrel—Muzzleloading Rifle Season 
and Woodchuck for restrictions.

Wildlife Damage: Property owners or their 
agents, and occupants of dwellings that are suffering 
damage from coyote, fox, opossum, raccoon, skunk, 
squirrel, weasel or woodchuck may control them by 
lawful means at any time subject to local ordinances.

Stealing Traps or Trapped Animals: It is illegal 
to take, carry away or unlawfully remove or steal a 
trap belonging to another person that is set along, 
by or in public or private property, ditch, stream, 
pond or water in this state and which has been 
set for the purpose of catching any of the furbear-
ing animals species for which a legal season is 
established. It is also illegal to remove, alive or 
dead, any animal from the trap of another person.

Coyote and Fox, General 
and Special Permit Seasons
See chart below for both general and special permit 
season regulations for coyote and fox. NOTE: All 

successful coyote hunters must report any coyote 
harvested to a Fish and Wildlife Regional Law 
Enforcement Office within 24 hours. Callers 
must identify themselves by name, CID# and 
daytime phone number. 

In addition to the general coyote and fox seasons 
described in the chart below, properly licensed tur-
key hunters may legally harvest coyotes if encoun-
tered incidental to legal turkey hunting. Turkey 
hunters shall not actively pursue coyotes or have 
coyote calls or decoys in possession. Also, properly 
licensed persons hunting deer during the Six-day 
Firearm, Permit Muzzleloader or Permit Shotgun 
deer seasons may kill coyote or fox if the coyote or 
fox is encountered before the hunter has taken the 
season bag limit of deer. However, after the hunter 
has taken a daily bag limit of deer, they must cease 
hunting immediately. Incidental hunting of coyote 
or fox while deer hunting may resume the follow-
ing day (provided the season remains open and the 
season bag limit of deer has not been reached.) Only 
applicable projectiles approved for deer hunting may 
be used to take coyote and fox incidental to deer 
hunting during the deer seasons described above. 
See Firearms, Bow and Ammunition chart, page 32.

Baiting for coyote/fox is prohibited while hunting 
elevated in a standing tree or in a structure of any 
kind within 300 feet of a baited area. 

Further, in addition to the general Coyote and 
Fox seasons plus the incidental harvest of coyote 
or fox while deer hunting, a Special Permit Coyote 
and Fox Season runs concurrent with the regu-
lar small game coyote and fox season. A Fish and 
Wildlife-issued permit is required to hunt coyote or 
fox under the provisions (see below) of the Special 

Coyote / Fox Season

Dates

Bow Only: Sept. 10–Nov. 11  

in DMZs open for early fall  

bow deer hunting;  

otherwise Oct. 1–Nov. 11

Firearm or Bow:  
Nov. 12–March 15

Special Permit Season: Jan. 1 – March 15

(Permit required with shot larger than #4 fine thru #3 Buck sizes  

and/or nighttime hunting and/or using a muzzleloading rifle  

other than incidental to deer hunting and/or using a modern rifle)

Hours
½ hour before sunrise to ½ 

hour after sunset

½ hour before sunrise to ½ hour after sunset, except 

8 a.m. start on Nov. 12
½ hour before sunrise to ½ hour after sunset

½ hour after sunset to 

½ hour before sunrise

Weapon 
Type and 

Projectiles 
Permitted

Bow: long, recurve, com-

pound or crossbow

See General Small Game 
Hunting Methods above.

Bow: long, recurve, compound or crossbow 

See General Small Game Hunting Methods, above.

Bow: long, recurve, compound or crossbow 

See General Small Game Hunting Methods, above.

Shotgun: single or 

double barrel. Not 

smaller than 12 gauge 

or larger than 10 

gauge, capable of 

holding no more than 

3 shells. 

Shot: sizes not smaller 

than #4 fine shot or 

larger than T

Shotgun and Shot Size: See General Small Game 
Hunting Methods, above.

Shotgun: single or double barrel. Not smaller than 20 gauge or 

larger than 10 gauge, capable of holding no more than 3 shells. 

Shot: Not smaller than BB or larger than #3 Buck. Pellets 

must be lead or a tungsten-nickel-iron hybrid.

Muzzleloading rifle: single-shot, single barrel no less than 

.44 caliber. Flintlock, percussion and in-line ignitions permit-

ted, loaded only with a single projectile, either round ball or 

conical bullet. Electronic ignitions prohibited. 

Centerfire rifles: From .17 to maximum of .25 caliber with 

soft point or hollow point bullets and maximum of 80 grains.

Rimfire rifles: From .17 to maximum of .22 caliber with soft 

point or hollow point bullets and maximum of 50 grains.

A modern rifle magazine need not be pinned (plugged), but 

may be loaded with no more than three cartridges.

Notes

Hunter orange not required.

Use of dogs prohibited.

Daily bag: unlimited coyote 

or fox

Hunter orange required when using firearm. Muzzle-

loading rifle may be used only incidental to deer 

hunting.

Use of dogs permitted except not during Dec. 7–12 

and Dec. 16.

Daily bag: unlimited coyote or fox

While hunting under the provisions of the Special Permit: Hunter orange is not required 

(but is recommended while traveling to/from hunting areas.) Hunting methods are 

restricted to calling and stand hunting. A predator-calling device (manual or electronic) 

must be in possession. Use of dogs is prohibited. Use of bait is prohibited. Portable 

lights are allowed. Sunday hunting is not legal.

Daily bag: unlimited coyote or fox
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Rockport, Stafford Forge, Walpack, Whittingham 
and Winslow. A current and valid Pheasant and 
Quail Stamp is also required at the Delaware River 
National Recreation Area. 

Pheasant and Quail Stocking
Wearing a hunter orange hat is required for all fire-
arm small game hunters on wildlife management 
areas stocked with pheasant or quail.

Fish and Wildlife anticipates pheasant and quail 
releases to be as follows:
• Assunpink, Berkshire Valley, Black River, Clinton, 

Colliers Mills, Dix, Flatbrook, Glassboro, Mill-
ville (Bevan), Nantuxent, Pequest, Port Republic, 
Tuckahoe (MacNamara), Walpack and Whit-
tingham WMAs will be stocked with pheasant 
for the following dates:
Nov. 12, 15, 17, 19, 22, 24, 26, 29
Dec. 1, 3, 17, 20, 22, 24, 29

• Delaware Water Gap National Recreation Area 
and the Heislerville, Howardsville, Mad Horse, 
Manahawkin, Manasquan, Medford, Stafford 
Forge and Winslow WMAs will be stocked with 
pheasant for the following dates:
Nov. 12, 19, 24, 26, 29
Dec. 1, 3, 17, 20, 22, 24, 29

• Greenwood Forest and Peaslee WMAs will be 
stocked with quail for the following dates:
Nov. 12, 15, 17, 19, 22, 24, 26, 29
Dec. 1, 3, 17, 20, 22, 24, 29
New maps showing the specific field locations 

for every stocked wildlife management area are 
now available here: NJFishandWildlife.com/pheas-
maps.htm. 

Fish and Wildlife reminds sportsmen and 
sportswomen that the stocking schedule is ten-
tative until approved by the Fish and Game 
Council in early October. The schedule is subject 
to pheasant production and may change due to 
emergency weather conditions. For changes to 
the stocking schedule due to inclement weather or 
other necessary adjustments, visit our website at 
NJFishandWildlife.com/smgame_info.htm.

Rabbit and Hare
The rabbit and hare hunting season will begin the 
last Saturday in September. The early opening 
date allows for hunting opportunity when rabbit 
populations are at their peak. Air guns may be 
used for taking cottontail rabbit and hare using 
ammunition not smaller than .177 caliber or larger 
than .22 caliber. See also Air Guns under Firearms 
and Missiles, page 25 and General Small Game 
Hunting Methods, page 54.

See Small Game Hunting Seasons chart, page 57 
for season dates and bag limits.

Raccoon and Opossum
See Small Game Hunting Seasons chart, page 57 
for season dates and bag limits.

Hours: Hunting may not begin until one hour 
after sunset on the opening day of the season. On 
all other days open during the season, the hours 
of hunting are one hour after sunset to one hour 

Small Game Hunting
REGUL ATIONS

Permit Coyote and Fox Season; as follows: 
A permit to hunt coyote or fox is required 1.) to 

hunt at night and/or 2.) to use shot sizes larger 
than #4 fine and up to size #3 Buck, and/or 3.) to 
use a rifle for coyote or fox other than incidental 
to deer hunting. Sunday hunting is not legal.

Coyote/Fox permits: $2, available at any license 
agent or via Fish and Wildlife’s Internet license 
sales site (www.NJ.WildlifeLicense.com) begin-
ning December 1. A 2017 hunting license must be 
purchased prior to or in conjunction with the pur-
chase of a Special Season Coyote and Fox Permit. 

Northern Bobwhite (Quail)
Northern bobwhite quail are native to the southern 
half of New Jersey. In recent years, quail popula-
tions have declined throughout their range includ-
ing New Jersey. 

Pheasant
See Small Game Hunting Seasons chart, page 57 
for season dates and bag limits. See exceptions below 
for semi-wild and commercial preserve hunting.

Pheasant and Quail Stamp Areas: Anyone 
aged 16 and over (except 16 year olds whose 
Youth License remains valid until Dec. 31 in the 
year they reach 16 years of age) hunting or possess-
ing pheasant or quail on the following designated 
wildlife management areas shall have in possession 
a current and valid Pheasant and Quail Stamp 
(Youth Hunting licenses include pheasant and quail 
stamp): Assunpink, Berkshire Valley, Millville 
(Bevan), Black River, Clinton, Colliers Mills, Dix, 
Flatbrook, Glassboro, Greenwood (including How-
ardsville), Heislerville, Tuckahoe (MacNamara), 
Mad Horse, Manahawkin, Manasquan River, Med-
ford, Nantuxent, Peaslee, Pequest, Port Republic, 

In an effort to reverse the decline of quail 
in New Jersey, the statewide quail hunt-
ing season is closed except at Peaslee 
WMA and Greenwood Forest WMA where 
Fish and Wildlife will provide hunters and 
falconers the opportunity to hunt for quail. 

See Small Game Hunting Seasons chart, 
page 57 for season dates and bag limits. 
Exception: This statewide closure does not 
apply to certain semi-wild and commercial 
shooting preserves that were permitted to 
stock quail during the 2009–10 season. 

Quail Season Closed

before sunrise. Sunday hunting for raccoon and 
opposum is permitted only between the hours of 
midnight (the end of Saturday) and one hour before 
sunrise (Sunday).

Hunting methods: Portable lights are permitted. 
Fluorescent orange is encouraged but not required 
on outer clothing while hunting raccoon and opos-
sum. A current and valid rifle permit is required 
when possessing a .22 caliber rifle while hunting 
raccoon and opossum. Only .22 caliber shorts are 
permitted.

Dog Training: Dogs may be trained during the 
month of September and from March 2 to May 1, 
inclusive. The training hours are one hour after 
sunset to one hour before sunrise.

Ruffed Grouse
The state’s two ruffed grouse hunting zones are 
delineated by Rt. 70. North of Rt. 70 the season 
will begin October 15. South of Rt. 70 the season 
will begin Nov. 12 to reduce harvest mortality of the 
remaining populations in the southern zone. The 
ruffed grouse zones are identical to those for wood-
cock and will provide for consistent regulations for 
these species that are often hunted simultaneously. 
See Small Game Hunting Seasons chart, page 57 
for season dates and bag limits. 

Over the last several 
years we have noticed 
heavy deer traffi  c outside 
of the preserve, and now 
maintain several baited 
stand sites outside of the 
preserve. We are off ering 
hunters the opportunity 
to hunt these sites for only 
$250 a day.

Mountain Trail 
Whitetails Preserve off ers 

the best trophy deer hunting in 
New Jersey!

Mountain Trail 
Whitetails

Call Tim Mathews 
for more information:

(908) 310-0369

Scan this QR code or follow the 
link for maps of the pheasant 
and quail stocked fields for 
each stocked WMA. Go to 
NJFishandWildlife.com/pheasmaps.htm.

Stocking Maps
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Woodchuck Season
Dates Weapon Type Permitted Gauge, Caliber or Weight Projectile(s)

March 1 to 
Sept. 28, 2016

March 1 to 
Sept. 27, 2017

Center-fire rifle

.25 caliber or less
Hollow point, soft point or expand-

ing lead core bullets of any weight. 

Larger than .25 caliber

Hollow point, soft point or expand-

ing lead core bullets of any weight 

not exceeding 80 grains in weight.

Rim-fire rifle .25 caliber or less

Hollow point or soft point of any 

weight not exceeding 50 grains 

in weight.

Muzzleloading rifle: single-shot, 

single barrel. Flintlock, percussion 

and in-line ignitions permitted. 

No restriction

Must be loaded with a single 

projectile, either round ball or 

conical bullet.

Bow: long, recurve, compound or 

crossbow

35 pounds pull at archers draw 

length (long and recurve bows) 

or peak weight (compound bow); 

75 pounds pull for crossbow

Arrows must be fitted with a well-

sharpened metal broadhead with 

a minimum width of ¾"

Shotgun: single or double barrel, 

rifled bore or smoothbore

Not larger than 10 gauge, capable 

of holding no more than 3 shells

Shot – sizes not larger than #4 

fine shot

Sept. 24–
Dec. 3 and 
Dec. 12, 13, 
15–31, 2016

Jan. 2–
Feb. 20, 2017

Bow: long, recurve, compound or 

crossbow

35 pounds pull at archers draw 

length (long and recurve bows) or 

peak weight (compound bow);  

75 pounds pull for crossbow

Arrows must be fitted with a well-

sharpened metal broadhead with 

a minimum width of ¾"

Shotgun: single or double barrel, 

rifled bore or smoothbore

Not larger than 10 gauge, capable 

of holding no more than 3 shells

Shot – sizes not larger than #4 

fine shot

Small Game Hunting
REGUL ATIONS

Semi-Wild and Commercial 
Preserve Hunting
Hunting for pheasant, quail and partridge is allowed 
from Nov. 12 to March 15 on semi-wild and from 
Sept. 1 through May 1 on commercial shooting pre-
serves (which also allows mallards) that are properly 
licensed for the taking of such species. These game 
birds may be hunted on Sunday only on semi-wild 
or commercial shooting preserve lands. 

Youth hunters (in possession of a valid Youth 
Hunting License and accompanied by a licensed, 
non-shooting adult) will be permitted to hunt 
pheasant, quail and partridge on licensed semi-
wild preserves on Saturday, Nov. 5—the Youth 
Upland Bird Hunting Day. 

All game taken on semi-wild or commercial 
preserves must be properly tagged before being 
transported off the licensed property.

A person may legally hunt on semi-wild or com-
mercial preserves for game birds during deer seasons, 
but no shot larger than #4 fine may be used. There 
are no daily bag or seasonal limits for pheasant, 
quail, partridge or mallards taken on commercial 
preserves. There are no daily bag limits for pheasant, 
quail or partridge taken on semi-wild properties. 
Seasonal harvests on semi-wild properties may not 
exceed the number of birds to be stocked as indi-
cated on the semi-wild permit application. 

Squirrel, Regular Season
Air guns may be used for taking squirrel using 
ammunition not smaller than .177 caliber or larger 
than .22 caliber. See also Air Guns under Firearms 
and Missiles, page 25 and General Small Game 
Hunting Methods, page 54. See Small Game Hunt-
ing Seasons chart, page 57.

Squirrel, Muzzleloading 
Rifle Season
Persons holding a current and valid firearm license 
and rifle permit may hunt for squirrels from sunrise 
to ½ hour after sunset with a muzzleloading rifle 
(.36 caliber or smaller loaded with a single projec-
tile) during the periods Sept. 24–Nov. 11, 2016 
and Jan. 7–Feb. 20, 2017. See Small Game Hunting
Seasons chart, page 57.

Hunting for squirrel in the manner described 
above is restricted to the areas described.

Woodchuck
All persons in possession of a rifle (including a 
muzzleloading rifle) while hunting woodchuck 
must have a current and valid rifle permit in addi-
tion to the current hunting license. Rifle hunting 
(of any kind) for woodchuck is prohibited on state 
wildlife management areas, state parks, state forests 
or state recreation areas. Farmers and their agents 
may use shot not larger than #4 buckshot to control 
woodchuck causing damage. Hours of hunting are 
sunrise to ½ hour after sunset. See chart above for 
woodchuck hunting details. 

Upland Project Updates

Squirrel Muzzleloading  
Rifle Season Zones

Muzzleloading Rifle
Squirrel Areas

zzzleloading Rifle
irrel Areas

For a complete description of the squirrel hunting areas, 
scan this QR code with your mobile device or go to 
www.NJFishandWildlife.com/qr/squirrelzones.htm.

For a review of Fish and Wildlife's Upland Project 
Updates, scan this QR code or visit www.NJFishand 
Wildlife.com/qr/upland_updates.htm.
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First live-captured fisher in New Jersey.
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Small Game Hunting Seasons
REGUL ATIONS

2016–17 Small Game Hunting Seasons
Species (alphabetical) Inclusive Dates Hunting Hours Daily Limits Notes

Bobwhite (quail)

Closed statewide; except at Peaslee 
& Greenwood WMA (see Notes)

At Peaslee & Greenwood WMAs 
ONLY: Nov. 12–Dec. 3; Dec. 12, 13, 

15–31, 2016 and Jan. 2–31, 2017

Sunrise to ½ hour after sunset 4

8 a.m. start on Nov. 12

Quail may be hunted ONLY at Peaslee and Greenwood For-
est WMAs. Pheasant and Quail Stamp required.

Season closed in remainder of the state. (See exceptions 
under Northern Bobwhite, page 55.)

Coyote* and Fox,  
General  

All coyote must be 
reported within 24 hrs.

Bow and Arrow only:  
Sept. 10–Nov. 11 in DMZ Regulation 

Sets 4–8

Oct. 1–Nov. 11 in DMZ Regulation 

Sets 0–3

Firearm or Bow and Arrow:  
Nov. 12–Mar. 15

½ hour before sunrise to ½ 

hour after sunset
No limit

8 a.m. start on Nov. 12

Deer hunters may harvest coyote and fox during all open deer 

seasons with restrictions as specified under Small Game Hunting, 

Coyote and Fox, page 54.

Rifle permit required in possession when hunting with rifle 
(allowed only incidental to deer hunting).

Coyote* and Fox,  
Special Permit Season 

All coyote must be 
reported within 24 hrs.

Firearm or Bow and Arrow:  
Jan. 2–Mar. 15, 2017 
(permit required)

Permit holders may hunt day 

and night with certain restric-

tions; see Notes at right. 

Sunday hunting for coyote/
fox is not legal. All such 
hunting must end at  
11:59 p.m. Saturday night 
and may resume at  
12:01 a.m. Monday 
morning.

No limit

For complete details, and for when a permit is required, see  

Small Game Hunting, Coyote and Fox, page 54.

Calling and standing hunting only.

Predator calling device must be in possession.

See Coyote/Fox Season table, page 54, for firearm and 

ammo restrictions.

Rifle permit required in possession when hunting with any 
legal rifle, allowed only during daytime hunting hours.

During night hunting (½ hour after sunset to ½ hour before 

sunrise), only 10 or 12 gauge shotguns are permitted. See pellet 

restrictions in table on page 54. Coyote/fox permit required.

Crow** 
(Mon., Thurs., Fri., Sat.)

Aug. 8–Dec. 3** and  

Dec. 12, 2016–Mar. 17, 2017 

(See Notes.)

Sunrise to ½ hour after sunset No limit
8 a.m. start on Nov. 12  

Maximum shot size is #4

Grouse, Ruffed**

North of Rt. 70: Oct. 15–Dec. 3;  

Dec. 12, 13, 15–31

South of Rt. 70: Nov. 12–Dec. 3;  

Dec. 12, 13, 15–31

Sunrise to ½ hour after sunset 2 8 a.m. start on Nov. 12

Opossum & Raccoon Oct. 1 to Mar. 1
1 hour after sunset to 1 hour 

before sunrise
No limit

Rifle permit required when hunting with rifle.  
7:41 p.m. start on Oct. 1. Closed Dec. 5–10 and Dec. 14.

Pheasant & Partridge Nov. 12–Dec. 3; Dec. 12, 13, 15–31, 

2016; Jan. 2–Feb. 20, 2017
Sunrise to ½ hour after sunset

Partridge — 7

Pheasant — 2

8 a.m. start on Nov. 12 

Pheasant and Quail Stamp required on designated areas  

(see Small Game Hunting page 55).

Rabbit, Hare & 
Jackrabbit**

Sept. 24–Dec. 3; Dec. 12, 13, 15–31, 

2016; Jan. 2–Feb. 25, 2017
Sunrise to ½ hour after sunset

Cottontail — 4

Hare — 1

Jackrabbit — 1

8 a.m. start on Nov. 12. Air guns are legal to harvest rabbits, hare 

and jackrabbit. See General Small Game Hunting Methods.

Squirrel, Gray** Sept. 24–Dec. 3; Dec. 12, 13, 15–31, 

2016; Jan. 2–Feb. 20, 2017
Sunrise to ½ hour after sunset 5

8 a.m. start on Nov. 12. Air guns are legal to harvest squirrel.  

See General Small Game Hunting Methods page 54.

Squirrel, Gray: 
Muzzleloading Rifle  

(.36 caliber or smaller)

Sept. 24–Nov. 11, 2016 and Jan. 7–

Feb. 20, 2017
Sunrise to ½ hour after sunset 5

Rifle permit required. 
Designated areas only (see Small Game Hunting page 56).

Turkey (Fall, Either-Sex) (Period N) Oct. 29–Nov. 5, 2016
½ hour before sunrise to ½ 

hour after sunset.

1 Turkey (either 

sex) per permit

Permit required. All Turkey Hunting Areas statewide are now open 

to fall hunting.

Turkey (Spring Gobbler) (Periods A to E) April 24–May 26, 2017

½ hour before sunrise to noon; 

starting May 15, hours are ½ 

hour before sunrise to sunset

1 Male Turkey 

per permit
Permit required.

Turkey  
(Spring Gobbler, Youth) (Period Y) April 22–May 26, 2017

½ hour before sunrise to noon; 

starting May 15, hours are ½ 

hour before sunrise to sunset

1 Male Turkey 

per permit
Permit required.

Woodchuck: 
Bow, Rifle or Shotgun

Mar. 1–Sept. 28, 2016 

Mar. 1–Sept. 27, 2017
Sunrise to ½ hour after sunset No limit

Rifle permit required when hunting with rifle. 
Rifle hunting prohibited on state property (see General Hunting 
Regulations, page 24 and Small Game Regulations page 54).

Woodchuck:** 
Bow or Shotgun

Sept. 28–Dec. 3; Dec. 12, 13, 15–31, 

2016; Jan. 2–Feb. 20, 2017
Sunrise to ½ hour after sunset No limit 8 a.m. start on Nov. 12

Woodcock** See Migratory Bird Regulations**  

on page 65
Sunrise to sunset

3 daily;  

6 possession

HIP number required (see page 65). 
8 a.m. start on Nov. 12

Youth Turkey Day April 22, 2017 ½ hour before sunrise to noon
1 Male Wild 

Turkey
Permit required.

Youth Upland Bird Day Nov. 5, 2016 8 a.m. to sunset
Pheasant — 2

Quail — 4
Selected WMAs and licensed semi-wilds (see page 23).

 *  All harvested coyotes must be reported to a regional Division Law Enforcement Office within 24 hours. Callers must identify themselves by name, CID# and daytime phone number. 

**  The starting time to hunt migratory birds on Nov. 12 only on those WMAs designated as Pheasant and Quail Stamp Areas shall be 8 a.m. See list of areas, page 55.
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2017 Spring Gobbler Hunting Season Dates
Hunting Period Dates

Youth Turkey Hunting Day
(10–16 years of age)

Hunting Period Y

Sat., April 22 

If no turkey is harvested on this youth hunt day, Period Y permits may be 

used in the designated zone for balance of season until a bird is harvested

Hunting Period A Mon., April 24–Fri., April 28

Hunting Period B Mon., May 1–Fri., May 5

Hunting Period C Mon., May 8– Fri., May 12

Hunting Period D Mon., May 15– Fri., May 19; Mon., May 22–Fri., May 26

Hunting Period E All Saturdays, April 29, May 6, May 13 and May 20

April 22, 2017 (See page 23)

If no turkey is harvested on this youth hunt day, Period Y permits may be used by the 
youth hunter in the designated zone for the balance of the season until a bird is har-
vested (see page 23).

All youth turkey hunters 10 to 16 years of age 
must possess a valid spring turkey hunt-
ing permit in addition to their youth hunting 
license.

Youth hunters must be accompanied by a prop-
erly licensed, non-hunting adult age 21 or older 
who may not shoot on this youth day.

This season is considered an extension of the 
regular season permit held by the youth.

If youth hunter harvests a turkey on this youth 
hunting day, the “Y” Period permit is no longer 
valid for future hunting.

Non-hunting adults accompanying youth turkey 
hunters need only have in possession a valid hunt-
ing license. Turkey hunting is by permit only. Spring 
and fall turkey hunting is by permit only. See Turkey 
Hunting Permits, General, page 12. For farmers, 
see Farmer Turkey Permits, page 28.

Youth Turkey Hunt Day

Fall & Spring Wild Turkey Hunting
REGUL ATIONS

Hunting hours for the spring season are one-half 
hour before sunrise until noon daily, except hunting 
hours for the last two weeks of the spring turkey 
season (including all of period D and the last Sat-
urday of period E) are changed to one-half hour 
before sunrise to sunset. These expanded hunting 
hours during the last two weeks of the season allow 
opportunities for working and youth hunters. 

Coyotes may be harvested incidentally while tur-
key hunting. See page 54.

Spring Turkey Hunting 
Supplement Information
Printing a separate Spring Turkey Hunting Supple-
ment booklet has been discontinued. All regula-
tion and permit information are contained in this 
Digest. See page 14 for information on applying 
for spring turkey hunting permits.

Turkey Hunting Seminars
The latest turkey hunting techniques are presented 
at several turkey hunting seminars sponsored by Fish 
and Wildlife or wildlife conservation organizations. 
These seminars focus on how to set up, calling tech-
niques and key safety information for turkey hunters. 
New turkey hunters are especially encouraged to join 
us at a seminar. Check your newspaper and our website  
for the seminars scheduled during March or April. 

period D and the last Saturday of hunting period E, 
the turkey must be taken to the nearest check station 
by 9 p.m. During the Fall Turkey Season, the turkey 
must be taken to the nearest check station by 7 p.m. 
In the event a turkey is killed too late to register at 
a check station, call the nearest Fish and Wildlife 
Law Enforcement Office (see page 39) and leave a 
message including your name, phone number, CID 
number and the Turkey Hunting Area where the 
bird was taken. The bird must be checkedw the next 
day. If it was butchered, bring all remaining parts 
(beard, head, legs, etc.) to the check station.

In the future turkey hunters will be able to 
report their deer via the Electronic License Sys-
tem. Once this is active, complete instructions 
will be available on Fish and Wildlife’s website at 
www.NJFishandWildlife.com and printed in the 
next hunting Digest. Subscribe to our email lists 
at www.NJFishandWildlife.com/lstsub.htm to be 
notified of Fish and Wildlife updates and events, 
including any changes to the harvest reporting system.

Turkey Season Dates 
and Hunting Hours
The 2016 fall turkey season will consist of one seven 
day hunting segment, N, (excluding Sunday) from 
Saturday, Oct. 29 through Saturday, Nov. 5, 2016.  
Fall hunting hours are one-half hour before sunrise 
until one-half hour after sunset. 

Fall 2016 and Spring 2017 
Turkey Hunting Regulations
• Bag Limit: During the fall season, turkeys of 

either sex may be taken. During the spring season, 
only male turkey may be taken; bearded hens may 
not be taken in the spring. During both seasons, 
the bag limit is one turkey per permit, but only 
one bird may be taken in a given day, regardless 
of the number of permits a hunter holds. 

• The fall lottery for turkey permits has been elimi-
nated. A permit is still required (see page 12) 
and may be purchased at license agents or online 
at Fish and Wildlife’s Internet license sales site 
www.NJ.WildlifeLicense.com.

• Artificial decoys may be used while turkey hunt-
ing, except the use of electronically-operated 
decoys is prohibited. Dogs may be used for turkey 
hunting only during the fall season. All hunt-
ers are required to possess a calling device while 
turkey hunting. The use of a hand-held decoy or a 
turkey tail-on-a-stick as camouflage to sneak up on 
a turkey is prohibited. Stalking a turkey is illegal.

• Hunting methods during the spring gobbler 
season are restricted to calling or stand hunting.

• The maximum group size while turkey hunting 
is five hunters. 

• Hunters may not attempt to chase or drive tur-
keys for the purpose of putting them in range of 
other hunters. However, during the fall season 
only, hunters may rush a flock of turkeys to cause 
the flock to scatter. 

• No shot larger than #4 fine shot or smaller than 
#7½ fine shot may be used for turkey hunting. 

• Hunters may not use shotguns larger than 
10-gauge or smaller than 20-gauge for turkey 
hunting. Shotguns must be plugged to be capable 
of holding no more than three shells.

• Fluorescent hunter orange is not required to hunt 
turkeys.

• Properly licensed hunters may use archery tackle 
to hunt turkeys. Bows used for turkey hunting 
(long, recurve, compound or crossbow) must have 
a minimum draw pull weight of 35 pounds at 
the archer's draw length (long and recurve bow), 
or peak weight (compound bow), or 75 pounds 
minimum draw weight (crossbow). Arrows must 
be fitted with a well-sharpened metal broadhead 
with a minimum width of 3/4 inch.

• While turkey hunting, a weapon may not be in 
possession within 300 feet of any baited area.

Mandatory Turkey 
Check Requirement
All harvested turkeys must be tagged immediately 
with a completed transportation tag. A turkey must 
be taken by the person who killed it, on the day 
killed, to the nearest turkey check station where 
personnel will issue a legal possession tag. See page 
60 for a list of official turkey check stations to 
locate one closest to your hunting area.

NOTE: During Youth Turkey Hunting Day, 
hunting periods A, B, C and the first three Saturdays 
of hunting period E, the turkey must be taken to 
the nearest check station by 3 p.m. During hunting 
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Stalking is Illegal

Turkey Hunting Areas
Map for general reference only. For a complete 
description of the Turkey Hunting Area boundaries, 
scan this QR code with your mobile device or visit 
our website at www.NJFishandWildlife.com/qr/
turkeyareas.htm.

Fall & Spring Wild Turkey Hunting
REGUL ATIONS

4-Day Guided Deer/Bear Combo  
$800/Person Spring Turkey Special  
$650/Person 3-Day Guided Hunt

 ~ Includes Meals & Lodging! ~

315.360.7113
www.BigGameHuntingNY.com 

P.O. Box 1526
Richfield Springs, NY

BIG
G

AM
EHUNTING

NYDEER

BEAR

TURKEY

And much more FREE family fun! 
For more information visit WildOutdoorExpo.com

September 10 & 11, 2016
10 am – 5 pm daily

Hiking
Geocaching

Camping Skills
Trap Shooting

Archery
Hunting/Trapping Instruction

Fish and Wildlife Exhibits
Outdoor Supply Flea Market

Fishing
Kayaking

Birding
Rock Climbing 

Colliers Mills Wildlife Management Area
Jackson Township, NJ 

Explore.  Experience.  Enjoy! 

Use of a hand-held decoy or a turkey tail-on-
a-stick as camouflage to sneak up on a turkey 
is prohibited. In New Jersey, stalking of wild 
turkeys is illegal, both for ethical reasons and 
for personal safety.
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Fall & Spring Wild Turkey Hunting
FALL /  SPRING TURKEY CHECK STATIONS

ATLANTIC

Butterhof's Farm & Home Supply,  
5715 White Horse Pike, Egg Harbor City . . . . . (609) 965-1198
Ted’s Taxidermy, 713 Rt. 40, Buena . . . . . . . . . (856) 697-8585

BURLINGTON

Mighty Joe’s Texaco, 1231 Rt. 206 S., Shamong . . (609) 268-0303
Pine Barrens Stove and Sport Shop,  
Rt. 72, Chatsworth  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (609) 726-1550
Sportsman’s Center, Rt. 130, Bordentown . . . . (609) 298-5300

CAMDEN 

Atco Sports Center, 177 Atco Ave., Atco . . . . . . (856) 767-9446 
 

CAPE MAY

Belle Plain Supply,  
346 Handisville Ave., Belle Plain . . . . . . . . . . . (609) 861-2345

CUMBERLAND

Beaver Dam Boat Rentals,  
514 Old Beaver Dam Rd, Newport . . . . . . . . . . (856) 447-3633
Blackwater Sports Center,  
2228 Delsea Dr., Vineland . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (856) 691-1571

GLOUCESTER

Sportsman’s Outpost,  
Fries Mill Rd., Williamstown  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (856) 881-3244
The Bottle Barn, 65 West Broad St., Gibbstown . . (856) 423-3608

HUNTERDON

Boan’s Marine, 1296 Rt. 179, Lambertville  . . . (609) 397-3311
The Corner Store, Rt. 12 and Rt. 519, Baptistown . . (908) 996-7648
Carousel Deli And Bakery,  
Rt. 179 and Wertsville Rd., Ringoes . . . . . . . . . (908) 788-5180
Jugtown Mountain Campsites,  
1074 Rt. 173 East, Asbury . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (908) 735-5995

MIDDLESEX

Sayreville Sportsmen,  
52 Washington Ave., Sayreville . . . . . . . . . . . . (732) 238-2060

MONMOUTH

Ken’s Taxidermy, 389 Rt. 79, Morganville  . . . . . . . (908) 670-9497
 Cream Ridge Sports Shop,  

445 Rt. 539, Cream Ridge . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (609) 758-0616
L&H Woods and Water, 2045 Rt. 35, Wall . . . . . (732) 282-1812

MORRIS

Mount Hope Deli, 662 Mount Hope Ave., Wharton . .(973) 328-7259

OCEAN

Tips Hardware, 218 Main Street, West Creek  . . (609) 296-3192

PASSAIC

Tackle and Field, 81 Ringwood Ave., Wanaque. . . (973) 835-2966
Greenwood Lake Sports Center,  
1745 Greenwood Lake Turnpike, Hewitt  . . . . . (973) 728-1000

Fall 2016 and Spring 2017 Turkey Check Stations 
SALEM

Salem Boat Exchange,  
1163 South Broadway, Pennsville . . . . . . . . . . (856) 935-2515
Sam’s Super Service, 290 Rt. 40, Elmer  . . . . . (856) 358-3488

SOMERSET

Puskas Dairy Farm,  
170 South Middlebush Rd. Somerset  . . . . . . . (732) 690-0380

SUSSEX

Garden State Bow & Reel,  
2760A Rt. 23N, Stockholm . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (973) 697-3727
Hainesville General Store,  
283 Rt. 206 South Hainesville . . . . . . . . . . . . . (973) 948-4280
Mountain Mike's Sport Shop,  
7 Old Rudetown Rd., McAfee  . . . . . . . . . . . . . (973) 827-6527
Mountain View Country Store,  
300 Rt. 519, Wantage . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (973) 875-6000
Simon-Peter Bait And Tackle,  
Rt. 206 And Brighton Rd., Newton . . . . . . . . . . (973) 786-5313
Swartswood Deli,  
911 Newton-Swartswood Rd., Stillwater . . . . . (973) 383-5470

WARREN

Alpine Meats, Rt. 94 N., Blairstown . . . . . . . . . (908) 362-8568
Hi-Way Sport Shop,  
Box 253, Rt. 31 North, Washington . . . . . . . . . (908) 689-6208
Smitty’s Liquor & Deli, 89 Rt. 46, Delaware . . . (908) 475-5933
The Owl’s Nest, 97 Rt. 519, Warren Glen . . . . . (908) 995-7903

No. 6 .......................................................................................................... 708 feet or 236 yards

No. 0 ........................................................................................................1,845 feet or 615 yards

No. 00 ......................................................................................................1,895 feet or 632 yards

Slug, 1 oz ............................................................................................. 3,780 feet or 1,260 yards

12 gauge maximum  distances for shot sizes:

Sporting Arms and Ammunition  Manufacturers’ Institute, Inc. Safety Series, 
1075 Post Road, Riverside, CT 06878

*  Distances above are with barrel held at an elevated angle for  maximum
trajectory. Always consider the angle of your barrel when shooting.

*  Never shoot at or over the crest of a hill.

*  All distances are approximate and can vary depending on the shotgun’s
gauge/choke and ammunition used.

How Far Can Your Firearm Shoot?
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Public Turkey Hunting Land
IN NEW JERSEY

All Your Hunting And Fishing Needs!

GUNS • AMMO • APPAREL
BAIT • TACKLE • ARCHERY

6390 Harding Highway 
Mays Landing, NJ

609-829-2229

Gun 
Transfers

NJ Hunting 
& Fishing 
Licenses

PRICE
MATCH

Public Turkey Hunting Land in New Jersey
TURKEY HUNTING AREA 1

•  Delaware Water Gap Nat’l 
Recreation Area

• Flatbrook-Roy WMA
• Hainesville WMA
• Stokes State Forest

TURKEY HUNTING AREA 2

• Bear Swamp WMA
• Delaware Water Gap Nat’l 

Recreation Area
• Flatbrook-Roy WMA
• Paulinskill WMA
• Stokes State Forest
• Swartswood State Park
• Trout Brook WMA
• Walpack WMA
• White Lake WMA

TURKEY HUNTING AREA 3

• Columbia WMA (partial)
• Delaware Water Gap Nat’l 

Recreation Area
• Worthington State Forest

TURKEY HUNTING AREA 4

• Allamuchy Mountain State Park
• Beaver Brook WMA
• Columbia WMA (partial)
• Honey Run WMA
• Jenny Jump State Forest

• Stephens State Park
• Whittingham WMA

TURKEY HUNTING AREA 5

• Kittatinny Valley State Park
• Paulinskill WMA

TURKEY HUNTING AREA 6

• Abram Hewitt State Forest
• Hamburg Mountain WMA
• Long Pond Ironworks State Park
• Norvin Green State Forest
• Ramapo Mountain State Forest
• Ringwood State Park
• Wawayanda State Park

TURKEY HUNTING AREA 7

• Berkshire Valley WMA
• Farny State Park
• Rockaway River WMA
• Sparta Mountain WMA
• Weldon Brook WMA
• Wildcat Ridge WMA

TURKEY HUNTING AREA 8

• Buckhorn Creek WMA
• Clinton WMA
• Musconetcong River WMA
• Pequest WMA
• Pohatcong Creek WMA

TURKEY HUNTING AREA 9

• Black River WMA
• Hacklebarney State Park
• Ken Lockwood Gorge WMA
• Musconetcong River WMA
• Pequest WMA
• Rockport WMA
• South Branch WMA
• Voorhees State Park

TURKEY HUNTING AREA 10

• Black River WMA

TURKEY HUNTING AREA 11

• Alexauken Creek WMA
• Lockatong WMA
• Six Mile Run Reservoir State Park 

(bow only)

TURKEY HUNTING AREA 12

• Assunpink WMA
• Turkey Swamp WMA

TURKEY HUNTING AREA 14

• Brendan T. Byrne State Forest
• Colliers Mills WMA
• Double Trouble State Park
• Forked River Mountain WMA
• Greenwood Forest WMA
• Manahawkin WMA
• Manasquan WMA
• Manchester WMA

• Medford WMA
• Pleasant Run WMA
• Whiting WMA

TURKEY HUNTING AREA 15

• Wharton State Forest

TURKEY HUNTING AREA 16

• Bass River State Forest
• Hammonton Creek WMA
• Penn State Forest
• Port Republic WMA
• Stafford Forge WMA
• Swan Bay WMA
• Warren Grove Recreation Area
• Wharton State Forest

TURKEY HUNTING AREA 20

• Abbotts Meadow WMA
• Cohansey River MWA
• DOD Ponds WMA
• Elmer Lake WMA
• Gum Tree Corner WMA
• Harrisonville Lake WMA
• Mad Horse Creek WMA
• Maskells Mill Pond WMA
• Salem River WMA
• Thundergut Pond WMA

TURKEY HUNTING AREA 21

• Buckshutem WMA
• Cedar Lake WMA

• Cedarville Pond WMA
• Cohansey River WMA
• Dix WMA
• Egg Island WMA
• Fortescue WMA
• Glassboro WMA
• Nantuxent WMA
• New Sweden WMA
• Millville WMA
• Parvin State Park
• Union Lake WMA
• White Oak Branch WMA
• Winslow WMA

TURKEY HUNTING AREA 22

• Beaver Swamp WMA
• Belleplain State Forest
• Cape May Wetlands WMA
• Dennis Creek WMA
• Gibson Creek WMA
• Great Egg Harbor WMA
• Heislerville WMA
• Higbee Beach WMA
• Makepeace Lake WMA
• Maple Lake WMA
• Menantico Ponds WMA
• Peaslee WMA
• Tuckahoe WMA
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Trapping
REGUL ATIONS

bobcat. A Fish and Wildlife Trapper Response 
Team technician will go to the site for data 
collection and the safe release of the bobcat.

• Any person (including a farmer) who traps a coy-
ote must report their harvest to a Regional Law 
Enforcement Office within 24 hours of take, and 
provide their name, CID# and daytime telephone 
number.

• Licensed trappers may use the following firearms 
to dispatch legally trapped animals other than 
muskrat: 1) an air gun not smaller than .177 caliber 
nor larger than .22 caliber; or 2) a .22 caliber rifle 
using only .22 caliber short ammunition when in 
possession of a valid rifle permit. Firearms may not 
be loaded with more than three rounds.

Beaver and River Otter
Beaver may be taken only by properly licensed trap-
pers in possession of a special beaver trapping permit 
valid for an entire management zone, or a special 
site-specific beaver permit valid as designated on 
the permit. River otter may only be taken by prop-
erly licensed trappers in possession of a special river 
otter trapping permit valid for an entire management 
zone. Application can be made at license agents or 
via Fish and Wildlife’s Internet license sales site 
www.NJ.WildlifeLicense.com. Applicants must 
have a current and valid trapping license to apply. 

Zone maps, boundary descriptions and per-
mit quotas are available on our website or call 
(609) 292-1473. Applicants must have a current 
and valid trapping license to apply. The application 
period is October 1–31. Applicants may apply for 
only one beaver trapping permit and/or one otter 
trapping permit. If the number of applications 
exceeds the permit quota, a random lottery drawing 
will be held to determine permit holders. Successful 

Regulations in red are new this year.

• A trapping license is required and a Trapper Edu-
cation course must be passed. See pages 1 and 
8 for license information.

• All traps set or used must bear a legible tag of 
durable material with the name and address of the 
person setting, using and maintaining the traps. 
Trap tags with a previous Fish and Wildlife-issued 
trap identification number or the trapper’s Con-
servation Identification Number (CID#) may be 
used in lieu of name and address to mark each trap. 

• No traps or trap stakes are to be set prior to 6:00 
a.m. on the first day of any open trapping season 
indicated in this section.

• No trapper may set a trap on any state wildlife 
management area where pheasant or quail are 
released prior to 6:00 a.m. on January 1. Areas 
include Assunpink, Berkshire Valley, Bevans 
(Millville), Black River, Clinton, Colliers Mills, 
Flatbrook-Roy, Glassboro, Greenwood For-
est (incl. Howardsville), Heislerville, MacNa-
mara (Tuckahoe), Mad Horse, Manahawkin, 
Manasquan River, Medford, Nantuxent, Pea-
slee, Pequest, Port Republic, Stafford Forge, 
Walpack, Winslow and Whittingham WMAs. 
Trapping is prohibited at all times on the Dela-
ware Water Gap National Recreation Area.

• All traps must be checked and tended at least 
once every 24 hours, preferably in the morning.

• No trap shall be permitted to remain set on any 
property at the close of the trapping season.

• No person shall steal or attempt to take traps 
of another, or remove a trapped animal without 
permission of the trap owner.

• There is a mandatory reporting requirement 
for trappers who incidentally capture a bobcat 
to call (877) WARN-DEP before releasing the 

beaver permit applicants will be given first oppor-
tunity for otter permits in their respective zone. 

Fish and Wildlife's Director may issue Beaver 
Damage Control Permits to owners or lessees 
of any land to control beaver damage. Damage 
Control Permits issued during the open beaver 
trapping season may be awarded to applicants that 
did not received a zone wide permit during the 
open lottery and who reside near the damage site. 
All beaver harvested on Damage Control Permits 
issued during the open season must be registered at 
an official beaver/otter check station. Beaver taken 
on Damage Control Permits issued outside of the 
open beaver trapping season may not be possessed 
or sold by the damage permit holder.

Other beaver/otter rules and regulations:
• Season Dates: Dec. 26, 2016–Feb. 9, 2017
• Bag Limits: 8 beaver per permit; 1 otter per season.
• Holders of a river otter trapping permit may use 

a maximum of three traps daily.
• Trappers may only possess one Special River 

Otter Trapping Permit per season.
• All beaver and otter trap tags must be clearly vis-

ible above the water or ice.
• Holders of both a Special Beaver Permit and 

a Beaver Damage Control Permit may use five 
additional traps daily on the property listed in 
the Damage Control Permit.

• A Fish and Wildlife-issued Beaver Transporta-
tion Tag or Otter Transportation Tag must be 
affixed to the beaver or otter carcass immediately 
upon taking possession of the animal.

• All otters harvested incidentally by beaver trap-
pers (i.e., trappers possessing a beaver permit but 
not an otter permit) must be fully surrendered 
to the Division of Fish and Wildlife. The entire 
carcass, including the pelt, must be surrendered.

• All successful trappers (or their agents) must pres-
ent their beaver and/or otter pelts at a designated 
check station for examination where pelt tags will 
be affixed. All otter carcasses must be surren-
dered when pelts are registered, as required by 
the Game Code. Failure to submit your carcass 
will result in the issuance of a citation by the 
Bureau of Law Enforcement.

• Trappers are requested to properly flesh and 
stretch all pelts for examination. Additional 
information on check stations will be provided 
to all permit holders.

• Fish and Wildlife will staff check-in stations 
at the Assunpink, Clinton, Flatbrook, Tucka-
hoe and Winslow WMAs and the Newfound-
land Fire Company on Saturday, Feb. 25, 2017 
(9 a.m.–noon). Successful trappers who cannot 
attend the scheduled dates should contact either 
Joseph Garris at (908) 735-7040 or Andrew Bur-
nett at (609) 748-2047 prior to Feb. 18 to make 
alternate arrangements. 

• Permit holders will be notified via email, telephone 
or U.S. mail in the event the beaver and otter trap-
ping season is extended for any reason, and notified 
of any change in the pelt registration date. 
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North Zone:
Nov. 15–Mar. 15

South Zone:
Dec. 1–Mar. 15

WMAs:
Jan. 1–Mar. 15

No daily or seasonal bag 
limit for these species.

Traps may not be set 
prior to 6 a.m. on 
the respective 
opening day.

Del. Water Gap 
Nat’l Rec. Area 
closed to trapping

Report any nutria harvest 
to a Division of Fish and 
Wildlife Office.

Mink, Muskrat and Nutria Trapping Zones

Trapping
REGUL ATIONS

Beaver and River Otter Trapping Zones

Season Dates:
Dec. 26–Feb. 9 except
Jan. 1–Feb. 9 on select WMAs*
(See WMA list this page, above.) 

Number of Traps Allowed:
Beaver—5 per zone per day
Otter—3 per day

Bag Limits:
Beaver—8 per permit
Otter—1 per season

Traps may not be set 
prior to 6 a.m. on 
the respective 
opening day.

Del. Water Gap 
Nat’l Rec. Area 
closed to trapping

All otter carcasses must be 
surrendered to the Division 
of Fish and Wildlife.

Mandatory pelt registration:
Feb. 25 (9 a.m.–noon)

Bobcat and Fisher
Bobcats are classified as endangered in New 
Jersey; they are distributed widely across the 
northern part of the state. Fishers are returning, 
naturally and through reintroduction efforts in 
New York and Pennsylvania, to most of their 
historic range in the northeastern United States. 
Fishers have been documented in several north-
ern and southern New Jersey counties. 

There is no open trapping season for either 
bobcat or fisher. It is now mandatory for trap-
pers and farmers to report any incidental bobcat 
capture within 24 hours of discovery by calling 
1-877-WARN-DEP (1-877-927-6337). Posses-
sion of New Jersey bobcats or fishers is prohibited 
but those legally harvested in other U.S. states or 
Canadian provinces may be possessed if properly 
documented. Call the same number for a dead 
bobcat or fisher on your trapline; a Fish and 
Wildlife technician will arrange to pick up the 
animal. Biological samples will be taken from all 
bobcat and fisher carcasses. The data collected 
will be instrumental to understand the status of 
the species populations.

Coyote, Fox (Red and Gray), 
Opossum, Raccoon, Skunk 
and Weasel Trapping
• Season Dates: Nov. 15–Mar. 15*. Trapping is 

prohibited at all times on the Delaware Water 
Gap Nat’l Recreation Area.

• Bag Limits: No daily bag limit for any of these 
species.

• No open fisher season. Call (877) 927-6337 to 
report any fisher capture.

• Traps may not be set prior to 6 a.m. on the respec-
tive opening day.

Mink, Muskrat and 
Nutria Trapping
• Bag Limits: No daily bag limit for mink, muskrat 

or nutria.
• North Zone Nov. 15–Mar. 15*: Those portions 

of Bergen, Essex, Hudson, Hunterdon, Mercer, 
Middlesex, Morris, Passaic, Somerset, Sussex, 
Union and Warren counties lying north begin-
ning at the intersection of US Rt. 1 and the Dela-
ware River at Trenton; then north along Rt. 1 to 
its intersection with I-287; then south along I-287 
to its intersection with Rt. 440; then east along 
Rt. 440 to the NJ-NY state line.

• South Zone Dec. 1–Mar. 15*: Those portions of 
Atlantic, Burlington, Camden, Cape May, Cum-
berland, Gloucester, Mercer, Middlesex, Mon-
mouth, Ocean and Salem counties lying south 
of the aforementioned line.

*The following wildlife management areas 
(WMAs) are closed to trapping until Jan. 1: 
Assunpink, Berkshire Valley, Bevans (Millville), 
Black River, Clinton, Colliers Mills, Flatbrook-
Roy, Glassboro, Greenwood (incl. Howards-
ville), Heislerville, MacNamara (Tuckahoe), 
Mad Horse, Manahawkin, Manasquan River, 

Medford, Nantuxent, Peaslee, Pequest, Port 
Republic, Stafford Forge, Walpack, Winslow 
and Whittingham. Trapping is prohibited at all 
times on the Delaware Water Gap Nat’l Recre-
ation Area.

Traps, Body-gripping 
or Killer-type
No body-gripping or killer-type trap shall be used 
in non-tidal waters unless completely submerged 
underwater when the water is at the normal level. In 
tidal water, such traps must be completely covered 
at normal high tide. 

It is illegal to use, set or maintain a body-gripping 
or killer-type trap having a jaw spread greater than 
6 inches without a permit for beaver or river otter. A 
body-gripping or killer-type trap with a jaw spread 
of no more than 10 inches may be used for beaver or 
river otter. Jaw spread shall be measured between 
the inner edges of the jaws across the trigger of a 
set trap. 

Beaver and otter trap tags must be placed above 
the water line and exposed to view.

Traps, Leg-hold
It is illegal to possess or use any steel-jawed leg-hold 
type trap (i.e., any coil-spring or longspring trap) 
anywhere in New Jersey. Foot-encapsulating traps 
which do not fall under this trap category may be 
possessed and used.
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Traps, Live-capture 
Cable Restraints
• No person shall set, use or maintain any type of 

snare unless they have first passed a Fish and Wild-
life-approved trapper education course and carry 
on their person appropriate certification thereof. 

• All live capture cable restraints must include 
a relaxing-type lock, except when submerged 
underwater or when set for mink, muskrat, nutria 
or weasel.

• All natural baits consisting of fish, bird or mam-
mal carcasses or flesh used in trapping with 
live-capture cable restraints must be covered or 
concealed from view except when placed at least 
30 feet from any trap set.

Live-capture cable restraints set for 
mink, muskrat, nutria and weasel are 
subject to the following requirements:
• All such traps must be constructed of aircraft 

cable or crucible wire measuring 1/32, 3/64 or 
1/16 inches in diameter, equipped with a swivel;

• Mink, muskrat and nutria cable restraints must 
be set within 50 feet of the mean high water line.

• All such traps must be equipped with a stop to 
prevent the average loop diameter from exceeding 
4 inches; and,

• All such traps must be set so that the distance 
between the ground/walking surface to the top 
of the loop does not exceed 7 inches.

Red fox, here trapped on the Trout Brook WMA in Sussex County by Joshua Garris, 16, will lie quietly 
after clearing a circle of ground when escape from the cable restraint is not possible. The trap design 
also allows for non-target species to be released unharmed. 

Be a Conservation-Minded Trapper

For tips to avoid the accidental capture of bobcat 
or to prevent injury if one is trapped, scan the 
QR code, below.

Scan this code for  
Trapping Tips to Prevent  
the Accidental Capture of —
and Injury to — Bobcat or 
visit NJFishandWildlife.com/qr/
traptips.htm

If an accidental bobcat trapping occurs, it is 
mandatory that you call NJ Division of Fish 
and Wildlife’s Trapper Response Team at 
(877) WARN-DEP (877-927-6337)  
so that we may obtain genetic samples. 

Have You Seen This Cat? 
New Jersey Division of Fish and Wildlife needs your 
help by reporting bobcat sightings so we can better 
understand the size, distribution and genetic struc-
ture of our bobcat population.

Contact our agency if you have observed a 
bobcat:

• Live and trail cam photos— 
Complete a brief sighting report form:  
http://www.nj.gov/dep/fgw/ensp/rprtform.htm. 
Data from south Jersey is of particular 
interest. 

• Dead on the road—call us at (908) 638-4127 
to report the carcass location.
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It is illegal to possess incidentally trapped 
or road-killed bobcat from New Jersey.

Live-capture cable restraints set 
for coyote, fox, opossum, raccoon 
and skunk shall be subject to 
the following requirements:

• All such traps must be constructed of aircraft cable 
or crucible wire measuring 5/64 to 3/16 inches  
in diameter and be equipped with a swivel and a 
relaxing-type lock;

• All such traps must be equipped with a deer stop 
located no less than 6 inches from the beginning 
of the cable and a loop stop to prevent the aver-
age loop diameter from exceeding 12 inches; and,

• All such traps must be set so that the distance 
between the ground / walking surface to the top 
of the loop does not exceed 24 inches.

The above requirements for cable diameters, 
loop stops and loop sizes do not apply to body 
gripping restraining snares that are completely 
submerged underwater at all times (e.g., when 
set for beaver or river otter).

Traps, Live-capture 
Foot Encapsulating
Enclosed or foot encapsulating (also known as 
enclosed foothold or dog-proof traps) traps are 
now legal for trapping. These traps have been spe-
cifically designed to capture species such as raccoon 
and opossum (which possess a degree of manual 
dexterity) while minimizing the capture of non-
target animals especially domestic dogs and cats. 
Enclosed foothold traps are a live-restraint trap 
which do not result in the death of the captured 
animal or in the potential for significant injury.

These traps are subject to the following requirements:
• All triggering and restraining mechanisms shall 

be enclosed by a housing.
• The triggering and restraining mechanism is acces-

sible only by a single opening when the trap is set.
• The access opening does not exceed 2 inches in 

diameter or when measured diagonally.
• The triggering mechanism can be activated only 

by a pulling force.
• The trap has a swivel-mounted anchoring system. 
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Migratory Bird
REGUL ATIONS

New Migratory Bird 
Season Setting Process 
Begins in 2016
Beginning in 2016, the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Ser-
vice and Flyway Councils present a new schedule 
for migratory game bird hunting regulations. This 
more efficient cycle will result in setting season dates 
and bag limits much earlier in the year. Therefore, 
printing of the annual Migratory Bird Regulations 
pamphlet is now discontinued. All migratory bird 
hunting regulations are contained in this Digest.

Migratory game bird hunting regulations are 
developed by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, 
with input from the Flyway Councils and other 
constituents by establishing the frameworks, or 
outside limits, for season lengths, bag limits and 
areas for hunting. States then select hunting seasons 
within the federal guidelines. States may choose to 
be more conservative in their selections than the 
federal frameworks, but never more liberal.

Youth hunters must possess a valid Youth 
Firearms License—OR be less than 16 years 
of age and qualified to hunt without a license 
under the farmer license exemption (see 
page 28)—to hunt the Youth Waterfowl 
Hunting Days as detailed on page 22.

All youth hunters must be under the direct 
supervision of a licensed, non-hunting adult 
21 years of age or older. 

Youth Waterfowl 
Hunting Days

New Jersey Migratory 
Bird Regulations 
Major Changes for the 2016–17 Season
• Brant season will be concurrent with duck season 

in each zone with a bag limit of 1 brant.
• The Special Sea Duck Area was changed to 

include only waters of the Atlantic Ocean; further, 
the season within the Special Sea Duck Area was 
reduced to 60 days. 

• Federal regulations now allow each state to use 
their existing definition of youth hunter for par-
ticipation in Youth Waterfowl Days. Holders of 
a New Jersey Youth license are eligible to partici-
pate on Youth Waterfowl Hunt Days, page 22. 
See also Youth Licenses, page 10.

• New Jersey has a newer regulation prohibiting 
wanton waste of most game species, including 
migratory birds. See Wanton Waste, page 27.

What Do I Need To Hunt Migratory Birds In New Jersey?

Species Hunted Hunting License HIP Certification
NJ Stamp 

Certification
Federal Stamp

Crow

Woodcock, rail, moorhen, snipe

Duck, brant, goose

Waterfowl Stamps: Both the New Jersey Water-
fowl Stamp Certification and Migratory Bird 
Hunting and Conservation Stamp (Federal Duck 
Stamp) are required for all waterfowl hunters 16 
years and older and must be signed in ink. New Jer-
sey Stamp Certifications are available from license 
agents and from the Licenses and Permits button 
on Fish and Wildlife’s website. Federal stamps are 
available from some U.S. post offices and online 
at http://www.fws.gov/birds/get-involved/duck-
stamp/buy-duck-stamp.php.

Harvest Information 
Program (HIP)
All hunters must obtain an HIP certification 
before hunting ducks, geese, brant, coot, woodcock, 
rails, snipe or gallinules. Hunters may purchase an 
HIP certification in three ways:

1. From a License Agent

2. Online at NJ.WildlifeLicense.com

3. By calling the toll-free NJ Telephone Sales 
Line at (888) 277-2015

All three methods allow hunters to go hunting 
immediately after registering. Online and license 
agent HIP certifications cost $2 while telephone 
HIP certifications will include a shipping/handling 

fee and cost $5.13. Internet HIP certifications can 
be printed on a home computer. Telephone HIP 
certifications will be received in about one week; 
however, hunters can begin hunting immediately by 
recording their HIP certification number.

HIP certification should be carried in the hunter’s 
license holder and are valid from Sept. 1 to April 
15 the following year. Information collected for 
HIP is confidential and used by the U.S. Fish and 
Wildlife Service for conducting migratory bird 
harvest surveys.

Hunters who recover banded migratory birds 
are asked to report the band number to the 
U.S. Department of the Interior’s Bird Banding 
Laboratory (BBL), Washington, D.C. Banding 
data plays a critical role in migratory bird 
harvest management. There are three ways to 
report bands:

1. Online: reportband.gov

2. Call Toll Free: (800) 327-BAND

3. Write: to the address inscribed on the band. 

Online reporting provides instant access to 
the original banding information including the 
species, sex, location, date and age of the bird 
at banding. Band reporters will be able to print 
a certificate of appreciation on their home 
computer which will include information about 
the bird which had been banded. 

When contacting the BBL, be prepared to pro-
vide: band number, date the bird was recovered, 
exact location of the bird’s recovery as well as 
nearest town, and method of recovery, e.g., shot 
or found dead. Hunters may keep the bands. 

Hunters:  
Report Banded Birds
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• From or by means, aid, or use of a sinkbox or any 
other type of low floating device, having a depres-
sion affording the hunter a means of concealment 
beneath the surface of the water;

• From or by means, aid, or use of any motor vehicle, 
motor-driven land conveyance, or aircraft of any 
kind, except that paraplegics and persons missing 
one or both legs may take from any stationary
motor vehicle or stationary motor-driven land
conveyance;

• From or by means of any motorboat or other craft 
having a motor attached, or any sailboat, unless
the motor has been completely shut off and/or the 
sails furled, and its progress there from has ceased. 
Exception: crippled birds may be shot from craft 
under power in the Special Sea Duck Area.

• By the use or aid of live birds as decoys; although 
not limited to, it shall be a violation of this para-
graph for any person to take migratory waterfowl 
on an area where tame or captive live ducks or
geese are present unless such birds are and have
been for a period of 10 consecutive days prior to 
such taking, confined within an enclosure which 
substantially reduces the audibility of their calls 
and totally conceals such birds from the sight of 
wild migratory waterfowl;

• By the use or aid of recorded or electrically ampli-
fied bird calls or sounds, or recorded or electri-
cally amplified imitations of bird calls or sounds. 
Exceptions: In New Jersey, hunters can use
electronic calls during: crow season, Septem-
ber Canada goose season and the Light Goose 
Conservation Order.

• By means or aid of any motor driven land, water, 
or air conveyance, or any sailboat used for the
purpose of or resulting in the concentrating, driv-
ing, rallying, or stirring up of any migratory bird.

Tagging requirement—No person shall put or 
leave any migratory game birds at any place (other 
than at his personal abode), or in the custody of 
another person for picking, cleaning, processing, 
shipping, transportation, or storage (including 

Summary of  
Federal Regulations 
The following is a synopsis of Federal Regulations 
that pertain to the hunting of migratory game birds. 
More information can be found at: http://NJFis-
handWildlife.com/pdf/waterfowl_federal_regs.pdf 
or by calling the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Law 
Enforcement Office at (908) 787-1321.

No persons shall take 
migratory game birds:
• By the aid of baiting, or on or over any baited

area, where a person knows or reasonably should 
know that the area is or has been baited. Baiting
means the direct or indirect placing, exposing,
depositing, distributing, or scattering of salt,
grain, or other feed that could serve as a lure or
attraction for migratory game birds to, on, or over 
any areas where hunters are attempting to take
them. Baited area means any area on which salt, 
grain, or other feed has been placed, exposed,
deposited, distributed, or scattered, if that salt,
grain, or other feed could serve as a lure or attrac-
tion for migratory game birds to, on, or over areas 
where hunters are attempting to take them. Any 
such area will remain a baited area for ten days
following the complete removal of all such salt,
grain, or other feed.

• With a trap, snare, net, rifle, pistol, swivel gun,
shotgun larger than 10 gauge, punt gun, battery 
gun, machinegun, fish hook, poison, drug, explo-
sive, or stupefying substance;

• With a shotgun of any description capable of
holding more than three shells, unless it is plugged 
with a one-piece filler, incapable of removal with-
out disassembling the gun, so its total capacity
does not exceed three shells. Exceptions: In New 
Jersey, shotguns capable of holding no more
than 7 shells are permitted during the Septem-
ber Canada goose season and the Light Goose 
Conservation Order.

Migratory Bird
REGUL ATIONS

temporary storage), or for the purpose of having 
taxidermy services performed, unless such birds 
have a tag attached, signed by the hunter, stating 
his address, the total number and species of birds, 
and the date such birds were killed. Migratory 
game birds being transported in any vehicle as the 
personal baggage of the possessor shall not be con-
sidered as being in storage or temporary storage.

Custody of birds of another—No person shall 
receive or have in custody any migratory game birds 
belonging to another person unless such birds are 
properly tagged.

Species identification requirement—No per-
son shall transport within the United States any 
migratory game birds, except doves and band-tailed 
pigeons, unless the head or one fully feathered wing 
remains attached to each such bird at all times while 
being transported from the place where taken until 
they have arrived at the personal abode of the pos-
sessor or a migratory bird preservation facility.

New Jersey  
State Regulations
State laws and regulations may be more stringent 
but not more lenient than those prescribed in fed-
eral regulations (50 CFR Part 20).

Restrictions:
a. Migratory bird hunting is not permitted on

Sunday in New Jersey.
b. No person may take rails or snipe while pos-

sessing shot other than non-toxic shot. 
c. The starting time to hunt waterfowl on open-

ing day of pheasant season (Nov. 12, 2016) is
8 a.m. on wildlife management areas stocked
with pheasant and quail except the tidal waters 
or marshes of those WMAs. See page  55
for pheasant and quail stocked WMAs. The
starting time to hunt waterfowl on opening day 
of the pheasant season conforms to the regular 

See page 81 for sunrise/sunset table.

• Duck, goose, brant, coot, rail, moorhen,
snipe—1/2 hour before sunrise to
sunset. For example, if sunrise is 6:30
a.m. and sunset is 5:00 p.m., hunting
hours for these species are 6:00 a.m. to
5:00 p.m.

• Woodcock—sunrise to sunset.

• Crow—sunrise to 1/2 hour after
sunset.

• September Canada Goose and the Spring
Light Goose Conservation Order—1/2
hour before sunrise to 1/2 hour after
sunset.

Hunting Hours

In New Jersey, no person may take ducks, 
geese, brant, coots, rails, snipe or moorhens 
while possessing shot other than approved 
non-toxic shot which includes: steel, tung-
sten-iron, tungsten-polymer, tungsten-matrix, 
tungsten-nickel-iron, tungsten-iron-nickel-tin, 
tungsten-bronze, tungsten-iron-polymer, 
bismuth-tin, copper-clad iron, tungsten-iron-
copper-nickel, tungsten-tin-iron and tung-
sten-tin-bismuth shot types. Shot size may 
not exceed Size T (0.200 inch) for waterfowl. 
See http://www.fws.gov/birds/bird-enthusi-
asts/hunting/nontoxic.php for more informa-
tion. For crows and woodcock, shot size may 
not exceed Size #4 and although lead shot 
is permitted, hunters are encouraged to use 
non-toxic shot.

Nontoxic Shot 
Regulations

No permanent waterfowl blinds, including pit 
blinds, shall be constructed, hunted from or 
used in any manner on these WMAs:

1. Assunpink
2. Black River
3. Colliers Mills
4. Hainesville
5. Tuckahoe
6. Manahawkin
7. Stafford Forge

8. Whittingham
9. Beaver Swamp
10. Sedge Island
11. Salem River
12. Prospertown
13. Paulinskill

Any blind used on these WMAs must be 
portable and completely removed by day's 
end. Blinds remaining on WMAs are subject to 
confiscation and disposal by Fish and Wildlife.

Waterfowl Blinds
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Special Regulations 
Permitted During 
September Canada 
Goose Season,  
Sept. 1–30, 2016 Only
Special regulations designed to help curb the 
growth of resident population Canada geese. 

1. Electronic calls are permitted.

2. Shotguns capable of holding no more
than seven shells (including magazine and
chamber) are permitted.

3. Hunting hours: ½ hour before sunrise to ½
hour after sunset.

Remember: these special regulations 
apply only to the September Canada 
goose season. Hunters who choose to use 
an unplugged gun during the September 
Canada goose season must remember to rein-
stall the magazine plug before pursuing other 
game species. 

During all other waterfowl seasons, including 
duck, brant, regular and winter Canada goose, 
and snow goose, standard regulations apply. 
Standard regulations include: electronic calls 
prohibited, shotguns may not be capable of 
holding more than three shot shells and hunt-
ing hours end at sunset. 

Attention  
Waterfowl Hunters

start time (e.g. 1⁄2 hr. before sunrise) on private 
land, tidal marshes, WMAs not stocked with 
pheasant and quail, and the tidal marsh por-
tions of pheasant and quail stocked WMAs.

d. There shall be no open season for hunting any 
game birds or animals including migratory
waterfowl:

 » In or on the shores of the Shark River in Mon-
mouth County.

 » In that portion of the Manasquan River from
the ocean inlet upstream to Route 70 bridge.

 » On Herring Island and that portion of Bar-
negat Bay lying between northern and south-
ern tips of Herring Island easterly to adjacent 
shoreline of Mantoloking Boro, Ocean County.

 » On Parker Creek and Oceanport Creek, Mon-
mouth County, or the shores thereof, southwest 
or upstream of the Conrail R.R. bridge.

 » On the non-tidal portions of Cox Hall Creek
WMA in Cape May County.

e. It is unlawful for any person to leave the edible 
portions (defined as the breast meat) of migra-
tory birds (excepting crows) to waste. Edible por-
tions (see illustration, page 26) do not include
meat that has been damaged by the method of 
taking; bones, sinew and meat reasonably lost
as a result of butchering, boning, or close trim-
ming of bones; or viscera. Edible portions do not 
include meat from diseased carcasses. Further, 
it is unlawful for a person to dump or abandon 
a wildlife carcass or parts along or upon a public 
right-of-way or highway, or on public or pri-
vate property, including a waterway or stream, 
without the permission of the owner or tenant.

f. Waterfowl hunting on Delaware River is gov-
erned by state boundaries and restricted to
respective state seasons.

g. Permanent blinds may not be constructed on
some state wildlife management areas. 

h. Arrows with flu-flu type fletching are required 
for taking flying game birds. Arrows with edged 
heads are prohibited for taking flying game birds.

2017 Spring Light Goose 
Conservation Order — 
Feb. 16–Apr. 8, 2017  
1. Electronic calls are permitted.
2. Shotguns capable of holding no more than

7 shells (including magazine and chamber)
are permitted.

3. Shooting hours: ½ hour before sunrise to ½ 
hour after sunset.

4. A valid hunting license, federal and state
duck stamps, HIP certification and NJ Light 
Goose Conservation Order (CO) Permit ($2) 
are required.

5. The NJ Light Goose CO Permit is available
ONLY from the Division’s web site or by
mailing: Light Goose Permit, NJ Division
of Fish and Wildlife, MC501-03, P.O. Box
420, Trenton, NJ 08625-0420.  A request
for mailed permits must include:
a) Photocopy of 2017 Hunting or All-around

Sportsman license that clearly shows the 
Conservation ID Number and DOB

b) Check or money order for $2 payable to
NJ Division of Fish and Wildlife

c) Self-addressed, stamped envelope
d) Daytime telephone number

The light goose permit will not be available until 
January 2017. As part of the permit process, 
hunters will be required to report their activity 
and harvest as requested on the permit. Check 
the Division’s web site in late winter for more 
details. 

Falconry—Special season dates and bag limits 
apply. Contact NJ Division of Fish and Wildlife 
at (908) 735-8793.

Migratory Bird
REGUL ATIONS
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Migratory Bird Zoned Hunting Seasons
Migratory Bird Species Season Dates Daily Bag Limits1

North Zone

Ducks, Brant, Mergansers and Coot
Oct. 8–Oct. 15 

Nov. 5–Jan. 5

Ducks: 6 in aggregate from Duck Limits* below; 

Mergansers2: 5 Coot: 15 Brant: 1
Canada Geese (Regular Season) 

— Singly or in aggregate to include 

Cackling and White-fronted Goose

 Nov. 12–Nov. 26 

Dec. 10–Jan. 21
3

Youth Waterfowl Days Oct. 1 and Feb. 4 
Same limits for ducks, Canada geese, brant and 

light geese within each zone

South Zone

Ducks, Brant,  

Mergansers and Coot

Oct. 22–Oct. 29  

Nov. 12–Jan. 12

Ducks: 6 in aggregate from Duck Limits* below; 

Mergansers2: 5 Coot: 15 Brant: 1
Canada Geese (Regular Season) 

— Singly or in aggregate to include 

Cackling and White-fronted Goose

Nov. 12–Nov. 26  

Dec. 10–Jan. 21
3

Youth Waterfowl Days Oct. 15 and Feb. 4
Same limits for ducks, Canada geese, brant and 

light geese within each zone

 Coastal Zone

Ducks, Brant, Mergansers and Coot
Nov. 10–Nov. 12  

Nov. 24–Jan. 28

Ducks: 6 in aggregate from Duck Limits* below; 

Mergansers2: 5 Coot: 15 Brant: 1
Canada Geese (Regular Season) 

— Singly or in aggregate to include 

Cackling and White-fronted Goose

Nov. 10–Nov. 12  

Nov. 24–Feb. 15
5

Youth Waterfowl Days Nov. 5 and Feb. 11
Same limits for ducks, Canada geese, brant and 

light geese within each zone

Migratory Bird
REGUL ATIONS

Waterfowl Zones 
Applies to hunting duck, coot, merganser, regular 
season Canada goose, brant, regular season light 
goose and Youth Waterfowl Days.

Coastal Zone: That portion of the State 
seaward of a line beginning at the New York 
State line in Raritan Bay and extending west 
along the New York State line to NJ 440 at 
Perth Amboy; west on NJ 440 to the Garden 
State Parkway; south on the Garden State 
Parkway to NJ 109; south on NJ 109 to Cape 
May County Route 633 (Lafayette St.); south on 
Lafayette St. to Jackson St.; south on Jackson St. 
to the shoreline at Cape May; west along the 
shoreline of Cape May beach to COLREGS 
Demarcation Line 80.503 at Cape May Point; 
south along COLREGS Demarcation Line 
80.503 to the Delaware State line in Delaware 
Bay.

North Zone: That portion of the State west of 
the Coastal Zone and north of a line extending west 
from the Garden State Parkway on NJ 70 to the NJ 
Turnpike, north on the turnpike to U.S. 206, north 
on U.S. 206 to U.S. 1 at Trenton, west on U.S. 1 to the 
Pennsylvania State line in the Delaware River. 

South Zone: Portion of the State not within the 
North Zone or the Coastal Zone.

NORTH ZONE

SOUTH ZONE

COASTAL  
ZONE

Special Sea Duck Area
The area defined as all New Jersey coastal waters 
seaward from the International Regulations for 
Preventing Collisions at Sea (COLREGS) Demar-
cation Lines shown on National Oceanic and 
Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) Nautical 
Charts and further described in 33 CFR 80 Dis-
tricts 1 and 5.

Woodcock Zones
North Zone—North of Rt. 70 from Point Pleas-
ant to Camden.

South Zone—South of Rt. 70 from Point Pleas-
ant to Camden.

Migratory Bird Statewide Hunting Seasons
Migratory Bird Species Season Dates Daily Bag Limits1

Canada Geese (September Season3 ) Sept. 1–Sept. 30 15

Light Geese - Regular Season4 Oct. 17–Feb. 15 25, singly or in aggregate

Light Geese - Conservation Order4 Feb. 16–Apr. 8 No limit

Rail (Sora, Clapper and Virginia) and Moorhen 

(Common gallinule)
Sept. 1–Nov. 9

Sora & Virginia rail: 25 total or aggre-

gate; Moorhen and Clapper rail: 10

Common Snipe Sept. 16–Dec. 31 8

Crow

Aug. 8 - Dec. 3

No limitDec. 12 - Mar. 17

Mon., Thur., Fri., Sat. Only

1  Possession Limits: three times the daily limit for all spe-

cies during each of the corresponding seasons. Exceptions: 

light geese and crows have no possession limit.

2  Mergansers including common, red breasted and hooded, 

in aggregate of which only 2 may be hooded. Merganser 

limits are in addition to duck limits. See Duck Limits, above.

3  See special regulations only for September Canada 
goose hunting, page 67.

4  Light geese include greater and lesser snow geese and 

Ross’s geese

5  Special Sea Duck Area: All New Jersey coastal waters 

seaward from the International Regulations for Preventing 

Collisions at Sea (COLREGS) Demarcation Lines shown on 

National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) 

Nautical Charts and further described in 33 CFR 80 Dis-

tricts 1 and 5.

Other Migratory Bird Seasons
Migratory Bird Species Season Dates Daily Bag Limits1

Woodcock - North Zone is north of Rt. 70 

from Point Pleasant to Camden
Oct. 15 - Nov. 19 3

Woodcock - South Zone: south of Rt. 70 

from Point Pleasant to Camden

Nov. 12–Dec. 3 and  

Dec. 17–Dec. 30
3

Sea Ducks in Special Sea Duck Area Only5 

(Black, Surf and White-winged Scoter; 

Long-tailed Duck and Eider only) 

Nov. 5–Jan. 13

5, but no more than 4 scoters in 

aggregate, 4 long-tailed ducks or  

4 eiders

Sea Ducks Outside Special Sea Duck Area Same as ducks by zone Count toward the bag limit of 6 ducks

Canada Geese (Special Winter Season 

Zones) - Singly or in aggregate to include 

Cackling and White-fronted Goose

Jan. 23–Feb. 15 5

Swans, harlequin duck, king rail and 

mourning dove
Closed No Season

*Ducks Limits – 6 ducks in aggregate and may not include more than:

Black duck - 1 

Black-bellied 

whistling duck - 6

Blue-winged teal - 6 

Bufflehead - 6 

Canvasback - 2

Eider - 4

Gadwall - 6

Goldeneye - 6 

Green-winged teal - 6

Long-tailed duck - 4

Mallard - 4 (including 

no more than 2 hens)

Pintail - 2

Redhead - 2 

Ring-necked duck - 6

Ruddy duck - 6

Scaup - 2

Scoter - 4

Shoveler - 6

Wigeon - 6 

Wood duck - 3
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Special Winter Canada 
Goose Season Hunting Areas
The two hatched areas are open 
to hunting. Scan this QR code 
with your mobile device or visit 
NJFishandWildlife.com/qr/
migbirdzones.htm for detailed 
Special Winter Canada Goose 
Season hunting areas and all migratory bird hunt-
ing zone boundaries. e boundaries. 

Every year, experienced waterfowlers throughout New Jersey join 
together dedicating their time and energy to present the New Jersey 
Waterfowlers Clinic—an all day, free seminar covering “everything you 
ever wanted to know” about the traditions of waterfowl hunting in New 
Jersey. This year is no exception!

Forty years ago, the clinic began as an opportunity to introduce young 
people to the world of waterfowl hunting. However, with the growing interest among men and 
women, as well as youths, the event has been transformed into an opportunity for anyone 10 and up 
to spend a fun and interesting day learning about waterfowling!

Our full-day clinic covers waterfowling from A to Z, and includes bird identification, decoys, calling, 
guns and ammo, boats, safety, laws and ethics, do’s and don’ts, clothing and camo, and even a 
demonstration by working retrievers! The value of the day is priceless! It’s a unique chance to ask 
any question you’ve ever had about the sport—to be answered by the most experienced waterfowl-
ers in New Jersey. Our instructors have a combined 300 years of experience!

• Free breakfast and lunch to all attending!

• Date: Sunday, Oct. 2, 2016

• Location: Tip Seaman Park, Tuckerton, NJ

• Time: 8 a.m.–3:30 p.m.

Please register in advance by calling Marty Kristiansen at (732) 977-5648 so we can plan 
accordingly. 

We hope you’ll join us this year and share our enthusiasm for all that is waterfowling!

New Jersey Waterfowlers Clinic
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Wildlife Management Area
REGUL ATIONS

THE FOLLOWING ARE PROHIBITED: alcoholic 
beverages, camping, geocaching, cutting or dam-
aging vegetation, removing timber or firewood, 
dumping, fires, metal detecting, swimming, pic-
nicking and the use of unmanned aerial vehicles 
known as drones.

Wildlife management area (WMA) regulations 
are established by the Division of Fish and Wildlife 
with penalties of not less than $50 nor more than 
$1,500. A second violation of any WMA regula-
tion will result in a five-year loss of all sporting 
licenses and privileges.

Information on WMA regulations and permit 
applications may be obtained by writing to New 
Jersey Division of Fish and Wildlife, MC 501-
03, P.O. Box 420, Trenton, NJ 08625-0420, or 
NJFishandWildlife.com/wmaregs.htm.

Fish and Wildlife may revoke any permit (or other 
authorization) for violation or due cause.

Boat Ramp 
Maintenance Permit 
Any vehicle used to transport or launch a vessel or 
water conveyance on the following WMAs must 
have affixed to the lower corner of the driver’s side 
rear window a boat ramp maintenance permit, or 
a photocopy of a valid hunting, fishing or trapping 
license. Be sure your Conservation ID number is 
clearly displayed; all other personal information 
may be blacked out for reasons of privacy. The 
boat ramp maintenance permit fee is $15, avail-
able from a license agent or at Fish and Wildlife’s 
Internet sales site. For more information see: 
NJFishandWildlife.com/wmaregs.htm. 

Persons 70 years and older are not required to 
obtain a boat ramp maintenance permit and need 
no license, but must affix to their window proof 
of age, such as a former license displaying your 
date of birth.

1. Round Valley 
Angler Access

2. Assunpink
3. Dennis Creek
4. Tuckahoe

5. Mad Horse Creek 
6. Union Lake
7. Menantico Ponds
8. Prospertown Lake

Dog Training,  
Exercising and Hunting
A person may exercise or train dogs only in desig-
nated dog training areas from May 1 to Aug. 31, 
inclusive and only on the following select WMAs:

1. Assunpink
2. Black River
3. Clinton
4. Colliers Mills
5. Glassboro
6. Hainesville
7. Manasquan

8. Millville
9. Pequest
10. Salem River
11. Stafford Forge
12. Tuckahoe
13. Whittingham
14. Winslow

All dogs must be properly licensed. Dogs may be 
exercised or trained on any WMA from Sept. 1 
to April 30. 

Additional regulations involve the release of game 
birds for training, the use of pigeons, the use of 
firearms, frozen game birds, the use of call back 
pens and the release of fox, raccoon, rabbit and 
hare. For more information call (609) 984-0547.

Field Trials
A permit to conduct a field trial on a wildlife man-
agement area may be obtained by contacting Fish 
and Wildlife at (609) 259-2132.

Higbee Beach
Higbee Beach WMA is closed to hunting from 
Sept. 1 until 12:01 a.m. on Dec. 14, 2016. 

Horseback Riding
Horseback riding is allowed on designated WMAs 
only by permit from the Division of Fish and Wild-
life. Apply online at www.NJ.WildlifeLicense.com. 
Horseback riding permits should be displayed on 
outer clothing while riding. For more information 
on horseback riding permits, call (609) 259-2132.

Hunting Regulations
The restriction prohibiting firearm hunting on 
wildlife management areas on the day prior to 
the opening of the regular small game season for 
pheasants and quail is rescinded. Pheasants are 
stocked after dark, precluding interaction between 
Fish and Wildlife personnel and hunters or the 
chance of prematurely harvesting a pheasant before 
the season opens. 

The quail season is closed statewide with the 
exception of the Peaslee and Greenwood WMAs. 
See Pheasants, page 55.

It is legal to use a .22 caliber rifle and .22 caliber 
rimfire short cartridges for hunting raccoon and 
opossum and for dispatching trapped animals other 
than muskrat on WMAs.

For coyote and fox hunting: the use of .177 and .22 
caliber rimfire or .177 through .25 caliber centerfire 
rifle ammo is allowed on WMAs. See Coyote/Fox 
ammo chart on page 54 for additional restrictions.

The use of air guns to hunt rabbit and squirrel is 
allowed on WMAs. See Air Guns page 25, and 
Squirrel, Regular Season on page 56.

Rifles, including muzzleloading rifles, may not be 
used to hunt woodchucks on WMAs.

Motor Vehicles and Other 
Forms of Conveyance
No person shall operate an unregistered vehicle on 
any state WMA. All motor vehicles are restricted to 
established public roads and parking areas.

All motor boats must be properly registered 
and have all the required safety equipment. (See 
Outboard Motors, below.)

The use of dog sleds and dog carts, off road 
vehicles, ATVs, trail bikes, or snowmobiles is 
prohibited on all WMAs unless authorized by 
Fish and Wildlife.

Outboard Motors
Only electric motors are allowed on freshwater lakes 
and ponds owned by NJ Division of Fish and Wildlife 
areas with the exception of Union Lake where an 
outboard motor, not exceeding 9.9 hp, may be used. 
On Prospertown Lake, only manually operated boats 
and canoes are allowed.

All titled boats must also be registered. Any boat 
mechanically propelled, regardless of length, must be 
registered. All boats greater than 12 feet, regardless 
of propulsion means, must be titled and registered. 
A boat license and New Jersey boat safety certificate 
are required to operate a power vessel on non-tidal 
waters of New Jersey. A boat license is not required 
for non-powered vessels.

Restricted Hours
Wildlife management areas are closed from 9 p.m. 
until 5 a.m. unless engaged in lawful hunting, fish-
ing or trapping activities. Special permission may be 
granted for Fish and Wildlife-approved activities.

Target Practice
Only archery, shotgun, muzzleloading shotgun, 
muzzleloading rifle, .177 and .22 caliber rimfire rifle 
shooting is allowed in designated hunter training ranges 
according to regulations posted at the training area.

The following types of ranges are available on des-
ignated WMAs statewide: 
• Shotgun Range: for use with clay birds and the 

patterning of fine shot; 
• Archery Range: approved backstops at select 

ranges, no broadheads allowed; 
• Muzzleloading Rifle and Shotgun Slug Range: 

for sighting in with shotgun slugs or buckshot, .177 
or .22 caliber rimfire rifles and muzzleloaders; no 
other firearms allowed. See page 71 for a list of 
ranges and requirements.

Unmanned Aerial 
Vehicles or Drones
The use of an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) or 
drone is prohibited on WMAs. A UAV is computer-
controlled for nearly their entire flight either autono-
mously or by remote control of a pilot and has the 
capacity for autonomous flight and navigation.

Waterfowl Blinds
No permanent waterfowl blinds, including pit blinds, 
shall be constructed, hunted from or used in any 
manner on any of the following WMAs:

1. Assunpink
2. Black River
3. Colliers Mills
4. Hainesville
5. Tuckahoe
6. Manahawkin
7. Stafford Forge

8. Whittingham 
9. Beaver Swamp
10. Sedge Island
11. Salem River
12. Prospertown
13. Paulinskill

Any blind used in these designated areas must be 
portable and shall be completely removed at the 
end of the day. Blinds remaining in WMAs will be 
subject to confiscation and properly disposed of by 
Fish and Wildlife.

Regulations in red are new this year.
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Wildlife Management Area
REGUL ATIONS

Northern Region
Hunterdon County
Clinton WMA
Route 173W, Clinton
• Shotgun, Archery, Muzzleloader (100 yards)
• All target frames must measure a minimum 30 

inches from base to bottom of the paper target held 
in the frame. Frames must be placed only on top of a 
target mound located at the 25, 50 and 100 yard lines. 
This minimum target height requirement eliminates 
the risk of ricochet to ensure all projectiles are col-
lected in the berm behind the 100 yard target.

• Spinner type targets for .177 and .22 caliber fire-
arms MUST be placed directly at the base of the 
25 yard berm to direct all bullets into the berm. 
These targets are not to be used at other yardage 
or target mound placements.

Morris County 
Black River WMA
Route 513 (Dover-Chester Rd.), Chester
• Archery, open year-round.
• Shotgun: Closed weekends from the third Sat-

urday in May through the Sunday of Labor Day 
weekend, as well as on Christmas and Easter. 
Operating hours are 9 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. during 
this summer period, and 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. for the rest 
of the year. Hunter education classes will continue 
at the range and are not affected by these new hours. 

Wildlife Management Area (WMA) Ranges
The following information pertains to New Jersey Division of Fish and Wildlife facilities. Information on privately operated facilities is available at 
“Where To Shoot,” a site maintained by the National Shooting Sports Foundation at www.wheretoshoot.org

• All WMA regulations apply.
• Ranges are open 8 a.m. to sunset.
• At least one member of the shooting party must 

have a current, valid New Jersey hunting license 
in possession.

•  Shotgun range: fine shot only. No buckshot or 
rifled slugs.

• Archery range: target or practice tips only. NO 
broadheads are allowed on any WMA range, 
whether practicing at the provided backstop or 
shooting into your own target brought to the range.

• Muzzleloading rifle range: muzzleloading fire-
arms, shotguns with rifled slugs or buckshot and 
 modern rimfire (both .177 and .22 caliber) rifles 
and air guns in calibers legal for hunting.

• No handguns or centerfire rifles permitted.

Sussex County
Flatbrook WMA
Route 615, Layton
• Shotgun, Archery, Muzzleloader (75 yards) 

Warren County
Pequest WMA
Pequest Rd., Oxford
• Archery 

Central Region
Monmouth County
Assunpink WMA
Imlaystown-Hightstown Rd., Upper Freehold Twp.
• Archery 
• Shotgun range is restricted to the use of non-

toxic shot; no lead shot is allowed.
Turkey Swamp Park
Georgia Rd., Freehold Twp. 
• Archery (Special regulations apply;  

call 732-842-4000.) 

Ocean County
Colliers Mills WMA
Off Colliers Mills and Hawkins Rds., Jackson Twp.
• Archery, Muzzleloader (100 yards)
• Shotgun range is closed. 
Stafford Forge WMA
Off Route 539, south of Warren Grove, Little Egg 
Harbor Twp.
• Shotgun, Archery, Muzzleloader (100 yards)

Southern Region
Atlantic County
Makepeace Lake WMA
Elmwood-Weymouth Rd., Weymouth
• Shotgun, Muzzleloader (100 yards)
• All target frames must measure a minimum 30 

inches from base to bottom of the paper target held 
in the frame. Frames must be placed only on top of a 
target mound located at the 25, 50 and 100 yard lines. 
This minimum target height requirement eliminates 
the risk of ricochet to ensure all projectiles are col-
lected in the berm behind the 100 yard target.

• Spinner type targets for .177 and .22 caliber fire-
arms MUST be placed directly at the base of the 
25 yard berm to direct all bullets into the berm. 
These targets are not to be used at other yardage 
or target mound placements.

Gloucester County
Winslow WMA
Piney Hollow Rd., Monroe Twp.
• Archery
• Shotgun and muzzleloader ranges are closed.

Cape May County 
Tuckahoe WMA
Off Tuckahoe Rd. (Rt. 631), Tuckahoe
• Archery 
• Shotgun range is closed.

Cumberland County
Millville WMA
Ackley Rd. (Rt. 718), Millville
• Shotgun, Archery, Muzzleloader (100 yards)

Landowner-Hunter/Trapper Agreement Card
HUNT/TRAP SMART Courtesy Card

Visitor’s Copy — Not Transferable

I request permission to enter your property for the following 
purpose: _________________________________________________ 
_________________________________________________________
Dates from _____/_____/_____ to _____/_____/_____
Limitations  ______________________________________________
Hunter may hunt within 450 feet (150 feet for bow)  
of buildings: q Yes q No
Landowner’s Name  _______________________________________
Address _________________________________________________ 
_________________________________________________________

Landowner Copy
Permission given to _______________________________________
Address _________________________________________________
Vehicle Make __________________ Yr. _____ Color  ____________
Vehicle Lic. No. ___________________ No. in Party ____________
Dates from ______/______/______ to ______/______/______
Limitations _______________________________________________
Other licenses, tag no. ____________________________________
Permission dates from _____/_____/_____ to _____/_____/_____
Limitations _______________________________________________
Hunter may hunt within 450 feet (150 feet for bow)  
of buildings: q Yes q No
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Landowner-Hunter/Trapper Agreement Card
I agree to conduct myself safely, responsibly and lawfully, 
respecting the landowner, property, and others using it. I accept 
the responsibilities which are part of the activities which I pursue. I 
agree to comply with the instructions of the landowner while on this 
property.
I understand that the laws of New Jersey absolve the landowner from 
liability for non-paying recreationists engaged in hunting, fishing, 
trapping, boating, hiking, and certain other activities, except in the 
case of willful or malicious failure to guard or warn of hazards. 
Signed (visitor) ______________________________________________
Date _____/_____/_____

This card provided by the New Jersey Department of  
Environmental Protection, Division of Fish and Wildlife

HUNT/
TRAP

SMART
ASK

PERMISSION
SEE LANDOWNER

HUNT/TRAP SMART Courtesy Card
I hereby give permission to: (visitor’s name) 
________________________________________________________
to enter my property for the purpose listed on the reverse side of this 
card. He/she has agreed to act safely, responsibly, and lawfully and 
to accept responsibility for his/her actions.
Signed (landowner, lessee, or operator) _________________________  
____________________________________________________________
Date _____/_____/_____

Outdoor Recreation on Private Property  
is a Privilege — NOT A RIGHT

HUNT/
TRAP

SMART
ASK

PERMISSION
SEE LANDOWNER

Wildlife Programs
OUTSTANDING DEER

Garden State  
Deer Classic
January 12–15, 2017

At the Garden State  

Outdoor Sportsmen’s Show 

Raritan Center  
Edison, New Jersey

Promises to be the 
show of 

the year!

See New Jersey’s most outstanding 
white-tailed deer for 2015–16
Awards ceremony on Sunday at 2:30 p.m.

Applications must be received by Nov. 1, 2016 
to enter a deer harvested during last year’s 
2015–16 hunting seasons. No exceptions!
To arrange for an official measurer to score your  

New Jersey white-tail, contact Cindy Kuenstner  

at (609) 633-7598.

Deer will not be measured at the Deer Classic.

See entry details on page 73.
Brought to you by:
NJ Division of Fish and Wildlife  
NJ Federation of Sportsmen’s Clubs 

United Bowhunters of New Jersey  

New Jersey Outdoor Alliance  

 Conservation Foundation 

Garden State Outdoor Sportsmen’s Show

New Youth 
Division! 

See page 73.
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Wildlife Programs
OUTSTANDING DEER

Youth Division
New Jersey’s Outstanding White-tailed Deer Program has a Youth Division!

The Outstanding Deer Program is designed to showcase the fine quality 
deer produced in the Garden State and recognize the hunters who harvested 
them with a bow, crossbow, shotgun or muzzleloading rifle.

Joining the program’s regular Open Division is a Youth Division for hunt-
ers ages 10–16 with eased entry requirements reduced by 10 points (inches) 
for all Antler categories and a reduction in the Weight categories by 10 or 
20 pounds for doe and buck, respectively. (See table below for minimum 
entry requirements.)

For the Antler Category, Youth Division deer may be unofficially scored 
by our trained volunteers who need not be an official measurer. All Open 
Division deer must be scored by an official measurer. Visit our website at 
NJFishandWildlife.com/outdeer.htm for the list of official measurers (see 
page bottom for Entering the Outstanding Deer Program; then bottom of next 
page), program background, rules, score/entry forms and more.

Youth Division hunters must be prepared to submit a digital, high resolu-
tion, respectful photo of hunter and deer after their entry has been confirmed. 
(Day of harvest field photos must be Photoshopped or cropped to conceal 
any blood or the body cavity.) A family photo is encouraged! Only Youth 
Division hunters (not Open Division hunters who may email or call Cindy, 
below) may arrange for a measuring appointment by calling John Messeroll 
of the State Federation of Sportsmen’s Club at (732) 735-1672. Don’t wait 
for the deadline to approach before having your deer scored.

Applications are due Nov. 1 — NO EXCEPTIONS.
First place Youth Division hunters in each category may display a mounted 

deer at the Garden State Deer Classic (see page 72), whether as a Euro-
pean skull mount or a taxidermy mount. All other Youth Division entrants’ 
photos will be digitally displayed at the event. 

Open Division
Open Division hunters will be invited to display their deer mount, as always, 
at the Deer Classic.

The Outstanding Deer Program follows the measuring standards developed 
by the Boone and Crockett Club. This scoring system gives credit to antler 
length, spread, number of points, mass and symmetry. Legally harvested deer 
must have been taken under the Boone and Crockett-defined rules of fair 
chase. Deer taken from enclosed hunting lands are not eligible. 

Note: It is best to have the rack measured before it is mounted. Don’t wait!
In the Weight categories, the program recognizes exceptional body size as 

determined by the field-dressed weight, all vitals removed. Minimum eligible 
weights are listed in the chart. Bucks must be weighed on a certified scale* (no 
truck scales**) with the weighmaster’s signature on a letterhead receipt or on 
the entry form, available on our website; does must be weighed either on a Fish 
and Wildlife regional office scale or on a certified scale with proof as above.

Any properly licensed hunter, regardless of residency, is eligible to enter 
the Outstanding Deer Program with their deer from the previous year’s 
hunting seasons. Deer must be taken in accordance with New Jersey wildlife 
laws and regulations. Official entry form consists of the original score sheet, 
hunter information form plus a clear photo of the hunter with their deer. 
These forms with instructions are available on Fish and Wildlife’s website 
NJFishandWildlife.com/outdeer.htm. There is no entry fee.

Applications are due Nov. 1 — NO EXCEPTIONS.
For questions about the Open Division, email Cindy Kuenstner at 

Cindy.Kuenstner@dep.nj.gov or call (609) 633-7598. 
Qualifying entries for deer harvested during the 2014–15 hunting seasons 

are recognized at the 2016 Garden State Deer Classic. Join Fish and Wildlife 
in celebrating New Jersey’s outstanding white-tailed deer where this event 
takes place in January at the Garden State Outdoor Sportsmen’s Show, 
Edison. See the ad on page 72 for more information. 

The table at right lists the top-scoring deer and the hunters who participated 
in the 2016 Garden State Deer Classic which showcased outstanding deer 
taken during the 2014–15 deer hunting seasons, not the most recent 
2015–16 hunting seasons. These deer will be honored at the January 2017 
Deer Classic and printed in next year’s Digest. 

* See entry form. A certified scale might be available at the following businesses:
 » Warehouse with shipping department
 » Concrete, sand and gravel company
 » Junk yard or scrap metal recycler
 » Marina with party and charter boat fishing

Visit our website for a partial list of certified scales or contact your county 
weights and measures office. Be sure to locate a scale before the hunting 
season begins!

** A truck scale is not acceptable as the increments are too large.

Outstanding Deer Program 
Minimum Requirements

Antler Category
Open 

Division 
Minimum

Youth 
Division 

Minimum

Typical Shotgun, Bow, Crossbow, Muzzleloader, Velvet 125 115

Non-typical Shotgun, Bow, Crossbow, Muzzleloader, Velvet 135 125

Weight Category

Buck: Shotgun, Bow, Crossbow, Muzzleloader 200 lbs. 180 lbs.

Doe: Shotgun, Bow, Crossbow, Muzzleloader 135 lbs. 125 lbs.

2016 Garden State Deer Classic Winners*

Rank Name
Score / 
Weight

County 
Harvested

DM Zone

200 Pound Buck — Archery

1st Frank Loew 230 Cumberland 28

2nd Brian Cramer 209 Sussex 5

3rd Joseph Nee 207 Morris 13

200 Pound Buck — Crossbow

1st Dominick Sarinelli 210.25 Sussex 6

2nd Keith Malespina 210 Mercer 14

3rd Clifford Bitecola 206 Warren 7

Non-typical Archery

1st Scott Stevens 172 1/8 Somerset 8

2nd Zachary Crane 154 5/8 Burlington 19

3rd Nick Marchisello 150 6/8 Gloucester 25

Non-typical Crossbow

1st Jim Bills 202 1/8 Monmouth 50

2nd Kim Plummer Sr 165 3/8 Cumberland 31

3rd Mike Prus 157 0/8 Gloucester 25

Non-typical Shotgun

1st John Vomero 162 4/8 Middlesex 50

2nd Cris Mcllvaine 154 3/8 Gloucester 25

3rd John Pickell 145 6/8 Warren 10

Typical Archery

1st Ken Stieh 166 0/8 Warren 5

2nd Steve Ogilvie 150 6/8 Morris 36

3rd Peter Paradise 145 4/8 Morris 9

Typical Crossbow

1st Bradley Staudt 143 4/8 Somerset 12

2nd Melissa Gaman 139 7/8 Hunterdon 10

3rd Carmen Severino 134 7/8 Mercer 12

Typical Muzzleloader

1st Matthew Leone 158 5/8 Gloucester 35

2nd Ronald Moore Sr. 153 5/8 Cumberland 28

3rd Peter Westra 133 0/8 Sussex 1

Typical Shotgun

1st Matthew Wozniak 153 3/8 Warren 5

2nd Andrew Burnham 143 4/8 Cumberland 29

3rd Zachary S. Hitchner 139 6/8 Salem 28

Velvet -Typical Archery

1st David Williams 129 3/8 Ocean 16

Youth Typical Muzzleloader

1st Joshua Loew 139 5/8 Cumberland 30

2nd Joseph DiGiovanni 127 4/8 Somerset 14

* For deer harvested during the 2014–15 hunting seasons.
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What Is CWD?

• Belongs to a family of neurological diseases called 
transmissible spongiform encephalopathies which 
include scrapie in sheep, mad cow disease in cattle 
and Creutzfeldt–Jakob disease in humans. There 
is no evidence that CWD is transmissible to humans; 
however the CDC advises against consuming any 
animal that appears ill.

• All members of the Cervid family (white-tailed 
deer, black-tailed deer, mule deer, elk, moose, 
reindeer) are known to be susceptible. 

• Caused by a misfolded protein called a prion 
which could be found in all deer bodily fluids.

• There is no cure. CWD is always fatal and there 
is no live test for deer.

Where Is CWD Found? 

• First discovered in captive mule deer in Colorado, 
in 1967.

• Now in captive or wild deer in 26 states and Cana-
dian provinces.

• Detected in wild deer in: New York State and 
West Virginia (2005), Virginia (2010), Maryland 
(2011), Michigan (2015), in Pennsylvania both in 
captive deer (2012) and in wild deer (2013) plus in 
captive deer in Texas (2015), and free-ranging deer 
and elk in Arkansas (2015) and in free-ranging 
reindeer in Norway (2016). 

How New Jersey Is Responding

• Tested for CWD in symptomatic captive cervids 
and wild deer, and hunter-harvested wild deer 
since 1997. To date over 6,200 wild deer have been 
tested with no CWD-positive results.

• Banned the importation of cervids, recently 
expanded to include reindeer.

• Issued an advisory for New Jersey hunters bring-
ing home venison from CWD-endemic states 
making it illegal to import into New Jersey a har-
vested deer carcass or deer parts from any state 
with CWD in wild deer unless strictly following 
that state’s CWD protocol.

• Improved captive cervid regulations, including a 
proposed Herd Certification Program.

•  Created the CWD Response Plan with protocols 
for detection of CWD to be activated when CWD 
is within 20 miles of the New Jersey border and 
within the state wild deer and captive cervids.

CWD
Chronic Wasting Disease
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Please Print Clearly
Name: ____________________________________________________________

Street:  ____________________________________________________________

City:    ___________________________ State:_________  Zip: ______________

Phone Number:  (_______) _______________________________________________

E-mail:  ____________________________________ Date:  __________________

____ Individual Membership:* $25/yr. Includes membership card, four issues of 

Tracks & Trails, decal and eligibility for contests, trophies and prizes.  

*Required for UBNJ special hunts

____ Family Membership: $40/yr. Includes all benefits of Individual Membership 

for the member, spouse and each child under the age of 16. 

List names of family members: _____________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________

Signature: __________________________________________________________

Mail to:  UBNJ Membership, P.O. Box 11, Ringwood, NJ 07456-0011.  
Please allow 6 – 8 weeks to receive membership ID. 

Working to protect the 
environment through 

renewable and natural 
resource conservation.

Contact John Erndl, President 
(732) 616-5137 or  

email: john.erndl@ubnj.org
Visit our website: www.ubnj.org

____ Junior Membership: $15/yr.  

Includes all benefits of Individual 

Membership for youth up to age 16.

____ Life Membership: $400 single 

payment. Includes all benefits of 

Individual Membership.

____Sponsoring Membership: $100/yr.

For clubs and organizations, contact 

UBNJ for details.

Check One:  

New Member:____  

Renewal____

I wish to make a donation of $________

to the UBNJ Protect our Rights Fund.

See NJFishandWildlife.com/cwdinfo.htm  
for more information on CWD in New Jersey 
and the New Jersey CWD Response Plan. 

Visit cwd-info.org for more 
comprehensive CWD information.

g
g

h
C

hr
C

hr
on

i
on

ic
W

c 
W

as
t

as
ti

ngin
g

D
i

D
is

ease
as

ese
 

l
A

lllll
A

ll
A

lli
ania

nc
ece
 ((w

w
(w

w
w

c
w

.c
d

w
d

w
d-

f
in

f
in

fo
o

o.
o

)
rg

)
rg

)

Areas with CWD infected Cervid populations

States/Provinces where CWD has been 
found in captive populations

Chronic Wasting Disease 
in North America

Urine-Based Deer Lures Advisory 
The NJDEP Division of Fish and Wildlife recommends the 
use of synthetic, non-urine-based scents or lures for deer 
hunting. The infectious prions which cause Chronic Wasting 
Disease can be spread through urine-based lures. Studies 
have shown the prions can survive for years in contaminated 
soils and the environment. Urine-based scents and lures are 
not treated to kill the prions as heat or chemical treatments 
would also reduce the desired scent characteristics.
Hunters using urine-based scents should place them in 
areas out of contact with deer, the ground or vegetation. 

Attention!
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Prescribed 
Burning as a 
Management 
Tool
By Jimmy Sloan, Assistant Wildlife Biologist

76



Forest Fire! 
Normally, one’s first reaction is to call emergency responders to quench the flames 
—and this is the correct thing to do in cases of wild fire, but not every forest fire is 
wild, i.e., the result of lightning strikes, a careless cigarette thrown out the window, 
or worse—intentional arson. Sometimes fire is applied intentionally under specific 
conditions by highly qualified personnel to accomplish planned habitat management 
objectives. In such cases, fire is more correctly known as prescribed burning.

Prescribed burning is an economical 
habitat management tool used to dispose of 
logging debris, prepare sites for seeding or planting, 
manage competing vegetation, return nutrients to 
soils and reduce hazardous forest fuel loads such 
as leaves, needles and coarse woody debris. Reduc-
ing fuel loads in New Jersey usually occurs in late 
winter to early spring, dampening the intensity of 
summer wildfires and thereby providing a founda-
tion for safe, more effective fire suppression. With 
over 1,500 wildfires annually in New Jersey, for-
est fuel reduction is an important public safety 
responsibility. NJDEP’s Division of Parks and For-
estry—along with the Division of Fish and Wild-
life—conduct prescribed burning on 10–20,000 
acres annually throughout the state.

Improved wildlife habitat results from 
prescribed burning, which can set back plant 
succession, stimulate new growth that is young, 
tender and palatable, increase biodiversity where 
burned and unburned areas intersect and increase 

Did you know?
The New Jersey 
Pinelands National 
Reserve is second only 
to California’s chaparral 
region in the number of 
wild fires annually.

the amount of sunlight reaching the ground. This 
allows new growth from grass, tree and wildflower 
seeds that have lain dormant for many years. Trees 
such as shortleaf pine and pitch pine are uniquely 
adapted to thrive in fire-dependent ecosystems and 
will release their seeds only after a fire event that 
produces bare ground and adequate sunlight pen-
etration. Quail research pioneer Herbert Stoddard 
nicknamed the northern bobwhite the “fire bird” 
because of its dependence on fire to maintain the 
early successional habitat they require. Over 40 
New Jersey endangered and threatened species are 
considered fire-dependent.

The New Jersey State Forest Service is 
the only entity that can apply prescribed burning on 
public lands. Private landowners desiring to use this 
economical management tool to improve wildlife 
habitat may do so after submitting a prescribed 
burn application available from the New Jersey 
State Forest Fire Service website at http://www.
state.nj.us/dep/parksandforests/fire/index.html. 

Left: Prescribed burn conducted at Penn State Forest in April 2016 
to reduce hazardous fuel loads created by leaves, conifer needles 
and coarse, woody forest debris.
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Below left: Prescribed burn performed by NJ State Forest Fire Service and 
Division of Fish and Wildlife employees  at Assunpink Wildlife Management 
Area in February 2016 to remove unwanted thatch and allow new growth.
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Below right: Author Jimmy Sloan “back fires” an area during the Woodma-
nsie fire in September 2015 on Greenwood Wildlife Management Area by cre-
ating a limiting line of fire designed to reduce or consume natural woodland 
debris use as fuel ahead of the larger fire. 
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of federally threatened and endangered species to 
grow from nearly 1,600 species today to perhaps 
thousands more in the future. In addition to the 
tragedy of placing our country’s natural heritage at 
risk, such increases will impact business by raising 
costs for regulatory compliance, delaying deploy-
ment of capital and creating less regulatory certainty. 

At the same time as people have become more 
urban, plugged-in, and over-scheduled, time 
spent in nature and the outdoors has significantly 
declined. Today, children spend over 50 hours a 
week using electronic media, leaving little time to 
participate in nature-based activities. This lost con-
nection to nature denies significant physical and 
mental benefits to many Americans and threatens 
the relevance of state fish and wildlife agencies.

The Benefits to People and Society
Increased investment in fish and wildlife conserva-
tion is vital to sustaining our natural infrastructure. 
Nature provides a host of indispensable benefits 
such as pollination, water purification, erosion 
control, flood control, recreation, food production 
and cultural amenities. Globally, these ecosystem 
services are minimally valued at $18 trillion dol-
lars per year. 

Increased investment in fish and wildlife conserva-
tion makes fiscal sense. Proactive conservation saves 
tax payer dollars by addressing species’ needs early 
so that costly “emergency room” interventions are 
avoided. Preventing threatened and endangered 
species listings helps business by averting project 
delays and losses from forfeited opportunities due 
to land use regulations.

Increased investment in fish and wildlife con-
servation is important to the nation’s economy. 
Healthy fish and wildlife populations are critical 
to supporting the $646 billion outdoor recreation 
economy and its 6.1 million jobs. The 90 million 
people who participate in wildlife-related recreation 
alone spend $145 billion per year. 

Increased investment in fish and wildlife conserva-
tion is needed to keep people of all ages and walks of 
life connected with nature. A growing body of evi-
dence demonstrates that regular contact with nature 
adds quality to our lives and improves our physical 
and emotional health. State fish and wildlife agen-
cies are well positioned to be leaders in delivering 
services that provide quality experiences in nature 
to people in both rural and urban environments

This conservation crisis also extends to people. 
More Americans than ever before are becoming 
disconnected from nature and the outdoors. This 
change is having profound implications on our citi-
zens’ health and well-being and the relevancy of fish 
and wildlife conservation. To safeguard the future 
of our country’s fish and wildlife, we must expand 
access and opportunities to bring the benefits of 
nature to all Americans.

What is at Stake? 
Our system of fish and wildlife funding is incom-
plete. State fish and wildlife agencies have identified 
thousands of species that are in immediate need of 
conservation, but only a small fraction are being 
addressed because of limited financial resources. 
As species decline and habitats deteriorate, benefits 
provided by nature such as water purification, pol-
lination, recreation and food and fiber production 
that are essential to human health and economic 
prosperity are being compromised. 

Without a change in the way we finance fish 
and wildlife conservation, we can expect the list 

Our nation is facing a conservation crisis. Despite 
successes like the recovery of bald eagles and arctic 
graylings, thousands of species of birds, mammals, 
fish, frogs, turtles and insects have been slipping 
through the cracks for decades. Unless we start 
investing in proactive conservation measures, our 
nation’s rich natural heritage and vital natural 
resource-based economy will face an uncertain 
future. New dedicated funding is needed now to 
ensure the long-term health of all fish and wildlife. 

In 1937, Congress passed the Pittman-Robertson 
Act that established a conservation fund financed 
by hunters and recreational shooters to conserve 
game species. This funding model was later expanded 
to include sport fish with passage of the Dingell-
Johnson Act. These two Acts enabled states to make 
long-term investments in science-based manage-
ment, resulting in the restoration of once depleted 
white-tailed deer, elk, wood ducks, striped bass and 
many other game species. This remarkably successful 
funding mechanism can be replicated to address the 
urgent conservation needs of all fish and wildlife and 
expand the number of citizens who invest in nature. 
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Northern Harrier, 
a Species  
of Special  
Concern in  
New Jersey.

A Recommendation of the Blue Ribbon Panel on

When I started my career in early 1980, New Jersey had one nesting pair of bald eagles. 
We cobbled together the resources, the staff and the volunteers and our NGO [non-
governmental organization] partnerships to work hard on bald eagles. And I can tell you 
that we have 190 nesting pairs of bald eagles in the State of New Jersey today. What 
an incredible success story that shows what you can do when you commit resources to 
something. And that’s what this Blue Ribbon Panel on Sustaining America’s Diverse Fish 
and Wildlife Resources is going to be all about and the exciting opportunities that are 
going to be in front of us as wildlife professionals to continue that kind of important work. 

— Dave Chanda, Director, New Jersey Division of Fish and Wildlife;  
President, Association of Fish & Wildlife Agencies

Sustaining America’s Diverse 
Fish and Wildlife Resources
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Est. 1954

Hunt prime land in Barbour 
 & Bullock Counties.
·  Highest deer density in Alabama. Hogs, coyotes and bobcats (no charge, no limit with 

paid deer hunt)

· 6,000 acre family-owned plantation. NO LEASED LAND.

· 50 Food Plots with elevated shooting houses surrounded by pines and oak bottoms.

· New cottages with private bedrooms and baths. First class lodge. All meals included.

To plan your hunt, 

call J. Paul Taylor at  

877.539.5699
Visit us at  
www.pa-ko.com

December 27th, 2012

The Blue Ribbon Panel On Sustaining 
America’s Diverse Fish and Wildlife 
Resources
The Blue Ribbon Panel includes 26 business and conservation 
leaders and two ex officio members. The Panel was charged with 
recommending a new funding mechanism to support state fish 
and wildlife conservation to ensure the sustainability of all fish 
and wildlife for current and future generations.

For more information about the Blue Ribbon Commission on 
Sustaining America’s Diverse Wildlife Resources, contact Ron 
Regan, Executive Director for the Association of Fish & Wildlife 
Agencies, at rregan@fishwildlife.org or call 202/838-3474. 

The Association of Fish & Wildlife Agencies – the organization that 
represents North America’s fish and wildlife agencies—promotes 
sound resource management and conservation, and has been 
speaking on important fish and wildlife issues since 1902. Associa-
tion of Fish and Wildlife Agencies 1100 First Street, NE, Suite 825 
Washington, DC 20002 202/838-3474 — www.FishWildlife.org 

Excerpted with permission from the Association of Fish and Wildlife 
Agencies’ short report: Sustaining and Connecting People to Fish 
and Wildlife – a Looming Crisis Can be Avoided.

The Solution 
The Blue Ribbon Panel on Sustaining America’s Diverse Fish and Wildlife 
Resources, comprised of national business and conservation leaders, 
was convened to evaluate and recommend a more sustainable funding 
approach to avert a fish and wildlife conservation crisis. The Panel com-
pleted its work in December 2015 and recommends: 

Congress dedicate up to $1.3 billion annually in existing 

revenue from the development of energy and mineral 

resources on federal lands and waters to the Wildlife 

Conservation Restoration Program (16 U.S.C. 669b(a)).

This funding would provide the states, territories and the District of 
Columbia with new critically needed financial resources to effectively 
implement State Wildlife Action Plans to conserve 12,000 species in 
greatest need of conservation. Additionally, this funding would allow 
states to provide the public with more access to open spaces; giving 
people more opportunities to have meaningful contact with nature. 

Historically, when fish and wildlife have faced a crisis, the nation has 
responded. We can create a more optimistic future for our nation’s rich 
natural heritage through dedicated and sustained investment. State 
fish and wildlife agencies have a proven track record of success when 
given adequate financial resources. We need to act now to build a safety 
net for all fish and wildlife, create regulatory certainty for business and 
address the growing disconnect between people and nature. Failure to 
do so will mean that our generation will leave the nation’s rich natural 
assets impaired, rather than increased in worth.

Our extensive acreage is divided into a number of individual 
farms managed exclusively for wildlife and for hunting. The 
farms are all within a 3 mile radius of the clubhouse on the 
home farm. Our hunters enjoy this setting because it lends 
itself to privacy and seclusion. Feed and cover plots of corn, 
sorghum, sudangrass, etc. are seeded each spring in addition to 
the perennial grasses and plants to provide optimum feed and 
holding cover for released birds and native game.

GAME CREEK HUNTING FARMS
1013 Kings Hwy, Woodstown, NJ

856-769-0035
www.gamecreek.com

“Game Creek - A Place to Leave Your Footprints”
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Continue the Tradition

Outdoor Programs
GET INVOLVED!

Join us for the 25th annual Governor's Surf Fishing Tournament!

May 21, 2017
Island Beach State Park
NJFishandWildlife.com/gsft.htm

New Jersey Division of Fish and Wildlife, along with our co-sponsors: New Jersey 
Division of Parks and Forestry, New Jersey State Federation of Sportsmen’s Clubs, 
Jersey Coast Anglers Association and New Jersey Beach Buggy Association, would like 
to thank the following organizations for contributing to the success of the 24th Annual 
Governor’s Surf Fishing Tournament in 2016:

• Bass Pro Shops

• Costa Del Mar, Inc.

• Chestnut Neck Boat Yard

• NJ Fish and Wildlife's Hooked 
On Fishing, Not On Drugs

• Jenkinson’s Aquarium

• Legal Limits Company

• Manns Bait Company

• Silver Horde

• Stanley Jigs, Inc.
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Do you want your land to 
attract a greater diversity of 
wildlife species?

Are you interested in wildlife 
stewardship?

You can make a difference!

In an effort to restore critical early 
successional habitats for quail 
and other species, New Jersey 
Division of Fish and Wildlife 
staff is available to provide 

habitat recommendations for 
private landowners throughout 
southwestern New Jersey. This 
service is free and involves no 
contracts. 

Contact us for more information:

Jimmy Sloan 
NJ Division of Fish and Wildlife 
Nacote Creek Research Station 
PO Box 418 
Port Republic NJ 08241-0418 
(609) 748-2058

Attention Private Landowners 

Free:  
Your Upland 
Habitat 
Evaluation

Become an instructor with Fish and 
Wildlife’s Hunter Education Program. 
Our Hunter Education Unit is looking for New Jersey’s best  sportsmen 
and sportswomen to become  instructors at locations where students 
take the test and field course after first having completed the home 
study portion. A minimum of six weekend days each year are required.

Call (856) 629-0552 

Leave your name and address to receive an application. 

Or complete the application form at: 
www.NJFishandWildlife.com/pdf/hunted/hntedinstr.pd.
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Perpetual Sunrise & Sunset
TRENTON, NEW JERSEY

Jan. Feb. Mar. Apr. May June July Aug. Sept. Oct. Nov. Dec.

Day Rise Set Rise Set Rise Set Rise Set Rise Set Rise Set Rise Set Rise Set Rise Set Rise Set Rise Set Rise Set

A.M. P.M. A.M. P.M. A.M. P.M. A.M. P.M. A.M. P.M. A.M. P.M. A.M. P.M. A.M. P.M. A.M. P.M. A.M. P.M. A.M. P.M. A.M. P.M.

01 7:22 4:43 7:09 5:17 6:32 5:51 5:42 6:24 4:58 6:55 4:31 7:23 4:33 7:32 4:57 7:13 5:27 6:30 5:56 5:41 6:29 4:56 7:03 4:34

02 7:22 4:44 7:08 5:18 6:31 5:52 5:41 6:25 4:57 6:56 4:31 7:23 4:34 7:32 4:58 7:12 5:28 6:29 5:57 5:39 6:30 4:55 7:04 4:33

03 7:22 4:45 7:07 5:19 6:29 5:53 5:39 6:26 4:56 6:57 4:31 7:24 4:34 7:32 4:59 7:11 5:29 6:27 5:58 5:37 6:31 4:54 7:05 4:33

04 7:22 4:46 7:06 5:21 6:27 5:54 5:38 6:27 4:55 6:58 4:30 7:25 4:35 7:32 5:00 7:09 5:30 6:25 5:59 5:36 6:32 4:52 7:06 4:33

05 7:22  4:47 7:05 5:22 6:26 5:56 5:36 6:28 4:53 6:59 4:30 7:25 4:36 7:32 5:01 7:08 5:31 6:24 6:00 5:34 6:34 4:51 7:07 4:33

06 7:22  4:48 7:04 5:23 6:24 5:57 5:34 6:29 4:52 7:00 4:30 7:26 4:36 7:31 5:02 7:07 5:32 6:22 6:01 5:33 6:35 4:50 7:07 4:33

07 7:22  4:49 7:02 5:24 6:23 5:58 5:33 6:30 4:51 7:01 4:30 7:27 4:37 7:31 5:03 7:06 5:33 6:20 6:02 5:31 6:36 4:49 7:08 4:33

08 7:22 4:50 7:01 5:26 6:21 5:59 5:31 6:31 4:50 7:02 4:29 7:27 4:37 7:31 5:04 7:05 5:34 6:19 6:03 5:29 6:37 4:48 7:09 4:33

09 7:21 4:51 7:00 5:27 6:20 6:00 5:30 6:32 4:49 7:03 4:29 7:28 4:38 7:30 5:05 7:03 5:35 6:17 6:04 5:28 6:38 4:47 7:10 4:33

10 7:21 4:52 6:59 5:28 6:18 6:01 5:28 6:33 4:48 7:04 4:29 7:28 4:39 7:30 5:06 7:02 5:35 6:15 6:05 5:26 6:39 4:46 7:11 4:33

11 7:21 4:53 6:58 5:29 6:16 6:02 5:27 6:34 4:47 7:05 4:29 7:29 4:40 7:29 5:07 7:01 5:36 6:14 6:06 5:25 6:41 4:45 7:12 4:33

12 7:21 4:54 6:57 5:30 6:15 6:03 5:25 6:35 4:46 7:06 4:29 7:29 4:40 7:29 5:08 7:00 5:37 6:12 6:07 5:23 6:42 4:44 7:12 4:33

13 7:21 4:55 6:56 5:32 6:13 6:04 5:23 6:36 4:45 7:06 4:29 7:30 4:41 7:28 5:09 6:58 5:38 6:10 6:08 5:22 6:43 4:44 7:13 4:34

14 7:20 4:56 6:54 5:33 6:12 6:05 5:22 6:37 4:44 7:07 4:29 7:30 4:42 7:28 5:10 6:57 5:39 6:09 6:09 5:20 6:44 4:43 7:14 4:34

15 7:20 4:57 6:53 5:34 6:10 6:06 5:20 6:38 4:43 7:08 4:29 7:30 4:42 7:27 5:11 6:56 5:40 6:07 6:10 5:19 6:45 4:42 7:15 4:34

16 7:19 4:58 6:52 5:35 6:08 6:07 5:19 6:39 4:42 7:09 4:29 7:31 4:43 7:27 5:12 6:54 5:41 6:06 6:11 5:17 6:46 4:41 7:15 4:34

17 7:19 4:59 6:50 5:36 6:07 6:08 5:17 6:40 4:41 7:10 4:29 7:31 4:44 7:26 5:12 6:53 5:42 6:04 6:12 5:16 6:47 4:40 7:16 4:35

18 7:19 5:00 6:49 5:37 6:05 6:09 5:16 6:41 4:40 7:11 4:29 7:31 4:45 7:25 5:13 6:51 5:43 6:02 6:13 5:14 6:49 4:40 7:17 4:35

19 7:18 5:02 6:48 5:39 6:04 6:10 5:14 6:42 4:39 7:12 4:29 7:32 4:46 7:25 5:14 6:50 5:44 6:01 6:14 5:13 6:50 4:39 7:17 4:36

20 7:18 5:03 6:46 5:40 6:02 6:11 5:13 6:43 4:39 7:13 4:30 7:32 4:47 7:24 5:15 6:48 5:45 5:59 6:15 5:11 6:51 4:38 7:18 4:36

21 7:17 5:04 6:45 5:41 6:00 6:13 5:12 6:44 4:38 7:14 4:30 7:32 4:47 7:23 5:16 6:47 5:46 5:57 6:17 5:10 6:52 4:38 7:18 4:37

22 7:16 5:05 6:44 5:42 5:59 6:14 5:10 6:45 4:37 7:15 4:30 7:32 4:48 7:22 5:17 6:46 5:47 5:56 6:18 5:09 6:53 4:37 7:19 4:37

23 7:16 5:06 6:42 5:43 5:57 6:15 5:09 6:46 4:36 7:16 4:30 7:32 4:49 7:21 5:18 6:44 5:48 5:54 6:19 5:07 6:54 4:37 7:19 4:38

24 7:15 5:07 6:41 5:44 5:55 6:16 5:07 6:47 4:36 7:16 4:31 7:33 4:50 7:21 5:19 6:43 5:49 5:52 6:20 5:06 6:55 4:36 7:20 4:38

25 7:14 5:09 6:39 5:46 5:54 6:17 5:06 6:48 4:35 7:17 4:31 7:33 4:51 7:20 5:20 6:41 5:50 5:51 6:21 5:05 6:56 4:36 7:20 4:39

26 7:14 5:10 6:38 5:47 5:52 6:18 5:05 6:49 4:35 7:18 4:31 7:33 4:52 7:19 5:21 6:39 5:51 5:49 6:22 5:03 6:57 4:35 7:20 4:40

27 7:13 5:11 6:36 5:48 5:50 6:19 5:03 6:50 4:34 7:19 4:32 7:33 4:53 7:18 5:22 6:38 5:52 5:47 6:23 5:02 6:59 4:35 7:21 4:40

28 7:12 5:12 6:35 5:49 5:49 6:20 5:02 6:52 4:33 7:20 4:32 7:33 4:54 7:17 5:23 6:36 5:53 5:46 6:24 5:01 7:00 4:35 7:21 4:41

29 7:11 5:13 6:34 5:50 5:47 6:21 5:01 6:53 4:33 7:21 4:32 7:33 4:54 7:16 5:24 6:35 5:54 5:44 6:26 4:59 7:01 4:34 7:21 4:42

30 7:10 5:15 5:46 6:22 4:59 6:54 4:32 7:21 4:33 7:32 4:55 7:15 5:25 6:33 5:55 5:42 6:27 4:58 7:02 4:34 7:21 4:42

31 7:09 5:16 5:44 6:23 4:32 7:22 4:56 7:14 5:26 6:32 6:28 4:57 7:22 4:43

Eastern Standard Time • U. S. Naval Observatory, Washington, DC 20392-5420 

Add one hour for daylight savings time when in effect (second Sunday in March and reverts back the first Sunday in November).

Targeteers is a family owned and operated business which was 
established in 1957.  We take great pride in our work and in our 
store. We work to keep a clean and neat showroom with 100’s 
of bows and an expansive selection of accessories. Targeteers 
Sporting Goods has grown into one of the most respectable 
Archery Pro Shops in the Northeast Region. We are dedicated 
to providing all of our customers with courteous service.

North Jersey’s Premier Archery Pro-Shop

Targeteers Archery

101 Route 46 West, Saddle Brook, NJ

(201) 843-7788

targeteersarchery.com

Custom Equipment • Indoor Range • Sales & Service

Adult Leagues • Kids Leagues • Lessons • Parties • Licenses
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Hunter Access
PUBLIC DEER HUNTING L AND IN NEW JERSEY

NEW JERSEY HAS more than 750,000 acres of 
public land available to the deer hunter. This list is 
arranged by deer management zone for public land 
open to deer hunting. Generally, only areas with 100 
acres or more of upland habitat are listed. State parks 
and forests that allow hunting may have some sections 
which are closed to hunting. Some areas allow deer 
hunting only during certain seasons, require an access 
fee or have other special regulations. Refer to the 
Digest section Special Areas Hunting Season Informa-
tion page 42 or contact the appropriate authority 
for details. See page 83 for hunting opportunities 
on national wildlife refuges in New Jersey.

Remember: Hunters must have permission to hunt 
agricultural land even if the land is not posted. Hunters 
should obtain permission before hunting any private 
property. Hunters are advised not to purchase a deer 
permit for a zone in which they have no place to hunt. 

Updates since last year are noted below in red.

Zone Public Land Open to Deer Hunting
1 • Bear Swamp WMA

• Flatbrook—Roy WMA
• Hainesville WMA
• Stokes State Forest

2 • Kittatinny Valley State Park
 • Paulinskill WMA
 • Wallkill River National Wildlife Refuge (see Special Areas)
 • Wawayanda State Park
3 • Abram Hewitt State Forest
 • Hamburg Mountain WMA
 • Long Pond Ironworks State Park
 • Newark Watershed (see Special Areas)
 • Norvin Green State Forest
 • Ramapo Mountain State Forest
 • Ringwood State Park
 • Wawayanda State Park
4 • Delaware Water Gap National Recreation Area
 • Flatbrook—Roy WMA
 • Stokes State Forest
 • Walpack WMA
 • Worthington State Forest
5 • Beaver Brook WMA
 • Columbia WMA
 • Honey Run WMA
 • Jenny Jump State Forest
 • Paulinskill WMA 

• Swartswood State Park
 • Trout Brook WMA
 • White Lake WMA
 • Whittingham WMA
6 • Allamuchy Mountain State Park
 • Berkshire Valley WMA
 • Farny State Park
 • Morris County Park System (see Special Areas)
 • Newark Watershed (see Special Areas)
 • Rockaway River WMA
 • Sparta Mountain WMA
 • Weldon Brook WMA
 • Wildcat Ridge WMA
7 • Buckhorn Creek WMA
 • Clinton WMA
 •  Hunterdon County Parks Dept.—Union Forge Preserve, 

Tower Hill Reserve (see Special Areas) 
 • Musconetcong River WMA
 • Spruce Run Recreation Area
8 • Allamuchy Mountain State Park
 • Black River WMA
 • Hacklebarney State Park
 •  Hunterdon County Parks Dept.—Cold Brook Preserve, 

Teetertown Ravine Nature Preserve, Point Mountain 
Preserve (see Special Areas) 

 • Ken Lockwood Gorge WMA
 • Morris County Park System (see Special Areas)
 • Musconetcong River WMA
 • Pequest WMA
 • Rockport WMA
 • South Branch WMA
 • Voorhees State Park
9 • Black River WMA
 • Morris County Park System (see Special Areas)
10 •  Hunterdon County Parks Dept.—Musconetcong Gorge, the 

Drag Strip Property, Hoffman Park, Schick Reserve, South 
Branch Reservation, Uplands Reserve (see Special Areas)

 • Musconetcong River WMA
11 •  Hunterdon County Parks Dept.—Lockatong Nature 

Preserve, the Case Farm, Wescott Nature Preserve  
(see Special Areas)

 • Lockatong WMA
12 •  Hunterdon County Parks Dept.—Cushetunk Mountain 

Park, Sourland Mountain Nature Preserve, Deer Path 
Park, South Branch Reservation (see Special Areas)

 • Mercer County Parks—Pole Farm Section
 • Round Valley Recreation Area
 • South Branch WMA 
13 • Morris County Park System (see Special Areas)
14 • Assunpink WMA (Robbinsville Twp section only)
 • Pigeon Swamp State Park
 • Six Mile Run Reservoir State Park (see Special Areas)
15 • Assunpink WMA
 •  Monmouth County Park System—Charleston Springs 

Golf Course, Perrineville Lake Park (see Special Areas)
16 • Turkey Swamp WMA
 •  Monmouth County Park System—Bear Swamp Tract of 

Manasquan Reservoir, Howell Park Golf Course, Turkey 
Swamp Park, Yellowbrook Tract of Manasquan River 
Linear Park (see Special Areas)

17 • Colliers Mills WMA
 •  Monmouth County Park System—Clayton Park, 

Crosswicks Creek Park (see Special Areas)
 • Pleasant Run WMA
 • Prospertown Lake WMA
18 • Colliers Mills WMA
 • Manchester WMA
 • Whiting WMA
19 • Medford WMA
 • Wharton State Forest
21 • Double Trouble State Park
 • Forked River Mountain WMA
 • Greenwood Forest WMA
 • Lebanon State Forest
22 • Bass River State Forest
23 • Wharton State Forest
24 • Bass River State Forest
 • Penn State Forest
 • Stafford Forge WMA
 • Swan Bay WMA
 • Warren Grove Recreation Area
 • Wharton State Forest
25 • Cedar Lake WMA
 • Great Egg Harbor River WMA
 • Penbryn Pond WMA
 • Wharton State Forest
 • White Oak Branch WMA
26 • Great Egg Harbor River WMA
 • Hammonton Creek WMA
 • Makepeace Lake WMA
 • Port Republic WMA
27 • Salem River WMA
 • Thundergut Pond WMA
28 • Buckshutem WMA
 • Elmer Lake WMA
 • Parvin State Park
 • Union Lake WMA
29 • Bayside PSE&G Tract (see Special Areas)
 • Cohansey WMA
 • Gum Tree Corner WMA
 • Mad Horse Creek WMA
 • Maskells Mill Pond WMA
 • Stowe Creek State Park
30 • Bear Swamp Natural Area (closed Jan. 15–Aug. 1)
 • Dix WMA
 • Egg Island WMA 

• Fortescue WMA
 • Nantuxent WMA
 • New Sweden WMA
31 • Millville WMA
 • Buckshutem WMA
34 • Beaver Swamp WMA
 • Belleplain State Forest
 • Cape May Wetlands WMA 

• Cape May National Wildlife Refuge
 • Dennis Creek WMA 

• Heislerville WMA
 • Higbee Beach WMA
 • Tuckahoe WMA
 • Lizard Tail Swamp Preserve (see Special Areas)
35 • D.O.D. Ponds
 • Harrisonville Lake WMA 
36 • Morris County Park System (see Special Areas)
37 • Fort Dix Military Reservation (see Special Areas)
38 • Great Swamp National Wildlife Refuge (see Special Areas)
39 • No public deer hunting land
41 • Alexauken Creek WMA
 • Mercer County Parks—Baldpate (Kuser) Mountain 
 • Mercer County Parks—Howell Living History Farm

42 • Port Republic WMA
 • Tuckahoe WMA
43 • Millville (Bevan) WMA
45 • Menantico Ponds WMA
 • Peaslee WMA
46 • Gibson Creek WMA
 • Great Egg Harbor River WMA
 • Tuckahoe WMA (Lenape Farms Tract)
 • Maple Lake WMA (Lenape Farms Tract)
 • Peaslee WMA
47 • Peaslee WMA
48 • Rancocas State Park (see Special Areas)
49 • No public deer hunting land
50 • Cheesequake State Park
 •  Monmouth County Park System—Hartshorne Woods Park, 

Tatum Park, Thompson Park, Big Brook Park, Huber Woods, 
the Ramanessin Section of Holmdel Park (see Special Areas)

51 • Allaire State Park
 • Manasquan River WMA
 • Manahawkin WMA
 •  Monmouth County Park System—Shark River Park, Rt. 33 

Tract and Shark River Park—East of Remsen Mill Rd.  
(see Special Areas)

53 • Lakehurst Naval Air Engineering Station (see Special Areas)
54 • No public deer hunting land
55 • Glassboro WMA
56 • Edwin B. Forsythe National Wildlife Refuge (see Special Areas)
57 • Edwin B. Forsythe National Wildlife Refuge (see Special Areas)
58 •  Edwin B. Forsythe National Wildlife Refuge—north of 

Rt. 72 (see Special Areas)
61 • Atlantic County Park System (see Special Areas)
63 • Abbotts Meadow WMA
 • Supawna Meadows National Wildlife Refuge (see Special Areas)
64 • Monmouth Battlefield State Park (see Special Areas)
65 • Winslow WMA
 • White Oak Branch WMA
66 •  Federal Aviation Administration William J. Hughes 

Technical Center (see Special Areas)
67 • High Point State Park (see Special Areas)
68 • Franklin Parker Preserve (see Special Areas)
70 •  Edwin B. Forsythe National Wildlife Refuge, north of the 

Mullica River and south of Rt. 72 (see Special Areas)

Maps and information on hunting land is also 
available from the following sources: 

Wildlife Management Area Maps 
Free download. Maps and information on lands 
administered by NJ Division of Fish and Wildlife. 
Both topographic and road maps available. 
www.njfishandwildlife.com/wmaland.htm  
Photocopies also available of individual WMA 
maps on USGS base. Free. Specify which WMA. 
NJ Div. Fish and Wildlife, WMA Map Request 
MC 501-03, P.O. Box 420, Trenton, NJ 08625-0420 
(609) 984-0547. 

USGS Topographic Maps 
Free download. Topo quads available. 
www.state.nj.us/dep/njgs/pricelst/usgsbase.htm 
Or write, below, stating exact location including 
county, township and road.  
Printed topo quads—$10 ea. 
NJ DEP Division of Water Supply and  
Geoscience Maps and Publications 
MC 29-01, P. O. Box 420, Trenton, NJ 08625-0402 
(609) 292-1185

State Parks and Forests Maps 
Free download. Find a state park, forest,  
recreation area or marina by location. 
www.state.nj.us/dep/parksandforests/parks/
parkindex.html. Maps and information on lands 
administered by the Division of Parks and  
Forestry. Specify which park or forest. Free.  
NJ DEP, Division of Parks and Forestry 
MC 501-04, PO Box 420, Trenton, NJ 08625-0420  
(800) 843-6420

Maps Available
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What can you do to heighten your SAFETY ZONE awareness?
1. Post SAFETY ZONE signs. 
2. Talk with landowners.
3. Scout hunting property annually 

to be aware of new construction 
or other changes.

4. Hunt SMART and remind 
your hunting partners to Hunt 
SMART. 

5. Know the law. Know the land.

Remember, failure to hunt safely and responsibly is inexcusable. Always be 
a responsible hunter. Always be aware of your surroundings, the target and 
what may lie beyond the target. The principles of good conduct learned at 
your hunter education course are called into practice every time you hunt. 

Take special care hunting on “high visibility” property, habitat where our 
adaptable wildlife species—especially white-tailed deer—are  flourishing. 
Here, hunter conduct will be watched closely; the image we portray can have 
a great impact on the tolerance for our sport. Hunting these Special Areas 
carries added responsibility for you, as a hunter, to  exercise restraint and 
make superior judgment decisions. 

What is a SAFETY ZONE?
•  The firearm SAFETY ZONE is the area within 450 feet of a building or 

school playground, even if not occupied. For bowhunters, the SAFETY 
ZONE around buildings is 150 feet but remains 450 feet from a school 
playground. See Safety Zone, page 27.

•  The SAFETY ZONE is the place where you, the hunter, cannot carry a 
loaded firearm or nocked arrow unless you have written permission in hand.

• The SAFETY ZONE was established by legislation in 1946 as an area to 
place some physical distance, a buffer, between hunters and homeowners.

• The SAFETY ZONE could be land where there is suitable wildlife 
 habitat for adaptable species, like the white-tailed deer, cottontail rabbit 
and Canada goose.

• The SAFETY ZONE is not a magic shield and cannot stop a misdirected 
projectile from entering the area around a home.

Farmer Jones’ PropertyNeighbor’s 
House

The neighbor’s house 

closes this portion of 

Farmer Jones’ property 

to firearm hunting450'150' Bowhunter  
safety zone

Hunter Access
SAFET Y AND HUNTING OPPORTUNITIES 

Cape May NWR
24 Kimbles Beach Rd., Cape May Court House, NJ 08210 
(609) 463-0994; fws.gov/northeast/capemay
• Deer—Special Areas Hunting Season Information; see page 42.
•  Migratory game birds except crow—on refuge lands north of Rt. 550 

or west of Rt. 47
• Turkey, rabbit and squirrel hunting in select areas only.

No refuge permit is required. Special hunting conditions apply. Contact 
refuge office for information.

Great Swamp NWR
241 Pleasant Plains Rd., Basking Ridge, NJ 07920-9615
(973) 425-1222 ext. 155; www.fws.gov/refuge/great_swamp/
•  Deer—Special Areas Hunting Season Information; see page 42.

In addition to required state licenses and permits, hunters must obtain a 
Refuge permit for $26 ($13 for holders of a Senior, Golden Age, Access, or 
Golden Access pass and youths with a valid New Jersey youth hunting license).

Edwin B. Forsythe NWR
800 Great Creek Rd., Oceanville, NJ 08231-0072; 
(609) 652-1665; www.fws.gov/refuge/edwin_b_forsythe/
• Deer—Special Areas Hunting Season Information; see page 42.
• Waterfowl

Information can be obtained at the refuge, at  dispensers, at the headquar-
ters, on the refuge website, or through the mail.

Supawna Meadows NWR
c/o Cape May NWR, 24 Kimbles Beach Rd., Cape May Court House, 
NJ 08210, (609) 463-0994; www.fws.gov/supawnameadows/

SAFETY ZONE Awareness: Protecting Your Hunting Privilege
NEW JERSEY HUNTERS enjoy many types of hunting, numerous days afield and generous bag limits. But development and other human encroachment 
on the forests and fields of the Garden State has changed both wildlife habitat and land suitable for hunting, such that SAFETY ZONE awareness is even 
more critical for hunters. 

Hunting Opportunities on New Jersey’s  
National Wildlife Refuges: 2016–17 Hunting Seasons
Hunting on national wildlife refuges is not permitted unless specifically opened as listed below. No Sunday hunting on national wildlife refuges.

• Deer—Bowhunting only. Special Areas Hunting Season Information; 
see page 42.

• Waterfowl 
Special hunting conditions apply. Contact refuge office for information.

Wallkill River NWR
1547 County Rt. 565, Sussex, NJ 07461-4013; (973) 702-7266;  
www.fws.gov/refuge/Wallkill_River/visit/hunting.html
• Deer—Special Areas Hunting Season Information; see page 42.
• Migratory Birds except crow 
• Spring and Fall Turkey (Zone 5)
• Black bear – during Six-Day Firearm Season only (Segment B) 
• Small game – squirrel and rabbit only

Note: the refuge is closed to Sunday hunting.
Hunters must obtain a refuge hunting permit in addition to state licenses. 

There is a $30 fee for a single game permit or $100 for a combination, all game 
permit. Bear permits are $5 and are not included in the combination permit. 
Discounts are available for Senior and Access pass holders. Youths remain 
free. Details on obtaining refuge hunt permits are available at the link above. 
• Additional hunting opportunities

 » Hunters with Disabling Conditions: Special Hunting Permits are 
available for eligible mobility-impaired persons during refuge hunting 
seasons. For more information and eligibility requirements visit our 
website at www.fws.gov/refuge/Wallkill_River/visit/disabledhunt.html 
or call the refuge office at the number above. 

 » Mentored Hunts: The refuge partners with the National Wild Turkey 
Federation to offer mentored hunts for youth and disabled hunters. 
Registration is required and space is limited. Contact the refuge for 
dates and details. 
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Taxidermy

~ Serving NJ and Lehigh Valley PA ~

$75 OFF 
ANY 

SHOULDER 
MOUNT

By Didier David 
Greenleaf

Award Winning 
Artist

31 South Locust Street, Easton, PA
(908) 591-1426

wcgreen04@yahoo.com

Whitetail Creations 
Taxidermy

“Custom Wildlife in Motion”

Game Heads
Birds • Fish

Deer Butchered
Life-Size Mounts

Quality Work
Reasonable Prices

732-548-5356
106 Howard Ave

Edison, NJ  08817

North Jersey Taxidermy Studio
“Preserving Nature For Your Memories”

Scott J. Conklin, Jr. 
Graduate of the  

PA Institute of Taxidermy

Montague, NJ • 973-293-3053 
www.njtaxidermy.com

Now accepting
debit/credit

cards

Game Association/Trap Range

CHESTER GAME 
ASSOCIATION Est. 1939

Hunting Club & Trap Shooting Range

 211 US Highway 206N
Chester, New Jersey

TRAP RANGE OPEN
    Thursday 6pm – 10 pm

Saturday 9am – 2pm
One of New Jersey’s 

Oldest Sportsmen’s Clubs!

www.chestergame.org

• 44 Years of Experience 
• Fast Turn-Around Time
• 3 Months or Less on Most Mounts! 
• Pricing for the Budget-Conscious
• Free Estimates!

MCB TAXIDERMY
QUALITY TAXIDERMY

BIRDS · FISH  · GAME HEADS · NOVELTY · TANNING

Mark Buechel, Taxidermist
(973) 492-5312

78 Boonton Ave. Kinnelon, NJ 07405

Award Winning Artistic 
Custom Mounts

Cape Taxidermy

Len Guthrie (609) 889-1539
56 Bayshore Road, Green Creek, NJ 08219

SSSSSTTTTTAAAAAAGGGGGLLLLIIIAAAAAAANNNNNNOOOOO TTTTTTAAAAAAAXXXXXIIIDDDDDDEEEEERRRRMMMMMMMMYYYYYYY
James J. Stagliano
PO Box 181, 27 Weed Rd.
Walker Valley, NY
845-744-5363

Paul’s Taxidermy
Wildlife Artistry • Spotswood, NJ

www.paulstaxidermy.net

Over 100 awards
Division of Excellence 
Recipient
Superior Quality and 
Artistic Vision

732-887-5870
732-251-9120

Paul Bacskoczky, 
Owner
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Feeds

Hunting Products

Deer Attractants & Supplies

Retailers

Game Processing

Buy 10 bags of Corn...
Get a FREE 50 lb. Salt With this ad

GGGGGrrrraaaaiiiiinnnn aaaannnnddddd FFFFFeeeeeeeeddddd CCCCCoooo.
74 Minebrook Rd., Bernardsville, NJ

908-766-0204

Try our 
NEW IMPROVED 

Sweetfeed or 
Sweet Apple Corn Mix

Made fresh weekly!

• Corn
• Salt
• Deer Blocks
•  Attractants
• Cover Scents

New Product Hunting Dogs and Kennels

DEER HUNTERS!!!

JOHN HANCOCK
2014-2015
ZONE 29, MUZZ
DOE/8-POINT BUCK
496574W

CONSERVATION TAGS
Military Style Dog Tag With Chain

BOW= FALL BOW
P.BOW = PERMIT BOW
P.SHOT = PERMIT SHOTGUN
MUZZ = MUZZLELOADER
W.BOW = WINTER BOW
SHOT = SHOTGUN

5 LINES, 15 CHARACTERS, INCL. SPACES
Send $5 and all information along with phone 

number and a SASE to:
Earl’s Custom Dog Tags

P.O. BOX 296 • Pennsville, NJ 08070
For Questions call: 856-628-2657

King-stand 
is the most 

advanced 
climbing 

tree stand 
in the 

industry!

king-stand.com

CHECK IT OUT! 

Phone: 717.524.5301 Fax: 717.638.8397
Email: info@HastingsDistribution.com

Replacement Shotgun Barrels 
Popular Remington & Browning A5 Models

Paradox Rifl ed Shotgun Barrels
Wad Lock Barrels and Metro Barrels

See our current inventory at:

www.HastingsDistribution.com

INDIAN CREEK KENNELS
Hardyston, NJ  •  www.indiancreekkennels.com  •  201-370-6960

English Pointer, English Setter, German Shorthaired Pointer and British 
Labrador Retriever Puppies Available from the heart of our kennel of 
Champion National Award-Winning  
Bird Dogs.

GARRY MALZONE 
2012, 2013, 2014, 2015 & 2016 
USCSDA PURINA Top Professional
Trainer/ Handler in the USA!!!

Puppies Available Now by
CH Indian Creek Wingman (pictured)

2016 PURINA National Champion Award WINNING Bird Dogs!
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Out-of-State Outfitters, Guides & Game Preserves

PATEY AND SONS LTD.
Newfoundland, Canada

(709) 225-3221
www.PateyOutfi tting.com

Big Game Outfi tters 
for moose, caribou 
and black bear in
Newfoundland’s 
Northern Peninsula

98–100% SUCCESS RATE!

Okeechobee Outfi tters

2000-acre game ranch and 5000-acre free range native game!

DANNY SANTANGELO
(863) 655-2454  
(863) 634-7449
GUIDED-HUNTING.COM
FLORIDAHUNTINGRANCHES.COM

FLORIDA’S  BEST HUNTING EXPERIENCE!
Monster Alligator • Osceola Turkey • Huge Wild Boar

Axis Deer • Trophy Bass • White Tail Deer

Alabama’s #1
Hunting Destination

Comfort - Service - Success
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9,000 Acres
Private Lodging
2 Bucks & 2 Does/trip 

$1500-$1900 3 days
Family Discounts
High Opportunity Rate

“We have hundreds of acres
of the best hunting area in the east”

Experience is the Difference!
Year Round Hunting 7 Days A Week, No License Required

(570) 835-5341
www.TiogaBoarHunting.com

1552 Mann Hill Road | Tioga, PA 16946 | tiogaboarranch@gmail.com

Deerfield Plantation
South Carolina
3 day hunt

Wild Boar—$1000
Whitetail—$1200

Wild Turkey—$1200
Meals & Lodging included!
1-800-417-HUNT (4868)

Deerfield Plantation
709 Gum Branch Road
St. George, SC 29477

deerfieldplantation@yahoo.com
www.deerfieldplantation.net

1-800-417-HUNT (4868)
Deerfi eld Plantation

709 Gum Branch Road
St. George, SC 29477

deerfi eldplantation@yahoo.com
www.deerfi eldplantation.net

Whitetail • Quail 
Wild Boar • Wild Turkey

3 day hunt - $1350

Meals & Lodging included!

McCoy  
Elk Ranch
Elk Hunts
COWS &  
TROPHY BULLS
Starting at $1,500.
No license required.
September–March.

Central Minnesota 
(866) 806-7973

McCoyHuntingRanch.com

Archery Association

Field Archery
 Association

We strive to foster, expand, and 
perpetuate the practice of Field Archery 

in the State of New Jersey. We encourage 
the use of the bow in hunting of all legal 

game birds and animals, to protect, 
improve, and increase the privileges of 
bow and arrow hunters. We cooperate 

with target archery associations, 
national, state, and local, in the fostering 

and perpetuating the use of the bow 
in accordance with its ancient and 

honorable traditions.
JOIN US TODAY!
www.njsfaa.com

New Jersey 
State
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New Jersey Outfitters, Guides & Game Preserves

For More Information
Call: (609)-466-7582

We specialize in Canada 
goose hunts in Hunterdon 
County and snow goose 
hunts in southern New 
Jersey. High success rate. 
Highest quality decoys 
used and pit blinds.

1/2-DAY BIRD HUNTS
7 Days per week

 • Pheasants • Chukars •
November to March 16

Dogs & Handlers Available

Deluxe Lodge to Relax In
Yearly Memberships

ONLY 5 OPENINGS REMAIN!
Deer • Pheasant • Chukars

908-362-5366
DoubleNSportsmensclub.com

908-362-5366

Est. 1998

INDIAN CREEK SHOOTING PRESERVE
HARDYSTON, NJ  •  WWW.BIRDMASTERS.COM  •  GARRY MALZONE 201-370-6960

WE ARE A FULL-TIME PROFESSIONAL GUN DOG TRAINING FACILITY.

QUALITY, PRIVATE
UPLAND BIRD HUNTING

AVAILABLE ON OUR
300-ACRE FARM

CONVENIENTLY LOCATED
IN HARDYSTON, NJ
(SUSSEX COUNTY)

OUR COMMERCIAL SEASON
RUNS FROM SEPT 1ST, 2016

TO MAY 1ST, 2017
7 DAYS A WEEK.

DAILY HUNTING PACKAGES
AND SEASONAL MEMBERSHIP

AVAILABLE

BUTTONWOOD
GAME

PRESERVE LLC.

(908) 454-7116

Bird Hunting the
     way it used to be!HUNT FAMILY

PRESERVE, LLC

2 & 4 Hour Hunts Available by Appointment
7 Days Per Week • Special Full Day Hunts

• Dogs Available Upon Request •
1 Day N.J. Hunting License Available

342 Mt. Airy-Harbourton Rd.
West Amwell Township 

Hunterdon County, NJ 08530
www.HuntsFamilyPreserve.com

Licensed N.J. Commercial Preserve
PHEASANTS • CHUKARS

Oct. 1, 2016–April 30, 2017

Call 609-397-2007
for Appointment

101 S. Pemberton Rd.
Pemberton N.J.

(609) 726-0600

Giberson Farm
Wildlife Preserve Inc.
Offering the finest in upland hunting

SPECIALIZING IN TOWER SHOOTS

Located in Estell Manor, NJ
 Limited Memberships Available

AtlanticCountyGamePreserve.org

2,500 ACRES OF 
PRIME HABITAT

DEER, DUCK, TURKEY & UPLAND BIRDS

TRY HUNTING HERE!
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Hunting Trapping
New Jersey

Digest
&

ABILITY
DURABILITY. RELIABILITY. AFFORDABILITY.

SINCE 1957, GRANBERG INTERNATIONAL HAS BEEN  
PRODUCING THE HIGHEST QUALITY CHAINSAW  
MILLS AND ACCESSORIES AVAILABLE ANYWHERE.
OUR AMERICAN-MADE PRODUCTS GIVE YOU THE  
CAPABILITY AND ACCURACY OF A PROFESSIONAL-GRADE 
SAW MILL AT A PRICE THAT WON’T BREAK THE BANK.

CALL 1-800-233-6499 
FOR A FREE CATALOG 

 OR VISIT WWW.GRANBERG.COM

Land Management

Archery & Sporting Goods

Sugarbeets are a hardy vegetable 
that make a great addition to any 
wildlife plot. 

 

If you want to attract more deer to your food plot, 
call 1-888-331-8997 Ext. 101 
or visit www.bucklunch.com

Deer Love Sugarbeets!

For advertising inquiries, please call
(413) 884-1001

Share your exciting 
product or service

with the New Jersey  
sporting community!
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 Internet Address ...................................................................................................................NJFishandWildlife.com
General Information ........................................................................................................ (609) 292-2965
DEP ACTION LINE—24 HOURS ..........................................(877) 927-6337 — (877) WARN-DEP
Automated Harvest Report System............................................ (855) 448-6865 — (855) I-HUNT-NJ 
Commercial Preserves and Semi-Wild Preserves ......................................................................... (908) 735-7040
Exotic & Nongame Captivity Permits ............................................................................................. (908) 735-5450
Falconry Permits ................................................................................................................................. (908) 735-8793
Field Trial Permits ............................................................................................................................... (609) 259-2132
Freshwater Fisheries (statewide)........................................................................................................ (908) 236-2118
Horseback Riding Permits ................................................................................................................. (609) 259-2132
Hunter Education .....................................................................................  (877) 248-6865 —(877) 2-HUNT-NJ
Hunting, Fishing and Duplicate Licenses ....................................................................................... (609) 292-2965
Hunting and Trapping Permit Hotline ...........................................................................................  (609) 292-9192
License Sales ......................................................................................................................................... (888) 773-8450
Operation Game Thief ...................................................................................................................  (855) OGT-TIPS
Outstanding Deer Program ..............................................................................................................  (609) 633-7598
Pheasant and Quail Stocking. ..........................................................................................................  (609) 984-0547
Trout Stocking Hotline......................................................................................................................  (609) 633-6765
Wildlife Conservation Corps. ............................................................................................................(908) 735-7040
Wildlife Control .................................................................................................................................. (908) 735-8793
Wildlife Education ..............................................................................................................................  (908) 637-4125
Wildlife Management Areas. ...........................................................................................................  (609) 984-0547
Trenton Office

MC 501-03, P.O. Box 420, Trenton, NJ 08625-0420
Endangered and Nongame Species ...........................................................................................  (609) 292-9400
Land Management ........................................................................................................................  (609) 984-0547
Marine Fisheries ............................................................................................................................ (609) 292-7794
Shellfisheries................................................................................................................................... (609) 292-3093
Wildlife Management ..................................................................................................................  (609) 292-6685

Northern Region Office
26 Route 173 W., Hampton, NJ 08827
Wildlife Management ................................................................................................................... (908) 735-7040
Endangered and Nongame Species (1 Van Syckel’s Rd., Clinton) ....................................... (908) 638-4127
Hunter Education .................................................................................................................  (877) 2-HUNT-NJ
Wildlife Control ............................................................................................................................ (908) 735-8793
Land Management .........................................................................................................................  (973) 383-0918
Law Enforcement (Bergen, Essex, Hudson, Hunterdon, Morris, Passaic, Somerset,  

Sussex, Union, and Warren counties) ........................................................................................ (908) 735-8240
Central Region Office

1 Eldridge Rd., Robbinsville, NJ 08691
Land Management .........................................................................................................................  (609) 259-2132
Freshwater Fisheries ..................................................................................................................... (609) 259-6964
Hunter Education .................................................................................................................  (877) 2-HUNT-NJ
Wildlife Control ............................................................................................................................  (609) 259-7955
Law Enforcement (Burlington, Mercer, Middlesex, Monmouth, and Ocean counties) .........  (609) 259-2120

Southern Region Office
220 Blue Anchor Rd., Sicklerville, NJ 08081
Hunter Education .................................................................................................................  (877) 2-HUNT-NJ
Land Management ......................................................................................................................... (856) 785-0455
Law Enforcement (Atlantic, Camden, Cape May, Cumberland, Gloucester,  

and Salem counties) ..................................................................................................................... (856) 629-0555
Pequest Natural Resource Education Center ...................................................... (ext. 0) (908) 637-4125 
Pequest Trout Hatchery ................................................................................... (ext. 113) (908) 637-4173

605 Pequest Rd., Oxford, NJ 07863
Hackettstown Fish Hatchery ........................................................................................... (908) 852-4950

23 Reese Ave., Hackettstown, NJ 07840
Lebanon Field Office

Freshwater Fisheries 
P.O. Box 394, 1255 County Rt. 629, Lebanon, NJ 08833 .....................................................  (908) 236-2118

Nacote Creek Research Station 
P.O. Box 418, 360 Rt. 9 N. (Milepost 51) Port Republic, NJ 08241
Marine Fisheries ............................................................................................................................ (609) 748-2020
Shellfisheries................................................................................................................................... (609) 748-2040
Marine Education .......................................................................................................................... (609) 748-4347
Marine Law Enforcement ............................................................................................................ (609) 748-2050
Wildlife Control ............................................................................................................................ (609) 748-2044

Millville Shellfish Office
1672 E. Buckshutem Rd. Millville, NJ 08332 .......................................................................... (856) 785-0730



SAVINGS NO 
MATTER YOUR RIDE.

GEICO.COM

1-800-947-AUTO

 LOCAL OFFICE

GET A FREE INSURANCE QUOTE TODAY.
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