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Dear New Jersey Summer Flounder Permit Holder:
New Jersey Summer Flounder Dealer:

As required by N.J.A.C. 7:25-18.12(i)2xii, the Department must notify all New Jersey Summer
Flounder Permit holders of the annual season allocations. This letter shall serve as notice
regarding the 2017 New Jersey commercial summer flounder quota, seasons, and trip limits.

The preliminary 2017 summer flounder coast wide commercial quota is 5,660,000 pounds, a 30
percent reduction from 2016. This resuits in a New Jersey commercial quota of 946,634 pounds,
16.7 percent of the coast wide commercial allocation.

This quota does not represent any overages that may have occurred by the end of the 2016 season.
If the NMFS adopts a coast wide commercial quota different than 5,660,000 pounds or if the

2016 New Jersey summer flounder season incurs any overages, the seasonal quotas listed below
will be adjusted. After allocating ten percent, but not more than 200,000 pounds of the quota for
by-catch landings as required by N.J.A.C. 7:25-18.12(i)2, the directed fishery quota for 2017 is
851,971 pounds. This quota is allocated for six seasons as follows:

Directed Season Directed (pounds) By-Catch (pounds) l
January 1-February 28 238,552 26,506
March 5-April 30 ' 93,717 10,413
May 7-June 30 89,457 9,940
July 2-August 31 80,457 9,940
September 3-October 31 247,072 27,452
November 5-December 31 93,717 10,413

The daily trip limits and maximum weekly (Sunday to Saturday) landing days for the directed
fishery for each season are listed below. Note: Seasons 1, 2, 5, and 6 trip limits have changed
for 2016.

Jan-Feb 750 pound trip limit with 2 maximum of two landings per 2 week period
OR 1,500 pound trip limit with a maximum of one landing per 2 week period.
Each two week period shall begin on Sunday and end on the second Saturday
with the first two week period beginning on January 1, 2017,
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Mar-Apr 400 pound trip limit with a maximum of two landings per week
OR 800 pound trip limit with a maximum of one landing per week.

May-June 250 pound trip limit with a maximum of seven landings per week
OR 500 pound trip limit with a maximum of four landings per week.

July-Aug 250 pound trip limit with a maximum of seven landings per week
OR 500 pound trip limit with a maximum of four landings per week.

Sept-Oct 250 pound trip limit with a maximum of six landings per week
OR 750 pound trip limit with a maximum of two landings per week
OR 1,500 pound trip limit with a maximum of one landing per week.

Nov-Dee 750 pound trip limit with a maximum of two landings per week
OR 1,500 pound trip limit with a maximum of one landing per week.

When the directed fishery is closed, no vessel shall land or possess any summer flounder in
excess of the by-catch trip limit. By-catch landings of summer flounder may not exceed ten
percent (10%) by weight, of all species landed and sold with a maximum daily trip limit of 100
pounds from May I through October 31 and 200 pounds from November | through April 30.

All New Jersey Summer Flounder Dealers must provide daily reports during the period January 1
through February 28 and weekly (Sunday to Saturday) reports during the period March 1 through
December 31 to the Division of Fish and Wildlife listing the amount of summer flounder landed
on a daily basis by vessel and size category. Reports must be filed electronically through the
Standard Atlantic Fisheries Information System (SAFIS) no later than 10:00 AM on the following
day for daily reports and 12:01 PM on Monday following the week’s end for weekly reports. If
no landings occurred, a report to that effect is required. If a dealer is reporting electronically
through SAFIS, a faxed report is not required.

In addition, any vessel participating in the directed summer flounder fishery must call the Marine
Enforcement Office at 609-748-2050 at least two (2) hours prior to offloading and that any such
offloading may occur only between the hours of 6:00 a.m. and 6:00 p.m. from November 1
through April 30 and between 6:00 a.m. and 8:00 p.m. from May 1 through October 31.

Commercial seasons, quotas, opening, and closing information is available on the Division of

Fish and Wildlife website at hitp://www.njfishandwildlife.com/comquotas.htm.

If you have any questions, please call the Bureau of Marine Fisheries at 609-748-2020 or 609-
292-7794.

Since’fa \
1Y%

Rilss Allen, Chief
Marine Fisheries Administration




