CHRISTIE ADMINISTRATION AWARDS ANTI-IDLING GRANTS TO NINE COUNTIES; PART OF CONTINUING EFFORT TO IMPROVE THE STATE’S AIR QUALITY
(13/P10) TRENTON – The Department of Environmental Protection is issuing $110,000 in grants to nine counties for an Anti-Idling Overtime Project that will help in efforts to educate the public on the negative environmental impacts from excessive idling of motor vehicles, encourage residents to help improve the state’s air quality and better enforce anti-idling rules, Commissioner Bob Martin announced today.
“This is a great way to involve local officials and residents in a statewide quest to reduce diesel emissions,” Commissioner Martin said. “Improving air quality has been an environmental hallmark of the Christie Administration and here is an opportunity for everyone to personally join in that effort by limiting the idling of their vehicles.”
The grant money, which was provided by the state Motor Vehicle Commission’s Commercial Vehicle Enforcement Fund, will be distributed to county environmental health agencies under the County Environmental Health Act (CEHA). Personnel from those agencies will conduct anti-idling activities, which includes education, outreach and enforcement of state environmental regulations, during off-hours and weekends, as a supplement to the anti-idling efforts already performed during normal work hours.
The findings from those agencies will also be reported to the DEP.
Counties awarded anti-idling grants include: Camden ($24,480); Union ($16,433); Middlesex ($12,374); Hudson ($10,000); Sussex ($10,000); Warren ($9,900); Mercer ($9,862) and Passaic ($7,920). Atlantic City, representing Atlantic County, also was issued a grant for $8,005. This inaugural program will run through the end of the year.
Idling occurs when a motor vehicle with a diesel or gasoline engine is running but the vehicle is not in motion. Excessive idling causes an unnecessary release of air contaminants into the air, including fine particulates and air toxics. It also unnecessarily wastes fuel and natural resources. Idling vehicles can burn as much as one gallon of fuel per hour.
With certain exceptions, motor vehicles in New Jersey are permitted to idle for up to three minutes before being subject to a summons.
For a summary of New Jersey idling regulations, visit: http://www.nj.gov/dep/stopthesoot/Summary%20of%20Idling%20requirements.pdf
For more information on ordering No Idling signs, visit:
To learn more about the DEP’s motor vehicle programs, visit: