ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION

COMPLIANCE AND ENFORCEMENT

Dolla Waste Raies	Solid	Waste Rules	
-------------------	-------	-------------	--

Solid Waste Utility Regulations

Proposed amendments:	N.J.A.C. 7:26-1.4, 5.4 5.5, 5.6, 5.7, 5.8 and N.J.A.C. 7:26H-
	1.4, 5.18, 5.20, 5.21, 5.22
Proposed new rules:	N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.10
	N.J.A.C. 7:26H-5.24
Authorized by:	Bradley M. Campbell, Commissioner,
	Department of Environmental Protection.
Authority:	N.J.S.A. 13:1D-1 et seq.; 13:1B-3 13:1E-1 et seq.; 13:1E-9,
	13:1D-125 et seq.; 26:2C-1 et seq.; 47:1A-1 et seq.;
	48:13A-1 et seq.; 48:13A-7.1 et seq.; 10-23.11; 58:10A-1
	et seq.
Calendar Reference: See sum	mary below for explanation of exception to calendar requirement.
DEP Docket No:	
Proposal Number:	
A Public Hearing will be held	October 3, 2005, from 1:00 - 3:00, at the New Jersey Department
of Environmental Protection, l	Public Hearing Room, 401 East State Street, Trenton, NJ 08625.
Submit written comments by ((no later than 60 days after publication) to:
Leslie W. Ledogar, Esq.	
Attention: DEP Docket Numb	er

Office of Legal Affairs

New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection

401 East State Street

P.O. Box 402

Trenton, New Jersey 08625-0402

The Department of Environmental Protection (Department) requests that commenters submit comments on disk or CD as well as on paper. Submittal of a disk or CD is not a requirement. The Department prefers Microsoft Word 6.0 or above. MacintoshTM formats should not be used. Each comment should be identified by the applicable N.J.A.C. citation with the commenter's name and affiliation following the comment.

This rule proposal document can be viewed or downloaded from the Department's web page at www.state.nj.us/dep.

The agency proposal follows:

Summary

As the Department has provided a 60-day comment period on this notice of proposal, this notice is excepted from the rulemaking calendar requirement pursuant to N.J.A.C. 1:30-3.3(a)5.

The Department is proposing to amend the Solid Waste Rules, N.J.A.C. 7:26, and the Solid Waste Utility Regulations, N.J.A.C. 7:26H, to identify violations of the Solid Waste Rules and the Solid Waste Utility Regulations as either minor or non-minor for the purpose of providing grace periods in accordance with P.L. 1995, c. 296 (N.J.S.A. 13:1D-125 et seq.), commonly known as the Grace Period Law. The proposed amended rules set forth how the Department will respond to any violation identified as minor. The Department is also proposing to add penalties for violations not previously included in these rules and to revise the base

penalties for all violations.

Grace Period Amendments

On December 22, 1995, the Legislature enacted the Grace Period Law, N.J.S.A. 13:1D-125 et seq., which requires the establishment of procedures to ensure the consistent application of grace (compliance) periods for minor violations of certain environmental statutes. Pursuant to that law, the Department is required to designate, through rulemaking, certain types of violations of rules contained in sixteen environmental statutes as minor or non-minor violations. Under the Grace Period Law, any person responsible for a minor violation is afforded a period of time by the Department to correct the violation. This period of time is known as a grace period. If the minor violation is corrected as required, then the Department will not assess a penalty. In those cases where a violation is not corrected within the grace period, the Department may pursue enforcement action in accordance with its statutory authority including, but not limited to, the assessment of penalties as may be appropriate within the exercise of the Department's traditional, judicially recognized enforcement discretion.

The Grace Period Law does not affect the Department's enforcement authority, including the exercise of enforcement discretion, to treat a violation as minor. In those situations where a violation is labeled as minor in these amendments and new rules, but in fact the specific violation as it occurred does not fulfill all the statutory requirements for a minor violation (N.J.S.A. 13:1D-129(b)), the Department reserves its discretion to treat the violation as non-minor.

The Department interprets the Grace Period Law to give it the flexibility to re-classify a minor violation as non-minor if one or more of the Grace Period Law requirements have not been met. For instance, the Department believes that the Legislature did not intend for a violation which actually results in serious harm to the public, the environment or to natural resources to be considered minor for grace period purposes. This is because one of the criteria for a minor violation is that it impose minimal risk to public health, safety and natural resources.

Since the statute intends that the Department consider the circumstances of a particular violation to determine, for example, whether there has been a similar or the same violation in the preceding twelve months or a pattern of illegal conduct, it is not inconsistent with the legislative intent to allow the Department the flexibility to re-classify a violation as non-minor under the particular circumstances of a violation.

In designating, through rulemaking, types or categories of violations as minor, the Department must apply the criteria set forth in the law at N.J.S.A. 13:1D-129(b). These criteria are as follows:

- (1) The violation is not the result of the purposeful, knowing, reckless or criminally negligent conduct of the person responsible for the violation;
- (2) The violation poses minimal risk to the public health, safety and natural resources;
- (3) The violation does not materially and substantially undermine or impair the goals of the regulatory program;
- (4) The activity or condition constituting the violation has existed for less than 12 months prior to the date of discovery by the Department;
- (5) In the case of a permit violation, the person responsible for the violation has not been identified in a previous enforcement action by the Department or a local government agency responsible for a violation of the same requirement of the same permit within the preceding 12 month period;
- (6) In the case of a violation that does not involve a permit, the person responsible for the violation has not been identified in a previous enforcement action by the Department or a local government agency as responsible for the same or a substantially similar violation at the

same facility within the preceding 12 month period;

- (7) In the case of any violation, the person responsible for the violation has not been identified by the Department or a local government agency as responsible for the same or substantially similar violation at any time that reasonably indicates a pattern of illegal conduct and not isolated incidents on the part of the person responsible; and
- (8) The activity or condition constituting the violation is capable of being corrected and compliance achieved within the period of time prescribed by the Department.

The Grace Period Law also requires the Department to establish the length of the grace period, which may be no fewer than 30 days or more than 90 days (unless extended), based upon the nature and extent of the minor violation, and a reasonable estimate of the time necessary to achieve compliance. The Department may establish a special class of minor violations that, for public health and safety reasons, must be corrected within a period of fewer than 30 days.

Of the criteria provided by the Grace Period Law, only criteria (2), (3) and (8), as listed above, may pertain to all violations of a particular regulatory requirement. Therefore, the Department determined that violations that pose minimal risk to public health, safety, and the environment, do not undermine or impair the goals of the program, and can be corrected within a time period of up to 30 days, would be designated as minor.

The additional statutory criteria, (1), (4), (5), (6) and (7), regarding respectively, the intent of the violator, the duration of the violation, and whether it is a repeat offense, are fact-specific for each violation and must be considered on a case-by-case basis. Thus, each violation listed at N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.4 and N.J.A.C. 7:26H-5.18 that is identified as minor will be eligible for a grace period only if it meets the additional criteria as discussed below.

In order to obtain assistance in the development of these regulations, the Department initiated an informal process to discuss and receive input from interested parties. As part of this

process, it developed a discussion document setting forth a proposed list of minor and non-minor violations for the Solid Waste Program and conducted a series of workshops to provide an opportunity for interested parties to discuss the proposed list, provide comments and raise issues. The Department conducted workshops on December 3, 1996 and on April 24, 1997 to discuss the application of the Grace Period Law to the Solid Waste Program. The Department thereafter prepared a draft discussion document that included a draft of the proposed changes to N.J.A.C. 7:26-5, Civil administrative penalties, and to N.J.A.C. 7:26H-5.18, Penalties for violation of rules adopted pursuant to the Act, and held another workshop on September 13, 2004 concerning the draft discussion document. Thereafter, the Department reevaluated the applicability of the Grace Period Law to each violation listed in the penalty tables at N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.4(g) and 7:26H-5.18(f), the applicability of the Grace Period Law to the penalties assessed according to N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.5 and 7:26H-5.19 and the setting of a minimum base penalty for all minor violations. These proposed amendments and new rules, which identify minor and non-minor violations of the Solid Waste Rules and the Solid Waste Utility Regulations and provide the terms and conditions by which a grace period shall be afforded, reflect the Department's consideration of the input obtained at the workshops and the Department's subsequent evaluation of the proposed amendments. The Department notes that during the intervening period, the Department applied the statutory criteria on a case by case basis and provided grace periods as appropriate.

The Solid Waste Rules establish standards and requirements for the management of solid waste within the State of New Jersey. Activities addressed by these rules include registration, operation, maintenance and closure of solid waste facilities, registration, operation and maintenance of solid waste transport vehicles; permit and others fees charged by the Department, civil administrative penalty assessments and other enforcement actions.

The Solid Waste Utility Regulations establish standards and requirements for utilities that collect and/or dispose of solid waste. Activities addressed by these rules include transactional findings, solid waste tariffs, solid waste collection effective competition monitoring, uniform bid specifications for municipal waste collection, host community benefits, civil administrative

penalty assessments and other enforcement actions.

The Department is proposing similar amendments to both the Solid Waste rules and the Solid Waste Utility Regulations to implement the Grace Period Law.

The Department is proposing a 30-day grace period for minor violations of the Solid Waste rules, except for, as provided for under the Grace Period Law, a special class of minor violations that, for public health and safety reasons, the Department has determined must be corrected within a period of less than 30 days. This class of violations consists of violations for which the regulation that is incorporated into the Department's rules by reference mandates a correction timeframe, and violations that can easily be corrected within a very short timeframe and for which failure to correct within that timeframe would pose a hazard to public health and safety.

An example of a violation that can easily be corrected in a very short timeframe is a violation of the Solid Waste landfill regulations at N.J.A.C. 7:26-2A.8(b)29, regarding the suppression of dust at landfills. N.J.A.C. 7:26-2A.8(b)29 requires that dust control shall be effected by the spraying of water or spreading of calcium chloride or an equivalent approved by the Department, as needed. Dust from landfills poses a threat to human health, particularly for those with chronic respiratory illnesses such as asthma, chronic obstructed pulmonary disease, chronic bronchitis. The suppression of dust can be easily controlled by spreading water or an effective equivalent and can be easily accomplished within a 24 hour period, thereby quickly ameliorating the threat to public health and safety. Accordingly, in enforcing this regulation, the Department believes that compliance within one day of the Department's issuing a notice of violation to a violator strikes an appropriate balance between protecting public health and safety and implementing the Grace Period Law.

N.J.A.C. 7:26-1.4 sets forth the definitions for terms used in the Solid Waste Rules and N.J.A.C. 7:26H-1.4 sets forth the definitions for terms used in the Solid Waste Utility Rules. The Department proposes adding a definition of "grace period" to each of these sections. A grace period is the period of time afforded under the Grace Period Law for a person to correct a

minor violation in order to avoid imposition of a penalty that would otherwise be applicable for such violation.

N.J.A.C. 7:26-5 and N.J.A.C. 7:26H-5 establish civil administrative penalty assessment procedures and civil administrative penalties for solid waste and recycling violations of the Solid Waste Management Act, N.J.S.A. 13:1E-1 et seq. and the Solid Waste Collection Regulatory Reform Act, N.J.S.A. 48:13A-1 et seq., respectively, or any rule promulgated, or any administrative order, permit, license or other operating authority issued pursuant to these Acts. These subchapters also establish procedures for requesting adjudicatory hearings, subsequent to the assessment of civil administrative penalties or the issuance of administrative orders.

Penalties for violations of the Solid Waste Rules and the Recycling Rules are set forth in tables at N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.4(g). Penalties for violations of the Solid Waste Utility Rules are set forth in tables at N.J.A.C. 7:26H-5.18(f). The tables in each of these respective rules set forth the citation, a summary describing the violation and the corresponding base penalty. The proposed amendments add two additional columns to the penalty tables, entitled "Type of Violation" and "Grace Period." The "Type of Violation" column includes one of two different designations, depending on whether the violation is minor (M) or non-minor (NM). A violation of the specific provision identified in the penalty table as minor would be subject to a grace period, provided that the violation meets the criteria of N.J.S.A. 13:1D-129b(1), (4) or (5), which are set forth in proposed new N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.10 of the Solid Waste Rules and new N.J.A.C. 7:26H-5.24 of the Solid Waste Utility Rules, discussed below. The length of the grace period, if any, is indicated in the second proposed column, identified as "Grace Period." The number in this column indicates the period of time, if any, the Department will allow a regulated entity to correct the violation.

In applying the statutory criteria, the Department determined that violations that are purely administrative, including the maintenance of records (provided the records can be produced within the grace period), and other violations that do not pose a threat to human health and the environment (such as failure to accumulate universal waste consumer electronics devices in a closed container that is clearly marked with the words "Universal Waste-Consumer

Electronics") are minor. Violations that may result in discharges, releases, or odors and, therefore, be potentially detrimental to the environment, are considered non-minor. A grace period is not appropriate for any violation that is non-minor.

The Department also proposes amending N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.5(f) of the Solid Waste Rules and N.J.A.C. 7:26H-5.19 of the Solid Waste Utility Regulations to incorporate the grace period concept into the assessment of penalties pursuant to the penalty matrices codified in these rule sections, respectively. Pursuant to proposed N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.5(f) and N.J.A.C. 7:26H-5.19, violations that qualify as minor shall be subject to a 30-day grace period.

Consistent with the \$3,000 base penalty proposed for all minor violations of the Solid Waste Rules (discussed more fully in the next section of this Summary), the penalty for these violations would be \$3,000, which would be assessed pursuant to the procedures set forth in the proposed grace period provisions of the Solid Waste Rules at N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.5(f) (discussed more fully below). Similarly, consistent with the \$2,000 base penalty proposed for all minor violations of the Solid Waste Utility Regulations (also discussed more fully in the next section of this Summary), the penalty for these violations would be \$2,000, which would be assessed pursuant to the procedures set forth in the proposed grace period provisions of the Solid Waste Utility Regulations at N.J.A.C. 7:26H-5.10 (discussed more fully below).

Proposed N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.5(f)2 of the Solid Waste Rules and N.J.A.C. 7:26H-5.19(e)2 of the Solid Waste Utility Regulations provide that violations that do not qualify for grace period treatment under proposed N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.5(f)1 and N.J.A.C. 7:26H-5.19(e)1, respectively, would be non-minor and penalties would be assessed utilizing the penalty matrices of these rules, respectively, which would be recodified at the end of these subsections.

Proposed new N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.10(a) and (b) of the Solid Waste Rules and proposed new N.J.A.C. 7:26H-5.24(a) and (b) of the Solid Waste Utility Rules identify whether a violation could be considered a minor or non-minor violation. Proposed new N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.10(c) and proposed new N.J.A.C. 7:26H-5.24(c) identify the general criteria for a violation to be

considered a minor violation. The statutory criteria of N.J.S.A. 13:1D-129, the Grace Period Law, were discussed earlier in the Summary. Proposed new N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.10(d)1 and proposed new N.J.A.C. 7:26H-5.24(d)1 require the Department or local government agency to issue a notice of violation to the person responsible for the violation. The notice must identify the violation, the statutory or other provision violated, and the length of the grace period. The notice is necessary in order that the person responsible may take advantage of the grace period.

If the person responsible demonstrates that he or she has corrected the violation within the applicable grace period, then proposed new N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.10(d)2 and proposed new N.J.A.C. 7:262H-5.24(d)2 provide that no penalty will be assessed for the violation. Moreover, the violation will not be considered in the calculation of the "severity penalty component" pursuant to N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.4(f) and N.J.A.C. 7:26H-5.18(e), which increase the applicable penalty based upon the number of previous offenses the responsible person has committed.

The Department proposes new N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.10(d)3 and new N.J.A.C. 7:26H-5.24(d)3 in order that it can verify that the person responsible for a minor violation has taken appropriate measures to achieve compliance within the grace period. The responsible person must submit, in writing and certified in accordance with N.J.A.C. 7:26-2.4(e)3 and N.J.A.C. 7:26A-3.2(b)1 for the Solid Waste rules, information detailing the corrective action taken or compliance achieved. For the Solid Waste Utility Regulations, the request must be signed by the person responsible for the violation. The Department may perform an investigation to determine that the information submitted is accurate and that compliance has been achieved. Under proposed new N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.10(d)4 and proposed new N.J.A.C. 7:26H-5.24(d)4, if a person responsible for a minor violation seeks additional time beyond the specified grace period to achieve compliance, the Department or local government agency issuing the notice of violation may extend the grace period for up to an additional 90 days. In order to obtain an extension, the person responsible for the violation must submit a written request for an extension to the Department or local government agency one week prior to the expiration of the initial grace period, and explain why additional time is needed. The request must be certified in accordance with N.J.A.C. 7:26-2.4(e)3 and N.J.A.C. 7:26A-3.2(b)1 for the Solid Waste Rules. For the Solid Waste Utility

Regulations, the request must be signed by the person responsible for the violation. The Department or local government agency may, at its discretion, issue a written extension to the grace period specified in the notice of violation. No more than 90 additional days may be granted, in accordance with N.J.S.A. 13:1d-127(b).

As set forth at proposed N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.10(d)4i through iv and at proposed new N.J.A.C. 7:26H-5.24(d)4i through iv, in exercising its discretion to approve a request for an extension, the Department or local government agency will consider whether the violator has taken reasonable measures to achieve compliance in a timely manner, whether the delay has been caused by circumstances beyond the control of the violator, whether the delay will pose a risk to the public health, safety and natural resources, and whether the delay will materially or substantially undermine or impair the goals of the regulatory program. A person responsible for a violation may submit no more than one extension request for a violation specified in a notice of violation. (See proposed N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.10(d)6 and proposed N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.24(d)6.)

If the person responsible for the violation fails to demonstrate to the Department or local government agency that compliance has been achieved within the period of time specified in the notice of violation or any approved extension of the grace period, then under proposed new N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.10(d)5 and N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.24(d)5, the Department or a local government agency can impose a penalty retroactive to the date the notice of violation was first issued.

Updates to Penalty Tables

Additional amendments to the Solid Waste rules include updates of the penalty tables at N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.4(g). Specifically, the Department proposes adding a new section at N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.4(g)5 that will list penalties for violations of N.J.A.C. 7:26-2D, Requirements on Rail Carriers that Transfer Containerized or Noncontainerized Solid Waste to or from Rail Cars, and to recodify existing paragraphs 5 through 8 as paragraphs 6 through 9. The Department adopted the rail carrier requirements rule effective November 15, 2004 (see 36 NJR 5098(a)).

Additionally, the Department proposes subdividing the penalty table currently codified at N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.4(g)8 into six new tables to be recodified at N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.4(g)9 through 14. The new tables incorporate penalties for violations of the Used Oil Regulations, N.J.A.C. 7:26A-6, the Universal Waste Regulations, N.J.A.C. 7:26A-7, and the Federal Code of Regulations, 40 CFR 273 as incorporated by reference, since the penalty tables were last amended.

The Department is also proposing to amend the table at N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.4(g)2 to clarify several of the descriptions of the violations contained in these tables, and amend an incorrect cross reference in the table at proposed amended N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.4(g)5.

The Department is also proposing to amend the table at N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.4(g)2 to clarify several of the descriptions of the violations contained in these tables.

Base Penalties

Penalties under the Solid Waste rules are assessed under N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.5, Civil administrative penalty determination, rather than under N.J.A.C 7:26-5.4 (discussed above) when a violation results in substantial actual or potential harm or is determined to be a substantial deviation from the requirements of a permit or regulation and/or there are aggravating conduct factors such as poor compliance or operating history or the violation was clearly foreseeable and could have been avoided. A penalty is also assessed under this section when a violation is not listed in the penalty tables at N.J.A.C 7:26-5.4.

Similarly, penalties under the Solid Waste Utility Regulations are assessed under N.J.A.C. 7:26H-5.19, Matrix penalty determination, rather than under N.J.A.C. 7:26H-5.18 when either, because of the specific circumstances of the violation, the Department determines that the penalty amount under N.J.A.C. 7:26H-5.18 would be too low to provide a sufficient deterrent effect, or when the violation is not listed under N.J.A.C. 7:26H-5.18.

N.J.A.C 7:26-5.5(f) of the Solid Waste rules contains a penalty matrix according to which

the Department assesses a penalty on the basis of the seriousness of the violation and the conduct of the violator. In the matrix, the penalty range for violations of minor conduct and minor seriousness is \$1,000 to \$2,500. The Department proposes replacing this range with "N/A," meaning not applicable, because, as discussed below, the Department is proposing a base penalty of \$3,000 for all violations classified as minor under the Grace Period Law, whether the penalty is assessed pursuant to the table at N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.4(g) or under this paragraph.

N.J.A.C. 7:26H-5.19(e) of the Solid Waste Utility Regulations contains a similar penalty matrix. In this matrix, the penalty range for violations of minor conduct/minor seriousness is \$250 to \$1500. The Department proposes replacing the range for minor conduct/minor seriousness with "N/A" meaning not applicable because, as discussed below, the Department is proposing a base penalty of \$2,000 for all violations classified as minor under the Grace Period Law, whether the penalty is assessed pursuant to the table at N.J.A.C. 7:26H-5.18 or under this paragraph.

The Department is proposing to re-establish all of the base penalties for the violations listed in the penalty tables at N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.4(g) of the Solid Waste Rules and N.J.A.C. 7:26H-5.18 of the Solid waste Utility Regulations. When establishing a base penalty, the Department assumes that the violation occurred in the least aggravating of circumstances and that the violator has been fully cooperative, has promptly implemented all appropriate mitigation or prevention measures, and has an otherwise satisfactory compliance or operating history. Base penalties are established at a level determined to be minimally necessary to deter future violations, and they assume that the violation was neither intentional nor even negligent, except as may otherwise be implicit in the particular infraction.

In the decade since the base penalties were last adjusted, costs to ameliorate Solid Waste and Solid Waste Utility violations have increased. The base penalties must have a deterrent effect sufficient to ensure that regulated entities do not avoid incurring the necessary costs to comply with the rules because it appears more cost-effective to instead pay penalties for violations. Accordingly, the Department proposes increasing the base penalty for minor

violations of the Solid Waste rules to \$3,000 and the Solid Waste Utility Regulations to \$2,000 in order to increase the deterrent effect, and to encourage correction of violations during the allowed grace period, as well as compliance generally.

The Department is also proposing to revise the base penalties for non-minor violations in the Solid Waste rules to correlate them with the penalty matrix at N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.5. As discussed above, the Department proposes to eliminate the penalty range for minor conduct/minor seriousness, in view of the proposed \$3,000 base penalty for all minor violations. The next higher penalty range in the matrix is for penalties of minor conduct/moderate seriousness and moderate conduct/minor seriousness. The range for penalties at this level is \$3,000 to \$6,000. Using the penalty matrix, the penalty for a violation determined to fall in either of these categories would be assessed at the midpoint of the range, or \$4,500. Accordingly, if the existing base penalty for a non-minor violation in the table at N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.4(g) is greater than or equal to \$4,500, no change to that base penalty is proposed. However, if the existing base penalty for a non-minor violation is less than the penalty that would be calculated using the penalty matrix, the base penalty is proposed to be increased to the value calculated using the matrix. These proposed amendments will enhance consistency in penalty assessments under the Solid Waste Management Act and will help ensure that the penalties have an appropriate deterrent effect.

Similarly, the Department is proposing to revise the base penalties for non-minor violations in the Solid Waste Utility Regulations to correlate them with the penalty matrix at N.J.A.C. 7:26H-5.19(e). As discussed above, the Department proposes to eliminate the penalty range for minor conduct/minor seriousness, in view of the proposed \$2,000 base penalty for all minor violations. The next higher penalty range in the matrix is for penalties of minor conduct/moderate seriousness and moderate conduct/minor seriousness. The range for penalties at this level is \$2,000 to \$3,000. Using the penalty matrix, the penalty for a violation determined to fall in either of these categories would be assessed at the midpoint of the range, or \$2,500. Accordingly, if the existing base penalty for a non-minor violation in the table at N.J.A.C. 7:26H-5.18(f) is greater than or equal to \$2,500, no change to that base penalty is proposed.

However, if the existing base penalty for a non-minor violation is less than the penalty that would be calculated using the penalty matrix, the base penalty is proposed to be increased to the value calculated using the matrix. These proposed amendments will enhance consistency in penalty assessments under the Solid Waste Utility Control Act and will help ensure that the penalties have an appropriate deterrent effect.

In the Solid Waste Rules, N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.6 establishes civil administrative penalties for submitting inaccurate or false information in any application, registration, record or other document that is required to be maintained or submitted pursuant to the SWMA. N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.7 establishes civil administrative penalties for failure to allow lawful entry and inspection. N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.8 establishes civil administrative penalties for failure to pay a fee when due. N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.9 enables the Department to include as a civil administrative penalty the economic benefit (in dollars), which the violator has realized as a result of not complying with the SWMA or it's implementing rules.

The Department is proposing to amend N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.6 through 5.9 to specify that violations under these sections are non-minor; accordingly, the violations will not be subject to a grace period. A violation of any of the provisions of these sections prevents the Department from determining compliance with the SWMA and would materially or substantially undermine or impair the goals of the solid waste program, making the violations ineligible for a grace period under N.J.S.A. 13:1D-129(b)3.

In the Solid Waste Utility Rules, N.J.A.C. 7:26H-5.20 establishes civil administrative penalties for submitting inaccurate or false information in any application, registration, record or other document that is required to be maintained or submitted pursuant to the SWMA. N.J.A.C. 7:26H-5.21 establishes civil administrative penalties for failure to allow lawful entry and inspection. N.J.A.C. 7:26H-5.22 establishes civil administrative penalties for improper use of solid waste transport vehicles.

The Department is proposing to amend N.J.A.C. 7:26H-5.20 through 5.22 to specify that

violations under the sections are non-minor; accordingly, the violations will not be subject to a grace period. A violation of any of the provisions of these sections prevents the Department from determining compliance with the SWMA and would materially or substantially undermine or impair the goals of the solid waste program, making the violations ineligible for a grace period under N.J.S.A. 13:1D-129(b)3.

Social Impact

The proposed amendments to N.J.A.C. 7:26H-5 will have a positive social impact by providing for the regulation of the management and disposal of solid waste, and assuring that solid waste facilities are properly closed and maintained post closure, thereby protecting the public from possible residual contamination.

The proposed amendments to N.J.A.C. 7:26-5 and N.J.A.C. 7:26H-5, and the proposed new rules at N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.10 and N.J.A.C. 7:26H-5.24, will provide a positive social impact by helping encourage a greater sense of cooperation between the Department and the regulated community. By removing the threat of penalties for certain types of violations where compliance is achieved within the time specified, the proposed rules will encourage the regulated community to take positive action toward achieving compliance.

Economic Impact.

The proposed amendments to N.J.A.C. 7:26 and 7:26H will have little economic impact on the regulated community, inasmuch as the rules formalize the Department's existing policy with regard to allowing an opportunity for correction of minor violations. To the extent that the proposed amended rules formally classify violations as minor for which the Department has not previously provided a grace period, the regulated community will realize an economic benefit. No longer will the facility be subject to immediate penalty, but instead the facility will have a period of time to achieve compliance, without being assessed a penalty.

The proposed amendments that increase base penalties to correlate them with the penalty matrix at N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.5 may result in some additional economic burden to facilities; however, this impact is limited to those facilities that commit non-minor violations, or that do not achieve compliance within the established grace period.

Environmental Impact

The rules have had and will continue to have a positive environmental impact by providing for the regulation of the management and disposal of solid waste and assuring that solid waste facilities are properly closed and maintained in post closure. The penalty provisions of the rule will continue to provide a deterrent to those who would violate the regulatory requirements.

The proposed grace period provisions would allow a violator an opportunity to correct certain violations within the time provided and thereby avoid a penalty. The Department therefore anticipates that the proposed amendments and new rule will encourage the regulated community to correct certain types of violations in a timely manner. Prompt correction will reduce the potential risk these minor violations may have created and will, therefore, result in an additional positive environmental impact.

Federal Standards Statement

Executive Order No. 27 (1994) and N.J.S.A. 52:14B-1 et seq. (P.L. 1995, c. 65) require State agencies that adopt, readopt or amend State regulations that exceed any Federal standards or requirements to include in the rulemaking document a Federal Standards Analysis. The proposed amendments and new rules to the Solid Waste Utility Rules fall within the purview of N.J.S.A. 13:1D-1, et seq., 13:1E-1, et seq., 13:1B-3, 13:1D-125, et seq., 48:13A-1, et seq., and 48:13A-7.1, et seq. There are no analogous Federal standards for regulation for solid waste utilities. Executive Order No. 27 (1994), therefore, does not require a comparison with Federal law.

The proposed amendments to the Solid Waste rules include amendments that set penalties for violations of the Federal Standards for Universal Waste Management, codified at 40 C.F.R. Part 273. Under Subtitle C of the Resource Conservation and Recovery Act (RCRA), 42 U.S.C.A. §§ 6901, et seq., the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) has promulgated regulations governing the Federal hazardous waste management program. See 40 C.F.R. Parts 260 through 279. The Universal Waste Rule, 40 CFR Part 273, contains requirements for collecting certain widely dispersed hazardous wastes. The Federal Standards for Universal Waste Management are incorporated prospectively by reference in the Department's rules at N.J.A.C. 7:26A-1.6. That is, all provisions of 40 CRR Part 273 are continually and automatically updated into the New Jersey rule by operation of N.J.A.C. 7:26A-1.6.

Pursuant to RCRA section 3008 (42 U.S.C. § 6928), the USEPA is authorized to issue orders assessing civil penalties for past or current RCRA violations and may either require compliance immediately or within a specified time period, or both, or may commence a civil action in the United States district court in the district in which the violation occurred for appropriate relief, including a temporary or permanent injunction. These penalties may be assessed in an amount up to \$25,000 per day per violation.

Pursuant to RCRA section 3006 (42 U.S.C. § 6926), states may administer and enforce a hazardous waste program developed pursuant to RCRA, upon authorization of EPA. The enforcement provisions contained in N.J.A.C. 7:26 were promulgated and are proposed for amendment in order to comply with RCRA, and to provide an enforcement mechanism for the implementation of the State Solid Waste Management Act.

Penalties established and assessed by the Department pursuant to the Solid Waste rules are in accordance with the Solid Waste Management Act, specifically N.J.S.A. 13:1E-9. Pursuant to State law, penalties may be assessed in an amount not more than \$50,000 for each violation. Furthermore, each day that the violation continues constitutes an additional, separate and distinct offense. See N.J.S.A. 13:1E-9.e. Consequently, where a violation has occurred, a violator may be liable for a penalty as set forth by State law and it is possible that such a penalty may potentially exceed that which would be assessed by USEPA.

The Department believes that the penalties are necessary and reasonable in order to implement RCRA and to implement its hazardous waste management program generally. Amending the current penalty structure will continue to encourage compliance and discourage noncompliance with the state's hazardous waste law and rules and the Federal RCRA requirements.

The Department has conducted an analysis of the new penalties and grace period provisions in the proposed rules and has determined that they do not exceed any standard or requirement imposed by Federal law. The penalties and grace period provisions in the proposed rules are consistent with Federal law. Accordingly, no Federal Standard Analysis is required with regard to the amendment of the rules to include penalties for new universal waste standards or to include new penalties or grace period.

Jobs Impact

The proposed amendments and new rules will not result in either the generation or loss of jobs within the State. No facility will incur any costs unless it commits a violation that results in

a penalty assessment.

Agriculture Industry Impact

In accordance with N.J.S.A. 4:1C-10.3, the Right to Farm Act, the Department has reviewed this proposal and has determined that it will have little or no impact upon the Agriculture Industry. If there is any effect at all upon members of the agricultural industry, it is anticipated that such effect will be to afford those members the same opportunity as others to correct certain types of violations in a manner as provided by the rule and thereby avoid a possible penalty assessment.

Regulatory Flexibility Statement

In accordance with the New Jersey Regulatory Flexibility Act, N.J.S.A. 52:14B-16 et seq., small businesses are defined as those that are independently owned and operated, not dominant in their field and which employ fewer than 100 full time employees. Some businesses that generate or transport solid waste may come within the definition of small business. These include, for example, composting facilities, recycling centers, independent solid waste haulers, medical doctors, dentists, tattoo parlors and body piercing facilities.

Small businesses will incur the penalties established under these rules only if they are determined to be in violation of N.J.A.C. 7:26 or N.J.A.C. 7:26H. The establishment of grace periods will allow a small business responsible for a violation to avoid penalties if the violation is corrected within the time provided. It is, therefore, anticipated that the rule will encourage violators to achieve compliance in a timely fashion, avoid repetition of the violation without the use of penalty actions and quickly and efficiently address minor compliance matters without the need for professional services. The proposed amendments and new rules impose no reporting or recordkeeping requirements. Grace periods are not provided based on business size, thereby ensuring a fair, efficient and effective penalty scheme.

Smart Growth Impact

Executive Order No. 4 (2002) requires State agencies that adopt, amend or repeal any

rule adopted pursuant to Section 4(a) of the Administrative Procedure Act, to describe the impact of the proposed rule on the achievement of smart growth and implementation of the New Jersey State Development and Redevelopment Plan (State Plan). The Department has evaluated this rulemaking to determine the nature and extent of the proposed rules' impact on smart growth and the implementation of the State Plan. The proposed amendments and new rules do not involve land use policies or infrastructure development and therefore do not impact the achievement of smart growth or implementation of the State Plan.

Since the proposed amendments will encourage protection of the environment, they support the conservation and environmental protection goals and policies underlying the State Plan.

<u>Full text</u> of the proposed amendments and new rules follows (additions indicated in boldface **thus**; deletions indicated in brackets [thus]):

CHAPTER 26 SOLID WASTE

Subchapter 1. General Requirements

7:26-1.4 Definitions

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, have the following meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise.

* * *

"Grace period" means the period of time afforded under N.J.S.A. 13:1D-125 et seq., commonly known as the Grace Period Law, for a person to correct a minor violation in order to avoid imposition of a penalty that would be otherwise applicable for such violation.

* * *

7:26-5.4 Civil administrative penalties for violation of rules adopted pursuant to the Act

$$(a) - (f)$$
 (No change.)

- (g) The Rule Summary in this subsection, which summarizes certain provisions in N.J.A.C. 7:26 and N.J.A.C. 7:26A, is provided for informational purposes only. In the event that there is a conflict between the rule summary in this subsection and a provision in N.J.A.C. 7:26 and 7:26A then the provision in N.J.A.C. 7:26 and 7:26A shall prevail.
- 1. The violations of N.J.A.C. 7:26-1, General Provisions, whether <u>the</u> <u>violation is minor or non-minor, the length of the grace period,</u> and the civil administrative penalty amounts for each violation, are as set forth in the following table.

Rule	Rule Summary	Base	Type of	<u>Grace</u>
N.J.A.C.		<u>Penalty</u>	Violation	Period
				(days)
7:26-1.7(b)	Failure of owner or operator of any	[\$2,000]	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
	facility exempted under N.J.A.C.	\$3,000		
	7:26-1.7 to comply with all			
	conditions set forth in its certificate			
	of authority to operate.			

2. The violations of N.J.A.C. 7:26-2, Disposal, whether **the violation is minor or non-minor, the length of the grace period,** and the civil administrative penalty amounts for each violation, are as set forth in the following table.

Rule	Rule Summary	Base	Type of	Grace
N.J.A.C.		<u>Penalty</u>	Violation	Period
				(days)
7:26-2.7(b)1	Failure of permittee to apply for a permit renewal at least 90 days	[\$2,000] \$3,000	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
	prior to the expiration date of the	1 - 7		
	existing SWF permit.			

Rule N.J.A.C.	Rule Summary	Base Penalty	Type of Violation	Grace Period (days)
7:26-2.8(b)	Failure of permittee to submit a statement updating the information contained in the initial registration statement.	[\$2,000] \$3,000	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
7:26-2.8(c)	Failure of permittee to notify the Department within 30 days of any change of information in the registration statement.	[\$2,000] \$3,000	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
7:26-2.8(e)	Failure to apply and receive approval of a SWF permit prior to engaging in the disposal of solid waste in this State	[\$2,000] \$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
7:26-2.8(f)	Failing to obtain a SWF permit prior to constructing or operating a solid waste facility.	\$5,000	<u>NM</u>	
7:26-2.8(j)	Failure to meet all conditions, restrictions, requirements or any other provision set forth in SWF permit.	[\$2,000] \$3,000	<u>M</u>	30
7:26-2.8(k)	Failure to receive Department approval prior to modifying, revising or otherwise changing a permit condition.	[\$2,000] \$3,000	M	30
7:26-2.8(1)	Failure to receive Department approval prior to transferring ownership of a SWF permit.	\$5,000	<u>NM</u>	
7:26-2.11(b)1	Failure of operator to clean areas where waste has been deposited or stored within each 24 hour period, for sanitary landfills all areas where waste has been deposited shall be covered.	[\$2,000] \$3,000	<u>M</u>	1
7:26-2.11(b)2	Failure to ensure any waste stored overnight at any facility is effectively treated to prevent odors associated with putrefaction.	[\$2,000] \$3,000	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
7:26-2.11(b)3	Failure to maintain facility property surrounding the disposal area free of litter, debris, unprocessed waste, processed residues and effluents.	\$3,000	M	30

Rule N.J.A.C.	Rule Summary	Base Penalty	Type of Violation	Grace Period (days)
7:26-2.11(b)4	Failure to implement dust control methods.	[\$2,000] \$3,000	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
7:26-2.11(b)5	Failure to ensure no odors of sufficient strength and duration to be injurious to human health or unreasonably interfere with the enjoyment of life or property are detected off-site.	[\$4,000] \$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
7:26-2.11(b)6	Failure to maintain all facility systems in a manner that facilitates proper operation and minimizes system downtime.	[\$2,000] \$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
7:26-2.11(b)7	Failure to maintain an adequate water supply and adequate fire-fighting equipment.	\$5,000	<u>NM</u>	
7:26-2.11(b)8	Failure to control insects, other arthropods and rodents.	[\$3,000] \$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
7:26-2.11(b)9	Failure to comply at all times with the conditions of SWF permit.	[\$2,000] \$3,000	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
7:26.2.11(b)10	Failing to ensure waste is not received in excess to the system's designed capacity.	[\$2,000] \$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
7:26-2.11(b)11	Failure to operate the facility in a manner that employs the use of equipment and other techniques as identified in the facility's SWF permit.	[\$2,000] \$3,000	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
7:26-2.11(b)12	Failure to maintain an approved O and M manual at the facility, changes to be submitted, at a minimum, on an annual basis	\$3,000	<u>M</u>	30
7:26-2.11(c)1	Failure to admit only properly registered solid waste vehicles for loading or unloading of any solid waste.	[\$3,000] \$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
7:26-2.11(c)2	Failure to designate a secure area where solid waste may be unloaded from vehicles exempt from registration under N.J.A.C. 7:26-3.3.	[\$2,000] \$4,500	<u>NM</u>	

Rule N.J.A.C.	Rule Summary	Base Penalty	Type of Violation	Grace Period (days)
7:26-2.11(c)3	Failure to designate a secure area where unpermitted waste can be deposited.	[\$2,000] \$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
7:26-2.11(c)4	Failure to maintain a record of the quantity of each waste type accepted for disposal.	\$5,000	<u>NM</u>	
7:26-2.11(c)5	Failure to provide a means of cleaning vehicle tires of debris.	[\$2,000] \$3,000	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
7:26-2.12(b)	Failure of generators of asbestos containing waste materials to submit a complete written notification of intent to demolish, 10 days prior to beginning the demolition activity.	[\$1,000] \$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
7:26-2.12(c)	Failure of generators of asbestos containing waste material to submit a complete written notification of intent to renovate, 10 days prior to beginning the renovation activity.	[\$1,000] \$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
7:26 2.13(a)1-6	Failure to maintain a daily record of waste received.	<u>\$4,500</u>	<u>NM</u>	
7:26-2.13(a)7	Failure to maintain a daily record of asbestos waste and make appropriate submittals.	[\$3,000] \$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
7:26-2.13(a)8	Failure to [maintain additional required reports in the daily record] install or operate scales or keep records.	[\$2,000] \$3,000	<u>M</u>	30
7:26-2.13(c)1	Failure of facility operator to verify the O and D form.	[\$2,000] \$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
7:26-2.13(e)	Failure to <u>timely</u> submit <u>complete</u> monthly summaries of waste to the Department <u>and the District Solid</u> <u>Waste Coordinator.</u>	\$3,000	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
7:26:2.14(j)	Failure of SWFPPA permittee to prepare and submit a complete annual progress report.	[\$2,000] \$3,000	<u>M</u>	30
7:26:2.14(k)	Failure of SWFPPA permittee to conduct a complete facility wide benchmark audit not less than once every five years.	[\$2,000] \$3,000	<u>M</u>	90

3. The violations of N.J.A.C. 7:26-2A, Additional Specific Disposal Regulations for Sanitary Landfills whether **the violation is minor or non-minor**, **the length of**

the grace period, and the civil administrative penalty amounts for each violation, are as set forth in the following table.

Rule	Rule Summary	Base	Type of	Grace
N.J.A.C.		<u>Penalty</u>	<u>Violation</u>	Period (days)
7:26-2A.8(b)1	Failure to confine working face to	[\$2,000]	<u>NM</u>	
	the smallest practical area.	<u>\$4,500</u>		
7:26-2A.8(b)2	Failure to compact waste to yield	[\$2,000]	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
	smallest volume.	<u>\$3,000</u>		
7:26-2A.8(b)3	Failure to compact waste in shallow	[\$2,000]	<u>NM</u>	
	layers; or compacting waste over	<u>\$4,500</u>		
	leachate collection pipes per			
	N.J.A.C. 7:26-2A.7(d)3xiv.			
7:26-2A.8(b)4	Failure to ensure lift height of daily	[\$2,000]	<u>NM</u>	
	cell does not exceed 12 feet.	\$4,500		
7:26-2A.8(b)5	Failure to ensure slope is no steeper	[\$2,000]	<u>NM</u>	
	than 3:1. Failure of balefill	\$4,500		
	operations to comply with working			
	face requirements.			
7:26-2A.8(b)6	Failure to obtain department	[\$2,000]	M	30
	approval of separate areas for	\$3,000		
	storage of demolition waste or			
	recyclable materials.			
7:26-2A.8(b)7	Failure to cover exposed surfaces	[\$2,000]	<u>NM</u>	
	of solid waste at close of each	\$4,500		
	operating day with daily cover.			
7:26-2A.8(b)8	Failure to progressively apply daily	[\$2,000]	NM	
	cover.	\$4,500		
7:26-2A.8(b)9	Failure to apply intermediate cover	[\$2,000]	<u>NM</u>	
	(a minimum of 12 inches of earth)	\$4,500		
	to surfaces exposed more than 24			
	hours.			
7:26-2A.8(b)10	Failure to maintain grade, thickness	[\$2,000]	<u>NM</u>	
	and integrity of intermediate and	\$4,500		
	final cover.			

Rule N.J.A.C.	Rule Summary	Base Penalty	Type of Violation	Grace Period
				(days)
7:26-2A.8(b)11	Failure to grade areas with	[\$2,000]	<u>NM</u>	
	intermediate cover to facilitate drainage.	<u>\$4,500</u>		
7:26-2A.8(b)12	Failure to use appropriate daily and	[\$2,000]	<u>NM</u>	
	intermediate cover materials; not	<u>\$4,500</u>		
	maintaining sufficient quantity of			
	cover at site; not maintaining standby supply of cover within			
	boundaries.			
7:26-2A.8(b)13	Failure to construct final cover in	[\$2,000]	NM	
	accordance with N.J.A.C. 7:26-	<u>\$4,500</u>		
	2A.7(i) and to apply it to all			
7:26-2A.8(b)20	surfaces. Failure to maintain sufficient types	[\$2,000]	NIM	
7.20-2A.8(0)20	and quantities of equipment to	\$4,500	NM NM	
	adequately meet the requirements	Ψ1,500		
	of N.J.A.C. 7:26-2A.8(b)7 through			
	(10).			
7:26-2A.8(b)21	Failure to maintain steel wheel type	[\$2,000]	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
	compactors of at least 45,000	<u>\$3,000</u>		
7.26.24.8(b)22	pounds.	\$5,000	NIM	
7:26-2A.8(b)22	Failure to equip landfill equipment with safety devices.	\$3,000	NM NM	
7:26-2A.8(b)23	Failure, in the case of breakdown of	[\$2,000]	<u>NM</u>	
	equipment, to repair or obtain	<u>\$4,500</u>		
	replacement within 24 hours; or to include a maintenance contract in O			
	& M plan.			
7:26-2A.8(b)24	Failure to limit access for disposal	[\$2,000]	<u>NM</u>	
	to operating hours only.	<u>\$4,500</u>		
7:26-2A.8(b)25	Failure to secure landfill with a six-	[\$2,000]	<u>NM</u>	
7:26-2A.8(b)27	foot high chain link fence. Failure to maintain all weather road	\$4,500 [\$2,000]	NM	
1.20-2A.0(U)21	to working face.	\$4,500	NM NM	
7:26-2A.8(b)28	Failure to control litter.	\$3,000	M	30
7:26-2A.8(b)29	Failure to control dust by spraying	[\$2,000]	M	1
. ,	water or equivalent.	\$3,000		_

Rule	Rule Summary	Base	Type of	Grace Dain
N.J.A.C.		<u>Penalty</u>	<u>Violation</u>	Period (days)
7:26-2A.8(b)30	Failure to eliminate emissions which result in odors detectable in areas of human use or occupancy beyond boundary line; or to control the odors by use of daily cover; or to immediately cover odorous waste with minimum six inches of cover.	[\$4,000] \$4,500	<u>NM</u>	(44,75)
7:26-2A.8(b)31	Failure to control the off-site tracking of mud and soil.	[\$2,000] \$3,000	M	<u>30</u>
7:26-2A.8(b)32	Failure to minimize the propagation and harborage of insects, rodents, and birds.	[\$2,000] \$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
7:26-2A.8(b)33	Failure to protect all monitoring devices and environmental systems from damage.	\$5,000	<u>NM</u>	
7:26-2A.8(b)37	Failure to have supervisor on site in order to ensure proper operation, evaluate monitoring data and inspection reports, determine performance of landfill, implement all operational decisions and ensure compliance with N.J.S.A. 13:1E-1 et seq., this chapter and the SWF Permit.	\$5,000	<u>NM</u>	
[7:26- 2A.8(b)38-41]	[Failure to ensure that landfill personnel complete a program of on-the-job training, all personnel complete training program within six months after date of employment, all personnel take part in annual update of initial training program, keep records of training received by personnel until closure.]	[\$2,000]		
7:26-2A.8(b)38	Failure to ensure that landfill personnel complete a program of on-the-job training.	\$3,000	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>

Rule N.J.A.C.	Rule Summary	Base Penalty	Type of Violation	Grace Period (days)
7:26-2A.8(b)39	Failure to ensure that landfill personnel complete initial training program within six months after the date of their employment.	\$3,000	<u>M</u>	30
7:26-2A.8(b)40	Failure to ensure that landfill personnel take part in annual update of initial training program.	\$3,000	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
7:26-2A.8(b)41	Failure to keep records of training received by personnel until closure.	\$3,000	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
7:26-2A.8(c)	Failure to maintain environmental control systems in functioning manner, or to inspect them.	\$5,000	<u>NM</u>	
7:26-2A.8(d-e)	Failure to perform inspections required by N.J.A.C. 7:26-2A.8(c) on a weekly basis and after storm events, and comply with recordkeeping requirements.	[\$3,000] \$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
7:26-2A.8(f)	Failure of operator to make repairs in accordance with N.J.A.C. 7:26-2A.8(b)28 and O & M manual, if deterioration or malfunction occurs.	[\$2,000] \$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
7:26-2A.8(g)	Failure to maintain and inspect sanitary landfill according to requirements.	[\$2,000] \$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
7:26-2A.8(h)	Failure to monitor in accordance with parameters and schedules.	\$5,000	<u>NM</u>	
7:26-2A.8(i)	Failure to submit an annual topographic survey prepared according to N.J.A.C. 7:26-2A.8(i)1 through 4 by May 1 of each year.	[\$2,000] \$3,000	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
7:26-2A.8(j)1	Failure to obtain written approval of the Department prior to disruption/excavation.	[\$2,000] \$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
7:26-2A.8(j)3	Failure to keep area of excavation consistent with amount of equipment, and to keep excavation to smallest practical area.	[\$2,000] \$4,500	NM NM	

Rule	Rule Summary	Base	Type of	Grace
N.J.A.C.		Penalty	Violation	Period
				(days)
7:26-2A.8(j)4	Failure to control dust, odors, fires,	[\$3,000]	<u>NM</u>	
	rodents, insects, blowing litter.	\$4,500		
7:26-2A.8(k)6	Failure to repair any disruption of	[\$2,000]	<u>NM</u>	
	finished grade or covered surface	\$4,500		
	upon completion of firefighting			
	activities.			
7:26-2A.8(1)	Failure to comply with asbestos	[\$3,000]	<u>NM</u>	
	waste disposal requirements.	\$4,500		

4. The violations of N.J.A.C. 7:26-2B, Additional Specific Disposal Regulations For Thermal Destruction Facilities, Transfer Stations, Materials Recovery Facilities, Co-Composting and Mixed Solid Waste Composting Facilities, whether **the violation is minor or non-minor, the length of the grace period,** and the civil administrative penalty amounts for each violation, are as set forth in the following table.

Rule	Rule Summary	Base	Type of	Grace
N.J.A.C.		<u>Penalty</u>	Violation	Period
				(days)
7:26-2B.7(b)	Failure of solid waste composting	[\$2,000]	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
	and co-composting facility to	\$3,000		
	comply with quarterly report			
	requirements.			
7:26-2B.7(d)	Failure of solid waste composting	[\$2,000]	<u>NM</u>	
	and co-composting facility to	<u>\$4,500</u>		
	comply with training requirements;			
	Access to facility prohibited when			
	facility is closed.			
7.26.20.7()	Failure of solid waste composting	[\$2,000]	<u>NM</u>	
7:26-2B.7(e)	and co-composting facility to	<u>\$4,500</u>		
	monitor temperature of composting			
	materials to ensure pathogen			
	reduction criteria are met.			

Rule	Rule Summary	Base	Type of	Grace
N.J.A.C.		Penalty	Violation	Period
				(days)
7:26-2B.7(f)	Failure of solid waste composting	[\$2,000]	<u>NM</u>	
	and co-composting facility to	<u>\$4,500</u>		
	comply with incoming waste			
	processing timeframes and			
	requirements.			
7:26-2B.7(g)	Failure of solid waste composting	[\$2,000]	<u>NM</u>	
	and co-composting facility to	<u>\$4,500</u>		
	ensure incoming, unprocessed			
	waste is not mixed with finished			
7:26-2B.7(h)	Failure of solid waste composting	[\$1,000]	M	30
7.20-2 D .7(II)	and co-composting facility to	\$3,000	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
	comply with 15 month finished	φ3,000		
	compost storage requirement.			
7:26-2B.7(i)	Failure of solid waste composting	[\$2,000]	NM	
7.12 = 1.7 (-)	and co-composting facility to	\$4,500		
	comply with recordkeeping			
	requirements.			
7:26-2B.7(j-n)	Failure of solid waste composting	[\$3,000]	<u>NM</u>	
	and co-composting facility to	<u>\$4,500</u>		
	comply with monitoring and			
	sampling requirements.			
7:26-2B.7(o)	Failure of solid waste composting	[\$2,000]	<u>NM</u>	
	and co-composting facility to	<u>\$4,500</u>		
7.06.00.7()	comply with labeling requirements.	τφο 0003	NIN #	
7:26-2B.7(p)	Failure of solid waste composting	[\$2,000]	<u>NM</u>	
	and co-composting facility to	<u>\$4,500</u>		
	comply with USEPA 40 CFR 503 general requirements.			
7:26-2B.8(d)	Failure of the owner or operator to	[\$3,000]	NM	
7.20 2 D .0(u)	conduct inspections as indicated in	\$4,500	TATAT	
	the approved final O & M manual	<u>Ψ 19000</u>		
	in order to identify and remedy any			
	problems and comply with			
	recordkeeping requirements.			

Rule	Rule Summary	Base	Type of	Grace
N.J.A.C.		<u>Penalty</u>	Violation	Period
				(days)
7:26-2B.8(f)	Failure of the owner or operator to	[\$3,000]	NM NM	
	implement waste receiving area	<u>\$4,500</u>		
	control procedures that provide for			
	the inspection of the incoming			
	waste stream for the purpose of			
	removing nonprocessible or			
	potentially explosive materials			
7.06 OD 0()	prior to the initiation of processing.	ΓΦ 2 0001	ND #	
7:26-2B.8(g)	Failure, should the facility	[\$2,000]	<u>NM</u>	
	experience equipment or system	<u>\$4,500</u>		
	malfunction to the extent that the			
	waste received cannot be handled			
	or processed in the normal manner,			
	of the operator to notify the			
	Department of the existence of such a situation and circumstances			
	contributing to the situation within			
	the same working day of its			
7.26 2D 9(;)	occurrence.	1000 001	NIM	
7:26-2B.8(i)	Failure to store unprocessed	[\$2,000]	NM NM	
	incoming waste, facility process	<u>\$4,500</u>		
	waste residues and effluents, and			
	recovered materials in bunkers,			
	pits, bins, or similar containment			
	vessels and to keep at all times at			
	levels that prevent spillage or overflow.			
7:26 2B 9(i)		[\$2,000]	NM	
7:26-2B.8(j)	Failure to keep waste delivery	- ' -	NM NM	
	tipping hall doors closed during	<u>\$4,500</u>		
	non-processing or non-receiving hours.			
7:26-2B.8(k)	Failure to schedule the delivery of	[\$2,000]	NM	
7.20-2D.0(K)	waste to the facility and the	\$4,500	14141	
	removal of residues and recovered	<u>φτ,500</u>		
	products from the site so as to			
	eliminate traffic backups and allow			
	for fluid vehicular movement on			
	site.			
	Site.		l	

Rule N.J.A.C.	Rule Summary	Base Penalty	Type of Violation	Grace Period (days)
7:26-2B.8(1)	Failure to ensure that samples and measurements taken for the purpose of monitoring facility process and treatment operations are representative of the process or operation and are performed with the conditions of the facility's SWF permit.	\$5,000	<u>NM</u>	
7:26-2B.8(m-r)	Failure of the operator to comply with waste determination, waste analysis and required recordkeeping.	\$5,000	<u>NM</u>	
7:26-2B.8(s)	Failure of the owner or operator to have a 24-hour surveillance system which continuously monitors and controls entry to the facility or an artificial or natural barrier which completely surrounds the facility.	\$5,000	<u>NM</u>	
7:26-2B.8(t)	Failure of a facility to maintain required personnel, supervisor, boiler operator, licensed engineer to assure the proper and orderly operation of all system components, along with the ability to handle all routine facility maintenance requirements.	\$5,000	<u>NM</u>	
7:26-2B.8(u)	Failure to ensure that all personnel complete an initial program of classroom instruction and on-the-job training, training program directed by a person thoroughly familiar with the technology, ensure that facility personnel respond to any malfunction or emergency situation, complete the initial training program within six months, planned annual review of the initial training, records document the type and amount of training received, kept until closure, former employees records kept for at least one year.	[\$2,000] \$3,000	<u>M</u>	30

5. The violations of N.J.A.C. 7:26-2D, Requirements On Rail Carriers That Transfer Containerized Or Noncontainerized Solid Waste To Or From Rail, whether the violation is minor or non-minor, the length of the grace period, and the civil administrative penalty amounts for each violation, are as set forth in the following table.

Rule N.J.A.C.	Rule Summary	Base Penalty	Type of Violation	Grace Period
# 0(0D 1()0;		#4.500	N/N //	(days)
7:26-2D.1(c)2i	Failure to ensure putrescible	<u>\$4,500</u>	<u>NM</u>	
	waste does not remain for more			
	than 72 hours, nonputrescible			
	waste does not remain for more			
	than 10 days, and nonputrescible			
	ID 72 waste in sealed containers			
	waste does not remain for more			
	than 180 days.			
7:26-2D.1(c)2ii	Failure to contain solid waste	<u>\$4,500</u>	<u>NM</u>	
	received, stored or transferred at			
	any facility in sealed containers			
	that do not leak any liquids or			
	solid materials and are not			
	opened for any purpose at the			
	facility, except that an ID 72			
	liquid solid waste container may			
	be opened briefly for the purpose			
	of sampling the liquid provided			
	the container is immediately			
	resealed.			
7:26-2D.1(c)2iv	Failure to ensure that all solid	\$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
	waste containers staged or stored			
	at the facility are secured at all			
	times in a manner that prevents			
	unauthorized access to the			
	containers and their contents.			
7:26-2D.1(c)2v	Failure to maintain an adequate	\$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
_	water supply and adequate fire-			
	fighting equipment.			

Rule N.J.A.C.	Rule Summary	Base Penalty	Type of Violation	Grace Period
7:26-2D.1(c)2vi	Failure to ensure no queuing or staging of solid waste vehicles occurs on public roadway.	\$4,500	<u>NM</u>	(days)
7:26- 2D.1(c)2vii	Failure to ensure queuing and staging of solid waste vehicles is conducted to prevent traffic backups and related hazards on	<u>\$4,500</u>	<u>NM</u>	
7:26-2D.1(c)2ix	<u>access roads servicing facility.</u> <u>Failure to admit only properly</u> registered solid waste vehicles.	<u>\$4,500</u>	<u>NM</u>	
7:26- 2D.1(c)2xii	Failure to designate emergency coordinator who is available at all times to handle emergency situations.	\$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
7:26- 2D.1(c)2xiii	Failure to maintain a daily record of waste received and submit quarterly reports.	\$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
7:26-2D.1(d)2	Failure of facility to have tipping floors or ramps provide proper containment and channeling of wastewater to sanitary sewer connections or holding tanks and be constructed of sufficient strength to withstand heavy vehicle usage.	\$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
7:26-2D.1(d)4	Failure of operator to clean areas where waste has been deposited or stored within each 24 hour period.	\$3,000	M	1
7:26-2D.1(d)5	Failure to ensure any waste stored overnight at any facility is effectively treated to prevent odors associated with putrefaction.	\$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
7:26-2D.1(d)6	Failure to maintain facility property surrounding the disposal area free of litter, debris, unprocessed waste, processed residues and effluents.	\$3,000	<u>M</u>	30

Rule	Rule Summary	Base	Type of	Grace
<u>N.J.A.C.</u>		Penalty	Violation	Period
				(days)
7:26-2D.1(d)7	Failure to implement dust control	<u>\$3,000</u>	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
	methods in order to prevent			
	migration outside the enclosed			
	building and off-site.			
7:26-2D.1(d)9	Failure to maintain an adequate	<u>\$4,500</u>	<u>NM</u>	
	water supply and adequate fire-			
	fighting equipment.			
7:26-2D.1(d)10	Failure to control insects, other	<u>\$4,500</u>	<u>NM</u>	
	arthropods and rodents.			
7:26-2D.1(d)11	Failure to operate certified scales	\$3,000	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
	for the reporting requirements of			
	N.J.A.C. 7:26-2.13 for waste			
	transported by trucks.			
7:26-2D.1(d)13	Failure to ensure no queuing or	\$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
	staging of solid waste vehicles			
	occurs on public roadway.			
7:26-2D.1(d)14	Failure to ensure queuing and	\$4,500	NM	
	staging of solid waste vehicles is			
	conducted to prevent traffic			
	backups and related hazards on			
	access roads servicing facility.			
7:26-2D.1(d)16	Failure to admit only properly	\$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
	registered solid waste vehicles.			
7:26-2D.1(d)17	Failure to designate a secure area	\$4,500	NM	
	where solid waste may be			
	unloaded from vehicles exempt			
	from registration under N.J.A.C.			
	7:26-3.3.			
7:26-2D.1(d)18	Failure to establish a separate	\$4,500	NM	
	secure area for the drop-off			
	and/or transfer of asbestos and			
	asbestos-containing waste			
	material (ACWM) or to comply			
	with additional requirements for			
	the handling of asbestos and			
	ACWM.			

Rule	Rule Summary	Base	Type of	Grace
N.J.A.C.		Penalty	Violation	Period (days)
7:26-2D.1(d)21	Failure to ensure that nonputrescible solid waste does not remain at the rail facility for more than 10 days, except that ID72 liquid solid waste may be stored for up to 180 days in sealed containers. Putrescible solid waste shall not remain at any rail facility for greater than 72 hours.	<u>\$4,500</u>	<u>NM</u>	
7:26-2D.1(d)22	Failure to implement effective security procedures to control entry and exit at all times.	\$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
7:26-2D.1(d)25	Failure to designate emergency coordinator who is available at all times to handle emergency situations.	<u>\$4,500</u>	<u>NM</u>	

[5.] <u>6</u>. The violations of N.J.A.C. 7:26-3, Transportation, whether <u>the violation</u> is minor or non-minor, the length of the grace period, and the civil administrative penalty amounts for each violation, are as set forth in the following table.

Rule	Rule Summary	Base	Type of	Grace
N.J.A.C.		Penalty	Violation	Period
		-		(days)
7:26-3.2(a)	Failure to obtain an approved	\$8,000	<u>NM</u>	
	registration statement from the			
	Department prior or to engaging in			
	the transportation of solid waste.			
7:26-3.2(a)2	Failure to ensure that any device	[\$2,000]	<u>NM</u>	
	used for the transportation of solid	\$4,500		
	waste is registered with the			
	Department.			

Rule N.J.A.C.	Rule Summary	Base Penalty	Type of Violation	Grace Period (days)
7:26-3.2(a)4	Failure of registrant to ensure registered vehicles, cabs, containers, etc. are not used, controlled or possessed by any other person.	\$5,000	<u>NM</u>	
7:26-3.2(c)	Failure to comply with any conditions or limitations which may be specified on the approved registration.	\$5,000	<u>NM</u>	
7:26-3.2(d)	Failure of a registrant to submit a transporter registration renewal updating information contained in the previous registration statement.	[\$2,000] \$3,000	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
7:26-3.2(e)	Failure of registrant to notify the Department within 30 days of any change in the registration statement.	[\$2,000] \$3,000	<u>M</u>	30
7:26-3.4(b)	Failure to deposit all collected solid waste at an approved facility.	\$5,000	NM NM	
7:26-3.4(c)	Failure to ensure solid <u>waste</u> does not remain or is stored in any solid waste vehicle in excess of 24 hours, unless an emergency.	[\$2,000] \$3,000	<u>M</u>	30
7:26-3.4(d)	Failure to ensure design of solid waste vehicle is such that it will not cause spillage onto roadways.	[\$2,000] \$3,000	<u>M</u>	30
7:26-3.4(e)	Failure to ensure solid waste vehicle is not loaded beyond its design capacities or in such a manner that will cause spillage onto roadways.	[\$2,000] \$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
7:26-3.4(f)	Failure to keep all solid waste vehicles in good working condition and to provide a means of continuous service in the event an emergency arises.	[\$2,000] \$3,000	<u>M</u>	1
7:26-3.4(g)	Failure to protect property of customer.	[\$2,000] \$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
7:26-3.4(h)	Failure to properly mark each solid waste vehicle or to carry current DEP registration certificate.	[\$2,000] \$3,000	<u>M</u>	30

Rule	Rule Summary	Base	Type of	Grace
N.J.A.C.		Penalty	Violation	Period
				(days)
7:26-3.4(i)	Failure to use tarpaulins as needed.	[\$2,000]	NM	
	-	<u>\$4,500</u>		
7:26-3.4(j)	Failure to access or exit a solid	[\$2,000]	<u>M</u>	1
	waste facility pursuant to the	<u>\$3,000</u>		
	district management plan or SWF			
	permit.			
7:26-3.4(m)	Failure of transporter to haul	<u>\$4,500</u>	<u>NM</u>	
	solid waste in accordance with			
	the Solid Waste Management			
	Plan developed by the county or			
	district of waste origin pursuant			
	to N.J.A.C. 7:26-6.	-+		
7:26-3.5(a)1	Failure to design all solid waste	[\$2,000]	<u>NM</u>	
	vehicles used for the transportation	<u>\$4,500</u>		
	of sewage sludge to preclude any			
	spillage or leakage onto roadways.	\$7.000	272.5	
7:26-3.5(a)2	Failure to ensure sewage sludge	\$5,000	<u>NM</u>	
	and other fecal material is not			
	intermixed with other wastes of a			
7.26.2.5(1)	chemical or industrial nature.	τφο 0001	272.6	
7:26-3.5(b)	Failure to design all solid waste	[\$2,000]	<u>NM</u>	
	vehicles used for the transportation	<u>\$4,500</u>		
	of bulky waste to preclude any			
7.26.2.5(a)	spillage. Failure to ensure radioactive	¢5,000	NIN	
7:26-3.5(c)		\$5,000	NM NM	
	material and lethal chemicals are			
	not transported in or through this State without prior approval from			
	authorities having jurisdiction, and			
	from the Department.			
7:26-3.5(d)1	Failure to design all solid waste	[\$3,000]	NM	
7.20 3.3(d)1	vehicles used for the transportation	\$4,500	14141	
	of asbestos waste so as to preclude	Ψ 19200		
	any spillage leakage or emissions			
	therefrom.			
7:26-3.5(d)2	Failure to package asbestos for	\$5,000	<u>NM</u>	
	transportation in accordance with	42,000	2 12/2	
	40 CFR 61.152 and N.J.A.C. 7:26-			
	2.12.			
	۷.12.			

Rule N.J.A.C.	Rule Summary	Base Penalty	Type of Violation	Grace Period (days)
7:26-3.5(d)3	Failure to transport asbestos in a manner that prevents the rupture of containers in loading, transporting and unloading operations.	\$5,000	<u>NM</u>	
7:26-3.5(d)4	Failure to transport collected asbestos <u>and/or asbestos</u> <u>containing material</u> directly from the point of generation to the solid waste landfill permitted to receive such wastes.	\$5,000	<u>NM</u>	
7:26-3.5(d)6	Failure to ensure no visible air emissions are generated during loading, transporting, or unloading operations.	\$5,000	<u>NM</u>	
7:26-3.5[(g)] (h)2	Failure of transporter to complete and sign O and D form prior to [disposal.] prior to transporting the solid waste.	[\$2000] \$3,000	<u>M</u>	1
7:26-3.6(g)1	Failure to ensure that nonputrescible solid waste does not remain at the intermodal facility for up to 10 days, except that ID72 liquid solid waste may be stored for up to 180 days in sealed containers. Putrescible solid waste shall not remain at any intermodal facility for greater than 72 hours.	<u>\$4,500</u>	<u>NM</u>	

Rule	Rule Summary	Base	Type of	Grace
N.J.A.C.		Penalty	Violation	Period
				(days)
7:26-3.6(g)2	Failure to contain solid waste	\$4,500	NM	· · · · · ·
	received, stored or transferred at			
	any facility in sealed containers,			
	registered as solid waste			
	containers with the Department			
	in accordance with N.J.A.C. 7:26-			
	3, that do not leak any liquids or			
	solid materials and are not			
	opened for any purpose at the			
	facility, except that an ID 72			
	liquid solid waste container may			
	be opened briefly for the purpose			
	of sampling the liquid provided			
	the container is immediately			
	resealed.			
7:26-3.6(g)3	Failure to ensure no odors of	<u>\$4,500</u>	<u>NM</u>	
	sufficient strength and duration			
	to be injurious to human health			
	or unreasonably interfere with			
	the enjoyment of life or property			
	are detected at the facility or off-			
	site, in the vicinity of the facility.			
7:26-3.6(g)4	Failure to ensure access to any	<u>\$4,500</u>	<u>NM</u>	
	intermodal container facility is			
	restricted to facility operators,			
	solid waste vehicle operators and			
	authorized visitors only. Effective			
	security procedures shall be			
	implemented to control entry and			
	exit at all times. All solid waste			
	containers staged or stored at the			
	facility shall be secured at all			
	times in a manner that prevents			
	unauthorized access to the			
	containers and their contents.			

N.J.A.C.		Base	Type of	Grace
11.3.11.0.	•	Penalty	Violation	Period
				(days)
7:26-3.6(g)7	Failure to ensure routine	\$3,000	<u>M</u>	30
	housekeeping and maintenance			
	procedures are implemented at			
	the facility to prevent the			
	accumulation of dust, debris and			
	to maintain general cleanliness			
	throughout the facility and in the			
	working environment.			
7:26-3.6(g)9	Failure to designate an on-site	<u>\$4,500</u>	<u>NM</u>	
	emergency coordinator who will			
	be available during all hours of			
	operation for the purpose of			
	handling emergency situations,			
	such as, but not limited to, spills,			
	discharges or releases of solid			
	wastes at the facility.	*		
	Failure to ensure all	<u>\$4,500</u>	<u>NM</u>	
	containerized solid waste			
	accepted at the intermodal			
	container facility, unless			
	exempted under N.J.A.C. 7:26-			
	6.3, from New Jersey sources are			
	disposed of in accordance with			
	-			
	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·			
	where applicable, at permitted			
	out-of-State disposal facilities			
	authorized by the receiving state.			
	applicable District Solid Waste Management Plans. Any out-of- State solid waste accepted at an intermodal container facility shall be disposed of consistent with the provisions set forth in the approved District Solid Waste Management Plan for the district in which the facility is located, or,			

Rule N.J.A.C.	Rule Summary	Base Penalty	Type of Violation	Grace Period (days)
7:26-3.6(g)11	Failure to develop and maintain at the site an operations and maintenance (O & M) manual that shall describe all operating conditions and procedures of the facility. The O & M manual shall be made available to all facility personnel. The O & M manual shall be prepared in accordance with N.J.A.C. 7:26-2.10(b)9.	\$4,500	<u>NM</u>	(44,75)
7:26-3.6(h)1	Failure to maintain daily records on forms supplied by the Department, in accordance with N.J.A.C. 7:26-2.13. These reports shall note the name of the registered transporter, transporter's DEP registration number, vehicle plate number, waste type, waste quantity, solid waste container DEP registration number, source, destination facility name and State registration number and quantity, by vehicle, of all solid waste received, transferred and shipped at the facility. The records shall specify the source and date of every shipment of waste received and the destination and date of every shipment of waste out of the facility. Quantities of solid waste shall be listed in tons and cubic yards. Quantities of liquid solid wastes shall be listed in gallons.	\$4,500	NM	
7:26-3.6(h)2	Failure to compile the daily records into standard quarterly reports, which shall be submitted to the Department within 20 days of the end of each calendar quarter.	\$3,000	<u>M</u>	30

Rule	Rule Summary	Base	Type of	Grace
N.J.A.C.		<u>Penalty</u>	Violation	Period
				(days)
7:26-3.7(a)	Failure to ensure waste materials to	\$5,000	<u>NM</u>	
	be collected and transported show			
	no evidence of smoking,			
	smoldering or burning.			

[6.] <u>7</u>. The violations of N.J.A.C. 7:26-3A, Regulated Medical Waste, whether <u>the violation is minor or non-minor</u>, the length of the grace period, and the civil administrative penalty amounts for each violation, are as set forth in the following table. [The lesser penalty amount applies to persons registered in generator categories 1 through 3 (<300 lbs./year). The larger penalty amount applies to persons registered in generator categories 4 and 5 (>300 lbs/year).]

Rule	Rule Summary	Base	Type of	Grace
N.J.A.C.		<u>Penalty</u>	Violation	Period
				(days)
7:26-3A.8(a)	Failure of a generator of RMW to	[\$1,500/	<u>NM</u>	
	register with the Department.]\$5,000		
7:26-3A.8(a)1	Failure of a generator of RMW to	[\$1,000]	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
	register in the proper category.	\$3,000		
7:26-3A.8(b)1	Failure of a commercial	\$5,000	<u>NM</u>	
	transporter of RMW to register			
	with the Department.			
7:26-3A.8(b)2	Failure of a non-commercial	[\$2,500]	<u>NM</u>	
	transporter of RMW to register	\$4,500		
	with the Department.			
7:26-3A.8(c)	Failure of commercial	\$5,000	NM	
	intermediate handlers and			
	owner/operators of destination			
	facilities to register with the			
	Department.			

Rule N.J.A.C.	Rule Summary	Base Penalty	Type of Violation	Grace Period (days)
7:26-3A.8(c)3	Failure of a non-commercial collection facility or an intermediate handler treating their own waste to register with the Department.	[\$2,000] \$4,500	NM NM	
7:26-3A.8(d)1	Failure of commercial collection facility to register with the Department.	\$5,000	<u>NM</u>	
7:26- 3A.8(d)5,6	Failure of a non-commercial collection facility to register with the Department.	[\$2,000] \$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
7:26-3A.9	Failure of transporters', intermediate handlers' and destination facilities' supervisory personnel to attend an education and training session and disseminate information to employees.	[\$2,000] \$3,000	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
7:26-3A.10(a)	Failure of generators of RMW to segregate for off-site transport prior to placement in containers.	[\$1,000/ \$3,000] \$4,500	NM	
7:26-3A.10(d)	Failure to handle a package of RMW mixed with other waste as RMW.	[\$1,000/ \$3,000] \$4,500	NM	
7:26-3A.11	Failure of a generator to ensure that RMW is properly packaged before transporting or offering for transport off site.	[\$1,000/ \$3,000] \$4,500	NM NM	
7:26-3A.12(a)	Failure to comply with RMW storage requirements.	[\$1,000/ \$3,000] \$4,500	NM NM	
7:26-3A.12(b)	Failure to comply with RMW storage periods.	[\$500/ \$1,000] \$3,000	<u>M</u>	30
7:26-3A.12(c)	Failure to secure sharps containers.	[\$1,000/ \$3,000] \$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
7:26-3A.13(a)	Failure to comply with container decontamination and reuse requirements.	[\$1,000/ \$3,000] \$4,500	<u>NM</u>	

Rule N.J.A.C.	Rule Summary	Base Penalty	Type of Violation	Grace Period (days)
7:26-3A.14(a)	Failure to comply with labeling requirements.	[\$500/ \$1,000] \$3,000	<u>M</u>	30
7:26-3A.15(a)	Failure to comply with marking requirements.	[\$500/ \$1,000] \$3,000	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
7:26-3A.16(a)	Failure to determine if waste is RMW.	[\$1,000/ \$3,000] \$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
7:26-3A.16(d)	Failure to use properly registered transporters.	[\$1,000/ \$3,000] \$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
7:26-3A.16(e)	Failure to dispose of RMW at an authorized facility.	\$5,000[/ \$10,000]	<u>NM</u>	
7:26-3A.16(h)	Failure to comply with home self-care RMW requirements.	[\$500/ \$1,000] \$3,000	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
7:26-3A.16(i)	Failure to get approval from the department prior to using an alternative or innovative technology for the treatment or destruction of RMW.	[\$1,000/]\$5,000	<u>NM</u>	
7:26-3A.19	Failure of a generator to comply with tracking form requirements.	[\$500/ \$2,000] \$3,000	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
7:26-3A.21	Failure to comply with generator recordkeeping requirements.	[\$500/ \$1,000] \$3,000	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
7:26-3A.22	Failure of generator to comply with exception reporting requirements.	[\$500/ \$1,000] \$3,000	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
7:26-3A.25	Failure of generator with on-site incinerator to comply with recordkeeping requirements.	[\$1,000/]\$3,000	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
7:26-3A.26	Failure of owner/operator of onsite incinerator to comply with reporting requirements.	[\$1,000/]\$3,000	<u>M</u>	30

Rule	Rule Summary	Base	Type of	Grace
N.J.A.C.		Penalty	Violation	Period
				(days)
7:26-3A.27(i)	Failure of a transporter/collection	[\$2,000]	<u>NM</u>	
, ,	facility to dispose of RMW stored	\$4,500		
	in the vehicle within fourteen			
	calendar days, or before it			
	becomes putrescent.			
7:26-3A.28	Failure of a transporter to comply	[\$3,000]	<u>NM</u>	
	with RMW acceptance	<u>\$4,500</u>		
	requirements.			
7:26-3A.30(a)1	Failure of vehicle to have fully	[\$2,000]	<u>NM</u>	
	enclosed, leak resistant cargo	<u>\$4,500</u>		
	carrying body.			
7:26-3A.30(a)2	Failure to ensure RMW does not	[\$2,000]	<u>NM</u>	
	become putrescent and is not	<u>\$4,500</u>		
	subjected to mechanical stress or			
	compaction during loading and			
	unloading or during transit.			
7:26-3A.30(a)3	Failure to maintain cargo carrying	[\$2,000]	<u>NM</u>	
	body in good sanitary condition.	<u>\$4,500</u>		
7:26-3A.30(a)4	Failure to securely lock	\$5,000	<u>NM</u>	
	unattended cargo carrying body.			
7:26-3A.30(b)	Failure to comply with vehicle	[\$1,000]	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
	identification requirements.	\$3,000		
7:26-3A.30(c)	Failure to manage RMW/solid	\$5,000	<u>NM</u>	
FT 0 < 0 + 0 1 2	waste mixture as RMW.	F## 0003		
[7:26-3A.31]	[Failure of transporter to comply	[\$2,000]		
- 24 24 ()	with tracking form requirements.]	↑ 4 = 0 0	N7.5	
7:26-3A.31(a)	Failure of transporter to	<u>\$4,500</u>	<u>NM</u>	
	accepting RMW from a			
	generator to ensure it is			
	accompanied by a tracking form			
	signed by the generator in			
	accordance with the provisions of N.J.A.C. 7:26-3A.19.			
7.26-3A 21(b)	Failure of transporter to sign	\$4.500	NM	
7:26-3A.31(b)	and date tracking form and	<u>\$4,500</u>	NM NM	
	provide copy to generator.			
7:26-3A.31(c)	Failure of transporter to ensure	\$4.500	NM	
1.20-3A.31(C)	tracking form accompanies	<u>\$4,500</u>	14141	
	RMW while in transit.			
	MATAA MIIIC III II AIISIL	<u> </u>		1

Rule N.J.A.C.	Rule Summary	Base Penalty	Type of Violation	Grace Period (days)
7:26-3A.31(d)	Failure of transporter to comply with tracking form requirements when delivering RMW to another transporter (including a transfer facility) or to an intermediate handling facility or destination facility.	\$3,000	<u>M</u>	1
7:26-3A.31(e)	Failure of transporter to comply with tracking form requirements when transporting RMW across an international border or when delivering RMW to a transporter or treatment, destruction, or destination facility located in a foreign country.	<u>\$4,500</u>	<u>NM</u>	
7:26-3A.32(a)	Failure to deliver entire quantity of RMW to intermediate hauler, destination facility or next transporter.	[\$1,000] \$4,500	NM NM	
7:26-3A.32(b)	Failure to contact generator for directions and make changes accordingly, if RMW cannot be delivered as intended.	[\$1,000] \$3,000	<u>M</u>	30
7:26-3A.33(a)	Failure to comply with requirements for consolidating waste to a new tracking form.	[\$2,000] \$3,000	<u>M</u>	30
[7:26-3A.34]	[Failure of transporter to comply with recordkeeping requirements.]	[\$3,000]		
7:26-3A.34(a)	Failure of transporter to maintain signed copy of tracking form for three years.	\$3,000	<u>M</u>	30
7:26-3A.34(b)	Failure of transporter to comply with recordkeeping requirements when consolidating RMW.	\$3,000	<u>M</u>	30
7:26-3A.34(c)	Failure of transporter to maintain copy of RMW transporter report for three years.	\$3,000	<u>M</u>	30
7:26-3A.35	Failure of transporter to comply with reporting requirements.	\$3,000	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>

Rule N.J.A.C.	Rule Summary	Base Penalty	Type of Violation	Grace Period (days)
7:26-3A.37(a)	Failure of transporter to have an approved RMW spill management plan.	[\$2,000] \$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
7:26-3A.37(b)	Failure of transporter to have a RMW spill containment and cleanup kit at all sites and in all vehicles used for the storage, handling, collection, treatment and collection of RMW.	[\$2,000] \$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
7:26-3A.38(b)6	Failure of RMW incinerator to ensure waste stored overnight is effectively treated.	[\$2,000] \$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
7:26-3A.38(b)7	Failure to maintain facility property surrounding the disposal area free of litter, debris, unprocessed waste, processed residues and effluents.	[\$2,000] \$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
7:26-3A.38(b)8	Failure to ensure no odors are detected off-site.	[\$4,000] \$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
7:26-3A.38(b)9	Failure to maintain all facility systems in a manner that facilitates proper operation and minimizes system downtime.	[\$2,000] \$4,500	NM NM	
7:26- 3A.38(b)10	Failure to maintain adequate water supply and fire fighting equipment, failure to post emergency numbers (fire, police, ambulance, hospital).	\$5,000	<u>NM</u>	
7:26- 3A.38(b)11	Failure to effectively control insects, arthropods, rodents.	[\$2,000] \$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
7:26- 3A.38(b)12	Failure to maintain orderly operation and sanitary conditions.	[\$2,000] \$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
7:26- 3A.38(b)14	Failure to maintain O & M Manual at the facility.	[\$3,000] \$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
7:26- 3A.38(b)17	Failure of facility to accept RMW only from properly registered transporters.	[\$2,000] \$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
7:26-3A.39(i)1	Failure to ensure stored waste does not exceed 300,000 pounds or amount as specified in authorization.	[\$2,000] \$4,500	<u>NM</u>	

Rule N.J.A.C.	Rule Summary	Base Penalty	Type of Violation	Grace Period (days)
7:26-3A.39(i)2	Failure to ensure collection facility receives no more than 150,000 pounds of waste per day, or as otherwise indicated in authorization.	[\$2,000] \$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
7:26-3A.39(i)4	Failure to accept only RMW waste managed in accordance with N.J.A.C. 7:26-3A.	[\$2,000] \$4,500	NM	
7:26-3A.39(i)5	Failure to ensure only registered vehicles transport to and from facility.	[\$2,000] \$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
7:26-3A.39(i)6	Failure to ensure all waste at all times remains fully contained, and does not leak.	[\$3,000] \$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
7:26-3A.39(i)9	Failure to ensure no odors are detected off-site. Odor causing waste to be disposed of immediately.	[\$4,000] \$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
7:26- 3A.39(i)10	Failure to implement and maintain effective security procedures.	[\$2,000] \$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
7:26- 3A.39(i)13	Failure to implement routine housekeeping and maintenance procedures.	[\$2,000] \$3,000	<u>M</u>	30
7:26- 3A.39(i)16	Failure to ensure truck queuing is minimized, on-site traffic controls implemented.	[\$2,000] \$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
7:26- 3A.39(i)17	Failure to ensure RMW is not staged, placed or stored beyond confines of facility or vehicle.	[\$2,000] \$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
7:26-3A.39(j)2	Failure to maintain O & M Manual at the facility.	[\$3,000] \$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
7:26-3A.39(j)3	Failure to comply with training program requirements.	[\$2,000] \$3,000	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
7:26-3A.39(j)6	Failure to maintain fire protection systems in operable condition, fire procedures posted.	\$5,000	<u>NM</u>	
[7:26- 3A.39(j)7]	[Failure to ensure that noise levels do not exceed standards set forth in N.J.A.C. 7:29.]	[\$4,000]		
7:26-3A.39(j)8	Failure to maintain on site operating records, O & M manual.	[\$3,000] \$4,500	NM NM	

Rule	Rule Summary	Base	Type of	Grace
N.J.A.C.		Penalty	Violation	Period
				(days)
7:26-3A.39(j)9	Failure to maintain safety	\$5,000	<u>NM</u>	
J'	appliances in proper operating	. ,		
	order, comply with O & M			
	inspection schedules, maintain			
	inspection records.			
7:26-3A.39(k)	Failure to comply with	\$3,000	M	30
, ,	recordkeeping and reporting			
	requirements.			
7:26-3A.40(c)3	Failure of intermediate handlers	[\$2,000]	NM	
	and destination facilities to ensure	\$4,500		
	only approved treatment and			
	destruction processes authorized			
	by NJDEP and DOH are utilized.			
[7:26-3A.41]	[Failure to comply with tracking	[\$2,000]		
	form requirements.]			
7:26-3A.41(a)	Failure of destination facility	\$4,500	NM	
	receiving RMW to sign and date			
	tracking form, note			
	discrepancies, provide copies to			
	generator and transporter, and			
	retain copy.			
7:26-3A.41(b)	Failure of intermediate handler	<u>\$4,500</u>	<u>NM</u>	
	receiving RMW to sign and date			
	tracking form, note			
	discrepancies, entering required			
	information on new tracking			
	form, keeping log, provide			
	copies to generator and			
	transporter, and retain copy.			
7:26-3A.41(c)	Failure of destination facility or	<u>\$4,500</u>	<u>NM</u>	
	intermediate handler receiving			
	RMW from a rail transporter to			
	comply with shipping form			
	requirements.			
7:26-3A.41(d)	Failure of destination facility or	<u>\$3,000</u>	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
	intermediate handler to			
	maintain shipping or tracking			
	form for three years.			

Rule N.J.A.C.	Rule Summary	Base Penalty	Type of Violation	Grace Period (days)
7:26-3A.41(f)	Failure of transporter to provide signed copies of the tracking form to the generator when the destination facility or intermediate facility is an out-of-State facility and will not comply with the tracking from requirements of N.J.A.C. 7:26-3a.41.	\$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
7:26-3A.42	Failure to comply with tracking form discrepancy requirements.	[\$500] \$3,000	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
7:26-3A.43	Failure to comply with recordkeeping requirements.	\$3,000	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
7:26-3A.44	Failure of collection facilities, intermediate handlers and/or destination facilities to comply with additional reporting requirements.	[\$2,000] \$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
7:26-3A.46	Failure of rail transporter to comply with tracking form requirements.	[\$2,000] \$4,500	NM	
7:26-3A.47(a)	Failure to ensure alternative of innovative technology processes and any modifications are approved by the NJDEP and DOH prior to any marketing, sale or use in New Jersey.	\$5,000	<u>NM</u>	
7:26- 3A.48(a,b)	Failure of an out-of-State organization using the U.S. Postal Service or other parcel service and disposing of regulated medical waste from New Jersey to comply with certification requirements.	[\$2,000] \$4,500	NM NM	
7:26-3A.48(c)	Failure of a RMW generator to ensure that RMW waste is not sent to any out-of-State facility [which] that does not have a certificate on file with the Department.	\$5,000	NM NM	

[7.] 8. The violations of N.J.A.C. 7:26-6, [Interdistrict and Intradistrict Solid

Waste Flow] Solid Waste Planning Regulations, whether the violation is minor or non-minor, the length of the grace period, and the civil administrative penalty amounts for each violation, are as set forth in the following table.

Rule	Rule Summary	Base	Type of	Grace
N.J.A.C.		Penalty	Violation	Period
				(days)
[7:26-6.5]	[Failure to comply with the district	[\$10,000]		
	waste flow plan.]			
7:26-	Failure to comply with the	\$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
6.12(b)	applicable district solid waste			
	management plan.			

[8.] <u>9</u>. The violations of N.J.A.C. 7:26A<u>-3</u>, <u>Approval of Recycling [Rules]</u>

<u>Centers for Class B, Class C and Class D Recyclable Materials</u>, whether <u>the violation is</u>

<u>minor or non-minor</u>, <u>the length of the grace period</u>, and the civil administrative penalty

amounts for each violation, are as set forth in the following table.

Rule N.J.A.C.	Rule Summary	Base	Type of Violation	Grace Period
N.J.A.C.		<u>Penalty</u>	<u>violation</u>	(days)
7:26A-3.1(a)	Failure of approved recycling	[\$2,000]	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
	center to comply with all approval	<u>\$3,000</u>		
	conditions.			
7:26A-3.5(f)	Failure of recycling center to post a	[\$500]	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
	legible sign at the recycling center	\$3,000		
	entrance indicating its approval and			
	listing items detailed in 3.2(a)13i			
	and ii.			
7:26A-3.6	Failure to submit renewal	[\$1,000]	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
	application for a general approval	\$3,000		
	to the Department at least three			
	months prior to the current			
	approval expiration and to comply			
	with all submittal requirements.			

Rule N.J.A.C.	Rule Summary	Base Penalty	Type of Violation	Grace Period
		•		(days)
7:26A-3.7(j)	Failure, within 45 days after expiration of the time period authorized by the limited approval to operate a recycling facility, to file a final report with the Department.	[\$2,000] \$3,000	<u>M</u>	30
7:26A-3.7(k)	Failure of persons operating a limited approved recycling center to ensure that no illegal dumping occurs.	[\$2,000] \$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
7:26A-3.8(a)	Failure to limit processing methods for tires to slicing, shredding, chipping, crumbing or other methods approved by the Department, prohibition to incinerating, landfilling, abandoning or otherwise illegally disposing of tires.	[\$3,000] \$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
7:26A-3.8(b)	Failure by the owner or operator of a [the] tire recycling center to ensure that no mosquito colony formation develops.	[\$2,000] \$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
7:26A-3.8(c)	Failure of a tire, tree stump, tree part or wood waste recycling center to have an approved fire control plan.	\$5,000	<u>NM</u>	
7:26A-3.9(a)	Failure of recycling center to ensure the temporary storage of Class B recyclable material does not exceed the amount indicated in the general or limited approval to operate.	[\$2,000] \$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
7:26A-3.9(b)	Failure of recycling center to ensure that unprocessed Class B recyclable material is not stored in excess of one year from the date of receipt.	[\$2,000] \$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
7:26A-3.10	Failure of recycling center to comply with modification requirements.	[\$2,000] \$3,000	<u>M</u>	30

Rule	Rule Summary	Base	Type of	<u>Grace</u>
N.J.A.C.		<u>Penalty</u>	Violation	Period
				(days)
7:26A-3.15(a)	Failure to ensure a general or	\$5,000	<u>NM</u>	
	limited approval to operate a			
	recycling center is not transferred			
	without prior approval of the			
	Department.			
7:26A-3.15(c)	Failure to provide one copy of	[\$2,000]	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
	written request to transfer approval	\$3,000		
	to the recycling coordinator and			
	one copy to the applicable			
	municipal planning board.			
7:26A-3.17(a)	Failure of recycling center to	\$3,000	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
	comply with recordkeeping and			
	annual reporting requirements.			

10. The violations of N.J.A.C. 7:26A-4, Operational Standards and General Rules for Recycling Centers which Receive, Store, Process or Transfer Class A, Class B, Class C and Class D Recyclable Materials. Right of Entry and Inspection, whether the violation is minor or non-minor, the length of the grace period, and the civil administrative penalty amounts for each violation, are as set forth in the following table.

Rule	Rule Summary	Base	Type of	Grace
N.J.A.C.		Penalty	Violation	Period
				(days)
7:26A-4.1(a)1i	Failure of recycling center to	\$3,000	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
	ensure that recyclable material is			
	separated at the point of generation			
	from other waste material.			
7:26A-4.1(a)1ii	Failure of recycling center to	[\$3,000]	<u>NM</u>	
	ensure only Class A, Class B or	\$4,500		
	Class C materials are received,			
	stored, processed or transferred at			
	the center.			
7:26A-4.1(a)1iii	Failure of recycling center to	[\$2,000]	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
	comply with commingling	\$3,000		
	requirements.			

Rule N.J.A.C.	Rule Summary	Base Penalty	Type of Violation	Grace Period (days)
7:26A-4.1(a)2	Failure of recycling center to ensure residue is not stored on-site in excess of six months.	[\$2,000] \$4,500	NM	
7:26A-4.1(a)4	Failure of recycling center to store residue separately from recyclable material and in a manner which prevents run-off, leakage or seepage from the residue storage area into, on or around the soil of the residue storage area.	[\$2,000] \$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
7:26A-4.1(a)5	Failure of recycling center to ensure hazardous wastes are not stored, processed or transferred at any recycling center.	\$5,000	<u>NM</u>	
7:26A-4.1(a)6	Failure of recycling center to ensure electronic components which contain polychlorinated biphenyls (PCBs) and which are attached to or detached from appliances or other scrap metal, are not shredded, sheared or baled.	\$5,000	<u>NM</u>	
7:26A-4.1(a)8	Failure to operate a recycling center in such a manner that the recycling center property is maintained free of litter and debris and such that tracking of mud into nearby streets is prevented.	[\$2,000] \$3,000	<u>M</u>	30
7:26A-4.1(a)10	Failure of recycling center operator to ensure that traffic associated with the operation of the center does not result in a degradation of a level of service of any major intersection or public roadway within a half-mile radius.	[\$2,000] \$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
7:26A-4.1(a)11	Failure of recycling center operator to ensure recycling center operations are separated from sensitive land uses by an effective visual screen buffer.	[\$2,000] \$3,000	<u>M</u>	30
7:26A-4.1(a)12	Failure of recycling center operator to ensure unauthorized access to center is controlled.	[\$2,000] \$4,500	NM	

Rule	Rule Summary	Base	Type of	Grace
N.J.A.C.		Penalty	Violation	Period
				(days)
7:26A-4.1(a)13	Failure of recycling center operator	[\$2,000]	<u>M</u>	30
, ,	to ensure areas of vehicular usage	\$3,000		
	are suitably compacted and, where			
	necessary, paved.			
7:26A-4.1(a)14	Failure of recycling center operator	\$5,000	NM	
, ´	to have adequate water supply,			
	firefighting equipment, and local			
	fire department phone numbers			
	phone numbers posted.			
7:26A-4.4(a)	Failure by the owner or operator of	[\$1,000]	M	30
	a recycling center to provide a	\$3,000		
	recycling tonnage report by			
	February 1 of each year.			
7:26A-4.4(b)	Failure by a transporter of	[\$1,000]	M	30
	recyclable materials to provide a	\$3,000		
	recycling tonnage report by			
	February 1 of each year.			
7:26A-4.4(c)	Failure of exempt person to submit	[\$1,000]	M	30
	required tonnage reports by	\$3,000		
	February 1 of each year.			
7:26A-4.5(a)2	Failure of Class C yard trimming	[\$2,000]	<u>M</u>	30
	operator to ensure center has	\$3,000		
	sufficient capacity to handle			
	incoming volumes.			
7:26A-4.5(a)3	Failure of Class C yard trimming	[\$2,000]	<u>M</u>	30
	operator to have properly trained	\$3,000		
	individual supervising operation,			
	access to facility prohibited when			
	center is closed.			
7:26A-4.5(a)4	Failure of Class C yard trimming	[\$2,000]	<u>M</u>	30
, ,	operator to ensure yard trimmings	\$3,000		
	are only received during times			
	when operator is present.			
7:26A-4.5(a)5	Failure of Class C yard trimming	[\$2,000]	<u>M</u>	30
	operator to ensure all trimmings	\$3,000		
	received are removed from bags,			
	boxes.			

Rule N.J.A.C.	Rule Summary	Base Penalty	Type of Violation	Grace Period (days)
7:26A-4.5(a)6	Failure of Class C yard trimming operator to [initiate processing of] accept incoming materials containing grass, only in areas of the site that are at least 1,000 feet from any areas of human occupancy and to process such material within the working day.	[\$2,000] \$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
7:26A-4.5(a)7i	Failure of Class C compost operators to attend, within one year of start up, approved composting courses.	[\$2,000] \$3,000	<u>M</u>	<u>90</u>
7:26A-4.5(a)7ii	Failure of Class C compost operator to maintain improved active composting surface to prevent ponding or runoff.	[\$2,000] \$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
7:26A-4.5(a)7iii	Failure of Class C yard trimming operator to moisten, without excess runoff, dry yard trimmings prior to windrow formation.	[\$2,000] \$3,000	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
7:26A-4.5(a)7iv	Failure of Class C yard trimming operator to position windrows perpendicular to ground surface contours to prevent ponding.	[\$2,000] \$4,500	NM	
7:26A-4.5(a)7v	Failure of Class C yard trimming operator to install windsock.	[\$1,000] \$3,000	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
7:26A-4.5(a)7vi	Failure of Class C yard trimming operator to comply with windrow composting requirements.	[\$2,000] \$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
7:26A- 4.5(a)7vii	Failure of Class C yard trimming operator to comply with material staging and processing buffer distance requirements.	[\$2,000] \$3,000	<u>M</u>	30
7:26A- 4.5(a)7viii	Failure of Class C yard trimming operator to comply with finished compost testing requirements.	[\$2,000] \$3,000	<u>M</u>	30
7:26A- 4.5(a)7xii	Failure of Class C yard trimming operator to comply with additional recordkeeping requirements.	\$3,000	<u>M</u>	30

Rule N.J.A.C.	Rule Summary	Base Penalty	Type of Violation	Grace Period (days)
7:26A-4.5(b)1	Failure of Class C material operator to ensure center has sufficient capacity to handle incoming volumes.	[\$2,000] \$4,500	<u>NM</u>	(uays)
7:26A-4.5(b)2	Failure of Class C material operator to comply with composting structure requirements, no ponding, leachate control.	[\$2,000] \$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
7:26A-4.5(b)3	Failure of Class C material operator to [main] maintain fully enclosed operation.	[\$2,000] \$4,500	NM	
7:26A-4.5(b)5	Failure of Class C material operator to comply with O & M manual requirements.	[\$3,000] \$4,500	NM	
[7:26A-4.5(b)7, 8]	[Failure of Class C material operator to comply with employee training requirements.]	[\$2,000]		
7:26A-4.5(b)7	Failure of Class C material operator to comply with employee training requirements.	\$3,000	<u>M</u>	30
7:26A-4.5(b)8	Failure of Class C material operator to develop a recycling center-specific training manual and make available to each employee.	\$3,000	<u>M</u>	30
7:26A-4.5(b)9	Failure of Class C material operator to have properly trained individual supervising operation.	[\$2,000] \$4,500	NM	
7:26A-4.5(b)11	Failure of Class C material operator to comply with incoming organics processing timeframes and requirements.	[\$2,000] \$4,500	NM	
7:26A-4.5(b)12	Failure of Class C material operator to ensure incoming, unprocessed material is not mixed with finished compost.	[\$2,000] \$4,500	NM	
7:26A-4.5(b)13, 14	Failure of Class C material operator to meet [PFRB] Process to Further Reduce Pathogens criteria and requirements.	[\$2,000] \$4,500	<u>NM</u>	

Rule N.J.A.C.	Rule Summary	Base Penalty	Type of Violation	Grace Period (days)
7:26A-4.5(b)16	Failure of Class C material operator to comply with 15 month finished compost storage requirement.	[\$1,000] \$3,000	<u>M</u>	30
[7:26A- 4.5(b)18-21]	[Failure of Class C material operator to comply with monitoring and sampling requirements.]	[\$3,000]		
7:26A-4.5(b)20	Failure of Class C material operator to conduct required QA/QC sampling and record results of such sampling.	<u>\$4,500</u>	<u>NM</u>	
7:26A-4.5(b)21	Failure of Class C material operator to have analysis of finished compost product conducted by laboratory certified in accordance with N.J.A.C. 7:18.	\$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
[7:26A- 4.5(b)22,23]	[Failure of Class C material operator to comply with additional recordkeeping requirements.]	[\$2,000]		
7:26A-4.5(b)22	Failure of Class C material operator to maintain required records.	\$3,000	M	30
7:26A-4.5(b)23	Failure of Class C material operator to submit quarterly report to the Department within 30 days after the end of each quarter.	\$3,000	<u>M</u>	30
7:26A-4.5(c)1	Failure of Class C operator to comply with labeling requirements.	[\$2,000] \$3,000	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
7:26A-4.5(c)2	Failure of Class C operator to comply with compost utilization requirements.	[\$2,000] \$4,500	<u>NM</u>	

11. The violations of N.J.A.C. 7:26A-5, Requirements for Processing Discarded Appliances that Contain Refrigerant Fluid, whether the violation is minor or non-minor, the length of the grace period, and the civil administrative penalty amounts for each violation, are as set forth in the following table.

Rule N.J.A.C.	Rule Summary	Base Penalty	Type of Violation	Grace Period (days)
7:26A-5.1(a)	Failure to ensure no shearing, shredding, baling or other actions which could cause release of refrigerant fluid to take place, occurs prior to recovery of such fluid.	\$5000	NM	
7:26A-5.1(b)	Failure to recover refrigerant fluid in a manner such that no venting of refrigerant fluid occurs.	\$5,000	<u>NM</u>	
7:26A-5.1(c)	Failure to deliver recovered refrigerant fluid to a facility which has agreed to reprocess the fluid or, if such arrangements cannot be made, failure to store or dispose of the recovered fluid in accordance with applicable rules and regulations.	\$5,000	<u>NM</u>	

12. The violations of N.J.A.C. 7:26A-6, Standards for the Management of Used Oil, whether the violation is minor or non-minor, the length of the grace period, and the civil administrative penalty amounts for each violation, are as set forth in the following table.

Rule	Rule Summary	Base	Type of Violation	Grace
N.J.A.C.		Penalty		Period
				(days)
7:26A-	Failure to manage used oil mixed	\$5,000	NM	
6.1(a)2i(1)	with a listed hazardous waste as a			
	hazardous waste in accordance			
	with N.J.A.C. 7:26G.			

Rule N.J.A.C.	Rule Summary	Base <u>Penalty</u>	Type of Violation	Grace Period (days)
7:26A- 6.1(a)2ii(1)	Failure to manage used oil mixed with a characteristic hazardous waste or a listed hazardous waste that is listed solely because it exhibits one or more hazardous waste characteristics as a hazardous waste in accordance with N.J.A.C. 7:26G.	<u>\$5,000</u>	<u>NM</u>	
7:26A-6.1(a)4ii	Failure by used oil generator to comply with management requirements for diesel fuel mixed with used diesel crankcase oil.	\$3,000	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
7:26A-6.1(a)9	Failure by a marketer or burner to comply with requirements of 40 C.F.R. 761.20(e) for used oil containing quantifiable levels of PCBs.	<u>\$5,000</u>	<u>NM</u>	
7:26A-6.2(a)	Failure to meet one or more of the specifications for a used oil fuel identified in Table 1 of N.J.A.C. 7:26A-6.2(a) prior to burning for energy recovery.	<u>\$5,000</u>	NM NM	
7:26A-6.2(b)	Failure to obtain a Permit to Construct, Install or Alter Control Apparatus or Equipment and Certificate to Operate Control Apparatus prior to burning on- specification used oil fuel.	\$3,000	M	<u>30</u>
7:26A-6.3(a)	Failure to comply with requirements for managing used oil in a surface impoundment or waste pile.	<u>\$5,000</u>	<u>NM</u>	
7:26A-6.3(b)	Failure to comply with prohibition against using used oil as a dust suppressant.	<u>\$5,000</u>	NM NM	

Rule	Rule Summary	Base	Type of Violation	Grace
N.J.A.C.	reac Summary	Penalty	Type of violation	Period
11.5.71.0.		Tenarty		(days)
7:26A-6.3(c)	Burning off-specification used oil	\$5,000	NM	(uuys)
7.2011 0.0(0)	in a device other than an industrial	φε,σσσ	1111	
	furnace, industrial or utility boiler			
	or hazardous waste incinerator, or			
	failing to obtain a "Permit to			
	Construct, Install or Alter Control			
	Apparatus or Equipment and			
	Certificate to Operate Control			
	Apparatus" prior to burning off-			
	specification used oil in one of			
	these devices.			
7:26A-6.3(d)	Failure to comply with the	\$3,000	M	30
7.2011-0.5(U)	prohibition against burning on-	Ψυουυ	111	
	specification used oil fuel in either			
	a residential or Category I			
	institutional device, furnace or			
	boiler.			
7:26A-6.3(e)	Failure to comply with the	\$4,500	NM	
7.2011 0.0(0)	prohibition against burning on-	Ψ 1,000	1111	
	specification used oil in an oil-fired			
	space heater that fails to meet the			
	requirements of N.J.A.C. 7:26A-			
	6.4(e).			
7:26A-6.3(f)	Failure to comply with the	\$4,500	NM	
7 7 2 312 300 (1)	prohibition against burning off-	\$ 1,000	1112	
	specification used oil in a space			
	heater.			
7:26A-6.4(d)1	Failure of used oil generator	\$4,500	NM	
	storing used oil to comply with	·		
	applicable Spill Prevention,			
	Control and Countermeasures			
	regulations, Clean Air Act			
	regulations or Underground			
	Storage Tank regulations.			
7:26A-6.4(d)2	Failure of used oil generator to	\$3,000	M	30
	ensure used oil is stored only in		_	
	tanks, containers, or [unit] units			
	subject to regulation at 7:26G-8 or 9.			
L		1	1	

Rule N.J.A.C.	Rule Summary	Base Penalty	Type of Violation	Grace Period (days)
7:26A-6.4(d)3	Failure of <u>used oil</u> generator to ensure <u>containers or aboveground</u> tanks used to store used oil storage units are in good condition and not leaking.	[\$3,000] \$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
7:26A-6.4(d)4	Failure of <u>used oil</u> generator to comply with used oil labeling/marking requirements.	[\$1,000] \$3,000	M	30
7:26A-6.4(d)5	Failure of used oil generator to comply with or initiate response to releases.	<u>\$4,500</u>	<u>NM</u>	
7:26A-6.4(e)1	Failure of used oil generator to burn only self-generated or household do-it-yourselfer used oil in a space heater.	<u>\$4,500</u>	<u>NM</u>	
7:26A-6.4(e)2	Used oil generator burned used oil in a oil space heater that exceeded the maximum capacity of 0.5 million BTU per hour.	\$3,000	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
7:26A-6.4(e)3	Failure of used oil generator to vent combustion gases from a space heater to ambient air.	\$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
7:26A-6.4(e)4	Failure of used oil generator, burning used oil in a space heater, to obtain a "Permit to Construct, Install or Alter Control Apparatus or Equipment and Certificate to Operate Control Apparatus."	\$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
7:26A-6.4(f)	Failure of <u>used oil</u> generator to comply with used oil off-site shipment requirements.	[\$2,000] \$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
7:26A-6.4(g)	Failure to comply with do-it- yourselfer and motor oils retailer requirements.	\$3,000	<u>M</u>	30
7:26A-6.5(a)	Failure of an owner or operator of a State of New Jersey permitted reinspection center, or a retail service station that has used oil collection tanks on the premises, to accept do-it-yourselfer used oil in accordance with N.J.A.C. 7:26A-6.5(a).	\$3,000	<u>M</u>	30

Rule	Rule Summary	Base	Type of Violation	Grace
N.J.A.C.		Penalty		Period
				(days)
7:26A-6.5(b)2	Failure of do-it-yourselfer used oil	\$3,000	M	30
	collection center to comply with			
	the generator standards at			
	N.J.A.C. 7:26A-6.4.			
7:26A-6.5(c)2i	Failure of used oil collection center	\$3,000	M	30
	to comply with the generator			
	standards at N.J.A.C. 7:26A-6.4.			
7:26A-6.5(c)2ii	Failure of used oil collection center	\$3,000	M	30
	to register or be recognized by			
	county or municipality as a used			
	oil collection center.			
7:26A-6.5(c)2iii	Failure of used oil collection center	\$3,000	M	30
	to comply with sign posting			
	requirements.			
7:26A-6.5(d)2	Failure of used oil aggregation	\$3,000	M	30
	point to comply with generator			
	standards at N.J.A.C. 7:26A-6.4.			
7:26A-6.6(a)4	Failure of used oil transporter to	\$4,500	NM	
	comply with the Federal Motor			
	Carrier Safety and Federal			
	Hazardous Materials			
	Transportation regulations, or to			
	comply with the provisions of this			
	subchapter as indicated in (a)4i			
	through v when performing the			
	listed activities.			
7:26A-6.6(b)	Used oil transporter conducted	\$5,000	NM	
	non-incidental processing of used			
	oil.			
7:26A-6.6(c)	Failure of used oil transporter and/or	[\$2,000]	NM	
	transfer facility to [have] comply	\$5,000		
	with the notification and/or EPA			
	identification [number]			
	<u>requirements</u> .			
7:26A-6.6(d)1	Failure of used oil transporter to	[\$2,000]	NM	
. ,	comply with [deliveries] delivery	\$4,500		
	requirements.			
7:26A-6.6(d)2	Failure of used oil transporter to	\$4,500	NM	
	comply with 49 CFR 171 through			
	180 requirements.			
	· -		•	

Rule	Rule Summary	Base	Type of Violation	Grace
N.J.A.C.		Penalty		Period
				(days)
7:26A-6.6(d)3	Failure of used oil transporter to	\$4,500	NM	
	comply with used oil			
	transportation discharge			
	requirements.			
7:26A-6.6(e)1	Failure of used oil transporter to	\$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
	determine if total halogen content			
	is equal to, less than or greater			
	than 1000 p.p.m. for used oil being			
	transported or stored.			
7:26A-6.6(e)5	Failure of used oil transporter to	<u>\$4,500</u>	<u>NM</u>	
	retain records of analyses or other			
	information, used to ensure used			
	oil is not a hazardous waste, for 3			
	<u>years.</u>			
7:26A-6.6(f)1	Failure of used oil transporter	<u>\$4,500</u>	<u>NM</u>	
	and/or transfer facility, storing			
	used oil, to comply with applicable			
	Spill Prevention, Control and			
	Countermeasures regulations,			
	Clean Air Act regulations or			
	<u>Underground Storage Tank</u>			
	regulations.			
7:26A-6.6(f)3	Failure of used oil transfer facility to	\$3,000	$\underline{\mathbf{M}}$	<u>30</u>
	ensure used oil is stored only in			
	tanks, containers, or [unit] <u>units</u>			
	subject to regulation at 7:26G-8 or 9.			
7:26A-6.6(f)4	Failure of used oil transfer facility to	[\$3,000]	<u>NM</u>	
	ensure used oil [storage units]	<u>\$4,500</u>		
	containers or aboveground tanks			
	are in good condition and not			
	leaking.			
7:26A-6.6(f)5	Failure of used oil transfer facility to	[\$3,000]	<u>NM</u>	
	comply with ["]secondary	<u>\$4,500</u>		
	containment [for containers"]			
	requirements for containers.			
7:26A-6.6(f)6	Failure of used oil transfer facility to	[\$3,000]	<u>NM</u>	
	comply with ["]secondary	<u>\$4,500</u>		
	containment <u>requirements</u> for			
	existing aboveground tanks["			
	requirements].			

Rule N.J.A.C.	Rule Summary	Base Penalty	Type of Violation	Grace Period (days)
7:26A-6.6(f)7	Failure of used oil transfer facility to comply with ["]secondary containment requirements for new aboveground tanks[" requirements].	[\$3,000] \$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
7:26A-6.6(f)8	Failure of used oil transfer facility to comply with used oil labeling requirements.	\$3,000	M	30
7:26A-6.6(f)9	Failure by used oil transfer facility to comply with used oil facility discharge requirements.	<u>\$4,500</u>	<u>NM</u>	
7:26A-6.6(g)	Failure of used oil [transfer facility/]transporter to comply with tracking requirements.	[\$2,000] \$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
7:26A-6.7(b)	Failure of used oil processor[/refiner] or re-refining facility to comply with notification and/or EPA identification requirements.	[\$2,000] \$5,000	<u>NM</u>	
[7:26A-6.7(c)1]	[Failure of used oil processor/refiner to comply with preparedness and prevention requirements.]	[\$5,000]		
7:26A-6.7(c)1i	Failure of used oil processor or re- refining facility to maintain or operate facility to minimize possibilities of fire, explosion or any unplanned sudden or non- sudden releases of used oil.	\$5,000	<u>NM</u>	
7:26A-6.7(c)1ii	Failure of used oil processor or re- refining facility to equip facility with emergency equipment.	\$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
7:26A-6.7(c)1iii	Failure of used oil processor or re- refining facility to test and maintain emergency equipment.	\$3,000	M	30
7:26A-6.7(c)1iv	Failure of used oil processor or re- refining facility to maintain access to communications or alarm system.	\$3,000	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
7:26A-6.7(c)1v	Failure of used oil processor or re- refining facility to maintain sufficient aisle space for the unobstructed movement of personnel or equipment in an emergency.	<u>\$3,000</u>	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>

Rule	Rule Summary	Base	Type of Violation	Grace
N.J.A.C.		Penalty		Period
				(days)
7:26A-6.7(c)1vi	Failure of used oil processor or re-	\$3,000	M	30
	refining facility to make required			
	arrangements with police or fire			
	departments, emergency response			
	contractors, equipment suppliers,			
	or local hospitals, or to document			
	any such authority's refusal of			
	such arrangements.			
[7:26A-6.7(c)2i-	[Failure of used oil processor/re-	[\$5,000]		
[v]	refiner to comply with contingency			
	plan requirements.]			
7:26A-6.7(c)2i(1)	Failure of used oil processor or re-	\$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
	refining facility to have a			
	contingency plan designed to			
	minimize hazards to human health			
	and the environment.			
7:26A-6.7(c)2i(2)	Failure of used oil processor or re-	\$5,000	<u>NM</u>	
	refining facility to carry out			
	provisions of the contingency plan			
	immediately if there is a fire,			
	explosion or release of used oil.			
7:26A-	Failure of used oil processor or re-	<u>\$3,000</u>	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
6.7(c)2ii(1)	refining facility contingency plan			
	to describe actions to be taken in			
	response to fires, explosions, or any			
	unplanned sudden or non-sudden			
	release.			
7:26A-	Failure of used oil processor or re-	<u>\$3,000</u>	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
6.7(c)2ii(2)	refining facility to amend its SPCC			
	(40 C.F.R. 112 or Part 1510 of			
	chapter V) or DPCC (N.J.A.C.			
	7.1E) plan, to incorporate used oil			
	management provisions.			
<u>7:26A-</u>	Failure of used oil processor or re-	<u>\$3,000</u>	$\underline{\mathbf{M}}$	<u>30</u>
6.7(c)2ii(3)	refining facility contingency plan			
	to describe arrangements agreed to			
	by local police or fire departments,			
	hospitals, contractors, or State or			
	local emergency response teams.			

Rule	Rule Summary	Base	Type of Violation	Grace
N.J.A.C.		Penalty		Period
				(days)
7:26A-	Failure of used oil processor or re-	\$3,000	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
6.7(c)2ii(4)	refining facility contingency plan			
	to list names, addresses or phone			
	numbers of persons qualified to act			
	as emergency coordinator.			
7:26A-	Failure of used oil processor or re-	\$3,000	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
6.7(c)2ii(5)	refining facility contingency plan			
	to list emergency equipment,			
	updated as required, with its			
	location, description, or			
	capabilities specified.			
7:26A-	Failure of used oil processor or re-	\$3,000	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
6.7(c)2ii(6)	refining facility contingency plan			
	to include evacuation procedure			
	for personnel including signals,			
	evacuation routes or alternate			
	evacuation routes.			
7:26A-6.7(c)2iii	Failure of used oil processor or re-	\$3,000	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
	refining facility contingency plan			
	to be maintained at facility with a			
	copy sent to local police or fire			
	departments, hospitals or State or			
	local emergency response teams.			
7:26A-6.7(c)2iv	Failure of used oil processor or re-	<u>\$3,000</u>	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
	refining facility to review or amend			
	contingency plan as necessary.			
7:26A-6.7(c)2v	Failure of used oil processor or re-	<u>\$4,500</u>	<u>NM</u>	
	refining facility to make			
	emergency coordinator thoroughly			
	familiar with plan or available at			
	all times.			
<u>7:26A-</u>	Failure of used oil processor or re-	<u>\$4,500</u>	<u>NM</u>	
6.7(c)2vi(1)	refining facility emergency			
	coordinator to activate alarms or			
	communications systems, or to			
	notify appropriate State or local			
	agencies.			
7:26A-	Failure of used oil processor or re-	<u>\$3,000</u>	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
6.7(c)2vi(9)	refining facility to submit incident			
	report to Department within 15			
	days after an incident.			

Rule	Rule Summary	Base	Type of Violation	Grace
N.J.A.C.		Penalty		Period
				(days)
7:26A-6.7(d)1	Failure of used oil processor or re-	\$4,500	NM	
	refining facility to determine if			
	total halogen content is equal to,			
	less than or greater than 1000			
	p.p.m. for used oil being			
	transported or stored.			
7:26A-6.7(d)4	Failure of used oil processor or re-	\$4,500	NM	
	refining facility to ship used oil	,		
	that fails the rebuttable			
	presumption, for mixing as a			
	hazardous waste, using a New			
	Jersey licensed hazardous waste			
	transporter.			
7:26A-6.7(e)1	Failure of used oil processor or re-	\$4,500	NM	
	refining facility, storing used oil, to			
	comply with applicable Spill			
	Prevention, Control and			
	Countermeasures regulations,			
	Clean Air Act regulations or			
	Underground Storage Tank			
	regulations.			
7:26A-6.7(e)2	Failure of used oil processor [/re-	\$3,000	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
	refiner] or re-refining facility to			
	ensure used oil is stored only in			
	tanks, containers, or units subject to			
	regulation at 7:26G -8 or 9 .			
7:26A-6.7(e)3	Failure of used oil processor [/re-	[\$3,000]	<u>NM</u>	
	refiner] or re-refining facility to	<u>\$4,500</u>		
	ensure [used oil storage units]			
	containers or aboveground tanks,			
	used to store or process used oil,			
	are in good condition and not			
	leaking.			
7:26A-6.7(e)4	Failure of used oil processor [/re-	[\$3,000]	<u>NM</u>	
	refiner] or re-refining facility to	<u>\$4,500</u>		
	comply with ["]secondary			
	containment requirements for			
	containers[" requirements] used to			
	store or process used oil.			

Rule N.J.A.C.	Rule Summary	Base Penalty	Type of Violation	Grace Period (days)
7:26A-6.7(e)5	Failure of used oil processor [/re-refiner] or re-refining facility to comply with the ["]secondary containment requirements for existing aboveground tanks["] used to store or process used oil.	[\$3,000] \$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
7:26A-6.7(e)6	Failure of used oil processor [/re-refiner] or re-refining facility to comply with the ["]secondary containment requirements for new aboveground tanks [" requirements] used to store or process used oil.	[\$3,000] \$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
7:26A-6.7(e)7	Failure of used oil processor [/re-refiner] or re-refining facility to comply with used oil labeling requirements.	\$3,000	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
7:26A-6.7(e)8	Failure of used oil processor or re- refining facility to comply with or initiate response to releases.	<u>\$4,500</u>	<u>NM</u>	
	Failure of used oil processor or re- refining facility at closure, who stored or processed used oil tanks, to remove or decontaminate all used oil residues in tanks, contaminated containment system components, contaminated soils, and structures and equipment contaminated with used oil, and manage them appropriately.	<u>\$10,000</u>	<u>NM</u>	
7:26A-6.7(e)9i(2)	Failure of used oil processor or re- refining facility that cannot remove all contamination from tank systems at closure to follow closure requirements for landfills.	<u>\$10,000</u>	<u>NM</u>	
7:26A- 6.7(e)9ii(1)	Failure of used oil processor or re- refining facility at closure, who stored used oil in containers, to remove from the site all containers holding used oil or residues of used oil.	<u>\$4,500</u>	<u>NM</u>	

Rule	Rule Summary	Base	Type of Violation	Grace
N.J.A.C.	reac Sammary	Penalty Penalty	Type of violation	Period
11.5.71.0.		remarky		(days)
7:26A-	Failure of used oil processor or re-	\$10,000	<u>NM</u>	(uuys)
6.7(e)9ii(2)	refining facility at closure, who	φ10,000	11111	
<u> </u>	stored used oil in containers, to			
	remove or decontaminate all used			
	oil residues, contaminated			
	containment system components,			
	contaminated soils, and structures			
	and equipment contaminated with			
	used oil, and manage them			
	appropriately.			
7:26A-6.7(f)	Failure of used oil processor or re-	\$5,000	NM	
	refining facility to [comply with]	,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,	<u> </u>	
	develop or follow a written waste			
	analysis plan in accordance with			
	requirements at N.J.A.C. 7:26A-			
	6.7(f).			
7:26A-6.7(g)	Failure of used oil processor[/re-	[\$2,000]	NM	
(8)	refiner] or re-refining facility to	\$4,500	<u>- 1212</u>	
	comply with <u>used oil</u> tracking	 1		
	[requirements] standards and			
	records.			
7:26A-6.7(h)	Failure of used oil processor[/re-	[\$3,000]	NM	
,	refiner] or re-refining facility to	\$4,500		
	comply with operating record and	72.2.2		
	reporting [requirements] standards.			
7:26A-6.7(i)	Failure by used oil processor[/re-	\$3,000	M	30
	refiner] or re-refining facility to			
	[use] ensure used oil transporter			
	[with] has an EPA identification			
	number.			
7:26A-6.7(j)	Failure by used oil processor or re-	\$4,500	NM	
×	refining facility to manage process			
	residues in accordance with			
	N.J.A.C. 7:26A-6.1(a)5.			
[7:26A-6.8(b)]	[Failure of used oil burner facility to	[\$3,000]		
	comply with burning restrictions.]			

Rule	Rule Summary	Base	Type of Violation	Grace
N.J.A.C.		Penalty	2.700 02 7 202002022	Period
				(days)
7:26A-6.8(b)1	Used oil burner burned off-	\$5,000	NM	, casely as y
	specification used oil in a device	, , , , , , ,		
	other than an industrial furnace,			
	industrial or utility boiler or			
	hazardous waste incinerator or			
	burned off-specification used oil in			
	these devices without a "Permit to			
	Construct, Install or Alter Control			
	Apparatus or Equipment and			
	Certificate to Operate Control			
	Apparatus."			
7:26A-6.8(b)2i	Failure by used oil burner to	\$5,000	<u>NM</u>	
	comply with prohibition against			
	aggregating off specification used			
	oil with other fuels to produce an			
	on-specification used oil fuel.			
7:26A-6.8(c)	Failure of used oil burner [facility] to	[\$2,000]	NM	
	comply with notification and/or	\$4,500		
	EPA identification requirements.			
7:26A-6.8(d)1	Failure of used oil burner to	\$5,000	NM	
	determine if total halogen content			
	is equal to, less than or greater			
	than 1000 p.p.m. for used oil being			
	transported or stored.			
7:26A-6.8(d)4	Failure by used oil burner to retain	\$4,500	NM	
	records of analyses, or other			
	information used to ensure used oil			
	is not a hazardous waste, for 3			
	years.			
7:26A-6.8(e)1	Failure of used oil burner storing	\$3,000	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
	used oil to comply with applicable			
	Spill Prevention, Control and			
	Countermeasures regulations,			
	Clean Air Act regulations or			
	Underground Storage Tank			
	regulations.			
7:26A-6.8(e)2	Failure of used oil burner to ensure	\$3,000	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
	used oil is stored only in tanks,			
	containers, or [unit] units subject to			
	regulation at 7:26G -8 or 9 .			

Rule N.J.A.C.	Rule Summary	Base Penalty	Type of Violation	Grace Period (days)
7:26A-6.8(e)3	Failure of used oil burner [facility] to ensure used oil [storage units] containers or aboveground tanks are in good condition and not leaking.	[\$3,000] \$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
7:26A-6.8(e)4	Failure of used oil burner [facility], storing used oil in containers, to comply with the ["]secondary containment [for containers"] requirements.	[\$3,000] \$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
7:26A-6.8(e)5	Failure of used oil burner [facility], storing used oil in existing aboveground tank(s), to comply with the ["]secondary containment [for existing aboveground tanks"] requirements.	[\$3,000] \$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
7:26A-6.8(e)6	Failure of used oil burner [facility], storing used oil in new aboveground tank(s), to comply with ["]secondary containment [for new aboveground tanks"] requirements.	[\$3,000] \$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
7:26A-6.8(e)7	Failure of used oil burner [facility] to comply with used oil-labeling requirements.	\$3,000	<u>M</u>	30
7:26A-6.8(e)8	Failure of used oil burner to comply with or initiate response to releases.	<u>\$4,500</u>	<u>NM</u>	
7:26A-6.8(f)	Failure of used oil burner [facility] to comply with [tracking requirements] operating record and recordkeeping standards.	[\$2,000] \$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
7:26A-6.8(g)	Failure of a used oil burner [facility] to comply with <u>first-time</u> notice [requirements] <u>and recordkeeping</u> <u>standards</u> .	[\$2,000] \$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
7:26A-6.8(h)	Failure of used oil burner to manage residues from storage or burning in accordance with N.J.A.C. 7:26A-6.1(a)5.	<u>\$4,500</u>	<u>NM</u>	

Rule N.J.A.C.	Rule Summary	Base Penalty	Type of Violation	Grace Period (days)
7:26A-6.9(a)3	Failure of used oil fuel marketer to comply with the standards for used oil generators, transporters/transfer facilities, processors/re-refiners or burners.	\$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
7:26A-6.9(b)	Failure of <u>a</u> used oil fuel marketer to [ensure shipments of] <u>ship</u> off-specification used oil [is sent] only to [used oil burner facilities that have EPA identification numbers and burns the used oil in a device as identified in N.J.A.C. 7:26A-6.8(b)1] <u>an authorized burner facility</u> .	[\$4,000] \$5,000	<u>NM</u>	
[7:26A-6.9(c)]	[Failure of used oil fuel marketer to comply with on-specification used oil fuel requirements.]	[\$2,000]		
7:26A-6.9(c)1	Failure of a used oil generator, transporter, processor/re-refiner or burner to determine if used oil meets the fuel specification at N.J.A.C. 7:26A-6.2 or failure to provide a copy of analyses or other information to facility receiving shipment of used oil.	<u>\$5,000</u>	<u>NM</u>	
7:26A-6.9(c)2	Failure of first person claiming used oil fuel meets fuel specification at N.J.A.C. 7:26A-6.2 to retain copies of analyses or other information used to make determination for 3 years.	<u>\$4,500</u>	<u>NM</u>	
7:26A-6.9(d) <u>1</u>	Failure of used oil fuel marketer to comply with notification <u>and/or</u> <u>EPA identification</u> requirements.	[\$2,000] \$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
7:26A-6.9(e) <u>1</u>	Failure of used oil <u>fuel</u> marketer to comply with [tracking] <u>invoicing</u> <u>requirements for off-specification</u> <u>used oil fuel</u> .	[\$2,000] \$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
7:26A-6.9(e)2	Failure of used oil fuel marketer to comply with tracking requirements for shipments of off-specification used oil fuel.	<u>\$4,500</u>	<u>NM</u>	

Rule N.J.A.C.	Rule Summary	Base Penalty	Type of Violation	Grace Period
N.J.A.C.		1 Charty		(days)
7:26A-6.9(e)3	Failure of first person claiming used oil fuel meets fuel	<u>\$4,500</u>	<u>NM</u>	
	specification at N.J.A.C. 7:26A-6.2 to comply with tracking			
	requirements for shipments of on- specification used oil fuel.			
7:26A-6.9(f)	Failure of used oil marketer to comply with [Notice requirements] notice standards .	[\$2,000] \$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
7:26A-6.10(b)1	Failure to manage used oil that has been identified as a hazardous waste and cannot be recycled, as a hazardous waste.	<u>\$5,000</u>	<u>NM</u>	
7:26A-6.10(b)2	Failure to manage used oil that is not hazardous waste and cannot be recycled, as a solid waste.	\$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
7:26A-6.10(c)	Failure to comply with prohibition against using used oil as a dust suppressant.	<u>\$5,000</u>	<u>NM</u>	

13. The violations of 40 CFR 273, Standards for the management of Universal Waste, whether the violation is minor or non-minor, the length of the grace period, and the civil administrative penalty amounts for each violation, are as set forth in the following table.

Rule	Rule Summary	Base	Type of	Grace
40 C.F.R.		Penalty	Violation	Period
				(days)
<u>§273.11</u>	Failure of Small Quantity	\$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
	Handler of Universal Waste to			
	comply with universal waste			
	prohibitions.			
[§273.13(a)]	[Failure of small quantity handler	[\$2,000]		
	of universal waste to comply with			
	waste management requirements.]			

Rule	Rule Summary	Base	Type of	Grace
40 C.F.R.		Penalty	Violation	Period
				(days)
§273.13(a)1	Failure of Small Quantity	\$4,500	NM	
	Handler of Universal Waste to			
	place universal waste batteries			
	which show evidence of leakage,			
	spillage or damage in a container			
	that is closed, structurally sound,			
	compatible with the contents of			
	the batteries, and non-leaking.			
§273.13(a)2	Failure of Small Quantity	<u>\$4,500</u>	<u>NM</u>	
	Handler of Universal Waste			
	conducting activities not to			
	breach the casing of individual			
	battery cells.			
§273.13(a)3	Failure of Small Quantity	<u>\$5,000</u>	<u>NM</u>	
	Handler of Universal Waste to			
	determine if removed electrolyte			
	or other solid waste is hazardous			
	and to manage it in compliance			
	with all appropriate regulations.			
§273.13(b)1	Failure of Small Quantity	<u>\$4,500</u>	<u>NM</u>	
	Handler of Universal Waste to			
	place universal waste pesticides			
	in a container that is closed,			
	structurally sound, compatible			
	with the pesticide, and non-			
	<u>leaking.</u>			
<u>§273.13(b)2</u>	Failure of Small Quantity	<u>\$4,500</u>	<u>NM</u>	
	Handler of Universal Waste to			
	overpack containers of universal			
	waste pesticides which did not			
2272 1272	meet 40 C.F.R. §273.13(b)1.	4.000		
§273.13(b)3	Failure of Small Quantity	<u>\$3,000</u>	M	<u>30</u>
	Handler of Universal Waste to			
	contain universal waste pesticides			
	in a tank which meets the			
	requirements of 40 C.F.R. §265			
	Subpart J.			

Rule	Rule Summary	Base	Type of	Grace
40 C.F.R.		Penalty	Violation	Period
				(days)
§273.13(b)4	Failure of Small Quantity	\$4,500	NM	
	Handler of Universal Waste to			
	place universal waste pesticides			
	in a transport vehicle or vessel			
	that is closed, structurally sound,			
	compatible with the pesticide,			
	and non-leaking.			
<u>§273.13(c)1</u>	Failure of Small Quantity	<u>\$4,500</u>	<u>NM</u>	
	Handler of Universal Waste to			
	place universal waste thermostats			
	which show evidence of leakage,			
	spillage or damage in a container			
	that is closed, structurally sound,			
	compatible with the contents of			
	the thermostat, and non-leaking.			
<u>§273.13(c)2i</u>	Failure of Small Quantity	<u>\$4,500</u>	<u>NM</u>	
	Handler of Universal Waste to			
	remove mercury-containing			
	ampules in a manner designed to			
	prevent breakage of the ampules.			
<u>§273.13(c)2ii</u>	Failure of Small Quantity	<u>\$4,500</u>	<u>NM</u>	
	Handler of Universal Waste to			
	remove mercury-containing			
	ampules only over or in a			
	containment device.			
<u>§273.13(c)2iii</u>	Failure of Small Quantity	<u>\$4,500</u>	<u>NM</u>	
	Handler of Universal Waste to			
	ensure that a mercury clean-up			
	system is readily available to			
	immediately transfer any			
	mercury, resulting from spills or			
	leaks from broken ampules, from			
	the containment device to a			
	container that meets the			
	requirements of 40 C.F.R.			
	<u>§262.34.</u>			

Rule	Rule Summary	Base	Type of	Grace
40 C.F.R.	ruic Summary	Penalty	Violation	Period
<u>10 C.1 .1C.</u>		Tenarry	VIOLUTOII	(days)
<u>§273.13(c)2iv</u>	Failure of Small Quantity Handler of Universal Waste to immediately transfer any mercury resulting from spills or leaks from broken ampules from the containment device to a container that meets the requirements of 40 C.F.R.	<u>\$4,500</u>	<u>NM</u>	(uays)
	\$262.34.			
<u>§273.13(c)2v</u>	Failure of Small Quantity Handler of Universal Waste to ensure that the area in which mercury-containing ampules are removed is well ventilated and monitored to ensure compliance with applicable OSHA permissible exposure levels for mercury.	<u>\$4,500</u>	<u>NM</u>	
<u>\$273.13(c)2vi</u>	Failure of Small Quantity Handler of Universal Waste to ensure that employees removing mercury-containing ampules are thoroughly familiar with proper waste mercury handling and emergency procedures.	<u>\$4,500</u>	<u>NM</u>	
<u>\$273.13(c)2vii</u>	Failure of Small Quantity Handler of Universal Waste to store mercury-containing ampules in closed, non-leaking containers that are in good condition.	\$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
<u>\$273.13(c)2viii</u>	Failure of Small Quantity Handler of Universal Waste to pack mercury-containing ampules in containers with packing materials adequate to prevent breakage during storage, handling, and transportation.	<u>\$4,500</u>	<u>NM</u>	

Rule 40 C.F.R.	Rule Summary	Base Penalty	Type of Violation	Grace Period (days)
§273.13(c)3	Failure of Small Quantity Handler of Universal Waste, who removes mercury-containing ampules from thermostats, to determine if any waste generated exhibits a characteristic of hazardous waste, and to manage the waste in compliance with all appropriate regulations.	\$5,000	<u>NM</u>	
<u>\$273.13(d)1</u>	Failure of Small Quantity Handler of Universal Waste to place universal waste lamps which show evidence of leakage, spillage or damage in a container that is closed, structurally sound, compatible with the contents of the lamp, and non-leaking.	<u>\$4,500</u>	<u>NM</u>	
§273.13(d)2	Failure of Small Quantity Handler of Universal Waste to clean up and place any lamp that is broken or that shows evidence of breakage, leakage, or damage that could cause the release of hazardous constituents, into a container that is closed, structurally sound, compatible with the consumer electronic, and non-leaking.	<u>\$4,500</u>	<u>NM</u>	
[§273.14]	[Failure of small quantity handler of universal waste to comply with labeling/marking requirements.]	[\$2,000]		
<u>§273.14(a)</u>	Failure of Small Quantity Handler of Universal Waste to properly label or mark universal waste batteries or containers of universal waste batteries.	\$3,000	<u>M</u>	30
<u>§273.14(b)</u>	Failure of Small Quantity Handler of Universal Waste to properly label or mark containers, tanks, transport vehicles or vessels of recalled universal waste pesticides.	\$3,000	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>

Rule	Rule Summary	Base	Type of	Grace
40 C.F.R.	Two summer,	Penalty	Violation Violation	Period
				(days)
§273.14(c)	Failure of Small Quantity	\$3,000	M	30
	Handler of Universal Waste to		_	_
	properly label or mark			
	containers, tanks, transport			
	vehicles or vessels of unused			
	universal waste pesticides.			
§273.14(d)	Failure of Small Quantity	<u>\$3,000</u>	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
	Handler of Universal Waste to			
	properly label or mark universal			
	waste thermostats or containers			
	of universal waste thermostats.			
<u>§273.14(e)</u>	Failure of Small Quantity	<u>\$3,000</u>	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
	Handler of Universal Waste to			
	properly label or mark universal			
	waste lamps or containers of			
50070 157	universal waste lamps.	ΓΦ 2 0003		
[§273.15]	[Failure of small quantity handler	[\$2,000]		
	of universal waste to comply with			
\$272.15(-) (b)	accumulation time limits.]	φ <u>ε</u> 000	NIN /	
§273.15(a)-(b)	Small Quantity Handler of	<u>\$5,000</u>	<u>NM</u>	
	Universal Waste accumulated			
	universal waste for greater than			
	one year, without proving the accumulation was solely for the			
	purpose of facilitating proper			
	recovery, treatment or disposal.			
§273.15(c)	Failure of Small Quantity	\$4,500	NM	
<u>x273.13(c)</u>	Handler of Universal Waste to	Ψ-1,500	14141	
	demonstrate the length of time			
	that the universal waste was			
	accumulated.			
<u>§273.16</u>	Failure of [small quantity handler	[\$3,000]	NM	
	of universal waste] Small Quantity	\$4,500		
	Handler of Universal Waste to			
	[comply with] ensure that all			
	[employee training requirements]			
	employees are thoroughly			
	familiar with proper waste			
	handling and emergency			
	procedures.			

<u>Rule</u> 40 C.F.R.	Rule Summary	Base Penalty	Type of Violation	Grace Period (days)
<u>§273.17(a)</u>	Failure of Small Quantity Handler of Universal Waste to immediately contain any releases or residues of universal waste.	<u>\$5,000</u>	<u>NM</u>	
§273.17(b)	Failure of Small Quantity Handler of Universal Waste to determine if any material resulting from the release of universal waste is hazardous, and to properly manage the waste.	\$5,000	<u>NM</u>	
[§273.18	Failure of small quantity handler of universal waste to comply with offsite shipment requirements.	\$2,000		
§273.20	Failure of small quantity handler of universal waste to comply with exporting requirements.	\$2,000		
§273.32	Failure of large quantity handler of universal waste to comply with notification requirements.	\$4,000		
§273.33	Failure of large quantity handler of universal waste to comply with waste management requirements.	\$4,000		
§273.34	Failure of large quantity handler of universal waste to comply with labeling marking requirements.	\$4,000		
§273.35	Failure of large quantity handler of universal waste too comply with accumulation time limits.	\$4,000		
§273.36	Failure of large quantity handler of universal waste to comply with employee training requirements.	\$4,000		
§273.38	Failure of large quantity handler of universal waste.	\$4,000		
§273.39	Failure of large quantity handler of universal waste to comply with waste tracking requirements.	\$4,000		
§273.40	Failure of large quantity handler of universal waste to comply with exporting requirements.	\$4,000		
§273.52	Failure of universal waste transporter to comply with waste management requirements.	\$3,000		

<u>Rule</u> 40 C.F.R.	Rule Summary	Base Penalty	Type of Violation	Grace Period (days)
§273.53	Failure of universal waste transporter to comply with storage requirements.	\$3,000		
§273.55	Failure of universal waste transporter to comply with off-site shipment requirements.	\$3,000		
§273.56	Failure of universal waste transporter to comply with exporting requirements.	\$3,000		
§273.61	Failure of universal waste destination facility with off-site shipment requirements.	\$4,000		
§273.62	Failure of universal waste destination facility to comply with universal waste tracking requirements.	\$4,000]		
§273.18(a)	Small Quantity Handler of Universal Waste sent or took universal waste to a place other than another universal waste handler, a destination facility, or a foreign destination.	\$4,500	NM NM	
§273.18(b)	Failure of Small Quantity Handler of Universal Waste who self-transports to comply with the requirements at 40 C.F.R. §273 Subpart D and N.J.A.C. 7:26A- 7.4.	\$3,000	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
<u>\$273.18(c)</u>	Failure of Small Quantity Handler of Universal Waste to properly package, label, mark, placard or complete the proper shipping papers for shipments of universal waste which are hazardous materials.	\$3,000	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
<u>\$273.18(d)</u>	Failure of the originating handler to ensure that the receiving handler agrees to accept the universal waste.	<u>\$4,500</u>	<u>NM</u>	

Rule	Rule Summary	Base	Type of	Grace
40 C.F.R.		<u>Penalty</u>	Violation	Period
				(days)
<u>§273.18(e)</u>	Failure of Small Quantity	<u>\$5,000</u>	<u>NM</u>	
	Handler of Universal Waste to			
	receive back or agree on an			
	alternate facility for rejected			
	shipments of universal waste.			
<u>§273.18(f)</u>	Failure of Small Quantity	<u>\$5,000</u>	<u>NM</u>	
	Handler of Universal Waste to			
	properly reject shipments of			
	universal waste.			
<u>§273.18(g)</u>	Failure of Small Quantity	<u>\$5,000</u>	<u>NM</u>	
	Handler of Universal Waste to			
	immediately notify the			
	Department if an illegal shipment			
	of hazardous waste, that was			
	shipped as universal waste, is			
	received.			
<u>§273.18(h)</u>	Failure of Small Quantity	<u>\$3,000</u>	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
	Handler of universal waste			
	receiving non-hazardous, non-			
	universal waste to manage such			
	waste in accordance with			
	N.J.A.C. 7:26.			
<u>§273.20(a)</u>	Failure of Small Quantity	<u>\$3,000</u>	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
	Handler of Universal Waste to			
	comply with the requirements of			
	a primary exporter when			
	shipping universal waste to a			
	foreign destination.			
<u>§273.20(b)</u>	Small Quantity Handler of	<u>\$5,000</u>	<u>NM</u>	
	Universal Waste exported			
	universal waste without consent			
	of the receiving country and/or			
	not in conformance with EPA			
	Acknowledgement of Consent.			
<u>§273.20(c)</u>	Failure of Small Quantity	<u>\$3,000</u>	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
	Handler of Universal Waste that			
	exported universal waste to			
	provide a copy of the EPA			
	Acknowledgement of Consent to			
	the transporter.			

<u>Rule</u> 40 C.F.R.	Rule Summary	Base Penalty	Type of Violation	Grace Period (days)
<u>§273.31</u>	Failure of Large Quantity Handler of Universal Waste to comply with universal waste prohibitions.	<u>\$4,500</u>	<u>NM</u>	
§273.32(a)	Failure of Large Quantity Handler of Universal Waste to send a written notification to the Department and/or receive an EPA Identification Number prior to meeting or exceeding the 5,000 kg storage limit.	\$5,000	<u>NM</u>	
§273.32(b)	Failure of Large Quantity Handler of Universal Waste to include all information on the written notification to the Department.	\$3,000	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
§273.33(a)1	Failure of Large Quantity Handler of Universal Waste to place universal waste batteries which show evidence of leakage, spillage or damage in a container that is closed, structurally sound, compatible with the contents of the batteries, and non-leaking.	\$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
§273.33(a)2	Failure of Large Quantity Handler of Universal Waste conducting activities not to breach the casing of individual battery cells.	<u>\$4,500</u>	<u>NM</u>	
§273.33(a)3	Failure of Large Quantity Handler of Universal Waste to determine if removed electrolyte or other solid waste is hazardous and to manage it in compliance with all appropriate regulations.	\$5,000	<u>NM</u>	
§273.33(b)1	Failure of Large Quantity Handler of Universal Waste to place universal waste pesticides in a container that is closed, structurally sound, compatible with the pesticide, and non- leaking.	\$4,500	<u>NM</u>	

Rule	Rule Summary	Base	Type of	Grace
40 C.F.R.		Penalty	Violation	Period
				(days)
§273.33(b)2	Failure of Large Quantity	\$4,500	NM	
	Handler of Universal Waste to			
	overpack containers of universal			
	waste pesticides which did not			
	meet requirements of 40 C.F.R.			
	§273.33(b)1.			
§273.33(b)3	Failure of Large Quantity	\$3,000	M	30
	Handler of Universal Waste to			
	contain universal waste pesticides			
	in a tank which meets the			
	requirements of 40 C.F.R. §265			
	Subpart J.			
§273.33(b)4	Failure of Large Quantity	<u>\$4,500</u>	<u>NM</u>	
	Handler of Universal Waste to			
	place universal waste pesticides			
	in a transport vehicle or vessel			
	that is closed, structurally sound,			
	compatible with the pesticide,			
	and non-leaking.			
<u>§273.33(c)1</u>	Failure of Large Quantity	<u>\$4,500</u>	<u>NM</u>	
	Handler of Universal Waste to			
	place universal waste thermostats			
	which show evidence of leakage,			
	spillage or damage in a container			
	that is closed, structurally sound,			
	compatible with the contents of			
	the thermostat, and non-leaking.	* • =		
<u>§273.33(c)2i</u>	Failure of Large Quantity	<u>\$4,500</u>	<u>NM</u>	
	Handler of Universal Waste to			
	remove mercury-containing			
	ampules in a manner designed to			
9959 954 > 511	prevent breakage of the ampules.		777.5	
<u>§273.33(c)2ii</u>	Failure of Large Quantity	<u>\$4,500</u>	<u>NM</u>	
	Handler of Universal Waste to			
	remove mercury-containing			
	ampules only over or in a			
	containment device.			

<u>Rule</u> 40 C.F.R.	Rule Summary	Base Penalty	Type of Violation	Grace Period (days)
<u>\$273.33(e)2iii</u>	Failure of Large Quantity Handler of Universal Waste to ensure that a mercury clean-up system is readily available to immediately transfer any mercury, resulting from spills or leaks from broken ampules, from the containment device to a container that meets the requirements of 40 C.F.R. §262.34.	\$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
<u>\$273.33(c)2iv</u>	Failure of Large Quantity Handler of Universal Waste to immediately transfer any mercury resulting from spills or leaks from broken ampules from the containment device to a container that meets the requirements of 40 C.F.R. §262.34.	<u>\$4,500</u>	<u>NM</u>	
<u>§273.33(c)2v</u>	Failure of Large Quantity Handler of Universal Waste to ensure that the area in which mercury-containing ampules are removed is well ventilated and monitored to ensure compliance with applicable OSHA permissible exposure levels for mercury.	\$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
<u>\$273.33(c)2vi</u>	Failure of Large Quantity Handler of Universal Waste to ensure that employees removing mercury-containing ampules are thoroughly familiar with proper waste mercury handling and emergency procedures.	\$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
<u>\$273.33(c)2vii</u>	Failure of Large Quantity Handler of Universal Waste to store mercury-containing ampules in closed, non-leaking containers that are in good condition.	\$4,500	<u>NM</u>	

Rule	Rule Summary	Base	Type of	Grace
40 C.F.R.		Penalty	Violation	Period
				(days)
§273.33(c)2viii	Failure of Large Quantity	\$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
	Handler of Universal Waste to			
	pack mercury-containing			
	ampules in containers with			
	packing materials adequate to			
	prevent breakage during storage,			
	handling, and transportation.			
§273.33(c)3	Failure of Large Quantity	\$5,000	NM	
	Handler of Universal Waste, who			
	removes mercury-containing			
	ampules from thermostats, to			
	determine if any waste generated			
	exhibits a characteristic of			
	hazardous waste, and to manage			
	the waste in compliance with all			
	appropriate regulations.			
§273.33(d)1	Failure of Large Quantity	<u>\$4,500</u>	<u>NM</u>	
	Handler of Universal Waste to			
	place universal waste lamps in a			
	container that is closed,			
	structurally sound, compatible			
	with the contents of the lamp,			
	and non-leaking.			
<u>§273.33(d)2</u>	Failure of Large Quantity	<u>\$4,500</u>	<u>NM</u>	
	Handler of Universal Waste to			
	clean up and place any lamp that			
	is broken or that shows evidence			
	of breakage, leakage, or damage			
	that could cause the release of			
	hazardous constituents, in a			
	container that is closed,			
	structurally sound, compatible			
	with the consumer electronic, and			
	non-leaking.			
<u>§273.34(a)</u>	Failure of Large Quantity	<u>\$3,000</u>	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
	Handler of Universal Waste to			
	properly label or mark universal			
	waste batteries or containers of			
	universal waste batteries.			

Rule	Rule Summary	Base	Type of	Grace
40 C.F.R.	zeozo z ominini	Penalty	Violation	Period
<u> </u>		1011011	Y 101001011	(days)
§273.34(b)	Failure of Large Quantity	\$3,000	M	30
,,,,,,	Handler of Universal Waste to	1 - 7	_	
	properly label or mark			
	containers, tanks, transport			
	vehicles or vessels of recalled			
	universal waste pesticides.			
§273.34(c)	Failure of Large Quantity	\$3,000	M	30
	Handler of Universal Waste to		_	
	properly label or mark			
	containers, tanks, transport			
	vehicles or vessels of unused			
	universal waste pesticides.			
§273.34(d)	Failure of Large Quantity	\$3,000	M	30
, ,	Handler of Universal Waste to			
	properly label or mark universal			
	waste thermostats or containers			
	of universal waste thermostats.			
§273.34(e)	Failure of Large Quantity	\$3,000	M	30
	Handler of Universal Waste to		_	
	properly label or mark universal			
	waste lamps or containers of			
	universal waste lamps.			
§273.35(a)-(b)	Large Quantity Handler of	\$5,000	<u>NM</u>	
	Universal Waste accumulated			
	universal waste for greater than			
	one year, without proving the			
	accumulation was solely for the			
	purpose of facilitating proper			
	recovery, treatment or disposal.			
<u>§273.35(c)</u>	Failure of Large Quantity	<u>\$4,500</u>	<u>NM</u>	
	Handler of Universal Waste to			
	demonstrate the length of time			
	that the universal waste was			
	accumulated.			
<u>§273.36</u>	Failure of Large Quantity	<u>\$4,500</u>	<u>NM</u>	
	Handler of Universal Waste to			
	ensure that all employees are			
	thoroughly familiar with proper			
	waste handling and emergency			
	procedures.			

Rule 40 C.F.R.	Rule Summary	Base Penalty	Type of Violation	Grace Period (days)
§273.37(a)	Failure of Large Quantity Handler of Universal Waste to immediately contain any releases or residues of universal waste.	<u>\$5,000</u>	<u>NM</u>	
§273.37(b)	Failure of Large Quantity Handler of Universal Waste to determine if any material resulting from the release of universal waste is hazardous, and to properly manage the waste.	\$5,000	<u>NM</u>	
<u>§273.38(a)</u>	Large Quantity Handler of Universal Waste sent or took universal waste to a place other than another universal waste handler, a destination facility, or a foreign destination.	\$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
§273.38(b)	Failure of Large Quantity Handler of Universal Waste who self-transports to comply with the requirements at 40 C.F.R. §273 Subpart D and N.J.A.C. 7:26A- 7.4.	\$3,000	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
<u>§273.38(c)</u>	Failure of Large Quantity Handler of Universal Waste to properly package, label, mark, placard or complete the proper shipping papers for shipments of universal waste which are hazardous materials.	\$3,000	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
§273.38(d)	Failure of the originating handler to ensure that the receiving handler agrees to accept the universal waste.	<u>\$4,500</u>	<u>NM</u>	
<u>§273.38(e)</u>	Failure of Large Quantity Handler of Universal Waste to receive back or agree on an alternate facility for rejected shipments of universal waste.	<u>\$5,000</u>	<u>NM</u>	
<u>§273.38(f)</u>	Failure of Large Quantity Handler of Universal Waste to properly reject shipments of universal waste.	<u>\$5,000</u>	<u>NM</u>	

Rule	Rule Summary	Base	Type of	Grace
40 C.F.R.		<u>Penalty</u>	Violation	Period
\$272.28(g)	Failure of Large Quantity	\$5,000	NIM	(days)
<u>§273.38(g)</u>	Handler of Universal Waste to	<u>\$5,000</u>	NM NM	
	immediately notify the			
	Department if an illegal shipment			
	of hazardous waste, that was			
	shipped as universal waste, is			
	received.			
§273.38(h)	Failure of Large Quantity	\$3,000	<u>M</u>	30
3=1000 (11)	Handler of universal waste	40,000		
	receiving non-hazardous, non-			
	universal waste to manage such			
	waste in accordance with			
	N.J.A.C. 7:26.			
§273.39(a)1	Failure of Large Quantity	\$3,000	M	30
	Handler of Universal Waste to			_
	record the name and address of			
	the originating universal waste			
	handler or foreign shipper from			
	whom the universal waste was			
	sent.			
§273.39(a)2	Failure of Large Quantity	\$3,000	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
	Handler of Universal Waste to			
	record the quantity of each type			
	of universal waste received.			
<u>§273.39(a)3</u>	Failure of Large Quantity	<u>\$3,000</u>	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
	Handler of Universal Waste to			
	record the date of receipt of the			
	shipment of universal waste.			
<u>§273.39(b)1</u>	Failure of Large Quantity	<u>\$3,000</u>	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
	Handler of Universal Waste to			
	record the name and address of			
	the universal waste handler,			
	destination facility, or foreign			
	destination to whom universal			
0	waste was sent.	****		
<u>§273.39(b)2</u>	Failure of Large Quantity	<u>\$3,000</u>	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
	Handler of Universal Waste to			
	record the quantity of each type			
	of universal waste sent.			

Rule	Rule Summary	Base	Type of	Grace
40 C.F.R.	Kuie Summary	Penalty	Violation	Period
40 C.I'.K.		1 Charty	Violation	
8272 20(b)2	Failure of Large Quantity	\$3,000	M	(days)
<u>§273.39(b)3</u>	Failure of Large Quantity	<u>\$3,000</u>	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
	Handler of Universal Waste to			
	record the date the shipment of			
2272 22()	universal waste left the facility.	42.000	7.5	
<u>§273.39(c)</u>	Failure of Large Quantity	<u>\$3,000</u>	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
	Handler of Universal waste to			
	retain the records for at least			
	three years.			
<u>§273.40(a)</u>	Failure of Large Quantity	<u>\$3,000</u>	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
	Handler of Universal Waste to			
	comply with the requirements of			
	a primary exporter when			
	shipping universal waste to a			
	foreign destination.			
§273.40(b)	Large Quantity Handler of	\$5,000	NM	
	Universal Waste exported			
	universal waste without consent			
	of the receiving country and/or			
	not in conformance with EPA			
	Acknowledgement of Consent.			
§273.40(c)	Failure of Large Quantity	\$3,000	M	30
,	Handler of Universal Waste that		_	
	exported universal waste to			
	provide a copy of the EPA			
	Acknowledgement of Consent to			
	the transporter.			
§273.51	Failure of Universal Waste	\$4,500	NM	
<u>8#10.01</u>	Transporter to comply with	<u>Ψ7,200</u>	1111	
	universal waste prohibitions.			
8273 52(a)	Failure of Universal Waste	\$4.500	NM	
<u>§273.52(a)</u>		<u>\$4,500</u>	<u>NM</u>	
	Transporter to comply with			
	USDOT requirements for			
	universal waste which meets the			
	definition of a hazardous			
8050 500	material.	φα ο ο ο	3.6	20
<u>§273.52(b)</u>	<u>Universal Waste Transporter</u>	<u>\$3,000</u>	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
	described a universal waste with			
	the words hazardous waste or			
	N.O.S. or included the word			
	waste in the shipping description.			

<u>Rule</u> 40 C.F.R.	Rule Summary	Base Penalty	Type of Violation	Grace Period (days)
<u>§273.53</u>	Universal Waste Transporter stored universal waste at a transfer facility for greater than 10 days without being in compliance subpart B or C of 40 C.F.R. §273.	<u>\$4,500</u>	<u>NM</u>	
<u>§273.54(a)</u>	Failure of Universal Waste Transporter to immediately contain any releases or residues of universal waste.	<u>\$5,000</u>	<u>NM</u>	
<u>§273.54(b)</u>	Failure of Universal Waste Transporter to determine if any material resulting from the release of universal waste is hazardous, and to properly manage the waste.	<u>\$5,000</u>	<u>NM</u>	
<u>§273.55(a)</u>	Universal Waste Transporter sent or took universal waste to a place other than another universal waste handler, a destination facility, or a foreign destination.	<u>\$5,000</u>	<u>NM</u>	
§273.55(b)	Failure of Universal Waste Transporter to properly describe, on the shipping paper, any universal waste that meets the definition of a hazardous material.	\$3,000	<u>M</u>	30
<u>§273.56</u>	Universal Waste Transporter accepted a shipment of universal waste, to be shipped to a foreign destination, knowing the shipment did not conform to the EPA Acknowledgement of Consent.	\$5,000	<u>NM</u>	
<u>\$273.56(a)</u>	Failure of Universal Waste Transporter exporting universal waste to ensure that a copy of the EPA Acknowledgement of Consent accompanied the shipment.	\$3,000	<u>M</u>	30

Rule 40 C.F.R.	Rule Summary	Base Penalty	Type of Violation	Grace Period
10 6.1 .10.		<u>r charty</u>	<u>violation</u>	(days)
<u>§273.56(b)</u>	Failure of Universal Waste Transporter exporting universal	<u>\$5,000</u>	<u>NM</u>	
	waste to ensure that the waste			
	was delivered to the facility			
	designated by the person			
	initiating the shipment.			
<u>§273.60(a)</u>	Failure of owner or operator of a	\$3,000	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
	Universal Waste Destination			
	Facility to comply with the			
	requirements of 40 C.F.R. Parts			
	§§124, 264 through 266 and 270,			
	as incorporated by reference at			
	N.J.A.C. 7:26G, and the			
	notification requirement under			
	Section 3010 of RCRA.			
§273.60(b)	Failure of owner or operator of a	<u>\$3,000</u>	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
	Universal Waste Destination			
	Facility, that recycles a particular			
	universal waste without storing			
	that universal waste before it is			
	recycled, to comply with 40			
	C.F.R. §261.6(c)(2) as			
	incorporated by reference at			
	N.J.A.C. 7:26G-5.			
<u>§273.61(a)</u>	Owner or operator of a Universal	<u>\$5,000</u>	NM	
	Waste Destination Facility sent or			
	took universal waste to a place			
	other than a universal waste			
	handler, another destination			
0000 517	facility or foreign destination.	A= 22-	272.5	
<u>§273.61(b)</u>	Failure of owner or operator of a	<u>\$5,000</u>	NM NM	
	Universal Waste Destination			
	Facility to properly reject			
	shipments of universal waste.	4=0 00	272.5	
<u>§273.61(c)</u>	Failure of owner or operator of a	<u>\$5,000</u>	<u>NM</u>	
	Universal Waste Destination			
	Facility to immediately notify the			
	Department if an illegal shipment			
	of hazardous waste, that was			
	shipped as universal waste, is			
	received.			

Rule	Rule Summary	Base	Type of	Cross
40 C.F.R.	Kule Sullillary		Type of Violation	Grace Paried
<u>40 С.Г.К.</u>		<u>Penalty</u>	<u>violation</u>	Period
\$272 (2(-)1	E-:1	¢2 000	M	(days)
<u>§273.62(a)1</u>	Failure of owner of operator of a	<u>\$3,000</u>	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
	Universal Waste Destination			
	Facility to record the name and			
	address of the originating			
	universal waste handler or			
	foreign shipper from whom the			
	universal waste was sent.	** ***		1
<u>§273.62(a)2</u>	Failure of owner of operator of a	<u>\$3,000</u>	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
	Universal Waste Destination			
	Facility to record the quantity of			
	each type of universal waste			
	received.			
<u>§273.62(a)3</u>	Failure of owner or operator of a	<u>\$3,000</u>	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
	Universal Waste Destination			
	Facility to record the date of			
	receipt of the shipment of			
	universal waste.			
§273.62(b)	Failure of owner or operator of a	<u>\$3,000</u>	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
	Universal Waste Destination			
	Facility to keep records for three			
	years.			
<u>§273.70</u>	Failure of Universal Waste	<u>\$3,000</u>	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
	Transporter, managing universal			
	waste that was imported from a			
	foreign country, to comply with			
	the requirements of 40 C.F.R.			
	§273 Subpart D immediately			
	after waste was received in the			
	United States.			
§273.70(b)	Failure of Small or Large	\$3,000	M	30
	Quantity Handlers of Universal			1 —
	Waste, managing universal waste			
	that was imported from a foreign			
	country, to comply with the			
	requirements of 40 C.F.R. §273			
	Subpart B or C after waste was			
	received in the United States.			
L	received in the Office States.		1	

Rule 40 C.F.R.	Rule Summary	Base Penalty	Type of Violation	Grace Period (days)
<u>§273.70(c)</u>	Failure of owner or operator of a Universal Waste Destination Facility, managing universal waste that was imported from a foreign country, to comply with the requirements of 40 C.F.R. §273 Subpart E after waste is received in the United States.	\$3,000	<u>M</u>	30

14. The violations of N.J.A.C. 7:26A-7, Standards for the management of Class D Universal Waste, whether the violation is minor or non-minor, the length of the grace period, and the civil administrative penalty amounts for each violation, are as set forth in the following table.

Rule	Rule Summary	Base	Type of	Grace
N.J.A.C.		Penalty	Violation	Period
				(days)
7:26A-7.4(b)1	Failure of Small Quantity	<u>\$4,500</u>	<u>NM</u>	
	Handler of Universal Waste to			
	place a consumer electronic that			
	shows evidence of leakage,			
	spillage, or damage that could			
	cause leakage, in a container that			
	is closed, structurally sound,			
	compatible with the consumer			
	electronic, and non-leaking.			
7:26A-7.4(b)2	Small Quantity Handler of	<u>\$4,500</u>	<u>NM</u>	
	Universal Waste disassembled a			
	consumer electronic in a manner			
	that constituted processing or			
	treatment.			

Rule	Rule Summary	Base	Type of	Grace
N.J.A.C.	Train Summer,	Penalty	Violation	Period
1119111101		remarky	VIOLUTOII	(days)
7:26A-7.4(b)3	Failure of Small Quantity	\$5,000	NM	<u>(tays)</u>
772011 771(0)0	Handler of Universal Waste who	φε,σσσ	11111	
	generates a solid waste, as the			
	result of performing activities, to			
	determine if the waste is			
	hazardous.			
7:26A-7.4(c)1	Failure of Small Quantity	\$4,500	NM	
	Handler of Universal Waste to	7		
	place any universal waste			
	mercury-containing device that			
	shows evidence of leakage,			
	spillage, or damage that could			
	cause leakage, in a container that			
	is closed, structurally sound,			
	compatible with the contents of			
	the mercury-containing device,			
	and non-leaking.			
7:26A-7.4(c)2i	Failure of Small Quantity	\$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
	Handler of Universal Waste to			
	remove mercury containing			
	ampules in a manner designed to			
	prevent breakage of the ampules.			
7:26A-7.4(c)2ii	Failure of Small Quantity	<u>\$4,500</u>	<u>NM</u>	
	Handler of Universal Waste to			
	remove mercury-containing			
	ampules only over or in a			
	containment device.			
7:26A-7.4(c)2iii	Failure of Small Quantity	<u>\$4,500</u>	<u>NM</u>	
	Handler of Universal Waste to			
	ensure that a mercury clean-up			
	system is readily available to			
	immediately transfer any			
	mercury, resulting from spills or			
	<u>leaks from broken ampules, to a</u>			
	container that meets the			
	requirements of 40 C.F.R.			
	<u>§262.34.</u>			

Rule	Rule Summary	Base	Type of	Grace
N.J.A.C.	Train Summer,	Penalty	Violation	Period
<u> </u>		<u> </u>	<u> </u>	(days)
7:26A-7.4(c)2iv	Failure of Small Quantity	\$4,500	NM	(4244)
	Handler of Universal Waste to	7 - 70 - 0		
	immediately transfer any			
	mercury, resulting from spills or			
	leaks from broken ampules, from			
	the containment device to a			
	container that meets the			
	requirements of 40 C.F.R.			
	<u>§262.34.</u>			
7:26A-7.4(c)2v	Failure of Small Quantity	\$4,500	NM	
	Handler of Universal Waste to			
	ensure that any area where			
	mercury-containing ampules are			
	removed is well ventilated and			
	monitored to ensure compliance			
	with applicable OSHA			
	permissible exposure levels for			
	mercury.			
7:26A-7.4(c)2vi	Failure of Small Quantity	\$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
	Handler of Universal Waste to			
	ensure that employees removing			
	mercury-containing ampules are			
	thoroughly familiar with proper			
	waste mercury handling and			
	emergency procedures.			
7:26A-	Failure of Small Quantity	<u>\$4,500</u>	<u>NM</u>	
7.4(c)2vii	Handler of Universal Waste to			
	store mercury-containing			
	ampules in closed, non-leaking			
	containers that are in good			
	condition.			
<u>7:26A-</u>	Failure of Small Quantity	<u>\$4,500</u>	<u>NM</u>	
7.4(c)2viii	Handler of Universal Waste to			
	pack mercury-containing			
	ampules in a container with			
	packing materials adequate to			
	prevent breakage during storage,			
	handling, and transportation.			

Rule	Rule Summary	Base	Type of	Grace
N.J.A.C.		Penalty	Violation	Period
				(days)
7:26A-7.4(c)3	Failure of Small Quantity	\$5,000	NM	
	Handler of Universal Waste, who			
	removes mercury-containing			
	ampules, to determine if any			
	waste generated exhibits a			
	characteristic of hazardous			
	waste, and to manage the waste in			
	compliance with all appropriate			
	regulations.			
7:26A-7.4(d)	Failure of Small Quantity	\$3,000	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
	Handler of Universal Waste to			—
	manage oil-based finishes, in its			
	original or otherwise appropriate			
	and labeled packaging.			
7:26A-7.4(d)1	Failure of Small Quantity	\$4,500	<u>NM</u>	
	Handler of Universal Waste to			
	place any universal waste oil-			
	based finish that shows evidence			
	of leakage, spillage, or damage			
	that could cause leakage, into a			
	container that is closed,			
	structurally sound, compatible			
	with the contents of the oil-based			
	finish, and non-leaking.			
7:26A-7.4(d)2	Small Quantity Handler of	<u>\$4,500</u>	<u>NM</u>	
	Universal Waste to handled			
	universal waste oil-based finishes			
	in a manner that constituted			
	processing.			
7:26A-7.5(b)1	Failure of Large Quantity	<u>\$4,500</u>	NM	
	Handler of Universal Waste to			
	place any consumer electronic			
	that shows evidence of leakage,			
	spillage, or damage that could			
	cause leakage, in a container that			
	is closed, structurally sound,			
	compatible with the contents of			
	the consumer electronics, and			
	non-leaking.			

Rule	Rule Summary	Base	Type of	Grace
N.J.A.C.	2002 5 02212102 3	Penalty	Violation	Period
				(days)
7:26A-7.5(b)2	Large Quantity Handler of	\$4,500	NM	(GEE, 15)
	Universal Waste conducted			
	disassembling or processing on			
	consumer electronics without			
	applying for a Class D Approval.			
7:26A-7.5(c)1	Failure of Large Quantity	\$4,500	NM	
	Handler of Universal Waste to			
	place a universal waste mercury-			
	containing device that shows			
	evidence of leakage, spillage, or			
	damage that could cause leakage			
	into a container that is closed,			
	structurally sound, compatible			
	with the contents of the mercury-			
	containing devices, and non-			
	leaking.			
7:26A-7.5(c)2i	Failure of Large Quantity	\$4,500	NM	
	Handler of Universal Waste to			
	remove mercury-containing			
	ampules in a manner designed to			
	prevent breakage of the ampules.			
7:26A-7.5(c)2ii	Failure of Large Quantity	<u>\$4,500</u>	<u>NM</u>	
	Handler of Universal Waste to			
	remove mercury-containing			
	ampules only over or in a			
	containment device.			
7:26A-7.5(c)2iii	Failure of Large Quantity	<u>\$4,500</u>	<u>NM</u>	
	Handler of Universal Waste to			
	ensure that a mercury clean-up			
	system is readily available to			
	immediately transfer any			
	mercury, resulting from spills or			
	leaks from broken ampules, from			
	the containment device to a			
	container that meets the			
	requirements of 40 C.F.R.			
	<u>§262.34.</u>			

Rule	Rule Summary	Base	Type of	Grace
N.J.A.C.	Turi Summar,	Penalty	Violation	Period
- 1100021V GV		<u> </u>	Y 101001011	(days)
7:26A-7.5(c)2iv	Failure of Large Quantity	\$4,500	<u>NM</u>	(6200), 10
` ` ` `	Handler of Universal Waste to			
	immediately transfer any			
	mercury resulting from spills or			
	leaks from broken ampules from			
	the containment device to a			
	container that meets the			
	requirements of 40 C.F.R.			
	<u>§262.34.</u>			
7:26A-7.5(c)2v	Failure of Large Quantity	\$4,500	NM	
	Handler of Universal Waste to			
	ensure that the area in which			
	mercury-containing ampules are			
	removed is well ventilated and			
	monitored to ensure compliance			
	with applicable OSHA			
	permissible exposure levels for			
	mercury.			
7:26A-7.5(c)2vi	Failure of Large Quantity	<u>\$4,500</u>	<u>NM</u>	
	Handler of Universal Waste to			
	ensure that employees removing			
	mercury-containing ampules are			
	thoroughly familiar with proper			
	waste mercury handling and			
	emergency procedures.			
7:26A-	Failure of Large Quantity	<u>\$4,500</u>	<u>NM</u>	
7.5(c)2vii	Handler of Universal Waste to			
	store mercury-containing			
	ampules in closed, non-leaking			
	containers that are in good			
7.264	condition.	φ.4. 5 00	NTA #	
7:26A-	Failure of Large Quantity	<u>\$4,500</u>	<u>NM</u>	
7.5(c)2viii	Handler of Universal Waste to			
	pack mercury-containing			
	ampules in containers with			
	packing materials adequate to			
	prevent breakage during storage,			
	handling, and transportation.			

<u>Rule</u> <u>N.J.A.C.</u>	Rule Summary	Base	Type of	Grace
	rate Summary	Penalty	Violation	Period
11.0.11.0.		1 charty	VIOLUTOII	(days)
7:26A-7.5(c)3	Failure of Large Quantity	\$5,000	NM	(uays)
712011 113(C)3	Handler of Universal Waste, who	φε,σσσ	14141	
	removes mercury-containing			
	ampules, to determine if the			
	waste generated exhibits a			
	characteristic of hazardous			
	waste, and to manage the waste in			
	compliance with all appropriate			
	regulations.			
7.26A 7.5(d)		\$2,000	M	20
7:26A-7.5(d)	Failure of Large Quantity Handler of Universal Waste to	<u>\$3,000</u>	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
	manage universal waste finishes			
F 264 F 5(1)1	in its original packaging.	Φ4. 5 00	NIN /	
7:26A-7.5(d)1	Failure of Large Quantity	<u>\$4,500</u>	NM NM	
	Handler of Universal Waste to			
	place any universal waste finish			
	that shows evidence of leakage,			
	spillage, or damage that could			
7:26A-7.5(d)2		<u>\$4,500</u>	<u>NM</u>	
	disassembling or processing			
	activities on universal waste			
	finishes without applying for a			
	Class D Approval.			
7:26A-7.5(e)	Failure of Large Quantity	\$3,000	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
	Handler of Universal Waste to			
	submit a report to the			
	Department documenting the			
		I	1	1
	types and amounts of universal			
	types and amounts of universal waste which were received, stored			
	cause leakage in a container that is closed, structurally sound, compatible with the contents of the universal waste finish, and non-leaking. Large Quantity Handler of Universal Waste conducted disassembling or processing activities on universal waste finishes without applying for a Class D Approval. Failure of Large Quantity Handler of Universal Waste to submit a report to the			<u>30</u>

Rule	Rule Summary	Base	Type of	<u>Grace</u>
<u>N.J.A.C.</u>		Penalty	<u>Violation</u>	<u>Period</u>
				(days)
7:26A-7.7(a)	Failure to accumulate universal	<u>\$3,000</u>	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
	waste consumer electronics			
	devices in a closed container that			
	is clearly marked with the words			
	<u>Universal Waste-Consumer</u>			
	Electronics.			
7:26A-7.7(b)	Failure to accumulate universal	\$3,000	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
	waste mercury-containing devices			
	in a closed container that is			
	clearly marked with the words			
	Universal Waste-Mercury-			
	Containing Devices.			
7:26A-7.7(c)	Failure to mark a container,	\$3,000	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
	tank, transport vehicle or other			
	vessel in which oil-based waste			
	finishes are contained, with the			
	words Universal Waste-Oil-Based			
	Finish.			

N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.5 Civil administrative penalty determination

- (a) (e) (No change.)
- (f) The Department shall assess a civil administrative penalty for violations described in this section on the basis of the seriousness of the violation and the conduct of the violator at the midpoint of the following ranges <u>as follows:</u>
- 1. A violation that meets the criteria at (f)1i through iii below and the criteria at N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.10(c)1 through 5 is minor. Such a minor violation shall be subject to a grace period of 30 days if the violation meets the criteria at (f)1i through iii below and N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.10. If compliance is not achieved in the required time period, the violator shall be subject to a \$3,000 penalty, to be assessed in accordance with the procedures set forth at N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.10.
- i. The violation poses minimal risk to the public health, safety and natural resources;
 - ii. The violation does not materially and substantially undermine or

impair the goals of the regulatory program; and

- <u>iii.</u> The activity or condition constituting the violation is capable of being corrected and compliance achieved within the time prescribed by the Department.
- 2. A violation that does not meet the criteria set forth in (f)1 above is non-minor and the penalty shall be assessed at the mid-point of the following ranges, unless adjusted pursuant to (i) below.

		SERIOUSNESS		
		<u>Major</u>	<u>Moderate</u>	<u>Minor</u>
	Major	\$40,000-	\$30,000-	\$15,000-
		\$50,000	\$40,000	\$25,000
CONDUCT	Moderate	\$30,000-	\$10,000-	\$3,000-
		\$40,000	\$20,000	\$6,000
	Minor	\$15,000-	\$3,000-	[\$1,000-
		\$25,000	\$6,000	\$2,500] <u>N/A*</u>

*N/A means not applicable.

(g) through (i) (No change.)

N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.6 Civil administrative penalty for submitting inaccurate or false information (a) – (d) (No change.)

(e) A violation under this section is non-minor and therefore not subject to a grace period.

N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.7 Civil Administrative penalty for failure to allow lawful entry and inspection

(a) - (d) (No change.)

(e) A violation under this section is non-minor and therefore not subject to a grace period.

N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.8 Civil Administrative Penalty for failure to pay a fee

(a) - (d) (No change.)

(e) A violation under this section is non-minor and therefore not subject to a grace period.

N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.9 (No change.)

N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.10 (Re-codify as N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.11, no change in text.)

N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.10 Grace period applicability; procedures

- (a) Each violation identified in the penalty tables at N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.4(g) by an "M" in the Type of Violation column and each violation that is determined to be minor under N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.5(f)1, for which the conditions at (c) below are satisfied, is a minor violation, and is subject to a grace period, the length of which (in days) is indicated in the column with the heading "Grace Period."
 - (b) Each violation identified in the penalty tables at N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.4(g) by an

"NM" in the Type of Violation column is a non-minor violation and is not subject to a grace period.

- (c) The Department or local government agency shall provide a grace period for any violation identified as minor under this section, provided the following conditions are met:
- 1. The violation is not the result of the purposeful, knowing, reckless or criminally negligent conduct of the person responsible for the violation;
- 2. The activity or condition constituting the violation has existed for less than 12 months prior to the date of discovery by the Department or local government agency;
- 3. In the case of a violation that involves a permit, the person

 responsible for the violation has not been identified in a previous enforcement action by the

 Department or local government agency as responsible for a violation of the same

 requirement of the same permit within the preceding 12-month period;
- 4. In the case of a violation that does not involve a permit, the person responsible for the violation has not been notified in a previous enforcement action by the department or a local government agency as responsible for the same or a substantially similar violation at the same facility within the preceding 12-month period; and

- 5. In the case of any violation, the person responsible for the violation has not been identified by the Department or a local government agency as responsible for the same or substantially similar violations at any time that reasonably indicates a pattern of illegal conduct and not isolated incidents on the part of the person responsible.
- (d) For a violation determined to be minor under (c) above, the following provisions apply:
- 1. The Department or local government agency shall issue a notice of violation to the person responsible for the minor violation that:
- i. Identifies the condition or activity that constitutes the violation and the specific statutory and regulatory provision or other requirement violated; and
- ii. Specifies that a penalty may be imposed unless the minor violation is corrected and compliance is achieved within the specified grace period.
- 2. If the person responsible for the minor violation corrects that violation and demonstrates, in accordance with (d)3 below, that compliance has been achieved within the specified grace period, the Department or local government agency shall not impose a penalty for the violation, and in addition, shall not consider the minor violation for purposes of calculating the "severity penalty component" under N.J.A.C. 7:26-5.4(f).
 - 3. The person responsible for a violation shall submit to the Department

or local government agency, before the end of the specified grace period, written information, certified in accordance with N.J.A.C. 7:26-2.4(e) or N.J.A.C. 7:26A-3.2(b), and signed by the person responsible for the minor violation, detailing the corrective action taken or compliance achieved.

- 4. If the person responsible for the minor violation seeks additional time beyond the specified grace period to achieve compliance, the person shall request an extension of the specified grace period. The request shall be made in writing no later than one week before the end of the specified grace period and include the anticipated time needed to achieve compliance, the specific cause or causes of the delay, and any measures taken or to be taken to minimize the time needed to achieve compliance, and shall be certified in accordance with N.J.A.C. 7:26-2.4(e) or N.J.A.C. 7:26A-3.2(b). The Department may, at its discretion, approve in writing an extension, which shall not exceed 90 days, to accommodate the anticipated delay in achieving compliance. In exercising its discretion to approve a request for an extension, the Department may consider the following:
- i. Whether the violator has taken reasonable measures to achieve compliance in a timely manner;
- ii. Whether the delay has been caused by circumstances beyond the control of the violator;
- iii. Whether the delay will pose a risk to the public health, safety and natural resources; and
- iv. Whether the delay will materially or substantially undermine or impair the goals of the regulatory program.

5. If the person responsible for the minor violation fails to demonstrate to the Department or local government agency that the violation has been corrected and compliance achieved within the specified grace period or within the approved extension, if any, the Department or local government agency may, in accordance with the provisions of this chapter, impose a penalty that is retroactive to the date the notice of violation under (d)1 was issued.

6. The person responsible for a minor violation shall not request more than one extension of a grace period specified in a notice of violation.

CHAPTER 26H. SOLID WASTE UTILITY REGULATIONS

Subchapter 1. General Requirements

7:26H-1.4 Definitions

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, have the following meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise.

* * *

"Grace period" means the period of time afforded under N.J.S.A. 13:1D-125 et seq., commonly known as the Grace Period Law, for a person to correct a minor violation in order to avoid imposition of a penalty that would be otherwise applicable for such violation.

* * *

Subchapter 5. Solid Waste Collection Effective Competition Monitoring

7:26H-5.18. Penalties for violation of rules adopted pursuant to the Act

- (a) (e) (No change.)
- (f) The rule summary in this subsection, which summarizes certain provisions in this chapter, is provided for informational purposes only. In the event that there is a conflict between the rule summary in this subsection and a provision in this chapter, then the provision in this chapter shall prevail.
- 1. The violations of N.J.A.C. 7:26H-1, General Requirements, whether the violation is minor or non-minor, the length of the grace period, and the civil administrative penalty amounts for each violation are as set forth in the following table.

Citation	Summary	Base	Type of	Grace Period
(N.J.A.C.)		<u>Penalty</u>	Violation	(days)
7:26H-1.6(a)	Failure to obtain a Certificate of	\$5,000	<u>NM</u>	
	Public Convenience and Necessity			
	prior to engaging in the business of			
	solid waste collection or solid			
	waste disposal.			
7:26H-1.6(c)	Failure of solid waste utility to have	\$5,000	<u>NM</u>	
	a Certificate of Public Convenience			
	and Necessity when bidding for a			
	solid waste contract.			
7:26H-1.12(c)	Failure of the disposal utility to file	[\$1,000]	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
	rate revisions, in accordance with	\$2,000		
	N.J.A.C. 7:26H-3.10, for services			
	that [which] do not increase			
	charges above the peak rate.			
7:26H-1.12(d)	Failure of the disposal utility to file	[\$2,500]	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
	rate revisions, in accordance with	\$2,000		
	N.J.A.C. 7:26H-3.11, for services			
	that [which] increase charges			
	above the peak rate.			

Citation	Summary	Base	Type of	Grace Period
(N.J.A.C.)		Penalty	Violation	(days)
7:26H-1.14(a)	Failure of solid waste utility to furnish safe, adequate, and proper service.	[\$2,000] \$2,500	<u>NM</u>	
7:26H-1.14(d)	Failure of collection utility to file a petition with the Department prior to discontinuing service to a customer, which petition shall give the reasons for such discontinuance.	[\$1,000] \$2,500	<u>NM</u>	
7:26H- 1.14(e)	Failure of solid waste utility to file a report with the Department when service to a customer is interrupted and it appears that the interruption will continue for more than one day or one pick up.	[\$250] \$2,000	<u>M</u>	1
7:26H-1.20(b)1	Failure of solid waste utility to ensure all records are maintained at an office in the State of New Jersey unless otherwise approved by the Department.	[\$1,000] \$2,000	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
7:26H-1.20(b)3	Failure of solid waste utility to notify the Department of the location of the office or offices where records pertaining to the provision of solid waste services are maintained.	[\$500] \$2,000	<u>M</u>	30
7:26H-1.20(c)	Failure of solid waste utility to retain all documents for at least five years from the date that the documents were due or created, and at the office of the solid waste utility.	[\$1,000] \$2,000	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
7:26H-1.21	Failure of solid waste utility to file evidence of insurance.	\$5,000	<u>NM</u>	
7:26H-1.24(b)	Failure of solid waste utility to have a lease on file with the Department for the use of all property, equipment and facilities that [which] are used to provide service and are not owned by the utility.	[\$2,000] \$2,500	<u>NM</u>	

2. The violations of N.J.A.C. 7:26H-3, Transactional Filings, whether the violation is minor or non-minor, the length of the grace period, and the civil administrative penalty amounts for each violation are as set forth in the following table.

Citation	Summary	Base	Type of	Grace Period
(N.J.A.C.)		Penalty	Violation	(days)
7:26H-3.2(a)	Failure of solid waste utility to	\$3,000	<u>NM</u>	
	receive authorization of the			
	Department prior to consummating			
	the sale, transfer, or encumbrance			
	of the assets of the solid waste			
	utility or any change in majority			
	control of such utility.			
7:26H-3.2(c)	Failure of the solid waste utility to	[\$1,000]	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
	ensure notice of sale appears in	\$2,000		
	newspapers at least 30 days before			
	sale occurs.			
7:26H-3.3(a)	Failure of solid waste utility to	\$3,000	<u>NM</u>	
	petition for authority to transfer			
	capital stock; Transfer without			
	authorization.			
7:26H-3.4(a)	Failure of solid waste utility to	\$3,000	<u>NM</u>	
	obtain Department approval prior to			
	consolidating or merging with			
	another solid waste utility, merging			
	or consolidating with any other			
	person or business concern, or			
	dissolution of the solid waste			
	utility.			
7:26H-3.5(a)	Failure of solid waste utility to	\$3,000	<u>NM</u>	
	petition the Department for			
	authority to issue stocks, bonds,			
	notes, other evidence of			
	indebtedness or to execute			
	mortgages and comply with			
	requirements thereof.			
7:26H-3.6(a)	Failure of solid waste utility to file	\$3,000	<u>NM</u>	
	a Notice of Intent and obtain			
	Department approval prior to			
	entering into a management			
	agreement with any person.			

Citation	Summary	Base	Type of	Grace Period
(N.J.A.C.)		<u>Penalty</u>	Violation	(days)
7:26H-3.6(c)	Failure of solid waste utility to ensure a Notice of Intent to enter into a management agreement appears in newspapers at least 30 days prior to the completion of the transaction.	[\$1,000] \$2,000	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
7:26H-3.7(a)	Failure of solid waste utility to receive approval of the Department prior to taking any action which would cause a change in the utilitys depreciation rates.	\$2,500	<u>NM</u>	

3. The violations of N.J.A.C. 7:26H-4, Solid Waste Tariffs, <u>whether the</u> <u>violation is minor or non-minor, the length of the grace period,</u> and the <u>civil administrative</u> penalty amounts for each violation are as set forth in the following table.

Citation	Summary	Base	Type of	Grace Period
N.J.A.C.		<u>Penalty</u>	Violation	(days)
7:26H-4.2(a)	Failure of solid waste utility to file	\$3,000 <u>NM</u>		
	a tariff and maintain a copy for			
	public inspection.			
7:26H-4.4(a)1	Failure of utility's customer to	[\$250]	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
	allow unencumbered access to	\$2,000		
	containers. All containers and areas			
	from which solid waste is to be			
	collected shall be kept free from all			
	hazards and potential hazards.			
7:26H-4.4(a)2	Failure of solid waste utility to	[\$2,000]	<u>NM</u>	
	comply with collection service	\$2,500		
	provisions of the approved tariff.			
7:26H-4.4(a)3	Failure of solid waste utility to	[\$1,000]	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
	assist customers in the selection of	\$2,000		
	the rate schedule most favorable for			
	their individual requirements.			

Citation	Summary	Base	Type of	Grace Period
<u>N.J.A.C.</u>		<u>Penalty</u>	Violation	(days)
7:26H-4.4(a)4	Failure of solid waste utility to	[\$750]	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
	identify in the tariff, miscellaneous	\$2,000		
	collection services, prior to			
	providing any of these same			
	services.			
7:26H-4.4(a)6	Failure of solid waste utility to	\$2,500	NM	
	ensure that loads of solid waste and	1-,	<u> </u>	
	designated source separated			
	recyclable materials are not			
	commingled; Disposing of leaves in			
	any manner that differs from that			
	outlined in N.J.S.A. 13:1E-99.21.			
7:26H-4.4(a)7	Failure of solid waste utility to	[\$1,000]	M	30
7.2011-4.4(a)7	make a pick up, not later than the	\$2,000	171	<u>50</u>
	next regularly scheduled collection	Ψ2,000		
	day should the collector fail to pick			
	up solid waste on a regularly			
	scheduled day.			
7:26H-4.4(a)9	<u> </u>	[\$1,000]	NIM	
7.20 П-4.4 (a)9	Failure of the collector to provide the customer at least 10 days	_ , _	NM NM	
	written notice of its intention to	<u>\$2,500</u>		
	discontinue service.			
7:26H-4.4(b)3	Failure of solid waste utility to	[\$1,000]	<u>M</u>	20
7.2011-4.4(0)3	include all required items, listed		<u>IVI</u>	<u>30</u>
	separately, on all bills for	<u>\$2,000</u>		
	collection.			
7:26H-4.7(a)1	Failure of the disposal utility to	[\$1,000]	M	20
1.20Π -4.7(a)1			<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
	operate according to the schedule	<u>\$2,000</u>		
	contained in its permits and approved tariff; Failure to ensure			
	11			
	all hours and rates are publicly			
7:26H-4.7(b)2	posted. Failure of the disposal utility to	[\$1,000]	M	20
1.2011-4.7(0)2	comply with billing and invoicing	\$2,000	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
	requirements.	φ4,000		
7:26H-4.7(b)4	Failure to comply with the facility's	[\$1,000]	M	30
/.2011-4./(U)4	applicable rate schedule by		171	30
	assessing a late payment charge on	<u>\$2,000</u>		
	an unpaid bill when such a charge			
	is not provided for in the disposal			
	facility's applicable rate schedule			
	7 22			
	approved by the Department.		1	1

Citation	Summary	Base	Type of	Grace Period
<u>N.J.A.C.</u>		<u>Penalty</u>	Violation	(days)
7:26H-4.7(c)1	Failure of the solid waste utility to comply with advanced payment	[\$2,500] \$2,000	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
	account requirements.			

4. The violations of N.J.A.C. 7:26H-5, Solid Waste Collection Regulatory Reform, whether the violation is minor or non-minor, the length of the grace period, and the civil administrative penalty amounts for each violation are as set forth in the following table.

Citation	Summary	Base	Type of	Grace Period
(N.J.A.C.)	-	<u>Penalty</u>	Violation	(days)
7:26H-5.4(a)	Failure of the solid waste collector	\$2,500	<u>NM</u>	
	to charge or receive only those rates			
	or charges for solid waste			
	collection service which would			
	result from effective competition.			
	No solid waste collector shall			
	charge or receive rates or charges			
	for solid waste collection service			
	which are greater than or less than			
	rates or charges what would result			
	from effective competition.			
7:26H-5.6(a)	Failure of solid waste utility to pay	[\$1,000]	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
	annual utility fee.	<u>\$2,000</u>		
7:26H-5.9(c)1	Failure of solid waste utility to	[\$1,000]	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
	submit annual Customer List.	<u>\$2,000</u>		
7:26H-5.9(c)7	Failure of solid waste utility to	[\$2,500]	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
	maintain customer lists in proper	\$2,000		
	format and available for inspection.			
7:26H-	Failure of the collector to notify	[\$2,000]	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
5.12[(a)] (b)	customers at least once each year	\$2,000		
	that solid waste collection services			
	in this State are available on a			
	competitive basis and include with			
	that notice a complete copy of a			
	customer bill of rights.			

Citation	Summary	Base	Type of	Grace Period
(N.J.A.C.)		<u>Penalty</u>	<u>Violation</u>	(days)
7:26H-	Failure of the solid waste collector	[\$1,000]	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
[5.12(b)5]	to handle customer complaints in a	<u>\$2,000</u>		
5.12(c)5	prompt, courteous, and efficient			
	manner.			
7:26H-	Failure of the solid waste collector	[\$1,000]	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
[5.12(b)6]	to remove and transport solid waste	\$2,000		
5.12(c)6	in an environmentally sound			
	manner that safeguards the public			
	health and preserves the quality of			
	the environment.			
7:26H-	Failure of the solid waste collector	[\$1,500]	<u>M</u>	30
[5.12(b)7]	to notify its customers in writing at	\$2,000		_
5.12(c)7	least 10 days prior to any increase			
	or decrease in rates.			
7:26H-	Failure of the solid waste collector	[\$1,000]	<u>M</u>	1
[5.12(b)9]	to remove its container or other	\$2,000		_
5.12(c)9	equipment from the customers	1 7		
	premises within three days of the			
	effective date of discontinuance			
	regardless of the status of the			
	account.			
7:26H-	Failure of the solid waste collector	[\$500]	<u>M</u>	30
[5.12(b)15]	to transmit copies of any notice of	\$2,000	111	<u> </u>
5.12(c)15	discontinuance of service to the	φ 2, 000		
<u>3:12(c)13</u>	Department at the same time it is			
	transmitted to the customer.			
7:26H-	Failure of solid waste utility to	[\$1,000]	<u>M</u>	30
[5.12(b)16]	ensure solid waste services	\$2,000	141	<u>50</u>
5.12(c)16	contracts or agreements do not	Ψ2,000		
3.12(C)10	include any clause that [which]			
	calls for automatic renewal of the			
	contract or agreement.			
7:26H-	Failure of collection utility to	[\$1,000]	<u>M</u>	30
[5.12(b)17]	display their name, as it appears on	\$2,000	141	<u>30</u>
- ' ' -	their Certificate of Public	φ ∠,υυυ		
5.12(c)17	Convenience and Necessity, and			
	any "trading as" name on all			
	vehicles and containers.			
[7.26H 5 12(a)]		[\$1,0001		
[7:26H-5.12(c)]	[Failure of collector to include in	[\$1,000]		
	the customer bill of rights all the			
	information set forth at N.J.A.C.			
	7:26h-5.12(c)1 through 17.]			

Citation	Summary	Base	Type of	Grace Period
(N.J.A.C.)		<u>Penalty</u>	Violation	(days)
7:26H-5.12(d)	Failure of the collector to submit	\$2,000	<u>M</u>	<u>30</u>
	a certification to the Department			
	certifying that each customer was			
	provided with a customer bill of			
	rights.			

5. The violations of N.J.A.C. 7:26H-6, Uniform Bid Specifications for Municipal Solid Waste Collection Contracts, whether the violation is minor or non-minor, the length of the grace period, and the civil administrative penalty amounts for each violation are as set forth in the following table.

Citation	Summary	<u>Base</u>	Type of	Grace Period
(N.J.A.C.)		<u>Penalty</u>	Violation	(days)
7:26H-6.15(b)	Failure of the contractor to	[\$1,000]	<u>M</u>	<u>1</u>
	promptly and properly attend to all	\$2,000		
	complaints of residents and all			
	notices, directives and orders of the			
	contract administrator within 24			
	hours of the receipt of same; to			
	keep a record of complaints and the			
	date and time of the responses to			
	such complaints, as well any action			
	taken; to provide a written			
	summary of all complaints and			
	responses to the contract			
	administrator each month.			

N.J.A.C. 7:26H-5.19 Matrix penalty determination

- (a) through (d) (no change.)
- (e) The Department shall assess a civil administrative penalty for violations described in this section on the basis of the seriousness of the violation and the conduct of the violator at the midpoint of the following ranges **as follows:**
- 1. A violation that meets the criteria at (e)1i through iii below and the criteria at N.J.A.C. 7:26H-5.24(c)1 through 5 is minor. Such a minor violation shall be

subject to a grace period of 30 days if it meets the criteria of subsections i through iii below and N.J.A.C. 7:26H-5.24. If compliance is not achieved in the required time period, the violator shall be subject to a \$2,000 penalty, to be assessed in accordance with the procedures set forth at N.J.A.C. 7:26H-5.24.

- i. The violation poses minimal risk to the public health, safety and natural resources;
- ii. The violation does not materially and substantially undermine or impair the goals of the regulatory program; and
- <u>iii.</u> The activity or condition constituting the violation is capable of being corrected and compliance achieved within the time prescribed by the Department.
- 2. A violation that does not meet the criteria set forth in (e)1 above is non-minor and the penalty shall be assessed at the mid-point of the following ranges, unless adjusted pursuant to (h) below and in accordance with the applicable severity frequency multipliers identified in (i) below.

		SERIOUSNESS		
		<u>Major</u>	Moderate	<u>Minor</u>
	Major	\$9,000-	\$7,000-	\$5,000-
		\$10,000	\$8,000	\$6,000
		(\$9,500 midpoint)	(\$7,500 midpoint)	(\$5,500 midpoint)
CONDUCT	Moderate	\$7,000-	\$4,000-	\$2,000-
		\$8,000	\$5,000	\$3,000
		(\$7,500 midpoint)	(\$4,500 midpoint)	(\$2,500 midpoint)
	Minor	\$5,000-	\$2,000-	[\$250-
		\$6,000	\$3,000	\$1,500
		(\$5,500 midpoint)	(\$2,500 midpoint)	(\$875
				midpoint)] N/A*

*N/A means not applicable.

(f) through (i) (No change.)

N.J.A.C. 7:26H-5.20 Penalty for submitting inaccurate or false information (a) – (d) (No change.)

(e) A violation under this section is non-minor and therefore not subject to a grace period.

N.J.A.C. 7:26H-5.21 Penalty for failure to allow lawful entry and inspection

(a) - (d) (No change.)

(e) A violation under this section is non-minor and therefore not subject to a grace period.

N.J.A.C. 7:26H-5.22 Vehicles used to transport food not to be used to transport solid waste; exceptions and penalties

- (a) (h) (No change.)
- (i) A violation under this section is non-minor and therefore not subject to a grace period.

[7:26H-5.23 Severability

If any provision of this subchapter or the application thereof to any person or circumstances is held invalid, such invalidity shall not affect other provisions or applications, and to this end, the provisions of this subchapter are declared to be severable.]

N.J.A.C. 7:26H-5.23 Grace period applicability; procedures

- (a) Each violation identified in the penalty tables at N.J.A.C. 7:26H-5.18(f) by an "M" in the Type of Violation column and for each violation that is determined to be minor under N.J.A.C. 7:26H-5.19(f)1, for which the conditions at (c) below are satisfied, is a minor violation, and is subject to a grace period, the length of which is indicated in the column with the heading "Grace Period."
- (b) Each violation identified in the penalty tables at N.J.A.C. 7:26H-5.18(f) by an "NM" in the Type of Violation column is a non-minor violation and will not be subject to a grace period.
- (c) The Department or local government agency shall provide a grace period for any violation identified as minor under this section, provided the following conditions are met:
- 1. The violation is not the result of the purposeful, knowing, reckless or criminally negligent conduct of the person responsible for the violation;
- 2. The activity or condition constituting the violation has existed for less than 12 months prior to the date of discovery by the Department or local government agency;
- 3. In the case of a violation that involves a permit, the person responsible for the violation has not been identified in a previous enforcement action by the Department or local government agency as responsible for a violation of the same requirement of the same

permit within the preceding 12 month period;

4. In the case of a violation that does not involve a permit, the person
responsible for the violation has not been notified in a previous enforcement action by the
department or a local government agency as responsible for the same or a substantially similar
violation at the same facility within the preceding 12-month period; and
5. In the case of any violation, the person responsible for the violation has
not been identified by the Department or a local government agency as responsible for the
same or substantially similar violations at any time that reasonably indicate a pattern of illegal
conduct and not isolated incidents on the part of the person responsible.
(d) For a violation determined to be minor under (c) above, the following provisions apply:
1. The Department or local government agency shall issue a notice of
violation to the person responsible for the minor violation that:
i. Identifies the condition or activity that constitutes the violation and the specific statutory and regulatory provision or other requirement violated; and
ii. Specifies that a penalty may be imposed unless the minor violation

is corrected and compliance is achieved within the specified grace period.

and demonstrates, in accordance with (d)3 below, that compliance has been achieved within the specified grace period, the Department or local government agency shall not impose a penalty for the violation, and in addition, shall not consider the minor violation for purposes of calculating the "severity penalty component" under N.J.A.C. 7:26H-5.18(e).

- 3. The person responsible for a violation shall submit to the Department or local government agency, before the end of the specified grace period, written information, signed by the person responsible for the minor violation, detailing the corrective action taken or compliance achieved.
- 4. If the person responsible for the minor violation seeks additional time beyond the specified grace period to achieve compliance, the person shall request an extension of the specified grace period. The request shall be made in writing no later than one week before the end of the specified grace period and include the anticipated time needed to achieve compliance, the specific cause or causes of the delay, and any measures taken or to be taken to minimize the time needed to achieve compliance. The Department may, at its discretion, approve in writing an extension, which shall not exceed 90 days, to accommodate the anticipated delay in achieving compliance. In exercising its discretion to approve a request for an extension, the Department may consider the following:
- i. Whether the violator has taken reasonable measures to achieve compliance in a timely manner;
- ii. Whether the delay has been caused by circumstances beyond the control of the violator;
 - iii. Whether the delay will pose a risk to the public health, safety and

natural resources; and

iv. Whether the delay will materially or substantially undermine or impair the goals of the regulatory program.

- 5. If the person responsible for the minor violation fails to demonstrate to the Department or local government agency that the violation has been corrected and compliance achieved within the specified grace period or within the approved extension, if any, the Department or local government agency may, in accordance with the provisions of this chapter, impose a penalty that is retroactive to the date the notice of violation under (d)1 was issued.
- 6. The person responsible for a minor violation shall not request more than one extension of a grace period specified in a notice of violation.

7:26H-5.24 Severability

If any provision of this subchapter or the application thereof to any person or circumstances is held invalid, such invalidity shall not affect other provisions or applications, and to this end, the provisions of this subchapter are declared to be severable.

Based on consultation with staff, I hereby certify that the above statements, including the Federal Standards Statement addressing the requirements of Executive Order No. 27 (1994) and the Administrative Procedure Act, N.J.S.A. 52:14B-1 et seq., permit the public to understand accurately and plainly the purposes and expected consequences of this proposal. I hereby authorize this proposal.

Date
Bradley M. Campbell, Commissioner
Department of Environmental Protection