Governor Chris Christie • Lt.Governor Kim Guadagno
new jersey department of environmental protection
NJ Home Page Services A to Z NJ FAQs NJ Departments/Agencies departments
site remediation program

SRP Home | DEP Home

SRRA Stakeholder Process


Site Remediation Program
Stakeholder Process

Commissioner Martin and Assisitant Commissioner Sweeney believe that working with a broad range of stakeholders is essential to making the transition from the old SRP paradigm to a new successful LSRP program. To this end, the Department has set up an extensive stakeholder process for general program issues, rules and guidance. Names of the stakeholder committees, DEP chairpersons, and goals of each of these stakeholder committees are provided below.


LSRP Program Steering Committee:

Tom Cozzi/Karen Hershey (co-chairs)

Committee goal: To work with the Department on the implementation of the existing LSRP program. The Committee is comprised of SRP managers and staff, environmental consultants, industry representatives, lawyers and members of the environmental community. The Steering Committee meets to discuss general program issues and propose solutions to identified problems.


Technical Guidance:

George Nicholas (DEP chair)
Kathy Kunze, Suzanne Shannon, Joe Nowak

Committee Goal: To develop topic specific Technical Guidance that will work in concert with the Technical Rules by providing recommendations, approaches and technical issues to be considered in the remediation of contaminated sites. These guidance documents should be used by the LSRP or remediating party during the remedial process to provide a basic framework for making decisions and for applying professional judgment. The LSRP licensing board may also use the Guidance to help evaluate whether professional judgment was applied appropriately at a site.

Round 2 guidance committees and chairpersons:
(formed in September 2012)

OffSite Source Investigation/Documentation:  George Nicholas
Co-Mingled GW Plumes:  Mary Anne Kuserk
Historic Pesticide Use:  Chris Dwyer
Capping:  Terry Sugihara
Performance Monitoring of In-situ Ground Water Remedial Actions:  Joel Fradel and Maria VanderZelder
Evaluation of Contaminated Ground Water Discharge to Surface Water:  Bill Hanrahan
Child Care Centers:  Alphonse Inserra (formed April 2013)
Planning for and Response to Catastrophic Events at Contaminated Sites:  Janine MacGregor (formed January 2014)

A complete list of the guidance team members may be found at:

Round 1 guidance committees and chairpersons:
(formed in July 2010)

Vapor Intrusion: John Boyer
: Kevin Kratina
Receptor Evaluation:
Steve Maybury
Presumptive Remedies:
Lynne Mitchell
Immediate Environmental Concern:
Bruce Venner/Andrew Sites
Clean Fill/Alternative Fill
: Terry Sugihara
Historic Fill:
Kevin Schick
Technical Impracticability:
Tom O’Neill
Monitored Natural Attenuation:
Matt Turner
Conceptual Site Model:
Joe Eaker
Analytical Methods:
Greg Toffoli
Ecological Investigation:
Nancy Hamill
Attainment (Compliance):
Barry Frasco/David Haymes
Preliminary Assessment:
John Doyon/Josh Gradwohl
SI/RI Soils: John Doyon/Josh Gradwohl
PA/SI/RI Groundwater:
Bill Hanrahan

A complete list of the guidance team members may be found at:

Guidance document review process:

When a draft final guidance document is completed by a Committee, all Committee members should review the document and support releasing the document for external review. The document will be distributed to Stakeholders on all of the 2nd Round Technical Guidance Committees for review and comment. Those Stakeholders receiving the document will also be requested to assume responsibility for coordinating reviews within their respective constituencies and funneling comments back to the Committee Chairperson. The draft guidance document will also be distributed to the SRP Assistant Commissioner’s office and any interested DEP-SRP staff for review and comment. In addition, Stakeholders on the SRRA Steering Committee will have an opportunity to review the document for major flaws and this review will be coordinated by the DEP Steering Committee Chairperson. The review period for draft Guidance documents will be six weeks. Following the close of the comment period, the Technical Guidance Committee issuing the document will review all comments and revise the document, if necessary, in response to comments received. Significant technical comments will be addressed in writing by the Committee and posted on the DEP’s Web page as a “Response to Comments” document. After final revision, the Technical Guidance Committee will release the document as a “Final Technical Guidance” document, it will be posted on the DEP’s SRP Guidance Library webpage and a SRRA Listserve message will be issued.


Remedial Prioirity System:

George Klein (DEP chair)

Committee goal: To develop a Remedial Priority Scoring (RPS) system to measure each contaminated site's relative risk to human and ecological health. The system will be based on the Department’s existing electronic data and will be enhanced as new data, improved logic and additional capabilities become available.


Additional stakeholder efforts:



Site Remediation Advisory Group and Cooperative Venture Program

David Haymes (DEP chair)

Committee goal: The Site Remediation Advisory Group (SRAG) and Cooperative Venture Project (CVP) meetings are a valuable opportunity for stakeholders to meet with Department personnel to discuss specific technical and administrative issues concerning their constituencies. These meetings will be an interactive forum where targeted information is presented and problems and issues are discussed and resolved. The goal of the Site Remediation Program is to make the remedial process more transparent, predictable and efficient. These meetings will help achieve that goal and promote the Department’s Stakeholder process.


Rules for Petroleum Storage Tanks Not Regulated by N.J.A.C. 7:14B (UHOT Rules and Guidance)

Ken Kloo (Rule Manager)

Stakeholder group: Yes

A complete list of the UHOT Rule team members may be found at: