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 The Department received comments from Gerald Goldman, General Counsel, New Jersey 

Check Cashers Association.  

COMMENT: The commenter thanked the Department for its efforts on the proposed regulation 

and its efforts in attempting to allocate the financial burden of the dedicated funding assessments 

fairly across all regulated sectors. 

RESPONSE:  The Department appreciates the expression of support for the proposal. 

 

COMMENT:  The commenter stated that they were generally in agreement with the policies 

underlying the proposed regulations and that dedicated funding is the preferred funding 

mechanism for financial regulatory activities because it provides greater assurance that the 

regulator will have sufficient operating funds in the event of economic fluctuations which would 

otherwise impact the state budget.  The commenter stated that they believed that past budgetary 

and resource issues have negatively affected the Department’s efficiency and timeliness in 

processing licenses and other applications and that shortages in personnel and resources have 

negatively affected the Department’s ability to pursue unlicensed and illegal check cashers and 

other money service businesses which still continue to operate in New Jersey.  The commenter 

noted that they hoped that dedicated funding will provide resources to the Department that will 

allow it to be more responsive to industry and to rid the state of illegal and unlicensed check 

cashers. 

RESPONSE:  The Department appreciates the expression of support for the proposal. 
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COMMENT:  The commenter concurred with the proposal to amend N.J.A.C. 3:1-7.2 and 7.4 to 

change the spelling of the word “cashiers” to “cashers.”  The commenter stated the term for the 

licensed activity is the cashing of checks, in which case “cashers” is the appropriate term. 

RESPONSE:  The Department appreciates the expression of support for the proposal.   

COMMENT:  The commenter agreed with the need for an amendment to require check casher 

licensees to provide proof of compliance with the 2,500 foot distance restriction imposed by 

N.J.S.A. 17:15A-41(e) prior to continuation of business operations at a new location. 

RESPONSE:  The Department appreciates the expression of support for the proposal. 

 

COMMENT:  The commenter stated that the proposed amendment to N.J.A.C. 3:1-7.6 provides 

for a mandatory $50.00 per diem penalty for the late filing of annual reports and a mandatory 

$150.00 per diem penalty for late payment of assessments, up to a maximum of 20 percent of the 

assessment due.  The commenter stated they understand the need for a penalty mechanism to 

encourage and enforce the timely filing of reports and payment of assessments; however, they 

disagree with the non-discretionary nature of the proposed language, which would appear to 

require assessment of a penalty in all cases of late annual report filings or late assessment 

payments, without regard to emergent or mitigating circumstances.  

RESPONSE:  The Department thanks the commenter for acknowledging the need for a penalty 

mechanism to encourage and enforce the timely filing of reports and payment of assessments.  

The failure to timely file annual reports or pay assessments affects not just the Department, but 

all other comparable licensees who will bear the financial burden of those licensees who do not 

pay their assessments.  The assessment of penalties serves to impress upon licensees the 
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importance of their obligations and provides an effective means of ensuring the timely filing of 

annual reports and the timely remission of assessment payments 

 

COMMENT:  The commenter noted that proposed N.J.A.C. 3:1-7.6(a)1 provides for electronic 

filing of annual reports.  The commenter stated that, because there presently exists no mechanism 

for the electronic filing of reports, they are unable to comment on the efficiency and accuracy of 

the system proposed.  Further, the same regulation provides for an April 1st deadline for filing 

electronic reports, whereas proposed N.J.A.C. 3:1-7.6(a)2 provides for a March 1st deadline for 

filing annual reports via hard copy.  The commenter proposed there be one single due date for all 

reports regardless of filing method.  Further, the commenter noted that some licensees do not 

have access to data systems, which are not required by statute, in which case such licensees will 

be placed at a disadvantage by having a 30-day shorter deadline. 

RESPONSE: The Department notes that the commenter has suggested that there be one single 

due date for all annual reports regardless of whether they are filed electronically or by hard copy.  

In recognition of the possibility that some licensees may not have computer capability, the 

Department provided the option of filing annual reports in hard copy in the proposed 

amendments.   

The rules establish the March 1 deadline for the manual filing of annual reports because 

the Department needs additional time to enter the data supplied in such reports into its 

computerized database.  

Rather than imposing mandatory electronic filing and requiring certain filers to incur the 

added expense of creating electronic data, the Department will accept manual filings and will 

convert those filings to electronic form.  The earlier date for manual filing is required to allow 
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time for the entry of data by Department personnel so as to enable the Department to determine 

the volume assessment component of the dedicated funding assessment to be made upon check 

casher licensees as set forth in N.J.A.C. 3:5-4(c)1.  The Department does not believe that those 

who file electronically should be forced to file earlier than necessary, as their data will not have 

to be manually entered by Department staff. 

The commenter suggested that those filing by hard copy will be disadvantaged by having 

a March 1 deadline, as opposed to those filing electronically who will have an April 1 deadline.  

The Department believes that these deadlines must be considered along with proposed N.J.A.C. 

3:23-4.2, dealing with annual reports.  This section requires licensees seeking permission to file 

by hard copy to submit their request by January 15.  Thus, those filers not having the ability to 

electronically file annual reports will already be on a different time track regarding the filing of 

their annual report.  Such licensees will need to request permission to file by hard copy not later 

than January 15, monitor their receipt of the granting of such a request, and then prepare to meet 

the March 1 deadline. 

 

COMMENT:  The commenter noted proposed N.J.A.C. 3:1-7.6(a)3 provides that an 

“incomplete” annual report shall be deemed to be not filed, in which case the licensee would be 

subject to a $50.00 per day penalty.  The commenter noted that the corresponding subsection, 

N.J.A.C. 3:1-7.6(c), does not provide for any maximum amount that can be imposed upon a 

licensee for a late report.  The commenter  also noted that the proposed regulation at  N.J.A.C. 

3:1-7.6 provides no description of what the Department would consider to be a material error and 

the regulation provides no mechanism for fair notice to a licensee that their annual report is 

found erroneous.  The commenter found these provisions, which do not provide for notice to the 
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affected licensee and make no allowance for inadvertent human or computer error, to be unfairly 

punitive.   

RESPONSE: The $50.00 per day penalty to which the commenter refers does not begin to run 

until the date that the annual report is due.  Therefore, if an error or an omission is discovered 

and corrected prior to that date, no penalty would be assessed.  The application of the material 

error standard for annual reports can be found in N.J.S.A. 17:1C-48b, which  provides for a 

penalty for any licensee who submits figures on loan volume, number of branches or any other 

factor used by the Department to compute the license's assessment that are substantially or 

materially in error.  The standard legal definition of those terms would apply. 

   It is the obligation of the regulated entity to file a complete and accurate annual report 

by the date due.  The Department will provide assistance and information on its website and 

through educational programs to help regulated entities fulfill their obligation.  Because the 

assessment process is dependent upon the Department’s timely receipt of complete and accurate 

data from all regulated entities, the authority to impose significant sanctions upon entities that 

fail to fulfill that obligation is essential. 

 

COMMENT:  The commenter noted that proposed N.J.A.C. 3:1-7.6 is unclear whether a licensee 

submitting an incomplete report will be assessed a per diem penalty for each day until the error is 

discovered by the Department and subsequently corrected by the licensee.  The commenter gave 

the example of a licensee who did not receive notice from the Department of the error for 100 

days. The issue would be whether the licensee would be assessed a $50.00 per diem penalty, 

which in the example would be $5,000.  The commenter recommended that there be a cap on the 

maximum amount that could be assessed.  With regard to errors, the commenter proposed that 



 7

there be language allowing for the assessment of a penalty only for material errors and a 

requirement that the Department first provide notice of an incomplete filing and permit the 

licensee a reasonable period of time to correct a report prior to assessment of a per diem penalty. 

RESPONSE: As stated earlier, it is the regulated entity's obligation to submit a complete and 

accurate annual report by the date due and no penalty will be incurred prior to that date.  The 

regulated entity can commence the process of compiling the data needed for the report during the 

year to which the report will pertain.  The regulated entity will then have at least two months to 

finalize the data, if they are filing manually, prior to the date it must be filed with the 

Department.  Those who are filing electronically will have at least three months to finalize their 

data.  The Department believes that this is a reasonable amount of time prior to the assessment of 

a penalty.  Because the timely filing of annual reports is critical to the accurate calculation of the 

assessment amounts to be imposed upon licensees, the penalties provided for in N.J.A.C. 3:1-7.6 

will run from the date upon which the annual report was to have been filed.  

 

COMMENT:  The commenter noted that proposed N.J.A.C. 3:1-7.6(b), which provides that 

licensees will be issued penalties of $150.00 per day for late payments of assessments, up to a 

maximum of 20 percent of the amount of the assessment, could result in unreasonably punitive 

penalties.  The commenter continued  that under proposed N.J.A.C. 3:1-7.6(b)1, an assessment 

paid with a dishonored or returned check will be deemed unpaid and the $150.00 daily penalty 

will continue to accrue until a replacement check is received by the Department.  The commenter 

noted under current N.J.A.C. 3:1-6.7, which relates to payment of examination fees, the 

Department will notify a licensee in writing if a check is returned and the licensee is then 

required to provide either a certified or cashier’s check plus $10.00.  The commenter stated they 
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understood that annual assessments are intended to pay for expenses previously incurred by the 

Department in regulating licensees; however, the proposed new penalty structure seems to 

indicate a new attitude by the Department toward its licensees.  The commenter suggested that a 

requirement that a licensee first be given notice in the event of the late payment of an assessment 

be added.  The commenter also proposed that in the case of a  declined or returned check,  the 

licensee be given notice and an opportunity to provide a replacement check before a penalty 

would be assessed. 

RESPONSE: The Department notes that N.J.S.A. 17:1C-42 requires the Department to report all 

assessments on which payment has not been made and objections have not been filed to the State 

Treasurer within 30 days.  Given these statutory time constraints, the Department does not 

believe that the penalty structure is unreasonably punitive. Further, a returned check for an 

assessment is not subject to penalty until after the due date indicated on the assessment.  It is the 

obligation of the regulated entity to pay the amount assessed by the due date on the assessment.  

If a payment is returned or declined prior to that date and the regulated entity issues a 

replacement check prior to the due date, no penalty will be imposed.   

 The Department acknowledges that under N.J.A.C. 3:1-6.7 the Department gives notices 

of returned checks and requires a replacement and a $10.00 fee.  The Department understands 

that in the daily course of business, a regulated entity may have a check returned or dishonored.  

However, the Department does not believe, given the import of the assessment, that it is 

unreasonable to expect a regulated entity to ensure that the funds to pay the assessment are 

available at the time that the payment is made.  To clarify any perceived ambiguity between the 

two provisions, upon the adoption of amendments to N.J.A.C. 3:1-6.7, elsewhere in this issue of 

the New Jersey Register, that rule is being amended to clarify that returned or dishonored checks 
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submitted in payment of an annual assessment are governed by N.J.A.C. 3:1-7.6(b) and not 

N.J.A.C. 3:1-6.7. 

 

COMMENT:  The commenter noted that proposed N.J.A.C. 3:1-7.6(d) provides that, in addition 

to any monetary penalty, “a licensee shall be subject to revocation” for an unpaid assessment 

and/or the failure to file an annual report.  The commenter objected to the apparently non-

discretionary and punitive nature of the language.  The commenter noted that although an 

enforcement mechanism must be in place, the proposed language is truly harsh.  The commenter 

stated the regulation provides absolutely no requirement for notice to the affected licensee and 

does not provide the affected licensee any opportunity to be heard.  Moreover, the commenter 

stated that the regulation does not provide for a suspension as an interim measure.  The 

commenter suggested a fairer and more reasonable approach would be to require that the 

Department provide notice of a late report or assessment payment and, additionally, the licensee 

should be subject to a license suspension as opposed to revocation, but only after notice and an 

opportunity to be heard.   

RESPONSE: The Department does not believe the language is unduly harsh. The language that 

the commenter stated is nondiscretionary and punitive in nature simply states that if the 

assessment remains unpaid after the date due or if the annual report is not filed after it is due, in 

addition to monetary penalties the "the licensee shall be subject to revocation.”  The intent of the 

language is to make clear that, whether or not penalties have been assessed, the Commissioner 

retains the authority to seek to revoke the license of the regulated entity.  If the Commissioner 

does commence an action seeking revocation, it would be in accordance with the normal 

procedures and would provide to the entity all requisite due process. 
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COMMENT:  With respect to proposed N.J.A.C. 3:24-1.4, relating to check casher application 

fees, the commenter believed that “the flat increase of all check cashing licensing fees across the 

board to $700.00 is an excessive increase.”  The commenter stated that the existing $300.00 fee 

for a principal office application would be increased by 233 percent and the present $250.00 fee 

for mobile and branch office applications would be increased by 280 percent.  The commenter 

stated these increases are excessive and unprecedented, and, further, there has been no showing 

as to how the increase in application fees is tied into or affects the overall methodology for 

assessment calculation. 

RESPONSE: The Department believes that the commenter does not fully understand the intent 

of the assessment process or its  effects on the fees paid by assessed entities.  Application fees 

are not tied to the effect or methodology of the assessment calculation.  Application fees reflect 

the costs of assessing and processing the respective applications.  Prior to the implementation of 

the dedicated funding statute, a regulated entity would usually be charged both an application fee 

and a license fee at the time of initially applying for a credential, license fees again upon each 

renewal, and other fees for miscellaneous services which were subsequently provided.  The 

initial and renewal licensing fees and other miscellaneous fees have been eliminated.  The 

adjustment of the application fee to $700.00 reflects a change that more accurately reflects the 

costs to the Department of reviewing an initial application for a license and actually decreases 

the total amount an applicant for a new check casher license had been required to pay under the 

former funding structure. 
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COMMENT: The commenter stated that the increase in the fee for “limited branch office” 

applications to $700.00 flatly contradicts the recent statutory amendments to the Check Casher 

Regulatory Act.  The commenter stated that, specifically, by virtue of an amendment to N.J.S.A. 

17:15A-40(b), “the initial license fee” for a limited branch office shall not exceed $100.00.  The 

commenter stated that the proposed rule amendment would violate the Check Casher Regulatory 

Act and is thus beyond the Department’s rulemaking authority.  The commenter noted that the 

Department’s application for a limited branch office is currently rather simple and does not 

require either financial analysis or submission of survey information.  The commenter stated the 

proposed amendments to N.J.A.C. 3:24-1.4 eliminate the fees charged for applications for 

changes of control and changes of address, both of which involve much more complicated 

application procedures.  The commenter proposed that, in order to comply with the statutory 

limitation at N.J.S.A. 17:15A-40(b), the charge for a limited branch office be eliminated. 

RESPONSE:  The Department disagrees that the proposed $700.00 application fee for a “limited 

branch office” violates the Check Cashers Regulatory Act of 1993 (the Act) and is beyond the 

Department’s rulemaking authority.  The Act, at N.J.S.A. 17:15A-41c, states that "[t]he 

commissioner shall authorize a licensee, pursuant to an application approved by the 

commissioner, to operate a limited branch office or offices, the business of which shall be 

limited to cashing checks for a particular group or groups at one or more private premises, 

provided that the holder of a limited branch authorization observes all of the rules and 

regulations issued by the commissioner applicable to all licensees except that: (1) the books and 

records required to be kept may be kept at the principal office of the licensee; and (2) the 

requirements of section 8 of this act concerning capital and net worth shall not apply with respect 

to a limited branch office if the licensee is in compliance with section 8 of this act with respect to 
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its principal office." N.J.S.A. 17:15A-41c.  Thus, the Legislature did not include, among the 

exceptions to the requirement that licensees seeking to operate limited branch offices comply 

with all of the rules and regulations of the Department, any provision exempting applicants for 

limited branch office licenses from the obligation to pay an application fee as set forth in those 

rules.   

The rationale of the commenter’s conclusion that the proposed application fee of $700.00 

violates the Check Casher Regulatory Act is based on a recent statutory amendment to the Act at 

N.J.S.A. 17:15A-40(b) which limits an initial license fee for a “limited branch office” to a 

maximum of $100.00.  In fact, the proposed rule amendments eliminate the initial license fee for 

a “limited branch office”  in accordance with the recently enacted statute on dedicated funding, 

P.L. 2005, c. 199, which statutorily eliminated annual license fees.  In addition, P.L. 2005, c. 199 

specifically continued the authority of the Department to charge application fees to its licensees.  

The comment fails to recognize this distinction in the controlling statute between license fees and 

application fees.  License fees were annual or biennial fees.  An application fee is a one-time fee 

and should be seen by the licensee as a cost to be amortized over the life of the business.  The 

commenter also notes that the proposal at N.J.A.C. 3:24-1.4 eliminates "application fees" 

charged for changes of control or changes of address.  The commenter suggests that likewise the 

application fee for a “limited branch office” should be eliminated, especially to comply with 

N.J.S.A. 17:15A-40(b).  As stated earlier, the Department has adjusted the amounts of the 

application fees to more accurately reflect the costs to the Department of reviewing applications.  

In the case of "limited branch offices" the Department must review the lease, the survey (for 

compliance with N.J.S.A. 17:15A-41(e), the “2500 foot rule”), the capital requirements and 

several of the other criteria for initial check casher license applications.  On that basis, the 



 13

Department believes the application fee for “limited branch office” specified at N.J.A.C. 3:24-

1.4 is authorized by statute and is an appropriate amount that is within the range specified by the 

law.  The Department therefore declines to make the suggested change. 

COMMENT: The commenter stated that, with respect to proposed N.J.A.C. 3:24-6.1, the 

amendment provides that “in accordance with N.J.A.C. 3:1-7.6,” the Department shall assess a 

penalty for the filing of a late report.  The commenter stated that, although they understand the 

need for a penalty mechanism to encourage and enforce the timely filing of annual reports, the 

proposed language would appear to require the assessment of a penalty in all cases of late filing 

without regard to emergent or mitigating circumstances.  The commenter also noted that the 

regulation provides for no maximum limit on the penalty amount, causing the proposed 

regulation to be unreasonably punitive.   

RESPONSE:  As was noted above in a prior Response, the $50.00 per day penalty to which the 

commenter refers does not begin to run until the date that the annual report is due.  Therefore, if 

an error or an omission is discovered and corrected prior to that date, no penalty would be 

assessed.   

 It is the obligation of the regulated entity to file a complete and accurate annual report by 

the due date.  The Department will provide assistance and information on its website and through 

educational programs to help regulated entities in their obligation.  However, the fairness and 

efficacy of the assessment process is dependent on the timely receipt of complete and accurate 

data from all regulated entities. 
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Federal Standards Statement 

The adopted amendments and repeals are not subject to any Federal standards or 

requirements. Therefore, a Federal standards analysis is not required.  

 

Full text of the new and amended rules as adopted follows: 

 

 

CHAPTER 1 

GENERAL PROVISIONS 

3:1-7.4  Address change 

 Every licensee referenced in N.J.A.C. 3:1-7.1(a)1 [in Schedule A or 3:1- 7.2(c)1 in 

Schedule B] that changes a licensed business address at any time shall, within 10 days of the 

change, submit information relative to the address change to the Commissioner, and surrender 

the affected license or licenses; except that pawnbrokers, check cashers and insurance premium 

finance companies shall comply with the provisions of N.J.A.C. 3:16-1.6, N.J.A.C. 3:24-1.6(h), 

or N.J.S.A. 17:16D-4, respectively. Licensees submitting a notice of change of address pursuant 

to this section shall submit their license or licenses for the issuance of the new license reflecting 

the change. Within 30 days of receipt of the notice of change of address and all documentation 

necessary to effectuate the change, the Commissioner shall issue a new license or licenses that 

reflect the change. With the exception of check cashers, while the licensee is awaiting the 

issuance of the license or licenses reflecting the new address, the licensee may continue in 

business, provided that all documentation is supplied, unless the licensee receives notice of 

suspension or revocation, or unless the licensing period if any, expires. 
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3:1-7.6 Penalty for late filing of annual reports and/or late payment of assessments 

 (a) Licensed lenders, motor vehicle installment sellers, home repair contractors, home 

financing agencies, check cashers, money transmitters, debt adjusters, foreign money 

transmitters, pawnbrokers, insurance premium finance companies, or any other licensees who 

fail to file an annual report on a timely basis as specified below shall be subject to a $50.00 per 

day penalty.  With the exception of licensed lenders, all such licensees who file applications to 

renew their license after the license expiration date shall be subject to a penalty of $50.00.  

Licensed lenders who file renewal license applications after the expiration of their licenses shall 

be subject to N.J.A.C. 3:15-2.6, including any penalties specified therein. 

1. Annual reports filed electronically will be deemed late if received after April 

1st of the year following the calendar year covered by the annual report.      

2. Annual reports filed by hard copy shall be considered late if mailed or shipped 

with an overnight delivery service after March 1 of the year following the calendar year 

covered by the annual report. Hard copy reports may only be filed by licensees who have 

received an exemption from the Department pursuant to N.J.A.C. 3:23-4.2 prior to filing. 

  3. Annual reports found by the Department to be incomplete shall be 

 deemed not filed.  

  4. Any report not filed by the date due, including those deemed not filed, shall be 

considered late and will be subject to penalty. 

 (b) A licensed lender, motor vehicle installment seller, home repair contractor, home 

financing agency, check casher, money transmitter, debt adjuster, foreign money transmitter, 

pawnbroker, insurance premium finance company and any other licensee that submits payment 
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of the assessment imposed upon them pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:1C-33 et seq. and N.J.A.C. 3:5 

after the due date indicated on their assessment statement shall be subject to a penalty. 

  1. Assessments paid with a dishonored or returned check shall be considered 

unpaid until a replacement check is received by the Department. 

  2. Assessments not paid because a replacement check has not been  received by 

the due date as required by (b)1 above shall be subject to a penalty. 

 (c) Unless otherwise prescribed by a statute applicable to a particular license type, a 

licensee who files a late annual report and/or whose assessment payment is unpaid after the date 

due as set forth in (a) above shall be subject to a penalty, in accordance with the following: 

  1. For late filing of the annual report, the penalty shall be $50.00 per day. 

  2. For late payment of the assessment, the penalty shall be $150.00 per day up to a 

maximum of 20 percent of the total assessment due. 

  (d) In addition to any monetary penalties a license shall be subject to revocation for an 

assessment that remains unpaid after the due date indicated on the assessment statement and/or 

for failing to file an annual report by the due date.   

 (e) The imposition of penalties shall not prevent the Department from imposing further 

penalties on the licensee for transacting business without a license. 

CHAPTER 15 

LICENSED LENDERS: MORTGAGE BANKERS; CORRESPONDENT MORTGAGE 

BANKERS; MORTGAGE BROKERS; SECONDARY LENDERS; CONSUMER LENDERS 

AND SALES FINANCE COMPANIES 
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3:15-2.1 Requirement to be licensed 

 (a) - (e) (No change.) 

(f) If a licensee files a complete application for renewal of his or her license on or before 

the expiration date of any licensing period, the licensee may continue to transact business 

without interruption until such time as he or she is notified that his or her application for renewal 

has been denied or that his or her license has been suspended or revoked. An application is 

complete if it is in proper form and includes all required documentation. 

3:15-2.2 Application for a license 

 (a) A person applying for a license pursuant to the Act shall submit the following: 

1. - 8. (No change.) 

Recodify existing 10. and 11. as 9. and 10. (No change in text.)  

 (b) - (c) (No change.) 

 (d) Application fees are nonrefundable. 

 

3:15-2.3 Branch offices; branch licensing requirement; initial branch licensing application 

 (a) (No change.) 

 (b) The application for a branch office license shall include the following: 

1. (No change.) 

2. The address of the principal New Jersey place of business; and 

3. The addresses of all branches to be licensed and a copy of the deed, lease or 

rental agreement for each, or a letter of intent for such a document. If a letter of intent is 

submitted, an executed copy of the document shall be provided within 60 days of 

approval of the application. 
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(c) - (f) (No change.) 

(g) Application fees are nonrefundable. 

 

3:15-2.4 Application for renewal of a license 

 (a) A person who holds in good standing a license as a licensed lender with authority to 

act as a mortgage banker, correspondent mortgage banker, mortgage broker, secondary mortgage 

lender, consumer lender or sales finance company who seeks to renew a license pursuant to this 

section shall submit the following in connection with the renewal application: 

  1. A completed renewal application form as prescribed by the  Commissioner 

which shall include the following: 

i. - ii.(No change.) 

iii. A certification that the applicant has bond coverage as specified in 

N.J.A.C. 3:15-3.1, and net worth as specified by N.J.S.A. 17:11C-14 of the Act, in 

the case of a mortgage banker, correspondent mortgage banker, mortgage broker; 

or a certification that the applicant has bond coverage as specified in N.J.A.C. 

3:15-3.1, and net worth and liquid assets as specified in N.J.S.A. 17:11C-15, in 

the case of a secondary mortgage lender; or a certification that the applicant has 

net worth and liquid assets as specified in N.J.S.A. 17:11C-16, in the case of a 

consumer lender. 

(b) No license shall be renewed unless all assessments due and owing as of the expiration 

date of the current license have been paid. 

 

3:15-2.5 Branch offices; renewal of branch licenses 
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 (a) A licensee in good standing who holds a license for a branch or branches with 

authority for the conduct of the business of a mortgage banker, correspondent mortgage banker, 

mortgage broker, secondary mortgage lender, consumer lender or sales finance company who 

wishes to renew a branch license pursuant to this section shall submit the following in 

connection with the renewal application: 

 1. A completed renewal application form as prescribed by the Commissioner which shall 

include the following for each branch to be renewed: 

i.-ii. (No change.) 

iii. The address of each branch whose license is being renewed. 

 

3:15-2.6 Late renewal of licenses; late filing fees; reinstatement fees 

 (a) A person who submits a renewal application after the expiration of the license, but no 

later than 45 calendar days after such expiration, may renew by  paying a penalty for late filing 

of $500.00. 

 (b) A person who submits a renewal application later than 45 but no more than 90 

calendar days following the expiration of the license shall be required to submit an application 

for reinstatement of the license. Such application for reinstatement shall be on   a form as 

prescribed by the Commissioner and shall be accompanied by  a penalty for late filing of 

$700.00 per license. 

 (c) A person who submits a renewal application later than 90 days following the 

expiration of the license shall be treated as a new licensee and be required to submit an 

application with a fee as specified in N.J.A.C. 3:15-4. 
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 (d) Payment of the fees or penalties under (a), (b) and (c) above shall be submitted in the 

form of a check made payable to "Treasurer--State of New Jersey." 

 (e) The date of submission for this section shall be the date the application is stamped 

received by the Department. If the licensee has proof of mailing issued by the post office or a 

pick-up receipt from a delivery service, that date shall be considered the date of submission. 

 (f) (No change in text.) 

 (g) Application fees are nonrefundable. 

 

3:15-2.7 Inactive license status; application fee 

 (a) A person holding an individual license in good standing with authority as a mortgage 

banker or correspondent mortgage banker or mortgage broker and/or as a secondary lender may 

apply to the Department, either at the time of license renewal or at any time during a licensing 

period during which the individual license is active, to place that license in inactive status  by 

completing an inactive license status request form as prescribed by the Commissioner. 

 (b) A person holding a sole proprietorship license with authority as a mortgage banker or 

correspondent mortgage banker or mortgage broker and/or secondary lender in good standing 

may apply to the Department, either at the time of license renewal or at any time during a 

licensing period during which the sole proprietorship license is active, to place his individual 

right to licensure, but not the right of the sole proprietorship entity, in inactive status by 

completing an inactive status request form as prescribed by the Commissioner. 

 (c) A person may keep his or her individual license and a person licensed as a sole 

proprietorship may keep his or her personal right to licensure but not the sole proprietorship 
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licensure in inactive status for a period not to exceed three license periods without becoming 

subject to re-examination, provided that: 

1. A new application fee as set forth in (d) below is paid on reactivation; and 

2. The person is employed without significant break by another licensee in the 

mortgage banking business; correspondent mortgage banking business, mortgage 

brokering business or secondary lending business, or by a depository institution in this 

state provided that he or she works primarily in residential mortgage lending. For the 

purposes of this subsection, a significant break shall not exceed 120 days in any licensing 

period. 

 (d) A person who holds an inactive individual license may reactivate the individual 

license by submitting an individual license reactivation form as prescribed by the Commissioner 

to the Department, including the payment of the appropriate license application fee as set forth in 

N.J.A.C. 3:15-4.3 and proof of continuous employment as defined in (c) above.  

 (e) Application fees are nonrefundable. 

 

3:15-2.8 Conversion of mortgage banking, correspondent mortgage banking, and mortgage 

brokering licenses 

 (a) A person licensed, in good standing, as a mortgage banker shall submit the following 

to convert from a mortgage banker to a correspondent mortgage banker, and a person licensed, in 

good standing, as a correspondent mortgage banker shall submit the following to convert from a 

correspondent mortgage banker to a mortgage banker: 

1. (No change.) 
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2. A completed conversion form, which shall include the name and address of the 

licensee, the requested date of conversion and a copy of the licensee's most recent annual 

report of tangible net worth filed pursuant to N.J.A.C. 3:15-6.16; and 

3. For a conversion to a correspondent mortgage banker, a signed affidavit from 

the president or other principal who owns, controls or votes 25 percent or more of the 

stock of the licensee, a general partner, a managing member or the sole proprietor stating 

that the licensee will not hold or service mortgage loans for more than 90 days in the 

regular course of business. 

 (b) A licensee shall submit the following to convert from a mortgage banker or a 

correspondent mortgage banker to a mortgage broker, or from a mortgage broker to a mortgage 

banker or a correspondent mortgage banker: 

1. (No change.) 

2. A completed conversion form, which shall include the name and address of the 

licensee, the requested date of conversion and a copy of the licensee's most recent annual 

report of tangible net worth filed pursuant to N.J.A.C. 3:15-6.16; and 

3. For a conversion to a mortgage broker, a signed affidavit from the president or 

other principal who owns, controls or votes 25 percent or more of the stock of the 

licensee, a general partner, a managing member or the sole proprietor stating that the 

licensee will not issue commitments or lock-ins in its name, will not close mortgage loans 

in its name, and will only charge borrowers application fees and discount points. 

 (c) (No change.)  
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3:15-2.12 Responsibilities and replacement of the entity's licensed natural person 

 (a) (No change.) 

 (b) The individual licensee upon whom a licensed lender entity license is dependent shall 

be fully qualified by passing the written examination required by N.J.A.C. 3:15-2.9 and shall be 

responsible to perform the following: 

1.- 4. (No change.) 

5. Ensure that license renewals and other licensing matters such as new branch 

office applications, changes of address, changes of name, change of control, change of 

business style, and requests for additional license authorities are submitted to the 

Department on the appropriate forms and accompanied by the required documentation 

6. - 7. (No change.) 

 

3:15-2.13 Registration of mortgage solicitors 

 (a) (No change.) 

(b) To register a mortgage solicitor, the prospective employing mortgage banker, 

correspondent mortgage banker or mortgage broker shall submit the following to the 

Department: 

1. (No change.) 

2. A $100.00 registration fee. A mortgage solicitor who changes his or her 

employing mortgage banker, correspondent mortgage banker or mortgage broker within 

the two-year registration period shall be re-registered by the new employing licensee by 

filing a new registration form with the $100.00 fee.  

3. (No change.) 
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(c) The Department shall provide all employing licensees with a mortgage solicitor 

registration certificate for each solicitor that shall be renewable every two years. The registration 

shall run from July 1, 2007 to June 30, 2009 and for two-year intervals thereafter.   

(d) - (e) (No change.) 

(f) The Commissioner shall refuse to register a person who changes affiliation if the 

Commissioner determines that the change is for the purpose of evading the licensing 

requirements of the Act. 

(g) Registration fees are nonrefundable. 

3:15-2.14 Change of control 

 (a) A licensee shall file a request for approval whenever a change of control of direct 

ownership of 25 percent or more of the licensee is planned. The change of control request shall 

be submitted at least 60 days prior to the anticipated sale date and shall include: 

1. -2. (No change.) 

Recodify existing 4. and 5. as 3. and 4. (No change in text.) 

 

3:15-2.15 Discontinuation of licensed lender business activity 

 (a) When a licensed lender with authority to act as a mortgage banker, correspondent 

mortgage banker, mortgage broker or secondary mortgage lender discontinues its licensed 

business operations in New Jersey, the licensed lender shall: 

1. - 7. (No change.)  

8.  Satisfy all outstanding obligations owed to the Department;  
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9. Satisfy all filing requirements including the final annual report which report 

shall be for the year in which the licensed lender discontinues its licensed business 

operations in New Jersey; 

10.  Pay all assessments due and owing and prepay the base assessment for the 

year of the discontinuance by paying the amount of the most recently billed base 

assessment within 15 days after ceasing business or upon being acquired.  Adjustments to 

the base assessment, if any, and the final volume assessment for the year of 

discontinuance will be billed in the year following the discontinuance.  In the event of an 

acquisition, the amount carried forward shall be paid by the acquiring entity; and 

11. Identify, in writing, the name, address and phone number of the person within 

the licensee's operation responsible for the payment of assessments. 

(b) When a licensed lender with authority to act as a consumer lender or sales finance 

company discontinues its licensed business operations in New Jersey, the licensed lender shall: 

1. - 5. (No change.) 

6. Satisfy all outstanding obligations owed to the Department including all 

assessments due and owing and prepay the base assessment for the year of the 

discontinuance by paying the amount of the most recently billed base assessment within 

15 days after ceasing business or upon being acquired.  Adjustments to the base 

assessment, if any, and the final volume assessment for the year of discontinuance will be 

billed in the year following the discontinuance;  

7. Satisfy all filing requirements including the final annual report which report 

shall be for the year in which the licensed lender discontinues its licensed business 

operations in New Jersey; and 
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8. Identify, in writing, the name, address and phone number of the person within 

the licensee's operation responsible for the payment of assessments. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 4. FEES 

3:15-4.2 Application fee   

  (a) A person who is applying for a license under the Act shall pay an application fee to 

the Department as follows: 

  1. One authority for an individual and/or company: $700.00; 

2. Two authorities for an individual and/or company: $1,000; 

3. Three authorities for an individual and/or company: $1,300; and  

 4. Four authorities for an individual and/or company: $1,600.   

(b) A licensee who subsequently applies for an additional authority shall pay an 

application fee for each such application of $300.00 per authority for each individual and/or 

company. 

 (c) (No change in text.) 

 

SUBCHAPTER 6. BOOKS AND RECORDS; EXAMINATIONS; ANNUAL REPORTS 

3:15-6.3 Location of books and records 

(a) -(b) (No change.) 

(c) The approval of the Department to keep records at a site or office specified in (b)2 

and 3 above shall be given only if the licensee enters into an agreement with the Department 

governing the maintenance and production of records at the site.  The provisions of the 

agreement shall include, but shall not be limited to, the designation of the site where the records 
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will be maintained, the fees and expenses chargeable by the Department for conducting 

examinations and investigations, if any, and the right of the Department to rescind the 

agreement. 

(d) - (e) (No change.) 

  

3:15-6.15 Charges for investigations 

 For any person not licensed or registered by the Department, the Department may charge 

for investigations at the same rate as provided for examinations in N.J.A.C. 3:1-6.6. For the 

purposes of this section, investigations shall include investigations by the enforcement or 

examinations units of the Department and special investigations by the consumer services unit 

but shall not include routine efforts by the consumer services unit to research or resolve 

consumer complaints.  

 

3:15-6.16 Reports to the Department 

 Each mortgage banker, correspondent mortgage banker, mortgage broker, secondary 

lender, consumer lender and sales finance company shall file a report with the Department 

annually on or before April 1 of each year. The report shall be submitted on forms provided by 

the Department and shall indicate the tangible net worth, net worth and liquid assets of the 

mortgage banker, correspondent mortgage banker, mortgage broker, secondary lender and 

consumer lender, as required. For mortgage banker, correspondent mortgage banker, mortgage 

broker and secondary lenders, the report shall indicate the warehousing lines available and 

outstanding. In accordance with N.J.A.C. 3:1-7.6, the Department shall assess a penalty against 
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any mortgage banker, correspondent mortgage banker, mortgage broker, secondary lender, 

consumer lender or sales finance company for each annual report filed late.  

 

CHAPTER 16 

PAWNBROKING LAW REGULATIONS 

3:16-1.2 Licensing 

(a) - (c) (No change.)  

(d) An applicant for a license shall apply on a form supplied by the Commissioner, which 

shall require the following information: 

1.- 2. (No change.) 

3. The application fee of $500.00; 

4. - 8. (No change.) 

 (e)  Application fees are not refundable. 

 

3:16-2.1 Recordkeeping; reporting 

(a) - (b) (No change.) 

 (c) In accordance with N.J.A.C. 3:1-7.6, the Department shall assess a penalty against 

any licensee for each report the licensee files late. 

 (d) (No change in text.)  

 

CHAPTER 19 

HOME REPAIR FINANCING ACT REGULATIONS 

3:19-1.2 Licensing requirement 
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(a) - (b) (No change.) 

(c) The application fee for a home repair contractor shall be $300.00 and $60.00 for a 

home repair salesperson. 

(d) Application fees are not refundable. 

 

CHAPTER 22 

INSURANCE PREMIUM FINANCE COMPANY ACT 

3:22-1.3 Annual report; fee 

Each insurance premium finance company licensee shall file, on or before February 1, an 

annual report as mandated by N.J.S.A. 17:16D-7. In accordance with N.J.A.C. 3:1-7.6, the 

Department shall assess a penalty against any licensee for each report the licensee files late. 

 

CHAPTER 23 

FEES AND ANNUAL REPORTS 

3:23-1.1 Purpose and scope 

 (a) This chapter shall implement the provisions of N.J.S.A. 17:1-8.1 which permits the 

Commissioner of Banking and Insurance to establish application fees for new licenses issued by 

the Commissioner  

 (b) This chapter applies to all licensees as defined by N.J.A.C. 3:5-2.  

 

3:23-2.1 Application fees  

 (a)  All licensees governed by N.J.S.A. 17:11C-1 et seq. shall be subject to the 

application fees specified in N.J.A.C. 3:15-4.2.  
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 (b) The following table indicates the application fees established by the Commissioner of 

Banking and Insurance for  application fees other than those specified in N.J.A.C. 3:15-4.2. 

 
 
    Licensees                                           Application Fee 
 1. Money Transmitter 
  I. Money Transmitter                     $700.00       
  (N.J.S.A. 17:15C-7a)  

ii. Foreign Money Transmitter             $700.00       
      (N.J.S.A. 17:15C-7a) 
2. Check Casher                           $700.00       

(N.J.S.A. 17:15A-33) 
3. Retail Installment Sales 
 i.  Motor Vehicle Installment Seller    $  300.00       

 (N.J.S.A. 17:16C-8) 
 ii.  Home Financing Agency                $  400.00       

 (N.J.S.A. 17:16C-82(a)) 
 iii.  Home Repair Contractor                $  300.00       

 (N.J.S.A. 17:16C-82(b)) 
 iv.  Home Repair Salesman                 $   60.00       
      (N.J.S.A. 17:16C-82(c)) 
4. Insurance Premium Finance Company      $500.00       

 (N.J.S.A. 17:16D-4) 
5. Pawnbroker                                  $  500.00       
     (N.J.S.A. 45:22-4) 
6.Debt Adjuster 

(N.J.S.A. 17:16G-1 et seq.)   $300.00 
7. High Cost Home Loan Credit Counselor 

(N.J.S.A. 46:10-22 et seq.)   $100.00 
 

(c) Application fees are nonrefundable. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 3. MONEY TRANSMITTERS 

3:23-3.1 License; application fee 

 Each applicant for a license to conduct business as a money transmitter shall fill out a 

form supplied by the Commissioner of Banking and Insurance which complies with the 

mandates of N.J.S.A. 17:15C-7. A nonrefundable fee of $700.00 for a money transmitter or  a 



 31

foreign money transmitter shall accompany the application, but is not required to be paid for a 

renewal application. 

 

3:23-3.2 Annual report 

 (a) (No change.) 

 (b) In accordance with N.J.A.C. 3:1-7.6, the Department shall assess a penalty against 

any licensee for each report filed late. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 4  ANNUAL REPORTS  

3:23-4.1 Filing of annual reports  

 Unless otherwise prescribed by a statute applicable to a particular license type, each 

licensee listed in N.J.A.C. 3:23-2.1, including licensed lenders, shall file an annual report on or 

before April 1 on a form supplied by the Commissioner. The form shall include the licensee's 

name, address, volume of business(es), bonding information, if any, and may include other 

information that the licensee is required by rule or by statute to maintain or report. The filing of 

annual reports by check cashers, insurance premium finance companies and pawnbrokers shall 

be governed by the provisions of N.J.S.A. 17:15A-45, 17:16D-7 and 45:22-12, respectively. 

 

3:23-4.2 Electronic filing; exemption  

 (a) All annual reports shall be filed electronically.   

 (b) Licensees unable to file electronically may apply to the Department for an exemption 

from electronic filing.  
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 (c) All exemption applications shall be forwarded to the Department by January 15 of the 

year in which the report is to be filed and shall include a statement certifying to the applicant's 

inability to file electronically and the reasons for that inability.  

  

3:23-4.3 Late filings  

 (a) All annual reports shall be filed in accordance with N.J.A.C. 3:1-7.6.  

 (b)  All annual reports filed late shall be subject to penalties as provided in N.J.A.C. 3:1-

7.6.   

 (c)  A final annual report shall be required for the calendar year in which the licensee 

discontinues its licensed business operations in New Jersey.  

 

CHAPTER 24  

CHECK CASHING  

3:24-1.4 Application fees 

 (a) An application fee of $700.00 shall be charged for the following: 

1. Application for a principal office; 

2. Application for a full branch office; 

3. Application for a limited branch office; and 

4. Application for a mobile office.  

 

3:24-1.5 Application process; requirements 

 (a) (No change.) 
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 (b) In addition to the information required to be furnished to the Department by N.J.S.A. 

17:15A-33 through 39, the applicant shall supply the following as part of its application for each 

director, substantial stockholder, officer, owner, partner, member, manager and employee of the 

business to be licensed: 

1. A personal certification on a form supplied by the Commissioner; 

2. A two-inch by two-inch passport style photograph of the persons listed in (b) 

above; 

3. Fingerprints in the manner currently required by the New Jersey State Police or 

their authorized representative; 

4. Application fee(s) as required by N.J.A.C. 3:24-1.4;and 

5. Any other information or supporting documentation relating to the operation of 

the proposed check cashing business which the Commissioner may require 

 (c) - (j) (No change.)  

 

3:24-6.1 Annual report 

 Each check cashing licensee shall file, on or before March 1, an annual report as 

mandated by N.J.S.A. 17:15A-45.  In accordance with N.J.A.C. 3:1-7.6, the Department shall 

assess a  penalty against a licensee for each report the licensee files late. 

 

3:24-6.2 Additional reports 

 (a) (No change.) 

 (b) (No change in text.) 
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CHAPTER 25 

DEBT ADJUSTMENT AND CREDIT COUNSELING 

3:25-2.2 Application for license or registration 

 (a) Prior to providing debt adjustment or credit counseling services, other than high-cost 

home loan credit counseling, a corporation shall obtain a license from the Department. The 

license application shall be on a form approved by the Commissioner and shall include the 

following information: 

1. - 12. (No change.)  

13. The license application fee required by N.J.A.C.  3:23-2.1; and 

14. (No change.) 

 (b) - (d) (No change.)  

 (e) Prior to providing high-cost home loan credit counseling services, a non-profit social 

service or credit counseling agency shall be registered by the Department. The registration 

application shall be on a form approved by the Commissioner and shall include the following 

information: 

1. - 6. (No change.) 

7. The registration application fee required by N.J.A.C. 3:23-2.1; and 

8. (No change.) 

 (f) - (i) (No change.)  

 Recodify existing N.J.A.C. 3:25-2.5 and 2.6 as 2.4 and 2.5 (No change in text.) 

 

3:25-3.3 Right of investigation and examination 
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 The Commissioner may make such investigations and examinations of any licensee or 

other person as he or she deems necessary to determine compliance with either of the Acts, these 

rules or orders issued by the Commissioner. For such purposes, he or she may examine, or 

compel by subpoena, the production of all relevant books, records, and other documents and 

materials relative to an examination or investigation.  

 

CHAPTER 27 

MONEY TRANSMITTERS 

3:27-2.1 Requirement to be licensed 

 (a) (No change.) 

 (b) The license shall be renewable for subsequent [biennial] licensing periods 

commencing on  July 1, 2007.  

 

3:27-2.2 Application for an initial license  

 (a) All persons applying for an initial license pursuant to the Act shall submit the 

following: 

1. - 2. (No change.) 

3. An audited financial statement prepared by a certified public accountant or a 

public accountant, in good standing, demonstrating proof of net worth as specified in 

N.J.A.C. 3:27-5.1; and 

 4. The application fee specified in N.J.A.C. 3:27-3.2 and 3:23-2.1. 
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 (b) In addition, for each executive officer, key shareholder, officer, owner, partner and 

manager responsible for the business to be licensed, the following information is required to be 

furnished to the Department: 

1. A personal certification on a form supplied by the Commissioner; 

2. (No change.) 

3. Fingerprints in the manner currently required by the New Jersey State Police or 

their authorized representative.  In the case of a publicly traded corporation, its 

subsidiaries and affiliates, or a bank, bank holding company, and the subsidiaries and 

affiliates thereof, it is not required that the applicant furnish the fingerprints of each of the 

applicant’s executive officers and of each officer or manager who will be in charge of the 

applicant’s activities requiring licensure; and 

4. Additional information, which may be specifically requested by the 

Commissioner from a particular applicant. 

 (c) - (g) (No change.)    

 

3:27-3.2 Application fees 

 (a) A person who is applying for an initial license under this Act shall pay an application 

fee to the Department  in accordance with N.J.A.C. 3:23-2.1. 

 (b) (No change.) 

 

3:27-3.3 Annual report   

 (a) – (c) (No change in text.)    
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(d) Any licensee who fails to file a complete annual report in a timely manner, as set forth 

in (a) above, shall pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:15C-12 be assessed a penalty of $100.00 per day for 

each day after the due date that the complete report remains unfiled. 
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