New Jersey CONSUMER
CHECKING ACCOUNTS

INFORMATION FOR
New Jersey CONSUMERS




In 1991, the New Jersey Legislature passed,
and the Governor signed, the New Jersey
Consumer Checking Account Act.! This law
requires all state- and federally-chartered banks,
savings banks, savings and loan associations and
credit unions to offer New Jersey Consumer
Checking Accounts (NJCC accounts).” The
purpose of the Actis to assure the availability of
low-cost, low-volume basic checking services
for New Jersey citizens.

0 A depository institution may not require you
to deposit more than $50 to open a NJCC

account.

0 A depository institution may not require you
to keep more than a $1 balance in order to
maintain a NJCC account.

0 A depository institution may not charge you
more than $3 per month as a service charge.

0 You may make up to 8 withdrawals by check
per month without additional charge.

0 A depository institution may not charge you
more than $.50 for each check that you write
in excess of eight checks per month.



0 You may make unlimited withdrawals by
withdrawal slip without additional charge.

0 The depository institution may not charge
you more for printing checks, for ATM
services or for other banking services than
it charges its other checking account
customers

0 You may make unlimited deposits without

additional charge.

0 The depository institution may not assess a
fee on you that it does not charge to its
other checking account customers.



O The institution must post a sign and make
materials available in the lobby indicating
the availability of NJCC accounts and
describing their basic features.

O There are no income restrictions or
requirements for opening a NJCC account.

A depository institution may close a NJCC
account only—

V" For fraudulent activity or overdrafts,

v" For misrepresentations in the NJCC
account application, or

v"If you have any other checking account,
whether at the institution or at any other
institution.

1 PIL.1991,¢.210, codified at N.J.5.A4. 17:16N-
1 et seq. The Department’s implementing regu-
lation is codified at N.J.A.C. 3:1-19.1 ¢z seq.

’ Note, however, that the depository institu-
tion does not have to offer Consumer Checking
accounts if it does not offer checking or share
draft accounts at all. Also, the Comptroller of
the Currency has expressed the opinion that
the application of the Act to federally-chartered
banks is preempted by federal law.



WHERE TO FILE A COMPLAINT

Various types of financial services providers are
regulated by different government agencies. To avoid delay
in resolving your complaint, you should file it with the agency
that regulates the financial services provider that gave rise to
your complaint.

O To file a complaint against a state-chartered bank, state-
chartered savings bank, state-chartered savings and loan

association, state-chartered credit union, or anylicensed lender
doing business in New Jersey, contact the NJ Department of
Banking and Insurance at NJDOBI, Office of Consumer
Finance, PO Box 040, 20 West State Street, Trenton, N]J
08625. (1-800-446-7467) You may download a complaint form
from our web page at www.njdobi.org

O To file a complaint against a federally-chartered bank,
contact the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency (OCC)
at Customer Assistance Group, 1301 McKinney Street, Suite
3710, Houston, TX 77010. (1-800-613-6743)

O To file a complaint against a federally-chartered

savings bank or federally-chartered savings and loan
association, contact the Office of Thrift Supervision (OTS) at
10 Exchange Place, 18" Floot, Jetsey City, NJ 07032. (1-800-
253-2181). OTS also jointly regulates with NJDOBI state-char-
tered S&L’s.

O The Federal Reserve Bank jointly regulates with NJDOBI
state-chartered banks that are members of the Federal

Reserve System. For State-chartered member banks in
northern New Jersey, contact the Federal Reserve Bank of
New York at 33 Liberty Street, NY, NY 10045 (212-720-5000).
For state-chartered member banks in southern New Jersey,
contact the Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia at 10
Independence Mall, Philadelphia, PA 19106-1574. (215-574-6116)

O For institutions insured by the Federal Deposit
Insurance Corporation (all state- and federally-chartered banks,
savings banks, and savings and loan associations) contact the
FDIC at 20 Exchange Place, NY, NY 10005. (800-334-9593).
For institutions insured by the National Credit Union
Administration (all state and federally-chartered credit unions)
contact the NCUA at 1775 Duke Street, Alexandria, VA 22314.
(703-518-6300)

O To file a complaint involving a violation of the New Jer-
sey Consumer Fraud Law, N.J.S.A. 56:8-1 et seq., contact the
Division of Consumer Affairs within the NJ Department of
Law and Public Safety, at Division of Consumer Affairs, 124
Halsey Street, Newark, NJ 07102. (800-242-5846)






