The State of New Jersey
NJ Department of Banking and Insurance
search  


 
Home > NJ Real Estate Commission > Real Estate Commission Disciplinary Actions
Real Estate Commission Disciplinary Actions
Please Note: As of July 1, 2014 an amendment to the Administrative Procedure Act (R.S. 52:14B-1 et seq.) now requires all state agencies to post all non-confidential final agency orders, decisions and opinions on the agency’s website.  Therefore, all such final Real Estate Commission orders and decisions entered on or after July 1, 2014 can be accessed by clicking the link provided for that order or decision. Orders or decisions issued on such matters prior to July 1, 2014 are available upon request to the Real Estate Commission.
 
2017


June

Anthony Ardis, a licensed New Jersey real estate Salesperson, Passaic County – By Final Order of Determination dated June 28, 2017, Respondent Ardis was found to be in violation of  N.J.S.A. 45:15-17n, procuring a license through fraud, misrepresentation or deceit, in that he failed to disclose the existence of criminal charges against him on his license renewal application; and, in violation of N.J.S.A. 45:15-17e, conduct constituting unworthiness; and, in violation of N.J.S.A. 45:15-17s two (2) counts, by failing to notify the Commission of charges filed against him within thirty (30) days. Ardis’ license is revoked for a period to run concurrent with his court ordered probation. A $1,500 fine was imposed.

Thomas Grady, a licensed New Jersey real estate Salesperson, Ocean County – By Final Order of Determination dated June 28, 2017, Respondent Grady was found in violation of N.J.S.A. 45:15-17s by failing to timely notify the Commission of the judgment of conviction filed against him. Grady’s license is suspended for a period of three (3) months. A $2,000 fine was imposed.

Paula Lyden, a licensed New Jersey real estate Salesperson, Monmouth County – By Consent Order dated June 12, 2017, Lyden admits to a violation of N.J.A.C. 11:5-6.4(a) by providing the lockbox code to a potential lessor without the permission of the property owner, allowing the potential lessor to enter the property unattended by a licensee. Lyden will complete an additional six (6) hours of Continuing Education coursework in the area of Agency, not to be counted towards the mandatory Continuing Education hours. A $2,500 fine was imposed.

Terry Shapiro, a licensed New Jersey real estate Salesperson, Somerset County – By Final Order of Determination dated June 28, 2017, the Commission found Shapiro’s conduct in violation of N.J.S.A. 45:15-17n, in that he procured a real estate license by misrepresentation; and, Shapiro’s conduct was in violation of N.J.S.A. 45:15-9 in that he failed to demonstrate that he possesses the good moral character required for licensure. Shapiro’s license is revoked for a period of three (3) years, during which time he is ineligible for any type of real estate license. A fine in the amount of $1,000 was imposed.


May

Calliope Alexander, a licensed New Jersey real estate Salesperson, Hunterdon County – By Consent Order dated May 11, 2017, Respondent Alexander admitted to a violation of  N.J.S.A. 45:15-17e, incompetency, in that the co-listing agent wrote “new construction” on the seller disclosure form when it was not, in fact, new construction. A $1,000 fine was imposed.

Beth Cardosa, a licensed New Jersey real estate Salesperson, Cumberland County – By Consent Order dated May 26, 2017, Cardosa admits to a violation of N.J.A.C. 11:5-6.4(a) by allowing a referral agent access to a property to show a home. Cardosa will complete an additional six (6) hours of Continuing Education coursework in the area of Agency, not to be counted towards the mandatory Continuing Education hours. A $2,000 fine was imposed.

Phillipe Cardosa, a licensed New Jersey real estate Referral Agent, Cumberland County – By Consent Order dated May 26, 2017, Cardosa admits to a violation of N.J.S.A. 45:15-1 and 3, acting beyond the scope of a referral agent by showing a property to a potential buyer. A $2,000 fine was imposed.

Archie G. Castle, a licensed New Jersey real estate Broker-Salesperson, Monmouth County – By Consent Order dated June 1, 2017, Castle admits to a violation of N.J.A.C. 11:5-6.4(a) in that he violated his fiduciary duty when he moved into the premises of one of his rental property listings without a signed lease. Castle will complete an additional three (3) hours of Continuing Education coursework in the area of Agency, not to be counted towards the mandatory Continuing Education hours. A $2,000 fine was imposed.

Jiton Greene, a licensed New Jersey real estate Broker, Bergen County – By Final Decision and Order dated May 23, 2017, Respondent Greene was found in violation of N.J.S.A. 45:15-17e, unworthiness, bad faith, and dishonesty by committing insurance fraud when she filed a fraudulent insurance claim based upon the alleged theft of her vehicle. Greene’s real estate broker license is revoked for a period of five (5) years from the date of the Order. During the revocation period, Greene shall be ineligible for any type of real estate license, is required to fully divest herself from her real estate business and shall not be permitted employment in any area pertaining to the real estate industry.  

Eva Hrousis, a licensed New Jersey real estate Broker-Salesperson, Morris County – By Consent Order dated May 11, 2017, Hrousis admits to acting in violation of N.J.S.A. 45:15-17(a) substantial misrepresentation, by writing “New Construction” at the top of the seller’s disclosure when the property was, in fact, not new construction. A $2,500 fine was imposed.

Christine Milcheck, a formerly licensed New Jersey real estate Salesperson, Bergen County – By Final Decision and Order dated May 23, 2017, the Commission determined Milcheck to be in violation of N.J.S.A. 45:15-17e, demonstrating unworthiness when she failed to fully comply with the subpoenas issued and failed to provide documentation in support of an REC investigation; and, in violation of N.J.S.A. 45:15-17h by being convicted of a crime, knowledge of which the REC did not have at the time of last issuance of her license; and, in violation of N.J.S.A. 45:15-17s (two counts) by failing to notify the REC within thirty (30) days of being both charged and convicted of a crime; and, in violation of N.J.S.A. 45:15-17n (two counts), procuring her real estate license by misrepresentation due to her failure to disclose having been both charged and convicted of a crime on her license renewal applications. Respondent Milcheck’s real estate Salesperson’s license is revoked for a period of five (5) years from the date of the Order, during which time she is ineligible for any type of real estate license. A $6,000 fine was imposed.

Janie Spataro, a licensed New Jersey real estate Referral Agent, Ocean County – By Consent Order dated May 23, 2017, Spataro admits to a violation of N.J.S.A. 45:15-17s by failing to notify the Commission within thirty (30) days of being charged with a crime. Spataro’s license will be held on a probationary status to run concurrent with her Pre-Trial Intervention. A $500 fine was imposed.

William H. Smith, a licensed New Jersey real estate Salesperson, Atlantic County – By Consent Order dated June 28, 2017, Smith admits to a violation of N.J.S.A. 45:15-17e, incompetency, by failing to disclose the existence of the easement in the marketing of a property for sale; and, a violation of N.J.A.C. 11:5-6.6(c) by failing to disclose all information material to the physical condition of the property which was known to him to a potential buyer. Smith is required to complete an additional three (3) hours of Continuing Education in the specific area of Agency, which shall not count towards the mandatory hours. A $1,000 fine was imposed.

Douglas Bullock, a formerly licensed New Jersey real estate Salesperson, Mercer County, and AllStates Loss Mitigation (“AllStates”), an unlicensed entity, Mercer County – By Final Order of Determination dated May 1, 2017, the Commission determined Respondents Bullock and AllStates violated N.J.S.A. 45:15-1 and 3 in that they engaged in unlicensed real estate brokerage activity in the attempted sale of a property; and, Respondents Bullock and AllStates violated N.J.S.A. 45:15-17e in that their unlicensed real estate activity and their failure to return $5,000 to the potential buyers of said property demonstrated unworthiness, bad faith and dishonesty; and, Respondents Bullock and AllStates violated N.J.S.A. 45:15-17l in that they engaged in fraud and dishonest dealing by falsely representing that they had the authority to assist the potential buyers to the property and failed to return to the buyers their $5,000 when the sale did not occur. Respondent Bullock’s eligibility for licensure is revoked for life from the date of the Order. A $10,000 fine was imposed.

Christopher Koller, a licensed New Jersey real estate Salesperson, Middlesex County – By Final Order of Determination dated May 1, 2017, the Commission determined Respondent Koller violated N.J.S.A. 45:15-17e in that he demonstrated unworthiness, bad faith, and dishonesty by entering into an improperly obtained contract for services with the Far Hills Polo Club’s onsite property manager, which resulted in a theft conviction for the Respondent. Koller’s Broker-salesperson’s license shall be revoked for a period of five (5) years from the date of his conviction for theft (February 20, 2015). Koller shall not be eligible for any real estate license during the period of revocation.

Dominick Prevete, a formerly licensed New Jersey real estate Salesperson, Morris County – By Final Order of Determination dated May 1, 2017, the Commission determined Respondent Prevete was in violation of N.J.S.A. 45:15-19.1 in that he was convicted of a theft offense; and, in violation of N.J.S.A. 45:15-17e because the conduct underlying his conviction demonstrates unworthiness, bad faith, and dishonesty. Respondent Prevete’s eligibility to obtain a real estate license is revoked for a period of ten (10) years from the date of the Order. A $10,000 fine was imposed.


April

William Dotterweich, a licensed New Jersey real estate Broker, Morris County – By Consent Order dated April 18, 2017, Dotterweich admitted to a violation of N.J.A.C.11:5-6.4 in that he failed to protect and promote the interests of the client or principal that he had undertaken to represent in the management of a property; and Dotterweich admitted to a violation of N.J.S.A. 45:15-17d by failing to account for or to pay over all moneys due to  others, specifically the property owner for which he was acting as property manager. A $5,000 fine was imposed.


March

Mark Brownlee, a formerly licensed New Jersey real estate Broker, Bergen County, and Home Hunters, Inc., a formerly licensed New Jersey Broker, Bergen County – By Final Order of Determination dated March 2, 2017, the Commission found Respondent Brownlee in violation of N.J.A.C. 11:5-6.5 because he did not provide the Commission any information regarding compliance with regulation; in violation of N.J.S.A. 45:15-17a because he made substantial misrepresentation to members of the public by representing himself and Home Hunters as real estate licensees when in fact they did not hold any real estate licenses; in violation of N.J.S.A. 45:15-17l because, by holding himself out to the public as a real estate licensee, he demonstrated fraud and dishonest dealings; and, in violation of N.J.S.A. 45:15-17e because he failed to cooperate with a Commission investigation. The Commission found respondents Brownlee and Home Hunters in violation of N.J.S.A. 45:15-1, 45:15-3 and 45:15-17t because they engaged in real estate brokerage activity without a real estate license; and, a violation of N.J.S.A. 45:15-1.2 because they operated a rental referral agency that was not in compliance with that statutory provision. Respondents Brownlee and Home Hunters shall be ineligible for any type of licensure for a period of two years from the date of the Order, and shall immediately remove their names as licensees or owners of any real estate business from any and all websites that advertise referral or rental properties. Respondent Brownlee shall divest himself of any ownership interest in any entity that engages in the real estate business and shall not be employed in any capacity with any real estate agency or business. A $7,500 fine was imposed.

James Fresella, a formerly licensed New Jersey real estate Salesperson, Morris County – By Final Order of Determination dated March 2, 2017, the Commission determined respondent Fresella violated N.J.S.A. 45:15-17e in that his conduct demonstrated unworthiness; specifically, he failed to cooperate with a Commission investigation and to comply with a duly issued subpoena. Respondent Fresella’s salesperson license is revoked from the date of the Order. A $3,500 fine was imposed.

Michael Mavromates, a licensed New Jersey real estate Broker-Salesperson, Cape May County – By Consent Order dated March 30, 2017, Mavromates admits to a violation of N.J.A.C. 11:5-6.4(a) by causing a property to be entered into the Cape May Multiple Listing Service without the permission of the sellers. Mavromates will complete three (3) hours of Continuing Education coursework in the area of Agency, not to be counted towards the mandatory Continuing Education hours. A $3,500 fine was imposed.

Audrey Pellegrini, a formerly licensed New Jersey real estate Salesperson, Hudson County – By Final Order of Determination dated March 22, 2017, the Commission determined respondent Pellegrini was in violation of N.J.S.A. 45:15-12.1 because she was convicted of forgery; N.J.S.A. 45:15-17e and 17l because the conduct underlying her conviction demonstrates unworthiness, incompetence, bad faith, dishonesty, fraud and dishonest dealing; and, N.J.S.A. 45:15-9 in that Pellegrini’s conviction demonstrates that she does not possess the requisite good moral character, honesty, integrity and trustworthiness that all candidates for licensure must possess. Respondent Pellegrini’s salesperson’s license is revoked for a period of five (5) years from the date of the Order. A $5,000 fine was imposed.

Richard Shirvanian, a licensed New Jersey real estate Broker-Salesperson, Monmouth County – By Consent Order dated March 16, 2017, Shirvanian admits to acting in violation of N.J.A.C. 11:5-6.4(g) by failing to submit an offer within twenty-four (24) hours. A $1,500 fine was imposed.

Larry Zhou, a licensed New Jersey real estate Salesperson, Morris County –  By Consent Order dated March 28, 2017, respondent Zhou admits to a violation of N.J.S.A 45:15-17s (three counts), for failing to notify the Commission within 30 days of his arrests and of his conviction. Zhou’s right to licensure is revoked until November 16, 2020. A $1,000 fine was imposed.


February

Raymond Adcock, a licensed New Jersey real estate Salesperson, Gloucester County – By Consent Order dated February 1, 2017, Respondent Adcock admits to a violation of N.J.A.C. 11:5-6.4(b) by failing to make a reasonable effort to ascertain all material information concerning the financial qualifications of the buyer for whom he submitted an offer. A $1,500 fine was imposed.

Jose C. Agostinho, a formerly licensed New Jersey real estate Salesperson, Union County – By Consent Order dated February 1, 2017, Agostinho admits to a violation of N.J.S.A. 45:15-17a, substantial misrepresentation, specifically that he indicated that deposits had been made for transactions when they in fact were not made until much later. A $1,500 fine was imposed.

Charles Chichizola, a licensed New Jersey real estate Salesperson, Bergen County – By Final Order of Determination dated February 14, 2017, the Commission found Respondent Chichizola in violation of N.J.S.A. 45:15-17s two (2) counts, failure to notify the Commission within thirty (30) days of having been charged with and/or convicted of a crime; and, a violation of N.J.S.A. 45:15-17n by procuring his real estate license by misrepresentation due to his failure to disclose being charged with a crime on his license renewal application. Respondent Chichizola’s license will be held on a probationary status for one year. A $1,000 fine was imposed.

Shanaaz Coelho, a licensed New Jersey real estate Broker, Union County – By Consent Order dated February 1, 2017, Coelho admits to a violation of N.J.S.A. 45:15-17p, two (2) counts, in that she failed to disclose her licensed status in a contract of sale for a property; and, a violation of N.J.A.C. 11:5-4.2(l), failure to supervise a salesperson under her employ. A $3,000 fine was imposed.

Patricia Gabriel, a licensed New Jersey real estate Salesperson, Ocean County – By Final Order of Determination dated February 14, 2017, the Commission determined Respondent Gabriel was in violation of N.J.S.A. 45:15-17s by failing to notify the Commission within thirty (30) days of the filing of criminal charges against her; and, in violation of N.J.S.A. 45:15-17e in that she demonstrated unworthiness, bad faith and dishonesty by accessing and downloading client information from the business database onto her personal home computer without the authorization of the broker; and, in violation of N.J.A.C. 11:5-6.1(r) by disseminating false, misleading, and deceptive advertisement following her termination from her employer; and, in violation of N.J.S.A. 45:15-17e she demonstrated unworthiness by failing to cooperate with an REC investigation and failing to comply with a duly served subpoena. Respondent Gabriel’s salesperson’s license is suspended for a period of six (6) months. A $3,500 fine was imposed.

Shayvionne Harris, a licensed New Jersey real estate Salesperson, Bergen County – By Final Order of Determination dated February 8, 2017, the Commission determined Respondent Harris violated N.J.S.A. 45:15-17s, two (2) counts, by failing to notify the REC within thirty (30) days of the filing of criminal charges against her and failing to notify the REC within thirty (30) days of being convicted. Respondent Harris’ salesperson license will be held on a probationary status for a period to run concurrent with her criminal probation, or until such time as restitution is paid in full, whichever is later. A $1,000 fine was imposed.

James Sofroney, a licensed New Jersey real estate Broker, Cape May County – By Consent Order dated February 1, 2017, Sofroney admits to acting in violation of N.J.S.A. 45:15-1 and 3, by engaging in unlicensed activity; and, in violation of N.J.S.A. 45:15-17e, incompetency, by failing to promptly renew the real estate license of The Landis Co., LLC and the licenses of the salespersons employed by The Landis Co., LLC in a timely manner. A $10,000 fine was imposed.

 
2016


December

Pat G. Angelastro, a licensed New Jersey real estate Referral Agent, Ocean County – By Consent Order dated December 15, 2016, Angelastro admits to acting in violation of N.J.S.A. 45:15-17s, by failing to notify the REC of criminal charges files against him within thirty (30) days. Angelastro’s license is placed on probation for a period to run concurrent with his PTI. A $500 fine was imposed.

Kley Peralta
, a formerly licensed New Jersey real estate Broker, Passaic County, and Kley Peralta Realty, a formerly licensed New Jersey real estate Broker, Passaic County – By Consent Order dated December 15, 2016, Peralta admits to acting in violation of N.J.S.A. 45:15-17s, three (3) counts, by failing to notify the REC of the filing of formal criminal charges against him; and to a violation of N.J.S.A. 45:15-17e two (2) counts, in that he failed to cooperate with EC investigators; and, to a violation of N.J.S.A. 45:15-17e in that is conduct demonstrates unworthiness, specifically, that Peralta acted in the capacity of a debt adjuster without being properly licensed to do so. Peralta’s license and eligibility for licensure are revoked for life. A $2,000 fine was imposed.

Francine Simonsen, a licensed New Jersey real estate Broker, Monmouth County – By Consent Order dated December 15, 2016, Simonsen admits to a violation of N.J.A.C 11:5-5.1(b) by failing to report the additional escrow account used for property management for McNeely Agency to the REC and failing to have the account labeled as required by N.J.S.A. 45:15-12.5a. A fine of $1,500 was imposed.


November

Robert Berlant, a licensed New Jersey real estate Broker, Somerset County – By Consent Order dated November 17, 2016, Berlant admits to acting in violation of N.J.A.C. 11:5-6.4h, by failing to indicate to a potential home buyer that the subject property was under contract when the offeror submitted her offer which resulted in detrimental reliance by the offeror; and, to a violation of N.J.A.C. 11:5-6.1(o)2 by continuing to market the property as “for sale” when it was “under contract”. A $2,000 fine was imposed.

Elizabeth Blane, a licensed New Jersey real estate Salesperson, Monmouth County – By Consent Order dated November 29, 2016, Blane admits to acting in violation of N.J.A.C. 11:5-6.9(b) by failing to obtain a written informed consent of the parties to act as a disclosed dual agent in a real estate transaction. A $1,000 fine was imposed.

Meyer Edery
, a licensed New Jersey real estate Broker, Monmouth County – By Consent Order dated November 29, 2016, Edery admits to acting in violation of N.J.A.C. 11:5-4.2, by failing to supervise a salesperson under his employ, specifically in that no informed consent of the parties to act as a disclosed dual agent was obtained in a transaction involving a salesperson in his firm. Edery admits to a violation of N.J.A.C. 11:5-6.9(b) in that as a result of an audit by a REC investigator, it was found that no informed consent to act as a dual agent was obtained in two (2) other transactions. A $2,000 fine was imposed.

Mark Greco, a licensed New Jersey real estate Salesperson, Gloucester County – By Consent Order dated November 17, 2016, Greco admits to acting in violation of N.J.S.A. 45:15-11.3, by failing to apply for the issuance of a temporary broker’s license within thirty (30) days of July 1, 2014, which resulted in there being no authorized broker of record for 4 Sale Realty, LLC for a period of time. A $1,500 fine was imposed.

Herschel Tannenbaum, a formerly licensed New Jersey real estate Salesperson, Essex County – By Consent Order dated November 17, 2016, Tannenbaum admits to acting in violation of N.J.S.A. 45:15-17m, in that he accepted a commission as a real estate salesperson from a person other than his employing broker. Tannenbaum agrees to take an additional three (3) hours of continuing education in the area of Agency which will not count towards the renewal requirements. A $2,500 fine was imposed.

October

Patricia Dunphy, a licensed New Jersey real estate Salesperson, Monmouth County – By Consent Order dated October 13, 2016, Dunphy admits to acting in violation of N.J.S.A. 45:15-1 and 3, by engaging in real estate activity without a license to do so. A $1,000 fine was imposed.

Robin Anita Gordon-Wallace, a formerly licensed New Jersey real estate Broker and Instructor, Burlington County, and Gordon-Wallace Realty, Inc., a formerly licensed New Jersey real estate Broker, Burlington County – By Consent Order dated October 11, 2016, Gordon-Wallace admits to the following violations:

Respondent violated N.J.A.C. 11:5-6.4(b) failure to maintain business records in the manner in which they are required; and failure to maintain signage on the exterior of the office that indicated that the premises contained the office of a licensed real estate broker; and

Respondent violated N.J.S.A. 45:15-17o and N.J.A.C. 11:5.1(a) and (c) in that she commingled the money of her principals with her own and failed to maintain a special account, separate and apart from personal or other business accounts; and

Respondent violated N.J.S.A. 45:15-12.5 failure to deposit and maintain in an account separate and apart from all other personal and business accounts, the funds of others received while acting in the capacity of a broker; and N.J.A.C. 11:5-4.4 failure to maintain office records for Respondent Gordon Wallace Realty, LLC as required; and N.J.A.C. 11:5-6.4(a) in that by her above actions she failed to deal fairly with all parties to the transaction.

Respondent Gordon-Wallace’s instructor license is revoked for a period of ten (10) years from the date of the Order. The licenses of Respondents Gordon-Wallace and Gordon Wallace Realty, Inc. are revoked for a period of ten (10) years, retroactive to July 1, 2015. Respondent Gordon-Wallace shall be ineligible to hold a New Jersey real estate salesperson license for a period of two (2) years from the date of the Order. A fine in the amount of $10,000 was imposed.

September

Stephen Bulzis, a formerly licensed New Jersey real estate Salesperson, Monmouth County – By Final Order of Determination dated September 12, 2016, the Commission determined Respondent Bulzis violated N.J.S.A. 45:15-17e and N.J.S.A. 45:15-17t in that his behavior demonstrated bad faith and dishonesty; and, Bulzis was in violation of N.J.S.A. 45:15-17s in that he failed to notify the REC within thirty (30) days of the filing of criminal charges against him. Bulzis’ license was revoked for a period of three (3) years, retroactive to August 5, 2014 – the date of his notice to the REC – and a $2,500 fine was imposed.

Julie A. Franklin, a licensed New Jersey real estate Salesperson, Camden County – By Consent Order dated September 29, 2016, Franklin admits to a violation of N.J.A.C. 11:5-6.4, failure to protect and promote the interests of the client or principal that she had undertaken to represent, specifically by instructing her client to make a wire transfer for an initial deposit on a short-sale transaction without performing due diligence to confirm the transaction. The wire transfer instructions proved to be fraudulent, causing the client to lose significant funds. A $1,500 fine was imposed.

Yaakov Rosenberg, a licensed New Jersey real estate Salesperson, Middlesex County – By Consent Order dated September 29, 2016, Rosenberg admits to a violation of N.J.S.A. 41:15-17d, failure to account for or to pay over moneys belonging to others coming into his possession, specifically by failing to promptly deposit the funds of his principal within five (5) days. A $1,500 fine was imposed.

David Rubin, a licensed New Jersey real estate Salesperson, Middlesex County – By Consent Order dated September 29, 2016, Rubin admits to violating N.J.S.A. 45:15-17e, two (2) counts, in that his failure to notify the REC as well as the underlying conduct demonstrates unworthiness, specifically that Rubin was charged with and convicted of criminal offenses and failed to notify the REC within thirty (30) days of the charges being filed; and to a violation of N.J.S.A. 45:15-17s. Rubin’s right to licensure is revoked until he completes his criminal probation, at which time he will have to demonstrate sufficient rehabilitation to re-qualify. A $500 fine was imposed.

Marc Sorrentino, an unlicensed individual, Monmouth County – By Consent Order dated September 29, 2016, Sorrentino admits to a violation of N.J.S.A. 45:15-17n by failing to disclose a pending criminal indictment against him and failing to disclose the possession of a real estate license in another state on his New Jersey Salesperson application. A $2,000 fine was imposed. License was granted on probation.

Jennifer Valiante, a licensed New Jersey real estate Salesperson, Atlantic County – By Consent Order dated September 26, 2016, Valiante admits to violating N.J.S.A. 45:15-17e, two (2) counts, in that her failure to notify the REC as well as the underlying conduct demonstrates unworthiness, specifically that Valiante was charged with two (2) counts of assault by auto and failed to notify the REC within thirty (30) days of the charges being filed; and to a violation of N.J.S.A. 45:15-17s. Valiante’s license is suspended through her term of incarceration and if reinstatement is requested, the license will be held on a probationary status to run concurrent with Valiante’s PTI. A $500 fine was imposed.


August

Alec Cohen, a licensed New Jersey real estate Salesperson, Middlesex County – By Consent Order dated August 17, 2016, Cohen admits to a violation of N.J.S.A. 45:15-17(d) in that he failed to account for or pay over money belonging to others coming into his possession and by failing to promptly deposit the funds of his principal within five days on three separate occasions. A $3,000 fine was imposed.

Janusz Gajda, a licensed New Jersey real estate Broker, Monmouth County – By Final Order of Determination dated August 1, 2016, the Commission determined Respondent Gajda was in violation of N.J.S.A. 45:15-17e by failing to maintain business records and perform required accounting practices demonstrating incompetency; and

Respondent violated N.J.A.C. 11:5-6.4(a) because he failed to protect and promote the interests of his principals; and

Respondent violated N.J.A.C. 11:5-5.4(b)(1-3) by failing to record transaction information, maintain a trust account ledger and failed to maintain and reconcile financial records at least on a quarterly basis; and

Respondent violated N.J.A.C. 11:5-5.1(e) by failing to promptly deposit funds; and

Respondent violated N.J.A.C. 11:5-3.9 by failing to file a written change of address with the NJ REC in 2011 when he moved his office location; and

Respondent violated N.J.A.C. 11:5-4.4(a) by failing to maintain an office open to the public and failing to supervise the salespersons in his employ.

Respondent’s broker license is held on a probationary status for a period of two years, during which time a licensed CPA shall provide semi-annual reports to the REC confirming compliance with maintenance of business records. Gadja is required to take the 30-hour broker course on office management, which shall not count towards his required mandatory CE hours. A fine in the amount of $6,000 was imposed.

Elizabeth Laurano, a licensed New Jersey real estate Salesperson, Middlesex County – By Consent Order dated August 9, 2016, Laurano admits to violating N.J.S.A. 45:15-17(d) for failing to account for or to pay over monies belonging to others coming into her possession and failing to promptly deposit the funds of a principal within five days. A $1,500 fine was imposed.

Marc W. Laurano, a licensed New Jersey real estate Broker, Middlesex County – By Consent Order dated August 9, 2016, Laurano admits to a violation of N.J.A.C. 11:5-4.2(a) by failing to supervise the activities of salespersons under his employ; and a violation of N.J.A.C. 11:5-5.1(e) specifically in allowing deposits to be deposited beyond five business days. A fine of $4,000 was imposed.

July

Sharon Asay, a licensed New Jersey real estate Salesperson, Ocean County – By Consent Order dated July 14, 2016, Asay admits to a violation of N.J.A.C. 11:5-6.4(a), failure to deal fairly with all parties, specifically by failing to ensure that a certificate of occupancy was obtained for a rental property and failing to disclose known information regarding an oil furnace; and to a violation of N.J.S.A. 45:15-17(o), comingling the monies of others with her own, specifically by cashing a check and depositing the money in her personal checking account. Asay’s license will be held on a probationary status for a period of three (3) months. A $3,000 fine was imposed.

Jeanette Calao, a licensed New Jersey real estate Salesperson, Ocean County – By Consent Order dated July 15, 2016, Calao admits to a violation of N.J.A.C. 11:5-6.4(d) by failing to verify that a certificate of occupancy for a rental property was obtained. A fine of $1,500 was imposed.

Octavio Mendes, a licensed New Jersey real estate Broker, Essex County – By Consent Order dated July 26, 2016, Mendes admits to a violation of N.J.A.C. 11:5-4.2(a)(1) by failing to supervise a salesperson under his employ. A fine of $1,500 was imposed.

Marcia Miller, a licensed New Jersey real estate Salesperson, Essex County – By Consent Order dated July 26, 2016, Miller admits to a violation of N.J.A.C. 11-5-6.4(a) by failing to protect and promote the interests of the client or principal that she had undertaken to represent, specifically by failing to specify a list price into the MLS within 48 hours of the listing date. A $1,500 fine was imposed.

Michael Pullia, a licensed New Jersey real estate Broker, Atlantic County – By Consent Order dated July 19, 2016, Pullia admitted to a violation of N.J.A.C. 11:5-5.1(e) by failing to promptly deposit funds received in a transaction. A $1,500 fine was imposed.

June

Patrick J. Murphy, a licensed New Jersey real estate Salesperson, and PATMURPHY.COM, Inc., a licensed New Jersey Real Estate Broker, Middlesex County – By Final Order of Determination dated June 29, 2016, the Commission determined Respondent Murphy violated:

N.J.S.A. 45:15-12.2 by failing to deposit and maintain in a special account all monies received acting in the capacity of a real estate agent or as an escrow agent; and
N.J.S.A. 45:15-17o and N.J.A.C. 11:5-5.1(a) and (c) by commingling the money of their principals with their own; and

N.J.S.A. 45:15-17d by failing to account for and pay over the funds in various real estate transactions; and N.J.S.A. 45:15-17e and l because the conduct demonstrates incompetency, fraud and dishonest dealing; and

N.J.A.C. 11:5-6.4(a) by failing to protect and promote the interests of their principals; and

N.J.A.C. 11:5.4 and following in that they failed to maintain proper accounting and book-keeping records for real estate transactions; and

N.J.S.A. 45:15-17(e) and N.J.A.C. 11:5-5.5 because they failed to comply with a subpoena issued by the REC compelling the production of materials in the course of an investigation.

Murphy and PATMURPHY.COM, Inc. broker licenses are revoked for life. Respondent Murphy is ineligible to apply for a Salesperson license for a period of ten years and until full restitution is paid on all guaranty fund claims filed against him and the imposed fine is paid in full. A fine of $10,000 was imposed.


May

Mariola Abilheira, a licensed New Jersey real estate Salesperson, Mercer County – By Consent Order dated May 4, 2016, Abilheira admits to a violation of N.J.S.A. 45:15-17(d) by failing to account for or to pay over money belonging to others coming into her possession. A fine of $1,500 was imposed.

Donna Antonucci, a licensed New Jersey real estate Broker-salesperson, Hudson County – By Consent Order dated May 11, 2016, Antonucci admits to a violation of N.J.A.C. 11-5-6.4(a) by failing to protect and promote the interests of the client or principal that she had undertaken to represent. A $1,000 fine was imposed.

Richard J. Bilofsky
, a formerly licensed New Jersey real estate Broker, Union County – By Final Order of Determination dated May 26, 2016, the Commission determined respondent Bilofsky violated N.J.A.C. 11:5-4.3 in that he engaged in license lending and N.J.S.A. 45:15-17c in that his conduct demonstrated incompetency. Bilofsky’s real estate broker’s license is revoked for a period of five years from the date of the Order and Bilofsky is ineligible to apply for any real estate license for a period of five years. A $5,000 fine was imposed.

Betty Devoti, a licensed New Jersey real estate Broker, Monmouth County – By Consent Order dated May 4 , 2016, Devoti admits to a violation of N.J.A.C. 11:5-4.2(a) by failing to supervise the activities of a salesperson under her employ, specifically by not having a security deposit deposited in a timely manner. A fine of $1,500 was imposed.

Anthony Freda, a formerly licensed New Jersey real estate Salesperson, Essex County – By Consent Order dated May 13, 2016, Freda admits to violating N.J.S.A. 45:15-17(a) for making substantial misrepresentations regarding the status of a property – both to a prospective client as well as in the MLS system. Freda admits to a violation of N.J.S.A. 45:15-17(e) by altering the dates on a contract of sale and to a violation of  N.J.A.C. 11:5-6.4 in that he failed to protect and promote the interests of his clients. Freda’s eligibility to hold a real estate license of any kind is revoked for life.

Frank R. King, a licensed New Jersey real estate Broker, Sussex County – By Consent Order dated May 4, 2016, King admits to a violation of N.J.A.C. 11:5-5.3 by charging an advance fee to a consumer and not providing an accounting as to the use of such monies. A fine of $1,000 was imposed.

Alexis J. Park, a licensed New Jersey real estate Salesperson, Union County – By Consent Order dated May 4, 2016, Park admits to a violation of N.J.A.C. 11:5-6.4(a), failing to protect and promote the interests of the client or principal that she had undertaken to represent, specifically by removing a transaction file from the office of her broker and turning it over to an attorney representing one of the parties in the transaction. A fine of $1,000 was imposed.

Marixsa C. Rolon
, a formerly licensed New Jersey real estate Salesperson, Essex County and Tiffany Group, LLC, an unlicensed entity – By Final Order of Determination dated May 5, 2016, the Commission determined Rolon violated the following statutes: N.J.S.A. 45:15-17(e) by failing to comply with a Commission issued subpoena; N.J.S.A. 45:25-27(d) by failing to account for or to pay over monies belonging to another which came into her possession; N.J.S.A. 45:15-17(o) and N.J.A.C. 11:5-5.1(c) by commingling the money of a client with her own; N.J.S.A. 45:15-17(e) by failing to pay over monies and commingling; N.J.A.C. 11:5-6.4(a) by failing to protect and promote the interests of her principal; N.J.S.A. 45:15-17(l) in that the aforementioned actions constitute fraud and dishonest dealings; and N.J.S.A. 45:15-1 and 3 in that Tiffany Group, LLC’s involvement in the lease deposit transaction constituted unlicensed activity. Rolon’s real estate salesperson license is revoked for four years. Full restitution shall be made prior to any re-licensure. A fine in the amount of $5,000 was imposed.

Saul Sanchez
, a formerly licensed New Jersey real estate Broker, Union County – By Final Order of Determination dated May 26, 2016, the Commission determined respondent Sanchez violated N.J.S.A. 45:15-12.3, N.J.S.A. 45:15-1 and N.J.S.A. 45:15-3 by engaging in real estate activity during the period of his license revocation and N.J.S.A. 45:15-17e in that his conduct demonstrated unworthiness. Sanchez’s real estate salesperson’s license is revoked for a period of five years from the date of the Order. A $5,000 fine was imposed.

John J. Sass, a licensed New Jersey real estate Broker, Essex County – By Consent Order dated May 13, 2016, Sass admits to a violation of N.J.A.C. 11:5-4.5 in that as broker of record he failed to properly supervise the activities of a salesperson in his employ. Sass shall complete at least three additional hours of continuing education coursework on the topic of agency and/or ethics which shall not count towards the mandatory required hours. A $1,000 fine was imposed.

Jeffrey D. Sloan, a licensed New Jersey real estate Salesperson, Burlington County – By Consent Order dated May 11, 2016, Sloan admits to two violations of N.J.S.A. 45:15-17(s) by failing to notify the Real Estate Commission within thirty days of both an initial charge and a conviction and to a violation of N.J.S.A. 45:15-17(e) by not indicating his arrest on the license renewal questionnaire. A $1,500 fine was imposed.

March

Patricia Demilia, a licensed New Jersey real estate Broker-salesperson, Bergen County – By Consent Order dated March 24, 2016, Demilia admits to a violation of N.J.A.C. 11:5-6.4(b), failure to ascertain all material information relating to her listing, specifically by not promptly disclosing to buyers that mold remediation had occurred at the property. A $1,500 fine was imposed.

Gregory Laubert, a licensed New Jersey real estate Salesperson, Atlantic County – By Consent Order dated March 24, 2016, Laubert admits to a violation of N.J.S.A. 45:15-17(d) by failing to account for or to pay over money belonging to others coming into his possession. A fine of $1,500 was imposed.

Scott Reighard, a licensed New Jersey real estate Broker, Atlantic County – By Consent Order dated March 24, 2016, Reighard admits to a violation of N.J.A.C. 11:5-4.2(a) by failing to supervise the activities of a salesperson under his employ. A fine of $1,500 was imposed.

Michael Sullivan, a formerly licensed New Jersey real estate Salesperson, Camden County – By Consent Order dated March 22, 2016, Sullivan admitted to a violation of N.J.S.A. 45:15-9. Sullivan’s real estate license is held on a probationary status with standard conditions.

February

Grace Soden, a licensed New Jersey real estate Salesperson, Monmouth County – By Consent Order of dated February 2, 2016, Soden admits to acting in violation of N.J.S.A. 45:15-17(a), making a substantial misrepresentation and N.J.A.C. 11:5-6.4(b), failure to ascertain all material information relating to her listing by not representing the property appropriately as a short sale in the MLS. A $1,500 fine was imposed.

Thomas P. Duffy, a licensed New Jersey real estate Broker, Gloucester County – By Consent Order dated February 2, 2016, Duffy admits to being in violation of N.J.A.C. 11:5-4.2(a) by failing to supervise the activities of salespersons under his employ. A fine of $2,000 was imposed.

Nancy Kowalik, a licensed New Jersey real estate Broker, Gloucester County – By Consent Order dated February 2, 2016, Kowalik admits to acting in violation of N.J.A.C. 11:5-4.4(c) in that she maintained an office in the dwelling premises. A fine of $1,000 was imposed.

Edyta Karpowicz, a licensed New Jersey real estate Salesperson, Middlesex County – By Consent Order dated February 2, 2016, Karpowicz admitted to be in violation of N.J.S.A. 45:15-17(e), conduct demonstrating unworthiness, bad faith and dishonesty; and, violating N.J.S.A. 45:15-17(l) in that the underlying conduct constitutes fraud and dishonest dealing, by violating the New Jersey Insurance Fraud Prevention Act, N.J.S.A. 17:33-1 et seq. for violations including filing a fraudulent dental insurance claim for services never received. Karpowicz agrees to surrender her real estate license, with prejudice, for a period of five (5) years and shall be ineligible for any real estate license until February 9, 2021, at which time she must fully comply with any applicable licensing requirements in effect at that time.

January

Kelli Ciancaglini, a licensed New Jersey real estate Salesperson, Camden County – By Consent Order dated January 29, 2016, Ciancaglini admitted to being in violation of N.J.S.A. 45:15-17(s) by failing to notify the Commission within thirty  (30) days of an indictment; and, a violation of N.J.S.A. 45:15-17(e) in that the above action demonstrates incompetency. Ciancaglini’s license is placed on probation. A $1,000 fine was imposed.

Michael Contino, a licensed New Jersey real estate Salesperson, Camden County – By Consent Order dated January 12, 2016, Contino admits to a violation of N.J.A.C. 11:5-6.4(a) by providing a lockbox code and key access to the buyer without the permission of the homeowner, allowing the buyer unattended access. Contino agrees to take an additional three (3) hours of continuing education coursework in the content area of agency, which will not count towards his mandatory continuing education requirements. A $1,500 fine was imposed.

Adele DeMoro, a licensed New Jersey real estate Broker, Monmouth County – By Consent Order dated January 26, 2016, DeMoro admits that she acted in violation of N.J.A.C. 11:15-4.2(A)(1) by failing to supervise a salesperson under her employ who used an advertising method which involved a lottery. A $1,000 fine was imposed.

Vincent Failla, a licensed New Jersey real estate Broker, Essex County – By Consent Order dated January 12, 2016, Failla admits to a violation of N.J.S.A. 45:15-17(e), incompetency, by failing to process the 2013-2015 license renewal of a license in his employ in a timely manner. A fine of $1,500 was imposed.

Trudy Grimaldi, a licensed New Jersey real estate Salesperson, Bergen County – By Consent Order dated January 26, 2016, Grimaldi admits to violating N.J.S.A. 45:15-17(s) in that she failed to notify the Commission within thirty (30) days of the filing of criminal charges. Grimaldi’s license is placed on probation. A $500 fine was imposed.

Anne M. Magliaro, a licensed New Jersey real estate Broker-salesperson, Ocean County – By Consent Order dated January 26, 2016, Magliaro admits to a violation of N.J.A.C. 11:5-6.4(b) by failing to make a reasonable effort to ascertain all material information concerning the physical condition of a property for which she accepted agency in that she did not conduct a visual inspection of the property; and, to a violation of N.J.A.C. 11:5-6.2(a)(5) by failing to obtain initials of all parties to a change to a rental agreement. A fine of $1,500 was imposed.

Catherine Moeller, a licensed New Jersey real estate Salesperson, Ocean County – By Consent Order dated January 26, 2016, Moeller admits to a violation of N.J.A.C. 11:5-4.2 by failing to supervise the activities of persons under her employ. A $2,000 fine was imposed.

Terrence Moeller, a licensed New Jersey real estate Salesperson, Ocean County – By Consent Order dated January 26, 2016, Moeller admits to a violation of N.J.A.C. 11:5-6.4(b) by failing to make a reasonable effort to ascertain all material information concerning the physical condition of a property for which he accepted agency in that he did not conduct a visual inspection of the property. A $1,000 fine was imposed.

Jeffrey Spector, a licensed New Jersey real estate Salesperson, Monmouth County – By Consent Order dated January 26, 2016, Spector admits to a violation of N.J.S.A. 45:15-17(g) and N.J.A.C. 11:5-6.1(m) by using an advertising method which involved a lottery. A $750 fine was imposed.

Lawrence Stone, a licensed New Jersey real estate salesperson, Atlantic County – By Consent Order dated January 13, 2016, Stone admits to violating N.J.S.A. 45:15-17(s) (two counts) by failing to notify the Commission within thirty (30) days of the filing of formal criminal charges against him and that he had been convicted of a criminal offense. Stone’s license will be held on probation for two (2) years. A $1,000 fine was imposed.

 
OPRA
OPRA is a state law that was enacted to give the public greater access to government records maintained by public agencies in New Jersey.
line
Adobe Acrobat
You will need to download the latest version of Adobe Acrobat Reader in order to correctly view and print PDF (Portable Document Format) files from this web site.
state seal
Copyright © 2011, State of New Jersey
New Jersey Department of Banking and Insurance