The State of New Jersey
NJ Department of Banking and Insurance
search  

Home > Insurance Division > Insurance Licensing and Education > Live Scan Fingerprinting
Live Scan: Electronic Fingerprinting Process
New Fees Effective May 1, 2014
 
Criminal History Background > Schedule an Appointment > Fees > Universal Form > Proper Identification > FAQs
Criminal History Background Investigation

New Jersey law (PL2003, Chapter 199) requires that every applicant and any officer, director, partner or owner of a controlling interest of a corporation or partnership applying for a resident insurance producer or public adjuster license issued by this Department submit fingerprints and written consent for a criminal history record check. Previously, fingerprinting involved the manual ink and roll method; however new technology allows for electronic impressions. To provide for a timely and efficient criminal history background review, the Department will be utilizing the State Police coordinated non-criminal justice fingerprinting process known as Live Scan. The State of New Jersey has contracted with a vendor, MorphoTrust, to perform this service. The company has established permanent sites throughout the State as well as several mobile units available to meet their contractual agreement.
 
How to Schedule an Appointment


Prior to contacting MorphoTrust, each candidate must complete the appropriate Universal Form (IDG_NJAPP_110113) depending upon the license type they are seeking. The Division of Insurance issues two license types - Producer and Public Adjuster. Please make sure that you are completing the correct universal form by identifying the license type in section #4 on the form. Once the proper form is completed you may schedule an appointment as described below. Do not discard the Universal form as it will need to be presented at your scheduled appointment.

Appointment scheduling is available via the Internet 24 hours per day, 7 days per week. The Department encourages everyone to schedule their appointment using this website to avoid telephone holding times. For applicants who do not have internet access, appointments are available through the toll free call center at 1-877-503-5981 on a first call, first served basis Monday through Friday, 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM and Saturday, 8:00 AM to 12 noon. Hearing impaired scheduling is available at 1-800-673-0353. English and Spanish operators are available through the Call Center.

 
Fees

Processing Fee:
All applicants must pay the criminal history record check fee directly to MorphoTrust. The total cost for this process is $67.20 (please note new fee). Payment will be required at the time of scheduling. Checks are not accepted by MorphoTrust. MorphoTrust will accept Money Orders and Credit Cards. Payment instructions are relayed during the scheduling process but have the credit card or money order ready prior to contacting MorphoTrust.

Cancellation Fee: A fee of $10 is charged to cover the cost of a scheduled appointment for applicants who do not cancel by noon on the business day prior to your scheduled appointment (Saturday noon for Monday appointments). The $10 fee also applies to applicants who are turned away from the printing sites due to their inability to present proper ID or who fail to present the proper and current version of the Universal Fingerprint form. All refunds are issued by MorphoTrust.
 
Selecting the Proper Universal Form


The Division of Insurance issues two license types - Producer and Public Adjuster. The proper Universal Form must be completed for scheduling and presented at the appointment or you will be turned away from the scanning center and charged a $10 fee, as described above. Each license type is identified in field #4 of the universal form. In addition, please be sure to use the most current version of the form. The most current version is below.


Universal Forms (IDG_NJAPP_110113):
 
Proper Identification

ACCEPTABLE ID REQUIREMENTS
- ID MUST include Photo, Name, Address (Home/Employer) and Date of Birth. Acceptable ID MUST be issued by a Federal, State, County, or Municipal entity for Identification purposes. Examples of acceptable ID are 1) Valid Photo Driver's License or Valid Photo ID issued by any State DMV or NJ MVC, 2) Passport. Acceptable ID MUST meet all of the underlined requirements above and MUST be present on one (1) ID. Combinations of documents are NOT acceptable. If acceptable ID is not presented you will not be fingerprinted.
 
Frequently Asked Questions Concerning Electronic Fingerprinting
 
If an individual has been fingerprinted in the State of New Jersey for another purpose, is the individual required to go through the process again?

Yes.  Regulations concerning dissemination of criminal history information prohibit its use outside the intended purpose. Federal and State security and privacy regulations dictate that dissemination of this information may only be for the purpose expressed in the form field identified as "Reason Fingerprinted." Sharing of criminal history information is therefore prohibited.
 
How do I begin the process?

The first step is to access our website and download the current version of the Universal Form (IDG_NJAPP_110113). Following completion of the proper universal form, contact MorphoTrust to schedule an appointment. We strongly suggest that you use their website at www.bioapplicant.com/nj. Don't forget to have your credit card or money order ready when scheduling the appointment.
 
What do I bring to the scanning center?

Scanning centers are located throughout the State. You may identify the most convenient location by accessing MorphoTrust's web site.
  1. You must bring to the scanning center photo identification. ID MUST include Photo, Name, Address (Home/Employer) and Date of Birth. Acceptable ID MUST be issued by a Federal, State, County, or Municipal entity for Identification purposes. Examples of acceptable ID are 1) Valid Photo Driver's License or Valid Photo ID issued by any State DMV or NJ MVC, 2) Passport. Acceptable ID MUST meet all of the underlined requirements above and MUST be present on one (1) ID. Combinations of documents are NOT acceptable. If acceptable ID is not presented you will not be fingerprinted.
  2. A properly completed Universal Form.
  3. The money order identified during the scheduling process, if you did not opt to pay by credit card.
 
When should I schedule the fingerprint scan?

The Department suggests that you schedule the fingerprint scan immediately after you pass the licensing exam. The scheduled appointment will be within 7 to 10 days of completing the scheduling process. Remember that we suggest you take advantage of MorphoTrust's online registration process.
 
Who needs to schedule a fingerprint scan for criminal history purposes?

Individuals applying for a New Jersey resident producer or public adjuster license. Individuals currently licensed do not need to complete this process.
Individuals who will serve as an officer, director, partner or owner of a controlling interest of a corporation or partnership applying as a resident business entity applicant or who are being added to an existing licensee.

NOTE:
Non-resident applicants and licensees are not required to submit to our criminal history background investigation and will not need to complete the Live Scan - Electronic Fingerprinting process.

top
Updated: December 2013

 
OPRA
OPRA is a state law that was enacted to give the public greater access to government records maintained by public agencies in New Jersey.
line
Adobe Acrobat
You will need to download the latest version of Adobe Acrobat Reader in order to correctly view and print PDF (Portable Document Format) files from this web site.
state seal
Copyright © 2011, State of New Jersey
New Jersey Department of Banking and Insurance