DOE A to Z: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #

Educator Recruitment, Preparation, and Recognition

»Home »Preparation »State Program Approval Council (SPAC)


State Program Approval Council (SPAC)

New Jersey's SPAC serves a vital role in the approval process for educator preparation programs. Specifically, the role of the SPAC is to:

  • Advise the Commissioner on matters pertaining to educator preparation quality;
  • Participate in the program approval process for initial and substantially revised programs;
  • Consider program information required for periodic review and recommend appropriate action regarding a program's status;  and
  • Make recommendations for program approval to the Department.

SPAC Membership

The New Jersey Department of Education (NJDOE) is pleased to announce the composition of the 2016-2018 SPAC.  The SPAC is comprised of four representatives of Certificate of Eligibility with Advanced Standing (CEAS, formerly traditional route) institutions of higher education, three representatives of Certificate of Eligibility (CE, formerly alternate route) educator preparation providers, and four P-12 practitioners.   The following members have been appointed to the council:

  • CEAS Representatives
    • Dorothy Feola (Assistant Dean, William Paterson University)
    • Stephanie McGowan (Assistant Dean, Seton Hall University
    • Jennifer Robinson (Director of Center for Pedagogy, Montclair State University
    • Lisa Vernon-Dotson (Assistant Dean, Rowan University)
  • CE Representatives
    • Michael Hinman (Alt-Route Director, Stockton University-Regional Training Center)
    • Michelle Lageman (Director, NJ Center for Teaching and Learning)
    • Heather Ngoma (Alt-Route Director, Rutgers University- Center for Schools and Pedagogy)
  • P-12 Practitioners
    • Jennifer Clune (Special Education Teacher, East Greenwich School District)
    • Meg Freeman (Vice Principal, Jersey City Public Schools)
    • Kristie-Anne Opaleski (High School English Teacher, Jackson School District)
    • Bruce Preston (Asst. Superintendent of Curriculum and Instruction, Howell Township)