DOE A to Z: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #


Background Information:

The New Jersey Core Curriculum Content Standards (NJCCCS) were first adopted by the State Board of Education in 1996. The standards are not curriculum, which is decided at the local level. Rather, the standards describe what students should know and be able to do upon completion of a thirteen-year public school education. The standards are also designed to help teachers prepare students to be college- and career-ready.

Revised every five years, the standards provide local school districts with clear and specific benchmarks for student achievement in nine content areas. Developed by panels of teachers, administrators, parents, students, and representatives from higher education, business, and the community, the standards are influenced by national standards, research-based practice, and student need. The standards define a "Thorough and Efficient Education" as guaranteed in 1875 by the New Jersey Constitution. The most recent review and revision of the standards occurred in 2014 for seven areas.  The standards in language arts literacy and math are undergoing a revision process through December 2015.

The New Jersey Core Curriculum Content Standards include Preschool Teaching and Learning Standards, as well as nine K-12 standards for the following:

21st Century Life and Careers
Comprehensive Health and Physical Education
Social Studies
Visual and Performing Arts
World Languages
Language Arts Literacy

Check the NJDOE calendar of events for information about workshops and training offered by the Department.