NJDOE News

For More Information Contact the Public Information Office: 609-292-1126
     Richard J. Vespucci

     Beth Auerswald

     Kathryn Forsyth, Director

For Immediate Release: November 23, 2009


Twenty-Five New  21st Century Community Learning Centers
Open Throughout the State

Twenty-five new community centers have opened this school year to serve students during the out-of-school hours, who attend schools in low-income areas throughout the state, Commissioner of Education Lucille E. Davy has announced.

“These centers reinforce our statewide focus on ensuring that all students receive an education that will help them succeed in school and prosper in a 21st century global economy,” Commissioner Davy said.  “They are located in communities that have significant numbers of at-risk students who can benefit greatly from the programs that are offered when school is not in session.”

The centers are sharing $12 million in federal funds under the 21st Century Community Learning Center Program to help more than 6,100 students, attending 96 public and non-public schools across the State, with academic, artistic and cultural enrichment, health and physical activity programs.  They provide a safe place to go during the hours of 3 p.m.- 6p.m., when youth are more likely to engage in risky behavior.

Research has shown that in addition to providing a safe place for students, high quality afterschool programs can improve academic performance, increase student attendance, and increase student engagement in learning, while also improving the health, social skills and emotional well-being of children.

The following five centers are receiving a 21st Century Community Learning Center grant for the first time:  Boys and Girls Club of Trenton & Mercer County, Boys & Girls Club of Hudson County, Foundation for Educational Administration, Golden Gate Inc., and Hope Academy Charter School.

The 25 community centers successfully competed against a total of 74 applications in a competitive selection process conducted by the New Jersey Department of Education.  In order to qualify for a federal grant, schools either must be designated as a Title I schoolwide school or enroll a minimum of 30 percent of their student population from low-income families.

All centers must have activities that cover all of the following six components:  academic enrichment, cultural and artistic, positive youth development, health and physical activity, character education and parental involvement.  In addition, the centers must offer literacy and other educational services to the families of the participating students.

In addition to the 21st Century Community Learning Center grants, the state has invested millions in New Jersey After 3 to expand and improve afterschool opportunities for students in New Jersey’s most at-risk communities. 

NOTE:  A list of the 25 new centers follows:
 
21st Century Community Learning Centers
New Jersey

AtlanticCare Behavioral Health  (Atlantic City School District - New York Avenue Family Center, Dr. King Family Center, Uptown Family Center, Viking Academy Family Center, Our Lady Star of the Sea School)
Rosalyn Norrell-Nance – 609-441-0102, Rnorrellnance@atlanticare.org

Boys & Girls Club of Trenton & Mercer County (Trenton School District – PJ Hill, Village Charter School, Emily Fisher Charter School, Trenton Catholic Academy)
David Anderson - danderson@bgctrenton.org

Boys & Girls Club of Hudson County (Chaplain Charles J. Watters Elementary School (PS #24)
Gary Greenberg - 201-333-4100 x121, ggreenberg@bgchc.org

Communities in School of New Jersey, Inc.   (Camden School District – Cooper Poynt School, Pyne Poynt School, Morgan Village Middle School)
Gwen Corrin – 973-242-0706,  gcorrin@cisnj.org

Cumberland Empowerment Zone Corporation (Landis Intermediate School, Vineland;  Lakeside Middle School, Millville; Port Norris School, Commercial Township; and Cherry Street School, Bridgeton)
Cindy Angelo – 856-459-1700 x4018, Cindya@cezcorp.org

Egg Harbor City School District
Marc Roesch – 609-965-1034 x172, mroesch@ehcs.k12.nj.us

Elizabeth School District
Rosa Carbone – 908-436-5010, carbonro@elizabeth.k12.nj.us

Foundation for Educational Administration (Jersey City School District - Franklin L. Williams Middle School (MS7) & MS 4)
Mary Reece - 609-860-1200, mreece@njpsa.org

FOCUS Hispanic Center for Community Development Inc. (Sussex Avenue, Broadway Elementary, 13th Avenue School in Newark and Maria L. Varisco-Rogers Charter School, Newark)
Piedad Vasquez – 973-624-2528 x125, pvasquez@focus411.org

Freehold Borough School District
Ronnie Dougherty - 732-761-2195, ronnied@freeholdboro.k12.nj.us

Golden Gate Inc. (Camden City School District – Yorkship Elementary, Riletta Cream Elementary School; Woodlynne Borough School District – Woodlynne Elementary School)
Valerie Robinson – 856-863-4900, goldengatecdc@aol.com

Hope Academy Charter School (Asbury Park)
Tom Harris - 732-988-4227 x19, tharris@hopeacademycs.org

Impact 21 Community Development Corporation (Rahway School District)
Sharon Towler – 732-680-9800 x33, stowler@impact21.org

Keansburg School District
Arlene Sciarappa – 732-787-2007 x2777, asciarappa@keansburg.k12.nj.us
 
Lakewood Township School District
Pat Snyder – 732-905-9581, psnyder@piners.org

Linden School District
Isabella Scocozza – 908-486-0139, iscocozza@linden.k12.nj.us

Newark Public Schools
Deborah Jennings – 973-412-1910, djennings@nps.k12.nj.us

Perth Amboy School District
Senovia Robles – 732-376-6240 x31401, senorobles@paps.net

Phillipsburg School District
Joanne Flynn – 908-213-2594, joflynn@server.pburg.k12.nj.us

Plainfield Public Schools
Anna Belin-Pyles – 908-731-4360 x5233,  abelinp@plainfield.k12.nj.us

Pleasantville School District
Dawn Rice-Bivens – 609-677-0080, drbivens.care@verizon.net

Regional Enrichment and Learning Center (Holbein Middle School and Folwell School, Mount Holly; and Albert Bean Elementary and John Glenn Elementary, Pine Hill)
Barbara Donahue – 856-232-7325, Barbara.donahue@realceners.com

Union City School District
Diane Capizzi – 201-392-3612, dcapizzi@union-city.k12.nj.us

Willingboro Township School District
Brent Nesmith – 609-835-3871, bnesmith@wboe.net

Workforce Investment Board of Passaic County (Paterson Academy High School and Paterson Catholic Regional High School)  
Lanisha Makle – 973-569-4028, lanisham@passaiccountynj.org