DOE A to Z: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #

NJ State Special Education Advisory Council » NJ SSEAC Home

COUNCIL MEMBERSHIP

State law (NJSA 18A:46-2), provides that the Commissioner of Education shall appoint and work with a council of no more than fifteen members.  The members of the Council work in collaboration with the director of the Office of Special Education Programs. In addition, there are several resource representatives from various state agencies. Appointments to the council are made in accordance with guidelines established in P.L. 94-142 and the reauthorized IDEA amendments. Members are appointed for a minimum of two-year terms that can be renewed for a maximum of three terms. Each appointment to the council must be confirmed by the State Board of Education.

Myriam Alizo
Parent member
Project Assistant, Center for Parent Information and Resources @ SPAN
Bilingual Parent Group Specialist, START Project

Statewide Parent Advocacy Network
35 Halsey Street
Newark, New Jersey 07102
(201) 960-7159
malizo@spannj.org

Dr. Paul F.  Barbato
Director of Special Services
Dumont Public Schools
25 Depew Street
Dumont, NJ 07628
(W) 201 387-3086
ebarbato@dumontnj.org 

Susan Colacello
Parent member
Director of School and Community Partnerships
Special Olympics New Jersey
1 Eunice Kennedy Shriver Way
Lawrenceville, NJ 08648
609-896-8000
scc@sonj.org

Mary Ann Comparetto
Parent member
Director of Parent Programs
New Jersey Coalition for Inclusive Education (NJCIE)
9 Auer Court, Suite H
East Brunswick, New Jersey 08816
732-613-0400
njcie@njcie.net

Barbara Gantwerk
Coordinator of Special Projects
New Jersey Principals and Supervisors Association/Foundation for Educational Administration
12 Centre Drive
Monroe Township, New Jersey 08831
609-860-1200
bgantwerk@njpsa.org

Beth Kelley
Lead Person/Principal
Riverbank Charter School of Excellence
1300 Hornberger Avenue
Roebling, New Jersey 08554
(609) 499-4321
kelley@riverbank.charter.k12.nj.us

Deborah Lynam - Co-chair
Parent Member
Director of Partnerships & Engagement
AIM Institute for Learning and Research
1200 River Road
Conshohocken, PA 19428
856-473-2127
dlynam@aimpa.org

Melanie McGackin
Parent member
Coordinator of Training and Education
Family Support Center of New Jersey
2516 Route 35 North
Manasquan, New Jersey 08736
(732) 528-8080
melanie.mcgackin@fscnj.org

Magaly Milton
Parent member
Educational Consultant
MJM Consulting
42 Blevins Avenue
Middletown, NJ 07748
(732) 533-5070
magalymilton@mac.com

Leslie Rubinstein
Parent member
President
Learning Disabilities Association of NJ (LDANJ)
614 Cranbury Road, Unit 6268
East Brunswick, NJ 08816
732-645-2738
info@ldanj.org

Dr. Christopher Shamburg
Parent Member
Professor and Coordinator of the Ed.D. in Educational Technology Leadership
New Jersey City University
2039 Kennedy Blvd.
Jersey City, NJ 07305
201-200-3078
cshamburg@njcu.edu

Amy Smith
Information Director
Autism New Jersey
500 Horizon Drive, Suite 530
Robbinsville, NJ 08691
609-588-8200
asmith@autismnj.org

Fred Tchang
Director, Assistive Technology Services          
Advancing Opportunities
1005 Whitehead Road Extension, Suite 1A
Ewing, NJ  08638
888-322-1918
ftchang@advopps.org

Dr. Dorothy Van Horn - Chair
Executive Director/Superintendent
Brookfield Schools
1009 Berlin Road
Cherry Hill, NJ 08034
856-795-8228, ext 229
dvanhorn@brookfieldschools.org

RESOURCE REPRESENTATIVES

Donna M. Holzschuh
CST Manager
New Jersey Juvenile Justice Commission
1001 Spruce Street, Suite 202
Trenton, NJ 08629
609-943-3132
donna.holzschuh@jjc.nj.gov

Dawn A. Mergen
Quality Assurance Specialist/Nurse
Family Health Services
New Jersey Department of Health
PO Box 364
Trenton, NJ 08625-0364
Phone: 609-777-7778; Fax: 609-292-3580
dawn.mergen@doh.nj.gov

Kelley Michalowski
Acting Director
Office of Education
New Jersey Department of Children and Families
PO Box 710
Trenton, New Jersey 08625-0710
609-583-3165
kelley.michalowski@dcf.state.nj.us

Eva Scott
Director of Blindness Education
New Jersey Commission for the Blind and Visually Impaired
153 Halsey Street
PO Box 47017
Newark, NJ  07101
(973) 648-4300
eva.scott@dhs.state.nj.us

Cheri R. Thompson
Program Planning and Development Specialist 1
Division of Vocational Rehabilitation Services
NJ Department of Labor and Workforce Development
PO Box 398
Trenton, NJ 08625-0398
609-292-5987 (Phone)
609-292-8347 (Fax)
cheri.thompson@dol.nj.gov