Christie Administration Announces Two Additional Disaster Recovery Centers Open in Ocean County

  • Saturday, November 24, 2012
  • Tags: Other

Trenton, NJ – Anyone affected by Hurricane Sandy can now visit two newly opened Disaster Recovery Centers (DRCs) in Ocean County if they have questions about recovery programs. There are now 33 DRCs open daily. The center in Bay Head will be open from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. while the curfew remains in effect. All others are open from 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. at the present time.

Individuals can register for assistance and follow up on previous applications by registering online at, or by web-enabled mobile device at By phone or 711/VRS, you can call 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY 1-800-462-7585.

DRCs allow residents to speak one-on-one to recovery representatives. FEMA program specialists are available to provide registration and other information, and to answer questions at the centers. These include mitigation specialists who can provide guidance on cost-effective rebuilding and repair techniques to reduce property damage in future disasters.

It is not necessary to visit a center to receive disaster assistance.

In addition to FEMA program specialists, customer service representatives from the U.S. Small  Business Administration (SBA) are available to answer questions about the SBA low-interest disaster loan program, and to assist with disaster loan applications.

The new DRCs are located at:

Ocean County                                                Ocean County
Little Egg Harbor Senior Center                         Harvey Cedars Bible Conference Center                                             
641 Radio Road                                               12 Cedars Ave.
Little Egg Harbor Township, NJ 08087           Harvey Cedars, NJ 08008
                                                                        (Long Beach Island)
DRC locations change frequently. The closest open offices can be found online at An alternative is to go to and search for DRC Locator. You may also text DRC and a ZIP code to 43362 (4FEMA) For example, if you lived in Atlantic City, you would text: DRC 08401.An applicant may go to any DRC, even if it is located in another county or state. Once an application has been made, a FEMA registration number is assigned. It can be accessed nationally.

Other DRCs in New Jersey are located in:

Atlantic County

Bergen County

Atlantic City Convention Center

Bergen County Plaza

1 Convention Blvd., Room 201

1 Bergen Plaza, 4th Floor

Atlantic City, NJ 08401

Hackensack, NJ 07652                       



Burlington County

Camden County                                            

Burlington Center Mall

Public Works Building                        

2501 Burlington – Mount Holly Road

2311 Egg Harbor Road

Suite 215

Lindenwold, NJ 08021

Burlington, NJ 08016




Cape May County

Cumberland County

Cape May Courthouse Public Library

Emergency Management Agency Office

30 Mechanics St.

637 Bridgeton Ave., Lower Level

Cape May Courthouse, NJ 08210

Bridgeton, NJ 08302



Essex County

Gloucester County

Willing Heart Community Care Center                     Government Services Building


555 Dr. Martin Luther King Blvd.

1200 North Delsea Drive

Newark, NJ  07103

Clayton, NJ 08312



Hudson County

Hudson County

Adjacent to Office Depot

Jersey City Museum

59 Washington St.

350 Montgomery St.

Hoboken, NJ 07030

Jersey City, NJ 07302   



Hunterdon County

Mercer County

Hunterdon County

Mercer County Community College

Department of Public Safety Annex

1200 Old Trenton Road

77 Park Ave.

West Windsor, NJ 08550

Flemington, NJ 08822




Middlesex County

Monmouth County

Sayreville Senior Center

Henry Hudson Trail Activity Center        

423 Main St.

945 Highway 36

Sayreville, NJ 08872

Leonardo, NJ 07737



Monmouth County

Monmouth County

Belmar Municipal Building

Union Beach Municipal Building

601 Main St.

650 Poole Ave.

Belmar, NJ 07719

Union Beach, NJ 07735



Morris County

Ocean County                  

Morris Plains Community Center

Bell Crest Plaza                 

51 Jim Fear Drive

Store Front 4C                                  

Morris Plains, NJ 07950

953 Fischer


Toms River, NJ  08753



Ocean County

Passaic County

Brick Township Civic Center

Passaic County Department of Health

270 Chambers Bridge Road

317 Pennsylvania Ave.

Brick, NJ 08723

Paterson, NJ 07503



Salem County

Somerset County

Penns Grove EMS Building

Somerset County Human Services

25 East Griffith St.

27 Warren St.

Penns Grove, NJ 08069

Somerville, NJ 08876



Sussex County

Union County

Sussex County Community College

Chisholm School Community Center

1 College Hill Road

100 S. Springfield Ave.

Newton, NJ 07860

Springfield, NJ 07081



Warren County


Franklin Township Municipal Building                      


2093 Route 57


Broadway, NJ 08808


In addition to the DRCs, there are also SBA Business Recovery Centers (BRCs) to serve business customers. SBA Customer Service Representatives are available at BRCs to provide one-on-one help to business owners seeking disaster assistance for losses. They are at the following locations, until further notice:

Atlantic County Bergen County
Richard Stockton College Bergen Community College
Small Business Development Center Small Business Development Center 
35 South Martin Luther King Blvd. 355 Main St., Room 121
Atlantic City, NJ 08401 Hackensack, NJ 07601
Hours: Mon-Fri 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Hours: Mon - Fri 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Cape May County Essex County
Cape May County Chamber of Commerce Rutgers University
13 Crest Haven Road Small Business Development Center
Cape May, NJ 08210 25 James St.   
Hours: Mon – Fri 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Newark, NJ 07102
  Hours: Mon-Fri 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Hudson County Middlesex County
Small Business Development Center John F. Kennedy Library
New Jersey City University 500 Hoes Lane
285 West Side Ave., Suites 189 - 191 Piscataway, NJ 08854                        
Jersey City, NJ 07305 Hours: Mon. - Sat.10 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Hours: Mon-Fri 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Sunday 1 p.m. to 5 p.m.
Monmouth County Ocean County
Brookdale Community College Southern Ocean County Chamber of Commerce
765 Newman Springs Road Stafford Heritage Park Train Station and Rail Car     
Bankier Library, Room 246 (SBDC) (Across from Manahawkin Lake between RT 9 and
Lincroft, NJ 07738 RT 72)
Hours: Mon- Fri 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. West Bay Ave.
  Manahawkin, NJ 08050
  Hours:   Mon – Sun 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
Passaic County Union County
William Paterson University Kean University - SBDC
Small Business Development Center Business One-Stop Service – The Incubator
131 Ellison St. 320 Park Ave.
Paterson, NJ 07505 Plainfield, NJ 07060
Hours: Mon- Fri 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Hours: Mon- Fri 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.

All BRCs will be closed on Friday, Nov. 23, through Sunday, Nov. 25. They will reopen with normal hours on Monday, Nov.26.

Renters, homeowners and businesses that do not need one-on-one assistance do not need to visit a center. They can apply for an SBA disaster loan online using the Electronic Loan Application (ELA) via SBA’s secure website at

# # #

Press Contact:
Michael Drewniak
Kevin Roberts

Stay Connectedwith Social Media

Stay Connectedwith Email Alerts

Share With Your Friends