Division of Health Facilities Evaluation and Licensing

Select textsizemediumlargelarger

Nursing Home Administrator Licensure and Licensing Board Regulations and Application Instructions

Thank you for your interest in becoming a New Jersey licensed Nursing Home Administrator (NHA). Attached is a NHA application packet. Please read in its entirety, as many of your questions will be answered by carefully reading the contents of this document. New and revised standards governing the Nursing Home Administrators Licensing Board (Board) were adopted March 2, 2011 and effective April 4, 2011. Compliance with all regulations is expected as of the effective date and will be monitored accordingly. N.J.S.A. 30:11-1 statutes and N.J.A.C. 8:34 regulations are available at “Statutes, Rules, Rule Proposals”. The new application forms are required and available by clicking on “Forms”.

If you should decide to submit an application, forward the completed application to the attention of the Nursing Home Administrators Licensing Board. Please note, the Board does not acknowledge receipt of individual applications or other documents. If you need proof of delivery, please use an expedited service such as UPS, Fed Ex or one of the post office services that confirm receipt. Allow 30-60 days for the processing of your application. The Nursing Home Administrators Licensing Board can be contacted at (609) 633-9706. The mailing address for the New Jersey Nursing Home Administrators Licensing Board is:

Regular Mailing Address:
PO Box 358
Trenton, NJ 08625-0358

Overnight Services (Non US Postal Service) (UPS, FedEx, or DHL):
171 Jersey Street, Bldg. 5, 1st fl.
Trenton, NJ 08611 2425


Applications for Licensure as a Nursing Home Administrator

Staff and/or the Committee for Administrative Practice (CAP) of the New Jersey Nursing Home Administrators Licensing Board will review your application packet upon receipt. Please submit a complete application packet which includes an application for licensure (NH-1), an application for PRIOR approval of your internship (NH-8), an official college transcript, three letters of reference (other than from your administrator/preceptor), the non-refundable application fee of $100.00 and any supporting documentation, together. Please use Health Facility Licensure Payments on the left side of this page to submit your payment via e-check or credit card. Print the payment confirmation page or the confirmation e-mail you received as proof of payment and include this printout to your application form. Applications that arrive without proof of payment will not be processed. If the application is incomplete, the review process will be delayed until the Board receives the additional information. At the conclusion of the review process, you will receive a copy of your Application for Approval of Administrative Intern Program (AIP) form indicating the approval status of your AIP. No applicant is to begin any aspect of the AIP program without prior Board approval.

100 Hour Course Information

N.J.A.C. 8:34-3.1(a)5 requires first time applicants to successfully complete 100 seminar or course hours in areas relevant to long term care administration as determined by the Board. Some of the potential sponsors for this course are noted below. However, please review the new Nursing Home Administrators Licensing Board Regulations as new and revised standards governing the Nursing Home Administrators Licensing Boards' (Board) continuing education program were adopted March 2, 2011 and effective April 4, 2011. Please be advised, it is the course participant’s responsibility to review N.J.A.C. 8:34-7.3 and to confirm with the course sponsor, that the sponsor is in compliance with N.J.A.C. 8:34-7.3 before registering for any course.

NAB Academic Accreditation Program
http://www.nabweb.org/NABWEB/common/academia.aspx?id=76
Health Care Association of New Jersey
4 AAA Drive, Suite 203
Hamilton, NJ 08691-1803
Michelle Palko
Phone: 609-890-8700
http://www.hcanj.org/education
(Scroll down to the HCANJ 100-Hour LNHA Prep Course and click on the “details button”.)
Townco Consultants, Inc.
444 Neptune Blvd. Suite 15
Neptune, NJ 07753
Phone: 732-775-4462
Fax: 732-775-4482
http://www.ltccareertraining.com
Long Term Care Education (Home Study Course LTCE 201 & 202)
706 Greenwood Road
Chapel Hill, NC 27514
Dr. James Allen
Phone: 919-815-0387
Fax: 919-933-6825
http://www.longtermcareeducation.com/
Institute for Continuing Education & Research
PO Box 339
Flourtown, PA. 19031-0339
Gordon Kutler
Phone: 215-836-2383
http://www.icer.org/
Longtree & Association, LLC
45 Pacific Avenue
Middletown, NJ 07748
Laurie Loughney
Phone: 848-218-1320

Ethics for Nursing Home Administrators Continuation Education Required CEU Credit Hours

N.J.A.C. 8:34-6.2(f) requires New Jersey administrators to complete an ethics course specifically for Nursing Home Administrators. The following course fulfills this requirement.

Rutgers Edward J. Bloustein School of Planning and Public Policy
Online Course: Practical Ethics for Nursing Home Administrators (6.0 CEUs) http://policy.rutgers.edu/ce/


Licensure By Examination Information

A computer-based test, administered by the Professional Examination Service (PES), is the examination standard in New Jersey. The National Association of Boards of Examiners of Long Term Care Administrators (NAB), which is composed of state boards or agencies responsible for licensing long term care administrators, contracts with PES, a testing agency, to assist with the test development, scoring, and score reporting. The NAB/PES licensing examination is administered on computer (computer-based testing [CBT]) through the ProMetric multi-state network of testing centers. This is in accordance with the provisions of New Jersey's contract with NAB to receive examinations and score reports. The New Jersey Nursing Home Administrators Licensing Board regulates the licensure of nursing home administrators in New Jersey and retains the sole authority to determine eligibility for examination and passing scores. Please be aware, there is no New Jersey “State” licensing examination.

Instructions for completing the examination application and completing the required background check will be sent to you when the Board receives a completed Certification of Program Completion for Nursing Home Administrative Intern Program form. The application to take the licensing examination is completed online after all eligible requirements have been met N.J.A.C. 8:34-5.1(b) and the required verifying documentation has been received and reviewed in this office. Please do not apply to take the examination until you receive the instructions from the Board.


Health Facilities Licensure Payments

Submit Payments for Health Facilities Licensure


Nursing Home Administrator Licensing Board Payments

Submit Payments for Nursing Home Administrator Licensing Board