News Release

PO 360
Trenton, NJ 08625-0360
Christine Grant
Acting Commissioner
For Release:
March 31, 1999
For Further Information Contact:
Rita Manno
(609) 984-7160
Dennis McGowan
(609) 984-7160
NJ Home Page DHSS Home Page

Department Honors Ten For Achievements
With Public Health Week Awards

TRENTON -- The Department of Health and Senior Services marked the start of National Public Health Week in New Jersey (April 4-11) by honoring ten individuals and groups for their outstanding contributions to the improvement of public health in our state.

Honorees include health advocates, professionals, private and public agencies and organizations and others who have advanced health and health care issues and programs within their communities.

Public Health Week
Acting Commissioner Christine Grant and Audrey Gotsch, President American Public Health Association at New Jersey's Public Health Week Ceremonies

The 1999 Public Health Week Award recipients are:

Friends of Public Health Award - Senator Wynona Lipman, 29th Legislative District, for her commitment to women and children's health issues, and Assemblymen Nick Asselta, 1st District, a strong advocate for improving access to and the quality of health care in New Jersey.

Dr. Oscar Auerbach Award - Named in honor of the late Dr. Auerbach, noted researcher and chief of laboratories at the Veterans' Administration Medical Center in East Orange, this award is presented to Mobile Intensive Care Paramedics Jeanne Kerwin, Whitehouse Station, and Matthew Scott, Absecon. Ms. Kerwin and Mr. Scott took leadership roles in developing the Medical Society of New Jersey's out-of-hospital Do Not Resuscitate (DNR) policy and have trained Emergency Medical Services' personnel across the state on the appropriate use of DNR orders when encountered in the field.

Public Health Education Award - For their work with NJ Breathes (NJB), a coalition of 41 organizations advocating zero tolerance for the use of tobacco products in New Jersey, this award will be presented to Dr. Paul Wallner, a physician with the University of Pennsylvania, and NJB Director Larry Downs.

Senior Health Award - Assemblywoman Carol Murphy, 26th Legislative District, for her work as chairwoman of the New Jersey Elder Care Task Force. The task force held public hearings to gather information from providers, consumers and care givers and is preparing a report on the current and future needs of seniors and those who care for them.

Dr. John Alexander Award - Sunday Parker, R.N., M.P.H., coordinator of Children's Health Services (CHS), City of Trenton Division of Health. Under Ms. Parker's leadership, CHS has increased age-appropriate childhood immunization rates, enrolled more eligible children in programs such as Medicaid, KidCare and WIC, and, in partnership with Trenton Public Schools, increased the number of sixth graders who have completed the hepatitis B series. Dr. Alexander, for whom this award is named, was a Newark pediatrician and a leading voice in support of childhood immunizations and lead screening.

Al Harrison Award - Named in honor of one of the state's most impassioned advocates for children with disabilities, the Al Harrison Award is presented to The Early Intervention System Stakeholders Task Force, for developing recommendations to improve the early intervention system in New Jersey.

"Smoking. Don't Get Sucked In" Student Award - Amy Perlman, West Windsor-Plainsboro High School, who submitted the winning entry in the department's first ever statewide television public service announcement contest. The 30-second script is designed to discourage middle school kids from beginning, or continuing, to smoke.

# # #

NJ Home Page DHSS Home Page