skip to main contentskip to main navigation
 
State of New Jersey Deapartment of Human Services title graphic  
 
Division of Aging Services
Aging & Disability Resource Connection
New Jersey Helps
NJ 211 Community Resource Website
NJ Family Care
Care2Caregivers
New Jersey Housing Resource Center
Alzheimer

The Alzheimer's Adult Day Services Program subsidizes adult day care services for persons with Alzheimer's disease or a related dementia. The subsidy is for up to three days per week of services. The sliding scale for subsidy ranges from 20% to 100% of the cost of services. Additional days may be possible through private pay or other programs; check with the center or the Aging and Disability Resource Connection (1-877-222-3737) for more information on funding or other programs.

Program brochure

The Department currently has letters of agreement with 32 adult day care centers in 18 counties. Participants are not limited to the centers in their county of residence. Applications for this program are completed with the center.

What do contracted centers provide?
  • At least a five-hour program day;
  • At least one full meal (most provide a light breakfast and a full lunch);
  • Programs and activities according to the participants’ interests and adapted for their cognitive and physical abilities;
  • Transportation, or assist with arranging transportation;
  • Support to families dealing with dementia; and
  • Special training for staff on managing dementia.
 
 
What are the eligibility requirements?
  1. Have a diagnosis, documented by a licensed physician, of Alzheimer's disease or a related dementia.
  2. Be age 18 or older.
  3. Have daily, basic care and/or supervision by an uncompensated caregiver (spouse, family, friend, etc.) who is age 18 or older.
  4. Reside in the community (not in a facility).
  5. Have documented evidence of eligibility according to income and asset guidelines.
  6. Be a resident of the state of New Jersey.
  7. Not currently participating in a Medicaid program (NJ FamilyCare, MLTSS, etc.), JACC, Statewide Respite Care Program, or Congregate Housing Services Program. A participant can switch from JACC or Statewide Respite and onto the Alzheimer’s Adult Day Services Program.
 
 
What are the financial guidelines?
  • Single person (unmarried or widowed): Maximum $50,256 annual income, maximum $40,000 in liquid assets
  • Married person: Maximum $58,632 combined annual income, maximum $60,000 in combined liquid assets
 
 
For additional information about this program, contact:

Any participating center, or

New Jersey Department of Human Services
Division of Aging Services
P.O. Box 807
Trenton, NJ 08625-0807
Phone: 609-588-6532
Email: aadp@dhs.state.nj.us

 
 
For information on what to look for in an adult day center, visit:
 
 
For additional information and support, contact:
 
 
 
OPRA - Open Public Records Act NJ Home Logo
Department: DHS Home  |  DHS Services A to Z  |  Consumers & Clients - Individuals and Families  |  Important Resources  |  Divisions & Offices  |  Commissioner & Key Staff  |  Disaster & Emergency Help & Information  |  Press Releases, Public and Legislative Affairs, & Publications  |  Providers & Stakeholders: Contracts, Legal Notices, Licensing, MedComms  |  Get Involved with DHS!  |  Notice of Non-Discrimination  |  Taglines for Language Services
Statewide: NJHome  |  Services A to Z  |  Departments/Agencies  |  FAQs
 
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 1996 - 2013