LEGAL NOTICE

STATE OF NEW JERSEY

DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES

DIVISION OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE AND HEALTH SERVICES
Medicaid Pharmacy Services and Reimbursement
TAKE NOTICE that the New Jersey Department of Human Services (DHS), Division of Medical Assistance and Health Services intends to seek approval from the United States Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, for an amendment to the New Jersey Medicaid (Title XIX) State Plan, in order to implement State Fiscal Year 2012 (SFY 2012) budget provisions included in the Appropriations Act.  This Notice is intended to satisfy the requirements of Federal law and regulations, specifically 42 U.S.C. § 1396a(a)(13) and 42 CFR 447.205. 

The following proposed budget provisions, if approved, would not result in any new aggregate budget savings during SFY 2012:
(1) Through August 31, 2011 (a) reimbursement for the cost of all legend and non-legend drugs shall be calculated based on the lowest of: (i) the Average Wholesale Price less a volume discount not to exceed 17.5% as shall be determined by the Commissioner and the Director of the Division of Budget and Accounting; or (ii) the federal upper limit (FUL); or (iii) the state upper limit (SUL); or (iv) a pharmacy’s usual and customary charge; and (b) the current prescription drug dispensing fee structure set as a variable rate of $3.73 to $3.99 shall remain in effect through August 31, 2011;

(2) On or after September 1, 2011 (a) drug costs for all legend and non-legend single source, brand-name multi-source, and multi-source drugs shall be calculated based upon, in the discretion of the DHS Commissioner: (i) cost acquisition data submitted by providers, suppliers, and/or wholesalers of pharmaceutical services for single source, brand-name multi-source, and multi-source drugs; or (ii) the wholesale acquisition cost (WAC) less a one percent volume discount  for single-source and multi-source brand-name drugs; or (iii) the lesser of the SUL or FUL for multi-source drugs;
(3) On or after September 1, 2011, drug reimbursement shall be calculated, in the discretion of the DHS Commissioner, based on either: (i) the lesser of the acquisition data from providers, suppliers and/or wholesalers for single source, brand-name multi-source, and multi-source drugs plus a professional fee or a provider’s usual and customary charge; or (ii) the lesser of WAC less one percent plus a dispensing fee of $3.73 to 3.99 for single-source and multi-source brand-name drugs or a provider’s usual and customary charge; or (iii) the lesser of SUL or FUL plus a dispensing fee of $3.73 to $3.99 for multi-source drugs or a provider’s usual and customary charge.  In the absence of drug cost acquisition data on or after September 1, 2011, reimbursement shall be based on the lesser of (3)(ii) or (3)(iii) above.  To effectuate the purposes of this paragraph, which is intended to be budget neutral, DHS shall mandate ongoing submission of current drug acquisition data for providers, suppliers, and/or wholesalers of pharmaceutical services for reimbursement of dispensing or administering single source, brand-name multi-source, and multi-source drugs, and no funds appropriated shall be paid to any entity that fails to submit required data.
 A copy of this Notice is available for public review at the local Medical Assistance Customer Centers, County Welfare Agencies, and on the Department’s website at http://www.state.nj.us/humanservices/providers/grants/public/index.html. 
Comments or inquiries must be submitted in writing within 30 days of the date of this notice to:  
Margaret Rose

Division of Medical Assistance and Health Services

Office of Legal and Regulatory Affairs

P.O. Box 712, Mail Code #26

Trenton, New Jersey 08625-0712

Fax: 609-588-7343

E-mail address:  MAHS.NJSTATEPLAN.COORDINATOR@dhs.state.nj.us
