Inauguration 2006 title graphic
1.17.2006 title graphic
spacer image
Inauguration 2006
Live Web Cast
Press Release
Past Governors
Photo of Governor Corzine
spacer imagespacer image
Past Governors

Governors of New Jersey 

I. Colonial Period
1665-1703 Proprietors; 1703-1776 Royal Government

Philip Carteret East New Jersey 1665-82
Edmund Andros East and West New Jersey 1674-81;
Edward Byllynge West New Jersey 1680-87
Robert Barclay East New Jersey 1682-90
Daniel Coxe West New Jersey 1687-92
Andrew Hamilton East and West New Jersey 1692-98, 1699-1703
Jeremiah Basse East and West New Jersey 1698-99
Edward Hyde, Lord Cornbury New York and New Jersey 1703-8
John Lovelace New York and New Jersey 1708-9
Richard Ingoldesby New York and New Jersey 1709-10
Robert Hunter New York and New Jersey 1710-20
William Burnet New York and New Jersey 1720-28
John Montgomerie New York and New Jersey 1728-31
William Cosby New York and New Jersey 1732-36
Lewis Morris New Jersey 1738-46
Jonathan Belcher New Jersey 1747-57
Francis Bernard New Jersey 1758-60
Thomas Boone New Jersey 1760-61
Josiah Hardy New Jersey 1761-63
William Franklin New Jersey 1763-76

II. Governors Under Constitution 1776

William Livingston Patriot 1776-90
William Paterson Federalist 1790-93
Richard Howell Federalist 1793-1801
Joseph Bloomfield Jeffersonian-Republican 1801-2; 1803-12
Aaron Ogden Federalist 1812-13
William S. Pennington Jeffersonian-Republican 1813-15
Mahlon Dickerson Jeffersonian-Republican 1815-17
Isaac H. Williamson Jeffersonian-Republican 1817-29
Peter D. Vroom Democrat 1829-32; 1833-36
Samuel L. Southard Whig 1832-33
Elias P. Seeley Whig 1833
Philemon Dickerson Democrat 1836-37
William Pennington Whig 1837-43
Daniel Haines Democrat 1843-45; 1848-51

III. Governors Under Constitution of 1844

Charles C. Stratton Whig 1845-48
George F. Fort Democrat 1851-54
Rodman M. Price Democrat 1854-57
William A. Newell Republican 1857-60
Charles S. Olden Republican 1860-63
Joel Parker Democrat 1863-66; 1872-75
Marcus L. Ward Republican 1866-69
Theordore F. Randolph Democrat 1869-72
Joseph D. Bedle Democrat 1875-78
George B. McClellan Democrat 1878-81
George C. Ludlow Democrat 1881-84
Leon Abbett Democrat 1884-87; 1890-93
Robert S. Green Democrat 1887-90
George T. Werts Democrat 1893-96
John W. Griggs Republican 1896-98
Foster M. Vorhees Republican 1898-1902
Franklin Murphy Republican 1902-05
Edward C. Stokes Republican 1905-08
John Franklin Fort Republican 1908-11
Woodrow Wilson Democrat 1911-13
James F. Fielder Democrat 1913-17
Walter E. Edge Republican 1917-19; 1944-47
Edward I. Edwards Democrat 1920-23
George S. Silzer Democrat 1923-26
A. Harry Moore Democrat 1926-29; 1932-35; 1938-41
Morgan F. Larson Republican 1929-32
Harold Hoffman Republican 1935-38
Charles Edison Democrat 1941-44

IV. Governors Under Constitution of 1947

Alfred E. Driscoll Republican 1947-54
Robert B. Meyner Democrat 1954-62
Richard J. Hughes Democrat 1962-70
William T. Cahill Republican 1970-74
Brendan Byrne Democrat 1974-82
Thomas Kean Republican 1982-90
James Florio Democrat 1990-94
Christine Whitman Republican 1994-2001
Donald T. Di Francesco Republican 2001-02
James McGreevey Democrat 2002-04
Richard Codey Democrat 2004-06
spacer image
January Seventeenth Two Thousand and Six graphic
Footer graphic
NJ Home Services A to Z Departments/Agencies FAQs Contact the State Privacy Notice Legal Statement Accessibility Statement NJ Home Page NJ home Services A to Z Departments/Agencies FAQs search