New Jersey Statewide Navigation Bar
NJ Office of the Attorney General Banner
Division of Consumer Affairs

 
 
Continuing Medical Education

End-of-Life Care Continuing Medical Education Update

End-of-Life Care Continuing Medical Education Update The New Jersey Board of Medical Examiners requires 100 continuing medical education credits, of which at least 40 of such credits shall be in Category I. Commencing with this biennial renewal period which started on July 1, 2013, two of the 40 credits in Category I courses shall, pursuant to P.L. 2011, c. 145 (C.45:9-7.7), be in programs or topics related to end-oflife care. The Board is aware that many hospitals and a wide variety of other CME providers are offering a variety of courses that will satisfy this 2 hour requirement.

If a licensee believes that this mandate has little applicability to his/her practice area, waivers or extensions can be requested. The licensee, within 60 days of the expiration of the biennial renewal period, (i.e., by April 30, 2015) needs to send to the Board office, by certified mail, return receipt requested, or other proof of delivery, a letter explaining why such waiver/exemption is applicable. If granted, the extension or waiver is effective for the biennial licensure period in which the extension and/or waiver is granted. If the reason(s) which necessitated the extension and/or waiver continues into the next biennial period, the licensee shall apply to the Board for the renewal of such extension and/or waiver for the new biennial period.

General Continuing Medical Education Requirements

In 2002 N.J.S.A. 45:9-7.1 was enacted into law requiring continuing medical education as a condition for biennial registration renewal. By regulation (N.J.A.C.13:35-6.15), for the registration cycle 2003-2005, physicians and podiatrists were required to complete 50 credits/hours of continuing medical education (CME).     At least 20 credits/hours of the requirement had to be Category I and up to 30 credits/hours could be Category II..  For registration cycles beginning in 2005 and thereafter, physicians and podiatrists must complete 100 credits of continuing medical education at least 40 of which must be Category I and up to 60 of which can be Category II.  Category I and II are those categories of medical education courses recognized by the American Medical Association as defined by Physician Recognition Award guidelines.  For courses accredited by the AOA Category I includes AOA classifications 1A,1B and 2A while Category II includes AOA classification 2B.  Category I hours are classified by the Council on  Podiatric Medical Education as “Formal Contact Hours” and Category II hours are considered informal medical education. 

Standards for the CME subject matter and content of courses are developed by the Board, which may also accredit other programs and recognize national or state organizations that accredit education programs. Each hour of an educational course or program shall be equivalent to one credit of continuing medical education. The board may, in its discretion, waive requirements or grant time to completion extensions for continuing medical education on an individual basis for reasons of hardship such as illness , disability, military service or upon demonstration of other good cause. A waiver/extension shall apply only to the current biennial renewal period at the time of board issuance and must be requested in writing certified mail, return receipt requested at least 60 days prior to the expiration of the biennial renewal period.  Supportive, objective, documentation must be submitted for consideration of a waiver or extension.

All evidence of verification (including primary source verification) of Category I CME must be maintained by licensees for 6 years following completion of the educational activity copies of which should be presented to the board upon request.  Unverified recognition awards or certificates will not be accepted for verification of CME.  Verified transcripts will be accepted.  Category II CME ,not otherwise documented , may be claimed using contemporaneous notes of informal medical educational activities and/or attestation to informal medical educational activities. 

New licensees must successfully complete, within 24 months of becoming licensed, an orientation course, presented or approved by the Board.  The orientation course does not count towards the CME credit requirement for New Jersey. 

Licensees obtaining  their initial New Jersey license who are recently graduated from accredited  training programs may qualify for a one time exemption from the CME requirement.  For details and dates please see  Frequently Asked Questions.

Specific CME requirements for licensees credentialed by hospitals or alternatively privileged by the Board of Medical Examiners pursuant to N.J.A.C. 13:35-4A.8-10 to provide anesthesia services  in physician’s offices.

General Anesthesia

By June 30, 2007, and during every consecutive three-year period thereafter, a physician credentialed by a hospital or alternatively privileged by the Board pursuant to N.J.A.C. 13:35-4A.12 to provide general anesthesia services must complete at least sixty Category I hours of continuing medical education in anesthesia which either meet the criteria for credit towards the Physician's Recognition Award of the American Medical Association or have been approved by the American Osteopathic Association. N.J.A.C. 13:35-4A.8.

Regional Anesthesia

By June 30, 2007, and during every consecutive three-year period thereafter, a physician credentialed by a hospital or alternatively privileged by the Board pursuant to N.J.A.C. 13:35-4A.12 to provide regional anesthesia must complete at least eight Category I hours of continuing medical education in anesthesia exclusively or in anesthesia as it relates to the physician's field of practice, which either meet the criteria for credit towards the Physician's Recognition Award of the American Medical Association or have been approved by the American Osteopathic Association. N.J.A.C. 13:35-4A.9.

Conscious Sedation

By June 30, 2007, and during every consecutive three-year period thereafter, a physician credentialed by a hospital or alternatively privileged by the Board pursuant to N.J.A.C. 13:35-4A.12 to provide conscious sedation must complete at least eight Category I or II hours of continuing medical education in anesthesia services, which may consist exclusively of conscious sedation, or may consist of anesthesia as related to the physician's field of practice, which either meet the criteria for credit towards the Physician's Recognition Award of the American Medical Association or have been approved by the American Osteopathic Association. N.J.A.C. 13:35-4A.10.

Credits obtained to satisfy  anesthesiology CME  can be used to satisfy the general CME requirements.

The Alternative Privilege requirements can be accessed at: http://www.njconsumeraffairs.gov/bme/privilege/altpriv.htm

Information about CME required for Anesthesiologists in hospitals or alternatively privileged can be accessed at: www.njconsumeraffairs.gov/bme/privilege/altpriv.htm#cme2


bottom navigation graphic New Jersey Home Contact Us Privacy Notice Legal Statement
board of medical examiners: bme home | consumers | applicants | physicians & podiatrists | institutions | bme sitemap
division: consumer protection | complaint forms | licensing boards | adoptions | proposals | minutes | consumer briefs
departmental: lps home | contact us | news | about us | FAQs | library | employment | programs and units | services a-z
statewide: nj home | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search

Page last modified:
New Jersey Home My New Jersey People Business Government Departments
ÿ