Skip to main navigationSkip to News Headlines
NJ Division of Consumer Affairs
Global Navigation
Division of Consumer Affairs
The State of New Jersey Office of The Attorney General (Dept. of Law & Public Safety) The State of New Jersey NJ Home Services A to Z Departments/Agencies OAG Frequently Asked Questions
OAG Home
OAG Contact
Division of Consumer Affairs Alerts and Recalls
Division of Consumer Affairs Alerts and Recalls
Office of the Attorney General Homepage Division of Consumer Affairs, Director
Division of Consumer Affairs, Director
Division of Alcoholic Beverage Control
Division of Consumer Affairs
Division of Consumer Affairs Highlights
Division of Consumer Affairs Topics in a A-Z List Format
Office of Consumer Protection (OCP)
New Jersey Bureau of Securities
Office of Weights and Measures
Legalized Games of Chance Control Commission
Alternative Dispute Resolution
Professions and Occupations List
Contact the Division of Consumer Affairs
Division of Consumer Affairs in Spanish
Division of Criminal Justice
Division on Civil Rights
Division of Gaming Enforcement
Division of Highway Traffic Safety
Division of Law
Juvenile Justice Commission
NJ Racing Commission
State Athletic Control Board
Division of NJ State Police
Victims of Crime Compensation Office
Subscribe to Buyer Beware Alerts
OPRA - Open Public Records Act
Download Free PDF Reader


New Jersey State Board of Optometristts
Frequently Asked Questions
for Licensees

General Questions:

Continuing Education Questions:

    1. Does the Board grant credit to courses that are approved by the Council of Optometric Practitioner Education (COPE) www.optometryCE.org.?
    2. Can I get credit for courses that have not been approved?
    3. How many continuing education credits can I obtain from Internet or correspondence courses?
    4. How many continuing education credits can I obtain from a residency or a fellowship?
    5. How many credits can I obtain from completing a CPR course?
    6. How many continuing education credits can I carry into the succeeding biennial period?
    7. If I was licensed during the first year of the biennial renewal period (May 1st of every odd year through April 30th of every even year), how many continuing education credits do I need to complete before my license expires?
    8. If I was licensed during the second year of the biennial renewal period (May 1st of every even year and April 30th of every odd year), how many continuing education credits do I need to complete before my license expires?

Advertising Questions:

    1. Does my license and certification number have to be on my business cards, letterhead, and signs?



General Questions

1. How do I request to have a verification of my New Jersey optometric license sent to another state board?

You need to write to the New Jersey State Board of Optometrists, P.O. Box 45012, Newark New Jersey 07101 and request a verification of your license. The fee for a licensure verification is $40.00. In your written request please include your name, New Jersey license number, and the name and address of the state board that you wish your verification to be mailed to. Please enclose with your written request a $40.00 certified check or money order made payable to the New Jersey State Board of Optometrists. In the event the other state board has a form that needs to be completed by the New Jersey State Board of Optometrists, please include that form with your written request.

2. When do I have to notify the Board of a change of address?

New Jersey licensed optometrists must notify the Board in writing of any change of address or location of his or her office or offices at least 5 days prior to occupying said new office. The fee for an address change for a license is $25.00. The fee for an address change for a Therapeutic Pharmaceutical Agent (TO or OM) certification is $25.00. In your written request please include your name, your address and your New Jersey license number. Please enclose with your written request a certified check or money order made payable to the New Jersey State Board of Optometrists in the applicable amount as indicated above.

3. If I practice at another location other than my main office, am I required to obtain a license for the additional location?

Yes. A branch office application must be completed and submitted to the Board office with the appropriate fees. The fee for a branch office license is $250.00 for each office during the first year of the biennial renewal period (May 1st of every odd year through April 30th of every even year). If an optometrist is certified in Therapeutics, there is an additional charge of $25.00 equaling $275.00. The fee for a branch office license is $125.00 for each office during the second year of the biennial renewal period (May 1st of every even year and April 30th of every odd year). If an optometrist is certified in Therapeutics, there is an additional charge of $25.00 equaling $150.00.


Continuing Education Questions

1. Does the Board grant credit to courses that are approved by the Council of Optometric Practitioner Education (COPE) www.optometryCE.org.?

Yes.

2. Can I get credit for courses that have not been approved?

The Board may grant a licensee, upon audit, continuing professional optometric education credit for courses or programs which have not been pre-approved if the Board determines that the course or program has significant educational or practical content which deal with matters related to the practice of optometry or with the professional responsibilities or ethical obligations of the licensees.

3. How many continuing education credits can I obtain from Internet or correspondence courses?

A maximum of 20 of the mandatory 50 continuing professional optometric education credits, including a maximum of the 10 of the mandatory 30 TPA credits required, from any or all of the following:

1. Videotape, audiotape, computer media, Internet, journal, or correspondence courses or programs. The course or program shall include an examination at the end of the course or program.

2. Structured grand round, which is a presentation, with a formal outline of the course or program material, of clinical cases involving actual patient encounters and the lecture and discussion of the diagnosis and treatment of the particular patient condition.

3. Hands-on demonstration of instrumentation when accompanied by didactic lectures.

4. Interactive workshops which include demonstrations and applications of hands-on techniques and skills in optometric procedures and instrumentations accompanied by didactic lectures.

5. Preparation and presentation of a continuing professional otpometric education lecture.

6. Preparation of an educational or scientific article authored and published in a professional refereed journal.

4. How many continuing education credits can I obtain from a residency or a fellowship?

Twenty five credits, of which 12.5 shall be therapeutic pharmaceutical agents (TPA) credits, upon completing each residency or fellowship.

A residency, which is a one year post-OD training program at an accredited college of optometry or accredited by the Accreditation Council on Optometric Education (ACOE) of the American Optometric Association.

A fellowship, which is a one year post-residency training program at an accredited college of optometry or accredited by the ACOE of the American Optometric Association in a specialty area.

5. How many credits can I obtain from completing a CPR course?

The Board shall grant a maximum of six continuing professional optometric education credits per biennial renewal period for CPR certification. If you are audited, you will be required to provide a copy of your current CPR card as verification and/or proof of attendance.

6. How many continuing education credits can I carry into the succeeding biennial period?

A licensee who completes more than the required 50 credits in any biennial period may carry up to 20 credits into any succeeding biennial period. Any credits to be carried over must be earned in the last one year of the biennial renewal period and must be applied to the general continuing education requirements and shall not be applied to the therapeutic pharmaceutical agents (TPA) requirements.

7. If I was licensed during the first year of the biennial renewal period (May 1st of every odd year through April 30th of every even year), how many continuing education credits do I need to complete before my license expires?

You must complete a minimum of 25 of the 50 required credits of continuing education for that biennial renewal period. At least 15 of the 25 credits must consist of courses or programs classified as therapeutic pharmaceutical agents (TPA) credits.

8. If I was licensed during the second year of the biennial renewal period (May 1st of every even year and April 30th of every odd year), how many continuing education credits do I need to complete before my license expires?

You are exempt from completing continuing education credits for that biennial renewal period.


Advertising Questions

1. Does my license and certification number have to be on my business cards, letterhead, and signs?

Yes. An optometrist must include his or her license and certification number in all advertisments.

Contact Us | Privacy Notice | Legal Statement | Accessibility Statement
NJ Home Logo
Divisional: ../DCA Home | ../Complaint Forms | Proposals | Adoptions | Contact DCA
Departmental: OAG Home | Contact OAG | About OAG | OAG News | OAG FAQs
Statewide: NJ Home | Services A to Z | Departments/Agencies | FAQs
Copyright State of New Jersey
This page is maintained by DCA. Comments/Questions: email

Page last modified: