New Jersey Department of Military and Veterans Affairs


Learn how you can get involved in this emergency recovery effort

(Close Alert)

NJ National Guard Hunting & Freshwater Fishing Licenses

Please note that the State of New Jersey does not have a saltwater fishing license, but the State does require all saltwater anglers to register with the NJ Department of Environmental Protection. Registration can be done online at: http://www.nj.gov/dep/saltwaterregistry/.

General Information

The State of New Jersey offers free Hunting and Freshwater Fishing Licenses to eligible New Jersey National Guardsmen.

While each type of license has specific eligibility criteria that needs to be met prior to being issued, below are the general criteria they all share:

General Eligibility Criteria for Hunting & Fishing Licenses

  • Completed Initial Active Duty for Training (IADT) / Officer Basic Branch Course
  • Have participated in unit training assemblies within last 90 days
  • Be up-to-date on any court-mandated child support payments

For the purposes of this licensing, “Initial Active Duty for Training” means Basic Military Training for members of the NJ Air National Guard Members and Basic Combat Training and Advanced Individual Training for members of the NJ Army National Guard.

How to Apply

The following required documentation must be submitted to apply for a NJ National Guard Hunting or Freshwater Fishing License:

  • A completed NJDMAVA Form 799-1 (Resident) or NJDMAVA Form 799-2 (Non-Resident)
  • An original copy of a current Leave and Earnings Statement (LES) or MyPay statement, proving that you have participated in unit training assemblies within last 90 days
  • A NJ Child Support Certificate proving you are up-to-date on any court-mandated child support payments (see section below)
    • Please note that all applicants must complete this certification regardless if the individual is required to submit child support payments or not.
  • Any license specific documentation (see section below)

Mail the completed documentation to:

NJ Department of Military and Veterans Affairs ATTN: MSG(ret) Robert J. Greco (IASD-ASB-RALV) PO Box 340 Trenton, NJ 08625-0340

If applying for a Freshwater Fishing Licenses, you can complete our online fishing license application form in place of the NJDMAVA Form 799-1/2, and mail in the other required documentation separately.

NJ Child Support Certification

The NJ Child Support Certification is required by the State of New Jersey Division of Fish and Wildlife prior to issue of a Hunting and/or Freshwater Fishing License. The certification is valid for one year, 1 January to 31 December, and must be renewed annually.

If the certification is not submitted with NJ National Guard Hunting and Freshwater Fishing application, one will be mailed to applicant and must be returned prior to issue of license.

The certification license application must be filled out completely and clearly and signed by applicant. It must be returned to this office within 30 days or original application will be rejected.

The certification may be obtained online from Division of Fish and Wildlife website using the instructions below, and must be attached to New Jersey Hunting or Fishing License application.

To access and complete the NJ Child Support Certification Application go to:

  1. Go to: http://www.njfishandwildlife.com
  2. In the Upper left corner click on the “One Stop Shop” button
  3. At bottom of page click on “Start Here”
  4. Fill in Social Security Number & Birth Date
  5. Click on “Resident or Non-resident”
  6. Fill in all required information
  7. Go to bottom of page and click on “Submit Child Support Enforcement Certification Only”
  8. Fill in required information
  9. Print certificate and attach to application.

License Specific Documentation

NJ National Guard State Firearm Hunting License

  • An original copy of last firearms hunting license issued OR
  • Evidence of having completed the Firearms Hunter's Training Safety Course

NJ National Guard State Bow Hunting License

  • An original copy of last bow and arrow hunting license issued OR
  • Evidence of having completed the Bow and Arrow Hunter's Training Safety Course

NJ National Guard State Trapping License

  • An original copy of last trapping license issued OR
  • Evidence of having completed the Trappers Education Course

Forms

Point of Contact:

MSG(Ret) Robert Greco Phone: (609) 530-6866 Fax: (609) 530-7193 E-Mail: robert.greco@dmava.nj.gov