NJ MVC - Logo
Moving to New Jersey
Vehicle
Your LicenseYour VehicleTraffic RulesChecklist
TitleRegistrationPlatesInspectionForiegn Vehicles


Under New Jersey law, you must transfer your vehicle title (with or without a lien) within 60 days. To do this:
  1. Visit your local MVC Agency with your original title
  2. If your vehicle is financed, you will have to complete an application at an Agency to release the title. The lien holder will then send the title to the Agency and you will be notified when you can return to continue the process
  3. Complete an application for Certificate of Ownership
  4. Pay the transfer title fee:
    • $60 for standard vehicle
    • $85 for financed vehicle with one lien
    • $110 for a financed vehicle with two liens
  5. If you don’t have a lien, you will be issued a receipt that you will need to keep to apply for your registration and receive your plates

If you have a leased vehicle:
  1. Contact your leasing company–they will provide you with the required paperwork* to take to MVC. This paperwork will give you legal permission (power. of attorney) to transfer the title
  2. Make sure you have enough identification to pass 6 point ID requirments
  3. Visit an MVC Agency and complete the Application for Certificate of Ownership (OS/SS-7) and registration application
  4. Pay a $60 title fee
  5. Your New Jersey title will be sent to the leasing company





next


   Learn More
close