State Seal New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission

Translate disclaimer

Insulin Dependent Diabetic Designation


New Optional Designation on Driver's Licenses and Non-Driver Identification Cards for Insulin Dependent Diabetics

Effective, September 1, 2014, New Jersey Statute (N.J.S.A.) 39:3-10.8a allows a person who is an insulin dependent diabetic to voluntarily inform the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) of his/her diabetic status with the sole intent of having his/her MVC-issued driver's license or identification card (ID) and MVC record reflect that medical condition.

The express purpose of the statute is for law enforcement officials or emergency medical personnel to be able to use this information to identify a person who has been rendered unable to communicate due to a diabetic seizure.

On the driver's license or identification card document there will be a "5" imprinted under "restriction." This will alert the law enforcement official or emergency medical personnel that there should also be a pink "designation/restriction" card, on this person, that will indicate the condition.

This is an optional program and, as such, the designation will only be included if the person chooses to participate.

Beginning September 1, 2014, any person who wishes to have the insulin dependent diabetic designation indicated on his/her driver's license or non-driver identification card and entered into the MVC database, must follow the appropriate instructions.

Issued only in person, at an agency. Not by mail.

Any person who wishes to have this designation indicated on his/her driver's license or non-driver ID and entered into the MVC database must bring all the following documentation to any motor vehicle agency. This cannot be done by mail.

  • A statement on your doctor's prescription pad indicating that you have insulin dependent diabetes
  • 6 points of ID
  • A completed "Request for Insulin Dependent Designation" form (Form MR-20)
    • Note: You will get this when you are at the agency
  • The applicable fee
    • If it is not time to renew your driver's license or non-driver ID
      • $11 duplicate license fee
    • If it is time to renew your driver's license or non-driver ID
      • Your renewal fee of $24 for a standard license or non-driver ID or
      • The renewal fee applicable for your type of license

Your duplicate or renewed driver's license or non-driver ID with the insulin dependent diabetic designation on it and the pink "designation/restriction" card will be issued to you at the agency. You must carry both of these documents together.

We are required to capture a customer’s full face when taking a picture for a driver license or non-driver ID card; therefore we need to be able to see from the top of your forehead to the bottom of your chin.  If you have a medical or religious need to wear a head covering in your photo, please advise the MVC staff at the agency camera station.