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N E W   J E R S E Y GUIDE TO HANDICAPPED PARKING

Reserved parking for persons with disabilities ensures safe

and equal access to goods and services.  Parking for persons

with disabilities not only makes it possible for individuals to

use and benefit from the services offered by public and pri-

vate entities -- it is the law.

HIGHLIGHTS and FINES:

NEW JERSEY HANDICAPPED PARKING LAWS

� Prohibit parking motor vehicles in handicapped 

spaces without a special vehicle identification 

card; mandate initial and subsequent fines of 

$250 each and up to 90 days of community 

services (C.39:4-197.(3)c).

� Authorize municipalities to establish handi-

capped spaces in front of residences, schools, 

hospitals, public buildings, and in shopping 

and business districts (C.39:4-197.5).

� Authorize municipalities to establish handicapped

parking zones in front of residences occupied by people 

with disabilities, unless such parking interferes with the 

flow of traffic (C.39:4-197.6).

� Enable enforcement officers to enforce handicapped parking

laws on both public and private property (C.39:4-138.o).

� Authorize municipalities to set up parking enforcement 

units that concentrate on shopping centers and malls 

(C.39.4-197.9).

� Authorize eligible people with disabilities to request law 

enforcement officers to arrange for the removal and storage 

of motor vehicles unlawfully parked in handicapped parking

spaces or zones (C.39:4-207.7).

FOR MORE INFORMATION

Division of Disability Services

PO Box 700

Trenton, NJ 08527-0700

1-888-285-3036

Voice (609) 292-780088-

TTY (609) 292-1212

New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission

(888) 486-3339 (voice) (In-state only)

(609) 292-6500 (voice) (Out-of-state only)

(609) 292-5120 (TTY)

United Spinal Association

75-20 Astoria Boulevard

Jackson Heights, NY  11370-1177

(718) 803-3782 (voice and TTY)

www.unitedspinal.org

The Division of Disability Services wishes 

to acknowledge the work of the 

United Spinal Association 

in publishing previous editions of this guide

and for allowing the use of their text.

DIVISION OF DISABILITY SERVICES

William A. B. Ditto, Director

Javier Robles, Deputy Director

Joseph M. Amoroso, Administrator

Information and Assistance Services
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� Prohibit the issuance of penalties for overtime parking in 

one location for up to 24 hours, when the person to whom 

the issued placard or license plate is either the driver or 

passenger of the motor vehicles (C.39:4-207).

� Mandate the removal of snow and ice in handicapped parking 

spaces with 48 hours and establish penalties of $200 to $500 

for those who do not comply (C.394:4-207.9).

� Handicapped parking spaces are identified 

with a sign bearing the International Symbol 

of  Accessibility.

� In New Jersey, signage should also include a 

penalty sign indicating fines for offenses. The 

penalty for the first offense is $250 and, for 

subsequent offenses, a $250 minimum fine and/or up to 90 days

community service.

� Striped access aisles adjacent to handicapped parking spaces 

� New York City streets, unless one has a NYC permit 

� Parking meters without depositing a coin 

� Parking meters beyond a 24 hour period

Remember: Handicapped parking permits and plates are to be 

used solely by the person with the qualifying disability, with 

punishable fines of at least $250.  If someone who does not 

have a disability uses another person’s permit or plates, the 

Motor Vehicles Commission or issuing locality may revoke the 

permit of plates or deny renewal.

Q: Store owners and other businesses often receive com-

plaints from patrons about other customers who illegally 

park in the handicapped parking spaces or misuse the spots 

by parking in the stripped area next to the space.  What should

they do?

A: By reporting a violation, you are “doing what’s right.”

Instances when individuals who illegally park in a space

marked for handicapped parking should be reported to the

proper law enforcement authorities. In your area, if the local

police are responsible for addressing violations, they should be

notified as soon as possible.  If local security company staff

patrols your parking area, they should be notified.

The striped area next to the parking space is called an access

aisle and is strictly off limits for parking to everyone, regard-

less of whether or not they have a handicapped parking plate or

placard.  The access aisle must be in place in order to ensure

that people who use wheelchairs have room to transfer in and

out of their vehicles.  Only the handicapped parking space

itself is reserved for those individuals who have proper identifi-

cation on their vehicles (i.e., placard, tag, or plate) indicating

that they are authorized to park in these designated areas.  The

access aisle or striped area next to the parking space is NOT a

parking space.  Anyone who parks in this area illegally should

be reported to a local law enforcement officer.

Q: Do store owners or other business owners have to clear

snow and ice from the handicapped parking spaces?

A: Yes, businesses are required to clear ice, snow, or any

obstructions from a handicapped parking space and adjacent

curb cuts within 48 hours after the weather condition causing

the snow or ice ceases.  New Jersey Parking  Law (C.39:4-

207.9) mandates fines from $200 to $500 for violations.

A PERMIT OR PLATE  HOLDER CANNOT PARK IN 

AREAS PROHIBITED BY C.39:4-SECTION 138, AND IN 

THE FOLLOWING AREAS: 

HOW ARE HANDICAPPED PARKING SPACES IDENTIFIED?
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Please Note: Spaces should be on the SHORTEST ACCESSIBLE

ROUTE from parking to an accessible entrance.  Multiple building

entrances should provide dispersed accessible parking spaces near

each accessible entrance.

Q: Can the handicapped parking

spaces be the same size as the other, 

non-handicapped spaces as long as the

appropriate signs are placed in front of

the space?

A: No.  The New Jersey Barrier Free

Subcode and the Americans with

Disabilities Act require handicapped

parking spaces to be at least 8 feet wide,

with adjacent striped access aisles at

least 5 feet wide.  At least one handicapped parking space in 

each parking lot, and one in every eight accessible spaces, must be

van-accessible with an access aisle at least 8 feet wide. The parking

spaces and access aisles must be painted in a color (most often blue)

contrasting  with other spaces.  Signage with the International

Symbol of Accessibility and the Penalty Sign MUST be provided

at each handicapped parking space and must be permanently

installed 5 to 7 feet above the ground.  

Q: If a parking lot does not have any spaces designated for 

people with disabilities because it was paved a long time ago,

before these requirements were in place, does it now have to 

provide accessible parking spaces?

A: Yes.  Title III of the ADA requires private entities to remove

barriers in order to become compliant.  Therefore even if business

owners are not planning any type of construction, they are still 

obligated to remove barriers that are readily achievable.

Owners or operators of any facility (e.g., restaurant, theater,

library) that provides parking, whether it is an indoor or,

out door garage or parking lot, are required to provide handi-          

capped parking spaces in accordance with federal and state

laws (see Frequently Asked Questions…on page 4).  

� Ask a state, county or municipal law enforcement officer to 

ticket an illegally parked car and to arrange for the removal 

and storage of the vehicle.

� Complain to a shopping center manager or store owner (if at 

a commercial site). Ask them to inform the local authorities.

Q: How many accessible parking spaces are required?

A: It depends on the total number of parking spaces in the lot

or garage.  The New Jersey Barrier Free Subcode and the

Americans with Disabilities Act Accessibility Guidelines

(ADAAG) both require the following number of handicapped

spaces in parking areas:

Total # of spaces                   Required # of accessible spaces

1-25 1

26-50 2

51-75 3

76-100 4

101-150 5

151-200 6

201-300 7

301-400 8

401-500 9

501-1,000 2% of total

Over 1,000 20 + 1 for each 100 over 1,000

COMPLAINTS: ABOUT ILLEGAL PARKING  . . . 

WHAT CAN BE DONE?

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS ABOUT HANDICAPPED

PARKING:

WHAT ARE BUSINESS OR FACILITY OWNERS AND 

OPERATORS REQUIRED TO DO?
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$250 1ST OFFENSE

SUBSEQUENT OFFENSES

$250 MIN. AND/OR

UP TO 90  DAYS

COMMUNITY SERVICE

TOW-AWAY ZONE

PARKING THERE FOR “JUST A MINUTE . . . ”

. . .  IS 60 SECONDS TOO LONG !

Never park in a space “reserved” for people
with disabilities UNLESS you have a permit,
placard or handicapped parking plates.  It’s the
courteous thing to do - - and it’s the law.

REMEMBER: Do not park in the striped
access aisles next to spaces reserved for 
people with disabilities, even if  you have a per-
mit or plates.  Access aisles provide room for
wheelchair users to transfer safely to and from
their vehicles.
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