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Announcement 
All Initial Business License Applicants 

The New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission, Business Licensing Services Bureau (BLS) is pleased to 
announce that beginning December 1, 2016; BLS will discontinue the practice of requiring an up-front license 
and registration payment (excluding application fees) with the submission of an initial business license 
application for the following license privileges:  

 New and Used Car Dealers
 Special Category Registration and Plates (Boat Dealer, Converter, Financing, Insurer, Leasing,

Manufacturer, Non-Conventional and Transporter)
 Auto Body Shops
 Driving Schools
 Inspection and Emission Repair Facilities

This change will bring greater efficiency, recording and accounting for all initial application funds and reduce 
the risk of lost payments. 

A notification requesting payment of the license and registration fees along with proof of insurance and bond 
requirements will be sent after preliminary approval of all licensing requirements and a site inspection, where 
applicable. The wall license and license plates, if applicable, will be mailed to the licensed location once your 
payment is processed.   

Your compliance with this policy is greatly appreciated. For further information on the initial licensing process, 
call 609 292-6500 x5014.  

Note: Applicants for Auto Body and Private Inspection Facilities licenses must submit a $20.00 application fee with 
their initial license application.   

On the Road to Excellence 
Visit us at www.njmvc.gov  

New Jersey is an Equal Opportunity Employer 

New Jersey 
Motor Vehicle Commission 



STATE OF NEW JERSEY 

PLEASE READ CAREFULLY 

Enclosed are the application and supplemental forms necessary to apply for an auto body repair facility initial 
license. If you are engaged in the business of performing auto-body repair and/or auto-body painting  
services you must be licensed. 

If you commence auto-body work without a license, you will be in violation of New Jersey Auto-Body 
Repair Facility Act, N.J.S.A. 39:13-1 et seq., which states , “No person may engage in the business of 
an auto-body repair facility unless it is so licensed by the Commission”.  Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 39:13-6,  
the Chief Administrator of the New Jersey Motor vehicle Commission has the power and authority to 
issue an order to cease and desist from operating an auto-body repair facility without a license to do    
so. The Chief administrator  may also impose upon an auto-body repair facility operating without a  
license a civil penalty of up to $5000.00 for the first offense and up to $20,000.00 for the second and 
each subsequence offense. 

In accordance with recently adopted regulations, each applicant for an  auto-body license shall  have and 
established place of business at the time such license is issued. An established place of business must have an 
exterior sign, a suitable office and be in conformance with the requirements of the municipality in which it      
is located. It is imperative that the  municipal or zoning board clerk complete the enclosed approval 
certificate form.  However, we will accept a photocopy of a certificate of occupancy in lieu of the completed 
approval certificate.  

Insurance coverage requirements for damage to property and liability arising from bodily injury: 
(a) Garage liability or equivalent commercial general liability insurance in the minimum amount

of $300,000 or a letter of credit in the amount of $300,000; and
(b) Garage keepers’ liability insurance in a minimum amount of $50,000 or a letter of credit in

the amount of $50,000; and
(c) Workers Compensation insurance or a statement advising no employees.

BLC-25 (R 10/17) 

During the licensing process, all correspondence between the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission 
and the applicant, will be mailed to the applicant’s business address.

The fee for the license is $350.00 plus an additional non-refundable application fee of $20.00. A 
notification requesting payment of the license will be sent after preliminary approval of all licensing 
requirements and a site inspection, where applicable. Please return the completed application to this 
office with all required documents. If you have any questions, please call (609)292-6500 ext. 5014 or 
e-mail us at mvcblsprocessing@mvc.nj.gov.

On the Road to Excellence 
Visit us at www.njrnvc.gov 

New Jersey is an Equal Opportunity Employer 

Business Licensing Services Bureau 
P.O. Box 170 
Trenton, NJ 08666-0170
 609-292-6500 ext. 5014 
mvcblsprocessing@mvc.nj.gov

mailto:mvcblsprocessing@mvc.nj.gov
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AUTO-BODY  INITIAL  APPLICATION  CHECKLIST

        In order to ensure prompt processing of your Auto-Body Application, please submit all documents listed below: 

1. Non-refundable processing fee ($20.00). Certified checks/money order payable to

the NJMVC.

2. License application and municipal approval.

3. Supplemental application for each owner, partner(s), officer(s) or member(s).

4. Child support certification for each owner, partner(s), officer(s) or member(s).

5. Fingerprint request notification form.

6. Copy of driver license for each applicant.

7. Color photograph  of  each applicant.

8. Copy of your Corporate Certificate (Inc.) or formation papers for LLC, Partnerships and sole Proprietors.

9. Copy of property deed or lease.

10. Business Hours Form (Enclosed).

11. Federal Tax Identification Number. (Attach copy of certificate).

12. NJ Sales Tax Identification Number. (Attach copy of certificate).

13. Workers’ compensation insurance or a statement advising no employees. Please note that if employees are hired
after the license has been issued, you must submit workers’ compensation insurance at that time.

14. Insurance coverage requirements for damage to property and for liability arising from bodily injury (both
Full Service and Limited Full Service applicants):

a. Garage liability or equivalent commercial general liability insurance in a minimum amount of

$300,000 or a letter of credit in the amount of $300,000; and 

b. Garage keepers’ liability insurance in a minimum amount of $50,000 or a letter of credit in the amount of $50,000

Certificate holder must read: NJ Motor Vehicle Commission Auto Body Unit, PO Box 172, Trenton, NJ 08666-0172

15. List of authorized signatories (Those authorized to sign Motor vehicle documents).

16. Statement advising if your facility will be performing painting services.

17. Photographs of the auto body repair facility showing signs and other advertising media.

18. Current certificate of inspection from the fire marshal for the building and spray booth.

19. Evidence of completion from a recognized auto body class; at least one class must be taken within one (1) year
preceding issuance of the initial license.

20. Stack permit or letter of exemption from DEP for spray booth.

21. Provide signed agreement (sample enclosed) if the below listed services will be performed by a facility other than yourself:
( ) structural repairs ( ) vehicle four-wheel alignment ( ) air conditioner servicing ( ) mechanical repair as a result of collision
damage.

22. If your auto body repair facility will not be spray painting, please contact this office for additional forms. Prior to your
Auto Body Repair Facility license being issued, a site inspection will be conducted. An investigator from the
Commission will contact you.

 BLC-25 (R 6/16) 



New Jersey 
Motor Vehicle Commission 
STATE OF NEW JERSEY 

Business Licensing Services Bureau 
P.O. Box 170, Trenton, NJ 08666-0170 

609-292-6500 ext. 5014 
mvcblsprocessing@mvc.nj.gov 

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY 

License No.   

Reg. No.   

Approved by   

Date 

Email 

The undersigned hereby applies for the license(s) checked in Part 3 and submits the following certified statement: 

Corp Code  

1. 
Name of Business (if corporation, corporate name) Business phone 

2. Please Check
Trade Name 

Corporation Partnership Proprietorship 

Street Address Other  

City Zip Code County  

All applicants please provide the following information and attach copies 
of proof thereof: 

A. NJ Sales Tax Identification Number
B. NJ Unemployment Registration Number 

C. Federal Employer Identification Number 

 

4. Complete the following for proprietor, partners, or corporate officers: 

Name Title Home Address 

5. Have the owners, partners, or officers ever been arrested, charged or convicted of a criminal or disorderly persons offense in this or any other state? 

Yes if yes, explain: 

No 

6 Do you knowingly intend to employ a person who has been convicted of the above, or any other crime or who was previously licensed as any Of the above in
this or any other state and was subject to license suspension or revocation? 

Yes  
Give name and address of person 

No   

APPLICATION  FOR   LICENSE 

3. Please Check appropriate Box for License:

 Leasing Company   New & Used Motor Vehicle Dealer 

 Driving School             Auto Body Repair Facility 

 Moped Dealer  Used Motor Vehicle Dealer 

 Private Inspection Facility      Fleet Inspection Facility 
      Special Category (Select one from options below) 

 Boat Dealer      Converter    Finance     Insurer 
 Leasing             Manufacturer   Non-Conventional   

Telephone Number 

 Transporter 

mailto:mvcblsprocessing@mvc.nj.gov
mailto:mvcblsprocessing@mvc.nj.gov


7 Have the owners, partners or corporate officers ever held any of the above licenses? 

 Yes If yes, please explain the type of license and license numbers 

 No 

8. Was the license ever suspended or revoked?

 Yes If yes, explain: 

 No 

9. Have the owners, partners or corporate officers, agents or employees of your organization ever used an alias or been known by any other name

 Yes   If yes, explain: 

 No 

10. Does any stockholder own more than 10% of the corporation's stock?

 Yes   If yes, give name, address and holding 

 No 

11 
Place of Incorporation/Formation 

Date of Incorporation/Formation 

Date of authorization to do business in New Jersey 

Attach copy of the Certificate of Incorporation/Formation 
which has been filed with the N.J. Secretary of State. Foreign 
Corporations must submit a copy of their Authorization to do 
business in New Jersey as a Foreign Corporation in addition 
to a copy of their corporate/formation papers. 

12. The applicant certifies all information contained herein is true and agrees any untruthful representation and any violation of the applicable statutes and
regulations promulgated by the Commission shall be reasonable and proper grounds for license suspension or revocation. He further agrees to notify
the Commission immediately of any change in the status of the business or of any other information which would change the answers and statements
in this application or supplement thereto

13. The individual(s) signing this application certify that they have read the applicable statutes and are thoroughly familiar with the details and penalties
provided.

I, the undersigned, hereby certify that I of the above business previously named 
Owner, Partner, Officer, Member 

and that the information I have submitted is true to the best of my knowledge. 

Print Name of Applicant Signature and Title of Applicant 

  the undersigned, hereby certify  that  I am Secretary/Member/Partner of  the  above Corporation and have  witnessed the  signature of  
who is       of said corporation. 

President, Vice-President or Member 

Signature of Secretary/Member/Partner 

BLS-183 (R 12/15) 



M U N I C I P A L  A P P R O V A L  C E R T I F I C A T E  F O R  B U S I N E S S  L I C E N S E

Applicant Information 

Applicant Name: _________________________________________________________  Title ______________________________ 

Business Name: ______________________________________________________  Business Phone: ________________________ 

Street Address (include suite #) _________________________________________________________________________________ 

City ___________________________________________________________________      Zip ______________________________   
 

Approval Classification of Applicant 

A. Please check appropriate box: B. Please check appropriate type of license:

□ Initial □ Boat Dealer □ Leasing Company

□ Change of Address □ Driving School □ Moped Dealer

□ Branch Location □ Used Motor Vehicle Dealer □ PIF/PIM

□ Existing Facility Zoning Compliance □ New & Used Motor Vehicle Dealer (Please specify type of vehicle)
______________________________________________________

□ Auto Body Facility (Check all that apply)
_____ Full Service Auto Body 
_____ Limited Full Service Auto Body 
_____ Sublet Auto Body (new car dealer) 
_____ Heavy Duty Vehicle Endorsement 

Municipal Zoning Official Certification 

I, _______________________________________, Clerk of the Municipality of ___________________________________________, 

County of ___________________________________________, State of New Jersey, hereby certify that the Municipal Governing 
Body or Zoning Commission has approved the location, establishment and maintenance of the above indicated business 

located at: _____________________________________________________________________________________________________. 
(Complete Address) 

Please check appropriate box: 

□ Site was visited by a Zoning Official/ Municipal Representative prior to approval

□ Site was not visited by a Zoning Official/ Municipal Representative prior to approval

Please specify any stipulations of your zoning approval:  _________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________________________
__________________________________________________________________________________________ 
__________________________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________ _________      
Signature of Municipal or Zoning Board Clerk        Date 

Municipal 
 Seal _________________________________________________________ 

 Print Name 

_________________________________________________________ 
 Contact Number

STATE OF NEW JERSEY 
MOTOR VEHICLE COMMISSION 

BUSINESS LICENSING SERVICES  BUREAU 
P.O. BOX 170 

TRENTON, NEW JERSEY 08666-0170 



B U S I N E S S  L I C E N S I N G  S E R V I C E S  B U R E A U  
S U P P L E M E N T A R Y  A P P L I C A T I O N  

PLEASE PRINT 

BUSINESS NAME BUSINESS PHONE NUMBER 

1. FULL NAME (Including Middle and Suffix, if any)

2. STREET ADDRESS 

3. CITY 4. STATE 5. ZIP CODE 6. COUNTY

7. HOW LONG HAVE YOU LIVED AT THE ABOVE ADRESS? 8. HOME PHONE NUMBER 

9. LIST THE CITIES, STATES OR FOREIGN COUNTRIES WHERE YOU HAVE LIVED, AND HOW LONG YOU LIVED IN EACH.

10. DATE OF BIRTH (MONTH, DAY, YEAR) 11. PLACE OF BIRTH (CITY, STATE OR FOREIGN COUNTRY)

12. SEX 13. HEIGHT 14. WEIGHT 15. COLOR OF EYES 

16. SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER* 

*You must disclose your social security number to the NJMVC.  Failure to do so may result in denial/non-renewal of licensure.

Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 54:50-25 et seq. of the New Jersey taxation law, N.J.S.A. 2A:17-56.7a, and N.J.S.A. 2A:17-56.8 et seq. of the New Jersey Child 
Support Program Improvement Act; the licensing agency to which this form is submitted is required to obtain your social security number.  Pursuant to 
these authorities, the licensing agency is also obligated to provide your social security number to:  

a. the Director of Taxation to assist in the administration and enforcement of any tax law, including for the purpose of reviewing compliance
with State tax law, updating, and correcting tax records; and 

b. the Probation Division or any other agency responsible for child support enforcement, upon request

17. DRIVER LICENSE NUMBER 

18. HAVE YOU EVER BEEN CONVICTED OF A CRIME, DISORDERLY PERSONS OFFENSE AND/OR VIOLATION OF CONSUMER PROTECTION LAWS 

OR REGULATIONS?      □ NO  □ YES   IF YES,  ATTACH EXPLANATION DESCRIBING NATURE OF OFFENSE, DATE, CITY AND STATE WHERE OFFENSE   
  OCCURRED,  IDENTIFY COURT OR ADMINISTRATIVE TRIBUNAL BEFORE THE CASE TRIED, DATE AND SENTENCE 

I CERTIFY THAT THE INFORMATION PROVIDED HEREIN AND ATTACHMENTS, IF ANY, ARE TRUE AND COMPLETE TO 
THE BEST OF MY KNOWLEDGE AND BELIEF. 

SIGNATURE: _______________________________________________________________  DATE: ___________________________ 

BLC-205B (R10/12) 



On the Road to Excellence 
 www.njmvc.gov 

New Jersey is an Equal Opportunity Employer 

_______________________________________________________________________________________ 

STATE OF NEW JERSEY  

CHILD SUPPORT CERTIFICATION FORM 

Business Name 

_________________________________________ __________________ 
Applicant’s Name (Print)  Date of Birth 

_________________________________________ 
Social Security Number 

*You must disclose your social security number to the NJMVC. Failure to do so may result in denial/non-renewal of licensure.

Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 54:50-25 et seq.  of the New Jersey taxation law and N.J.S.A. 2A:17-56.7a, N.J.S.A. 2A :17-56.60 et seq. of New 
Jersey Child Support Program Improvement Act, the licensing agency to which this form is submitted is required to obtain your Social 
Security number. Pursuant to these authorities, the licensing agency is also obligated to provide your Social Security number to:  

a. the Director of Taxation to assist in the administration and enforcement of any tax law, including for the purpose of reviewing
compliance with State tax law,  updating, and correcting tax records;

and

b. the Probation Division or any other agency responsible for child support enforcement, upon request.

Under the provisions of N.J.S.A. 2A:17-56.7 et seq., responses to the questions listed below are required.  Intentional misstatements 
may result in administrative action including, but not limited to, denial of licensure, immediate suspension or revocation of the license. 

1. Do you have a child support obligation?             

2. If yes, does the amounts in arrears equal or exceed the amount of child support
payable for six months?

3. Are you subject to a child-support warrant?          

I certify that the foregoing responses made by me are true and I am aware that the making of false statements may subject me to 
contempt of court.  

______________________________________________ __________________ 
Signature  Date 

    Business Licensing Services Bureau 
       P.O. Box 170 

 Trenton, New Jersey 08666-0170 
(609) 292-6500 #5014

E-Mail:blsmvcprocessing@mvc.nj.gov

Yes No 

Yes No 

Yes No 

BLS-43 
(R04/10/17) 



New Jersey  
Motor Vehicle Commission

STATE OF NEW JERSEY 
Business Licensing Services 
Bureau  PO Box 170 

(609) 292-6500 ext.5014

I,____________________________________,owner of _______________________________ 
  (Subcontractor) 

located at _______________________________________________ hereby certify that I have 

entered into an agreement with _____________________________________________ located  
  (Autobody Licensee) 

at__________________________________________________________ to perform the below 

listed service: 

[  ] Four-Wheel Alignment 

[  ] Air Conditioner Servicing 

[  ] Mechanical Repairs 

[  ] Structural Repairs (Frame Machine) 

[  ]        All of the above services are preformed in house  

I understand that this document will be attached to his/her New Jersey Full Service Auto Body Repair  
Facility License.  

_______________________________ _____________________________ 
Signature Subcontractor Signature Licensee 

_______________________________  
Date 



New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection 
Office of Local Environmental Management 
Minor Source Compliance Investigations 
P.O.  Box 407 
Trenton, NJ 08625-0407 

To Whom It May Concern: 

I have been informed that an air pollution permit is no longer required by the 
Department as established in N.J.A.C. 7:27-8.2(a) (Eleventh Amendment 
operative June 12, 1998) since my coating application will NEVER EXCEED ½ 
GALLON PER HOUR AND MY Spray booth DOES NOT contain a heating 
device with a rating of 1,000,000 BTU’s or greater.  As such, I am requesting 
deletion of the following surface coating permit(s) /certificat(s) and hereby certify 
under penalty of law that I believe the information provided in this document is 
true, accurate, and complete. 

I understand that if at any time our coating rate does exceed the applicability 
threshold of ½ gallon in any one hour or the heating device does equal or 
exceeds 1 million BTU’s, it is my responsibility to apply for the necessary 
permit(s) and certificate(s). 

I further understand that if I exceed these thresholds and fail to apply for the 
necessary permit(s) and certificate(s) I may be subject to an enforcement action 
which may include civil and criminal penalties, including the possibility of fine or 
imprisonment or both, for submitting false, inaccurate or incomplete information. 

Signature: _________________________________ 

Title: _____________________________________ 

Name of Facility: ____________________________ 

Address: __________________________________ 

Phone#: __________________________________ 

Program Interest ID#:________________________ 

Activity Number ID#: ________________________ 

Date: _________________ 



Motor Vehicle 
Commission

The undersigned Licensee hereby authorizes the person(s) whose signatures appear below to execute and sign Title Papers and/or estimates 
on behalf of the licensee: 

(AGENT'S NAME -  PRINT IN FULL) (SIGNATURE) (ADDRESS) 

(AGENT'S NAME - PRINT IN FULL) (SIGNATURE) (ADDRESS) 

(AGENT'S NAME - PRINT IN FULL) (SIGNATURE) (ADDRESS) 

(AGENT'S NAME - PRINT IN FULL) (SIGNATURE) (ADDRESS) 

(AGENT'S NAME - PRINT IN FULL) (SIGNATURE) (ADDRESS) 

BUSINESS NAME & LICENSE NO. (Print in full) 

LICENSEE'S SIGNATURE 
(OWNER, PARTNER OR CORPORATE OFFICER) DATE 

Signature card or cards must be filed for all persons authorized to sign title papers and/or estimates. If you authorize any other person 
to sign title papers and/or estimates or if you revoke the authority of any person to sign such papers, you shall notify this Bureau immediately 
and re-submit current signature card or cards, covering all persons in authority to sign title papers and/or estimates. 

All signature cards prior to the most current are invalid. 

BLC-9 (R12/04) 

SIGNATURE CARD

PO Box 170
Trenton, New Jersey 08666-017 0

Business Type:         MV Dealer Autobody Repair 



Business Licensing Services Bureau P.O. Box 172, 
Trenton, NJ 08666-0170 
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STATE OF NEW JERSEY 

                              
                   
    
        

Fingerprint Request Notification 

In accordance to regulatory requirements, it is mandated that all persons identified in 
the initial business application (proprietors, partners, corporate officers, applicants, 
providers, instructors and driving school authorized agents) undergo a live scan 
criminal background check by the state approved vendor. Submission of your initial 
business application authorizes the Commission’s Business Licensing Bureau to 
request and receive criminal background check results. 

Upon receipt of this notification, each person identified will be mailed a fingerprint 
application and instructional sheet. Once fingerprinted, the receipt and fingerprint 
application for each person listed must be forwarded to MVC, as proof of 
completion. The processing of your business application will not begin until all 
receipts are received.  

Complete the attached Fingerprint Request Notification Form listing each person 
identified in the  business application. If an e-mail address is provided, the 
documents will be e-mailed to those individuals, otherwise it will be mailed.  

New Jersey 
Motor Vehicle Commission 
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Fingerprint Request Notification Form 

Business Name: _____________________________________ Date: __________ 

Clearly PRINT the following information for all persons identified in the initial business application 
( all proprietors, partners, corporate officers, applicants, providers, instructors and driving school 
authorized agents) 

Applicant Full Name: ____________________________________________________________ 

Street Address: _________________________________________________________________ 

City:____________________________________________ State: ______ Zip: ___________ 

Phone Number:   __________________________________  

E-Mail Address:  __________________________________

_____________________________________ 

Applicant Full Name: ____________________________________________________________ 

Street Address: _________________________________________________________________ 

City:____________________________________________ State: ______ Zip: ___________ 

Phone Number:   __________________________________  

E-Mail Address:  __________________________________

Applicant Full Name: ____________________________________________________________ 

Street Address: _________________________________________________________________ 

City:____________________________________________ State: ______ Zip: ___________ 

Phone Number:   __________________________________  

E-Mail Address:  __________________________________

Copy and submit additional sheets if needed

New Jersey 
Motor Vehicle Commission 



New Jersey  
Motor Vehicle Commission

BUSINESS HOURS 

Name of Business___________________________________   License No. ___________________________ 

Address_________________________________________________________________________________ 

Days Open for Business Business Hours 

Monday From To 

Tuesday From To 

Wednesday From To 

Thursday From To 

Friday From To 

Saturday From To 

Signature of Proprietor, partner or officer_____________________________________________________ 

Date____________________________ 

BLC-86A (R12/03)

MM 

Business Licensing Services Bureau 
P.O. Box 170 
Trenton, NJ 08666-0170
 609-292-6500 ext. 5014 
mvcblsprocessing@mvc.nj.gov 
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