State Seal New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission

Translate disclaimer

Commercial Fees


All fees are effective July 1, 2006.

 

                                                           
Code Vehicle Fee

Code 11

Commercial Trucks and Tractors

See Code 11 Chart

Code 13

Taxi

$81.50 *

Code 14

Limousine

$81.50 *

Code 15

Small Vans and Trucks

See Code 15 Chart

Code 16

Commercial Vehicle Aggregate

See Code 16 Chart

Code 17

School Bus 17 or more Passengers

$191.50

Code 18

School Bus 16 or less Passengers

$91.50

Code 19

Four-year Commercial Trailer

$85.50

Code 20

Bogey

$32.00 *

Code 21

One year Commercial Trailer

$32.00 *

Code 23

Special Trailer (for moving road building machinery of unusual size or weight)

$209.50

Code 24

Commercial motorcycle

See Code 24 Chart

Code 31

Farm Truck

See Code 31 Chart

Code 32

Light/Medium Duty Tow Trucks

See Code 32 Chart

Code 33

Heavy Duty Tow Trucks

See Code 33 Chart

Code 39

Solid Waste (garbage truck)

See Code 39 Chart

Code 41

Constructor

See Code 41 Chart

Code 51

Farm Use (farm machinery or implements)

$16.50

Code 52

Agricultural Tractor

$16.50

Code 54

1–18 Passengers

$81.50 *

19–30 Passengers

$99.50 *

31 Passengers and over

$102.50* (+ $3 for each additional passenger)

Code 55

Dealer (auto)

$257.50 per set of five

Code 56

Contractor Equipment In-Transit

$135.00 per set of five

Code 57

Dealer (motorcycle/moped)

$77.00 per set of three

Code 58

Migrant Farm Worker

$8.00

Code 59

In-Transit Empty (trucks, tractors, trailers & semi-trailers that are empty and being transported as per 39:3-20.1)

$44.00 per plate

Code 60

Dealer (manufacturer, converter, transporter, etc.)

$257.50 per set of five

Code 82

Boat (Limousine)

See Codes 82-85 Chart

Code 83

Boat (dealer)

See Codes 82-85 Chart

Code 84

Boat Manufacturer

See Codes 82-85 Chart

Code 85

Boat Commercial

See Codes 82-85 Chart

Code 99

Farm Labor Transport

See Code 99 Chart

 

For your convenience, the Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) accepts American Express® card, MasterCard® card, Visa® card, checks, money orders and cash.

*Half-Rate Codes: Half-rate fees are effective on October 1st on the following vehicles:

  • Taxi – Limousine (Code 13 - Code 14)
  • Trailers (1 year only) (Codes 20, 21, 22)
  • Omnibus Bus (Code 54)

While the New Jersey regulations and rules cover areas required by New Jersey law, there may be additional requirements for operations and necessary equipment.

Consult the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) to see if you or your vehicle needs additional requirements.