State Seal New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission

Translate disclaimer

Moped/Snowmobile/Dirt Bike/ATV/Agricultural


 

The following specialty vehicles have different processes for licensing and/or registration:

Motorized bicycle (moped): license

A motorized bicycle (moped) is defined by law as a pedal bicycle with a helper motor, electric or gas-powered, capable of a maximum speed of no more than 25 miles per hour on a flat surface. A moped has a maximum displacement of less than 50 cubic centimeters (cc)(no more than 1.5 brake horsepower).

Although mopeds resemble bicycles, mopeds are heavier and handle differently. They usually require longer braking distances to stop, don’t turn as quickly and are harder to pedal than bicycles.

How to get a moped license

  • You must be at least 15 years old.
  • Visit a motor vehicle agency to complete an application for a moped permit.
  • Pass the 6 Points of ID requirements.
  • Pay the $5 examination permit fee. The MVC accepts American Express® card, Visa® card, MasterCard® card, checks, cash and money orders.
  • Pass the knowledge and vision tests to validate your permit. Study by reading the Driver Manual, Motorcycle Manual and Moped Manual.
  • You must practice with a permit for at least 20 days before being eligible to take the road test.
  • If you pass the road test, take your permit, ride slip and score sheet to a motor vehicle agency to receive your license.  The $6 license fee will apply.
    Note:  If you have a basic New Jersey driver’s license, you do not need a moped license. You can ride a moped utilizing your driver’s license.

We are required to capture a customer’s full face when taking a picture for a driver license or non-driver ID card; therefore we need to be able to see from the top of your forehead to the bottom of your chin.  If you have a medical or religious need to wear a head covering in your photo, please advise the MVC staff at the agency camera station.

Possible reasons you can fail the road test

  • You lack the equipment required by state regulations.
  • You do not have a helmet.
  • You have unapproved goggles or face shield.
  • Your horn cannot be heard from at least 100 feet away.

Motorized bicycle (moped): registration

If a vehicle meets all the conditions as defined by law (see above) it may be registered as a moped.  Vehicles without pedals that are less than 50 ccs cannot be registered as mopeds; rather, they must be registered as motorcycles, regardless of engine size.

To register your moped, please visit a motor vehicle agency with the following documents:

  • A Manufacturer's Certificate of Origin (MCO).
  • Title or registration.
    • If it isn't titled or registered, you must obtain a notarized statement from the previous owner that includes the following information:
      • Name of seller;
      • Date of sale; and
      • Make, model, year, serial number and the purchase price.

Pocket bikes:  information

Additionally, there is a sub-category called “Pocket bikes”.  Pocket bikes are small-scale motorcycles with gasoline engines less than 50 ccs that can reach speeds of 45 mph. By definition from the state legislature, pocket bikes are considered toys.

  • Because pocket bikes cannot be titled, insured or registered they cannot be used on public property. However, municipalities now can designate areas where they can be used. Contact your local municipality for more information.

To operate a pocket bike:

  • You must be at least 12 years old with liability insurance and must wear a helmet at all times.
  • Register your bike with the municipality (they may charge you a registration fee; contact your local municipality for more information).
  • If you don't follow these regulations your pocket bike can be seized and you can face charges up to $200 for a first offense. Subsequent offenses can result in fines of more than $500, permanent seizure and community service.

All-terrain vehicle (ATV) or Dirt Bikes: license

You do not need a permit or license to operate an all-terrain vehicle (ATV) in New Jersey. However, the vehicle must be registered and you must observe the following regulations:

  • Operator must be at least 14 years old.
  • Always carry proof of liability insurance and current registration.
  • Use the ATV or dirt bike for off-road use only.
  • If you are under 18 years old, you must enroll in the ATV Safety Institute course to operate an ATV; if you are operating a dirt bike you must enroll in the safety course provided by dirtbikeschool.org to obtain a safety certificate*. For information on fees and duration of the course, please check their website or call (800) 887-2887.
  • Anyone under age 16 is prohibited from operating an ATV or dirt bike with an engine capacity greater than 90 ccs during training or while on public lands or waters or to cross a public roadway.
  • Individuals cannot sell more powerful ATVs or dirt bikes to anyone under

16 years of age.

  • ATV and Dirt Bike use is prohibited in all New Jersey State Parks and Forests – no exceptions.
  • See below for registration information.

*If you are under age 18 and only operate an ATV or dirt bike at licensed special events, you are exempt from the safety education course. You are also exempt if the ATV or dirt bike is used on public lands or waters or across a public highway as an incident to or in the actual performance of the operations of a farm that is adjacent to the public land and or water or public highway upon which the vehicle is being operated.

Snowmobile:  license

You do not need a permit or license to operate a snowmobile in New Jersey. However, the vehicle must be registered and you must observe the following regulations:

  • The driver must be 14 years old if driving on public lands or waters.
  • Snowmobiles cannot be driven on or across public highways.
  • Drivers must wear approved helmets at all times.
  • To operate a snowmobile on New Jersey's ice-covered waters, drivers and passengers must wear Coast Guard-approved Personal Flotation Devices (PFD). Violators are subject to fines: $25 for the first offense, $50 for the second offense and $100 for all subsequent offenses.
  • Drivers should be familiar with the MVC Snowmobile manual.

Use of snowmobiles in state parks

  • Properly registered snowmobiles are permitted in some areas of High Point, Wawayanda, Ringwood State Parks and the Stokes and Worthington State Forests in North Jersey. You can check with the park superintendent in advance for more details.
  • Contact the New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection’s Division of Parks and Forestry at (800) 843-6420 for more information.
  • See below for registration information.

Registering your snowmobile, Dirt Bike and ATV

To register your snowmobile, Dirt Bike or ATV, please visit a motor vehicle agency:

  • Complete the Vehicle Registration Application (Form BA-49 found only at motor vehicle agencies).
  • Pay the appropriate fee and sales tax (if applicable).
  • Bring proof of insurance and at least one proof of ownership as noted below.
  •  

    • If you purchased the vehicle from a dealership, provide the Manufacturer’s Statement of Origin or Certificate of Origin (MSO or COO), an invoice with the date of purchase, make, model, year, serial number and the dealer's "Sales Tax Satisfied" stamp.
    • If your purchased the vehicle from a private owner, provide the MSO, COO or the seller's registration that indicates the vehicle was sold; as well as a notarized letter that includes:
      • Name of buyer;
      • Date of sale; and
      • Make, model, year, serial number and the purchase price.
  • If sales tax is owed, you will be given a form at the agency, and you will receive a "Sales Tax Satisfied" stamp upon completion.

The registration expiration date for all snowmobiles, Dirt Bike and ATV registrations is September 30th.

Agricultural: license

An agricultural license (Class G) allows individuals between 16 and 17 years old to operate only those vehicles registered for farm use when the driver and vehicle are actively engaged in farming-related activities. A basic driver license (Class D) can also be used to operate farming vehicles.

Requirement for an agricultural license

  • You must be between 16 and 17 years of age.
  • Complete and submit a Basic Driver Examination Permit Form (BA-412C) available only at a motor vehicle agency. Parental signature required on the Basic Driver Examination Permit Form.
  • Pass the knowledge and vision tests to validate your permit. You can study by reading the MVC Driver Manual.
  • Schedule a road test.  Important  - You must wait a mandatory 20 days after obtaining permit before taking the test; and, the road test vehicle must have agricultural plates.
  • Pass the road test.
  • Take your permit, ride slip and score sheet to a motor vehicle agency to receive your license.  A $6 license fee will apply.  The MVC accepts American Express® card, Visa® card, MasterCard® card, check, cash and money order.
  • Once you are 17 years old, you can visit a motor vehicle agency and pass the 6 Points of ID verification to exchange your agricultural license for a provisional, restricted driver’s license that is valid for one year from date of issuance.

 

We are required to capture a customer’s full face when taking a picture for a driver license or non-driver ID card; therefore we need to be able to see from the top of your forehead to the bottom of your chin.  If you have a medical or religious need to wear a head covering in your photo, please advise the MVC staff at the agency camera station.