nj mvc title
Search
Records
Titles
Business Owned Vehicles
Business Licensing

How to obtain a salvage title

AUTO AUCTIONS: effective October 1, 2010, an original “Power of Attorney” (POA) will be required to remain on file with the Motor Vehicle Agency with whom you choose to manage your business. Download POA guidelines [pdf]

To request a salvage title, you must have the following items:
  • New Jersey title assigned to an insurance company with the company’s New Jersey sales tax satisfied stamp
  • $60 title fee and $25 penalty fee, if applicable
  • Insurance listing sheet (BA-28) and statement from insurance company as to how the vehicle was acquired. The Insurance sheet must also include:
  • Actual cash value
  • Type of loss
  • Damage estimate
  • Year, make and serial number
  • If there is a lien on the face of the title, it must be properly satisfied prior to issuance of salvage title
Agency locations where salvage titles are issued:
  • Requests for Salvage Titles can only be processed at select motor vehicle agencies. Download the complete list of salvage title agency locations [pdf]:
  • EATONTOWN
  • FLEMINGTON
  • MANAHAWKIN
  • NORTH BERGEN
  • RUNNEMEDE
  • SOMERVILLE
  • WASHINGTON
  • TRENTON (*mail only)

A SALVAGE TITLE WITH  A "STOLEN" STOP

For the MVC to process a salvage title with a stolen stop on it,  the following documentation must be submitted:

  • An insurance listing sheet or letter, on insurance company letterhead, explaining that the vehicle for which a salvage titled is requested is an un-recovered theft and that a salvage title must be issued in order for the insurance company to close the claim associated with the loss.
  • The insurance listing sheet or letter must be signed by an authorized representative of the insurance company and must  include:  the type of loss (unrecovered theft), the vehicle owner's name, and the year, make, make, and  serial number of the vehicle reported as being stolen.
  • Actual cash value of the vehicle on the insurance listing sheet.
  • A copy of the police report issued by the police department listed on the stolen stop.
  • An original NJ title, with all areas properly filled out.
  • A properly completed Power of Attorney;  if applicable.

To request a salvage title, insurance company (by mail only):
Follow a step-by-step guide [pdf] to salvage title applications by insurance companies when a vehicle owner fails to remit an original title:

  • Claim was paid to the owner
  • Official request for title was sent
  • Vehicle is a total loss (salvage)
  • Lien satisfied, if applicable
  • Owner has not complied with official request to send title to insurance company
  • Policy applies to vehicles with a NJ title history only

Hurricane Sandy

*Follow the modified step-by-step guide [pdf] to salvage title applications by insurance companies when a vehicle owner fails to remit an original title:

Mail required documentation to:
NJ Motor Vehicle Commission
Special Title/Salvage Unit
225 E State Street
PO Box 017
Trenton, New Jersey 08666-0017

To request a salvage title submitted by an insurance company* for an out-of-state vehicle, you must have the following:
  • Out-of-state title properly assigned to the insurance company
  • $60 title fee – no penalty fee on out-of-state title. If there is a New Jersey Dealer Reassignment with a late date, the fee is $25
  • Completed ISM/SS-61 form, with New Jersey Sales Tax Satisfied stamp
  • Insurance listing sheet (BA-28), statement from insurance company as to how the vehicle was acquired
  • If there is a lien on the face of the title, it must be properly satisfied prior to issuance of salvage title
  • Letter on official letterhead from out-of-state insurance company for each vehicle, stating that they are licensed to do business and write policies in New Jersey. Letter must also include:
  • Year, make and model
  • Vehicle Identification Number (VIN)
  • An explanation as to why you are requesting a salvage New Jersey title

* Salvage titles will only be issued to out-of-state insurance companies if they are authorized to do business in New Jersey.

To convert a salvage title to a standard title on a vehicle eight years or older that does not need an inspection, you must have the following:
  • Salvage Title
  • $60 title fee
  • Before and after photos of the vehicle – all sides
  • Receipts for parts with full vehicle description, year, make and VIN
  • Work order
  • Damage report from insurance company
You must submit all of the required documents to:
NJVMC Special Title Unit
PO Box 017
Trenton, NJ 08666-0017
(609) 292-6500 ext. 5063

Transactions will not be done while customer waits. Processing time for these transactions will take a minimum of three weeks.


Possible reasons your title may be rejected:
  • Incomplete assignment
  • Improper fees, penalties
  • Alterations, erasures, etc.
  • Improper signatures – power of attorney
  • Incorrect or missing supporting documents (police reports, statements, estimates, etc.)
  • NOTE: We do not issue titles to out-of-state residents





Contact Us | Privacy Notice | Legal Statement | Accessibility Statement
NJ Home Logo
Statewide: NJ home | Services A to Z | Department/Agencies | FAQs
Commission: Locations | Vehicles | Licenses | Violations | Inspections | Commercial | Business Licensing | About MVC
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2006

New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission
P.O. Box 160
Trenton, NJ 08666
(609) 292-6500 or toll free in NJ (888) 486-3339
TTY (609) 292-5120

Last Updated: February 24, 2014