nj mvc title
Search
Records
Titles
Business Owned Vehicles
Business Licensing

Driving school instructor license

MVC issues licenses to all driving school instructors and agents. The instructor's license is only for use in connection with lessons authorized by a licensed driving school.

How to get a driving school instructor license
  • You must be at least 21 years old and possess a valid driver license with a minimum of four years driving experience
  • Download the application for Authorized Agent [pdf] or Initial Driving School Instructors License [pdf], complete and mail to:

    Motor Vehicle Commission
    Business Licensing Services Bureau
    Driving School Unit
    P.O. Box 168
    225 East State Street
    Trenton, NJ 08666-0170

  • All applicants are required to complete special testing of law-knowledge, driving tests and visual screening acuity. In addition, applicants may be required to submit proof of instructor qualifications
Requirements after you become a licensed instructor
  • You must have your licenses at all times during teaching sessions
  • If you were licensed after July 1, 1984, you are required to complete either the six or eight-hour National Safety Defensive Driving Program. Evidence of completion of this program shall be filed with MVC
  • You must remain in the vehicle used for testing (except a motorcycle) at all times during which a student is behind the wheel for instruction and the keys are in the ignition
  • An instructor cannot validate a student learner's permit unless the student has completed the required six hours of behind-the-wheel instruction and the permit has been properly endorsed by an authorized person from the licensed driving school

Authorized agent requirements
  • Applicants must be at least 18 years of age with good moral character, a valid driver license and a driving record devoid of offenses detailed in N.J.S.A 39:4-50, 39:4-50.2 and/or 39:4-49.1
  • Once licensed, an authorized agent may transport the students to a New Jersey Driver Testing Center to take the road test or to purchase a permit
  • An authorized agent is not authorized to instruct a driving student, whether it be behind the wheel or in a classroom
Driving School Supplies
  • All licensed driving schools must submit their supply orders by completing this form. Please email or fax it to the Business Licensing Unit at blsmvc@dot.state.nj.us





Contact Us | Privacy Notice | Legal Statement | Accessibility Statement
NJ Home Logo
Statewide: NJ home | Services A to Z | Department/Agencies | FAQs
Commission: Locations | Vehicles | Licenses | Violations | Inspections | Commercial | Business Licensing | About MVC
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2006

New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission
P.O. Box 160
Trenton, NJ 08666
(609) 292-6500 or toll free in NJ (888) 486-3339
TTY (609) 292-5120

Last Updated: April 12, 2013