

Special Title Unit-Foreign Title Dept. P.O Box 017 Trenton NJ 08666

STATE OF NEW JERSEY 609-292-6500 ext. 5064

PROCEDURES FOR VEHICLES ABANDONED ON PRIVATE PROPERTY IN ACCORDANCE WITH N.J.S.A. 39:4-56.6

This procedure is for vehicles abandoned on New Jersey private property. By law, all vehicles must be put up for public sale/auction. However if a sale cannot be completed through an auction the property owner may apply for a title in their name <u>only</u>. If the vehicle is titled to a NJ dealer, documents must display a completed New Jersey dealer tax stamp.

Each case is handled on an individual basis and additional documents **may** be required. This procedure applies to New Jersey residents only.

The following required documents must be mailed to the below address for processing and approval, which will permit the issuance of the "Application for Certificate of Ownership for a Vehicle Abandoned on Private Property" (OS/SS-137). *This form will allow the sale/auction to be held and the vehicle to be subsequently sold and titled to the purchaser or property owner, as applicable.*

<u>Completed</u>: Please use the below check boxes as a guide to show which steps are completed.

- 1. Proof of ownership / lienholder information must be furnished by the New Jersey MVC. Lien Search Application (DO-22) with a \$15.00 check or money order is required to be submitted to this office. If there is no record in New Jersey, we require a certified title search from the known state as well as certified searches from the five states that surround New Jersey; New York, Delaware, Pennsylvania, Connecticut and Maryland.
- 2. A detailed notarized statement indicating when and how you came into possession of the vehicle is required to be submitted to this office. The statement must indicate all steps taken to establish authority to sell the vehicle including the year, make and VIN. This must also state your name, address and a daytime telephone number.

STOP HERE: Once step 1 & 2 have been completed, please mail the DO-22 form ONLY to P.O. Box 146 Trenton, NJ 08666. DO NOT CONTINUE until you receive the title/lien search information back from the NJ Motor Vehicle Commission. Once a response is received, you may continue to follow the remainder of this procedure in the outlined order.

On the Road to Excellence Visit us at www.njmvc.gov New Jersey is an Equal Opportunity Employer

- 3. Original Certified Affidavit of Newspaper Publication is required to be submitted to this office (See enclosed sample of publication #1).
- 4. Publication notice sent to the local police department in the municipality in which the vehicle is located. Notice must be sent by Certified Mail, Return Receipt Requested. The original signed receipt is required to be submitted to this office.
- 5. Abandoned Vehicle 90 Day Notice (OS/SS-139) must be sent by Certified Mail, Return Receipt Requested, to the owner and lienholder (if applicable) stating your intent to sell the vehicle if it is not claimed within 90 days of the letter and payment is received for reasonable cost of towing, garaging, storing, parking etc. The pink copy of the 90 Day Notice and the original signed return receipt(s) is required to be submitted to this office. If certified notice is undeliverable or unclaimed, then notice must then be sent by regular mail.
- 6. *Abandoned Vehicle 5-Day Notice (OS/SS-140)* must be sent by Certified Mail, Return Receipt Requested, to the owner and lienholder (if applicable), notifying them of your intent to sell the vehicle at auction, including the time and location of sale. The pink copy of 5-Day Notice and the original signed receipt(s) must be submitted.

Important Note for Steps 4. 5 & 6: Regarding steps 4. 5 & 6. if any notice(s) are returned as undeliverable, the original unopened, undelivered envelope(s) with U.S. Postal Service notation showing the reason(s) for non-delivery is required to be submitted to this office. Photocopies are not acceptable.

- 7. **Publish a notice in a newspaper** circulated in the municipality where the property is located 5 days before the sale/auction. The notice must include a complete description of the vehicle including the vehicle identification number, date, time and location of auction. The notice must be published a minimum of two times over two consecutive weeks and must appear at least once each week. You must obtain a Certified Affidavit of Publication from the newspaper (see attached sample of publication #2).
- 8. **Pencil tracing or a photograph of VIN** (vehicle identification number) from the VIN plate. If you are unable to obtain a pencil tracing or photograph of the vehicle identification number, you must include a notarized statement explaining the circumstance. Also, you must state that you physically examined the vehicle and provide the vehicle identification number shown on the VIN plate.
- 9. Four photos of the vehicle are required (front, back, passenger and driver side).

STOP HERE: Please forward all documents to the below address. A sale/auction cannot occur until all required documents have been approved and you have received form OS/SS-137 "Application for Certificate of Ownership for a Vehicle Abandoned on Private Property." This form contains an assignment which, when executed by the property owner or licensed dealer, will result in the issuance of a title to the purchaser. DO NOT sell the vehicle without the OS/SS-137.

10. **Original notarized affidavit** of the property owner or licensed dealer who conducted the auction/sale, identifying the people who attended the auction, providing an accounting of the proceeds and the costs of the sale, describing any existing lien, and indicating any other costs incurred by the property owner. This must be given to purchaser with the completed Application for Certificate of Ownership for a Vehicle Abandoned on Private Property (OS/SS- 137).

After the sale/auction has occurred, fully complete the OS/SS-137 with purchaser information and a copy of the purchaser's driver license. A check or money order in the amount of \$60.00 made payable to "NJMVC" for the title fee (\$85.00 fee is required if there is a lien), plus sales tax on the purchase price of the vehicle and must be mailed to the NJMVC. There will be a \$25 penalty fee, in addition to the title fee, if the vehicle is not titled within 10 days of the date of sale. The title will be mailed to the purchaser. If there is a lien, then it will be mailed to lienholder.

*****SS-58 Abandon on Private Property No Interest Applicants***** If a property owner wishes to release their interest in the vehicle to the towing facility, the property owner must fill the SS-58 form out completely and the form must be submitted with the rest of the of application documents. Failure to complete the SS-58 will result in rejection.

NOTE If no one attends the auction and no bids are received then the property owner may obtain a title in their name. The property owner must fill in their information in the purchaser section of the OS/SS-137. Once the OS/SS-137 is fully completed it must be submitted to the "NJMVC" along with a letter on the property owner's letterhead stating that an auction was held but no bids have been received and no one attended. Any person applying on behalf of the property owner must be given a power of attorney to apply and sign any or all documents associated with the abandoned on private property procedure.

Additional Information: The proceeds of the sale shall be applied to payment of any perfected liens and expenses incurred for storage and sale of the vehicle. Any remaining new proceeds are to be turned over to the owner of the vehicle. If the owner of record of the vehicle cannot be located, the property owner will be required to hold the proceeds in escrow for 60 days and then remit same to the municipality in which the property is located. The details of the escrow account should be provided in the accounting.

After making copies for your records, mail required (original) documentation to:

> NJ Motor Vehicle Commission Special Title Unit-Foreign Title Department 225 East State Street P.O. Box 017 Trenton NJ 08625



A separate form must be completed for each record requested. You may photocopy this form for your convenience; however, each request must bear an original signature of the requestor. No other form of request will be accepted. The proper fee(s) must accompany each request in the form of a check or money order payable to the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission. (DO NOT SEND CASH) Once completed, mail this form to the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission, Business & Government Services Unit at the above address. Please contact us at the above phone number for any questions or to obtain the status of a request.

ALL APPLICANTS MUST COMPLETE SECTIONS A, B & D OF THIS FORM. (Please print clearly)

FEE: \$15 PER RECORD SEARCH

| SECTION A - Requestor Information | | | | | | | | |
|---|---|-----------------------------|---------------|--------|-----------|------------|--------------------|--|
| Applicant's Name: | | | | | | | | |
| Business Name (if applicable): Phone #: Your File or Claim #: | | | | | | | | |
| Street Address: | Street Address: | | | | | | | |
| City: | | | | State: | | | Zip Code: | |
| Applicant's Driver Lic | Applicant's Driver License Number (PHOTOCOPY OF <u>YOUR</u> DRIVER LICENSE MUST BE INCLUDED): | | | | | | | |
| SECTION B - II | nformatio | on Requested | (all fields i | n this | section m | ust be com | pleted) | |
| I am requesting infor | I am requesting information on MY OWN RECORD RECORD** | | | | | | | |
| Vehicle / Vessel Model Year: Vehicle / Vessel Make: | | | | | | | | |
| CHECK ONE | \$1 | Lien Search 5 PER SEARCH | C | | | | Search R SEARCH | |

** IF YOU ARE REQUESTING A RECORD THAT IS NOT YOUR OWN, YOU MUST COMPLETE SECTION "C". *** If you check number 10, "A Notarized Authorization to Release Personal Motor Vehicle Information (Form BGS/DO-21A) must be submitted and will not be accepted unless it is acknowledged by a Notary Public or Attorney at Law."

ALL APPLICANTS MUST READ SECTION "D" AND SIGN THE APPLICATION ON PAGE 3



SECTION C – PURPOSE FOR THE REQUEST (required ONLY when requesting another's record)

PLEASE READ THE BELOW SECTION OF THE NEW JERSEY DRIVER PRIVACY PROTECTION ACT, INITIAL NEXT TO THE PERMITTED USE(S) THAT APPLY TO YOUR SPECIFIC USE OF THE MVC RECORDS. THEN PROVIDE A WRITTEN EXPLANATION OF THE REASON FOR YOUR REQUEST AND INTENDED USE OF THE INFORMATION.

USES PERMITTED BY N.J.S.A. 39:2-3.4(c)

For use by any government agency including any court or law enforcement agency carrying out its functions, or any private person or entity acting on behalf of a federal, State or local agency in carrying out its functions.

If acting on behalf of a federal, State or local agency, please include a copy of an individual release consent form, the agreement with the client, or other proof that you have been retained to conduct an investigation.

For use in connection with matters of motor vehicle or driver safety and theft; motor vehicle emissions; motor vehicle product alterations, recalls or advisories; performance monitoring of motor vehicles; motor vehicle parts and dealers; motor vehicle market research activities, including survey research; and the removal of non-owner records form the original owner records of motor vehicle manufacturers.

Please include the documentation supporting your request if the information is to be used for motor vehicle emissions, recalls or advisories, etc.

For use in the normal course of business by a legitimate business or its agents, employees or contractors, but only;

- 1. to verify the accuracy of personal information submitted by the individual to the business or agents, employees or contractors; and
- if such information as so submitted is not correct or is no longer correct, to obtain the correct information, but only for the purposes of preventing fraud by pursuing legal remedies against, or recovering on a debt or security interest against the individual.

Please include a copy of the individual release consent form.

For use in connection with any civil, criminal, administrative or arbitral proceeding in any federal, State or local court or agency or before any self-regulating body, including service of process, investigation in anticipation of litigation, and the execution or enforcement of judgments and orders, or pursuant to an order of a federal, State or local court.

Please include the Docket number and a letter from the client confirming that you have been retained. Please provide an explanation if no docket number has been assigned.

For use in educational initiatives, research activities, and for use in producing statistical reports, so long as the personal information is not published, redisclosed, or used to contact individuals and, in the case of educational initiatives, only to organ procurement organizations as aggregated, non-identifying information.

Please include a description of the initiative or research on official letterhead.

For use by any insurer or insurance support organization, or by a self-insured entity, or its agents, employees, or contractors, in connection with claims investigation activities, antifraud activities, rating or underwriting.

Please include supporting documents for intended use.

For use in providing notice to the owners of towed or impounded vehicles.

Please include proof of authorization to tow or impound vehicles.



For use by an employer or its agent or insurer to obtain or verify information relating to a holder of a commercial driver's license that is required under the "Commercial Motor Vehicle Safety Act, " 49 U.S.C. App. §2710 et seq.

Please include a copy of an individual release consent form, a copy of the insurance policy, and a copy of the agreement if done on behalf of a client.

For use in connection with the operation of private toll transportation facilities.

If your request does not fall under one of the above reasons:

For use by any requestor, if the requestor demonstrates it has obtained the <u>notarized</u> written consent of the individual to whom the information pertains.

For use by an organ procurement organization designated pursuant to 42 U.S.C. §1320b-8 to serve in the State of New Jersey, or any donor registry established by any such organization, exclusively for the purposes of determining, verifying, and recording organ and tissue donor designation and identity.

Please include proof that your organization is authorized to serve in one of the capacities listed.

Explanation of reason

Please in explain in detail your reason for requesting the information and how you plan to use it. If involving a lawsuit, please state the type of lawsuit and your relationship to the case.



SECTION D – TERMS AND CONDITIONS

The disclosure and use of the personal information₁ contained in the record you have requested is governed by the "New Jersey Drivers' Privacy Protection Act" ("NJDPPA"), <u>N.J.S.A</u>. 39:2-3.3 <u>et seq</u>. The NJDPPA provides that a person who knowingly obtains or discloses information from a motor vehicle record for any use not permitted by the Act is guilty of a crime of the fourth degree and can be held liable, in a civil action in the Superior Court, to the individual to whom the information pertains, including an award of actual damages, punitive damages, and reasonable attorney's fees and litigation costs.

¹ "Personal Information" means information that identifies an individual, including an individual's photograph; social security number; driver identification number; name; address other than the five-digit zip code; telephone number; and medical or disability information, but does not include information on vehicular accidents, driving violations, and driver's status.

I hereby certify that the foregoing statements and submitted supporting documents are true. I understand that if any of the statements or submitted supporting documents are willfully false, I am subject to punishment. I have read <u>N.J.S.A.</u> 39:2-3.3, et seq. ("NJDPPA") and I have initialed all the permitted purposes that apply to my request for online access. I will only use any personal information contained in records I have requested as permitted by the NJDPPA.

I agree to hold the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (NJMVC) harmless in the event of any errors or omissions in the record and document(s) furnished under this application.

If I am requesting another's record, I certify that:

- 1) Use of the information provided by the NJMVC pursuant to this Application will only be for the purposes explicitly set forth in this Application;
- The information provided by the NJMVC pursuant to this Application will not be used for the purpose of commercial solicitation or marketing, political canvassing or campaigning or any similar purpose or objective, and I shall not provide such information to any person or entity that seeks to use such information for any of these purposes;
- 3) If the information requested is to be used "in anticipation of litigation," pursuant to N.J.S.A. 39:2-3.4(c)4, personal information will only be used where litigation is imminent or foreseeable, or where the party on whose behalf the information is obtained has made the conscious decision to prepare a claim or defend against a probable claim;
- 4) In the event of a breach of any of the security obligations or other event requiring notification under applicable law, I shall comply with all applicable State and federal laws that require notification of individuals in the event of unauthorized release of Personal Information, or other event requiring notification, and assume responsibility for informing the NJMVC within twenty four (24) hours and all such appropriate individuals, including the customer whose information is the subject of the release, in accordance with applicable law and to indemnify, hold harmless and defend the State of New Jersey from, and against any claims, damages, or other harm related to such breach or event. All communications must be coordinated with the State of New Jersey by contacting the NJMVC at 609-341-5777.

Signature of Applicant (original signature only - signature stamps are unacceptable)

Date



P.O. Box 017 Trenton, New Jersey 08666-0160

STATE OF NEW JERSEY 1-609-292-6500 ext. 5064

Philip D. Murphy Governor

Sheila Y. Oliver Lt. Governor

B. Sue Fulton Chair and Chief Administrator

Authority to Transfer Interest to a Towing Company

_____, property owner, have contacted / authorized a towing company, specifically, _____to remove the vehicle indicated below from my property.

I acknowledge that by signing below I am giving authority to sell or dispose of the following described vehicle at public auction and certify that I am the true owner of the property on which this vehicle was abandoned.

I______, am the person in charge of this property. I have authorization from the property owner to sign documents related to the management of this property. I have contacted/authorized a towing company, specifically,________to remove the vehicle indicated below from this property.

I acknowledge that by signing below I am giving authority to sell or dispose of the following described vehicle at public auction and certify that I am authorized to make such acknowledgements by the true owner of the property on which this vehicle was abandoned.

The following must be filled out in its entirety -

Vehicle Make:

Vehicle Year:

<u>VIN:</u>____

Property Owner Name:

Property Owner's Address:

Property Owner's Phone Number:

Person in Control of Property's Phone Number (if different from property owner):

Address Where Abandonment Occurred:

Date Abandonment Occurred:

Date

Name and Signature of Property Owner/ Person in Control of Property

Your signature on this form signifies your intent to release all interest in the abandoned vehicle listed above. The towing facility dispatched to remove this vehicle is now authorized to sell or dispose of the vehicle at public auction in accordance with N.J.S.A. 39:4-56.6 and N.J.S.A. 2A:44-20 et seq.

On the Road to Excellence Visit us at www.njmvc.gov New Jersey is an Equal Opportunity Employer



P.O. Box 017 Trenton, New Jersey 08666-0017

STATE OF NEW JERSEY 609-292-6500 ext. 5064

Suggested Format Newspaper Publication in accordance with N.J.S.A. 39:4-56.6 (90-Day Notice)

Instructions

Advertise in a newspaper with general circulation in the municipality where the property is located for a space of two weeks, at least once a week, making three insertions in all. The notice should briefly state that you have applied to the Chief Administrator of the Motor Vehicle Commission for the authority to sell the vehicle at public sale/auction and if anyone desires to be heard in opposition of your application, he may do so by contacting the Chief Administrator within 10 days of the newspaper advertisement. Advertisement must include the year, make and full/ correct vehicle/hull identification number. The newspaper will provide a certified affidavit showing you complied with these requirements.

Sample Publication

Take notice that in accordance with N.J.S.A. 39:4-56.6, application has been made to the Chief Administrator of the Motor Vehicle Commission, Trenton, New Jersey, to receive title papers authorizing the sale for, Make______, Year______, VIN/Hull Identification Number_______, Objections, if any, should be made in writing, immediately in writing to the Chief Administrator of the Motor Vehicle Commission, Special Title Unit, P.O. Box 017, Trenton, New Jersey, 08666-0017



STATE OF NEW JERSEY 1-609-292-6500 ext. 5064

Suggested Format Newspaper Publication in accordance with N.J.S.A. 39:4-56.6 (5-Day Notice)

| Sample Publication | on |
|---|--|
| Take notice, that the undersigned shall expose for sale, in a | accordance with N.J.S.A. 39:4-56.6, at |
| public sale/auction a (make) | , (year), |
| (Vehicle Identification Number) | on (date) |
| (time) | which came into |
| possession of (property owner) | _ through abandonment or failure of |
| owner's to claim same. | |
| The motor vehicle may be examined at: (address where vehicle is | located) |
| | |
| | (Property owner's name) |
| | (Property owner's signature) |
| | (Date) |

State of New Jersey P.O. Box 017 Trenton, NJ 08666-0017 Phone: 609-292-6500 x5064 mvc.specialtitle@mvc.nj.gov

ABANDONED VEHICLE ON PRIVATE PROPERTY-90 DAY NOTICE

| | | | Full Name of Property Owner |
|---|------------------|------------------|------------------------------------|
| | | | Street Address |
| | | | City, State, Zip Code |
| | | | Date |
| Full Name of Vehicle Owner | | | |
| Street Address | | | |
| City, State, Zip Code | | | |
| Dear: | | | |
| This is to advise you that your vehicle/vesse | | , | |
| | Make | Year | Vehicle/Hull Identification Number |
| is deemed to have been abandoned at | | | since |
| | Address where ve | hicle is located | Date left abandoned |

A vehicle is deemed to be abandoned if it is left on private property without the consent of the owner or the person in control or possession of the property or for a period in excess of that for which consent was given, except in the case of emergency.

I am therefore, by means of this certified return receipt requested mailing, notifying you of my intent to sell the vehicle, unless you and/or the lienholder reclaim possession of the vehicle within 90 days of this letter, upon payment of the reasonable costs of removal and storage of the vehicle, and the expenses incurred pursuant to the provisions of this act (N.J.S.A. 39:4-56.6).

Sincerely,

Signature of Property Owner

Lienholder name (if applicable)

Street Address

CC:

City, State, Zip Code

To be sent certified to the vehicle Owner(s)

State of New Jersey P.O. Box 017 Trenton, NJ 08666-0017 Phone: 609-292-6500 x5064 mvc.specialtitle@mvc.nj.gov

ABANDONED VEHICLE ON PRIVATE PROPERTY-90 DAY NOTICE

| | | | Full Name of Property Owner |
|---|------------------|------------------|------------------------------------|
| | | | Street Address |
| | | | City, State, Zip Code |
| | | | Date |
| Full Name of Vehicle Owner | | | |
| Street Address | | | |
| City, State, Zip Code | | | |
| Dear: | | | |
| This is to advise you that your vehicle/vesse | | ; | |
| | Make | Year | Vehicle/Hull Identification Number |
| is deemed to have been abandoned at | | | since |
| | Address where ve | hicle is located | Date left abandoned |

A vehicle is deemed to be abandoned if it is left on private property without the consent of the owner or the person in control or possession of the property or for a period in excess of that for which consent was given, except in the case of emergency.

I am therefore, by means of this certified return receipt requested mailing, notifying you of my intent to sell the vehicle, unless you and/or the lienholder reclaim possession of the vehicle within 90 days of this letter, upon payment of the reasonable costs of removal and storage of the vehicle, and the expenses incurred pursuant to the provisions of this act (N.J.S.A. 39:4-56.6).

Sincerely,

Signature of Property Owner

Lienholder name (if applicable)

Street Address

CC:

City, State, Zip Code

To be sent certified to the vehicle's Lien Holder (if applicable)

OS/SS-139 (R9/15)

State of New Jersey P.O. Box 017 Trenton, NJ 08666-0017 Phone: 609-292-6500 x5064 mvc.specialtitle@mvc.nj.gov

ABANDONED VEHICLE ON PRIVATE PROPERTY-90 DAY NOTICE

| | | | Full Name of Property Owner |
|---|------------------|------------------|------------------------------------|
| | | | Street Address |
| | | | City, State, Zip Code |
| | | | Date |
| Full Name of Vehicle Owner | | | |
| Street Address | | | |
| City, State, Zip Code | | | |
| Dear: | | | |
| This is to advise you that your vehicle/vesse | | ; | , |
| | Make | Year | Vehicle/Hull Identification Number |
| is deemed to have been abandoned at | | | since |
| | Address where ve | hicle is located | Date left abandoned |

A vehicle is deemed to be abandoned if it is left on private property without the consent of the owner or the person in control or possession of the property or for a period in excess of that for which consent was given, except in the case of emergency.

I am therefore, by means of this certified return receipt requested mailing, notifying you of my intent to sell the vehicle, unless you and/or the lienholder reclaim possession of the vehicle within 90 days of this letter, upon payment of the reasonable costs of removal and storage of the vehicle, and the expenses incurred pursuant to the provisions of this act (N.J.S.A. 39:4-56.6).

Sincerely,

Signature of Property Owner

Lienholder name (if applicable)

Street Address

CC:

City, State, Zip Code

Retain by the property owner for later use with the returned certified receipt. (Step 5)

State of New Jersey P.O. Box 017 Trenton, NJ 08666-0017 Phone: 609-292-6500 x5064 mvc.specialtitle@mvc.nj.gov

ABANDONED VEHICLE ON PRIVATE PROPERTY-90 DAY NOTICE

| | | | Full Name of Property Owner |
|---|-------------------|------------------|------------------------------------|
| | | | Street Address |
| | | | City, State, Zip Code |
| | | | Date |
| Full Name of Vehicle Owner | | | |
| Street Address | | | |
| City, State, Zip Code | | | |
| Dear: | | | |
| This is to advise you that your vehicle/vesse | | | |
| | Make | Year | Vehicle/Hull Identification Number |
| is deemed to have been abandoned at | | | since |
| | Address where vel | hicle is located | Date left abandoned |

A vehicle is deemed to be abandoned if it is left on private property without the consent of the owner or the person in control or possession of the property or for a period in excess of that for which consent was given, except in the case of emergency.

I am therefore, by means of this certified return receipt requested mailing, notifying you of my intent to sell the vehicle, unless you and/or the lienholder reclaim possession of the vehicle within 90 days of this letter, upon payment of the reasonable costs of removal and storage of the vehicle, and the expenses incurred pursuant to the provisions of this act (N.J.S.A. 39:4-56.6).

Sincerely,

Signature of Property Owner

Lienholder name (if applicable)

Street Address

CC:

City, State, Zip Code



State of New Jersey P.O. Box 017 Trenton, NJ 08666-0017 Phone: 609-292-6500 x5064 mvc.specialtitle@mvc.nj.gov

| | | | Full Name of Property Owner |
|---|------------------------|--------------------------|--|
| | | | Street Address |
| | | | City, State, Zip Code |
| | | | Date |
| Full Name of Vehicle Owner | | | |
| Street Address | | | |
| City, State, Zip Code | | | |
| Dear: | | | |
| This is to advise you that your vehicle/vessel | Make | ,, Year , . | Vehicle/Hull Identification Number |
| is deemed to have been abandoned at | dress where vehicle is | | ince Date left abandoned |
| I am therefore, by means of this certified return accordance with N.J.S.A. 39:4-56.6 on | | ailing, notifying you of | my intent to sell the vehicle in |
| at | | by mea | ns of public sale. |
| Location | | | |
| | | Sincerel | у, |
| | | Signatu | e of Property Owner |
| CC: Lienholder name (if applicable) | _ | - | |
| Street Address | _ | | |
| City, State, Zip Code | - | | |
| | | | To be sent certified to the vehicle Owner(s) |
| OS/SS-140 (R9/15) | | | |



| | | | Full Name of Property Owner |
|--|---------------------------|---|---|
| | | | Street Address |
| | | | City, State, Zip Code |
| | | | Date |
| Full Name of Vehicle Owner | | | |
| Street Address | | | |
| City, State, Zip Code | | | |
| Dear: | | | |
| This is to advise you that your vehicle/vessel _ | , Make | , Year | Vehicle/Hull Identification Number |
| is deemed to have been abandoned at | | | since |
| Ado | dress where vehicle is lo | ocated | Date left abandoned |
| A vehicle is deemed to be abandoned if it i possession of the property or for a period in ex- | s left on private prope | erty without the cons consent was given, e | sent of the owner or the person in control o except in the case of emergency. |
| I am therefore, by means of this certified return | n receipt requested ma | iling, notifying you of | f my intent to sell the vehicle in |
| accordance with N.J.S.A. 39:4-56.6 on | ,,,, | Time | |
| | Date | Time | |
| atLocation | | by mea | ans of public sale. |
| Location | | | |
| | | Sincere | ely, |
| | | | |
| CC: | | Signatu | ire of Property Owner |
| Lienholder name (if applicable) | - | | |
| Street Address | - | | |
| City, State, Zip Code | | | |
| | | | To be sent certified to the vehicle's Lien Holder (if applicable) |
| OS/SS-140 (R9/15) | | | |



State of New Jersey P.O. Box 017 Trenton, NJ 08666-0017 Phone: 609-292-6500 x5064 mvc.specialtitle@mvc.nj.gov

| | | | Full Nar | me of Property Owner |
|---|---|--|----------------------|--|
| | | | Street A | Address |
| | | | City, Sta | ate, Zip Code |
| | | | Date | |
| Full Name of Vehicle Owner | | | | |
| Street Address | | | | |
| City, State, Zip Code | | | | |
| Dear: | | | | |
| This is to advise you that your vehicle/vesse | el,, Make | , Year | | /ehicle/Hull Identification Number |
| is deemed to have been abandoned at | | ç | since | |
| A | ddress where vehicle is lo | ocated | Ε | Date left abandoned |
| A vehicle is deemed to be abandoned if it possession of the property or for a period in | t is left on private proper excess of that for which c | rty without the cons consent was given, e | sent of the scept in | ne owner or the person in control or the case of emergency. |
| I am therefore, by means of this certified retu | urn receipt requested mai | ling, notifying you of | my inten | t to sell the vehicle in |
| accordance with N.J.S.A. 39:4-56.6 on | | | | |
| | Date | Time | | |
| | | by mea | ns of pub | lic sale. |
| Location | | | | |
| | | Sincerel | ly, | |
| | | | | |
| CC: | | Signatui | re of Proj | perty Owner |
| Lienholder name (if applicable) | _ | | | |
| Street Address | _ | | | |
| City, State, Zip Code | _ | | | |
| | | | | Retain by the property owner for later use with the returned certified |
| OS/SS-140 (R9/15) | | | | receipt. (Step 6) |



State of New Jersey P.O. Box 017 Trenton, NJ 08666-0017 Phone: 609-292-6500 x5064 mvc.specialtitle@mvc.nj.gov

| | | | Full Name of Property Owner |
|---|-------------------------|--------------------------|--|
| | | | Street Address |
| | | | City, State, Zip Code |
| | | | Date |
| Full Name of Vehicle Owner | | | |
| Street Address | | | |
| City, State, Zip Code | | | |
| Dear: | | | |
| This is to advise you that your vehicle/vessel _ | , Make | , Year | Vehicle/Hull Identification Number |
| is deemed to have been abandoned at | ress where vehicle is I | located | since Date left abandoned |
| I am therefore, by means of this certified return accordance with N.J.S.A. 39:4-56.6 on | | ailing, notifying you of | f my intent to sell the vehicle in |
| at | | by mea | ns of public sale. |
| Location | | | |
| | | Sincere | ly, |
| | | Signatu | re of Property Owner |
| CC: Lienholder name (if applicable) | | J. | |
| Street Address | | | |
| City, State, Zip Code | | | |
| | | | To be retained for property owners records |
| OS/SS-140 (R9/15) | | | |