Skip to main navigationSkip to News Headlines
NJ Division of Consumer Affairs
Global Navigation
Division of Consumer Affairs
The State of New Jersey Office of The Attorney General (Dept. of Law & Public Safety) The State of New Jersey NJ Home Services A to Z Departments/Agencies OAG Frequently Asked Questions
OAG Home
OAG Contact
Division of Consumer Affairs Alerts and Recalls
Division of Consumer Affairs Alerts and Recalls
Office of the Attorney General Homepage Division of Consumer Affairs, Director
Division of Consumer Affairs, Director
Division of Alcoholic Beverage Control
Division of Consumer Affairs
Division of Consumer Affairs Highlights
Division of Consumer Affairs Topics in a A-Z List Format
Office of Consumer Protection (OCP)
New Jersey Bureau of Securities
Office of Weights and Measures
Legalized Games of Chance Control Commission
Alternative Dispute Resolution
Professions and Occupations List
Contact the Division of Consumer Affairs
Division of Consumer Affairs in Spanish
Division of Criminal Justice
Division on Civil Rights
Division of Gaming Enforcement
Division of Highway Traffic Safety
Division of Law
Juvenile Justice Commission
NJ Racing Commission
State Athletic Control Board
Division of NJ State Police
Victims of Crime Compensation Office
Subscribe to Buyer Beware Alerts
OPRA - Open Public Records Act
Download Free PDF Reader
Home Improvement Contractors

Since January 1, 2006, anyone who makes or sells home improvements with respect to residential properties in the State of New Jersey must be registered with the Division of Consumer Affairs unless specifically exempted under the statute and may not obtain a construction permit unless registered.

Every registered contractor must:

  • maintain commercial general liability insurance in a minimum amount of $500,000.00 per occurrence

  • display the registration number in the place of business, in all advertisements, in all business documents including contracts and on all commercial vehicles

  • put home improvement contracts with a purchase price exceeding $500.00 in writing containing all terms and conditions of the contract including: price; a description of the work to be done; materials to be used; and the dates or time period within which the work will be begun and completed. The contract must be signed by all parties.

  • provide a copy of the certificate of commercial general liability insurance with the contract

  • comply with all other requirements of the statute and regulations accessible at www.njconsumeraffairs.gov/ocp/statsregs.htm

   
Contact Us | Privacy Notice | Legal Statement | Accessibility Statement
NJ Home Logo
Divisional: DCA Home | Complaint Forms | Proposals | Adoptions | Contact DCA
Departmental: OAG Home | Contact OAG | About OAG | OAG News | OAG FAQ's
Statewide: NJ Home | Services A to Z | Departments/Agencies | FAQ's
Copyright State of New Jersey
This page is maintained by DCA. Comments/Questions: email

Page last modified: