Skip to main navigationSkip to News Headlines
NJ Division of Consumer Affairs
Global Navigation
Division of Consumer Affairs
The State of New Jersey Office of The Attorney General (Dept. of Law & Public Safety) The State of New Jersey NJ Home Services A to Z Departments/Agencies OAG Frequently Asked Questions
OAG Home
OAG Contact
Division of Consumer Affairs Alerts and Recalls
Division of Consumer Affairs Alerts and Recalls
Office of the Attorney General Homepage Division of Consumer Affairs Acting Director
Division of Consumer Affairs Acting Director
Division of Alcoholic Beverage Control
Division of Consumer Affairs
Division of Consumer Affairs Highlights
Division of Consumer Affairs Topics in a A-Z List Format
Office of Consumer Protection (OCP)
New Jersey Bureau of Securities
Office of Weights and Measures
Legalized Games of Chance Control Commission
Alternative Dispute Resolution
Professions and Occupations List
Contact the Division of Consumer Affairs
Division of Consumer Affairs in Spanish
Division of Criminal Justice
Division on Civil Rights
Division of Gaming Enforcement
Division of Highway Traffic Safety
Division of Law
Juvenile Justice Commission
NJ Racing Commission
State Athletic Control Board
Division of NJ State Police
Victims of Crime Compensation Office
Subscribe to Buyer Beware Alerts
OPRA - Open Public Records Act
Download Free PDF Reader
New Jersey Board of Massage and Bodywork Therapy

The New Jersey Board of Massage and Bodywork Therapy licenses massage and body work therapists and massage and body work therapist employers . Inquiries or complaints may be forwarded to Laura Anderson, Executive Director, New Jersey Board of Massage and Bodywork Therapy, PO Box 47032, Newark, NJ 07101, (973) 504-6520 or via e-mail.

New Alert


The New Jersey Board of Massage and Bodywork Therapy meeting originally scheduled for August 28, 2013 has been cancelled for administrative reasons. The next Board meeting will be held on September 25, 2013. Under the Massage and Bodywork Therapist Licensing Act, a license is required to practice massage and bodywork therapy in New Jersey. The Board, however, understands that there is confusion regarding the forms of touch therapy that are subject to the requirement to obtain a license, specifically with regards to forms of therapy that focus on the energetic system of the body. The Board continues to analyze this issue, but until a final decision is rendered, urges all practitioners who have been working full-time as massage and bodywork therapists for at least 2 years, or part-time for five years, and who have 200 hours of education to apply for a license by the August 30, 2013 deadline. If you are not sure whether you should obtain a license, or whether you qualify for a license based on the requirements above, the Board encourages you to submit an application by August 30th in order to preserve your right to qualify for a license without having to satisfy additional training requirements mandated under the Massage Therapist and Bodywork Licensing Act.

   
Contact Us | Privacy Notice | Legal Statement | Accessibility Statement
NJ Home Logo
Divisional: DCA Home | Complaint Forms | Proposals | Adoptions | Contact DCA
Departmental: OAG Home | Contact OAG | About OAG | OAG News | OAG FAQs
Statewide: NJ Home | Services A to Z | Departments/Agencies | FAQs
Copyright State of New Jersey
This page is maintained by DCA. Comments/Questions: email

Page last modified: