Skip to main navigationSkip to News Headlines
NJ Division of Consumer Affairs
Global Navigation
Division of Consumer Affairs
The State of New Jersey Office of The Attorney General (Dept. of Law & Public Safety) The State of New Jersey NJ Home Services A to Z Departments/Agencies OAG Frequently Asked Questions
OAG Home
OAG Contact
Division of Consumer Affairs Alerts and Recalls
Division of Consumer Affairs Alerts and Recalls
Office of the Attorney General Homepage Division of Consumer Affairs Acting Director
Division of Consumer Affairs Acting Director
Division of Alcoholic Beverage Control
Division of Consumer Affairs
Division of Consumer Affairs Highlights
Division of Consumer Affairs Topics in a A-Z List Format
Office of Consumer Protection (OCP)
New Jersey Bureau of Securities
Office of Weights and Measures
Legalized Games of Chance Control Commission
Alternative Dispute Resolution
Professions and Occupations List
Contact the Division of Consumer Affairs
Division of Consumer Affairs in Spanish
Division of Criminal Justice
Division on Civil Rights
Division of Gaming Enforcement
Division of Highway Traffic Safety
Division of Law
Juvenile Justice Commission
NJ Racing Commission
State Athletic Control Board
Division of NJ State Police
Victims of Crime Compensation Office
Subscribe to Buyer Beware Alerts
OPRA - Open Public Records Act
Download Free PDF Reader

New Jersey Board of Massage and Bodywork Therapy

Board Home | Members | Dates | Agendas | Minutes | FAQs | Applications
Laws & Regulations | Board Actions | Contact Us | Useful Links

Frequently Asked Questions

  • General Questions
  • Continuing Education Questions
  • Renewal Procedure Questions
  • Licensure Questions
  • Business/Employer Registration
  • Other Questions

  • General Questions

    1. How can I verify my New Jersey Massage and Bodywork license?
    2. Answer:
      You can verify your license by using the Division of Consumer Affairs' online licensee verification system. Follow the instructions on the online system to pick the appropriate board and license type.

    3. How do I request an official written verification of my New Jersey Massage and Bodywork license?
    4. Answer:
      Send a written request to the New Jersey Board of Massage and Bodywork Therapy, P.O. Box 47032, Newark, New Jersey 07101. The fee for a written licensure verification is $30.00. Your request must include your name, New Jersey license number, the name and address to which the verification is to be mailed and a $30.00 check or money order made payable to the New Jersey Board of Massage and Bodywork Therapy. If the entity seeking the verification of licensure has a specific form to be completed by the New Jersey Board of Massage and Bodywork Therapy, that form should also be included with the written request.

    5. How do I request a duplicate license?
    6. Answer:
      Submit a written request to the New Jersey Board of Massage and Bodywork Therapy, P.O. Box 47032, Newark New Jersey 07101 for a duplicate license. The fee for a duplicate license is $35.00. The written request must include your name, address and New Jersey license number. Also enclose a certified check or money order in the amount of $35.00 made payable to the New Jersey Board of Massage and Bodywork Therapy.

    7. When must I notify the Board of a change of address?
    8. Answer:
      New Jersey licensed Massage and Bodywork Therapists must notify the Board in writing within 30 days of any change in the address on file with the Board and must specify whether the address is a residence or employment address. Please be aware that an address change form will be attached to your license. You can also use that form for your address change.

    9. When must I notify the Board that my name has changed?
    10. Answer:
      New Jersey licensed Massage and Bodywork Therapists must notify the Board in writing within 30 days of any legal name change. Notification of a name change must include a copy of the marriage license or court order that authorized the legal name change.

    Continuing Education Questions

    1. Am I required to complete continuing education courses in order to renew my license?
    2. Answer:
      Yes. Each licensee must complete during the preceding biennial renewal period 20 credit hours of continuing education related to the practice of massage and bodywork therapy. These 20 credit hours must include at least two hours in the subject of ethics.

      For Example: Massage and Bodywork Therapy licenses that expire on November 30, 2014. Licensees must complete 20 credit hours of continuing education between December 1, 2012 and November 30, 2014.

      Courses that are related solely to the business practice of licensees and courses in practices which licensees are prohibited from engaging in WILL NOT satisfy the continuing education requirements.

    3. If I was licensed during the first year of the biennial renewal period (December 1st of every even year through November 30th of every odd year), how many continuing education credits do I need to complete before my license expires?
    4. Answer:
      You must complete 20 credit hours of continuing education credits for that biennial renewal period.

    5. If I was licensed during the second year of the biennial renewal period (December 1st of every odd year through November 30th of every even year), how many continuing education credits do I need to complete before my license expires?
    6. Answer:
      You must complete 10 credit hours of continuing education credits for that biennial renewal period. The 10 credit hours must include at least two hours in ethics.

    7. When and where do I send my continuing education certificates of completion?
    8. Answer:
      Do not send documentation to the New Jersey Board of Massage and Bodywork Therapy unless you receive an official "continuing education audit" letter. If your name is selected at random to be audited, you will then be provided with specific instructions and you will have 14 days from receipt of the continuing education audit letter to submit all of the pertinent documents to the Board. N.J.A.C. 13:37A-4.3(b) requires all licensees to retain continuing education documentation for a period of four years after completion of the credit hours.

    9. How many credits can be obtained from courses presented online or through DVDs?
    10. Answer:
      A maximum of six of the mandatory 20 credit hours of continuing education can be obtained from courses presented online (Internet courses) or through DVD courses.

    11. How many credits can I carry over into the succeeding biennial period?
    12. Answer:
      A licensee who completes more than the required 20 hours of continuing education credits in any biennial period may carry no more than 18 of the additional credit hours into a succeeding biennial period. A licensee who carries over credits into a biennial period must complete, during that biennial period, at least two hoursin the subject of ethics. Two hours of ethics education must be completed for every biennial renewal period.

    13. Which continuing education courses or programs are approved?
    14. Answer:
      A licensee may obtain continuing education credit hours from courses or programs related to the practice of massage and bodywork therapy, one credit hour for each hour of instruction. Courses and programs must be approved by, or offered by providers approved by:

    Renewal Procedure Questions

    1. How often must a Massage and Bodywork license be renewed?
    2. Answer:
      The renewal period is biennial. All Massage and Bodywork therapy licenses expire every two years on November 30th of any even-numbered year, regardless of the date of licensure.

    3. What is the cost to renew a massage and bodywork license?
    4. Answer:
      The massage and bodywork license renewal fee is $120.00.

    5. Can a license be placed on "inactive" status?
    6. Answer:
      Yes. A massage and bodywork license can be placed on inactive status by checking "yes" for the appropriate question on the biennial renewal application, or by sending a written request to the New Jersey Board of Massage and Bodywork Therapy. The fee for an inactive status license is $60.00. However, be advised that placing your license on inactive status means that you may not practice as a massage and bodywork therapist in the State of New Jersey.

    7. How can a license be reactivated?
    8. Answer:
      In order to reactivate a license, an application to reactivate an inactive license must be completed by the applicant and mailed to the Board of Massage and Bodywork Therapy. The applicant is required to present satisfactory proof that he or she has maintained proficiency by completing the continuing education credits that were required for every biennial period that the applicant has beenon inactive status. The applicant must also hold a current certification in C.P.R., First Aid, and use of an automated external defibrillator (A.E.D.) from courses approved by the American Heart Association or a substantially similar course approved by the American Red Cross, the National Safety Council, Coyne First Aide Inc., The American Safety and Health Institute or EMP International Inc.

    Licensure Questions

    1. How can I qualify for licensure?
    2. Answer:
      There are 3 methods for an individual to obtain a Massage and Bodywork Therapy license. See the four methods and the qualifications for each below.

      1. Obtain by Examination
        This method of application is for individuals who have passed either: an examination offered by National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (NCBTMB); the National Certification Commission for Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine (NCCAOM) Asian Bodywork Therapy Examination; or the Massage and Bodywork Licensing Examination (MBLEx) offered by the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards (FSMTB).

      2. Obtain by Education
        This method of application is for individuals who completed a course of study in massage and bodywork therapy that was at least 500 hours. The 500 hours of education must have included:

        • 90 hours of anatomy, physiology and pathophysiology;
        • ethics and law;
        • theory and practice;
        • electives related to the practice of massage and bodywork therapy; and
        • at least 100 hours of clinical practice.

        The course of study must be taken in a school accredited or approved by:

        • the New Jersey Department of Education;
        • the New Jersey Department Labor and Workforce Development;
        • the New Jersey Commission on Higher Education; or
        • an agency of another state which certifies that the course taken substantially meets the requirements of the New Jersey Agencies listed above.

        View List of Approved Schools

        An applicant for a license by education must arrange for his or her school to submit an official transcript directly to the Board. If the applicant is unable to arrange for his or her school to send transcripts because it is closed, the applicant can submit a Student Record Request Form to see if the transcripts are available through the Department of Labor and Workforce Development.

        PLEASE NOTE: The Department of Labor and Workforce Development only has some ofthe transcripts for the Helma Institute of Massage Therapy, located in Saddlebrook New Jersey and Garfield New Jersey.

        If the applicant is ultimately unable to make arrangements for transcripts to be sent directly to the Board, or if the school program that the applicant attended does not have the requisite accreditation, the applicant may seek licensure by either examination or current practitioner (see requirements above).

        An individual who is currently enrolled in an accredited course of study may begin the application process; however, he or she will not be able to obtain a license until the course of study is completed and a transcript has been submitted to the Board.

      3. Obtain by Endorsement
        This method of application is for individuals who are licensed or certified as a massage and bodywork therapist in another state. Applicants using this method shall arrange for every state, territory of the United States, or the District of Columbia in which the applicant was ever licensed or certified to submit directly to the Board verification of licensure or certification in good standing.

    3. If I passed the examination offered by NCBTMB, the NCCAOM examination or the MBLEx examination, what needs to be provided to the Board in addition to completing the application for licensure?
    4. Answer:
      An applicant must provide the Board with proof that he or she has successfully passed the written examination offered by NCBTMB the NCCAOM examination or the MBLEx examination, a full-face passport size (2" x 2") photograph of his or her head and shoulders, taken within the last six months, and proof that he or she has a current certification in C.P.R., First Aid, and use of an automated external defibrillator (A.E.D.) from courses approved by the American Heart Association or a substantially similar course approved by the American Red Cross, the National Safety Council, Coyne First Aide Inc., The American Safety and Health Institute, or EMP International Inc.

    5. If I successfully completed a course study of at least 500 hours in massage and bodywork therapies, what more do I need to provide to the Board in addition to completing the application for licensure?
    6. Answer:
      An applicant for a license by education must arrange for his or her school to submit an official transcript directly to the Board. The official transcript must indicate that the applicant has completed an associate's degree in massage and bodywork or a course of study in massage and bodywork therapy of at least 500 hours which must include the following courses:

      1. At least 90 hours of anatomy/physiology/pathophysiology
      2. Ethics and law
      3. Theory and practice (in-class instruction as to massage and bodywork therapy and modalities and in-class demonstration and practice of massage and bodywork modalities)
      4. Electives directly related to the practice of massage and bodywork therapy, and
      5. At least 100 hours of clinical practice that is supervised by a faculty member who is present on-site while services are being performed and is ether a licensed massage and bodywork therapist or is legally authorized to perform massage and bodywork in the state in which the school exists

      Please be aware:

      • One credit in a course taken in a college or university shall constitute 15 hours of course study.
      • Hours completed during one area of a course of study in massage and bodywork therapy shall not be counted towards completion of another area of that course. For example, one hour spent performing massage, bodywork and somatic therapy that is completed as part of theory and practice in accordance with item number (3) of answer number 3 above shall not be counted towards the 100 hours of clinical practice required by item number (5) of answer number 3 above.

      The course of study in massage and bodywork therapy must be from a school accredited or approved by:

      1. The New Jersey Department of Education
      2. The New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development
      3. The New Jersey Commission on Higher Education
      4. An agency of another state, which substantially certifies that the course taken meets the requirements of these New Jersey state agencies.

      The applicant must also provide a full-face passport size (2" x 2") photograph of his or her head and shoulders, taken within the last six months, and proof that he or she has a current certification in C.P.R., First Aid, and use of an automated external defibrillator (A.E.D.) from courses approved by the American Heart Association or a substantially similar course approved by the American Red Cross, the National Safety Council, Coyne First Aide Inc., The American Safety and Health Institute, or EMP International Inc.

    7. What should I do if my school no longer exists and I am unable to provide the Board with an official transcript?
    8. Answer:
      You can submit a Student Record Request Form to see if the transcripts are available through the Department of Labor and Workforce Development.

      Please Note: The Department of Labor and Workforce Development only has some transcripts for the Helma Institute of Massage Therapy, located in Saddle Brook New Jersey and Garfield New Jersey.

      You also have the option of applying for licensure by examination or by current practitioner. View more information about methods to obtain licensure .

    9. Can I apply for licensure by endorsement if I am licensed as a massage and bodywork therapist in another state or jurisdiction?
    10. Answer:
      Yes. A verification of status of the applicant's licensure or certification from every state, territory of the Unites States, or the District of Columbia, in which the applicant was ever licensed or certified will need to be provided to the New Jersey Board of Massage and Bodywork Therapy. The verification must either be forwarded directly to the Board from the applicable state board or committee.

      The applicant must also provide a full-face passport size (2" x 2") photograph of his or her head and shoulders, taken within the last six months, and proof that he or she has a current certification in C.P.R., First Aid, and use of an automated external defibrillator (A.E.D.) from courses approved by the American Heart Association or a substantially similar course approved by the American Red Cross, the National Safety Council, Coyne First Aide Inc., The American Safety and Health Institute or EMP International Inc.

      The Board shall determine if the educational requirements of the state in which the applicant is licensed or certified are substantially similar to the educational requirements in this State, and whether the applicant meets the other requirements for licensure.

    11. How can I obtain an application?
    12. Answer:
      Application for licensure must be made online.

    13. What is the fee for a license?
    14. Answer:
      If an applicant is eligible for a license during the first year of the biennial renewal period (December 1st of every even year through November 30th of every odd year), the fee for a license is $120.00.

      If an applicant is eligible for a license during the second year of the biennial renewal period (December 1st of every odd year through November 30th of every even year), the fee for a license is $60.00.

      Once an applicant is determined to be eligible for a massage and bodywork license, the Board of Massage and Bodywork Therapy will notify the applicant and at that time the applicant can submit the licensure fee.

    15. Can I complete a criminal history record process before I submit an application for licensure?
    16. Answer:
      No. All applicants must submit an application online first. Once the application has been processed, the applicant will receive a letter providing him or her with information on how to be fingerprinted.

    Business/Employer Registration

    1. If I employ massage and bodywork therapists, do I need to register with the Board?
    2. Answer:
      Yes. Application for licensure as a business must be made online.

    3. How long is the employer registration valid for?
    4. Answer:
      The registration is valid for two years.

    5. What is the cost of a employer registration?
    6. Answer:
      The fee for employer registration is $150.00.

    7. When must an employer notify the Board of a change of address?
    8. Answer:
      An employer must notify the Board in writing within 30 days of any change in the name and residence of the individual or the owner or operator of the entity as well as any change in the municipality and location of the owner or operator's primary place of business and the location of any branches of the business.

    Other Questions

    1. How long must a massage and bodywork therapist keep client records?
    2. Answer:
      Client records must be maintained for a period of seven years from the date of the most recent entry.

    3. Do I need to display my license?
    4. Answer:
      Yes. Licensees must display their license in view of the clients whenever he/she providesmassage and bodywork services at their place of business or office. Whenever licensees provide massage and bodywork services outside of their place of business or office they must produce their licenses for clients or other members of the public upon request.
   
Contact Us | Privacy Notice | Legal Statement | Accessibility Statement
NJ Home Logo
Divisional: DCA Home | Complaint Forms | Proposals | Adoptions | Contact DCA
Departmental: OAG Home | Contact OAG | About OAG | OAG News | OAG FAQs
Statewide: NJ Home | Services A to Z | Departments/Agencies | FAQs
Copyright State of New Jersey
This page is maintained by DCA. Comments/Questions: email

Page last modified: