Skip to main navigationSkip to News Headlines
Global Navigation
Office of The Attorney General
The State of New Jersey Office of The Attorney General (Dept. of Law & Public Safety) The State of New Jersey Services A to Z Services A to Z Departments/Agencies OAG Frequently Asked Questions
OAG Home
OAG Home OAG Contact
Division of Alcoholic Beverage Control
Division of Consumer Affairs
Division of Criminal Justice
Division on Civil Rights
Division of Gaming Enforcement
Division of Highway Traffic Safety
Occupant Protection
Vehicle and Motorcycle Safety
Impaired and Distracted Driving
Pedestrian and Bicycle Safety
Police and Enforcement Resources
Division of Law
Juvenile Justice Commission
NJ Racing Commission
State Athletic Control Board
Division of NJ State Police
Victims of Crime Compensation Board
OPRA - Open Public Records Act
Division of Highway Traffic Safety
Division of Highway Traffic Safety
Child Safety Seats Seat Belt Safety Pedestrian Safety Bicycle Safety Alcohol Awareness Police Crash Investigation Training Automobile Safety
  Alcohol Awareness  
  Driving While Intoxicated in New Jersey  
 
arrowDrive Sober or Get Pulled Over
arrowAdditional Alcohol-Related Information & Resources
In New Jersey, a person is guilty of drunk driving if he/she operates a motor vehicle with a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of 0.08 percent or greater. BAC refers to the amount of alcohol in your blood. Although the law refers to a 0.08 percent BAC, you can be convicted of driving while under the influence of intoxicating liquor even when your BAC is below 0.08 percent. Consuming even small amounts of alcohol dulls the senses, decreases reaction time, and hampers judgement, vision and alertness. If you consume any amount of alcohol and your driving is negatively impacted, you can be convicted of drunk driving.
 
 
  Parents and Guardians
 
 
A parent or guardian who is convicted of driving while intoxicated and had a passenger in the motor vehicle 17 years of age or younger, is also guilty of a disorderly persons offense. In addition, a person forfeits the right to operate a motor vehicle for a maximum of six months and must perform community service for up to five days.
 
  The Penalties  
 
1st Offense
  Under New Jersey Law (P.L. 2003, CHAPTER 314), if an offender’s BAC is 0.08 percent or higher, but less than 0.10 percent, or if an offender permits another person with a BAC over 0.08 percent, but less than 0.10 percent to operate a motor vehicle, the penalties are:
  A fine of $250-$400*
  Imprisonment for up to 30 days*
  3 months license suspension*
 
A minimum of six hours a day for two consecutive days in an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
An automobile insurance surcharge of $1,000 a year for 3 years.
  If the offenders’s BAC is 0.10 percent or higher, or the person operates a motor vehicle while under the influence of a narcotic, hallucinogenic or habit-producing drug, or permits another person with a BAC of 0.10 percent to operate a motor vehicle, the penalties are:
  A fine of $300-$500*
  Imprisonment for up to 30 days*
  A license suspension between 7 months and 1 year*
 
A minimum of six hours a day for two consecutive days in an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
An automobile insurance surcharge of $1,000 a year for 3 years
  Offenders with a BAC of 0.15 percent or higher must install an ignition interlock device in any vehicle they principally operate during the license suspension period and for a period of 6 months to 1 year after license restoration.
2nd Offense
 
A fine of $500-$1,000*
Imprisonment of at least 48 consecutive hours, and up to 90 days*
2-year license suspension*
48 consecutive hours detainment in a regional Intoxicated Driver Resource Center.
An automobile insurance surcharge of $1,000 a year for 3 years.
Installation of an ignition interlock device for a period of 1 year to 3 years after license restoration.
3rd Offense
  A fine of $1,000*
  Imprisonment of 180 days*
 
10-year license suspension*
Detainment in an in-patient alcoholism treatment program
A fee to be paid to the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center dependent upon court sentence
An automobile insurance surcharge of $1500 a year for 3 years
Installation of an ignition interlock device for a period of 1 year to 3 years after license restoration.
Any Offense Also Carries
 
$100 surcharge to be deposited in the Drunk Driving Enforcement Fund
A Motor Vehicle Commission restoration fee of $100 and an Intoxicated Driving Program fee of $100
A Violent Crimes Compensation Fund fee of $50
A Safe and Secure Community Program fee of $75
Registration Revocation/Ignition Interlock
In addition to these penalties, judges may order the revocation of the vehicle registration (Public Law 2000, Chapter 83).
The ignition interlock device, which measures the driver’s blood alcohol level, may be required for up to three years following license restoration after a DWI conviction. Any person may start a motor vehicle equipped with an interlock device for safety reasons or to repair the device or motor vehicle, but the convicted offender may not operate the vehicle.
A person who, on behalf of the convicted offender, blows into an interlock device to start a motor vehicle or tampers with the device to circumvent its operation may be charged with a disorderly persons offense.
arrowMVC Ignition Interlock Page
Consequences of Underage Drinking and Driving
In New Jersey, you must be at least 21 years of age to purchase, possess or consume alcoholic beverages. Underage drinking is illegal and can have severe consequences for young people who drink and for adults who provide alcoholic beverages to those under 21.
If you are under 21 and buy or drink alcohol in a place with an alcohol beverage license, you may be fined $500 and lose your driver license for 6 months. If you do not have your driver license, the suspension starts when you are first eligible to receive a license. Also you may be required to participate in an alcohol education or treatment program.
If you are under 21, drive with any detectable amount of alcohol in your system (.01 BAC or above), and are convicted for violating New Jersey’s zero tolerance law, the penalties are:
 
Loss or postponement of driving privileges for 30 to 90 days
15 to 30 days of community service
Participation in an alcohol and traffic safety education program
Driving with a Suspended License Due to Driving While Intoxicated – The Penalties are:
 
A fine of $500*
10 to 90 days imprisonment*
1 to 2 years added license suspension*
If you are involved in a crash while your license is suspended and someone is hurt, you face a mandatory 45 day jail sentence*
Revocation of motor vehicle registration*
Refusal to Submit to Breath Test – The Penalties are:
 
1st offense -
$300-$500 fine and a license suspension of not less than seven months or more than one year*
2nd offense -
$500-$1,000 fine and a 2-year license suspension*
3rd offense -
$1,000 fine and a 10-year license suspension*
Installation of an ignition interlock device for a period of 6 months to 1 year after license restoration for the 1st offense, 1 year to 3 years for the 2nd and 3rd offenses.
Automobile insurance surcharge of $1,000 a year for 3 years for 1st and 2nd offenses, $1,500 for 3rd offense
$100 surcharge to be deposited in the Drunk Driving Enforcement Fund
Referral to an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
Possessing an Open Container in the Passenger Compartment – The Penalties are:
 
1st offense - $200
2nd offense - $250 fine or 10 days of community service
 
     
  * If occurring within a school zone or school crossing, this penalty is increased under Public Law 99, Chapter 185.  
     
   
 
OAG Home Division of Highway Traffic Safety Director
Division of Highway Traffic Safety Director's Biography and Message
HTS Home HTS en Español
Contact HTS HTS News/Events
HTS FAQs HTS Library
About HTS Police Resources
Seat / Belt Laws Proposed Rules
HTS Grants HTS Services A-Z
Highlights
Obey the Signs or Pay the Fines
Fatalities on NJ Roads - Put the Brakes on Fatalities
Driving Under the Influence in New Jersey
Click It or Ticket - Seat Belts Save Lives!
Bicycle and Pedestrian Safety
Motor Vehicle Commission's Motorcycle Safety
Video Lending Library
Protect Your Children by Checking Their Car Seats
Dial #77 on your cell phone to report agressive drivers
NJ Amber Alert Plan
NJ Sex Offender Registry
Contact Us | Privacy Notice | Legal Statement | Accessibility Statement
NJ Home Logo
 
Divisional: HTS Home | about HTS | contact HTS | faqs | news | HTS library | HTS grants

Departmental: OAG Home | Contact OAG | About OAG | OAG News | OAG FAQs

Statewide: NJ Home | Services A to Z | Departments/Agencies | FAQs
Copyright © State of New Jersey
This page is maintained by OAG Communications. Comments/Questions: email or call 609-292-4925
OAG Home OAG Home more news...