

## Traffic Safety Bulletin

**AUGUST 2009, BULLETIN NUMBER 5** 

## KYLEIGH'S LAW • MAY 1, 2010

On April 15, 2009, Governor Jon S. Corzine signed into law a bill amending various parts of statutory law **C.39:3-13.2a** to require all holders of special learner's permits, examination permits, and probationary driver licenses under the age of 21 to display decals on any vehicle they drive. The complete text of the law can be found at: http://www.njleg.state.nj.us/2008/Bills/PL09/37\_.pdf

## **OVERVIEW OF P.L. 2009, CHAPTER 37**

This law is in memory of Kyleigh D'Alessio, a 16-year-old student/athlete from Long Valley, New Jersey. Kyleigh died in a motor vehicle crash involving a provisional license holder who was in violation of the passenger restriction under New Jersey's Graduated Driver License (GDL) law.

- 1. Effective May 1, 2010, two removable, transferable, highly visible, reflective decals, indicating that the driver of the vehicle may be the holder of a permit or provisional license must be affixed to the vehicle when that driver is behind the wheel. The Motor Vehicle Commission is charged with designing and disseminating the decals as well as determining how the decals must be displayed and their cost.
- 2. The fine for violating this requirement is \$100 plus costs and fees; no points will be assessed for this offense.
- 3. This law takes effect on May 1, 2010.



Kyleigh's Law bill signing at West Morris Central High School in Chester, New Jersey



\*The Traffic Safety Bulletin is for informational purposes only. Its content does not represent legal advice from the Office of the Attorney General/Division of Criminal Justice.