Services from A - Z
- Full Alphabetical Listing
- Agencies / Boards / Programs
- Alcohol / Drugs / Tobacco
- Compliments / Complaints
- Consumer Related
- Crime / Fraud
- Elections / Voting
- Gambling / Horse Racing
- Law / Law Enforcement
- Licenses / Permits
- Open Public Records Act
- Safety / Security
- Weapons / Firearms
- What's New?
Seat / Belt Laws
Why Buckle Up?
Studies show seat belts do save lives and reduce injuries during crashes.
Seat belts work with air bags to protect occupants. Air bags alone are not enough to safeguard occupants.
In New Jersey, an average of 150 unrestrained motor vehicle drivers and passengers are killed in crashes each year.
Seat Belts saved over 12,500 lives during 2013 in the United States.
Seat belt use in 2013 reached 87 percent, a significant increase form 84 percent in 2011 in the United States.
In 2013, 21,132 occupants of passenger vehicles died in motor vehicle crashes in the United States. Of the 21,132 total occupants killed, 9,777 were restrained. Restraint use was not known for 1,775 occupants. Looking at only occupants where the restraint status was known, 49 percent were unrestrained at the time of the crash.
More than 1,800 unbuckled drivers and front seat passengers died on New Jersey’s roadways in the past 10 years.
NHTSA has estimated that child safety seats reduce the risk of fatal injury by 71 percent for infants (younger than 1 year old) and by 54 percent for toddlers (ages 1 to 4 years) in passenger cars.
New Jerseys Seat Belt Law:
Applies to all passenger vehicles including vans, pickup trucks and SUV's, that are required to be equipped with seat belts.
Applies to all passengers (including the rear seat), who are at least 8 years of age or at least 57 inches tall, and each driver and front seat passenger of a passenger automobile, operated on a street or highway. All of these occupants are required to wear a properly adjusted and fastened seat belt system.
Makes the driver responsible for proper seat belt use by all occupants who are under the age of 18.
Seat Belt Palm Card
- Emphasizing the life-saving advantages of wearing a seat belt regardless of seating position, this two-side palm card features both the
Click It Or Ticket
100% Buckle Up
New Jerseys Child Passenger Law:
Legislation - P.L. 2015, c.50
The following recommendations will provide the safest way to transport your child according to the American Academy of Pediatrics and the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA). Additionally it will ensure compliance to the New Jersey Child Passenger Restraint Law. (Title 39:3-76.2a)
Any child under the age of 8 years old and a height of 57 inches shall be secured as follows in the rear seat of a motor vehicle:
A child under the age of 2 years and 30 pounds shall be secured in a rear-facing seat equipped with a 5-point harness.
A child under the age of 4 years and 40 pounds shall be secured as described in (a) until they reach the upper limits of the rear-facing seat, then in a forward-facing child restraint equipped with a 5-point harness.
A child under the age of 8 and a height of 57 inches shall be secured as described in (a) or (b) until they reach the upper limits of the rear-facing or forwardfacing seat, then in a belt positioning booster seat.
A child over 8 years of age or 57 inches in height must be properly secured by a seat belt.
If there are no rear seats, the child shall be secured as described above in the front seat except that no child shall be secured in a rear-facing seat in the front seat of any vehicle that is equipped with an active passenger-side airbag. The aforementioned is acceptable if the airbag is de-activated.
Initiatives to Address Safety Belt Use:
View Full Report
The following report presents an in-depth look at one of the most significant safety issues impacting highway safety and the success of NHTSA’s mission – safety belt use. This document describes the safety problem represented by the failure to use safety belts and provides strategies the agency plans to pursue in increasing safety belt use, thereby saving lives. In addition to the full agenda of highway safety issues, impaired driving, rollover mitigation and vehicle compatibility are the other priority issues set by NHTSA to reduce the occurrence and consequences of motor vehicle fatalities and injuries. Each of the four documents can be found on
NHTSA’s Web site
and also on DOT’s
docket management system
(DMS). (The impaired driving report is currently in agency review and should be released and posted later this year.) The docket numbers for each of the respective reports are as follows:
Click It or Ticket
An annual nationwide campaign that incorporates zero-tolerance enforcement of safety belt laws with public awareness efforts and the support of government agencies, local coalitions and school officials to increase seat belt usage.
Safety Belt Use
Services A to Z
Copyright © State of New Jersey
This page is maintained by OAG Communications. Comments/Questions:
or call 609-292-4925