The mission of the New Jersey Historical Commission is to enrich the lives of the public by preserving the historical record and advancing interest in and awareness of New Jersey's past.
Commission Members
Maxine Lurie, PhD, Chair
Margaret Westfield, R.A.Vice-Chair

Senator Christopher Bateman
Jayne S. Carmody
Assemblyman Michael Patrick Carroll
Susan P. Coen
Assemblyman Craig Coughlin
Michael Fernandez
Larry Greene, PhD.
Joseph E. Salvatore, M.D.
Richard Veit, Ph.D.
Senator Loretta Weinberg
B. Michael Zuckerman, Ph.D.

ex-officio members
Lt. Governor Kim Guadagno
State Librarian Mary Chute
Dan Saunders
Contact the NJ Historical Commission
NJ Historical Commission
P.O. Box 305
Trenton, NJ 08625

Tel: (609) 292-6062
Fax: (609) 633-8168

Email: Feedback@sos.nj.gov
Translator Disclaimer
NJ State Flag
New Jersey Studies: An Interdisciplinary Journal Now Accepting Submissions
for Summer/Fall 2016

To build on the momentum of the forthcoming Winter 2016 issue, New Jersey Studies: An Interdisciplinary Journal is now accepting submissions for its eagerly anticipated Summer 2016 edition.
Read more

NJHC Announces FY 2017 Project Grant Workshops for Potential Applicants

The New Jersey Historical Commission (NJHC) is proud to announce the first two Fiscal Year 2017 (FY 17) project grant workshops for potential applicants. FY 17 marks the first year the NJHC will be using its newly revised grant guidelines.
Read more

NJHC Announces 2015 Award Recipients

The NJHC is proud to announce the 2015 recipients of the Richard Hughes Award, Awards of Recognition, and the Richard P. McCormick Prize. Formal presentations will occur Nov. 21 at the NJHC’s Annual Conference at Rutgers University-Newark.

In addition, the New Jersey Studies Academic Alliance (NJSAA) will also be presenting its 2015 Graduate Paper Award and Teaching Awards at the event.
Read more

Essential Emergency Preparedness Information - Be prepared!

The New Jersey Office of Emergency Management and Office of the Governor have issued multiple statements regarding the impending weather event Joaquin. Governor Christie has declared a state of emergency throughout the state as a result of the severe conditions expected in the coming days.
Read more

It Happened Here: New Jersey Video Series Nominated for Mid-Atlantic Emmy Award®

Fresh off its nomination in the “Nostalgia Program” category at the 58th Annual New York Emmy Awards® earlier this year, the It Happened Here: New Jersey video series has earned yet another prestigious distinction by earning a Mid-Atlantic Emmy Award® nomination in the “Historic/Cultural Program/Special” category.
Read more

FY2017 Grant Guidelines for Public Comment
The NJHC undertook a comprehensive effort to reimagine its grant programs for the upcoming 2017 fiscal year.
Read more
It Happened Here:
New Jersey
Mailing Lists