Governor Chris Christie • Lt. Governor Kim Guadagno
NJ Home | Services A to Z | Departments/Agencies | FAQs
Contact the NJ Business Action Center
New Jersey Department of State
225 West State Street
P.O. Box 820
Trenton, NJ 08625-0820

Tel: (866) 534-7789
Fax: (609) 292-5509


Brownfields Redevelopment Task Force

The New Jersey Brownfields Redevelopment Task Force was created in 1998 under Section 5 of the New Jersey Brownfield and Contaminated Site Remediation Act.

The 13-member Task Force consists of seven representatives from State agencies and six public members. The six public members are appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Senate. The Chair of the Task Force is selected by the Governor.

* The Task Force is accepting comments at its meetings on issues concerning the redevelopment of brownfields sites. Information gathered from experienced and interested parties will be considered in recommendations to the Governor and Legislature. Please limit spoken comments to five minutes.

Public Members

State Agency Representatives

Deputy Attorney General counsel to the Task Force

Brownfields Redevelopment InterAgency Team

The Brownfields Redevelopment Interagency Team (BRIT), is made up of representatives of numerous state agencies and introduces projects to all affected state agencies and departments.

The BRIT enables and facilitates dialogue among the state, the municipality and the developer. This dialogue assists in identifying opportunities and obstacles, as well as applicable financial and technical assistance, early on in the planning process of a project so they may be addressed with minimal impact.

Alan Miller
Brownfields Program Manager
225 W State St
PO Box 204
Trenton, NJ 08625
tel 609.777.3474
fax 609.292.3292
Vivian Baker
Program Manager,
Transit Friendly Community Planning
NJ Transit
One Penn Plaza East
Newark, NJ 07105-2246
tel 973.491.7822
fax 973.491.4142
Meghan MacWilliams Baratta
Senior Historic Preservation Specialist
NJ Historic Preservation Office
501 E State St, 4th Flr
PO Box 404
Trenton, NJ 08625
tel 609.292.1253
fax 609.984.0578
Kate Butler
Principal Planner
NJ Council on Affordable Housing (COAH)
101 S Broad St
PO Box 813
Trenton, NJ 08625
tel 609.292.4338
fax 609.633.6056
Julie Cavanagh
Deputy Attorney General for Brownfields
NJ Dept. of Law and Public Safety
PO Box 112
Trenton, NJ 08625
tel 609.777.3442
fax 609.292.6239
Gary Centifonti
Project Manager
NJ Department of Health, Consumer and Environmental Health Services
PO Box 369
Trenton, NJ 08625
tel 609.826.4950
fax 609.826.4975
Paul Ceppi
North Region Business Development Officer
NJ Economic Development Authority
PO Box 990
Trenton NJ 08625
tel 609.777.2733
fax 609.278.4694
Len Colner
Policy Manager,
Office of School Facilities
NJ Department of Education
PO Box 500
Trenton, NJ 08625
tel 609.943.5926
fax 609.777.4340
Maryclaire D'Andrea
Assistant Director/Chief Financial Officer
NJ Environmental Infrastructure Fund
PO Box 440
Trenton, NJ 08625
tel 609.219.8600
fax 609.219.8620
Jeanne Dunn
Office of Facilities,
Division of Finance
NJ Department of Education
PO Box 500
Trenton, NJ 08625
tel 609.341.3097
fax 609.292.7971
Cathy Elliott-Shaw
Program Development Specialist
NJDEP/Green Acres Program
PO Box 412
Trenton, NJ 08625-0412
tel 609.984.0570
fax 609.984.0608
Ruth Foster
Environmental Scientist
NJDEP/Office of Pollution Prevention and Permit Coordination
PO Box 412
Trenton, NJ 08625
tel 609.984.7478
fax 609.984.7478
Susan Greitz
Tax Specialist
NJ Department of Treasury
50 Barrack St
Trenton, NJ 08625
tel 609.292.5995
fax 609.989.0113
Justin Kenyon
South Region Business Development Officer
Urban & Community Development
NJ Economic Development Authority
PO Box 990
Trenton NJ 08625
tel 856.225.5842
fax 609.278.4778
Colleen Kokas
Brownfields Manager
NJDEP/Office of Brownfield Reuse
401 E State St
PO Box 028
Trenton, NJ 08625-0028
tel 609.633.1499
fax 609.777.1914
Charles Latini
Principal Facilities Planner
NJ Transit
One Penn Plaza East
Newark, NJ 07105-2246
tel 973.491.8597
fax 973.491.4142
Donna Luhn
Smart Growth Advisor
NJ Board of Public Utilities
2 Gateway Cir, 8th Flr
Newark, NJ 07012
tel 973.648.4451
fax 973.648.2209
Richard Montemore
Program Supervisor
NJ DCA Division of Housing
101 S Broad St
PO Box 806
Trenton, NJ 08625-0806
tel 609.633.6302
fax 609.984.8454
Brian Peters
Director of Business Services
NJ Department of Labor
John Fitch Plaza
PO Box 933
Trenton, NJ 08625-0933
tel 609.292.6852
fax 609.633.3645
Monique Purcell
Division of Agricultural and
Natural Resources
NJ Department of Agriculture
PO Box 330
Trenton, NJ 08625
tel 609.292.5532
fax 609.292.3978
Athena Sarafides
Research Scientist,
Bureau of Sustainable Communities
and Innovative Technologies
NJDEP/Division of Science, Research and Technology
PO Box 409
Trenton, NJ 08625-0409
tel 609.633.1161
fax 609.292.7340
Frank Scangarella
Chief Operating Officer
NJ Environmental Infrastructure Trust
PO Box 440
Trenton, NJ 08625
tel 609.219.8600
fax 609.219.8620
Mark Scorsolini
Bureau Chief
NJDEP/Office of Pollution Prevention and Permit Coordination
401 E State St
PO Box 423
Trenton, NJ 08625
tel 609.292.3600
fax 609.777.1330
Colleen Smith
Urban Coordinator
NJ Housing and Mortgage Finance Agency
637 S Clinton Ave
PO Box 18550
Trenton NJ 08650
tel 609.278.8803
fax 609.278.1754
Paula Stephens
Program Associate,
Arts in Communities/Community
Cultural Planning
NJ State Council on the Arts
PO Box 306
Trenton, NJ 08625-0306
tel 609.292-6130
fax 609.989.1440
Susan Weber
Supervising Planner,
Bureau of Statewide Planning
NJ Department of Transportation
PO Box 609
Trenton, NJ 08625
tel 609.530.3658
fax 609.530.2909
Marilyn White
Congregate Housing Services
NJ Dept. of Health and Senior Services
2 Gateway Ctr, PO Box 807
Trenton, NJ 08625
tel 609.943.4983
fax 609.633.8081